Skip to main content

Full text of "History of Stamford, Connecticut : from its settlement in 1641, to the present time, including Darien, which was one of its parishes until 1820"

See other formats

llnttJprHttg nf Ptttaburglj 

Darlington Memorial Library 



:/^6y "^ ^^o^^^ ^:t 





IN IGil, 


D ^ R I E isr, 



STAMFORD, 1868 : 




Entered according to Act of Congress in the year 1868, by Eujah B. Hdntington, 
[ tlje Clerk's Office of the District Court of the United SUt'js for the State of Connecticut. 










1. HON. ABRAHAM DAVENPORT *rronUspiece. 

2. HON. WM. T. MINOR, LL. D 376 



5. HON. JAMES H. HOYT 398 

6. JOHN W. LEEDS 402 




10. CHARLES A. WEED 426 


* For our beautiful Frontispiece from a portrait, now owned by Rev. J. S. Davenport, 
of New York, the author is indebted to the kind offices of A. B. Davenport, Esq., author 
of the Davenport Family. 


Chapter. Page. 

I. Introduction 1 

II. The Settlement 14 

III. Notes on the Settlers, 1640—1642 27 

IV. Notes on the Settlers. 1642—1660 48 

V. Stamford under New Haven Jurisdiction, 1640 — 1665. 67 

VI. Indian Treaties AND History 94 

VII. Ecclesiastical History, 1640 — 1746 H6 

VIII. Separate Parish Organizations , 143 

IX. Births, Marri.ages and Deaths, 1640—1700 lo.i 

X. Stamford in 1700 168 

XI. New Settlers Between 1660 and 1775 177 

XII. French and Indian Wars 197 

XIII. Revolutionary "War 20;i 

XIV. Chronological Record of the War 222 

XV. Catalogue of Soldiers in the War , 232 

XVI. Loyal Element is the War 249 

XVII. Catalogue of Loyalists in the War 262 

XVIII. Biography of earlier Citizens 269 

XIX. Stamtord in 1800 288 

XX. Separate Church Organizations 294 

XXI. Education 339 

XXn. Warof 1812—1815 353 

XXIII. Physicians and Lawyers of Stamford 359 

XXIV. Later Biography 378 

XXV. Miscellaneous Topics 435 


The Patent of 1685 457 

Graduates Representing the Town 458 

Official Lists of the Town 463 

Business List for 1868 473 

HoTT Familt 478 

Growth in Population and Wealth 479 

Brief Notices of Wood Cuts 481 

Errors and Additions 483 

Index 484 

After my Introdnctory Chapter, which is largely prefatory, there is need of but a very 
brief, formal preface. My dedication expressed my sense of obligation to seven of the 
Bons of Stamford, without whose pecuniary aid the publication of the work must have 
been deferred. To another son of the town, whose name I must not give, I am under the 
same obligation. To many others of our citizens my obligations cannot be forgotten, as 
long as the record remains which they aided me in making, or while my long subscription 
list reminds me of their interest in my work. To all these, I now gratefully submit 
this History of the beautiful town, which I know they delight to honor. 

In doing so, I could wish its omissions and its faults were fewer: yet I am most of all 
content, that whatever of either are noticed, were unavoidable. For one omission, ren- 
dered necessary both by the size and the expense of the volume, and still more by the 
merits of the subject itself, demanding fuller ard more careful treatment, I trust my 
readers will find the beat possible compensation in the forthcoming Stamford Soldiers' 

Of its mechanical execution, the History will speak for itself. For the few typograph* 
leal errors here found, the considerate reader will surely find large amends in the general 
accuracy of the work; and both the author and his townsmen have just occasion for 
pride, that our local press has been able to send forth so large a volume, to which so few 
exceptions can be taken. 

If nothing further is done, in this contribution to our local history, the author is happy 
to submit these first fruits, at least, of the full harvests of these two hundred and twenty 
eight years. 


I X T I^ (> i> L- ( r (> i: Y. 

Not two and a quarter (•(.■iituru's liave passed sincu the region 
in which the beantiful village ot' Stamford now lies, Avas a sav- 
age wilderness. No foot of wliite man, unless it may have been 
that of some adventurous explorer, ha<l ever treaded its solitary 
paths. Tile same l)lue waters mirrored as now the same gently 
retreating hill-sides, l)ut they had never photographed as now 
the cottages and spires of a civilized and Christian people. Ov- 
erlooking till' cpnet Rippowam harbor were the same hills as 
now ; the softly rounded Noroton, towards the rising sun, the 
higher central ]Matauliauu, (the morn revealer,) stretching far up 
towai'ds tlie north, ami the lowlier, yet no less lovely ridge to 
the west, liehiiid which the setting sun went to his rest for the 
niglit. The " ^lyanos" and Noroton rivers, larger then than now, 
unhindered l)y dam, coursed their roaring or babbling way be- 
neath the tufted foliage of the primeval forest into the sunny 
waters of the sound ; while the rippling Rowalton separated 
tlicse realms of the jealous Rippowamfrom the hunting grounds 
of t!ie lordly ]\Iahackeno. N"© where from the Rowalton to the 
Miauus, and from the southern waters along the "four hour's 
walk" towards tlie dreaded forests t)f the fierce Mohawks, could 
one rest his eye upon cither tlic i)rcsence or trace of the pale 
face or his work. 

Bears growled where now the hum of industry is heard. 
Wolves roamed and howled amid thickets which no woodman's 
axe had ever invaded. Wild birds amid their leafy bowers sang 


their carols to wild beasts iu their leafy lairs. No voice 
of man had for once awaked the echoes of these hills and 
glens, save when some Indian lover wooed to his side the dark 
eye of his heart, or when the proud warrior of some savage clan 
rang ont the defiant war«-hoop of his great wrath. 

Here had lived and loved, only another race. Here and there, 
nestling amid ledges and between over-arching trees, was an 
Indian's home — a wigwam as rude in its structure and finish as 
the untutored savage who had built it. A few brawny red men 
with their " dusky mates" and bright-eyed little ones, numbering 
in all, not to exceed some three hundred souls, were the sole 
human tenants on this soil. Nor were even they its permanent 
possessors. Their sagamores, Ponus and Wescussue, held the 
undisputed title to all the land, and in their paternal condescen- 
sion, they meted out for the season to their loj-al subjects, such 
patches as they could plant with corn or beans. Of course there 
was no general tillage of the ground. The utmost ingenuity of 
Indian art had no conception of the plow, and could furnish but 
a sorry substitute for even the white man's axe and hoe and 

Nor had the still waters of either Rippowam or Toquam har- 
bor, yet felt the keel of civilized commerce. The light bark 
canoe had for many generations been wont to shoot swiftly from 
point to point across the shallower indentations of the coast, 
while the huge trunk of some lofty forest oak, excavated by te- 
dious scraping with shells and sharpened flint stones aided by 
the skillful use of fire, had supplied the aborigines with their 
only safe transport for the rougher sea voyage. At intervals ot 
long period, the waters of the sound had been the theater of 
fierce and bloody sea-tights. Not in gallant and gigantic ship, 
moved at the commander's will by steam or sail, but in these 
rude monarchs of Indian sea-craft, driven with mightiest stroke 
of well-trained oar against each other, in fearfully frightful and 
fatal encounter. One such naval engagement had crimsoned 
our harbor with savage blood, just before the white man for the 
first time entered its glassy waters. 


Noi- had the sharp crack of the hunter's rifle, nor the roar of 
modern artillery, ever yet disturbed these solitudes ; though in- 
stead, the twang of the sounding bow and the sharp whizzing of 
the winged arrow had often brought to the ground the eagle in 
his loftiest flight, or cut short the swiftest footed wild deer in 
his race. 

Here everything was in its rudest dress — hillside and glen, 
forest tree and mossy rock, wavy margined coast and arborcd, 
murmuring stream, all were as nature made and meant them— 
all as their untutored and unambitious occupants had left them. 
All attempts at improvement by the rude savage had only mar- 
red the native beauty they had invaded. The homes here built, 
the paths here opened, all changes here made, begun and ended 
still in forest homes and paths and change. Nature mainly held 
her own against tlie utmost of all that Indian art and industry 
could do. 

And still no intelligent and cultivated eye could have gazed 
upon this uncultivated domain, without being struck with its 
singular and quiet beauty. There was not in it the stirring 
grandeur of Alpine scenery, nor yet the sublime immensity of 
the prairie's stretch ; but there was something which while it 
might move the beholder less would not foil to please him more. 
Rarely, on earth, do pleasant hill-sides sweep up more gracefully 
from heaven-penciled waters, and still more rarely, do hill and 
lowland and vale blend in pictures of more pleasing loveliness. 

So felt even the Indian, as his sharp eye swept over the broad 
landscape from his outlook on his favorite Mataubaun ; and so 
thought the weary pilgrims of another race as they came to find 
on this coast the future homes of their own and their children's 

The Indian passed away, and with him perished the story of 
his race. All their tender loves and all their stern revenges ; 
every adventure of chieftain or of subject ; noble deeds of aflec- 
tion and of heroism, all alike unrecorded, have gone forever into 
an oblivion from which no pen of historian can recover them. 


Tlie last iaint traces ^vliich his departing footsteps left, are all 
that remain to witness to the Indian's power and skill. 

The white man came. In defiance of the savage race on these 
borders of a frowning wilderness, in the midst of blood-thirstj^ 
beasts of prey, he was forced to seek his liome. He counted 
and accepted the cost. He set iip the altars of his faith. He 
taught the wilderness to bud and blossom ; and bud and blos- 
som and fruitage he turned to his use. He made of the forest 
tree his comfortable house. The virgin soil answered his call, 
and loaded his table witli her fruits. Idle water streams soon 
leaped upon his water wheels, and with tireless gladness helped 
on his course. The patient genius of education took his little 
ones in care, and taught their young minds to plan and their 
hands to execute new triumphs in liis progress. 

The old forests and all the profitless savagery of Indian life 
soon gave way, and farms and schools, industry and thrift, 
civilization and religion, homes of comfort and of elegance 
attested the presence of the more intelligent, and permanent 

For two liuucbv<l and twenty-six years tliat race liavc now on 
this ground plied their intelligence, theii- invention, their indus- 
try and their skill. Six or seven generations of their children 
have here grown up, borne their part in the great work of man 
on earth, and left the accumulating treasures of their career as 
a precious legacy to the generation which now have occasion to 
rejoice in the succession. 

And wliy may we not, wliy should we not gather up the les- 
sons which those busy years can furiiisli V Wlio would refuse 
to trace the record which Providence has here drawn ? ^yho 
withhold from the hardy pioneers who inaugurated, and from 
the wise and ^ aliant men who have transmitted with the added 
luster of their own bright fame, this noble inheritance to us ? 
Surely, not the worthy sons of names so worthy. Surely, not 
the natives of other towns, who have been drawn hither by the 
charms or tlie promises of good which their earlier homes could 


not offer, and who are now gathering here the fruits of a pros- 
perity which others sowed. Every just, every filial, everj' 
honorable son or citizen of Stamford must respond to the claim 
which his native or adopted town has to a permanent and 
instructive memorial. It were as undutiful, as it is unjust to 
the departed generations, to refuse such a tribute. Xo pains 
should be deemed too costly, which can secure it. 

It was sufch a feeling which moved the author, some dozen 
years ago, to examine the records of the town to learn if they 
offered sufficient material towards such a work. Though very 
imperfect, almost illegible in some places and defaced or totally 
wanting in others; though exceedingly meager everywhere, 
except in recording the annual lists of town officers, from select- 
men down to the key-keeper of the town pound, there still 
seemed enough of the earlier records left to justify the attempt. 
Thanks to the providence of our town officers twenty-five years 
ago, by whom the mutilated and rapidly wasting remnants of 
the old records were carefully arranged and bound together for 

This township, whose story for two and a (]u;i}-ter centuries 
I have undertaken to tell, occupies about one-third of that sea- 
coast parallelogram which stretches off from the southwest 
corner of Connecticut. By the original grant, made over by the 
Indians, it must have covered nearly that entire parallelogram, 
together with a parallel strip lying on the north of it and now 
owing allegiance to the Empire State. 

But by the excision of several portions of the tract, the 
Stamford to which my research is mainly limited, has come to 
occupy the central part of the first grant — a tract now, not far 
from ten miles in length from X. N". W. to S. S. E. ; and on an 
average about seven miles in width, on a line running a little 
to the South of West. It is bounded on the north-noi-th-west 
by the towais of Xorth Castle and Poundridge ; on the east- 
north-east by the towns of New Canaan and Norwalk ; on the 
south-south-east by Long Island Sound, and on the west-sonth- 
west by Greenwich. 


This entire tract has a gentle slope towards the south-south- 
west, and its surfece is made up of a not ungraceful succession 
of ridges having the same general direction, yet of the greatest 
possible variety of length and contour, yet gradually lifting 
themselves to greater elevations towards the north, where the 
central one has by common consent won the distinction of our 
High Ridge. Meandering among these ridges, as if to carve 
the surface into forms of most pleasing variety, we find the 
Mianus and its main tributary on the north-west ; the old Indian 
Rippowam, and now, from its English use, the Mill river, with 
its eight serviceable branchlets draining ten times as many hill- 
sides and rippling through many a pleasant vale ; the shorter 
Noroton, laughing its joyous way down through the defiles in 
the north-east part of the town, to the open plains we call New 
Hope, and thence toying its playful way around the eastern 
base of our Xoroton hill, into the smooth waters of its own 
lovely bay.; and next, and still less, the gentle brooklets ever 
to be dishonored by their late born names, Stoney Brook and 
Good Wife, yet ever to be used for bounding and draining the 
gentle slopes whose waters find their beds ; and last, as if to warn 
us that we must find our eastern frontier somewhere, the prosy 
Five Mile, whose beauties and whose uses, we are doomed to 
share with our Norwalk neighbors towards the east. 

Of all the hills and valleys and plains bounded and separated 
by these brooks and streams, the time would fail me to write. 
To be known, they must be seen ; and, seen in the freshness of 
their summer dress, they will be felt to be a goodly sight. 
Whoever scans them, clothed with the variegated hues of the 
early autumn, will call them pleasant and beautiful. 

A very accurate eye and a sober judgment the topographist 
had, who wrote of this town a quarter of a century ago : 

" This is a pleasant and fertile township ; rich in the resources 
of agricultural opulence, abounding in the means of subsistence, 
with the advantages of a ready and convenient market. The 
surface of the town is undulating, exhibiting a pleasant diver- 
sity of moderate hills and valleys. The soil is a rich gravelly 
loam, adapted to both tillage and grazing." 


Somewhat more entliusiastic was the estimate of its topo- 
graphy, in some favored localities, of the very celebrated Dr. 
Dwight, who traveled over large portions of our broad land 
that he might observe and note their excellences or their 
defects. His judgment is worth transcribing for this prelimi- 
nary chapter of our history : 

" There are three uncommonly interesting spots in this town- 
ship ; one on the western side of the harbor which is called the 
Southfield, a rich and beautiful farm. 

" Another is a peninsula on the east side of the harbor, Ship- 
pan, the property of Moses Rogers, Esq., of New York. This 
also is an elegant and fertile piece of ground. The surface 
slopes in every direction, and is encircled by a collection of 
exquisite scenery. The Sound and Long Island beyond it, with 
a gracefully indented shore, are directly in front; and both 
strefch westward to a vast distance, and seaward till the eye is 
lost. On each side, also, lies a harbor, bounded by handsome 

" A train of groves and bushy islands, peculiarly pleasing in 
themselves, increase by their interruptions, the beauty of the 
waters. The fai-m itself is a delightful object, with its fields 
neatly inclosed, its orchards and its groves. 

" Here Mr. Rogers has formed an avenue a nule in length, 
reaching to the water's edge. At the same time he has planted 
on the grounds surrounding his house, almost all the forest trees 
which are indigenous to this country. To these he has united 
plantations of fruit trees, a rich garden and other interesting 
objects so combined as to make this one of the pleasantest 
retfeats in the United States. 

"The third, named the Cove, is on the western side of Noro- 
ton river. On this spot, in very advantageous situations, have 
been erected two large mills for the manufacture of flour, and a 
small village or rather hamlet for mechanics of various kinds. 
The view of the hai-bor in front, the points by which it is lim- 
ited, the small but beautiful islands which it contains, the Sound, 
the Long Island shore, a noble sheet of water in the rear, the 
pleasant village of Noroton, and the hills and groves in the 
interior is rarely equalled by scenery of the same nature, 
especially when taken from a plain scarcely elevated above the 
level of the ocean." 

Such is the testimony of Dr. Dwight, to the beauty ot these 
three still noticeable points in the topography of the town. 


Nearly titty years have passed since tliat judgment was penned ; 
and during this period the progress of settlement or of imi)rove- 
ment has added many a locality, whose natural or cultivated 
beauty equals or exceeds these. "Whoever traverses this tract 
from east to west, over almost any one of our roads will tind 
himself frequently surprised by a sudden view of some charm- 
ing landscape — whose beauty is only enhanced by the silvery 
edging of its southern front. Such views one will be glad to 
linger upon, from our Richmond, and Strawberry, and Xoroton, 
and Summer, and Ox ridge elevations, near the Sound; and 
from Fort and White hills, from Hunting and Davenport and 
Long and High ridges, further to the north. And besides these, 
a score of other summits might be named, each one of which is 
itself a gem set in the coronal of our summer landscape, yet 
most of all delightful for what it shows us, of the broad pano- 
rama in which it lies. 

But what gave the name Stamford to this township ? In his 
centennial address, delivered here in 1841, the Rev. Mr. Alvord, 
who had evidently spent no little time in his historical inqui- 
ries, gives this explanation of the name. "Our fathers in 
changing the name," from Rippowams, the Indian name, " called 
the town after Stamford in England, which place was doubtless 
the former residence of some of them." This is a most natural 
conclusion, and one which we shall be able, neither to prove or 

But if it was true, that an English town o-ave name to the 
New England settlement, it would yet be a question which of 
the three places in the mother land, should have the honor. It 
might have been the Stamford Bridge, in Yorkshire, on the 
Derwent, a place famous for that successful contest in which 
Harold utterly defeated the insolent Norwegian invasion. The 
orthography of the name, as reported by Hume is precisely that 
which we iind on our earlier records ; it is not so remote from 
the theatre of the good Mr. Denton's earlier ministerial labors, 
as not, for some reason or other, to have been chosen as a fitting 
name for the new settlement. Oi- it may have been that other 


Stamford of England, on the extreme western borders of Wor- 
cesteri-hire, as the Connecticut town was, on the same extreme 
of New England. We know not but the very loveliness of this 
beautiful town of the charming Teme, may have been seen or 
fancied to belong, in its elements at least, to the new township on 
the margin of the New England Rippowam. Good authority, at 
a later date, has told us that "the situation of Stamford is de- 
lightful." And still again, " it would be utterly impossible 
through the medium of words, or at least any words which I 
can select, to give an idea of the lovely country where I was 
born and reared." And yet once more, we have the same en- 
thusiastic admiration expressed by the same gifted pen. It is 
the hearty and affectionate tribute of the talented Mrs. Sher- 
Avood — her skillful [ihotograph of the dearest scenes of her 
childhood, in which she would commend to all her readers " the 
lo\ely parsonage of Stamford, the elegant home in which I Avas 
l)(>rn." And surely no one who has an eye for the lovely and 
beautiful in landscape, will deny that some future Mrs. Sherwood 
may, with equal truth, so daguerreotype the charms of more than 
one home in the Stamford, yet to be, here hi this Southwestern 
corner of Connecticut. But, perhaps, as has been generally sup- 
posed, the name comes from the Stamford of Lincolnshire. 
That, also, was a border town, and like this, on the South- 
western extreme of the county. And there are, possibly, other 
local and historical reasons which may seem to indicate this as 
the original, to whose sceneiy or to the affection of whose duti- 
ful children, our New England Stamford owes its name. 

As to the English homes of our settlers, our utmost diligence 
has failed to trace a single family to the Lincolnshire Stamford. 
Indeed, but one of the earlier names of our pioneers, has been 
found on any of the Stamford records we have seen. The 
Browns, a name, universal almost as the Smiths, were early in 
the ancient English Stamford of Lincoln. And they were also 
of no little repute. Their monuments still speak of their fame. 
The church of All Saints, standing on the north side of the Red 


Lion Square, in the old English town, was the gift of John 
Brown, who was an alderman of the city in 1462 ; and in the 
St. Mary's can now be seen brass figures of William Brown and 
his wife. A hospital, also, founded in the reign of the third 
Richard, is still a monument here to the humanity of this Wil- 
liam Brown. 

Not far from this Stamford, on the borders of Leicestershire, 
Mr. Denton had his nativity, and spent his earlier years ; and it 
is not improbable that some feature of the place made so favor- 
able impression on his boyhood, that when he came to stand, in 
manhood, at the head of this yet nameless settlement, he could 
find no fitter or worthier name for the place which he intended 
to make the home for his old age. 

But sometimes the subtlest of influences establishes a new 
empire, to which the most trifling occurrence, a mere slight re- 
semblance even, shall give its name. So, doubtless it was some 
slight feature of many of the townships in New England, which 
led to the selection of their names, — their peculiar water margin, 
their running streams, their hills, or valleys, or plains ; and the 
same unimportant hint which settled the choice of the founders, 
settled also the name assigned to the town thus founded. 

I confess myself to have been not a little surprised by Simp- 
son's engraving of the Lincolnshire Stamford. It is found in 
Allen's History of the County of Lincoln. It is a southerly 
view of the old town, and the first impression it gave me was 
that of a veritable prototype of the modern Connecticut Stam- 
ford, as seen from the south-west. 

The two landscapes are strikingly alike. The five steeples or 
towers are almost literally reproduced in the modern engraving 
of the modern Stamford. A large castellated mansion towards 
the right of the old picture, occupies nearly the position of the 
Noroton Hill residences, on our map ; and the almost involun- 
tary decision was, there need be no wonder why the founders 
called these hills and wooded slopes another Stamford. 

Nor was the resemblance scarcely less, in the engraving found 


in Britten's " Beauties of England and Wales." The landscape 
seemed the same. Hills and intervales Avore the same contour, 
and were cleaved by not dissimilar river beds. And if the self 
same mold gave form and feature to the two, why should not 
the same express them both ? 

But how completely, a careful study of these pictures of the 
English Stamford, would dispel the illusion that they designed 
to illustrate the trans- Atlantic town. 

The artificial of the two is all unlike. The architecture of the 
one antedates by long centuries the other. The institutions 
and customs which the one illustrates, are equally antiquated 
and foreign to the other. Long ages of time and a wide ocean 
in space must certainly separate them. 

Witness those huge uplifted arms of that slow grinding wind- 
mill, and you need not ask them if their unwieldy and unsightly 
aerimotion belongs to the age or to the neighborhood, even, of the 
modern cis-Atlantic town. 

Witness those circular arches and wavy moldings of that old 
Benedictine convent, which plainly tell of an age far earlier 
than the very oldest of the many styled architecture of the Con- 
necticut town. Witness those ancient monasteries and friaries, 
in which, ages before the white man had even found the site of 
the new Stamford, there must have been gathered successive 
generations of men who practiced or simulated the holiest self- 
denials of the Christian life. Witness, too, those mouldering 
ruins, that tell us the presence here, in ages long since gone by, 
of the old Roman and his power ; and those other dismantled 
halls, where other generations were trained in all the most 
courtly and elegant culture of that early age. 

This English Stamford dates from a very early period. Henry 
Huntington gives us our first account of it. As early as Bla- 
dud, one of the British kings of the ninth century, it was a place 
of some note. The Romans called it Durobevia, from the rocky 
ford over the Welland here. The Saxons translated the same 
feature into their language, and called it the Stane-ford or rocky 


ford which in the progress of orthographic change lias come to 
be Stamford. Our first spelling of the modern names, it will be 
seen, is Stanforde ; and we may, without serious misgiving, ac- 
cept as its prototype, the ancient Stanforde in the Wapentake 
of Xess. 

We have already alluded to the local records from which a 
portion of these details are drawn. But quite as fortunate is it, 
that so many of the papei's of the town have been preserved by 
the care of the state. But for the aid of these papers, now ar- 
ranged and indexed in the state library in Hartford, but few of 
the older towns of the state could furnish material for an intel- 
ligible record of their local history. Certainly, Stamford, one 
of the oldest of these towns, is greatly indebted to this state 
providence for many of the records wliich this history pre- 

Next to these sources of our history, stand the ecclesiastical 
records of the First Church and those of the Middlesex Church 
and Society, (Darien) ; the former commencing with Dr. Welles' 
ministry in 1747, and the latter with the organization of the 
Society in 1739. 

It must always be regretted that the records of the First 
Church, down to the settlement of Dr. Welles, are not to be re- 
covered. The Society records of that period are identical with 
such town records as are preserved, and are scarcely less va lua- 
ble to the history than those of the town itself. 

Next in value are those faithful transcripts of the records of 
the New Haven colony, from 1038 to 1649, and from 1653 to 
1665, published by C. J. Hoadly, Esq., State librarian; and a 
like faithful transcript of the Connecticut colony records, from 
1036 to 1677, executed by J. Hammond Trumbull, Esq, Secre- 
tary of State. Nor should the old Dutch records of the New 
Netherlands be lost sight of in this research. Of the history of 
this region, anterior to the date when our colonial records be- 
gin, and of the earlier conflicts with the Aborigines, they give 
us many facts and hints of great interest. 


Besides these, which have the force of original records, -we 
find of great service to the satisfactory ehicidation of our local 
history, such works as Trumbull's Connecticut, which abounds 
in material for its earlier jjeriods, and the later work of Hollis- 
ter which brings tlie collection down almost to the present date. 
Hall's Norwalk, Mead's Greenwich, Prince's and Thompson's 
histories of Long Island, and Bolton's thorough M'ork on West- 
chester County, have also great value, treating as they do of 
localities whose earlier history was so inwoven with ours. Nor 
are the printed histories of our revolutionary period to be over- 
looked in this list of authorities. Especially are we indebted to 
the local records supplied by Hinman in his report of the part 
which Connecticut bore in that contest ; and scarely less to the 
faithful account which Sabine gives us of the opposers of tlie 
war. Still more important are the contemporaneous records, 
collected at such cost of time and monej' in the American Ar- 

In family history and genealogy, much use has necessarily 
been made of Savage's great thesaurus of abbreviated genealog- 
ical lore; and for reporting the prominent iamily of which it 
treats, no work or works could readily take the place of Mr. 
A. B. Davenport's " Davenport Family." 

Besides these sources of our history, the author has had free 
access to several of our best historical libraries, from which 
have been drawn many of the facts here recorded. Especially 
is he indebted for this indulgence granted him, at the Yale Col- 
lege Library and that of the New Haven Colony Association, 
in New Haven ; at the State Library and tlie Connecticut His- 
torical Society, in Hartford ; at the Astor and Merchants and 
New York Society Libraries, of New York city ; and at that of 
the Long Island Historical Society, in Brooklyn, N. Y. 



In the spring of 1G40, a company of dissatisfied and restless 
men in Wethersfield, were anxious to end the contentions and 
feuds wliich for four or five years had rendered their home in 
that new colony comfortless and improfitable. The reasons for 
that distracted condition, among a band of men who had left 
the father land not six years before, to seek a quiet and peaceful 
home for themselves, may never be fully made known. Cer- 
tainly no contemporaneous record which I have been able to 
find has reported them. But, both the town records, and those 
of the Connecticut colony, which then included only the three 
settlements at Windsor, Hartford, and Wethersfield, agree in 
representing the Wethersfield disagreement so positive as not 
likely to be harmonized, as long as the spirited factions should 
remain together. So thought the Peace Commissioners who 
went down from Hartford to see if the peace could be preserved. 
So decided the Church Committee from Watertown, who had 
been sent out into the wilderness to look after the brethren who 
had so recently emigrated from their company. So decided, 
also, that princely pioneer among our Connecticut worthies of 
that age, the Rev. Mr. Davenport, who had gone up from New 
Haven to see if fraternal counsel would not restore harmony to 
that disturbed community ; and so believed the discerning men 
among the contestants themselves. Their judgment accepted 
the judicious advice of Mr. Davenport, and they proceeded to 
arrange the terms of a peaceiiil separation. 

The church at Wethersfield had only seven voting members. 


six who had come from Watertown, and one who had joined 
them. Four of them were on one side in the controversies 
which had divided the people, and three on the other, but Iho 
latter constituted the majority of the community. As a peace 
measure the majority of the church agreed to emigrate with the 
minority of the planters ; while the majority of the planters 
conceded them the right of taking witli them the records, and 
80 transferring their church organization to the new field. 

But whither should, or could they go ? All the region to the 
west of them, until they should reach the Dutch settlements in 
New Netherlands was as yet an unbroken wilderness. To the 
south, at New Haven, and down the river at Saybrook, new 
settlements were just established, but offered no inducements to 
so large a company of emigrants as they would muster. On 
the Sound, at Guilford, Milford, Fairfield, and Stratford, com- 
panies of pioneers were just breaking ground for the sites of 
their new colonies. Everywhere else the wilderness and savage 
held sway. 

But Mr. Davenport, who had advised the separation, though 
the enterprise of the young colony to whose success he had so 
largely contributed, was prepared to oifer them a place for a 
home. The New Haven colony, in its zeal to maintain an 
equal footing with the Connecticut colony, whose seat was at 
Hartford, had just made a purchase, through their agent, Capt. 
Nathaniel Turner, of that tract which lies to the west of the 
present town of Norwalk. This they offered to the, waiting 
company at Wethersfield. The Committee appointed by that 
company, accepted the purchase, and soon the arrangements 
were completed for the formal occupation ot the place. The 
following record of the decision of the General Court of New 
Haven, held the 14th of ninth montji, 1640, exhibits the title 
under which the colonists were to take possession of their new 
domain : 

" Whereas, Andrew Ward and Robert Coe of Wethersfield 
were deputed by Wethersfield men the 30th of the 8th month, 


commonly called October, 1640, to treat at New Haven, about 
the plantation lately purchased by said town called Toquams, 
which being considered of it was agreed upon by the said court 
and justices aforesaid that they shall have the said plantation 
upon the terms following : first, that they shall repay unto the 
said town of New Haven all the charges which they have dis- 
bursed about it, which comes to thirty-three pounds as appears 
by a note or schedule hereunto annexed ; secondly, that they 
reserve a fifth part of said plantation to be disposed of at the 
appointment of this court to such desirable persons as may be 
expected, or as God shall send hither, provided that if within 
one whole year such persons do not come to fill up those lots so 
reserved that then it sliall be free for the said people to nomi- 
nate and present to this court some persons of their own choice 
which may fill up some of those lots so reserved if this court 
approve of them ; thirdly, that they join in all points with this 
plantation in the form of government here settled, according to 
agreement betwixt this court and Mr. Samuel Eaton about the 
plantation of Totokett. These articles being read together 
with Mr. Samuel Eaton's agroQment in the hearing of the said 
parties or deputies, it was accepted by them and in witness 
thereof they subscribed tneir names to the articles in the fiice 
of the court." 

Thus were the founders of Stamlord supplied with a place lor 
their future residence. Providence had opened it as a refuge 
for them; and they gladly fled to it. They hoped to find in 
their new home, eq-ually, freedom from the tyrannous rule under 
which they had been exiled from the land of their birth, and 
from the petty annoyances which had tried their patience and 
their temper in their brief sojourn on the banks ot the Connec- 
ticut. Few pioneers among the emigrants from tlie old world 
to this, had been more severely tested than they had been ; and 
we may be assured that they hailed with no common satisfac- 
tion the pleasant and quiet retreat to which they had been thus 

The story of their introduction to their new home, the com- 
pany they constituted, the community they established, the 
plans they made and matured, their trials and their triumphs, 
let it be our present business to learn. Reverently and duti- 


fully let US ask iitter the men, wlio in times of great trial, 
through days and years of weakness and suffering, of hope 
deferred and pressing fears, sustained themselves in the great 
woi-k of laying deep and broad foundations for the permanent 
prosperity of their children's children in this new world. 

The following passage, providentially saved from the first 
book of the Stamford records, will introduce us to these men. 
Defaced as it is in some places, and wanting as it is in others, 
we may well be thankful that so much of it remains. It is the 
most effectual key we have to the earlier portion of our history. 
We will transcribe what remains of it, as a perpetual witness 
to some of the earliest and most vital facts of the story we are 
to trace. The portions of the record now effaced, which are 
supplied, will be included in parentheses. The remainder of it 
is the literal record as it was made by the original recorder 
. himself The first paragraph, which is a mere title, was evi- 
dently inserted after the name of the settlement had been 
changed, though written by the same hand which made the 
record following it. These earliest records are all in the 
handwriting of Richard La^^■. 

1640-41. A town bo (ok of the) freeholders of the towue (of 
Stamford as it) was afterwards called, but now Rippowam, 
contay(n)in(g the acts) and conclusions of the companlc of 
Wethersifeld men, to (begin a) removal thither this Avinter. 
And also their most matteriall acts and agreements, touching 
the place how they came by it, theire rat(es) and accounts, 
theire divisions and grants of land, and records of every man's 
land, and iiassnuis of land from one to another. 

First thisi' men wliose names are underwriten have bound 
thems(clvcs) under tlie paine of forfiture of 5 lb_a man to goe 
or sende to Ripp(owan) so begin and psecute the designe of a 
plantation there by ye 16th o(f) may next, the rest, theire 
familyes thither by ye last of novembe(r) 12 months, viz. 
Ri Denton Ri (4il"dersleue Tho Weekes Sam Sliennan 
ma mitchell Edni Wood Jon Wood 11 lien Sinitli 

Thur Rainor Jo Wood Jer Jagger Vincint Simkins 

Robt Coe Jer Wood J Jisopp Dan Finch 

And Ward Sam Clark Jo Seaman Jo Xorthend 20 




And whereas tlie piirchivse of the place and vewing of it first 
mayde by our frends of new hauen and we stand indebted to 
them for it : it (is) ordered at the same time That 100 bushells 
of corne at 35 a bushell be paid in towards it we raised and 
sent them as followeth, m(r) ma mitchel 

Jo. Reyuoulds, 

, 3.2 

Jo. Sorthend. 2.3 

Tbo. We(eks), 

Jo. Whitmore, 


Jonas Wood, H. 2.3 

Jer. (Wood) 

Ro. Bates, 


Edm. Wood, 2.2 

Th(o Morehouse). 

Ui. Crab, 

Jon Wood, 2.2 

(Ro Fisher) 

Sa. Sherman, 


Sam. Clarke, 2.2 

(Jo. Jissop,) 

Jef. Firrics, 


Fra, Bell, 2.2 

(Hen. Smith), 

Dan. Finch, 

Jer. Jasgar, 2.2 


Not or M M,2.1 


Of the above list, all the names appear on our subsequent re- 
cords, excepting that of " Jo Xott." Though John Xott did not 
settle in the town, he is at this late date worthily represented 
in the seventh generation by Samuel Nott Hyde, Esq., son of 
Lucretia Xott, daughter ot Samuel Nott, D. D. as in note. 

Of the thirty men above named, only twenty-eight came to 
Stamford in the summer of 1641, as the record immediately 
following the list shows. On the 19th Oct. of that year they 
were notified by a " sufficient warning, to come in," to make 
choice of those who should administer the affairs of the new- 
colony. Mr. Denton, Mathew Mitchell, Andrew Ward, Thurs- 
ton Rainer, and Richard Crab were this provisional government. 
Their commission, given by that pure democracy then assembled, 
made them in all essentials the authoritative rulers over the 
people. Enough of the record remains to sho-w what their jjre- 
rogatives were : to order the common affairs or intended plans 
of the people, and to determine the differences that shall arise ; 
and " settle them according to equity, peace, law and conve- 
nience." That they were not unequal to the honor put upon 

*This is undoubtedly that of John Nott, of Wethersfleld, who for some reason did not 
come to Stamford. His family remained in Wethersfleld for two generations. His grand- 
son, Abraham, went to Saybrook, where his son Stephen was born in 1728.' This Stephen 
was the father of Samuel, D. D., so long the patriarch of Eastern Connecticut, and also of 
Eliphalet, D. D., so long and so successfully the president of XJnion College. 


them, and that the people did not find tlicir trust lutiayed, the 
progress of our history will show. 

The next item on the records of special interest to us in de- 
termining who the settlers of the to\\n were, and how tin y 
sought the interests and rights of each other in the very begin- 
nings of their civil arrangements, is the account of the first 
assignment of lands to the settlers. The entire list of names is 
preserved on the records, though portions of the statement of 
the principles on which the appropriation is made are indistinct : 

" Also this is to be noted, that in a iull meeting of the com- 
pany that was intending to come hither the same spring that we 
came, every of those twexty-eight men aforementioned and 
John Jisop were severally considered of and what <|uantity of 
(land) was meet for every man determined of^tlie man under 
consideraticin alist'uting himself while his case was in hand, and 
so successixrly ; au<l when he was called in again and demanded 
if so much gave him content, and so contentment and satisfac- 
tion was by every one of these men acknowledged ; and they 
set down these numbers of acres of marsh and upland after the 
same proportion as followeth : 

Math. Mitchell, 


Jo. Eenoulds, 


Jonas Wood H. 


Jer. Wood, 

Thurston Kainer, 

, 20 

Jo. Whltmore, 


Jo. Northend, 


Thos. Weeks 

Mr. Denton. 


Ri. Crab 

Jer. Jagger. 


Jo. Seaman, 

And. Ward, 


Jeff- Firries, 


Edm. Wood, 


Ro. Fisher, 

Eo. Coe. 


Ro . Bates, 


Jon. Wood, 0, 


Jo. Jissop. 

Bi. Gildersleue, 


Sam. Sherman 


Sam. Clark, 


Hen. Smith, 

R. Law, 


Dan. Finch, 


Fra. Bell, 
Tho. Marnhall, 




Tlie above record is authoritative as to who the first twenty- 
nine landholders of Stamford' were. The last name on the list 
undoubtedly should be Simkins, as it is found among the twenty 
who were bound to each other to begin the settlement, accord- 
ing to agreement with the New Haven colony. We shall now 
proceed to ascertain, as far as the record will enable us to do so, 
the other names which during the following season, were added 
to the twenty-nine. The following record is still legible in the 
original manuscript of the first recorder : 

" And in town meeting, Dec. 7, was there granted, besides 
house lots as other men had, Tho. Armitaoe, ten acres ; Jo. 


Ogden, ten acres; "Wm. Mayd, (Mead), five acres; with wood- 
land as chosable as those above. 

''Also to these men, besides, house lots as others, (Joh)n 
Stevens, Tho. Pop, Tho. Hyoute, Hen. Akerly, .To. Smith, senr., 
Jo Smith, jiin., (John Ro)ckwell, Jam. Pyne, Dan Scofl:eld, & 
Jo. Coe ; every of them two acres (homelot) and three acres 
woodland in the field now to be inclosed." 

The above record makes the resident landholders, by Dee. 1, 
1 G41, to be forty-two. Immediately following the last record, are 

" (Oc)tober 1642, in a general town meeting was given these, 
foll(owing), these lots as other men, marsh & woodland, viz : 
( )ine, Jo. Underhill, eight acres; to Robert Hustice seven 

acres ; ( ) acres ; Jo. Miller, five acres, to Jo. Finch, six 

acres ; ( )ree acres ; & to every of them woodland 

after the same pro(portion, & to Willi)am Newman two acres 
marsh & three acres woodland. 

" ( )ember 1642, was granted these men every man (a 
house lot &) land in the field to be inclosed, viz : Jo. Lum, 
Jam. Sw(ead), ( ), Symon Seiring, & to Jonas Weede a 

house and (pasture lan)d in the field to be inclosed. ( ) 

Pierson, Jo. Towne & Wm.'Graves have had every one (a house 
lot) & Tho. Slawson house lot and three acres in the field 
[ ] and eight men are freeholders as above." 

We have already seen whom on their arrival the founders of 
the town selected to arrange and administer their affairs. But 
very few other records of this early date ai"e preserved. Yet, 
these few are of the more value, since they serve to exhibit to 
us the most we can know of these worthy men. In Xovember, 
1041, they made a second election of seven men for townsmen, 
viz. : " yiath. Mitchell, Thurston Raynor, And. Ward, Jo. Whit- 
man, Ri. Law, and Ri. Crab." Their official work is defined to 
be, " to order town occasions." 

It will be noticed that but six of the seven men are named in 
tliis list, and the omission of one name may be most exactly il- 
lustrative of the men and the times. By reference to the first 
appointment made in October, the name of Mr. Denton will be 
found first on the list. It will be marked by still another token 
of honor. The others are all recorded with their christian 


names ; lie aloiie with the title of Master. He was their Minister. 
Was it not tacitly understood that his voice was to \)e heard 
in all matters that concerned their welfare, or that of their fam- 
ilies ? Was there any need, therefore, of making a formal en- 
rolment of his magisterial name, when the very name to them 
had a leader's and master's authority ? 

Another "general town meeting" is held in December, 1641. 
Enough of the record remains be show that the business of 
the meeting was to secure a suitable fencing '• of fields for the 
freeholders." So much of both margins is gone as to render it 
difficult to recover the precise terms on which the fencing was 
to be done, but enough is left to show that each man's part of 
the work was to be determined by his share of the land to be 
inclosed — a certain number of " rodd for every acre he hath then, 
well [made] and sufficient." The fence was to be done " by 
the first day of April, 1642, and whosoever hath [not com- 
pleted his] fence according to this order by that time shall 
forf[iet ] shillings for every rod." Ri Guildersleeve and 

Ro Bates were appointed to view the fence after the first of 
April, and report all defaults, if any, to the " men chosen for 
town occasions, [under penalty] of forfeiture of five shillings 
a man if they do no[t]." 

To secure passable roads we find this decree of the town 
passed. It was probably done before any of the last transac- 
tions recorded. 

'■ It was ordered. That whereas every man may count [all as 
his] Right before his lott to the middle of the street to be his, 
[but the trees he may] fall for his own use, if he like not to let 
them stand so [ ] the ground and clear the way of 

them, and if do not f[all them and clear] the way of them, to 
forfite for every tree not so fallen [ ] two shillings six 


Immediately following the above is this record : " It was 
ordered by those that were now come that Matthew Mitchell 
and Fra. Bell shall lay out house lots and order the man [ner of 
assigning them] ; rectify what is amiss and consider what al- 


lowanee [is to be made for] lioles, etc., not fit to bo measured 
for land and to measure [their lots for) every man at two pence 
a acre, or three shillings a house lot." 

Another public concern of these pioneers, and one which 
required their first attention, was the establishment of a grist 
mill. Probably the measures for doing this were taken before 
they left Wethersfield. "We find, duly recorded, the entire 
transaction, a specimen of which must be recorded in these 
pages as illustrative of the age to which it belongs.- The for- 
mal order is passed as early as September 1641, to build at a 
common charge a mill. The frame and body of the mill was to 
be made by " Samuel Swane," for "51 li. ; and the other parts 
by those of the town that were fit to do such work."' It seems 
that the mill was built and " set a going," but that during the 
year it was sold to Thurston Rainer and Francis Law for £74 

It also appears that an agreement was made with Math. 
Mitchell and Jo. Ogden for building a dam, of which the town 
agreed to bear the charge. In January after these arrange- 
ments were made, it would seem that either by fire or freshet, 
or both, " the mill and the dam were brought to nought." 
It further is probable from the record, that the town were 
responsible for the mill, as they were to have the use of it until 
the " somer," (summer) of 1643. On the destruction of the 
property a rate bill is made out, of five shillings an acre, and 
twelve shillings a house lot, to meet the loss by this calamity. 
This assessment list is a curiosity, and if carefully preserved 
should be engrossed for perpetual preservation on our pages. 
In addition to the mill account there is also connected with it 
a charge for w^hat in the record is called the " Capt. house." 
As many of the charges are considerably obliterated, a single 
specimen of one less defaced than the most of them, is here 
inserted. A modern accountant might use a smoother and more 
graceful chirography, but would fail of making a more exact 


balance of the account. The selected specimen is that which 

stands second on the list : 

T. Rainer debtor for lose by mil 44.9 Capt. house 22s. purchase. 

mil 18.12.6 all wch 21.19.3 due to him. 

paid the Char, mil 7.18.8 Capt. house 34.8 last Char. 24s. Cd. S. 

Swain 171.00.0— all 27.17.10 towne owes him 5.17.7. 

Whoever will take the trouble to effect the reductions neces- 
sary to the solution of the above problem will find the account 
accurate. In the same way, the charges are made and the 
credits are given through the entire list, with a single excep- 
tion. In the charges against Capt. John Underhill, no mention 
is made of the item found in the other accounts of the " Capt. 
liouse." The presumption therefore is, that the military chief- 
tain of our Stamford pioneers, was excused fi-om the charge for 
the support of the Stamford fortress, since he was expected to 
discharge his duty to the community in another way. 

This account, which seems to have been made out in January 
1642, has charges against fifty-two persons. As the margin on 
v/hich tho names occur is entirely gone from the second page of 
the charges, only twenty-four of the parties are reported in the 
regular account. Besides these, four other names casually 
occur in tliQ accounts. The only name which does not already 
appear on our list of the settlers, is that of Samuel Swane. 

There is probably but one more re<;ord, now preserved, which 
can assist in confirming the accuracy of our list of the pioneers 
of the Stamford settlement. That was made in the tall of 
1641, and is even more defaced than those we have already 
examined. It is thus introduced : 

" It was ordered that [ ] should be made for defraying 

[town] charges." 

Then follows an almost unintelligible statement of the nature 
of the charges and the principles upon which they are to be 
adjusted. Enough remains of the records to show that the 
charge made by the Xew Haven "friends" who had secured for 
them the territory, had never been paid in full. It also ajipear- 
ed that a difference was made between the Wethersfield men 


who came to Stamford ^^'itli the first company and those who 
did not come, so that it was agreed " to lay 3s. 8d. an acre on 
marsh and house lott, upon the company that came from Weth- 
ersfield, and 3s. oil. an acre upon the rest." 

" The account, very sliort, yet wee hope, plainly, now follow- 
eth, with the sd rate included in the ballanee of every partic- 
ular, hut that it may be somd [summed] up, it is drawn in two 

A single specimen of these charges an<l credits will here be 
given, drawn up so as to show wliat is meant l)y the "two 
parts" above. 

T. RainerFor bill charges For rate now 3. IS. 10 for 

85s. 6 for 5 3-4 bush 17s. so much due at w. 2s. 3 

3 for 1-2 that he paid at To recv. of S. C. 21s. 1 of 

W. 22s. 6 all makes 0. Jer. Wood 19. 9d J Renoude 

5. 3 3s. 6 all makes up 06. 5. 5 

Then follow similar accounts Avith all the parties concerned in 
the transaction. 

On this record occurs tlie name Jam. Pine, which is probably 
the James Pyne on the former list. The names which are 
found here are all of them reported already in the preceding 
lists of the settlers. 

This adds to the list of our pioneers, all but one of whom were 
land owners for the second year of the colony, seventeen new 
names, making in all fifty-nine. No other record reports any 
additional distribution of land to the settlers. A few more 
certainly received their lands in the mutual distribution, as is 
evident from the records of several house lots still preserved. 
But their names can probably never be recorded. 

No fuller list of these settlers down to the end of 1642 can 
now be hoped for, but the record thus transcribed is authorative 
as to the presence here, thus early, of the following worthy list — 
our roll of pioneers. Twenty of them, by the opening of the 
summer of 1641, had already doubtless planted themselves near 
each other in their pioneer tabernacles, on a sinuous path be- 
tween Xoroton and Tomuck, now Richmond Hills, winding its 


way aroiiiul ledges and knolls since then removed, and avoiding 
more than one pathless swamp, where we now have cur most 
solid and right lined thoroughfare. Thirty-eight more of them, 
drawn by the good report which had gone back from those who 
had thus made proof of the goodly land, had followed, and were 
here to spend the ninth month of the second year of the colony. 
Fifty-nine, at least, of these sturdy men, with their wives and 
little ones, braved in their extemporized homes, the colds and 
storms of the winter of 1042. How many others, and who, 
were counted worthy to share with them the honors of that bold 
adventure, we may never know. We have gratefully recorded 
these names, that we may know whom we honor as we shall 
trace the growth and fair fame of the town they thus came to 
found. They will appear in our third and fourth chapters, with 
such record as we shall be able to make of their origin and their 



1. :\Iatliew :\Iitchel, 
•i. Thurston Kavnor, 
J. Kev. Kirhard Denton, 

4. Andrew Wai'd, 

5. Robert Coe, 

0. Richard Gildersleve, 
T. Richard Law, 
8. John Reynolds, 
0. John Whitmore, 

10. Richard Crabb, 

11. Jeft'ry Ferris, 

12. Robert Bates, 
1.3. Samuel Sherman, 

14. Daniel Finch, 

15. Jonas Wood, II., 
10. John Xorthend, 

17. Jeremy Jagger, 

18. Edmond Wood, 

19. Jonas Wood, O., 

20. Samuel Clark, 

21. Francis Bell, 

01. John (J^deu, 
.32. William Mead, 

33. John Stevens, 

34. Tliomas I'o]). 

35. Tliomas Ilovt, 

36. Henry Akei'ly, 

37. John "Smith, sen., 

38. John Sniitli, ji-., 
80. John r.ockwell, 

40. James Pyne, 

41. Daniel Scofield, 

42. John Coe, 

43. John Underbill, 

44. Robert Hustis, 

45. Jolm Holly, 

46. John Miller, 

47. John Finch, 

48. George Slawson, 

49. William Newman. 
60, John Lum, 

51. James Swead, 


■22. Thomas Morehouse, 
•23. Jeremiah Wood, 
24. Thomas Weeks, 
5. John Seaman, 
(3. Robert Fisher, 

7. Joseph Jessuj), 

8. Henry Smith, 

9. Vincent Simkins, 
M. Thomas Armitage, 

52. Simon Hoyt, 

53. Simon Seiring, 

54. Jonas Weed. 

55. Pierson, 

56. John Town, 

57. William Graves, 

58. Thomas Slawson, 

59. Francis Yates. 



Ill tliis chapter we shall indicate the proprietors of the town, 
who were here before the end of 1642, with such account of 
their origin and families as we have been able to secure. The 
record against each name will furnish, usually, the evidence for 
its presence here. The list has been made with all possible 
care, that we might know who and what kind of men were the 
founders of the town. 

Possibly a few other names should have been included as 
Avorthy a place on the list, and possibly some of these were of 
persons too transiently here to be counted among those -H-ho so 
worthily laid the foundations of our community. 

Akeely, Henry, received Dec. 7, 1641, two acres, homelot, 
and three acres of woodland. Savage makes him at New Haven 
in 1640. The Colony Records mention him there, as rebuked 
for " building a cellar and selling it without leave " in April of 
that year. Hinman supposes he came with Underbill and 
Slawson, while our record makes him precede them nearly a 
year. He was a house carpenter and farmer. His death is re- 
corded here, June 17, 1650. This name on the records is spelled, 
as above, and also, Akerlye, Ayckrily, and on the inventory of 
his estate, which was witnessed Jan. 4, 1658, Accorley. His 
widow, Ann, is said to be 75 years old in 1962. This name is, 
perhaps, now represented by Ackley. 


Akmitage, Tiio5ias, received ten acres of land, Dec. 1041. 
According to Savage, he belonged to Lynn, Mass. He came 
from Bristol, England, in 1635, in the ship James, with the Rev. 
Richard Mather and others, and removed in 1037 to Sandwich, 
Mass., whence he came to Stamford as above. From Stamford 
he soon went with Underbill and company to Oyster Bay, L. T. 
In 1647 be appears on the list of tlie Hempstead settlers. 

Bates, Robert, came from Wetbersfield, with the first colo- 
ny, and is on the list of the thirty who paid one hundred bush- 
els of corn to the New Haven " friends," who had surveyed 
and transferred the territory to them. His lot in Wetbersfield, 
which was thirty and a third ^-ods in width, containing 1S2 
acres, was sold in 1041 to William Gibbons. His death is re- 
corded, at Stamford, June 11, 1675. His will, probated Nov. 1, 
1075, makes bequests to his son John, his daughter Mary 
Ambler and son-in-law John Cross. He bequeathed certain 
negroes, who are to be made free at 40 years of age. 

Bell, Francis, is on the list of the twenty-nine settlers, who 
were assigned land in 1640, when he received seven acres. As 
his name does not appear on the Wetbersfield records with the 
other Stamford settlers, it is probable he was still quite young. 
He became prominent here, and has been fully represented in 
every generation since, in descendants both of his own and of 
other names. His wife Rebecca died here, in 1684, and he, Jan. 
8,1690. His son Jonathan was the first child born in the town, 
and his birth was in 1041. Mrs. Bell's clothes, of which the in- 
ventory is on record. Book 1, Page 12, were by the husband's 
oi-der, divided equally between the two daughters, Rebecca Tut- 
tle and Mary Hoyt. The inventory of Lieut. Francis Bell, 
dated Jan. 1689, is found on page 116, of 1st Book of Records, 
amounting to £317 12s. His will, on record at Fairfield, dated 
3, 24, 1689, makes bequests to his son Jonathan, grand-son 
Jonathan, Mary Hoyt, grand-daugliter Hannah, and "grand- 
daughter Rebecca, wlioni he had brought up," an<l to his 


daughter Tuttle's four sons, Jonathan, Simon, William, and 

Clark, Saiiuel, came with the company from Wethersfield, 
and is on each of the first three lists made at the time of the set- 
tlement. He received seven acres of land. Savage supposes 
he was at Milford in 1669, thence removing to Hempstead, 
L. I. ; that he married Hannah, daughter of Rev. Hobert 
Fordham, and was living in New Haven in 1685. 

CoE, John, son of Robert, received, Dec. 7, 1041, two acres, 
houselot and three acres wood land. He was bom in England, 
Norfolk county, in 1622, and he came with his father to 
Watertown, thence to Wethersfield, and thence to Stamford. 
He soon went to Hempstead, L. I., thence to Newtown, and 
afterwards to Greenwich in 1660. He was one of the pur- 
cliasers of Rye ; but returned to Long Island where he was ap- 
appointed a Magistrate by the Connecticut Colony. He had 
five sons; John, Robert, Jonathan, Samuel, and David. In 
1651 he sold his house and homelot to Elias Bailey. 

CoE, Robert, was born in Norfolk county, England, in 1596, 
and came in the Francis to Watertown, Mass., in 1634. He 
was admitted freeman at Boston, Sept. 3, 1634, and is enrolled 
among the settlers of Watertown, the same year. He brought 
with him his wife Ann, aged thirty-three years, and thi-ee 
children ; John, aged eight yjars, Robert, aged seven, and Ben- 
jamin, aged five. In 1635 he went to Wethersfield where he 
remained until the settlement of Stamford. In the first division 
of land here he received fourteen acres, which would indicate a 
high standing among the settlers. He was one of the members 
of the Wethersfield church. While here, he once, at least, re- 
presented the town in the general court of New Haven. He 
went with Mr. Denton and his colony in 1644 to Hempstead, 
L. I. His son Robert went to Jamaica in 1C56. Here he was 
a man of distinction. He was the deputy from the town to the 


general court of Connecticut in 16.56, and was Sheriff of the 
county from 1669 to 1672. His son Benjamin went with the 
father to Hempstead, whence lie went to Jamaica where he had 
a fomily. His descendants have been both numerous and re- 
spectable. A record of the Coe family was prepared by Rev. 
D. B. Coe, D. D., of New York, and in-inted in 1856. 

Crabb, Richard. — His name first appears on the roll of the 
general meeting of the freemen, at Hartford, for the election of 
magistrates, Jan. 16, 1639; and April 9, 1640, he is present as 
deputy, and must have been a man of some note. He came to 
Stamford with the company from Wethersfield, and is on the 
list of those who paid the hundred bushels of corn to the New 
Haven Colony, and of those to whom the first assignment of 
land was made. He received ten acres. His land must have 
been assigned him west of the present limits of the town, as he 
is spoken of subsequently in the records, as belonging to Green- 
wich. His position is sufficiently attested by his appointment 
on the first provisional government of the colony. In 1658, we 
find him making trouble in the church. He seems to have be- 
come a quakcr, or at least, to have harbored quakers and kept 
quaker books. He could not agree with the church in their 
opinion of the sanctity of the Sabbath, and spoke disparagingly 
or contemptuously of the ministry. Mr. Bishop, the pastor of 
the church became discouraged, and we find Mr. Crabb, the of- 
fender, brought into court for trial. He was fined to pay £30 
to the jurisdiction, and give bonds in £100, for his good be- 
havior, and also to make public acknowledgment at Stamford to 
the satisfiiction of Francis Bell, and those others whom he had 
wronged. In 1660 the constables of Stamford are desired to use 
their endeavors, to arrest the person of Richard Crabb, of 

Dextox, Rev. Richard, came with liis parishioners from 
Wethersfiehl. His name heads the first list of the new colony, 
and stands tliird on tlie list of those wlio paid for surveying the 


tract. He received fourteen acres, only two of the settlers ex- 
ceeding him in the assignment of land. Mather makes him to 
liave been a minister at Haliftix, Yorkshire, England. In 1644 
he took quite a large company of the Stamford settlers and 
went to Hempstead, on Long Island. See Biographical Sketch. 

Ferris, Jeffrey, made Ireeman in Boston in 1635, came with 
the first settlers, is on the list of those who paid for the survey, 
and received ten acres at the first assignment of land. Savage 
says he was from Watertown, Mass., where he was made Iree- 
man, probably May, 6, 1635, whence he came to Wethersfield. 
He sold his lot in Wethersfield, of 45 acres, to John Deming. 
He came with the first colony trom Wethersfield, and in 1656 is 
one of the eleven Greenwich men who petitioned to be accepted 
under the New Haven jurisdiction. His will, found on the 
probate records at Fairfield, is dated Jan. 6, 1664. He wills to 
the four boys he brought up, ten pounds sterling a piece, if 
they live with anj' of his children until they are eighteen years 
old, the money then to be put out for them until they are twenty 
years of age. His will names also his wife Judy, son James, 
son Jonathan Lockwood, and Mary Lockwood, son Peter's 
three children, and son Joseph's two. Judy Bowers, his wid- 
ow, receipts for her widow's portion, Mar. 6, 1667. His marriage 
contract with his wife Susannah, widow of Robert Lockwood, 
of date May 28^ 1661, pledges certain legacies to the children 
of Robert Lockwood, deceased, and mortgages his Greenwicli 
lands and "housings." He died in 1666. The name Ferris 
is from Leicestershire, house of Feriers, from Henry, son of 
Gualchelme de Feriers, to whom William the Conqueror gave 
large grants of land in the three shires of Stafford, Derby and 

Tradition invests the emigration <if this family to this country 
with the hues of romantic adventure — the ancestress, high born, 
following her plebeian lover out into this western world, to 
share with him here the fortunes which Elnglish aristocracy 
would not allow there. 


Finch, Daniel, made freeman in Boston, 1631, and enrolled 
same year among Watertown settlers. In 1636, he was consta- 
ble in Wethersfield, whence he came with the Stamford settlers, 
1641, and is on each of the three first lists of the colony. He 
received nine acres in the first distribution of land. Savage 
supposes he was from Watertown, Mass., and that he came in 
the fleet with Gov. Winthrop ; that he was made freeman May 
18, 1631 ; that he went to Wethersfield in 1635 or '36, where he 
was constable in the latter year. He also makes him remove in 
1653 to Fairfield, where he married, Dec. 25, 1657, Elizabeth, 
widow of John Thompson, and diedMarcli 1067. His marriage 
agreement with Elizabeth Thompson is on the probate records 
at Fairfield. 

Fixiii, .loiiN, is a^sitrned by tlio town in October 1042, six 
acres, with marsh and upland as the other men. He died here 
in 1657. He sold his house and homelot in 1653 to Richard 
Ambler. The inventory of his estate. Book 1, page 06, bears 
date 9th of 12th mo., 1658. 

Fisher, Kohekt, was here early, if not with the first colony. 
He had land assigned him by the town, as appears from the 
testimony of Thomas Morehouse, Mar. 17, 1049, in which he 
says that John Whitmore sold to his son John, the land Avhich 
was Robert Fisher's, by gift of the town. 

GiLDERSLEEVE, RoBERT, came with the first company from 
Wethersfield, and is on each of the first three lists of settlers. 
He received, in the first distribution of land, thirteen acres. In 
1664 he went to Hempstead. His lot in Wethersfield, which 
was thirty-seven and a half rods wide, containing 255 acres, 
was sold to Jolin Talcott in 1643. He and his son are accepted 
freemen in the Connecticut colony Irom Hempstead, in 1664. 
Before coming to Stamford, while in Wethersfield, he was 
" convicted " before the genei'al court of Connecticut for " per- 
nitious speeches," tending to tlie detriment and dishonor of tlie 


Commonwealth, lined £20, and bound over under a bond of 
£20. In the colony records this name is spelled Gyldersly. In 
1636 he is appointed with John Plum, by the general court of 
Connecticut, to survey the inventory of John Oldham, and per- 
fect the same to submit it to the court at the next session. 
Ihe same restlessness which made him dissatisfied at AVethers- 
field, seems to have affected him in Stamford. He soon went 
with Mr. Denton's company to Hempstead, L. I. While here 
he once represented tlie town in the n'cneral court at New 

Graves, William, received a house lot in the distribution of 
Nov. 1642; he lost his wife Sarah, herein 1651, and his son 
Benoni, in 1657. In a deed of land to William Newman in 
1657, he is said to be of Newtown, L. I. 

Holly, JoHJf, was here, as present records sliow, as early as 
1647. Wm. H. Holly, Esq., copied from the records several 
years ago the birth of John, son of John Holly, in Oct. 1642, 
wliich would suggest that the family may have been here even 
so early. He purchased land on the 26th of 12th month, 1647, 
of William Newman ; and from that date his purchases of real 
estate are numerous. He was a noted man, and much in the 
public service. In 1679, he gave his house and lot to his son 
Samuel, and land to his son John, reserving to himself and wife, 
half the fruit of the orchard. He also gave land at the same date 
to his son Increase. In his will on record at Fairfield, his lega- 
tees are his wife Mary, and his children John, Samuel, Increase, 
Elisha, Jonathan, Elizabeth Turney, Bethia Weed, Hannah 
Hoyt, and Abigail. See Biographical Sketch. 

HoYT, OR Hyatt, Thomas, received three acres of woodland. 
This name was spelled very variously on the records — Hoyette, 
Ilyat, Ilyot, Ilioute, Hout, Hoyt, Hoight, Ilayt, Iliat, Iloit, 
and Hoyte. Thomas " Hyat" died here in 1651. I suppose him 
and Simon to be the ancestors of the Stamford Hoyts. The in- 
ventory of his ostiity was rendered in court in 1(502, umountini; 


to £132 2s. 3d. The court gave to the widow her third, and 
made Cornelius Jones administrator, to divide the rest among 
the six children. The administrator was so well pleased with 
the case, as to take for his wife the widow Elizabeth, and their 
marriage is on record, 1. 8. 1657. The children are recorded as 
giving receipts to their father-in-law Cornelius Jones, as fol- 
lows: Caleb, Dec. 23,1661; Ruth, then become Mrs. John 
Wescot, Feb. 9, 1667; Rebecca, 13. 8. 1674, for twelve pounds, 
eleven shillings seven pence; Thomas, 21. 8. 1674, a like sum; 
and Deborah gives similar receipts, 30. 9. 1669. These receipts 
are for their several portions of their father, Thomas " Hiat's" 
estate. John "Hiat," of " Younkers," N. Y., gives receipt, 
July 6, 1689, for twenty pounds, current pay to the said Cor- 
nelius Jones, his father-in-law. After careful collation of names, 
I am unable to distinguish among the settlers the two fiimily 
names, Hoyt, and Hyatt. Within twenty-iive years of the settle- 
ment I find these diiferent ways of spelling the same name. On 
page 113 and 114, Records No. 1, the estates of both Thomas 
Hyatt and Simon Hoyette are receipted for by the heirs of both. 
In these receipts we have the following different spellings : Hoyt, 
1662 ; Hiat, 1669 ; Hoyte, 1661 ; and the promiscuous entry of 
these receipts for the two estates Avould seem to indicate that 
they belonged to the same family. Joshua, son of Simon, spells 
his name Hyot. When the name became settled in its two 
leading forms, Hoyt and Hyatt, as distinct family names, I 
hardly think the records will show. 

Hoyt, Siiiox, was probably here with the first settler?. 
I take the liberty of entering his name in one of the places 
whose name has been effaced by time. He died here in 1657, 
and his name occurs quite often on the records of the town. The 
inventory of his estate is on record, dated Oct. 9, 1657, and 
amounting to 225 pounds. After his death, his widow Su- 
sanna, it appears, married a Bates. His children, as indicated 
by receipts given for their portions of the father's estate, were : 
Joshua, Moses of Westchester, John, Samuel, Benjamin, Mrs. 


Samuel Finch, and Mrs. Samuel Fimian. In the distribution of 
the estate of their mother, then Susanna Bates, Feb. 1, 1674, 
besides the above names, appeared also that of Thomas Lyon, 
who probably had married one of her daughters. 

HusTED, Robert, was one of the company who received land 
in Oct. 1042. He had come from Mount Wollaston, now Brain- 
tree, Mass. He is probably the father of that Robert Hustis 
who, according to Bolton's Westchester, went from Fairfield to 
Westchester in 1654. His will, dated July 8, 1652, makes be- 
quests to his son Angel, of all his lands in Greenwich, with 
housings ; to his son Robert all his lands in Stamford, with cattle 
and housings ; to his wife a maintenance and other bequests ; 
and to his daughter Ann, ten pounds. In 1654, his widow 
Elizabeth, by will makes bequests to her sou Angel of Green- 
wich ; to Robert of Stamford, and to her daughter Ann, the 
wife of Richard Hardy. In the will of Robert the name is 
Husted, and in that of the widow the name is written Hustis 
and both are equally distinct, and that they refer to the same 
family, is also, as clear as the form of the name. The names of 
the children are also changed from Husted to Hustis, though in 
the second will the name is spelled both Hustes and Hustis. 

Jagger, Jeremy, came with the first company from Wethers- 
field, and is on each of the first three lists of the colony. He 
received, in the first distribution of land, three acres. His 
name occurs frequently in the early records of the town. He 
was engaged before the settlement of the town in the ser- 
vice of the Connecticut colony, in the expedition against the 
Pequods. Here his services were of good account, aud thirty- 
four years later the general court of Connecticut, in reward for 
his merit in the service, gave his three sons twenty acres of 
land a piece. In 1655 we find him petitioning to have his fine 
remitted. The court granted the request as long as he " carry 
it well." An inventory of his estate, prized by Richard Law 
and Francis Bell, Dec. 11, 1058, was given in upon oath by 
Elizabeth, wife of Robert Usher, May 19, 1659, amounting to 


£472 and 17s., a large estate for tliose days. It is on record at 
Fairfield. His executor seems to have been Robert Usher, as 
receipts to him are on record from two of his sons, Jeremy and 
John, for their full portions of their father's estate. He died in 
1658. An account of his sympathy with those who were disaf- 
fected towards the Xew Haven colony will a]ipear in its appro- 
priate place. 

Jessup, John came with the first colony from Wetliersfield, 
and is on each of the first three lists of the colony. He received, 
in the first distribution of lands, five acres. In 1664 he repre- 
sented Westchester in the Connecticut Assembly. His name is 
spelled on our records, Gesseppe, Giseppe, Gesoppe, Gishop. 
John Jessup was in Hartford, 1637, Wethersfield, before 1040, 
Stamford, 1641, Long Island about 1654, representative from 
Westchester, 1664, and back on the Island again, 1673. This 
name is thought to have come from Yorkshire, England. (Sec 
Gen. Reg., Vol X., page 358.) 

Law, RiCHArwD, came with the first settlers from Wethersfield, 
is on the second and third lists of the settlers, and received, at 
the first assignment of land, eleven acres. He married Mar- 
garet, daughter of Thomas and Frances Kilborn, of Wethers- 
field, who was born in 1612. Mr. Law is not on the Wethers- 
field records as a landholder, like the most of the settlers 
who came with him. But he is reported in the colonial 
records, in 1638, when lie is appointed with George Huberd, 
fro m Wethersfield, to trade in beavers with tlie Indians, on the 
Connecticut river. Xo other Wethersfield man was to do so, 
under penalty of five shillings "per pounde, to be paide pr. 
evry pounde they soe trade." He is also reported in the case 
of the estate of John Oldham, as indebted to it £6 4s. lid. A 
further account will be given of bini in the chapter devoted to 

LuM, John, was liere in 1042, and received a houselot in the 
distribution of that date. 


Mayde, (Mead) William, received, Dee. 1, 1041, live acres 
houselot, with woodlfiiid. The wife and son of William Mead 
died here in 1658. I thinli this William must have been the 
fatlier of the family of this name in Greenwich, though his de- 
scendant, the late Major D. M. Mead, author of the History of 
Greenwich, supposes his ancestor to have emigrated from Eng- 
land about the year 1642, a year later than our William is en- 
rolled among the Stamford settlers' 

Millek, JoHX,received from the town in October 1642,five acres, 
houselot and marsh and upland, as the other men. This name is on 
Chapin's list of the Wethersfield colony, where he was in 1630. 
He died soon after coming to Stamford, in 1642, leaving three 
sons, according to the inventory of his estate, recorded 12, 24, 
1665, John, Jonathan, and Joseph. His widow married Obadiah 
Seeley. His son John was granted land here in 1667, and pro- 
posed freeman in 1669. In 1697 he and his two brothers are 
named in the patent of Bedford. 

Mitchell, Matthew, came Avitli tlie settlers ti-om Wethers- 
field. His name stands next, on the first list of the colony, to 
the minister's, and heads both the next two lists. He jjaid 
about three times as much as any other of the settlers towards 
the survey of the land, and received twenty-eight acres in the 
first distribution of the land. His land in Wetliersfield, which 
seems to have been, in extent, much larger than that of tlie other 
proprietors, excepting one, was subsequently divided into four 
farms, and was taken by the Graves, Gershom Bulkely, John 
Hollister, and Robert Rose. He came in 1635, so Savage, with 
Rev. Ricliard Mather, in the James. He was of Bristol, and 
brought with him two sons, David and Jonathan. He was suc- 
cessively at Concord and Springfield, where he signed the com- 
pact with Pynchon in 1636. In 1659 he was in Wethersfield. 
He is returned to the court in Hartford, in 1640, as for the town 
of Wethersfield, but he is found " incapable of the place," lying 
under censure of the Court. In June of this year, at the meet- 
ins; of the General Court in Hartford, it is recorded that " Mr. 


Michell for undertaking the office of town clark or recorder, 
notwithstanding his uncapableness of such office by censure of 
courte, he is fyned to pay to the county twenty nobles." It is 
also added: "that party of the town of Wethersfield who 
chose the said Mr. Michell to office, notwithstanding the censure 
of the courte, are fyned to the county five pounds." Under 
date of July 2d, we find this record : " Mr. Mytchell hath this 
day returned into court his acknowledgment to Mr. Chaplin, 
and for that, with other considerations, for former extraordinary 
chardges which he had formerly borne for public service at the 
forte, the court have remitted his former censure." His will, 
proved June 10, 1646, makes bequests to his son Jonathan, 
daughters Susanna and Hannah, son David and his wife. See 
Biographical Sketches. 

MooRHOusE, Thomas, is on the list of those who shared in the 
first distribution of land, and received seven acres. In 1649 he 
was here, as appears from his testimony in court. Savage 
makes him in Fairfield in 1653. His will and inventory are on 
the Fairfield Records, Sept. 11, 1658. His wife Isabel, is men- 
tioned in the will, and children, Hannah, Samuel and Thomas, 
the last of whom was to be paid his portion in four years ; 
Mary in five years, and so each child one year later ; and if any 
of them die before 17, their part to be divided, if unmarried. 

Newman, William, hath assigned to him by the town, in 
Oct., 1642, two acres marsh and three acres woodland. In 1659 
complaints having been made to the court in New Haven re- 
specting the " sizes of shoes," the court hearing that William 
Newman had an instrument which he had brought from Eng- 
gland which " was thought to be right to determine this ques- 
tion, did order that the said instrument should be procured and 
sent to New Haven, to be made a " Standard" which shall be 
the rule between buyer and seller, to which it is required that all 
sizes be conformed." Mr. Newman was evidently a man of note 
in the young colony, and once represented the town in the Gen- 
eral Court. Savage " supposes he may have removed to Narra- 


gansett after 1669. In 1676 William Xewman, planter of Stam- 
ford, sells to John Austin, " taylor" of Stamford some land. His 
will, dated 7.9. 1673, makes his legatees, his wife Elizabeth, 

and his children, Thomas, Daniel, John, , Elizabeth, and 

Hannah. It also mentions his brother John. 

NoBTHEjfD, John, came with the colony from Wethersfield, 
and is on each of the first three lists of the settlers. He re- 
ceived in the first distribution of the lands eight acres. 

Ogden, John, i-eceived, Dec. 7, 1641 ten acres houselot, with 
woodland, like the first company. In 1642 he' agreed with Gov. 
Kieft, of New York, to build a stone church for twenty-five 
hundred guilders. In 1644 he was a patentee of Hempstead, , 
L. I. In 1651 he was living in Southampton, where he was 
chosen an assistant. He is named in the Royal Charter of 1662. 
He went into New Jersey with Gov. Carteret, and was a repre- 
sentative from Elizabethtown in the first assembly of that prov- 
ince in 1668. In a deposition made by Richard Webb, Nov. 
22, 1667, John Ogden is called son of John Budd. 

Richard Ogden, brother of the above, went to Fairfield where 
he became a man of note. His descendants have been numer- 
ous and respectable. 

PiEESOX, , received in the distribution of Nov., 1642, a 

houselot. The christian name is obliterated, but that of "Henry 
is given to the Pearson who emigrated with Mr. Denton in 
1644. A Jacob Pearson (Pierson) was among our land-holders 
in 1661. 

Pop, Thomas, received Dec. 7, 1641, a houselot, with wood- 
land the same as the first company. This name should prob- 
ably be Pope; and he probably went soon after the colony 
settled here over to Hempstead. 

Pyne, James, received Dec. 7, 1641, two acres, houselot, 
and woodland the same as the first company. He went to 
Hempstead, L, I., and was accepted as freeman from that town 


oftlie Connecticut Colony in 1664. John Pine bought land in 
Hempstead, L. I., of Robert Dean, of Stamford, in 1684. 

Rayxoe, TiiuESTON, came with the first company from 
"Wethersfield. His name on each of the first three lists stands 
next to Matthew Mitchell. In the first distribution of lands he 
received twenty acres. He sold his lot in "Wethersfield which 
contained 330 acres to Richard Treat. Drake's Founders of Xcw 
England reports him as passenger in the Dlizabeth, of Ipswich, 
the last of April, 1634, Suffolk county, at the age of forty, with 
liis wife Elizabeth, aged forty-six. His children, as reported on 
tlie passenger list, were Thurston, aged thirteen; Joseph, 
eleven ; Edward, ten ; Elizabeth, nine ; Sarah, seven ; and Lydia, 
^oiie. Previously to coming to Stamford he had represented the 
town of Wethersfield in the Connecticut Colony at Hartford. 
We learn from the colony records that lie was fined both in 
1637 and '38, for failing to appear in court at the appointed 
hour. On reaching Stamford he was appointed to the Xew 
Haven court Avith senatorial honors. This distinction places 
him among the foremost of our pioneers. From Stamford he 
went to Southampton, L. I., where he was held in honor. His 
will was made in Southampton in 1667, and in it, his wife is 
called Martha. She was, probably, a second wife. 

Rexoulds, Johx, appears on the list of the settlers of Weth- 
ersfield, from which place he probably came with the first set- 
tlers of Stamford. His name is on the second and third lists of 
the colonists. He received in the first allotment of land, eleven 
acres. Sarah Reanolds, his wife, probably, died here in 1657. 

Rockwell, Joiix, received, Dec. 7, 1641, two acres, honielot 
and woodland, a'; the first companj'. He probably went to 
Rye, where he divd in 1076. John Rockwell, probably the 
same as the above, was herein 1656, as his testimony in court 
of that date witnesses. In 1669 he sold land to Daniel Weseott, 
the deed being witnessed by Clement Buxton and Matthew 
Bellamy. In the same year he sells liis house and liomelot to 
Daniel Weed, John " Keciler," son of Ralph, formerly of Nor- 


walk, married, June 18, 1679, Hittabel, daughter of John Rock- 
well, formerly of Stamford. (See Hall's Norwalk). This John 
Rockwell is supposed by Savage to have been a son of William 
of Windsor, who was born in England, and who married Sarah 
Ensign in 1651. In town meeting, Feb. 14, 1667-8, it was voted 
that John Rockwell, sen., shall have liberty to mow and have 
the grass of the meadow upon Noroton Islands, as long as he 
shall live in Stamford. Rockwell Ridge is a locality often re- 
ferred to in the records of the town. 

ScOFiELD, Daniel, received, Dec. 7, 1641, two acres, homelot 
and woodland, as the first company. He died in 1671. His 
children were Daniel, John, Richard, Joseph, Sarah the wife of 
John Pettit, and Mary. His widow Mary, became the third 
wife ot Miles Merwin. The son Joseph snflered so much from 
hardships in King Philip's war as to lose his life in 1676, giving 
his estate to his brothers and sisters. His will, dated Sept. 4, 1664, 
gives to his wife one-third the estate, with use of the house for 
her life time ; to his daughter Sarah, five pounds ; and to her 
two children five pounds; and to the other fonr children, Daniel, 
John, Jeseph, and Mercy, the rest of the estate. His wife and 
two of the sons, Daniel and John, were made executors. 

Se.a-max, John, came with the first company from Wethers- 
field. His name is on each of the first three lists of the colony, 
and he received in the first distribution of land three acres. 

Seiking, Simon, appears on the records, in 1642, as landhold- 
er, where his name is spelled Cymon. He is reported on the 
list of those who went, in 1644, with Mi-. Denton to Hempstead, 
L. I., and no further trace of the name is found. 

SuEUMAN, Samuel, came with the first settlers from Weth- 
ersfield. His name appears on each of the first three lists of the 
new colony, and ho received, in the first distribution cf land, 
ten acres. He and Richard Gildersleeve had a lot together in 
Wetheisfield, which Capt. John Talcott bought. He was a 
man of some note, as appears from liis appointment as assistant 



in the New Haveu court, in 1662, and his re-appointment the 
next two years ; and also to the General Court of Connecticut, 
after the union of the town colonies, in 1665. He sells land 
here in 1664 to John Chapman. In 1672 he is found with the 
company wjio founded Woodbury. His children, born in Stam- 
ford, according to Cothren's list, corrected by Mr. Savage, 
Avhich ought to be correct, were : Samuel, b. Jan. 19, 1641; 
Theophilus, Oct. 28, 1643; Mathew, Oct. 21, 1645; Edmund, 
Dec. 4, 1647; John, Feb. 8, 1651 ; Sarah, Feb. 8, 1654; Nathan- 
iel, Mar. 21, 1657; Benjamin, Mar. 29, 1662, and Daniel, whom 
careful Mr. Judd made David, Apr. 15, 1665. Cothren supposes 
he married Sarah Mitchel in England, which Savage does not 
credit. In his sale of house and land in 1654, he is said to be 
" now living in Stratford." In leaving Stamford he probably 
took every member of his family, as the name does not subse- 
quently occur on our records. The descendants of this pioneer 
of Stamford have numbered many very eminent men, among 
whom are now in active service. Senator Sherman," of Ohio, 
and the nervous and irresistible General Wni. Tecumseh Sher- 

SiMKiNs, VixcEST, came with the first company from Weth- 
eisfield. In Chapin's " Glastenbiuy for Two Hundred Years," 
this name is given as Smiking. It appears on each of the first 
three lists of the colony, excepting the surname is omitted in 
the third list, where Vincent — — is assigned three acres, and 
is the last on the list. This christian name is in some places 
Vincen. His widow probably married William Oliver. Her 
name was Mary, as appears from the sale of the Simkins place 
to John Holmes in 1671. The inventory of his estate was 
presented to the New Haven Court of Magistrates in May 
1656, having been prized by John Holly and John Waterbury 
in Stamford in November 1653. His wife was daughter of 
Henry Akerly, of Stamford. He had two sons, Daniel and John. 
Daniel appears among the settlers of Bedford, N. Y. He was in 
Stamford in 1669, '70; and sold here in 1082. John sold his land 


in Stamford and removed soon after his father's deatli, wiiicli 
took place in 1653. 

Slawsox, Geokge, came probably from Sandwich, Mass., 
with Thomas Armitage, in 1642. He appears in our account of 
the first church of the town as a leading member, and he was 
also evidently a man of note in civil life. I suppose him to have 
been the representative from the town in 1670. He had three 
children as appears from his will, dated Dec. 16, 1694, Eleazei-, 
John, and a daughter who married John Gould. He died Feb. 
IT, 1695. His son John married in 1663, Sarah Tuttle, of New 
Haven, and had a son John born in 1664, and Jonathan in 
'67. The wife of this Jolm was killed Nov. 17, 1676, by her 
brother, Benjamin Tuttle, who w^as executed for it the following 
June. He then married a second wife, Elizabeth Benedict, and 
had a daughter Mary and a son Thomas. He died in 1706. He 
was doubtless the ineestor of the present Slason families in 

Slawsox, Thomas, in November or December, 1642, received 
a houselot, and three acres "in the field," besides. Savage says 
he did not stay long in Stamford. 

Smith, Henky, came with the first company from Wethers- 
field. His name is on each of the first three lists of the new 
colony, and in the first distribution of land he received three 
acres. Whence he came to Wethersfield is not known. He 
was promoted for freeman in 1670, and died in 1687. He had 
a son John, mentioned in his will, and a daughter Rebecca, who 
married, July 2, 1672, Edward Wilkinson, of Milford, and a 
daughter Hannah, who married a Lawrence. 

Smith, Joiix, sr., received, Dec. 7, 1641, two acres, houselot, 
and woodland the same as the first company. He and his son 
John went to Hempstead, Long Island. Smith, John, jr., re- 
ceived. Doc. 7, 1641, two acres, houselot, and woodland as the 
first compan)^ In 1675, John, jr., in a deposition, gives his age 


at CO years, and says that while in Stamford he was called Rock 
John Smith, for distinction. 

StEVEXS, JoHX, received, Dec. 7, 1041, two acres, houselot 
and woodland as the first comjjany. The descendants of tliis 
pioneer have been qnite numerous. 

Swain, Samuel, in Sept. 1862, is engaged to build at the 
common charge of the townsmen, a mill, as appears from a 
record of that date, and his name occurs later in the records. 
This is probably the same " Leeiftenant Swain," who in 1654, 
was ordered to suspend further work on the mill he was then 
engaged in building in Xorwalk. If lie had a family here we 
have no record to show. 

SwEAD, James, received a houselot in the distribution of 
Nov. 1642. Of this fiimily name our records give us Henry, as 
holding land here in 1650, bounding that of Richard Hardy. 
The name is there spelled Swede. 

TowxE, John, received in the distribution of Xov. 1042, a 

Underhill, Capi. Joiix, had assigned to him in Oct. 1042, 
houselot, eight acres, and woodland as the otliecs. He was 
made a freeman in Boston in 1631. This most fivmous of our 
Stamford settlers will have a more extended notice among the 
Biographical Sketches, in its proper place. 

Ward, Andrew. — This name appears in the first record of the 
" Corte holdeu at Xewtown, 26th April, 1636." He was one 
of the five worthies, who thus had in their hands the destinies 
of the new settlement at Xcwtown, (Hartford), and so, those of 
the state. The record states that ho had been dismissed from 
the church of Watertown in Mass., on the 28th of May last, and 
he with his associates are authorized to renew the covenant. 
He continued a member of the court until Sept. 1039. At the 
session held Oct. 1639, he is nominated by the court to be pre- 
sented for the vote of the eountv for magistrate in April next. 


In 1637 he is reported in the records of the General Court, as 
collector of Wethersfield and he doubtless came to Stamford 
with the Wethersfield settlers. His name is on each of the 
first three lists of the pioneers, and during his life here he was 
a prominent man. He was chosen magistrate for the colony in 
1646 to represent it in the higher branch of the New Haven 
court. His, will, still found on record in Fairfield, bears date, 
June 8, 1659, and makes bequests to his wife Esther, son John, 
daughter Sarah, daughter Abigail, and his two youngest sons 
Andrew and Samuel. It is stated also that liis other children 
had received their portions. From this pioneer of the town 
have descended eminent names. Henry Wai'd Beecher gets his 
middle name from him, and liis daughter Mary was grand- 
mother of President Aaron Burr. 

Weed, Jonas, came to Watertown in 1631 where he was made 
freeman, and thence to Stamford in 1642. He died here in 1676. 
His will, on record at Fairfield, dated Nov. 26, 1672 makes 
his legatees, his wife Mary ; and his children, John, Daniel, and 
Jonas ; Mary, wife of Geo. Abbot ; Dorcus, wife of Jas. Wright ; 
Samuel; John Rockwell for Elizabeth; Sarah; and Hannah, 
wife of Benjamin Hoyt. His administrators were his wife Mary, 
and his sons Daniel and John. The widow died in 1690. His 
son John Married Joanna, daughther of Richard " Westcoat." 
The son Jonas married Nov. 6, 1670, Bethia, daughter of John 
Holly, and to him the father gave in 1671 the house where he 
was then living. Tne descendants of this Jonas Weed have 
been very numerous here, and tliey liave, also, always lieen 
among our prominent citizens. 

Weeks, Thomas, went from Wethersfield to Hadley and re- 
turned to Wethersfield, from which place he probably came with 
the first company of settlers to Stamford. His name is on the 
second and third lists of the colonists, and he received in the 
first distribution of land six acres. In 1666 he probably was 
in Huntington, L.I., as the grant made in that year includes his 
name. Savage makes him of Oyster Bay before 1654. where he 


died in 1671, leaving children, Thomas, John, Kebecca, Martha, 
Elizabeth, Mary, and Sarah. This name is variously spelled 
Weeks, Weekes, Wiekes, Wicks, Wyx, and Wix. 

Whitmore, Johx, came with the first company of settlers 
from Wethersfield. His name is on the second and third lii-ts of 
the colonists, and he received, in the first distribution of lands, ten 
acres. His lot in Wethersfield, of 54 acres, was sold to Richard 
Treat. He was murdered by the Indians, here, in 1648. The 
inventory of his estate, £217 4s. 2d., was presented at the Court 
of Magistrates in New Haven, May 26, 1656, and had been 
made Dec. 8, 1648, and prized by Robert Hustis. and Jefiry 
Ferris. He was held in honor, while living here, having repre- 
sented the town in the New Haven Court. His children, Savage 
thinks, were all born in England — Thomas, born about 1615 ; 
Francis, born about 1625 ; John, born about 1667 ; Ann, born 
about 1621 ; and Mary, about 1623. 

Wood, Jonas, sen., came with the first company of settlers 
from Wethersfield. His name is on each of the first three lists 
of the colonists, and he received in the first distribution of 
land, eight acres. He was among the settlers of Springfield, 
in 1636, from which place he went to Wethersfield. In 1648 he 
brings an action against Thomas Newton, of Fairfield, when he 
is reported as from Long Island. In 1654 he was in South- 
ampton, L. I„ as appears from an action against him in the 
Court of Magistrates at New Haven. In that action he is called 
Hallifax Jonas, by Richard Mills, of Stamford, in his testimony. 
In 1658, Jonas Wood, (O), and Jonas Wood, (H), both of 
Huntington, L. I., agents for the inhabitants of the same, desire 
to join with this colony, (New Haven). In May 1662, on the 
petition of Huntington, L. I., he is appointed by the general 
court in Hartford, the first townsman and custom-master. He 
became, on Long Island a man of some prominence. His name 
heads the list of those to whom the town of Huntington ^^gs 
granted in 1666. 

Wood, Joxas, jr., came with the first companj- of settlers 


from Wethersfield. His name is on tlie second and third lists 
of the colonists. He received, in the first distribution of land, 
seven acres. 

Wood, Edmuxd, came with tlie first company of settlers from 
Wethersfield. His name is on each of the first three lists of the 
colonists. He received in the first distribution of land, seven 
acres. He went to Hempstead L. I., in 1644, having come 
from Springfield to Wethersfield, and thence to Stamford. 

Wood, Jkkemiaii, came with the first company of settlers 
from Wethersfield. His name is on each of the first three lists 
of the new colony. He received in the first allotment of land, 
six acres. He went to Hempstead, L. I., and was accepted a 
freeman from that town in the Connecticut colony in 1604. 

Yates, Francis, is on Chapin's list of the residents of Weth- 
ersfield, between 1634 and '73. He went to Stamford, where 
he staid until 1644, when he removed with Mr. Denton to Hemp- 
stead, L. I. He made his will in Westchester, N. Y., 1682, 
and it names five children: Mary, John, Dinah, Jonathan, and 



This chapter reports the earliest appearance ol' those settlers 
wlio came to the town, or who came into active life, between 
1643 and 1660. Possibly some of tliese names should have ap- 
peared in the earliest list, yet the present condition of our re- 
cords did not furnish the needed proof 1 1 will be noticed tliat 
some of the family names on this list are the same as those on 
the earlier list, and belong, it may be in most instances to the 
same family. To make the record reliable, I have therefore 
deemed it best to avoid pi-esuming on relationship, which the 
records, as preserved, did not clearly state. 

Ambler, Richard, was here very soon after the settlement, 
at which time he was in Boston, whither he had gone from 
Watertown. How early he was liere tlie records do not 
sho-w. In 1006, he is said, on the court record, to be about 55 
years of age. His wife Elizabeth, is on the records, as dying in 
1685. By his wife, Sarah, before coming to Stamford he had 
born, Sarah, Dec. i, 1639 ; Abraham, Sept. 27, 1641, who died 
soon ; and Abraham, Sept. 22, 1642, who came with his father 
to Stamford. He probably removed with this son to Bedford, 
as both names are among the purchasers of that town from the 
Indians in 1085. Possibly he may, on coming to Stamford, 
have located himself within the limits of that town as the most 
of it was included in Stamford. He lived until 1009. 

Ambeey, Robert, had a son Robert born here iu 1652, and 
his death is rocorded iu 1056, his children, as appears from the 


will of George Belding, of Westchester, were John, Siimuel, 
.Joseph, Moses and Mary. To each of these children of good- 
wife Ambrey, Mr. Boldeii made bequests, bearing date Juno 
10, 1657. 

Andrews, or Axdueas Aaron, bought land here in 1657, 
with Garret Kivis. He is called a Dutchman. Is he the ances- 
tor of the Andreas family ? The name Andrews and Andnis 
occurs often, and also interchangeably. Jeremiah Andrews is 
said to be of Bedford, after 1687. 

Austin, John, was one ot the eleven Greenwich men who, in 
1656, acknowledge allegiance to the Xew Haven jurisdiction, 
to constitute part of the Stamford colony. The name is usually 
spelled Astiu and Asten, on the records. A son of his, Samuel, 
died here in 1657, the year, also, of his own death. His inven- 
tory, taken by Richard Law and Angell Husted, Sept 5, 1657, 
was presented in court in Stamford, by his widow " Katherine 
Astine," May 13, 1658. It amounted to £78 8s. 04(1. Several 
of this name are reported on the land i-econls during the first 
century of the town. 

Batlt, Elias, was Mr. Denton's attorney for the settlement 
of his accounts here, in 1050. In 1651 he buys land of John 
Coe, with a house, and sells it to John Wood in 1057, when he 
was living in Newtown, L. I. 

Basset, Robert, was here early. In 1651 he is witness to 
a deed given by Robert Rugg to Richard Webb. He was a, 
landholder, as appears from the land records. The will ot liis 
wife, dated May 17, 1656, makes bequests to her son Robert, 
the house and homelot at New Haven ; to the eldest four of her 
children, John Emery, John Webb, Sarah and Elizabeth Basset, 
her personal estate ; the bedding and linen and clothes, to be 
equally divided between goodwife Emery and goodwife Webb. 
The cave of her daughter Elizabeth she entrusted to Robert 

Bisiior, Joiix, Rev,, came, as is elsewhere sliown, in 1644, 


Ill Kj.")!), Uol)LTt Lockwooilof Fah-tiekl, deedoil to him the house 
:iu(l lot wliic'h he had purchased of Elias Bayley, Rev. Mr. Den- 
ton's attorney. His will, made Nov. 10, 1694, names his wife 
Rebecca, and children, Steven, JosejDh, Ebenezer, Benjamin and 
Whitiiii;-. lie married, for his second wile, Joanna, widow of 
Re\-. Peter Prudden of Milford, and daughter of Capt. Thomas 
Willett. What we know of him will he found in our record of 
tlie first Ecclesiastical society of the town. His descendants 
have lieen among the most rcspectaljle citizens of tlie town 
down to the present time. 

Brows, Francis, was here early. Sa\aye tells us that lie 
had lieen a servant of Henry Woleott, of Windsor, and bought 
<ml the rest of liis time in 1640, and was a small trader in 1(351 ; 
and that lie bought and sold lands in Fai-mington in 1650. He 
seems to have been a pertiiiaclnus slieklei- f u- the largest liberty 
to the individual. In ir,r,j he headr,! a prtitimi to tlie general 
court at New Haven, respeeting the fraiirhise of all the citizens, 
respecting equalizing the rates of the several colonies then 
under the jurisdiction of New Haven, and respecting the Colony 
School. The court, rather curtly, gave him to understand that 
" whatever liberties or privileges our laws do allow them, that 
they should have." He then desires a special court in Stamford 
for the settlement of these questions. In 1663, he is sworn a 
constable for the town of Stamford in the general court of Con- 
necticut, and in 1605, '7, and '9 lie represented the town in the 
General Assembly. He married, here, Martha, widow of John 
Chapman, and had one son Joseph, to whom he gave land in 
168-3. In 1086 he is reported in a gift of land to his son Joseph, 
as now of Rye. 

Peter Brown lost his wife Elizabeth here, Sept. 21, 1657; 
and a child Ebenczcr Aug. 21, 1658. His will was presented in 
the court, Aug. 19, 1658, and his inventory in Nov. of the same 
year, and testified to, upon oath, by widow Brown and Thomas 
Brown, Feb. 10, 1058. He had come from New Haven, where 
he had a daughter baptised Mercy, April 0, 1645, and Elizabeth 


Aug. 1, 16-17. He married here, July 27, 1058, Unity, widow 
of Clement Buxton, and died Aug. 22, of the s.ame year. His 
widow married Mar. 9, 1659, Nicholas Knapp. 

Thomas Beowst owned land here in 1658. In 1669, then in 
Rye, he sells his house, and laud in Stamford to John Pettit . 
He was born in 1638, as appears from his testimony in court at 
New Haven iu 1660. 

BuxTOx, Clement, died here in 1657. He owned land here, 
as appears from the boundaries of other lands on record still 
earlier. The inventory of his estate was taken Sept. 3, 1657, 
and apprized by Richard Law and John Holly. It was 
given in upon oath of the widow Unica Buxtim, ^lay 
13, 1668. Clement Buxton, 2d, gave bonds lii're, April 
19, 1686, of twenty pounds, in an action against Daniel 
Scofield. This name is still represented among the citi- 
zens of the town. 

Chapman, John, owned land here in 16-40. The inventory 
of his estate was presented to the magistrates' court in May 
1667, and had been taken Jan. 30 or June 13, 1655, and prized 
by Richard Law and Francis Bell. According to the town 
records it was attested by oath of the wife of Francis Brown 
Oct. 30, 166 — : The legatees are his widow, and his daughters 
Mary and Elizabeth. In 1656 Martha Chapman sells to George 
Slawson, a parcel of land Iviug in Northfield, on the east side 
of Mill River. 

CoLGEAVE, Thomas, had lived here before Oct. 10, 1650, as 
the following record shows: "Thomas Morehouse affirmeth 
upon oath that he heard Thomas Colgrave say, in his house, 
that if he did not come back to Stamford, that he would give 
Elias Bailey all he had in Stamford ; and particularly he named 
his part in the 'bark.' " 

Clatson, (Clason) Steven, married here 11, 11, 1654. 
Elizabeth Periment, (?), and had children recorded to him. 
Jonathan, his son, <lied in 1685, leaving son Stephen, and 


daughter Sarah, as the settlement of this estate, June, 22, 1085, 
shows. This Stephen in his will, dated Mar. 15, 1699—1700 
gave his estate to his son Samuel, his wife while she remained 
his widow and no longer — sons Stephen and David, daughter 
Elizabeth, wife of Francis Dan, grand-son Steplien, son of Jona- 
than, and his sister Sarah. 

CoEKRYE, Thomas, does not ajjpear to have been a very rep- 
utable member of the new colony. He was living here in 1648, 
was complained of for being drunk and committing sundry 
other offenses against the good order of the town, was whipped, 
according to the usages of the age, and then fined for the Mar- 
shal's fees. Perhaps it is a fortunate thing that his name does 
not afterwards occur among the records of the town. 

Dkax, Sajiuel, was early here, having lands assigned to him 
in 1650. His son John was born here in 1659, and Joseph 
in 1661. His death is recorded in 1703. His descendants have 
been numerous and have given name to one part of the town, 
where several of them still reside. 

Dibble, Johx, died 1646, and his widow married, the next 
year, William Graves, of Stamford. The two sons, Samuel and 
Zachariah Dibble, probably came with their father. Zachariah 
married, Maj', 10 , 1606, Sarah Waterbury, and had a son 
Zachary, born in 1667. His wife obtained a divorce in 1672, 
and afterwards married Nicholas Webster. 

DiSBEOw, Peter, married Sarah Chapman, here, about 1650. 
The name in various forms, appears subsequently on the records, 
though none of the descendants are now known to be left here. 

Elliot, JoHX,was here early though his name is variously spelled 
on the records. He was a landholder in 1650. He lost his wife 
Margret, in 1658; and no later record of the name appears. 

Ellison, John. This name occurs early on the records of 
the town, and is reported on the list of those who accompanied 
Mr. Denton to Hempstead, L. I., in 1044. 


FoEDHAM, Robert, according to Thompson's History of Long 
Island, was one of the settlers at Stamford. He went witli 
Mr. Denton and his colony to Hempstead. 

Garnsey, Joseph, came, probably, from Xew Haven, about 
1647, and married here. May 11, 1659, Rose, widow of John 
Waterbury. He had a son Joseph born here in 1062. He died 
Nov. 11, 1688. 

GiFPORD, William, was before the court here in 1047 or be- 
fore. The sentence of the court against him was that he be 
whipped at the court's discretion, and banished. 

Geeex, Johx, lost his wife, Mary, here, in 1657. He was 
declared freeman of the Connecticut Colony in 1662, and repre- 
sented the town in 1669. Joseph Green mortgaged lands here 
in 1651, to Thomas Morehouse ; and William Green appears on 
the records as landholder in 1650. His land was next to Daniel 

Hardy, Richard, was here in 1050, and gave name to the 
low grounds just west of our harbor, which are still known as 
" Hardy's Hole." He married, probably, Ann Husted, whose 
daughter Mary, was born April 30, 1659. He is probably the 
one who in 1639 was living in Concord. In 1683, he gave his 
son Samuel a house and land. In his will, on record at Fairfield, 
he makes bequests to his daughters Mrs. Elizabeth Pearson, 
Hannah Austin, Susanna Sherman, Sarah Close, Ruth Mead, 
and Mary and Abigail. He was a man of some distinction, 
representing the town three times in the State General Court. 
He was declared freeman of the Connecticut Colony in 1662. 
Robert Hardy was a landholder here in 1650. 

Hill, William, was here in 1650, as is evident from the court 

■ Holmes, Francis, was a resident here 1648, as appears from 
the testimony against Robert Penoyer. His will, on record at 
Fairfield, dated Sept. 6, 1671, makes mention of his wife Ann, 


and his cbiltlreu Steijlicn, Joliii, Riehanl, and ^\nn, wife of 
Samuel Dean. Stephen Holmes has lands assigned him, by the 
town, 1667. Richard Holmes witnesses here, Jmie 17, 1658, 
the will of Henry Akerly. John Holmes is ou the land records 
ofleu before 1660. This name lias always been among the most 
respectable of the town. 

HuxT, TiiosiAS, was here early in 1650, as the land records 
show. The Hunt Genealogy says he came from England, and 
was a High Churchman. He went from Stamford to Rye, by 
1652, and was a representative in 1664. He is represented in 
the family genealogy as one of the most valuulile men in the 
colony. His title was Goodman. 

Jacksox, Heney, had lands here in 1649, as appears from the 
boundary of Robert-Rugg's land. In 1657 he is brought from 
Fairfield to testify for John "Waterbury. Robert Jackson is 
said by Thompson, in his History of Long Island, to have been 
one of the settlers of Stamford. He went with ]Mr. Denton to 
Hempstead, in 1644. In 1656 he was one of tlie settlers at 

Jessip, Edwaed, had lands here in 1649. Tliis is probably 
the one to whom was given the patent of West Farms, West- 
chester county, in 1666. The other patentee was John Richard- 
son. His will, (see Bolton's Westchester), is dated August 16, 
1066, in which he mentions his daughter Elizabeth Hunt, Han- 
nah Jessup, Edward Jessup, gi-andchild Mary Hunt, and his wife 
Elizabeth. In notes on the Jessop family, in the tenth volume 
of the Genealogical Register, we find this record : " Edward 
Jessop, of Stamford, 1641 ; Sascoe Neck, Fairfield Co., Conn., 
1653 ; Newtown, L. I., 1653-62 ; representative for West- 
chester, 1662-6; proprietor at West Farms, 1666, and died at 
Westchester, N. Y., 1666." We still have this name among 
ns, as appears from our list of voters. 

JoxES, Cornelius, was evidently here in 1657. He married 
the widow of Thomas Hait, or Hvat, as is evident from the re- 


ccipts wliicli three of Thomas Hoyt's children give him. On 
tlie 17th Dee., 1657, tliere is a record made of the age of liis 
children, probably by a former wife. There are six of them, 
aged respectively, eleven, ten, eight, six, and three years, but 
the margin on which the names are written is gone. His will, 
found at Fairfield, is dated June 2, 1690, and mentions his son 
Joseph and his grand-child Kuth " Hyat," explaining also 
why he does not make bequests to his daughter, Mary Hyat. 

Joseph Jones, son of the above, died here before 1690. Tlie 
inventory of his estate, of that date, attested by Elisha Holly 
and Daniel Scofield, gives the names and ages of his children, 
as follows: Mary, 13; Hannah, 11; Joseph, 9; Samuel 6; 
and Cornelius, 3. It also gives Rebecca as the name of his 
wife. In the distribution of the estate of Joseph and Cornelius 
Jones deceased, IVO 3-4 ; Joseph Jones, jun. ; Samuel Jones, 
jiin. ; Cornelius Jones, jun. ; Cornelius Seely, husband to Mary 
Jones, " dafter" to Joseph Jones ; David Miller, husband to 
Hannah, " dafter" to Joseph Jones, are named as the heirs. 
The estate thus distributed is said to be " their father's and grand- 
father's names, Cornelius and Joseph Jones." Cornelius, jun.j 
when of age is to pay a debt due to Daniel Scofield and John 

Kakmax, Joiix, as Thompson in his history of Long Island 
tells us, was one of the Stamford settlers. He went with Mr. 
Denton's colony to Hempstead, L. I., wliere liis son was the 
first child born in the colony. 

KNAPr, Nicholas, had land liere in 1040, as appears Irom 
the land records. His wife, Eleanor, died August 10, 1658. 
Savage thinks he may liave come in the fleet with Winthrop 
and Saltonstall in 1630. His children were Jonathan, born Dec. 
27, 1631; Timothy, Dec. 14, 1632; Joshua, Jan. 5, 1635; Ca- 
leb Jan. 20 1637 . Sarah, Jan. 5, 1639 ; Euth, Jan. 6, 16 U ; and 
Hannah, March 6, 1643. After coming to Stamford he had 
probably Moses and Lydia. After the death of liis wife, Eleanor, 


ho married, Marcli 9, 1659, Unity, widow of Pctur Brown, wlio 
had also been the widow of Clement Buxton, lie died in April 
1670, and his will, now in the probate records of Fairfield, 
dated the 15th of that mouth, names the children in the follow- 
ing order : Moses, Timothy, Caleb, Sarah Disbrow, Hannah, 
Lidea, Ruth, and Sarah and Unica Buxton, daughters of 

Knapp, Caleb, son probably of the above, had a son, Caleb, 
born in 1661. His will, bearing date, 10, 3, 1674, names his 
children : Caleb, John, Moses, Samuel, Sarah, and Hannah. 

Knapp, Joshua, son of Xicholas, was married here in 1657 to 
Hannah Close. He had one child recorded here — Hannah, born 
3Iarch26, 1660. He lived later in Greenwich, having had then 
seven children, Joshua, Joseph, Ruth, Timothy, Benjamin, Caleb, 
and Jonathan. His inventory bears date Oct. 27, 1684. 

Laeesox, John, is complained against for selling wine in 
1648, without license from the court. In 1651, Obadiah Seely 
discharges John Lareson of all debts due himself " from the be- 
ginning of the world to this day." A James Lareson appears 
on the land records in 1650. 

LocKWOOD, Edmujid, in 1650, Oct. 14th, sold all his right and 
title in Stamford to Ann Akerlcy. How long he had been 
here at that date does not appear. He was probably a son of 
Edmund, of Cambridge. His children were John, Daniel, Ed- 
mund, Mary, and Abigail. Under date of March 24, 1698-9, 
the town grants the children of Edmund Lockwood, deceased, 
liberty to take up as much land for their father's estate in the 
second "lotment" at Runkinheag, as he had in the first di- 
vision there, " his lotment in the first division being not to be 
found." , He died here in Jan. 31, 1692, as appears from invent- 
ory of his estate, now on record. Book 1st, page 119, amount- 
ing to £305. This name has been numerous and prominent here 
to the present day. It now stands next to the Scofield name 
in numbers. 

Lockwood, Jonathan, was liere in 1059, as appears from his 


testimony in court, at Fairfield, Feb. 24th of that year. He is 
reported as then 24 or 25 years of age. This corresponds 
with the presumption that he was son of Robert Lockwood, ot 
Fairfield, and that he is the son born in Watcrtown, Sept. 10, 
1634. His children were Jonathan, Robert, Gershoni, Joseph, 
and John. He sold his estate here in 1665, and was afterwards 
a prominent citizen of Greenwich, representing that town in 
the state legislation for four years. 

Lockwood, Joseph, went in 1644 to Poundridge, where he had 
sons, Joseph, James, Soloman, Israel, Reuben, and Nathaniel. 
His wife was Plannah, daughter of Soloman Close. His oldest 
son Joseph, had two sons — Major Ebenezer, of Poundridge, who 
lived until 1821, and was the father of the Hon. Ezra and Ho- 
ratio Lockwood ; and Joseph had also sons, among whose de- 
scendants are the Hon. Albert, of Sing Sing, N. Y., and Gen. 
Munson Lockwood, of White Plains. 

Ltox, Thomas, was here as landholder in 1650, as appears 
from land records of Daniel Scofield. 

Martix, Johx, buys land of John Bishop here May 1, l(i50, 
in the East Field, seven acres of upland, lying between said 
Bishop and Richard Ambler. 

Mills, Richard, was here in 1654. In 1657 he pledged his 
house and home lot and a parcel of land in Northneld to pay 
Jeremy Jagger a debt. On page 32 of record book No. 1, 
"Richard Mills, of Stamford, in New Haven jurisdiction," sold 
to Joseph Alsupe (Alsop), of New Haven, for the use of Mrs. 
Margaret Skief, of Boston, his " housings and homelot and all 
accomodations thereunto belonging." This sale was March 16, 
1662 ; and Joseph Alsop transferred the same property to John 
Miller. June 21, 1687, the town vote Mr. Mills, ship carpen- 
ter, four acres of land on east side of Noroton River above the 
path, " so that he improve it for his own use." In 1691 John 
Mills, shipright, sells his pink called the Blossom, built in Stam- 
ford, with burthen of " seventy odd tons" In 1693-4, Jona- 



than and John Selleck, brothers, enter a caution, or cavitt 
(caveat), against all the lands and housings of John Mills, sen. 
In a sale of land, Jan. 18, 1695, executed by John Mills, Mary 
Mills, and John Mills, sign the deed ; and in another land record 
John Mills' sons are named John, William, and Robert. " Ye 
Antient widow mary mills dyed ye 19th day of November, 1732." 

Mead, Josepu, of Stamford, sells his house and land to John 
and Daniel Weed. Fi'om his testimony given in court at New 
Haven in 1660, it appears that he was born in 1630. He went 
to Greenwich, which town he represented in the Connecticut 
Legislature, from 1669 to '71. 

Mead, Jonathan, sells land in 1650, and in '59 he sells land to 
Henry Smith. 

Mitchell, David, son of Mathew, had lands here in 1650. 
He had come hither with his father, and removed not many 
years after to Stratford. He had four sous — Matthew, who set- 
tled in Southbury ; John, who lived in Woodbury ; Nathan m 
Litchfield ; and Abraham in Southbury. Cothren's History o f 
Soilthbury has a catalogue of the descendants of the first two 
of these sons. The Rev. Justis Mitchell, who was settled in 
New Canaan, was a descendant of this David, of the fifth gener- 
ation — the steps in the descent being John, of Woodbury, Lieut. 
John, Captain Asahel, and Rev. Justus. He married Martha, 
daughter of Rev. Josiah Sherman, of Woodbridge, sister of the 
Hon. Roger M. Sherman, and had a gitted family — among 
whom were Minot, the eminent lawyer of White Plains, and 
Chancy R., the gifted andbrilliant orator; also a lawyer, settled 
at Delhi, N. Y., where he died in the very opening of his busi- 
ness career. 

MoEEis, Thomas, had land hero in 1650, as appears from the 
boundaries of William Potter's land. 

Newmax, Daniel, made freeman 1670 (son probably of Wil- 
lian), died here August 7, 1695. The inventory of his estate is 


on page 1-11, book 1st. His widow Sarah, August 31, 1G05, 
makes over to lier brothers, Thomas Newman, David Waterlmry , 
increase and Jolm Holly, all her right in tlie estate of her hns- 
liand Daniel Newman. 

Newman, Thomas, probably sou of William, liad laud here, 
as appears from the boundaries of other lands, recorded in 1610. , 
His will, dated June 2, 1659, at Easttown, New Netherlands, 
gives his estate to his son William at Stamford, who is made his 
sole executor. It also requires him to provide for his wife 
Mary ; to give Catherine Carles, alias Archer, the wife of John 
Archer, twenty shillings ; and unto each of his (Archer's) sur- 
viving children five pounds. The will was witnessed by Rich 
ard and Samuel Mills, and was probably made in Stamford. 

Olineson, Henry, had land here in 1649, as the reroid of 
Thomas Morehouse's land shows. 

Olliver, William, was here in 1658, having June 1 Tth of that 
year witnessed Henry Ackerly's will, and had property as ap- 
pears from testimony given by goodwife Slawson, Isaac Finch, 
John Holmes, and Richard Law, respecting a heifer which had 
been swamped. 

Penoyer, Robert, or Penoir, as the name is spelled frecjuent- 
ly, was here early. In 1648 he is complained against for drink- 
ing wine and becoming noisy and turbulent, and abusing the 
watchman. He had a son Thomas, born here in 1658. He had 
several parcels of land assigned him soon after the settlement 
of the town. Savage says he came in the Hopewell, 1635, 
aged twenty-one, and that he was sentenced to be whipped in 

Petet, John, was here early and had children recorded to 
him before 1650. His inventory, dated 5, 4, 1676, made by 
Richard Law and Francis Bell, mentions his widow Sarah, and 
his two sons, names not given, and his daughters, Sarah, Mary, 
and Bcthia. Richard Law was appointed guardian of his 


cliildren in a court of magistrates, the governor being present, 
14, 4, 1602. 

Pettit, Debrow, died here in 1657. This name is afterwards 
Fpelled Petit. 

Potter, William's, name occurs frequently on tlie early re- 
cords. His home lot is on record, 1650. In 1652 he sells his 
]ionse lot to Thomas Lyon, and purchases a parcel of land from 
John Finch. In 1661 he sells land to Jacob Pearson. His will^ 
tlated March 9, 1684-5, gives to the church in Stamford five 
pounds, " to be improved for the use of the Lord's table." The sil- 
ver cups now in the service of the table of the First Congrega- 
tional Church are still witnesses to this bequests. He also made 
bequests to the three sons of Mr. Bishop, the minister, Joseph, 
Ebenezer, and Benjamin; and to the children of his son-in-law, 
John Mead, viz. : John, Joseph, Ebenezer, Jonathan, Benjamin, 
Nathaniel, Samuel, Hannah, Abigail, Elizabeth, and David. In 
1656 he appeals to the general court at New Haven, to excuse 
him from training in consequence of his weakness. The court 
do so, but notify him that if he recover his strength he must 
resume the service again. In 1684, in his testimony before 
Jonathan Bell, he says he is 15 years old. 

Rivis, Garret, bought land herein 1657. He is called in 
the records a Dutchman. He purchased of Peter Ferris, and 
also of John Rockwell, and seems to have been in partnership 
with Aron Andreson, or Andreas. 

RuGG, Robert, in 1651, sold to Richard Webb, his housing 
and home lot. The sale is witnessed by Thomas Lyon and 
Robert Basset. The inventory of his estate is on record and 
was prized by Francis Bell and Richard Law. The general 
court records make the date of it Jan. 29, 1655. This is proba- 
bly the one of whom the record of the Connecticut Court of 
June 5, 1646, makes this unenviable entry : " Robert Rugge 
stands bownd in 40 I." and that he " keepe good behavior and 
appeare the next court." 


ScoFiELD, Richard, owned land here in 1659, as appears from 
the recorded lands which Daniel Scofield sold to John Mead. 
His inventory was recorded by his widow, then the wife of 
Robert Penoyer, May 6, 1671. His daughter Elizabeth was 
born here in 1653, and his son Jeremy in 1658. There was also 
a Daniel Scofield here, at the same date, with a family. This 
family has become more numerous than any other in town, and 
the present representations of it are among our best citizens. 

Seeley, Obadiah, was early a resident here, as several entries 
in the records show. In 1651 he acknowledged payment of a 
debt due him from John Lareson. He died in 1667, and his in- 
ventory taken 24, 12, 1665, by William Newman and Robert 
Usher, mentions his widow Mary and his sons Obadiah, Cor- 
nelius, and Jonas. His widow Mary, had been the widow also 
of John Miller, of Stamford. He was probably a son of Robert 
Seeley, of Watertown, who settled afterwards in Wethersfield, 
and became quite famous as a Lieutenant in the Pequot war ; 
and still later of the New Haven force under Sedgwick and 
Leverett against the New Netherlands. This name has been 
well represented in all its generations in the town. 

Sherwood, Thomas, sells land to John Holly in 1648. His 
will, dated July 21, 1655, was probated Oct. 25, 1655, and men- 
tions his wife Mary ; his sons Steven, Mathew, and Isaac ; and 
daughters Margaret, Ruth, and Abigail, the children of his first 
wife; and probably those of his second wife, Thomas, Joanna or 
Jane, daughter Thompson, Mary, Sarah, Hannah, Rose, and 

Stevens, Thomas, died here in 1658. He had been a land- 
holder as early as 1649, as appears from the land records. His 
will and inventory of estate are on record, dated Nov. 30, 1658. 
His property was bequeathed to his wife, for the children ; but 
if she should marry, she was to have her third and the rest to be 
divided ; the oldest son, if deserving and of godly carriage to 
have a double portion, if not to share equally with the rest. 


Ill 1070, tlie eouiity eoiirt made Obacliah, his son, Administrator, 
giving bini the home and house lot, and requiring him to pay 
the legacies. His children were — Obadiah, Thomas, Benjamin, 
Joseph, ancl Ephraim, of whom, Dec. 20, 1086, Obadiah, Ben- 
jamin, and Joseph, give bonds for the settlement of their 

Stewahd, James, j^robably a son of Alexander of Water- 
town. That he was a resident of Stamford in 1649 is evident 
from an action in court of that date, in which he was defendant, 
and Robert Hustice and Jeffrey Ferris, plaintiffs. It was shown 
that he had engaged to kee-p the town oxen ; " to keep them 
from coming home, and out of the Indian's corne ;" and that 
he neglected his duty so that the oxen injured the corn, to the 
extent of twelve and a half bushels of corn and two and a half 
bushels of peas. The court ordered him to pay the corn and 
peas, and " to beare the charge of the court." He was a land- 
holder in 1650. 

Stokey, George, bought Henry Jackson's house and lot in 
1650, and was still a resident in Stamford in 1660, as appears 
from testimony of Cornelius Jones in court of that year. His 
will was probated in court, at New Haven, in 1663, made in 
1660, and witnessed upon oath by Daniel Scofield and John 
Holly, before Richard Law, at Stamford, Feb. 25, 1660. The 
name is spelled Stuckey on the town records. Elizabeth 
Stuckey, the wife, probably, of the above, died here in 1656. 
In his will he makes bequests to his daughter-in-law Mary Close, 
then not of lawful age ; because she hath been obedient to her 
mother, to his wife Ann, and his daughter Elizabeth, who was 
also under age. He appoints as overseers for the daughters, his 
well beloved neighbors and friends Francis Bell, Robert Bates, 
Richard Mills, and George Slawson. 

Symixgs, Humphrey, Avas here in 1648, a creditor of Peter 
Brown, from whom he received his house and homelot. 

Tainter, Charles, witnessed here a deed in 1050. I have 
seen no other evidence of his presence here. 


Taylok, Geeuoey, died here Sept. 24, 1057, and goodwife Tay- 
lor, probably his wife, the month before him. In 1655 he made 
application to the general court at New Haven, to be freed from 
watching and training, in consequence of his bodily weakness. 
He had come from Watertown, where he was constable in 1642. 
He had two children by his wife Achsa; but they probably died 
young, as, after his wife's death, Aug. 18, 1667, his jjroperty is 
given by the court to John Waterbury and his wife. The in- 
ventory of his estate amounted to £48 14s. 6d., taken Oct. 1, 

1657, and prized by Richard Law and Francis Bell. They tes- 
tified in court, at Stamford, June 14, 1662, "that these goods 
within written, were presented to them and acknowledged by 
John Waterbury and his wife, to be the estate Avhich the said 
Taylor, deceased, had in possession, and left at ye time of his 
death, but ye sd. Waterbury would not acknowledge that this 
was all, nor would his wife attest it upon oath to be a true in- 
ventory of the whole estate. Alsoe the said ajjprizers doe tes- 
tify yt the apprizement is just according to ye best of their 

The ale, Xicholas, was here in 1650, as appears from land 
records. He was in Watertown, in 1638. He was a landholder, 
and died here Aug. 19, 1658. His will, witnessed by Nicholas 
Knapp and Joseph Theale, makes bequests to his son Joseph; his 
daughter Elizabeth, who married,Oct. 27, 1769, William Rat- 
cliif ; and his wife. The inventory of his estate, taken Nov. 29, 

1658, was proved in court Dec. 16, 1658, by widow Thell. He 
must have been somewhat prominent. His name still remains 
attached to the bridge on Broad Street, over Mill river. Joseph 
Theale son of the above, made freeman in 1669, represented the 
town five years, between 1670 and 1677, and removed to Bed- 
ford, N. Y., in 1687. 

Uffit, Thomas, had lived here before 1660. His widow and 
her three children in that year agree to use their portion of his 
estate, -n-luch was in their custody, to pay any debts against 


him in Stamford, provided Tliomas Uffit, of Stamford, and his 
two brothers, should agree to it, and engage to pay any debts 
against him, out of Stamford ; that is, any debts due from him 
before his marriage to the present widow Uffit, late widow 
Theale. The widow, however, hopes the brothers may allow 
her and her children something, in view of the many debts she 
assumes. The witnesses to this agreement are : Joseph Theale, 
William Ratcliff, John Archer, Thomas Uffit, John Uffit, Roger 
Ferril, and one whose name is unreadable. In a subsequent 
record, Thomas Uffit, Roger Ferril, and John Uffit, refuse to 
make any further allowance for debts to the widow. 

Usher, Robert, had land here in 1650. He took the oath of 
allegiance at New Haven in 1644, and came to Stamford. He 
married May 12, 1659, Elizabeth, widow of Jeremy Jagger. 
He was a man of some note, as his appointment by the Connec- 
ticut government, as constable, and his appointment as repre- 
sentative will show. He died in 1669, leaving his estate to his 
two children, Robert and Elizabeth. 

Waterburt, Johx, came here soon after the settlement, and 
had land recorded to him in 1650. He died in 1658. He had 
lands here as early as 1650, as appears from assignment of lands 
of that date. His inventory bears date in April 1659, amount- 
ing to £185 12s. His sons were John, Jonathan and David, 
and possibly still others. Those three make over to their father- 
in-law Joseph Garnsey, in 1674, a parcel of land then in posses- 
sion of John Miller. His widow had married Josejjh Garnsey, 
in May 1661, when she attested his will. This is one of the 
most numerous as well as respectable of the Stamford names, 
down to the present day. 

John Waterbury, jr., married Mary , and died here, Xo^•. , 

28, 1688. His will was entered on the record, on the testimony 
of Jonathan Bell, Dec. 11, 1688. It had been witnessed by 
Jonathan Bell and Joseph Bishop. In this will he makes be. 
quests to his wife, of his " now dwelling house and orchard," 


ifcc, tor her use while she remains his widow, after Avhich they 
weie to return to his eldest son John, and to his sons John, 
David and Thomas; and to his daughter Mary. He also makes 
his loving brothers Jonathan and David, the overseers of the 
children till they should come of age. 

Webis, Riciiaed, probably came to Stamford trom Norwalk, 
about 1654. The "Mill" in Norwalk was that year abandoned 
as worthless, and we find Mr. Webb here, soon after, engaged 
ia the Stamford " Mill." He was probably a son of Richard 
of Norwalk, though he is not mentioned in his father's will, of 
date 1655. Mr. Webb was a man of some estate and note, rep- 
resenting the town in the Connecticut sencral court as early as 
1667. The will of Richard Webb, sen., of Stamford, is on 
record in Fairfield, having date 7, 1, 1675-0; and the death 
of Richard Webb is on our town records as occuring Mai-. 15, 
1675-6, eight daj'S after the will. The inventory of his estate 
bears date Apr. 29, 1676. His legatees were : his wife Margery; 
Joseph, who took the mill in Stamford, lint who was to run it 
jointly with the widow; Richard, who liad the uplands at 
Wescott's ; Joshua, ^\■^\o took lands in Xewiicld, and the tools, 
which were in Huntington, L. I.; Caleli and Samuel, whose 
legacy was to be in the care of their motlicr; and Sarah. In a 
deposition of Richard Webb, made Nov. 22, 1667, he is said to 
be " aged 44 years or there about." Joseph Webb died here in 
1684, leaving children Joseph, Mary, Hannah, Sarah and Mar- 
gery. His inventory, dated Mar. 8, 1084, makes his wife's 
name Hannah. This name is among the most numerous and 
reputable names on the Stamford list. 

Webstee, Nicholas, was early here. He married Sarah, 
daughter of John Waterbury, who had been divorced from 
Zachariah Dibble. He died Aug. 12, 1687. His will, dated 
July 19, 1687, makes bequests to his wife Sarah, and his chil- 
dren John, David, and Rachel; and to Zachariah Dibbl« "if 
he settle here." He makes his brother Jonathan Waterbury 
ti'ustce for his estate. David Webster appears later on the laiui 


ret'ords, and had cliildrcii born here. A John Webster, 1696, 
buys a saw mill and land here ; and Raehel Webster married 
Henry Atwood, Aug. 18, 1T08. 



We have now found who the men were to whom mainly wa« 
entrusted the settlement of Stamford. Let us follow tliem 
through their experimental process of organizing a government, 
until they are at length safely and permanently at rest, under 
the jurisdiction which to this day their descendants do not fail 
to honor. 

From the tenor of their title to the soil, they were at first a 
part of the New Haven confederacy. Their allegiance had been 
pledged in their acceptance of the territory. Their partners in 
the confederacy wore New Haven, Milford, Guilford, Branford, 
and Southold. New Haven, the oldest and largest of these new 
towns was the capital. Here a general court was held at least 
twice a year, to which were admitted from each settlement two 
classes of members, magistrates and deputies. The magistrate 
held what would now be called senatorial rank, and the deputies 
were mere representatives. To this extemporised legislature, 
called in the expressive language of the times, the general court 
of New Haven, Andrew "Ward and Francis Bell were admitted 
members, Oct. 27, 1641. Their title made them the honorable 
members from Rippowam ; and to them was entrusted the re- 
sponsibility of legislating for the Rippiowam colony. The 
only business done in the court at that first session in which 
Rippowam was represented, having reference to the Stamford 
colony, was the appointment of Thurston Rayner as constable 
at Rippowam. His oflice was a very diiferent one, from that 
which is now dischai'ged under that name. It was one of higli 
dignity and of solemn responsibility. In the original coramis 


sion given our townsman by the August court, we learn their 
impression of its solemn and responsible trust. We will preserve 
that commission as a permanent witness to the style of legisla- 
tion -which prevailed in that early day in the colony. It is in 
these terms : " to order such business as may fall in the town, 
according to God, for the next ensuing year, butt is nott to be 
established in his office till he has received his charge from this 
court and testified his acceptance to this court." 

On the sixth of the next April, 1642, Mr. Mitchell and John 
Whitmore are accepted from Rippowam, as members of the New 
Haven Court, and " accepted the charge of freemen." At 
this session of the court Rippowam is by legal authority changed 
to " Stamforde." Whether this was done at the request of the 
deputies or not, does not appear from the record of the transac- 

During the spring session of the court of this year, Stamford 
engages their attention. The deputies had reported the sus- 
picious appearance of the Indians residing in the vicinity, and 
called for the advice of the court. The following conclusion is 
fonnd on their minutes : 

"Whereas, the deputies of Stamford, complain that their 
plantation are at some diftereuee with the Indians, and therefore 
require the help of advice from the court liow to carry towards 
them; it is therefore ordered that the magistrates and deputies 
for this plantation shall advise with the aforesaid deputies of 
Stamforde what course may best conduce to their peace and 

In the October session of tlic court, " Ooodnian Warde" is 
chosen constable for Stamford, with iiowcrs similar to those of 
liis predecessor. 

In April, 1643, a formal letter from constable Ward gives 
official notice of the choice by the townsmen of John Underhill 
and Richard Gildersleeve as the deputies from Stamford. Tlie • 
same letter makes a plea for a magistrate to be appointed by 
the general court, with senatorial rank in tlie legislative body. 


It iilso proposes the names of two approved citizens, who were 
nominated by the townsmen, as those wlio were suitable to be 
entrusted with tliis authority. These were Matthew Mitchell 
and Thurston Rayner. After carefully weighing the merits of 
these men, the court made choice of liayner, and appointed him 
to the high office. 

The first business which they introduced, pertaining to the 
colony which they represented, was the organization of a plan- 
tation court at Stamford. By a formal resolution this court 
was to be composed of Thurston Rayner for chief judge, and 
Capt. Underhill, Mr. Mitchell, Mr. Ward and Robert Coe, as 
his associates. To them were entrusted all judicial questions 
which should arise in the colony, excepting such as were reserved 
for the adjudication of the general court at New Haven. These 
exceptions were in all those civil cases in which the property in 
question exceeded " in valew twenty pounds," and every crim- 
inal cause " when the punishment by scriptui'C light, exceeds 
stocking and whipping, and if the fine be pecuniary, when the 
fine exceeds five pounds." This court was held here from time 
to time as occasion called for it for several years. When busi- 
ness of special interest or difficulty came up for adjudication, the 
governor and one of his assistants came down from New Haven 
to sit with the court. 

In addition to the organization of this court, provision was 
made for appointing two of the officers of a military company 
for Stamford. This ordinance is still more illustrative of the 
spirit of the times than the appointment of the constable. We 
will give it entire : " Ordered, that the trayned band may chuse 
or confirm inferior officers, sergeant and corporal, or both, to ex- 
ercise them in a military way, provided that such officers be 
both members of the church and presented to and approved by 
the magistrate and deputies from Stamford, the fundamental 
agreement for votes and elections being still preserved intyre 
and inviolable." 

In this ordinance we have reference to the ]icculiarity of the 


New Haven policy as dift'ering from that of the Connecticut 
government. Churcli membership was the test of citizenship. 
No man could vote or be eligible to any civil or military office, 
who did not first qualify himself by a credible profession of re- 
ligion. For twenty years, therefore, all the freemen and offi- 
cers of the town were taken from the church. 

That such a policy would give satisfaction in a community in 
which but a minority of the adult population were church mem- 
bers could not rationally have been expected. And the evidence 
that it was here an impracticable theory of government, is found 
in the fact that it did not long succeed. That it greatly re- 
tarded the growth of the Stamford colony will be made appa- 
rent as we proceed. 

We have now reached a period of severe trial to the new col- 
onists. The mere advice of the general court at New Haven, 
given in conformity with their decision of April 1641, did not 
relieve the dangers of the colony from Indian hostility. The 
Dutch had excited the intensest hatred of the surrounding Indians, 
and nothing but blood would henceforth appease it. The steps 
taken by the colonists to meet this pei'il, will be given 
in our chapter on Indian History. Those were days and 
nights of peril and of fear. Our colonists could never intermit 
their watch. Every day had its minute men, with arms at hand, 
all primed for sudden use. And for weeks, no day passed with- 
out a formal review of those capable of bearing arms. Not 
even the Sabbath was a relief to their fears or their military 
preparations. Their first sanctuary often witnessed, on the 
Lord's day, the gathering of musketed worshipers — at least 
four guns, well conditioned, being a legally appointed defense 
for that place of worship. The meeting house itself became 
the fortress of the town. A strong barricade around it, made it 
a safe refuge for the people, should a sudden irruption of the 
Indians render their dwellings insecure. The faithful sentinel, 
by day and by night, was to give no uncertain signal of 
approaching danger. 


In the midst of these constant and presshig dangers, it was 
most fortunate for the colony that John Undcrhill was here. In 
October of this year, he makes an appeal to the New Haven 
court for help to check and destroy the Indians, wlio were 
threatening the very existence of the town. lie had appealed 
in vain to the Dvitch to raise for him a hundred men to j^rose- 
cute the war. In the name of the Stamford settlers he now asks 
for a loan of twenty pounds. The loan was to be repaid out of 
the salary which Stamford had engaged to give him " yearly." 
So that it is evident that the handful of settlers at Stamford 
had been obliged to enter on this defensive war, at their own 
cost. The reception which this appeal met, is a marked tribute 
to the character of our military leader. 

It appears that the Dutch had now become so niucli alarmed 
that they were anxious to secure the services oi Underhlll. To 
retain the captain within their own jurisdiction, the New Haven 
colonists vote the loan, giving as the reason for it, their wisli " to 
prevent the success of larger offers for his remove." 

The Stamford deputies of this year made, it would seem, a 
very earnest plea in court for a vigorous prosecution of the war. 
They set forth the imminent dangers hanging over their exposed 
town. Their wives and children were every hour in fear of the 
stealthy and relentless foe. The Indians of the vicinity greatly 
outnumbered them, and were now laying their plans for the 
sudden extermination of the last pale face who should stand in 
their way. Without some speedy and terrible blow inflicted 
upon them, they would inevitably overrun and destroy the en- 
tire settlement. And as a final appeal, they warn the court 
that if they fail of furnishing the means now called for, they 
should bear the responsibility of whatever harm should come 
to the exposed town. 

Meantime the extreme peril of the Dutch settlement, to the 
West of Stamford, had led to the movements which will be 
mentioned in our Indian narrative, and comparative peace was 
soon assured the settlement. 


The oiil}- incitlents wliioli appear on record, for some years 
after the peace are very few, and of but little importance. Tlie 
attack upon Mrs. Phelps will be hereafter given. In the J unc 
session of the court in New Haven, Mr. Kayner calls for an 
efficient force to find and bring the offender to trial. The court 
ordered the search to no purpose. In August, of the same year, 
Wachebrough, a Potatuck Indian, succeeded in capturing 
Busheag, the fugitive assassin, and delivered him over to the 
Stamford authorities. The charge against him was made good, 
the testimony of the woman who had been so nearly killed by 
him being positive as to his indeutity. His death was ordered. 
Decapitation was executed upon him, as he sat firmly erect, 
defiantly gazing into the eye of his unskillful executioner. 

In 1643 an incident occurred in the town, which shows so 
clearly the manner in which justice was dispensed, that it will 
justify our notice. One of the planters, Richard Crab, had a 
servant, probably an Indian boy, who had been guilty of a pub- 
lic misdemeanor, such as was an ofiensc to the community in 
those days when morals were strictly cared tor. Mr. Rayner, 
the appointed magistrate, in the nmlonbtcil right of his sacred 
oflice, ordered the public chastisement "f the Ijoy. 

Mr. Crab took offense at the exercise of such power, and 
claimed that the punishment was excessi\e and unjust. He 
claimed that he had already punished the boy at home, and that 
ojie punishment was sufficient. He went still further, and in- 
sisted that as the boy was his ser\ant, and responsible to his 
administration, no authority existed which could rightly inter- 
fere in the case. This was, therefore, a case of rebellion against 
the legally constituted authorities. An appeal is made by Mr. 
Crab to the court. The case is heard. The court brought in 
their decision. It was designed to settle all similar questions 
which might subsequently arise. They fully justify the magis- 
trate as having done only his duty in the case. The ground 
they took was that the "family correction," though sufficient 
for all the purposes of correction at home, being there a timely 


and suitabk' expression of righteous abhorrence of such an 
offense, and a sufficient warning to all who witnessed it 
against the commission of a similar crime ; yet it could never 
answer the demands of public justice which had been outraged, 
or appease the public indignation which was justly aroused. 
As the community had been insulted and harmed, a public ex- 
piation should be qiade. The court, therefore, would sustain 
and honor the magistrate. And since the charges made by Mr. 
Crabb, if not rebuked, would serve to bring the authority of the 
public mhiister into contempt, and so undermine all authority, 
the court proceeded to make Mr. Crabb himself a public example. 
Tlicy order him bound over to appear at the next meeting of the 
court in Hew Haven. 

At the appointed time, Mr. Crabb appeared and was lined five 
pounds sterling money, for his presumptuous upbraiding of a 
public minister for the performance of his public duty. 

From the first there seems to have been a degree of restivc- 
ness among the settlers in regard to the limited franchise they 
enjoyed under the jurisdiction of the Xew Haven colony. As 
early as 1644, but a little more than three years after the settle- 
ment, this impatience, under such restrictions, was shown hy the 
secession of quite a portion of the colony. Mr. Denton and 
tliose who agreed with him, decided to try their fortimes under 
tlie Duteli government on Long Island, and accordingly removed 
and located at Hempstead. This removal took away from 
Stamford the followiag list of the settlers: Richard Denton, 
father and son, llobert Coe, John Karnian, Jeremy Wood, 
Richard Glldersleeve, Wm. Rayner, Benjamui Coe, John Ogden, 
Jonas Wood, John Fordham, Edmund Wood, Thomas Armitage, 
Simon Seirhig, Henry Pierson, John Coe, Robert Jackson, Tho 
mas Sherman, Francis Yates, and John Ellison. 

And while this local rupture was taking place, antl endanger- 
ing the continued existence of the settlement, a sudden enemy 
appeared on tlie stage, adding to the confusion and danger. 
TheDutch, now for some years established in Xew Am.sterdam, 


at Manhattan, thought their opportunity liacl come for ex- 
tending their boundaries permanently to the Eastward, and sent 
out an expedition to demand the surrender of the settlement, at 
Stamford and Greenwich, to their authority. But the timely 
division of the settlers had left those disposed to be loyal to 
Xew Haven, free to assert their preference and maintain their 
choice. The Dutch found themselves powerless against such 
loyalty, and soon gave up their attempt. Twenty years later, 
when Sir George Downing, their English minister at the Hague, 
wished to recapitulate the provocations given by the Dutch to 
his government, we find him referring to this same invasion of 
the English territory in Connecticut. In his own impassioned 
style, he asks the Dutch council : 

" Did not the Dutch about 20 years agone come to an lilnglisli 
town called Stamford, where none but English lived, and sum- 
moned them to come under obedience and pay them contribu- 
tion, and set up the Dutch arms there ? Did they not send 
armed men to an English town called Greenwich ?" 

But no Dutch temptation or threat could seduce the English 
colonists at Stamford to forswear their allegiance to the Xew 
Haven, English jurisdiction, even though so many of them dis- 
liked the tenor of their franchise and the character of much of 
their legislation. 

BxTt even the large removal, from the young colony to wliicli 
we have referred, did not put an end to the disaftection. So 
positive had this dislike of the Xew Haven administration be- 
come in 1653, that a formal protest seems to have been sent 
from Stamford, with complaints of their rates and other griev- 
ances. At the same time, the commissiou appointed by the New 
Haven general court, to settle the controversy between the 
town and one John Chapman, reported an alarming degree of 
disloyalty, if not of open and avowed treason. The commis- 
sioners, Mr. Goodyear and Xewman, had been sent to quiet 
what was thought to be a slight disaftection, on the part of the 
principal aetoi', in opposition to the Xew Haven jurisdiction. 
But they found tlieir authority stoutly denied. iMr. Chapman 

THE xe;v iiavex jukisdictiox. 7a 

claimed tliL- right of being lieurcl in fnll court. Wlierenpon 
the commissioners " caused the town to be called together, and 
being met they ibmid them, for the most part, full of discontent 
with the present government they arc under, pleading that they 
might have theii- free votes in the choice of civil officers; 
making objections against their rates; and propounded to have 
their charges of watching and warding the summer past, with 
some other work made about their meeting house for their de- 
fense, borne by the jurisdiction ; and that they might have 
twelve men sent them at the jurisdiction charge to lye there 
all winter for their defense." 

The principal speakers for the town before the commissioners 
were Robert Basset and John Chapman. The commissioners 
debate.', the question, asserting the authority of the general 
court, but without allaying the mutinous disposition of the 
town. They then read the order of the parliament committee, 
requiring their submission to the government they were under, 
" which did somewhat allay their spirits for the present." On 
receiving this report from their commissioners, the general court 
ordered that the governor, if he see cause, shall issue a warrant 
" requiring John Chapman and Robert Basset to appear here at 
Xew Haven, at such time as the governor shall appoint, to 
answer such things as shall be laid to their charge." 

In the following March, the marshal! of the Connecticut 
colony with a posse, had been sent down to Fairfield to arrest 
Thomas Baxter, a sort of border desperado of that towu,whose 
high handed measures had outraged the government and imper- 
iled the peace of both the Connecticut and New Haven juris' 
dictions. On the way they call at New Haven, to get aid from 
the government there. Two men are here added to their num- 
ber, with instructions for Richard Law, the constable at Stam- 
ford, to take men at Stamford and proceed to Greenwich if 
Baxter should have escaped from Fairfield, and " if Baxter's 
strength be not too great for them to seize him and bring him to 
New Haven," Thus commissioned the arresting party proceeded. 


They found the offendei- and arrested him, when Robert Basset 
who seemed to have been a confederate with the oflender, 
attempted by force to release him. They disarm him, and the 
marshall orders him to assist in guarding the prisoner. He seemed 
to consent to do so, but soon stole away. Soon, as if under his 
instigation, the party were attacked by a gang of the citizens, 
who made a desperate effort to liberate their prisoner. In the 
skirmish one of the Baxter party was killed and one of the 
arresting party w^ounded. Soon after, Basset again appeared, 
and began to expostulate with the marshall for arresting Bax- 
ter, when the marshall took him into custody. Arresting two 
other of Baxter's accomplices, the marshall takes them safely to 
Xew Haven. Baxter and the Fairfield accomplices are dismissed 
to their trial before tlie Connecticut court in Hartford ; but Bas- 
set is arraigned before tlie conrt ot liis jurisdiction at Xew 

In this trial it was made clear that Basset had been guilty of 
seditious conduct ; he had expressed himself against the gov- 
ernment of the jurisdiction ; he had been active to raise and 
carry on an insurrection in both the colonies ; he had, without any 
commission sought to raise volunteers against the Dutch ; and 
had " been a ringleader in these ways of disturbance, and 
undermining the government of this jurisdiction ; :ui<l all tliis, 
contrary to his oath of fidelity." 

How much of a disturber, and how far an exciter of sedition 
Basset had been, appears in the testimony of both the Stamford 
deputies of this year, those eminently loyal men, sergeant Bell 
and goodman Law. 

On the seventli of March, the day before the general court 
was to hold its session, Stamford held its town meeting, to 
choose its deputies. Xot many less than three score substantial 
citizens constituted that body. How many of them were voters 
we do not know. That there were men present who deeply 
resented the civil disabilities which rested upon them, and who 
were ready for revolutionary proceedings to secure what they 


ilet'ined, :iiiil wliat we have conceded to have been thou- riglits, 
will appear from the spicy discussion which then took place. 

Immediately after the meeting had been opened, Basset, the 
readiest speaker of the disaffected party, springs to the floor, 
and with great excitement demands to know what this meeting 
means. " To choose deputies for the general court at New 
Haven," answers the constitutional law officer of the town. 

" We acknowledge no Xew Haven court, here," (juiekly re- 
torted the unlntimidated revolutionist. 

" We took om- title from the New Haven jurisdiction, and 
are here to make proof of our loyalty," was tlie ready answer. 

" But we know no laws but England's, and shall heed no 
authority but hers," exclaimed a sharp keyed voice, which had 
been pitched in the tone of thoroughly radical excitement. 

" My authority," coolly replied the law officer, " is from 

" Give lis then English law," shouted the lieated and now 
clamorous partizans for reform. "Let ws have our votes. 
There is no justice in your New Haven tyranny." 

" But we cannot violate the fundamentals of the government 
to which we owe allegiance," solidly replies our right worthy 
deputy, Francis Bell. " Mr. Moderator, will you proceed to 
call the vote," continues, as if finally, tlie law-abiding minister 
of the government. 

But not yet had the radical and revolutionary leader ex- 
hausted his resources against the hated power. Rising to his ut- 
most height, wielding his most significant menaces in tone and 
looks and gestures, he bursts forth in an uncontrolled and un- 
controllable torrent of passionate abuse. 

" We have no English laws or rights ; we have no votes ; we 
have no liberties ; we have no justice here ; we are mere asses 
for fools to ride, and our backs are well nigh broken. You 
make laws when you please and what you please ; you execute 
them as you please ; you lay what rates you please, and give 
what reasons you please. We are l)ond-mcn and slaves, and 


there will be no Letter times for us till our task-masters are well 
out of the way." 

Such -were the testimonies brought against Basset in theXew 
Haven court by the deputies from Stamford. In his defense, 
which consisted mainly of humble apologies, he imjjlicated as 
his inciters and encouragers at Stamford — John Chapman, Jere- 
miah Jagger, Old Newman and William Xewman. 

The court remanded Basset to the care of the 3Iarshall until 
the writings which had been left at Richard Webb's in Stam- 
ford, and which were thought to prove other and more treason- 
able offenses against him, should he produced. He was also to 
be put into irons. 

At the next sitting ot the court in two weeks, three of the 
above-named offenders appeared in court and acknowledged they 
had taken the oath of allegiance to the Xew Haven government. 
Chapman is first put on trial, the others having been removed 
from the court room. He is charged with aggravated guilt, 
because he had once been a deputy from Stamford in the gen- 
eral court. It is proved against him that he had engaged in 
soliciting aid to make war upon the Dutch without approbation ; 
he had resisted the legal authority established at Stamford ; he 
had gone with Basset to Norwalk to stir up sedition there, and 
would have continued on to disturb all the towns towards New 
Haven, had not the New Haven commissioners met them on the 
way to Fairfield; and that his real aim was to overthrow 
the churches and subvert the civil government of the jurisdic- 

Jagger was next put on trial. Similar charges are made 
against him as against Chapman. He had been even more bit- 
ter in his invectives against the magistrates and against the 
general government. He had spoken -with great contempt of 
the commissioners sent from New Haven to check the turbu- 
lence of the Stamford radicals. He had rated the magistrates 
as so many Indians, and had threatened the rate gatherers that 
the votes should <lo them no good. On being allowed to jilead, 


against tlic charges, he made a beginning but soon cooled down 
and confessed his folly and sin, and expressed his sorrow for 
them. " He sees now more in these tilings than ever he did be- 
fore, and were they to do again, he should not do them, and 
hopes it will be a warning to him hereafter." 

" William Newman is then called. He is informed by the 
court of the charges against his loyalty. He is told, also, that 
his father had been specially offensive to the town and to the 
court, but that they had excused his arrest from his great age. 
To all this Newman offers the excuse that he had done only 
as others in Stamford had done, in claiming and insisting on 
more liberty in votes. Yet he confesses his fault and testifies 
that his father also " wished him to inform the court that he is 
sorry for what he hath done, and hopes he shall act so. no 

The trial here ends, and the court [)rocccded to sentence the 
parties. Chapman and Jaggcr arc solemnly admonished by the 
court of their grave offenses. By the law of the jurisdiction 
they had brought themselves "in question for their lives;" 
yet the court were inclined to a lenient treatment even of so 
serious an offense. They accordingly fine Jagger twenty pounds, 
]nitting him under a hundred pound bond to maintain his loy- 
alty hereafter; and Chapman ten pounds, under a bond of fifty 
pounds for his future loyalty. Xewman is to give his bond of 
twenty pounds, " to attend his oath of fidelity hereafter, and 
maintain the foundations laid for government here and the laws 
of this jurisdiction, to the utmost of his ability, avoiding all 
ways of disturbance in this kind which he hath formerly gone 
on in." 

The court proceed to instruct the Stamford deputies that if 
others in their town give similar offenses, " they are to bind 
them to answer it at the next court of magistrates, in the latter 
end of May, and particularly, Tuckee, Thealc, "Webb and Finch 
who hath carried it ill as the court is informed." 

It ajipears that Basset, in view of his sincere peuiteuce, was 


allowed to ri-tuni to Stamford, where he utoned for his past ir- 
regularities, by his straight forward loyalty. Two months later, 
in May 1664, he was called hefore the court again, and 
informed that he was exjjected to make some acknowledgment 
for his offenses and give some pledge for his future good conduct. 

He makes a full and humble confession of his sin, and ascribes 
to God's timely interposition his deliverance from the toils of 
sedition into which he had been drawn. He sees the evil of his 
course and is ready to acknowledge that the government is all 
riglit, " and settled according to God." As to those " uncom- 
fortable words in the town meeting which have tended much to 
disturb the peace of the place and much grieve the heart of 
God's people," he testified to his deep sorrow for them, and ex- 
presses the earnest wish that he may do so no more. The 
court express to him their confidence in his reformation, and re- 
mit his ofiense, but require from him a bond of a hundred 
pounds, that his future course shall be one of unwavering 

At the May session of the general court, in 1655, the Stam- 
ford deputies enter their complaint against the people of Green 
wich for sundry irregularities, and ask for protection. Tlic 
grievances were such as could not be tolerated. Tlie greedy 
Greenwiehers had made use of the Stamford commons for pas- 
turing their cattle ; they were disorderly in their daily walk ; 
they allowed both the English and Indians in drunkenness, and 
so brought on much mischief; they protected disorderly and 
vagrant children and servants who ran away from their jjropcr 
guardians ; and they had converted their town iuto a notorious 
Gretna Green for all sorts of clandestine and illegal marriages. 
To avoid these irregularities in future, the deputies ask that the 
men at Greenwich bo required to unite under this jurisdiction. 

On hearing the complaint the court drew up a formal order 
for the immediate submission of the Greenwiehers to their 
authority, and forward it by the Stamford deputies. To tliis a 
reply is prepared and forwarded the next year to the court. 

This roply provoked tlio court. They get the governor to 
answer it in the name of the court. They stoutly assert their 
elaini to Greenwich, and commission the two Stamford deputies. 
Law and Bell, to go over to Greenwich, deliver the letter, and 
" demand in the name of the court the number of their males 
from sixteen to sixty years of age, to be delivered with the 
other males of the jurisdiction to the commissi^'ners the next 
year at Plymouth." 

If tlie Grcenwichers denied their authority or delaj^ed to fur- 
nish tlie names, they were to be warned to attend the next 
meeting of the court of magistrates at New Haven. If they 
should fail of appearing in court, "Richard Crabb and some other 
of th(! more stubborn and disorderly ones were to be seized at 
Stamford or thereabout and sent to Xew Haven to answer for 
their contempt of authority." 

Tlic court of Magistrates came oil:' in June, but none of the 
men who had been summoned from Greenwich appearcil. The 
Stamford deputies report them as positively refusing to submit. 
The court decide to wait a month longer, as the people of 
Greenwich had appealed to England, to see if a new patent 
should not reach them from I'^ngland, then a summary seizure 
must be made of the contumacious and rebellious subjects and 
the supremacy of the New Haven government vindicated. 

Xo further notice seems to have been taken of the Greenwich 
men until June 1657. At the general court then assembled in 
Xew Haven, the deputies of Stamford, Richard Law, John 
Waterbury, and George Slawson presented the following paper 
from tlie men at Greenwich : 

" .Vt Greenwich ye 16th of October, 1650. 
Wi'c the inhabitants of Greenwich whose names are under 
written doe from this day forward freely yield ourselves, place 
and estate, to the government of Xewhavcn, subjecting our- 
selves to the order and dispose of that general court, both in 
respect of relation and government, promising to yield due suV)- 


jection unto the lawful! authoritie and wholesome lawes of the 
jurisdiction aforesaid, to witt of Xewhaven, &c. 

Augell Hnsted, Peter Ferris, 

LawTanc Turner, Joseph Ferns, 

John Austin, Jonathan Reanolds, 

Richard Crab, Ilauc Peterson, 

Thomas Steedweil, Henry Xicholson, 

Henry Accorley, Jan, a Duchman, 

coiuonly called Varllier." 

The court acce2Jt the submission and order that they " fall in 
with Stamford and be accepted a part thereof." 

From this date, until both Greenwich and Stamford were re- 
ceived under the jurisdiction of Connecticut colony in 1664, 
Greenwich seems to have had no town organization distinct 
from Stamford. The Stamford deputies in the general court 
spoke for Greenwich. The constable of Stamford had juris- 
diction also in Greenwich. And the townsmen appointed 
for Stamford, served also for " town occasions" of Greenwich. 
We find, therefore, such orders as the following on the records 
of the general court : 

"The Court orders that those who are in public trust for 
Stamfoi-d shall require of the inhabitants of Greenwich a list of 
their ratable estate, and send it to the treasurer at New Haven." 
Xor did there seem to be any serious jealousy on the part of 
the Greenwich people at this exercise of supervision from the 
Stamford authorities. Indeed, the most of the English at 
Greenwich had probably come originally with the Stamford 
colony, and in their exposure to the Indian and the Dutchman, 
had in some sort, relied upon their close union with Stamford 
for their safety and defense. 

The boundaries, indeed, between the two settlenn'nts appears 
not to have been determined. Several times in the records of 
those days, a person mentioned, is spoken of as living about 
Stamford and Greenwich. One such record occurs immediately 
atlev the above submission of Greenwich ; and as it reveals the 


eontimied exposure of those days to savage incursions, we will 
insert it : 

"Abraham Frost, who at present lives about Stamford or 
(rreenwieh, presented a petition to the court, desiring some re- 
lief from tliem because he is very poor, having lost all by the 
Indians about a year and a half ago, his wife and children taken 
captives, but alter brought to this jurisdiction, where they Iku'i' 
lived since in a poor and mean way. The court considered the 
case, and ordered that ten bushels of Indian corn, or the value 
thereof in other corn, be paid liim from Stamford, -which to be 
allowed them in their rates." 

We have already seen that the limitation of the francliise to 
church members, by the 'New Haven Government, was the occa- 
sion of much dissatisfaction among the Stamford colonists. 
There were also other prohibitions in the fundamental laws of 
the colony which we shall see were not to be Ijorne. In the 
chapter on " Ecclesiastical Provisions," every man was forbid- 
den to use any discourteovis language toward the minister, or 
regarding his preaching, and every person was to attend meet- 
ing on the Lord's days, at least, and on days of public fasting 
or thanksgiving. No person was allowed to broach or maintain 
any dangerous error or heresy. No sinful or servile work, no 
unlawful sport or recreation Avas to be allowed on the Sabbath. 

Besides these strict fundamental laws, in 1657 a special order 
had been passed to guard the faith of these puritan churches, 
and to meet an evil which was beginning to show itself : 

" It is ordered that no Quaker, ranter or other heretic of that 
nature, be suflered to come into, nor abide in this jurisdiction, 
and that if any rise up among ourselves that they be speedily 
suppressed and secured, for the better prevention of such dan- 
gerous errors ;" and the next year in May a lengthy act is 
passed to secure the churches against harm from " the cursed 
sect of heretics lately risen up in the world which are commonly 
called quakers." 

While this latter enactment was imder discussion before the 
general court, the heresy which it would punish was being 


secretly spread through the jurisdiction. It found its way iuto 
Stamford. Zealous diseijdes of the new faitli souglit to propa- 
gate their creed, and found some who were ready to entertain 
and embrace them. Members of the churdi l)ecame tainted 
with the subtle heresy, and still more wlio owed the church a 
spite, were glad to find in the fierj' apostles of this anti-cluirch 
creed the heartiest sympathy and support. 

Xor did the zealous disciples of the new fiiith cease with merely 
publishing the new gospel. They were hotter still with zeal to 
mend the old. They went mad for reform. They renomiced 
the old ministry and meetings and worship; and at once assailed 
and wished to supplant the civil government which sustained 
them. So officious were they that the church felt called upon, 
in self defense, to enter an earnest protest ; and the central gov- 
ernment were obliged eitlier to vacate or justify their anthori- 

Daniel Scofield, then marshal for Stamford and vicinity, au- 
thorized by the governor's Avrit, took a posse of his neighbors 
and started for the western side of the town, now Greenwich, to 
arrest one Thomas Marshall, who for some time had been insult- 
ing and outraging the majesty of the government. They found 
him at the house of Richard Crabb, who was also lying under 
charge of serious miscarriages. 

The arrest was made, but not witliout an attempt at inter- 
ference by Mr. Crabb, and a torrent of altuse from his enraged 
wife. Both of these sympathizers with the vagrant heretic 
were put . under arrest, and bound over to the next court of 
magistrates, to be held in Xew Haven in May 1658. At the 
appointed^time Mr. Crabb and his accusers appeared in court. 
The witnesses against him were the party who had assisted in 
tlie arrest of Marshall, and also Mr. Bishop, pastor of the church 
iu Stamford. The court inform him that he must now answer 
for his several miscarriages; for his many clamorous and re- 
proachful speeches against the ministry, government and officers ; 
for neglecting the tiieotings of tlie Sabbath by himself and liis 


wife, for whose offenses, ns they were justified hj' himself, he 
must be responsible. 

William Oliver, one of the arresting jjarty, testified that 
when they came to Mr. Crabb's to arrest Marshall and seize the 
Quaker books which were supposed to be in Mr. Crabb's pos- 
session, Madam Crabb retreated to another room and closed the 
door against them. Nor would she yield until the door had 
lieen forced open by violence. 

Then followed an exciting scene. Tlie plucky woman who 
would not open the door of her castle, now could not shut her 
mouth ; nor could the utmost expostulations of her more placa- 
ble husband, united with the utmost array of governmental au- 
tliority before her do it. Xeither the one nor the other, nor 
both united, could intimidate the zealous defender of her per- 
sonal rights. We may never recover the entire speech which 
that audience were required to hear. It had not been written, 
and there was no time for the stenographer to be called. It had 
no formal exordium, fashioned after the calm rules of rhetoric ; 
tliere were probably but few of those well rounded periods 
whicli give so much dignity to discourse; and tlie peroration 
was doubtless as abrupt and pithy as the rest. 

The door being opened, the Avay was clear for her, and she 
used it, apparently, without help or hindrance, and we may be 
assured that she had no listless or sleepy auditors to the very 

" Is tliis your fasting and praying ?" breaks forth the im- 
passioned woman, as she festens her searching glance upon 
the marshal and his attendants. " Do ye thus rob us and 
In-eak into our houses ? How can you Stamford men expect the 
blessing of God ? AVill He bear with your mean hypocrisy ? 
You have taken away our lands, without right. You have 
basely wronged us, and let me tell you what I see without your 
hireling priests' help ;the vengeance of God Almighty will burst 
upon you. And when it comes, your priest can't help you. He 
is as Baal's priest, and is no better than the rest of you. Ye 


art' all the oiieinies of God and God's saints, and tlu'ir lilood 
shall be on your souls forever." 

Fastening her sharp eye on goodman Bell, the same who from 
the first had been a pillar in the Stamford church, and who had 
now come over with the marshal, hoping by his fraternal inter- 
cession to win back the estranged and now perverse hearts of his 
erring brother and sister, she continued her bitter invective. 
" Thou arch traitor and hypocrite, thou villainous liar, God's 
wrath is on you and shall burn hotter and hotter on your god- 
less children. Out on you ! poor priest-ridden fool ! " 

Springing next upon John Waterbury, who had also accom- 
panied tlie marshal to aid in the dispensation of justice, she ad- 
ministers to him a similar castigation. Then she tries the force 
of her cutting reproaches and sharp retorts upon the marshal, 
for selling himself to do the dirty work of the God-forsaken 
government at Xew Haven, and of the ovei--reaching and 
heaven-defying, and priest-cursed crew in Stamford. Then she 
assailed George Slawson, that exemplary member of the church, 
a peace-maker, and one whom all delighted to honor, and poured 
upon him her heaviest abuse. He had hoped to quiet her irri- 
tability, and in his most -nnnning way had most gently expostu- 
lated with her, reminding her of the former days in which she 
had walked joyfully and hopefully with God's people in Stam- 
ford, and in which she had counted the communion of saints 
there, the most precious of all her earthly blessings. He ven- 
tured to express the hope that they miglit again welcome her to 
their fellowship in the old church, and that she might again 
listen there to the same gospel in which she had once testified 
her great interest. This was carrying his persuasion too fai-. 
It seemed to kindle her intensest ire. She was now for once, 
put to it for words rapid enough, or hot enough to express her 
rage. Every possibility of indignant resentment in her soul 
was taxed to its utmost. Scorn and rage and defiance seemed 
struggling together in her utterance for the mastery over each 
other, and thev seem to have ended the attemi)t at her recon- 


oiliatioii. It was a settler to that well-meant parley in which her 
womanly temper rejoiced in securing the last word. " Never) 
never, shall I or mine trouble your Stamford meeting more. 1 
shall die first. My soul shall never be cast away to the devil so 
easily as that ;" and with uplifted hands, she invoked on their 
heads the most sudden and the direst vengeance which heaven 
could inflict. When she had exhausted herself in these rapid 
maledictions, she called for drink to revive her strength; and 
the ministers of the law could do no more than go through the 
ceremony of binding her. with her husband, over to the court. 

On the narration of the case before the court as just stated, 
the governor, Francis Newman, informed Mr. Crabb that these 
were notorious doings, not to be allowed. Mr. Crabb, for his 
wife it appears had not obeyed the summons to attend the court, 
attempted an apology. He coidd not manage his wife. He 
(lid not justifj^ her evil way, but he would have the court 
understand her case. She was a well-bred English woman, a 
zealous professor of religion from her childhood, " l)ut when 
she is suddenly surprised she hath not power to restrain her 

To all this tile worshipful governor made answer ; " tliat 
what he had said did greatly aggravate her miscarryings, for if 
she have been a great professsour it was certain she had been an 
ill praetiser, in which you have countenanced her and borne her 
up, which may be accounted yours, as having falne into evills 
of the like nature yourself, revileling Mr. Bisliopp as a [iriest of 
Baal and ye members as liars, and yt !Mr. Bishopp preached for 
filthy lucre.''' 

Mr. Crabb vainly attempted to explain awaj' or deny wliat 
al)undant testimonies corroborated. Mr. Bishop, the pastor of 
the church had been so sorely tried, that he " could not continue 
at Stamford, unless some course be taken to remove and refonn 
such grievances." Mr. Bell felt that an end of all government 
had come, if the ministers of justice were to be so opposed and 
insulted with impunity, Tiie " citizens of Stamford wished the 

88 inSlOKY or STAMFOKl). 

court to iircstivi' tlic peace among tliera, maintain the onlinanccs 
of religion and government, and encourage their minister. To 
all which Mr. Crabh made no further plea. The court sentenced 
him to pay a fine of 30 pounds, and give bonds to the amount of 
100 pounds for his good behaviour, and that he make public ac- 
knowledgements at Stamford, to the satisfaction of Francis Bell 
and others whom he had abused. The remainder of the sentence 
is missing, and so we shall probably never know what disposi- 
tion the court made of the sharp-tongued Madam Crabb who 
was really the chief offender in the case. 

Xo other case of conflict with the Quakers, which was deem- 
ed worthy a public prosecution, seems to have occurred in Stam- 
ford or its vicinity. There was disturbance by them in other 
parts of the jm-isdiction, especially in their settlement at South- 
old on Long Island ; but the majesty of tlie law was maintained 
and the churches defended. 

That there were still occasions of disturbance at Stamford 
needing the strong arm of the law for their repression or control, 
the following special ordinance of the general court will attest- 
This pi-ovision for- a permanent annual court, instead of the 
occasional courts which from the second year had been provided 
for, may also indicate the increasing importance of Stamford 
in the jurisdiction. 

"At the general court in New Haven, ]May 30, 1000, 
upon weighty grounds presented, the court desired the gov- 
ernor and deputy governor, Francis Xewman and tVil- 
liam Leete, to go to Stamford, there to keep court. Kichard 
Laws and Francis Bell were chosen to assist in the said court ; 
which court hath power committed to them equal to any plan- 
tation court, assisted by two magistrates. It was farther order- 
ed, while there is need, that two magistrates shall be yearly 
sent to Stamford to keep court, at the charge of the jurisdiction, 
the charge of entertainment at Stamford to be cxcc]itcd,which is 
to be boriK' by themselves." 

"We now Clinic to the beginning of the struggle between tlie 
two jurisdictions of ('onnecticut and New Haven, for the supre- 


maoy over the territory thus far held by the Xcw Haven jiiris- 

The next notice we find of Stamford in the colony records is 
of date, Oct. 9, 1662. The new charter of Connecticut had been 
received, and was decided to cover the territory of Stamford 
and even of Westchester, now in New York. The Connecticut 
court, therefore, call upon the Westchester colony " to demean 
themselves in all things as may declare and manifest their readi- 
ness to subject to his Royal will and pleasure herein." But 
their minute regarding Stamford is : " This court doth heartily 
declare their acceptance of ye plantations of Stamford and 
Greenwich under this government upon the same terms and pro- 
visions as are directed and declared to ye inhabitants of Guil- 
ford ; and that each of these plantations have a constable chosen 
and sworne." Robert Usher is ordered to be sworn as consta- 
ble for Stamford for one year, or until a new is chosen. 

The same session of the general court — the prospective State 
legislature — declare the following Stamford men to be " free- 
men of this colony," viz. : .John Green, Richard Hardey, Jo- 
seph Mead, Richard Webb, Joseph Theed, (Theal), and Peter 
Pheries, (F'erris). These are probably all of those capable of cit- 
zenship in the Connecticut colony, who were thus early ready 
to secede from the New Haven jurisdiction. And indeed it 
would seem, that as late as the spring session of 1669, only 
two more of the townsmen, Richard Law and Jonathan Sellick 
had accepted citizenship in the new jurisdiction. 

^Vt the same session of the court, Stamford, Greenwich antl 
Westchester are to " have liberty of ye court at Fairfield, to 
issue controversies that may arise among them for future." 

We now find Stamford claimed as a colony of the Connecticut 
jurisdiction, and the general court proceed to enroll such free- 
men from the new town as ofter themselves for that purpose ; 
and Mr. Gould is authorised to give them the oath of freemen 
at the next court in Fairfield. 

At the May session of the court for 1663, we find this record 



which indifutes the division still existing in Stamford respecting 
the transfer of their allegiance from Xew Haven to Connecticut. 

" This court orders that Rob. ¥s]ier and John Meggs shall 
continue in the place and office of a constable over those that 
have submitted to this government in there respective planta- 
tions, until the court see cause to alter otherwise ; and all those 
that have submitted arc to attend the former order made in 
October court last." 

The order referred to hero is midoubtedly that which jtre- 
scribed their duties as citizens of the new jurisdiction. They 
were to be admitted on the same terms as Guilford had been, as 
thus indicated : 

"And this court doth advise the said persons to carry peace- 
ably and religiously in their places towards the rest of ye in- 
habitants, that yet have not submitted in like manner. And 
also, to pay their just dues unto ye Minister of their Townc; 
and also all publique charges due to this day." 

But the transfer of jurisdiction had not yet been approved by 
the leading men of Stamford. They still acknowledged the au- 
thority of Xew Haven, and in May 1663, by vote decided to send 
their deputies, as before, to Xew Haven. Francis Bell and 
Richard Law were chosen, and Mr. Bell took his seat and was 
sworn in and deputed by the court to give the oath to Mr. Law. 
And again in October, they send Mr. Law and George Slawson 
to represent them in the Xew Haven court. At this session of 
the court not a little bitterness was shown towards the Connec- 
ticut colony, for encouraghig tliose at Guildford and Stamford 
who were disposed to object to the Xew Haven administration ; 
and they were inclined not to treat further with the offending 
government unless it would first return these revolted or 
seduced subjects to their former loyalty. A committee were 
appointed by the Xew Haven assembly to state their grievances 
and demand redress. In a lengthy document they make their 
statement and their j)lc:\. The following passage from the 
statement shows the part Stamford was taking in the struggle, 
and how important hei- decision was felt to be. 


" Betore your general assembly in October last, lOGO, our 
committee sent a letter unto the said assembly, whereby thoy 
(lid request that our members by you unjustly sent from us should 
be by you restored unto us, according to our frequent desires 
and according to Mr. Winthrop's letter and promise to authori- 
ty in England, and according to justice, and according to the 
conclusion of the commissioners in their last session in Boston, 
whereunto you returned a real negative answer, contrary to all 
the promises, by making one Brown your constable at Stamford, 
who hath been sundry ways injurious to us and hath scanda- 
lously acted in the highest degree of contempt, not only against 
the authority of this jurisdiction, but also of the king himself, 
pulling down with contumelies the declaration which was sent 
thither by the court of magistrates for this colony, in the king's 
name, and commanded to be set up, in a public place, that it 
might be read and obeyed by all his majesties subjects, inhabit- 
ing our town of Stamford." 

But the majority of the Stamford peojjle were e\idcntly hi- 
dined to transfer their allegiance to the Connecticut jurisdic- 
tion; and, as is not unusually the case, the politicians of the 
old school, who had been the ministers and law officers of the 
old authority, were at length also brought to see the need, if not 
the desirableness of accepting the destiny. At this point, also, 
the greater question at issue between the New Haven and Con- 
necticut colony must be settled. The charter made no divided 
jurisdiction. From the Narragansett river on the East, and 
the sea on the South, across the continent towards the west, 
and up to the Massachusetts grant on the north, " all firme 
lands, Soyles, Grounds, Havens, Ports, Rivers, Waters, Fish- 
ings, Mynes, Mynerals, Precious Stones, Quarries, and all and 
singular other commodities. Jurisdictions, Royalties, Privileges, 
Francheses, Preheminences, and hereditaments whatsoever" 
within the said tract, were made over to his " Worshipful John 
Winthrop, Governor; John Mason, Deputy Governor; and their 
twelve assistants and their successors, forever." There could 
be no question as to whether New Haven was embraced in this 
charter or not. Accordingly, a committee was appointed Aug. 
19, 1G63, consisting of the Deputy Governor, Mr. Wyllis, Mr. 


Daniel Clark and Jolni Allyn or any tliree of tliem, " to treat 
with our honored friends of New Haven, Milford, Branford, 
and Guildford, about settling their union witli tliis colony of 
Connecticut." They were instructed, if unable to efleet a 
union, to declare to them "that this assembly cannot well 
recent their jiroceeding in civil government, as a district juris- 
diction ; and this assembly doth desire and cannot but expect 
that the inhabitants of Xew Haven, Milford, Branford, Guild- 
ford and Stamford, do yield subjection to the government now 
established." Again, in Oct. 1664, the court appointed }i[r. 
Sherman and the Secretary to go to New Haven, and the other 
hesitating towns, and "by order from this court, in his majestie's 
name, to require all the inhabitants of New Haven, Milford, 
Branford, Guilford and Stamford, to submit to the government 
of this colony and take thek answer." They were, also, to de- 
clare all the freeman of those towns, who were qualified accord- 
ing to law, and who would take the freeman's oath, to be free- 
men of the Connecticut colony. 

Mr. Law,, of Stamford, who had already sent in his submission 
to the Connecticut jurisdiction, was appointed with "magis- 
traticall powers," to assist in the government of the plantation. 
The appointment of Mr. Law, who had been the leader of the 
New Haven party in the town, was a stroke of good policy on 
the part of the general court. They had now won over the 
last formidable opponent to their claims, and with his surrender 
dates the last formal attempt or purpose, so far as records 
show, to sustain the falling dynasty which, since 1638, had 
essayed its scriptural sway over a people, that with all their 
theoretic and practical godliness, had nevertheless proved 
themselves too worldly, if not too Avicked for the test. 

It now only remained for the general assembly to proceed 
formally and with authority to " require all householders inhab- 
iting this colony to take the oath of allegiance, and that the 
administration of justice be in his Majestie's name." 

They agreed to "bury in perpetual oblivion" all the former 


acts of the Xmv Haven Jurisdiction, which concerned this col- 
ony. And it only remained for the New Haven colony to 
accept the place assigned them by the new charter. In Decem- 
ber 1664, they make a conditional submission, and in the follow- 
ing January, finally, and in good faith, accept the eliarter, and 
acknowledge thenceforth the supremacy of the Connecticut 



Let ns noAV return after our' details of the settlement here by 
the English, to see what we can learn about the aboi-igines 
whom they came to supplant. Our introduction to them shall 
be through such original records as are still within our reach. 

The following papers, six in number, show us the terms on 
which the Indians alienated their lauds. The necessity for so 
many successive " agreements " or " grants " will appear from 
the terms of the grants themselves. The first document is a 
simple acknowledgment, over their own signatures, of the four 
original proprietors of the soil, that they had disposed of it, 
for an equivalent, to Capt. Turner ; and it is probably the only 
proof preserved of the original grant by Avhich the settlers 
came into possession of the territory. Wc shall give these 
papers, excepting the sixth, as they are recorded. 

CNo. 1.) 


Bought of Pouus, sagamore of Toqiiams, and of Wascussue, sagnmore of 
Shippau, by mee, Nathaniel Turner, of Quenepiocke, all the grounds that 
belongs to both the above said sagamores, except a piece of ground* which 
the above said sagamore of Toquams reserved for his and the rest of said 
Indians to plant on — all of which grounds being expressed by meadows, 
upland, grass, with the rivers and trees ; and in cousiJeration hereof, I, 

* This exception was probably tliat beautihll headland now owned mainly by Capt. B. 
L. Waite and the Scofleld Brothers, Alfred and Benjamin. This tract, in 1072. was given 
to the Rev. Ehpbalet Jones, then just called to assist the Rev. Mr. Bishop. The terms of 
the gilt are: "Mr. Jones shall have that peice of land at Wescus whicn was improved by 

the Engins in case it be cleared from all English and Engii "" 

Jones* proper right in lue of that piece of land granted to I 

.-t" /F 


the said Nathaniel Turner, nmm to give nnd bring, or send, to the above 
said sagamores, within the space of one month, twelve coats, twelve howes, 
twelve hatchets, twelve glasses, twelve knives, four kettles, four fathom of 
white wampum : all of which lands botho we, the said sagamores, do prom 
ise faithfully to perform, both for ourselves, heirs, executors, or assigns, 
and hereunto we have sett our marks iu the presence of many of the said 
Indians, they fully consenting thereto. 

/]4y ,.,.„, 



OwENOKE, Sagamore Poiius' son 

pd iu part payment 12 glasse 
12 knives 
01 coats 

(No. 2.) 


These presents testify that I, Piamikin, Sagamore of Roatan and owner 
of all the land lieing between Fivemile river and Pinebrook so called by 
the English, for diverse reasons and considerations have given and granted 
unto Andrew Ward and Richard Law of Stamford for the use and property 
of sayd town, from me and rayne to them and theirs forever, all the above 
sayd lands lying between the sd Fivemile river and Pinebrook, quietly 
to possess and enjoye in n full and free manner with all the privileges 
thereto belonging or apertaining, as witness my hand in Stamford this 



Jeeemy Jaqgee 
George Slason 



C his 
, / mark 


At a general court held at New Haven for ye jurisdiction Jane !), 1654— 
Several writings recorded concerning lands in question betwixt Stamford 
and Norwalk, which upon the desire of Stamford is ordered to be recorded — 
this may certify that Piamikee, Sagamore did upon ye twenty-fourth of 
March in yo year 1645 make a deed of gift of all ye laud from that which is 
comonly called ye Pine brook by ye English and that which is called Five 
mile river or Rowayton, where their planting land doth come very near nuto 
ye said land, was by a deed of gift made over unto Andrew Ward and 
Eichard Law ; which they did receive for ye town of Stamford and nt the 
same time did give unto the said Sagamore one coat in ye presence of 
George Slasou and after yt three more with some quantity of tobaca, and 
ye said Sagamore did confirm ye same by setting his hand to a writing then 
made, ye said Sagamore upon ye gift did except against setting houses 
because ye English hoggs would be ready to spoil their corn, and yt ye cat- 
tle in case they come over ye said Five mile river, to which it was granted, 
yt to inhabit we did not intend, and our cattle we intended they should 
have a keeper, and in case .iny hurts was done they should have satisfac- 
tion, yt this laud as aforesaid was by the said Piamikee in ye presence of 
other four or five Indians resigned for ever to ye English, in witness 
whereof we have set to our hands, Stamford, first month 4, 1654. 

Andeew Waed, Eichaed Law, 


(No. 4.) 


Our agreement made with Pomis, Sagamore of Toquamske and with 
Onax his eldest son : Altho' there was an agreement made before with the 
said Indians and Capt. Turner and the purchase paid for, yet the things 
not being clear, and being very unsatisfied, we came to another agreement 
with Onax and Ponus for their land from the town plot of Stamford north 
about 16 miles and there we marked a white oak tree with S. T. and going 
toward the Mill Eiver side we marked another white oak trr-e with S. T. and 
from that tree west we were to run four miles, and from the first marked 
tree to run four miles eastward, and from this east and west line we are to 
have further to the north for our cattle to feed, full two miles further, the 
full breadth— only the said Indians reserve for themselves liberty of their 
planting ground: and the above said Indians, Ponus and Onax, with all 
other Indians that be concerned in it have surrendered all the said land to 
the town of Stamford, as their proper right, forever, and the aforesaid 
Indians have set their hands as witnessing the truth hereof) and for and in 
consideration hereof, the said town of Stamford is to give the said Indians 
4 coats, which the Indians did accept of for full satisfaction for the afore- 
said lands, altho' it was paid before, hereby Ponus' posterity is cut off from 
making any claim or having any right to any part of the aforesaid land, 
and do hereby surrender and make over, for us or any of ours forever, unto 
the Englishmen of the town of Stamford, and their posterity forever, the 
land as it is butted and bounded the bounds above mentioned. The said 
Ponus and Onax his son having this day received of Richard Law 4 coats 
acknowledging themselves fully satisfied for the aforesaid land. — Witness 
the said Indians the day and date hereof, Stamford, August 15, 1655. 

Wm Newmak 

EicHAKD Laws 

Ponus. . 

Onax. . 

(No. 5.) 
agkeement of 1{;67. 

An agreement made this 7th of January Anno 1667 betwi'tui the inhabit- 
ants of the town of Stamford, the one party, and Taphance sou of Ponus 
and Pow.ahay sou of Onax, son of Ponus, the other party, for a full and 
final esew of all questions about all and any rights of lands formerly be- 
longing unto Ponus Sagamore of Toquams and any of his race or lineage 
surviving, and for a more full confirmation of the sales of lands, meadows, 
rights, privileges formerly made by the foresai i Ponus and Onax unto the 
inhabitants of the town of Stamford, the contents of this agreement as fol- 
loweth. That, whereas Ponus Sagamore of Toquams, and Wescus, Saga- 
more of Shippan, sold unto Capt. Nath'l Turner of Quennipiocke, all their 
lands belonging to either of the forementioned Ponus and Wescus— the 
said sale expressing all uplands, meadows, grass, with the rivers anM trees 
belonging to the foresaid Sagamores, except a piece of ground which the 
foresaid Sagamore of Toquams reserved to plant on — the said sale specified 
by a deed under their hands; dated the 1st of July anno 1640. Also the 
payment according to the agreement was made to satisfaction of the fore- 
said Ponus and Wescus— these forementioned in the deed are sold and 


quietly ( 
the Ind 


alienated from the foresaid Ponus and Wescus and their heirs, executors, 
administrators and assigns unto the foresaid Capt. Nath'l Turner, and his 
heirs, executors, administrators and assigns forever — moreover, after this 
former agreement in the year Anno 1655, the Inhabitants of Stamford and 
Ponus Sagamore, and Onax, Sagamore came to an agreement, for the con- 
venient settlement of their planting ground at Shehange, as also how far 
the bounds of the inhabitants of Stamford should go, which joint agree- 
ment was to extend sixteen miles north from the sea side at Stamford; and 
two miles short of that the said parties marked two trees with S T; the 
aforesaid Ponus and Onax agreeing and granted the inhabitants of Stam- 
ford that their bounds should run from the aforesaid marked trees four 
miles east, aud from the foresaid marked trees four miles west; their whole 
breadth to be eight miles and for full satisfaction of the foresaid Ponus 
and Onax for all and every part of tho lands with the Demensions thereof 
forementioned and the Indian's planting Laud excepted, four coats was 
paid and accepted by the said Indians viz: Ponas and Onax, upon which 
receipt the said Ponus and Onax gave a full surrender of all the land fore- 
mentioned from them and their heirs, executors, administrators, and assigns, 
and in the behalf of all the Indians unto the English Inhabitants of Stam- 
lord and their heirs, executors, and administrators, and assigns for ever, 
■ ■ to possess and enjoy in free and full manner. Unto this agreement 
Indians forementioned viz: Ponus and Onax subscribed their mark 
for full confirmation, witnessed by Ki chard Law and William Newman. 
Now these presents witnesseth, that we Taphance, son of Ponus and Pow- 
nhay son of Onax as abovementionei, do hereby acknowledge the several 
grants and sales of lands and the several agreements thereabouts as above 
specified with the payment for satisfaction given for the same, and do 
hereby for us and ours tully confirm the said grants and .sales with the di- 
mensions thereof as above specified — furthermore we the foresaid Taphance 
and Powahay do hereby both for us and our heirs, executors administra- 
tors and assigns, grant and surrender up unto the inhabitants of the town 
of Stamford their heirs, executors administrators and assigns forever all our 
land or lands formerly reserved to us for planting at Shehauge and 
Hoquetch with all other lands of any sort and privileges of any kind to us 
and our predecessors formerly belon:;ing; the said lands and privileges 
lying between Tatomock near Greenwich on the west and the land formerly 
granted by Piamikin to the men of Stamford on the east with the foremen- 
tioned dimensions of length and breadth; Quietly to possess and enjoy 
without future molestation by us and ours— In consideration hereof the 
inhabitants of Stamford do both for themselves and theirs give and grant 
unto the foresaid Taphance and Powahay and their male issue and posterity 
twenty acres planting ground in convenient place or places — with these 
conditions following agreed unto — first, that the said Indians fence their 
ground with a sufficient fence— secondly, that they shall not at any time 
take in other Indians or Indian to reside with them— thirdly— only 'lap- 
hance with his wife and children ;and Penahay and Paharron and an old 
woman called Nowatfonnamanssqua are allowed' — thirdly that neither Tap- 
hance nor Penahay, nor any of theirs shall at any time sell, or any way di- 
rectly or indirectly make over or transfer the said twentj' ncres of land or 
any part thereof to any; but if the said Taphance and they shall desert 
and leave the said land, or if in case the said Taphance and Penahay their 
male issue and posterity shall cease and extinguish, then the forementioned 
20 acres of land shall fall to the inhabiuints of Stamford, emediately with- 
out any further consideration, as their proper right; fourthly, the foresaid 


Tapliance aud Penehay both for themselves and theirs do hereby bind and 
engage themselves unto a dew aud orderly subjection to all town orders of 
Stamford and the laws of the jurisdiction that are or shall be made from 
time to time and for the true performance of the foresaid covenants and 
agreements respectively the parties abovemeutioned do hereby bind them- 
selves and theirs firmly. In witness of truth they have hereto set their 
hands the day and date above written. 
Signed and delivered In behalf of Stamford. 

in presence of Taphance Richard Law 

Eichard Beach ) Penahay ^- Francis Bell- 

John Embrey - George Slason 

Samuel Mills ) Jonathan Selleck 

John Holly 

[No. G.] 


Still later, about the year 1700, as its locality in the records would indi- 
cate, we find still another agreement with the Indians. Catoona and Coee con- 
firm all the previous grants of territory to the English, "westward as far as 
Bedford." They acknowledge the receipt of " considerable and valuable 
sums of money. They make special mention of deeds or grants made to 
the English, by Taphassee, Ponus, Penehays, old Onax, young Ouax, a 
deed to Capt. Turner, and also a deed by Hawatonaman, which our records 
have not preserved. The following witnesses attest the acknowledgment : 
John Ej-6 alias John Caukee Catona 

Pohornes Awaricus Capt. Manin 

Renohoctam Mockea Wequacumak 

Eamhorne Papakuma Aquamana 

Smingo Simorn Pupiamak 


The preceding papers constitute nearly all the recorded wit. 
ness that we have to the number and character of the original 
proprietors of the soil. They report to us the names of some 
thirty of the most honored of the Indians here. But they teach 
us very little respecting these signers themselves, and still less 
respecting the tribes they represent. They only go to show 
that when the white race were in need of these old Indian realms 
the i-ed race had been made ready to alienate them. They 
suggest that the great leaders whose prowess had won for them 
Sachem dominion and honors had all passed away. What names, 
illustrious for gifts of Indian eloquence or for deeds of Indian 

lOO History of stajifoed. 

daring, may once have ruled here ; of how extensive and popu- 
lous empire this may have been the seat ; how long the old 
races may have here held sway ; or whence they had come to 
these wild shores ; all are questions which no records can ever 
answei-. And then the number of the Indians who occupied the 
territory settled as Stamford will probably never be known. 
It could not have been very large. Petty chiefs and mere frag- 
ments of what might once have been small tribes of their race, 
were all that the historian can find to reward his most diligent 

Yet it must not be inferred that the Stamford colony escaped 
the hazards, or were altogether strangers to the startling inci- 
dents of Indian neighborhootl. There was enough of the savage 
left to suggest what savage life was, when it had entire sway 
over the country. There was enough of Indian cunning and 
power left to make the pale face constantly wary and fearful. 
It would have been no easy task to subdue here the wildness of 
the forest and its beasts of prey ; it was doubly difficult and 
hazardous to live in constant exposure to the stealthy movements 
of suspicious and suspected savages. 

The settlement of Stamford succeeded the complete overthrow 
of the most spirited and formidable tribe within the limits of 
Connecticut ; and the \itter dismemberment of the Pequods had 
struck surviving tribes and clans with a wholesome terror of the 
white man's jjower. 

The eastern part of the State had been pretty eflectually 
delivered from all danger from the savages. The Mohegans 
now left, with Uncas their chief, were henceforth, as the most 
politic course, to count themselves as the white man's friends ; 
and in that part of the State it would be a contest between hos- 
tile tribes of the natives rather than between the aborigines and 
the immigrant colonies. In the western part of the State were 
many tribes, the most of which were inferior in numbers and 
either faint or reckless in spirit, and they were more likely to 
burn with revenges against their formidable enemies towards 


the West, the fierce Mohawks, than -against the more harmless 
pale faces, who were quietly locating themselves liere and there 
upon the hunting grounds of their race. 

Still the red man could not be expected to see himself steadily 
alienating the ancestral possessions of his race, steadily wasting 
away before the increasing colonies of a people whom he tho- 
roughly despised, without some struggling against so humilia- 
ting a destiny. Accordingly, the period of colonial settlements 
throughout New England, was also a period of constant collision 
between the immigrant and the aboriginal races. The very 
year in which our pioneers were taking possession of Rippowam, 
was marked by one of those combinations of Indian strategy, 
whose aim was the forcible expulsion from Connecticut soil of 
the last pale face to be found. 

The plot disclosed by a neighboring Sachem to Mr. Ludlow, 
of Uncowa, (Fairfield), and by a Long Island Indian, to Mr. 
Eaton, of New Haven, and by still another native on the Con- 
necticut, warned the few colonies in time to avert the threatened 
doom. While a portion of the Stamford settlers are on their 
way to their new home, the General Coui-t of Connecticut find 
themselves called upon to issue the following orders : 

" It is Ordered, that there shall be a letter writ fro the Courte 
to the Bay to iurther the prsecution of the Indeans, to pr'uent 
their mischevus plotte in their late Combination." 

" It is Ordered that there shall be a gard of 40 men to com 
compleate in their Arms to the meeting every Sabbath and lecture 
day, in every Towne within these liberties vppon the River." 

The combination referred to in these orders was the last for- 
midable attempt of the great Miantonomo of the Narragansetts ; 
Sequassen, the patriot Sachem of the Connecticut River ; and the 
jealous and revengeful Sequin, to save their name and posses- 
sions from the sudden extinction which tliey foresaw. 

In the same year, so imminent bad the danger become, that 
the Court interdicted all traffic with tlie Indians except by 
permission of two magistrates ; no smith was to work for an 


Indian; two wardsmen w-ere to be appointed in every town 
Avdthin their jurisdiction to give notice of any sudden danger 
that may come npon the plantatigns ; a competent number of 
men should remain in every town daily for its defense ; and " 90 
coats should be provided within ten days, basted with cotton 
wool and made defensive against Indian arrowes." 

It was in the midst of such alarms that Stamford was settled ; 
and we may be assured that it required no little nerve to attempt, 
and no ordinary prudence and courage to effect the settlement. 

In the territory itself were traces of at least four distinct clans. 
On the west side of the purchase, with his seat not far from 
where the line now separates the town from Greenwich, was the 
bold and warlike Mayano, with his vindictive band of warriors, 
already experienced in the conflict, both with savage and civi- 
lized foes. Whence they had come, or how many they might 
count, we shall never know ; we shall soon see that they or onr 
sturdy pioneers must ore long maintain the possession by the 
stout heart and arm. 

Further to the East, with his princely residence overlooking 
both the bays which inclose our finest headland, was "Wascussue, 
Lord of Shipan. Xot as spirited as Mayano, he seemed to linger 
with a handful of his tribe, in a sort of princely repose upon the 
fair field which his more youthful arm had won, unwilling to 
leave the charming hei-itage which in his sadness he saw now 
for tlie first time seriously invaded. 

Still farther towards the rising sun and beyond the lovely 
Noroton bay, was the empire of Piamikin, whose deed of aliena- 
tion niakes him Sagamore of Koatan, and whose jealous eye 
guarded the hunting and fishing grounds, as after him our 
■Stamford colony did, out to the waters of tlie babbling Rowal- 
ton, (Five Mile River.) 

On the north of these sea-washed realms, lay the more extended 
realms of Ponus. From his ancestors he had received the 
-wooded hills and brook-washed vales that stretch far away to 
the north until thcv are lost in the forests which even the red 


men did not claim — a wild border ground between the eastern 
and the western tribes ; and he hoped to hand them all over to 
Iiis idol, Powahay, the bright faced son of his first-born Onax. 
But the old patriarch of his wasting tribe, saw his warriors fade 
and perish as if touched with the power of his own decay, and 
he yielded gracefully to the stern necessity. He lived to sign 
with his own hand the deed which forever alienated from him- 
self and heirs, " all the uplands, meadows and grass, with the 
rivers and trees," that had once been his rejoicing and his pride. 
These four clans, under these leaders, with perhaps a few 
fugitives from other scattered tribes, temporarily living here in 
their isolated independency, constituted the only aborigines 
within the limits of Stamford, with whom the new colony had to 
contend. Occasionally other tribes would sweep across the 
town and leave in their track of terror some witness to their 
ferocity. Single Indians would now and then steal in upon the 
unsuspecting settlers and startle them with some threatened or 
accomplished revenge. 

While the second company of the colony were locating them- 
selves, a tragedy was enacted, a little to the west of the town, 
which for a while threatened the very existence of the new 
community. Some of the Dutch traders had stripped an 
Indian who had been tempted by them to drink too much, of a 
valuable dress of beaver skins. On recovering from his drunk- 
en fit, the insulted red man revenged himself by killing two 
Dutchmen, and fled to feast his memory with the great revenge 
among a distant tribe. He could not be found. The Dutch 
governor at New Amsterdam, Kieft, sought an opportunity to 
punish the Indians for the revengeful deed. The next winter 
the Mohawks fell upon two of the Hudson river tribes, and 
after killing their warriors, scattered the remnant in utter des- 
titution to find food and shelter from the piercing cold among 
the Dutch on the South. The time for a civilized revenge had 
now come; and at the instigation of Kieft, with the sanction of 
his counselors, more than a hundred of those helpless fugitives 


from theii- savage foe, were sent from their quiet sleep on earth 
to the spirit world of their race, by a blow from the Dutch 
soldiers, so sudden that they could not even beg for life. 

Then Indian blood was stirred. Savage vengeance awoke. 
With almost electric despatch, Indian warrior pledged to Indian 
warrior, and clan to clan, the direst vengeance on their foe. 
" More than fifteen hundred warriors," according to De Forest, 
rallied from the confederacy of eleven clans, to constitute this 
avenging army. " A fierce war blazed wherever a Dutch set- 
tlement was to be found ; on Long Island and on Manhattan, 
along the Connecticut and along the Hudson." From Manhat- 
tan to Stamford the coast was desolated, Dutch and English 
alike, atoning to the inexorable spirit of Indian revenge, for the 
needless injuries that had been heaped upon the Indian's race. 

The white race were in the ascendant. Their arms were more 
than a match for the red man's muscle ; their science triumphed 
over his cunning ; and the desperate Indian had only the fiendish 
pleasure of dealing in his death struggles, now and then, an 
avenging blow. 

Within hearing distance of tlie Stamford settlement* were 
three Dutch settlers who had excited the wrath of the restless 
and brave JIayano. He nobly met them, armed as they were, 
with his bow and arrows and brought two of them to the 
ground. The third only saved himself by a well-directed blow 
which laid the fearless savage at his feet ; and the daring of tlie 
fallen Sachem had made the extermination of his tribe a neces- 
sity to the safety of the whites. A company of soldiers were 
immediately dispatched to capture them. At Greenwich they 
were directed by Capt. Patrick to the rendezvous of the mad- 
dened Indians, but on reaching it not a soul could be found. 
Proceeding on into the Stamford settlement they find Patrick 
with his own former comrade in arms, our Captain John Under- 
hill. They immediate suspect him of having given the Indians 
notice of their approach. They taunt him with the treachery. 

•Behveen Greenwich and Stamford.— O'Callaghan. 


He who had led his trusty men so successfully against the 
bravest of the Xew England savages, could not brook such 
insolence from Dutchmen, even though in arms. He contempt- 
uously spat in the fiice of their leader and turned to walk away. 
A pistol ball brought him to the ground in death, and the 
Dutchmen returned to the pursuit of their savage foe. 

Underhill, who had been no friend to the Dute'.i settlers, now 
sympathized with their mortal hatred of the Indian enemy. 
He had already signalized his bravery in the Pequod war. His 
was already a name of terror to Indians far and near ; and to 
his presence our Stamford colony had doubtless owed their 
comparative exemption thus far from savage invasions. It was 
no time for him to rest inactive when his friends and neighbors 
were exposed every hour to some sudden and relentless massa- 
cre. He offered his services to the Dutch governor, and was 
at once sent into the field. The troublesome Indians about 
Stamford were the first to feel his ]>ower. With one hundred 
and thirty men he started from Xew Amsterdam, on a cold and 
cloudy morning in the February of 1044. They were able to 
land at Greenwich Point, that evening, in a furious storm. 
With the early dawn of the next morning the resolute Captain 
was again on the march. All day did the sturdy Dutch sol- 
diers, under their valiant leader, plod their toilsome way 
through the snow, until, at eight in the evening, they had 
reached the vicinity of the hostile camp. Soon tiie clouds gave 
way, and a clear, bright moon, flashing from the snowy crystals, 
lighted their way to their horrid work. By a little after ten 
they filed round the Southern spur of a ridge, stretching 
toward the Northwest, and the village, a tripple range of wig- 
wams, lay reposing before them, awaiting their attack. With 
marvelous celerity, the captain circles the doomed village 
with his trusty men. Now spring upon them, as hounds un- 
leashed upon their prey, the stalwart forms of more than a 
hundred warriors, all prepared for their death grapple with the 
foe. But neither their sudden rush, nor their wild war-cry, 



could intimidate their assailants. Coolly they are received, a 
tenth of them captured, and the rest impetuously hurled back. 
For a whole hour the unrelenting struggle went on. A hundred 
and thirty men wrestled in mortal strife with more than five 
hundred of the enemy, and when the doomed Indians were 
at length driven back within their lines of defense, one hundred 
and eighty of their fallen comrades were already still and stiif- 
ening in the blood stained snow. Nor would they yet raise the 
flag of truce, or cry for quarter. Each undaunted spirit, left 
beneath such shelter as his own or his neighbor's wigwam 
could give, continued the fight. This was the opportunity for 
which Underhill was prepared. He called for fire. Torches 
lighted the wigwams. Indian men, women, and children, 
issuing from their burning homes, were driven back to perish 
in the flames. Before the morning dawned, more than five 
hundred, who, the night before, had gone to their usual rest, 
were now sleeping their lasPsleep with the unconscious dead. 

By noon, of the next day, the victors had already reached 
Stamford, on their way home, having in this signal chastisement 
of the Indians of this neighborhood, secured the perpetual 
peace of the English settlements. From this time there would 
be no gathering of clans and tribes against the now victorious 
white race. Occasional depredations and stealthy and assassin 
stabs, now and then, from some treacherous or revengeful red 
man, would be the only further harm the colonists in this 
vicinity would have to fear. 

Xot Ions was it before an illustration was given of the sav- 
age revenge which burned among the neighboring Indians. Just 
to the north of the village, a family by the name of Phelps had 
just located themselves. The husband had left the house one 
morning, in the fall of 1644, leaving his wife, with an infant 
child at home. An Indian, who had already made himself 
somewhat notorious for his hatred of the English, had seen the 
husband leave, and knew the defenseless condition of his fam- 
ily. He gloried in such an opportunity for vengeance. Enter- 


ing the house, he took up a hatchet lying upon the floor, and 
when tlie mother bent herself, as a sheltering angel over her 
defenseless babe, he savagely buried it in her brain. After plun- 
dering the house he left. 

Again the settlers were aroused. They felt that there was 
no safety for them. They rallied in large numbers to search 
for the Indian. They sent messengers to New Haven and 
Hartford for assistance ; and were determined to avenge the 
deed so signally as to hinder the repetition of it among them . 
Meanwhile, Mrs. Phelps, who survived the blow which the 
Indian thought to be latal, rallied so far as to enable her to 
describe the assassin. He was at once recognized. His tribe 
were at length prevailed on to give him up. He -was taken to 
Xew Haven for trial, and sentenced to death by decapitation. 
Now, Busheag, the convicted savage, showed the fearlessness 
and more than stoic endurance of his Indian heart. He showed 
no sign of concern for himself, none of sorrow for his deed. He 
asked no pardon, he simulated no regret. He promised no sup- 
pression of his hate or his vengeance. He looked his execu- 
tioner sternly in the face, as he unflinchingly received the 
repeated blows which severed his head from his body. 

The execution of Busheag, following so soon the signal over- 
throw of the Indians to the (vest of the town, rendered the sur- 
viving Indians more cautious and peaceful. They made a for- 
mal treaty of peace with the English, and jjledged a due ob- 
servance of every usage of good neighborhood. They wlio 
could not endure the humiliation stole away, some of them to 
live for a while among the Ridgefield Indians, to the north, and 
others penetrated still farther into the unl)roken, wilderness of 
the west. 

During this period tlie utmost caution was used among the 
settlers, to avoid exciting or provoking the Indians. No man 
was allowed to furnish intoxicating liquors to them, under 
heavy penalty. And in 1G48, at the Stamford court, it was also 
ordered " yt non shall ether sell or give any of our English 
doggs unto ye Indians at ye displeasure of ye courte." 


Yet no forbearance or caution on the ])art of the intruders 
upon these Indian domains, could long secure their immunity 
from Indian revenge. The Indian felt that he and his race 
were losing ground; and it is not to be wondered at, that his 
hitherto unbroken spirit sliould rouse his utmost endeavors to 
regain it. 

In the autumn of 1649, a new tragedy was enacted in Stam- 
ford. John Whitmore, one of the most respectable of the set- 
tlers, who had already won a good name here, left his house 
one morning to look for his cattle in the common grounds to 
the west of the village. He never returned. The utmost ex- 
citement prevailed throughout the settlement. The most dili- 
gent search brought no clue to the discovery of the body. 
Messengers were sent in every direction. Help was summoned 
from New Haven and Hartford, but the search and help were 
of no avail. 

The perplexity and apprehension occasioned by this myste- 
rious disappearance were very extensive. The gener'al court at 
Hartford made it an occasion of serious deliberation. They 
felt that none of the colonists, in any of the Connecticut settle- 
ments, would be secure, if such surprises were to be possible. 
They enter on their record this minute, as expressive of their 
convictions of what was due themselves in the perilous crisis : 

" This courte, taking into serious consideration what may bee 
done according to God in way of revenge of the blood of John 
Whitmore, late of Stamford, and well weighing all circumstan- 
ces, together with the carriages of the Indians (bordering there- 
vppon^) in and about the premises : doe declare themselves that 
they doe judge it lawfull and according to God to make war vppon 
them. This courte desires Mr. Deputy,Mr. Ludlow and Mr. Tayle- 
coat to ride to-morrow to New Haven and conferr with Mr. 
Eaton and the rest of the magistrates there about sending out 
against the Indians, and to make returne of their apprehensions 
with what convenient speed they may." 

Meanwhile the search for the body of Mr. Whitmore was 
going on. By a providential arrangement, Uncas, the great 
Mohegan, who for years had now been the politic friend of the 


whites, was uow, with a band of his clear-sighted warriors, in 
this vicinity. So unusual was such a visitation, as to leave the 
impression that his main object in the expedition was to aid the 
Stamford men in their search. To this he might easily have 
been induced by the Connecticut colony; and to this he set 
himself earnestly and successfully to work. 

As, nominally at least, sachem over the tribe whose limits 
had once embraced all this territory, he spoke with some show 
of authority. Assembling the neighboring Indians, he demanded 
of them the body of the murdered man. Taphance, the son of 
Ponus, and Rehoron his subject, both of whom liad been sus- 
pected as being either the principals in the murderous deed, or 
chief instigators to it, now feeling the pressure of Indian resolu- 
tion and fearing the consequences of further endeavors to mask 
themselves in the presence of these sharp-eyed and now suspect- 
ing detectives, led the way into the woods directly to the 
mangled remains. 

It would seem that this would have been sufficient to justify 
the prompt arrest of these two suspected guides. It is true 
they denied having any hand in the murder. They had pre- 
viously charged it upon Toquattoes, an Indian who had come 
down from among or near thfe maddened Mohawks, with a deep 
revenge in his soul, to be appeased by the scalp of some white 
man. Meeting Whitmore alone and without defense, he had 
satisfied his vengeance against the race by his sudden death, 
and escaped beyond their knowledge and pursuit. But from 
the day of the murder, whenever questioned by the neighbors, 
these two neighboring and now suspected Indians, had shown 
the deepest concern and fear; and now, while leading the way 
to the remains, which had already lain three months concealed, 
they are seized with a terror which makes them pale with fear, 
if not with conscious guilt. And yet the authorities allowed 
them to escape. They concealed themselves so effectually as to 
elude the officers of justice for several years. 

At length, in October. 1G62, Taphance is brought before the 


Court of Matristratcs, held in New Haven, on a warrant issued 
by the governor. The trial is detailed at length in the New 
Haven Colonial Records, transcribed and published by Charles 
J. Hoadley, pages 458 — 463. The court decided that there 
was strong grounds of suspicion against Taphance. His own 
acknowledgment, his trembling, his stealing away after promis- 
ing help in searching for the murderer, his suspicious looks and 
actions before Uncas, were in evidence against him. The tes- 
timony of Mr. Whitmore's wife and children as to his fawning 
manner on the very day of Mr. Whitmore's murder, was also in 
proof. The testimony of Mr. Law and John Mead, who were 
together when he came to Mr. Law's the second morning after 
the murder, and the testimony of Richard Ambler and Goodman 
Jessop, who also saw and heard Taphance at Mr. Law's, was in 
proof. These agreeing testimonies Influenced the court to 
decide, "that in ye whole there stands a blot vpon him of 
suspicion ; that there was sufficient grounds for his aprehending 
and eomitting to durance, and all that he hath said at this time 
canot clear him of a stain of suspicion ; but as being guilty of 
ye murder, directly or accessory, he did pronounce him not 
guilty in point of death ; but yet must declare him to stand 
bound to pay all charges that hafli been about him and leave 
him guilty of suspicion; and that he stands bound as his duty 
to doe his best endeavour to obtain ye murderer, and now to 
remain in durance vntill ye next session of ye court, about a 
fortnight hence, except he can give some assurance of his pay- 
inge the charge before, which charge was concluded to be ten 

Taphance accepted tlie judgment [of the court and promised 
to do his best towards securing the murderer. He pleaded his 
poverty and asked to have his chains removed, pledging himself 
not to run away under forfeiture of his life. ITpon which he 
was set at liberty, after providing to appear at the next court. 

No further mention of the case appears on record. The 
spirited contest between the New Haven and Connecticut juris- 


dictions had now commenced, and probably directed the atten- 
tion of the court from all less important matters ; and when, in 
1665, the Connecticut had asserted its authority over the New 
Haven colony, there was probably no need of further prosecuting 
the now harmless Indians. Yet, as the following record shows, 
the contest had imposed upon the infant colony a burden they 
were still to bear. And that they did not shrink from acknowl- 
edging the claims of those who defended them against the wily 
savage our records abundantly attest. The following is a sam- 
ple of this testimony : 

" In December, 1667, the town granted Jonathan Silleek n 
piece of land on the west side of the landing place, beginning 
at Hardy's Hole, as a reward for his meritorious services while 
engaged against the common enemy." 

Evidently the neighboring Indians never again became so 
formidable as to disturb the (juiet or arouse seriously the fears 
of the town. Throughout the century our citizens were occa- 
sionally called upon to aid in punishing Indians elsewhere, and 
that they did good seiwice when thus engaged we find occasional 
proofs in our records. 

Once more, indeed, our townsmen were somewhat ap])rehen- 
sive of danger from a foray of savages. Philip, of the Pokano- 
kets, the brave son of brave old Massasoit, had witnessed with 
increasing sorrow the inroads which the English were making 
into the cherished hunting grounds of his dwindling race. He 
could not endure it, thus to bear the doom which was settling 
upon him. He rebelled against his fate. He resolved to regain his 
alienated grounds, ana bring to the dust the pale-faced invader 
of his ancestral rights. He maddened every Indian heart 
within his reach to an Indian's revenge ; and the English set- 
tlers, from the Kennebeck to the Hudson, began to see and feel 
the avenging desolations of a remorseless Indian war. Driven 
from his peninsular home, the outraged chieftain, swift as the 
winds, yet noiseless as tlie flight of swallows in the air, moves 
from wigwam to wigwam, and from tribe to tribe, drawing even 


the hitherto peaceful Narragansett into the current of his re- 
morseless revenge, embittering the concealed but now inexorable 
hate of the Nipmuc, the Hadley and Springfield, and all the 
Connecticut river Indians, and even those still further west ; 
until, within six weeks, he had pledged almost the last stout 
heart and arm of Indian warrior over all the territorj' he had 
traversed, to one final, terrible blow against the invaders ot his 
domain. He had done all that Indian cunning, and eloquence, 
and hate could do, and he and his awaited the issue of the 
struggle. Their great, grand war-dance, ending in their wild 
war-cry, left them no alternative, but the utter extermination of 
themselves or their foe. ' June 24, 1675, had now come. The 
war torch was lighted at Swansey ; and no less than twenty- 
four of its peaceful citizens poured forth their life-blood, only to 
whet to keener relish the thirst of the savage murderers. Sud- 
denly, town after town was surprised ; and to the horror of 
their burning was everywhere added that of an indiscriminating 
and unsparing massacre. Brookfield, Deerfield, Hadley, North- 
field, Springfield, Lancaster, Medfield, Weymouth, Groton, 
Marlborough, Warwick and Providence were successively 

It was during the progress of these desolations of savage war- 
fare that our townsmen became again alarmed. No immediate 
attack was threatened, but neither had the slightest signal fore- 
tokened the fate of either of the above named towns ; and still, 
at a moment when tliey least expected it, the fire and the toma- 
hawk were doing among tliem their terrible work and their 
doom was written in letters of blood. And why may it not be 
so here was the anxious inquiry of our unguarded townsmen. 

That a practical answer was made to such an inquiry is shown 
in the following record : 

"In March IGTii, Francis Bell, Francis Brown, and John 
Green were appointed a committee to treat witli the ' Engins,' 
and understand what they have to say to the town, and to make 
return of what they have to say to the town, that the said In 
dians mav receive an answer from the town.'' 


What report this committee made is not to be found on record. 
That it did not allay the fears which had been excited, the fol- 
lowing records of a livter date will show. The first of these is 
found in a letter, dated Stamford, Dec. 29, 1673, and directed 
to the General Court at Boston. It was intended as an earnest 
plea for help : 

" Wherefore, in expectation of the armies coming against this 
open declared enemy we have been hitherto silent, but by the 
long retard and no intelligence upon any prosecution upon that 
account we are afraid (it) is laid aside, whereby we shall be 
much endangered if not ruined, if your honors do not by some 
speedy means relieve us, for we are frontiers and most likely 
assaulted in the first place." 

The above plea for help seems to have been made jointly by 
Stamford, Greenwich and Rye. Again, on the tenth of October, 
1675, governor Andros sends word to the governor at Hartford 
that five or six thousand Indians are in league and ready to 
fall upon Greenwich, Hartford and other places still further 
oast at the next full moon. 

On the nineteenth of the same month he sends word that it 
is I'lmiored that the Stamford Indians are in arms ; and he com- 
mends the colonists in the state for putting themselves " in a 
fitting posture for all events." What this means we may learn 
from our records, which show that in March 1675 '6, Mr. Bell, 
sen., John Green, Peter Ferris, John Bates and Daniel Weed 
were chosen to attend to the work of fortification, according to 
the order of the council ; and another vote requires that the 
stockading of the town shall be fully finished. 

Under date of Sept. 22, 1676, we find the following vote : 
" The town agrees that all those soldiers that went out upon 
service, out of Stamford, against the common enemy, shall have 
land of the town ; namely, all that did service." In carrying 
this vote into effect, the town then voted the following persons 
these lands: to Serg. Daniel Wescott, one and a half acre home 
lot on the north side of Joseph Webb's lot. and that swamp by 
the flood gate; to Thomas Lawrence an acre and a half house 



lot on the south side of Joseph Webb's, to be laid out, having 
due respect to the highway ; to Samuel Hoyt, Increase Holly, 
David Waterbury, Obadiah Seely, John Waterbury, Tliomas 
Newman, Joseph Fish, Obadiah Stevens, Benjamin Stevens, 
Jolni Jagger, Moses Knapp, Daniel Ferris, Jonathan Seeley, 
Joseph Jones and William Penoyer, severally, house lots for 
their services. 

At the end of the list is this record: " the town dolh give 
unto John Green two house lots for his sons, next to Abraham 
Ambler's front, which homelots were given as they were sol- 

In Dec. 1677, the town votes to Capt. Jonathan Sellick, "as 
was upon service against the common enemy, all that piece of 
land lying upon the west side of the landing place, beginning 
at the mouth of the brook commonly called Hardy's Hole, in 
length to the Southfield fence." 

The only other local record which refers to these local strug- 
gles with the Indians are those in which, occasionally, a citizen 
asks for an appropriation for his services. The last of these 
claims was preferred in 1692, when Joshua Halt asks for a piece 
of land on account of his going out, a soldier, against the com- 
mon inimy ;" and two acres in the ox pasture were given him 
"as a gratuity for his good service in the late war." At the 
same time a piece of land is "layedout" to Simon Chapman, 
probably for the same reason. 

Already our townsmen had felt themselves relieved of fiii- 
ther danger so that they might safely order a final disarmament 
as the following record shows. 

" 18 Dec. 1695, per vote outcry the town doth sell the fort 
wood about ye meeting house to Stephen Clason for seventeen 
shillings and ninepence." " The town by outcry doth sell ye fort 
'.jates ye wheels of j'e great guns and all ye wood belonging to 
ye guns it is now sold to Xathanall Cross and Jonathan Holly 
for five shillings and sixpence." 

And who shall say that such was not a worthy disposal of the 
last witnesses to the struggles which the pioneers of the town 


encountered, with tlie race that had now ahnost entirely 



Tliat the ibunders of this aucifiit town were men of religious 
principle, and that at the commencement of their settlement 
here they had an ecclesiastical organization, needs no labored 
l)roof. Their leader Avas a minister of religion. The church 
Avas the sacred body they were here to preserve, and the society 
was only the appointed means for ]ier preservation. Whether 
fewer or more of the settlers here were of the select and honored 
company of the saints, all felt themselves to be the authorized 
defenders, and all -were practically the cheerful supporters of 
the church. Had not the most of them left their liomes in the 
fatherland from the love they bore the church ? Had they not 
already attested by their patient and heroic suffering their de- 
votion to the church ? And was not their very mission hither 
an attempt to establish the church, where in purity and simple 
faith she might train her children by her simple and holy rituals 
for the service of her divine Lord ? 

We may never know how many of the first settlers were 
actually members of the church when they came here. That 
the most of them were afterwards united with it is more than 
probable. The first church of Stamford had already been or- 
ganized in Wethersfield. Of the seven men who constituted 
the Wethersfield church, we have seen that four came to Stam- 
ford. These were the Rev. Richard Denton, who became the 
pastor of the church when transferred to Stamford, Jonas Weed, 
Robert Coe and Andrew Ward. It is probable that others of 


the Wethersfield party, immediately on the separation, attached 
themselves to the new body. How many of them may have 
done so, or liow sooti, no existing- records probably will ever 

But, whether larger or smaller, the church was the center and 
soul of the new society here formed ; so much so, that of all the 
organizations formed, that only which had for its specific aim 
the care and maintenance of the temporalities of the church, 
came to claim for itself the title of " The Society." And so, in 
the view of those days, the very term society seemed to mean 
that visible company whose most characteristic object is the 
preservation and welfare of the militant church. To this organ- 
ization every voting man among our Stamford settlers belonged. 
F'or its suppoi-t every freeholder contributed, and this, at first, 
not from compulsion, but rather as a matter of course. The 
social necessity for it was as valid and potent as any legislative 
enactment could be. In Stamford, as in other of the early Con- 
necticut towns, the church edifice was one of the first to be 
built. Though the local records of that transaction are now 
gone probably beyond recovery, we do not need to attest the 
fact. We may see the form of that rude meeting house, not 
many rods from where the present Congregational Church now 
stands, almost as distinctly as though it were standing thei-e 
still. Square built and low ; its posts scarcely a dozen feet in 
length ; its four roofs meeting over the centre at a hight not 
much less than thirty feet ; one generous door on the front open- 
ing into an area which was undivided by partition, and unseated 
save with rude benches around the three sides looking toward 
the minister's stand ; unadorned by art of sculpture or of paint- 
ing, and never relieved of summer sun by blinds, or of keenest 
winter's cold by furnace or stove. 

Eyes that did not fear the light and stoutly beating hearts 
that could not well be chilled, were to be provided for in that 
primitive place for worship ; yet neither the movable curtain, 
sus])ended as the movement of the sun might require, nor the 


till haiul-stdN e witli its solid coals taken right from tlie groat 
hearth-stoiR' ;it home, was deemed needless or intrusive. Xo 
bell rang out its Sabbath call from that imtowered house, but 
when occasion called for it, the beat of drum never failed to line 
the only paths that met at its door ; and so, more promptly than 
now, the gathered congregation were awaiting the solemn and 
reverent invocation with whieli the minister was wont to open 
tlie important service of the day. 

There was sanctity in those rude materials of that pioneer 
house. Hallowed jjlace was that, where the man of God stood 
his two hours each Sabbath morning, and two hours more each 
Sabbath afternoon to feed those hardy pioneers with the bread 
of life. Solid thoughts were those which could minister to such 
hearers amid such surroundings. Xor has more acceptable 
worship been paid to Him who dwelleth in temples not made 
with hands, in any of the costlier sanctuaries whose graceful 
spires and polished altars and cushioned seats have since that 
day borne witness to the spiritual glory and power of tliat first 
iiouse of the Lord in Stamford. 

One, only incident detracted from the pleasant and grateful 
memories of that house. Tradition has it, and in this case the 
witness is so respectable as to justify the record of it on these 
pages, that when the assembled pioneers in our settlement had 
reached the point in the raising of the building, of fastening- 
together the heavy timbers over its center, a lad, the son of one 
of the principal citizens, was sent up to insert the key pin. He 
bravely mounted to the perilous hight and his nerve failed. 
" Which of the holes shall I put the pin in, father ; " asked the 
lad, with wavering tones. " O, my God ! " exclaims the agon- 
ized fiither, '• my child is dead." 

Turning suddenly over and falling headlong, that little boy 
had sealed with his instant death, his deep interest in that house 
for his parents' worship, almost before the father could give 
that passionate exjiression to his agonized heart. 

Xor was that rude and uninviting meeting house allowed to 


be neglected. Every settler here was expected to report liiiii- 
self and his family each Lord's day. And on no account could 
the people consent to have its door closed when that holy day, 
the Puritan's only holiday, called them to worship. If the min- 
ister was sick, had they not men of " gifts in prayer," who could 
" orderly lead them " in every act of reverent and acceptable 
worship ? Should the minister leave them, need they abandon 
their " altar of hope ? " We shall see. Scarcely three years 
had passed over the colony before some disagreement between 
the minister and the people led to his removal. And what can 
this isolated people do ? There were no ministers as now within 
calling distance in readiness to fill such openings. Coming to- 
gether, after much deliberation and prayer, the people selected 
two of their most trustworthy number, Lieut. Francis Bell and 
George Slanson, furnished them with food for the way, and sent 
them on foot to Boston to see if they could not find one John 
Bishop, whose name had been reported to them, or some minis- 
ter whom they could persuade to come back with them, that so 
this people might not be scattered and " suffered to sin against 
the ordinances of God." 

They providentially find Mr. Bishop, then a young man, un 
whom was the seal of consecration and of promise, and with 
much persuasion, they prevailed on him to accept this pressing 
call from the Lord. Taking his stafi" and his well-used Bible in 
his hand, he starts with the two brethren for the field of his 
labors ; and the meeting house thenceforth, as long as it stands, 
bears weekly witness to his faithful and acceptable labors. 

Twenty eight years did that house magnify its office. The 
father« of the town had most of them gone from its instructiou 
to their final rest. One generation of children had been nur- 
tured by its ministries up to a mature and vigorous manhood. 
One generation of adults had been made strong and patient to 
endure the service and fulfill the high responsibilities of their 
manly years. And so, after its noble work was done, that 
sanctuary of the fathers gave way to anotlier. 


But the rest and prosperity of" the church during tliese tweii- 
ty-eiglit years was not uninterrupted. Their minister found 
his work seriously hindered by the many trials incident to 
pioneer life. It was with the people a season of extreme phys- 
ical activity. Tlieir physical wants were all to be supplied — 
their homes were to be built — their lands must be cleared. 
Roads must be cut thi-ough hitherto pathless woods ; and all those 
conveniences which, ordinarily, one generation finds prepai-ed 
for them by the preceding, these fathers of Stamford had to 
gather about their new homes by the most unwearied industry. 

Besides, the privations and discomforts incident to such a life 
are not helpful to a true social or spiritual culture. They try 
the tempers and often seriously compromise the manners of 
those who experience them. And their influence is still more 
disastrous upon the condition and character of that generation 
of children that are molded by them. The very rudeness and 
savagery of a wilderness home Avould reach the spirit and rule 
to some extent, at least, the manners of any community exposed 
to them. There is philosophy, as well as fact, in the sharply 
defined thesis ot Dr. Bushnell, that barbarism is the first dan- 
ger of colonization. Even when the leaders of such a commu- 
nity are men of culture and refinement, the very hazards and 
chances and excitementsof the life itself will draw into it the 
restless and adventurous and unprincipled. 

It would be very remarkable, if among so many men as set- 
tled at Stamford, there should be none who were impulsive, 
wayward and insubordinate. In the local government, commit- 
ted to the settlers, it would be very strange if there were not 
diversity of views, both as to the ends to be secured, and the 
methods of securing them. It would be strange if religion 
itself, which pledges eventually tlie peace and millenium of the 
world should not prove in such a community a source of alien- 
ations and of earnest conflict; and especially when, as in this 
case, its professors alone were to hold all the responsible and 
coveted offices in the people's gifl. 


Besides, in the case of our Stamford settlers, there were 
special reasons inducinaj disturbance. Their previous discipline 
had been amid the conflict of an exciting strife. They were, 
themselves, protestants, and among protestants, they had 
achieved divisions. What more could be expected from them 
than that sharp divisions should arise, and that heated and ob- 
stinate maintenance of perpetual views and opinions would 
end in new animosity and feuds ? When the leading men who 
composed the new community had already rendered themselves 
obnoxious to the civil power in the colony from which they had 
come, as several of them had, who could hope that they would 
carry everything along in quiet, in the colony they were to 
form ? 

That there were immoral and dangerous men among the set- 
tlers, is manifest from repeated records. That great trials came 
upon the church, testing the patience and faith of the minister 
and his brethren, is also appai-ent. The first great division of 
this body in 1044, already recorded in a preceding chapter, 
though mainly a political movement, is in proof. The contest 
with the Quaker element is still another proof. And after these 
temporary settlements, still other troubles introduced themselves, 
to such extent as to threaten more serious disaster to the use- 
fulness and existence of the church. 

At the May session of the general court in New Haven in 
1059, report is brought that Mr. Bishop at Stamford finds so 
much discouragement that he thinks of leaving his post. 
The court refer to Mr. Bell, then one of the deputies from 
Stamford for his account of the matter. He acknowledged the 
existence of evils, but thinks the pastor should be sustained 
and encouraged. After giving the report due attention, the 
court declared that if no refoi-mation should be reported from 
Stamford, they, would send down a commission to examine the 
case, ascertain the cause of the complaints, and remove what- 
ever may "hinder the work of God" under Mr. Bishop's care. 


adding this quaint reason for their decision : " for if the minis- 
try and ordinances fall, what will the people do ?" 

The same case appears again in the October court of magis- 
trates. Mr. Bishop, in the presence of two of tlie brethren of 
the church, made a formal statement of the " uncomfortable 
unsettled state of the affairs of the church and town." The 
court advised and ordered: that on returning home, they should 
seek, within twenty days, some effectual course of making a 
satisfactory settlement of their difficulties among themselves. 
They were then to forward to court a certified record of such a 
settlement. If they could not effect the settlement, within that 
time, two of the magistrates and two of the elders, (pastors), 
should be sent down before winter, if the weather should prove 
suitable ; if not, then early in the spring, to help towards the 

In May, 1660, at the request of Mr. Bisliop, the general court 
desired Rev. Mr. Davenjjort, of New Haven, and Pierson, of 
Guilford, to go to Stamford " to afford their counsel and help 
for the well settling of their church affairs." These elders were 
to have " a man to attend upon them at the jurisdiction charge, 
excepting expenses at Stamford, which were to be paid by the 
Stamford people. I have found no record of the meeting held 
in Stamford by the court then appointed, but that they did not 
heal all the difficulties existing between the pastor and the 
people, is evident from another petition from Mr. Bishop and 
others, sent to the genei-al court at their session in May 1662. 
The court authorized the governor, William Lcete, and magis- 
trates Fenn, of Milford, and Crane, of Branford, to repair to 
Stamford, with the authority of any plantation court, extraor- 
dinai'ily assisted, to settle any matters in controversy there. 
And by such methods the disturbing elements at work in the 
church and community were apparently overruled or expelled, 
and further and more serious evils averted. 

Meanwhile, from the increase of population, tlie old meeting 
liousc had liecome too strait for tlieir accommodation, and 


doubtless, also, was felt to be too rude for their iinnroved con- 
dition. If the Lord's people were now beginning to dwell in 
their ceiled houses, it was every way fitting that they should 
honor the place of their worship. No one, probably, had yet 
thought of such a result as a division of the territory into 
two or more parishes ; and there was no serious thought of any 
other denominational service to divide the people. And so the 
necessity, besides that of repairing, of enlarging, also, tlie 
Lord's house, to press upon them. The steps taken 
towards this measure, will show how inseparable the civil and 
ecclesiastical matters of the colony were. 

The first public vote on record is that of March 1GG9, at a 
town meeting, orderly warned, when it M'as voted that there 
shall be a new meeting house built. Voted, also, " that this 
new meeting house, before mentioned, shall be a stone meeting 

And so, not the congregational church for its sectarian uses 
merely, but all the dwellers in the town, with a unanimity 
which on no other subject will they ever again attain, agree to 
enlarge and improve the House of the Lord. There must be 
room in it for all who shall dwell within its reach. From the 
Reeds, near " the stadle by the oke tree," on the margin of the 
Rowalton, to the Crabbs, who live on the outskirts of the 
parish, near where the Mianus seeks its cove, all the dwellers 
on hill top and in vale, must be provided with at least one place 
of resort. Did they not all of them need the instructions of the 
sanctuary ? Had not the tvhole community with one voice, and 
with a hearty godspeed, sent those venerable fathers. Bell and 
Slawson, on foot, through the wilderness, out to the Massachu- 
setts colony, to procure a man who should be to them and their 
children a religions teacher and spiritual guide ? And how 
could he ever accomplish the work to which they had called 
him without a larger and better house for worship ? 

Accordingly, in October of the same year with the above 
votes, a committee was appointed by the town, (Mr. Law, Good' 


man Holly, Goodman Webb, Goodman Ambler, and Joshua 
Iloyt,) and invested -with full power from the inhabitants of the 
town " to make a bargain with a workman, and so to agree 
with him as to suit men's convenience in point of pay, and if 
they cannot get a house built with stone they have liberty to 
get it done with timber, and to endeavor to get it done with as 
much speed as they can with convenience." 

On Feb. 18, 1670, of this year, the town decided to rescind 
the former votes, and resolved to repair the old meeting house 
" forthwith for the safety of the town." This decision seems 
not to have been satisfectory to the town, any more than the 
former one. At any rate, if repairs wei-e made, they must have 
proved their own insufficiency ; for again, on the 25th of the 
same month, a vote is passed to build a new meeting house. 
On the 26th of the next month, Mr. Law, Left. Bell, good men 
Holly, Ambler and Newman have " full power committed to 
them to procure a stone new meeting house, and to fully finish 
agreement with the workman that hath been treated with ; and 
to have an oversight of the work, and to choose overseers and 
to call men and teams forth to get stones and other necessary 
things." The house was to be " for the worship of God, accord- 
ing to the word of God," and was to be thirty feet square. 

In September, provision is made to assess the cost of the 
meeting house equitably on the town ; the vote respecting the 
form of the house is recousidercd, and instead of thirty feet 
square it is changed to forty-five feet in length and thirty-five 
in breadth, " with a house roof, abating two feet in the hight 
of the wall, from the first figure, viz : twelve feet hight." 

In the following January, 1671, they vote that the " ould 
meeting house shall be taken down forthwith by a committee 
called forth by Joshua Halt." 

In April, finding it impossible to come to any agreement in 
the town, they resolve to leave the determination of the form 
or figure of the church to the solemn decision of God in the 
casting of lots. They only decided that if the lot should re- 


quire the liouse to be square, it should 1)0 thirty-eight feet 
square and the posts t^velve feet ; and that there should be a 
funnel on the top, of such hight and s-ize as the committee 
should direct. Then follows this record as a part of the doings 
of that town meeting ; " The solemn ordinance being as above 
had, the lot carried it for a square meeting house as above." 

Under such auspices the new house was erected. It was en- 
trusted to the sole management of the committee appointed in 
April of the preceding year. In case they needed advice of the 
town, provision was made for them to call a legal meeting 
" about an hour by sun in the evening," and whatever the major 
part of the voters who should gather within a half hour of the 
summons should decide upon, if not in conflict with the previous 
vote of the town, should be deemed valid. 

The way was now clear for a new house, and without needless 
delay, it was doubtless completed. It must have been a great 
improvement upon the old one, in size at least, if not in archi- 
tectural proportions. It must have constituted the most notice- 
able work of art in the town. There could havo been nothing 
else here comparable to this pyramidal block, with its triple 
stories ascending, as if to furnish a trinity of stej)s heavenward. 
For more than half a century it was the only house of worship 
in the town. In it, six ministers, John Bishop, Eliphalet Jones, 
John Davenport, Ebenezer Wright, Noah Welles, D. D., and 
John S. Avery, none of them unworthy the sacred trust, made 
proof of their fitness tor their work. About two generations of 
the entire town, and four of the congregation of the first church 
of Christ in Stamford, here received their spiritual training, and 
from its training went to their final account. 

It must have been in this meeting house that the first bell in 
Stamford was hung. There is no record, I think, of this trans- 
action now existing, but tradition is very distinct as to an 
accident which occurred at the hanging of the bell. It hung 
over the center of the house and had to be raised up through 
the building. Just as it had reached the frame which was to 


support it, the rope which held it gave way and tlie bell fell to the 
floor, killing instantly Mr. John Holmes, the great-great grand- 
fiither of John Holmes, Esq., of New Hope district, recently 
deceased. This meeting house was subject to a regulation, 
peculiar to that age, which would hardly be endured by the 
descendants of those who required it. We find the regulation, 
which in the language of that day was called the " orderly 
seating of the meeting house," provided for in the following 
enactment : 

"The town order that the inhabitants shall be seated in the meeting 
house by the following rules, viz : dignity, agge and estate in this present 
list of estate ; and a committee shall be chosen to attend it forthwith ; the 
committee, Capt. Jonathan Selleck, Lieut. Fra. Bell, Lieut. Joua'th Bell, 
Joseph Theale and Joseph Garnsy, who have full power to seat the inhab- 
itants as above." 

By special note, 25th, 2mo., 1673, "Mr. Law, lef. Senor. Bell 
and William Xewman, are chosen committy to seat the women 
iu the meeting house." I think this is the only time when the 
ladies were so signally honore^il. Certainly, I find no other 
similar records. 

But the new meeting house required other changes. The 
pastor, Mr. Bishop, either from temporary fiiilure of his health, 
or from the excessive burdens of his extensive parish, reaching 
as it did from Norwalk out to the borders of New York, found 
it necessary to secure a helper in his work. A Mr. Eliphalet 
Jones seems at this time to have been in Greenwich, engaged 
probably as a sort of evangelist, and his labors were within the 
jurisdiction of the Stamford church. He was, also, very accept- 
able to the Stamford people. Fearing, doubtless, that his 
acceptable services among the Greenwich settlers would even- 
tually lead to a new parish, and unwilling to have such a diver- 
sion, the TOWN pass a vote, May 3, 1672, to give Mr. Jones an 
invitation to be a miuister of the gospel in this place, " if he 
remove from Greenwich." 

In November of this year he is " accommodated with a piece 
of land in his own right," provided he settle here in the work 
of the niinistrv. At the same time Mr. Law, Mr. IIollv and 


Jonathan Selleek, are cliosen to treat with the Greenwich men 
" about their compliance with Stamford for the upholding of 
the ministry in this place." Mr. Jones evidently accepted the 
proposal from Stamford, and the next year a house is provided 
for him at the town charge. A vote is also passed that " the 
town doth agree to give one hundred pounds yearly unto the 
ministry in this place as long as there be two ministers in the 
place." Mr. Jones remained here probably vmtil 1676, as at 
tliat time the town by vote retui-n to the former ministerial 
rate, voting only the sum, sixty pounds, which Mr. ]5ishop was 
to have. 

No other attempt seems to have been made to employ an 
assistant to Mr. Bishop during his life. No change of much 
importance took place in the parish. Tlie Greenwich men were 
required to pay their rates for the support of the gospel here, 
and there was no serious resistance on their part to the neces- 

One of the votes of this period is so characteristic that we 
will record it. Its date is Dec. 2, 1680: 

•' The town doth grant uuto the ministry in this place sixty pounds for 
the present year ; one-third part in wheat, one-third part in porke, and 
one-third part in Indian corn; winter wheat 5s. per 'bush., summer wheat 
4s. Od., and porke at Sid. per pound, all good and merchantable, and In- 
dian corn 2s. Gd. per bushel." 

Under such pay it would seem that the church and society 
continued to prosper. The congregation increased and again it 
becqme necessary to rc-arrange the seating of the house or build 
a larger one. The former course was adopted, and in Novem- 
ber 1689, the seats of the house were by vote of the society 
turned round and the pulpit set at the north side of the house. 

At this period the town meeting house had another office to 
subserve. It was evidently the theory of that early day that 
the house of the Lord intended the temporal as well as the 
spiritual welfare and safety of the people. Our citizens drew 
from it the weapons and motives of the carnal as well as spirit- 
ual warfare, as the following record of June 7, 1681 will testifv : 


" Pr vote, a convenient place should be made in the meeting 
house for receiving the town ammonision. Left. Jonatlian Bell 
is chosen to take care of the ammonision." 

In November, 1692, it appears that the ministers of the county 
had proposed to the Stamford men to join with the Greenwich 
men in " carrying on the works of God there ; " but by vote the 
town declared that they cannot see cause to concur witli their 
motion. And so for a while the matter Avas dropped. 

A single congregation at the center was all that the town 
felt needful, excepting occasionally when extra religious ser- 
vices were held at private residences in other parts of the ex- 
tended parish. One pastor continued to keep watch over this 
large flock, and nothing appears to show that his ministrations 
and care were not acceptable to the people. 

But the newly seated meeting house soon became too sti'ait- 
ened, as the first had been, and the congregation needed more 
room. The first step towards this result seems to have been 
taken May 13, 1691, when the town voted "to alter the seats 
so as to make them seat more persons." The only restriction 
put upon the action of the committee was to leave the pulpit 
where it had stood before, and to make no breach in the wall. 
This change was probably made, and the congregation was duly 
reseated by the usual committee. 

And now, the good bishop, who so long had kept spiritual 
watch over this widely scattered peojile began to feel the infirm- 
ities of age pressing upon him. At the town meeting .held 
Sept, 12, 1692, he expresses an earnest desire that they would 
find some one to relieve him. It is equally due to Mr. Bishop 
and to the history of the times to record the action of that 
meeting. It will be borne in mind that it was the action not of 
a mere ecclesiastical society, nor of a church, but of the town 
of Stamford. 

"The town desire in compliance with liis motion, being also seUbible of 
their own necessity, do therefore think it their duty, first, to settle a main- 
tenance upon Mr. Bishop, that may be to him yearly paid, during his lite 
time, in case we have a supply of another minister." 


They then vote the annuity of forty pounds, to be paid in 
rate and specie, that is in such products as had been customary 

"Furthermore, in pursuance of this work, for a supply of another minis- 
ter it is the desire and mind of the town to endeavor by advice and endeavor 
necepsary otherwise, to procure an able, faithhil, orthodox minister, in 
judgment to comply with and act, so far at least, according to the synod in 
New England, in the year 1G62." 

They next vote fifty pounds to be paid annually to another 
minister during Mr. Bishop's life ; and appoint Captain Selleck 
and Lieutenant Bell to advise with the ministers of the county 
respecting a suitable man for settlement here. 

The only other votes recorded which testify to the continued 
acceptability of Mr. Bishop here, are occasional gifts of land to 
him in his own right. In December, 1667, they vote to free his 
estate from the annual minister's rate or tax. In 1681 they 
donate to him by vote the fortification wood about the meeting 
house, and during the same year make his salary seventy 

They then add as a guide to their committee, " that the min- 
ister who shall be brought into the town shall be called to 
oflicc in convenient time ; and such ministers as shall come, 
shall promise to the church and town to take oftice charge upon 

In November, 1092, the town by vote manifest their desire to 
have Mr. John Davenport, of New Haven, for their minister ; 
and appoint Abraham Ambler, Daniel Weed and Joseph Tur- 
ney to treat with him and report to the town. In December of 
the same year they again express their confidence in liim as the 
man for the place, and are glad that he does not discourage 
their hopes. They commission their committee to engage him 
to come among them for trial and promise to furnish him with 
" suitable maintenance and satisfaction." 

On the 16th March, 1692-3, the town "at a full meeting, 
being duly warned, and also more fully by \\'arrant from au- 
thority added, * * * do now further order and ajipoint a 


committee to manage this affair, to treat witli Mr. Davenport 
in order to a settlement in this place as a minister of the Gospel 
amongst us ; * * and they have power to agree with him 
and provide for his comfortable settlement in respect of house 
and lands, and what else is needful for his encouragement the 
committee have full power to do according to their best discre- 
tion and the town's ability ; and that the matter be forthwith 

The committee were : Capt. Sellcek, Left. Bell, Mr. Ambler, 
Mr. Jonat. Selleek, Serj. Samuel Hait, Daniel Weed, Serj. David 
Waterbury, Jonas Weed, sen., and Mr. John Sclleck. 

In April they also vote, " the town doth iugage to finish the 
pasinedge house, fence in the lott, digg a well, plant an orchard 
and give it to Mr. John Davenport when he is a settled minis- 
ter in Stamford." 

In July, 1693, the town vote to Mr. Davenport, when he 
shall be a settled minister, one hundred pounds a year. They 
vote farther to give him " ten pounds a year during Mr. Bishop's 
life," that is to say, ten pounds to be added to the sixty pounds 
if Mr. Davenport doth settle in a family before Sir. Bishop's 
death. They then vote to send for Mr. Davenport, whenever 
and however will best suit him. The last vote of this date is 

" The town by vote doth give and grant to ]\Ir. John Daven- 
port, when he is settled here in a family, his firewood, which is 
to be done in a general way and not by rate upon the town, 
and to be done when the townsmen do order a day or two in 
the year for it ; farther it is to be understood that it is to be 
done by the people of the town, all male persons from sixteen 
years and upwards." 

On the 18th of December following, they vote to Mr. Daven- 
port " forty pounds for the time he has been here in Stamford 
and until tlie next March." They vote also to Mr. Bishop fifty 
]ioun(ls for the year. They renew their desire that Mr. Daven- 


port be called to take office, and this desire was answered liy 
liis settlement by ordination here in the following yeai-. 

In conformity to the vote of July 17, 1693, respecting fire- 
wood, we find the following vote of Oct. 23, 1696, in which 
" the town do now further order that every inhabitant of this 
town shall cut and carry to Mr. Davenport for his use a good 
ox load of good wood to be done by the last of November an- 
nually, upon the penalty of the forfeiture of four shillings to be 
paid to the town by the person neglecting his duty herein." 
Mr. Ambler was appointed to take account of the wood and 
report to the town. These votes were repeated almost annually 
during Mr. Davenport's ministry. 

That this duty was not always promptly discharged the sub- 
sequent record shows. Under date of Mar. 25. 1696, we find 
this record : " per vote, John Slason, senior, and Increase Holly 
are impowered to appoint a day and to call forth those men yt 
are behind to attend ye work of getting and bringing wood to 
Mr. Davenport, and to doe it as soon as may be." 

And that the town were jealous lest their minister should be 
wronged, we find proof on the records, of the same date, in this 
vote: "the town impower Daniel Scofield, sen., and Jonas 
Weed, jun., to order those men that are behind in the fence of 
Mr. Davenport's pasture, to make up the posts, and if they shall 
neglect to do it up, then to hire men to set it up and to strain 
for the pay according to law." 

In the year 1698, an incident occurred here illustrating so 
clearly the religious and ecclesiastical character of the times, 
and also the position and character of Mr. Davenport as a min- 
ister in the county, that we will let the record speak for itself. 
For the record I am indebted to the kindness of Rev. Joseph 
Anderson, one of Mr. Davenport's successors in the pastorate. 
It was found in a manuscript volume detailing the journeys of 
Roger Gill and Thomas Story between Rhode Island and Cai-o- 
lina in 1698. They were members of the proscribed sect of 
Quakers, and were bent on propagating their religious tenets. 


After describing their journey from Philadclpliia to Westches- 
ter, in the State of New York, the journal continues as follows: 

" Ye uext day wo sat forward, ye land way, for new Ingland — 2 friends to 
bear us Compn'y. Came yt Evneing to a tovn Caled Stamford in Conack- 
teook Colony— it being a prity larg bvt a very dark tovn ; not a friud liv- 
ing in all yt provenc, as we had hard of, nather wovld they sofer the testy- 
mouy of trvth to be declared amonght them, nor had it ever bin declared 
— they being Eiged prespetrions or independents, I know not whither, bnt 
one thing I am shure of, they had one father, so we went to an Inn . I 
asked ye woman of ye hows if yt shee wovld be willing to sufer a meting to 
be in her hovs. She said yes, she wovld not deny no sivel Company from 
coming to her hovs. now I felt a Grat power and wight of darkness, so yt 
I Could not be Clear in my spearet to peas thorow ye town of Stamford, 
and thar for I sent those frinds yt war with us to go and invite ye peopel to 
com to our inn, for we ware of those peopel Caled qoekers, and we had som- 
thing to say to them, and whilst our frinds went to invite the peopel, we 
went to aqvint ye Jvstes of ye town of our intencons, and to open ovr 
minds to him, for he was a independent, and seemed to be somwhot mod- 
erated before we parted with him — who answered us thvs, I will not spek 
mvch to you, for we beve a low yt no qvaker shal prach; so I will not tol- 
erate yov. then he aded ye word. bvt. imploying as much as he wovld wink 
at ye meeting. So we appoynted a meetii g to be next day at ye 9 ovr. So 
when ye tim Came, saveral of ye peopel cam acording to ye time : a Cou- 
stabel Cam with them, with a warant to Comand us to go ovt of ye town, 
being filed with surallvs words and bed names, Cemauding ye peopel to 
depert, and Comending yo women of ye hovs not to sufer us to'prech in her 
hovs. so thomas stod vp to shov ye vnresnapelnes of ye werant, and with 
all disered a Copy, but it Covld not be granted, then when thomas had 
spak a few words to yt pvrpvs, I was moved to stand vp and to spek to ye 
peopel. then Came ye Constable, Comanded mo in ye governor's name to 
to be silent, and pvshed me ovt of ye hovs by my arm. but ye pover of yo 
Lord yt wos vpon me wovld not bo silesent by him. so when he had haled 
me ovt of ye hovs, ye sperit and pover of ye Lord Cam vpon me, and I lilt 
vp my vovs in ye streets, cryed ovt. wo. wo. wo. vnto all ye inhabetenc of 
ye tovn of Stamfort, who hold a profeshon of Christ ovt of ye Life of Christ, 
this Chry, with some other words to ye same pvrpos so alarmed ye peopel 
yt ye hovl body of ye tovn hard; and meny of them being gathered to- 
gether, I had time to easey my speret a monght them, then after I was 
easey, we Ketvrned to ovr inn, when saverall of their dispvtauta Came to 
disspote, who wos very fvrvs at first, pvt war so handeled by thomas vpon 
saveral poynts, bvt espesaly vpon Election and repprobation, yt svm Con- 
fesod svm trvths and departed very calm — ye Lords trvth yt day wos over 
them. So being both Clear of ye town, we Cam yt night to farefeeld. 
Lodged at philiph Lewies." 

" Yo uext day ther wos a Lectverhold at foerfeld, by 7 preests, and to it 
wos gathered abvudanc of peopel: and finding a Consarn to Com vpon my 
sperit to visit yt people at their lectver— for I wos mvch boved vnder yo 
Consern— tovld thomas, who wos wiling to go with mee. So up to their 
meeting wee went, but went not in vntil ye singing of their song was over: 
then in we went, and vp towards ye pvlpit I want, thomas fovUing of me. 
I looked stidfastly vp to ye pvlpit, wher wer 5 preests sitting; and to sat 
below, then ye ovld precst took his test ovt of ye profet Isaiah. Iv. 


lirst, socoad. ye words wer Com, bye wine and milk, without money and 
without priser, fovUoing with these three heads— first, wherefore spend ye 
yovr mony for ytl which jis not bred, and your labor for yt which satisfieth 
not? harken diligently vnto me, and eat ye yt which is good, and let yovr 
sovl delight itself in fatnes: Secondly, inelina yovr ear .and come vnto me, 
hear and yovr sovl shall Live: thirdly, Christ sends ovt his sarvents by his 
Sperit, with a free invitation to ye peope [1], but ye make excuses. So wee 
stood still to here him make ovt his sarment: and poore man, to give him 
his dew, he mad it with no small labor, as wel as no Litel terer; for he 
drove it on like Ph.aroah Charats whilees very heavily, so when he had 
mad an end, I being moved of ye Lord stood vpon a form wher I might 
both be seen and hard both of preests and peopel. then I spake as foUveth 
to ye peopel: freinds, yov heve all seen this day yt I heve hard yovr minos- 
ter with peachenc, neither heve I interopted him nor mad any disturbance: 
therefore I disire yc same Christian Liberty of you : for I heve somthing 
from the Lord to deliver a mounght yov. then were ye peopel very still, 
so then I began with thos words yt ye preest took for his text, but befor I. 
had spoken them, down Came j'e preests ovt of ye pvlpet. Like disstracted 
men. one Cried ovt, wher ye povers of ye Church ? wher are ye magis- 
trates? what, is ther no Constabels here to take him away? another of 
them luterraptiug me sad, Sur, yov are not called to be a minister to this 
peopel. whereupon I asked him by whot he was fited, prepered and called 
to ye worke of ye ministry, he sad, by ye voice of ye peopel. then I spek 
with a loud vice to ye peopel, bad them take notes yt their minister sad yt 
he wos fited, prepered and Called to ye work of ye ministre by their voyces . 
wherevpon the preest wovld heve denied it, saying, yov cat[o]h me. then 
ovld preest yt preohed the sarmant Caught me by my hand, saying, dear 
sor Come dovn. who strooking my hand aded, dear sor, I prey come down, 
ye peopel are well satisfied, bvt abovt this a Constabel Came to me and 
wovld heve pvled me down bacward. then up steps one of the hearers, as 
thomas told me, and pvUed him from me. So by this time the first preest, 
whos name is John devenport had mvstered vp one .Jvstes & to Constabels, 
who by vilence pvled- me dovn, hailing ovt of ye meeting. I spak thes 
words to the peopel. neopel, fear and dread ye Lord God, and mind ye 
Light of Christ in yovr Consencenes yt will show yov yovr state & will let 
yov see what sperit yovr ministers are of. So when I wos ovt of their meet- 
ing I demended my liberty, but they sad no. then ye .Jvstes Comending 
ye peopel to depert, some of them did, bvt others wovld not. alleo he 
Comended yo Constabels to take me into a back lane wher my voyce should 
not be hard: for I speke to j'e peopel as he haled me a longe and several 
fovled us into ye lane . . then thomas desered to know by what Low ye 
proseeded against vs. they sad they had a Low y t no quakers shovld prech 
a movnght them, then I demanded to see their warant. they sad they had 
none. So I comended my liberty, as they wovld answer it, Caled to ye 
peopel 'to know their nams, who wer very Eedy to tell vs their names, 
then they lest me goo. so vp to ye meeting hovs green I went, where wer 
sevrall hondreds standing, then a peesebel & a Good time I had amonght. 
ye Lords pover Came over them, saverall were soled, some tendered. So 
when I had Clered my sperit amovnght them. Greet pees I witnesed whith 
ye Lord. 

" So when I was Clere, thomas felt somthing vpon his mind, to speek to 
ys preests. so we tovhl ye peopel of it, asking into what hovs they wer 
gou they into ye percons. so we fovUoed them ; & I do beleve an hoadrod 


of ye lieds of ye seven perishes fowUoed us. So Coming to ye hovs we 
went ill. ye preests wer in a Larg room, seeing vs met vs, taking vs by yo 
hand invited kindly to dine wh them, tovld vs we sbovld be as welcome as 
any of them yt wer ther yt day. bvt we refvesing, they sad, why wovld 
wee not ? why should ther be any diference in society alltho ther might 
be some in princebles. then I sad, had wee met with a Christian sperit 
amoiight yov, we might have dined with yov: but inasmuch as we did not 
mett with a sperit of humanity, how covld we heve any society ? & as we 
had not interopted them in their worship nother wovld we; so we wovld 
withdraw to ovr inn, tel ther diner wos ended, and Come up to them ageyn. 
So weejcame to them; ye peopel stil remened abovt ye hovs, went unto ye 
hovs with vs. So then after a few bantering words we receved from preest 
devenport, thomas fell into a dispute with devenport abovt babtisem, which 
hald more than on over: and had not thomas binn iuterupted by ye rest of 
ye prests, devenport had confesed babtisem as they held it, to be" a Eellik 
of popery, whervpon, I being much greeved to see ther unfar delings 
with us — for I had mad an agreement with them yt ther shovld be no inter- 
option between them on either side, before all ye peopel — then I spake to 
ye peopel, saying, let yo evidence of gods sperit in all yovr harts bear wit- 
ness between vs & them this day. moreover I sad we wer here to vindicate 
ye thruth agenst all vnthrvth, ading with a lovd vovice befor them all sad, 
.senc they had bin so vnfar, if yt they wovld call vp ye Congregation to- 
gether, wee wovld tary to days in town, & wovld prove yt babtisem as yt 
hald it not to be [neither?] instituted by Christ nor cny of his abostels, nor 
practised, bvt not one man mad one word of an answer, all being silent, 
so after a litel pawes, they sad they had a select meting; therefor they dis- 
iered vs to withdrow — their time was spent. So then, after a iew words 
wee parted with them, ye peopel wer Loveing to vs and one Justes of ye 
peece fjUoed vs, & sad, frinds, yov hsve incovnted with a body of divinity 
to-day. So we took hors & a way wo Came yt night to Stratford: & had 
greet peece with ye Lord." 

No noticeable changes occur in the next few years. Mr. Da- 
venport seems to liavc won tlie esteem and confidence of the 
people, and to have stood high among his brethren in the 
county. The congregation increased to the full capacity of the 
house and at length beyond the possibility of being seated. 

Resort is now had to " galeries," for which provision was made 
in Mar. 1700. When the galleries were done a committee were 
to veseat the people. But the old meeting house was not to be 
made roomy enough for the growing congregation. A vote is 
passed, July 8, 1702, to build a new meeting house next fall, 
fifty feet square, of customary hight, where the pound stands. 
Major Selleek, Capt. Selleck, Dea. Halt, Left. Waterbury, Dan- 
iel Scofield, sen., Sergt. Webb, Sergt. Knap, Mr. Stephen Bishop 
and Ensign Holly, are made the building committee, with in- 
structions to get the shingles at home and have them of cedar. 


In May, 1703, they vote to raise the meeting house as soon as 
conveniently it may be; and as late as Nov. 14, 1705, we find 
this vote : that when the floor is laid and fitted to meet in, the 
pulpit and seats shall be removed to the new, for the present. 
But a far different use was to be assigned to the old floor of 
that hallowed house. The town had just voted to repair their 
mill-dam ; and as mill-dam and churches were equally the care 
of the town, the good economy is practiced of voting to use 
the " pauke flore " of the old meethig house, on the dam. 

It would seem that this third house of worship had no bell 
as provision was made in 1707 for beating the drum in the 
" ferrate" (turret) of the new meeting house for one year, and 
to begin the first of March next. 

The " orderly " seating of the congregation in this meeting 
house was. still deemed of so much importance that the follow- 
ing provision was made for it, in full town meeting, July 4, 

" The town by vote do agree for the more orderly seating of the meeting 
house that these rules be observed in the seating thereof: first, that it be done 
in proportion to the whole of its charge by which the house was built, and 
linished, as may appear by those lists of Eastates by which the several 
rates or levyes were raised for the defraying the charge of the same ; also 
that a christian due regard be had unto, and suitable respect given unto 
civil authority, age and military commission office, commissioned by the 

To do this delicate work the same town meeting duly ap- 
pointed Major Jonathan Selleck, Deacon Samuel Hoyt, Mr. 
Daniel Scofield, sen., ilr. Elisha Holly and Mr. Joseph Eishop. 
In another vote the meeting provided that " the major j^art 
of the committee agreeing," shall have power to order 
the seating, and they are to do it as soon as convenient. 

There is no record of the seating, as above directed, but very 
frequently at this period the town voted as a special honor the 
use of the first seats to those of the citizens whose dignity 
would bear such promotion. 

There is this special provision made in 1722, that "the town 
do grant that the pew at the east end of the gallery shall be for 


the proijer use and benefit of Mr. Davenport's family, forever, 
he bearing the charge and cost thereupon." 

In 1757, the society vote that "Jonathan Waterbury, lieut. 
Weed and capt. Weed are ordered to set in the fore pew in the 
meeting liouse ; and Caleb Smith and Joseph Webb in the sec- 
ond pew, and capt. Pcirre Fitch, in the fore seat." 

But in the growth of the town, all of the citizens still main- 
taining their connection with this congregation, this house, as 
its predecessor had done, soon became too small, so that in 
1723 it was necessary to build extra galleries. At this time 
Capt. Samuel Hayt, and Capt. Jonathan Hayt were " to take 
their place to set in the second puc ;" and Samuel Weed in the 
fore seat. 

At this date also appears the curious provision tvhich was 
made to accommodate those who had come from a great dis- 
tance to meeting. The town gave James Slasou permission 
" to set up a house for ye advantage of his having a place to go 
to on Sabbath days, at ye west end of Mr. Blachly's shop." 

" The town grants to James June and all that live at Larence's 
farm to set up a house upon the town's land on the west side of 
Ebenezer Weed's lot to " a Commodate for their coiiveniency 
of coming to meeting on the Sabbath day." 

It is the tradition that a part of the house, recently removed 
from the northwest corner of Main and Atlantic Streets, occu- 
pied by the Jarvis fomily, was originally built as a " Sabbath 
day house," for the comfort of families coming from a distant 
part of the parish. 

It would seem from the records that at this period au 
unsteady currency was the occasion of much trouble between 
the pastor and the people. This seems to have been the occa 
sion of the only variance between Mr. Davenport and thu par- 
ish. It was to come to some mutual understanding respecting 
the obligations of the parish, that, in 1725 Mr. Davenport re- 
quested of the town their understanding of tlie contract regard- 
ing his pay in money — whether they were not to pay money 


" fully to answer two thirds of one hundred and thirty pounds, 
according to the known reckoning of our place." " Answered 
by the town : that upon the payment of the town to Mr. 
Davenport, eighty-six pounds thirteen shillings and four pence 
money, doth fully answer the town's obligation to Mr. Daven- 
port of a hundred and thirty pounds pay." 

Again, in Feb. 1728-9, by vote, Mr. Davenport was "intro- 
duced" into the town meeting and allowed to state his under- 
standing of the contract above referred to. Dea. John Iloyt, 
Jona. Maltby and Jona. Bates were chosen to " Discors " with 
him, relating to his "Sallory." They proposed arbitration to set- 
tle the difference, which was negatived. They propose an addi- 
tion to the above sum, which was also negatived, whereupon Mr. 
Davenport submits in writing his statement and demand. On 
tliis, the meeting adjourned to the 14th instant. At this meet- 
ing they vote the additional sum, forty-three pounds si.x shillings 
and eight pence, to be paid in current bills of credit or in pro- 
vision at price current. 

C.ipt. Jona. Hoyt, Samuel Blachly, Samuel Weed, l>cnjaniin 
Weed, and Jonathan Pettit entered a protest against tlie neg- 
ative vote of the previous meeting. 

Feb 18, 1731, fifteen days after the death of Mr. Davenport, 
a special town meeting was called. Capt. Bishop was chosen 
moderator and deacon Hoyt was to assist him. The town had 
been plunged into universal grief by the late sore 
bereavement. Scarcely any calamity of that day could 
compare with it. So thought, at least, the fathers of the 
town as they came together. They felt their need of 
Divine comfort and guidance. ^ Their first vote, and every vote, 
showed that their only hope was in the faithful God, whose 
ambass.ador they had so recently lost. These were thoughtful 
and appropriate words, in which, by vote, they express this 
conviction: " By vote the town agree that there sh.all be a 
(lay of humiliation kept, and to call in such ministers to assist 
ni the work as shall be thouglit needful." 


They appoint the first Wednesday in the following month as 
the day, and appoint Capt. Bishop, Dea. John Hoyt, and Capt. 
Jonathan Hoyt a committee to make the needed preparations. 
They also impower this committee to advise with the elders re- 
specting a minister, and also to invite in a minister to be accepted 
by the town. 

They adjourn to the first Tuesday of April. At this meeting 
they vote to give Mr. Sherman " something further of tryall in 
order to settlement." There were ninety-four votes and twenty- 
one blanks, making at that meeting one hundred and fifteen 
voters on the question of settling a minister. One more meet- 
ing was held by the t6wn in May, and the committee was in- 
creased by adding Capt. Samuel Hoyt and Jonas Weed. This 
enlarged conmiittee were authorized to hire a minister " for a 
day or more as there shall be occasion." 

And now occurs a change in the administration of civil and 
ecclesiastical affairs. They are separated in 1731. The former 
are managed in what are henceforth called society meetings, 
and the latter in town meetings. The same book, however, 
contains, down to 1759, the records of both meetings. The 
same moderator presides, and the same scribe officiates at both. 
The same page will show, in two separate records, what was 
done in the town, and what was done in the society meetings. 
In 1760 a new book was procured, and from this time the 
records of the society are kept separately from those of the 
town. Joseph Bishop, who, since 1738, had been clerk both of 
the town and society, is continued still for one year as clerk of 
the society, when his office was given to Abraham Davenport, 
who was sworn in to the faithful performance of its duties. 

The first of the meetings of the society proper was held July 
28, 1731. It had been orderly warned according to law. Dea- 
con Hoyt was its moderator and Samuel Weed its clerk. It 
was called on the minutes a " Sosi.atys " meeting. 

"Mr. Kight" was, by an "almost unanimous" vote, invited 
to become the minister of the town. In September, at an 


adjourned meeting tlie vote was unanimous in favor of Mr. 
Right. They engage to buy him a homelot and build him a 
" credablc Decent Dwelling house," and pay him a salary of 
150 pounds. This meeting adjourned to the annual town meet- 
ing in December. Mr. Ebenezer Wright accepted the call thus 
made to him. In the December meeting arrangements 
were made for his settlement. They set apart the third of the 
following May as a day for humiliation and prayer, and the 
seventh, for the ordination of Mr. Wright, now pastor elect. 

The society now takes upon itself, also, the care of the schools. 
This year the record shows there were five schools in the town : 
the center school, the one over the Noroton, the one west of 
Mill river, the Simsbury, and the Newfield schools. At the 
society's meeting, in December 1733, Mr. Wright being now 
fairly installed, a new "seating" of the people was ordered. 
The committee, in discharging this trust, were to consider the 
former charge of building the house, and the charge of making 
the galleries, and also the age and dignity of persons, and still 
further, the present list of estates, and others foregoing. 

Those persons that pay the minister at Five Mile river were 
discharged from paying Mr. Wright, for three months, if they 
bring sufficient proof that they pay as much there. In 1734 
the society grants to the people at the Five mile river, and at 
Woodpecker Ridge their proportion of the minister's rate for 
three months in the winter, provided they hire a minister to 
preach for them. The next year they extend the time at the 
Five Mile meeting for four months. 

In 1735 the society saw " cause to seat Mr. Abraham Daven- 
port and Mr. James Davenport in the foremost pew, on the west 
side of the meeting house." 

At this meeting they also provide for repairing the house, 
At their meeting in May 1736, on a proposition to give the people 
at the east end of the town the right to organize a society, they 
voted promptly in the negative ; and Capt. Jonathan Hoyt and 
Mr. Jonathan Maltby were appointed their agents to appear at 


the general assembly and show why the separation should not 
be made. In 1736, the society grant the people east of Stony 
Brook their minister's rate for four months ; and the people of 
Newfield, as low as Josiah Hoyt's south; and also the people 
of "Shitteu" plains, as far as Joseph Hunt's. In 1838, Capt. 
Jonathan Maltby was " ordered to set in the fore pew and his 
wife to set answerably thereto." It was also " per vote agreed 
that the committee that formerly seated the meeting house 
should at their discrision advance sum elderly parsons in the 
seting in the meeting house." This, I think, is the last instance 
in which the town or society are reported as seating the meet- 
ing house. 

Again the Stamford first cliurch are called to part with their 
minister. Mr. Wright, who had served them with great 
acceptance, was removed by death in May 1745, and the society 
appointed the 18th of June as a day of fasting and prayer. 
Again the ministers of the county are called in to advise in the 
selection of a new candidate. 

By September a candidate had been so far " tryed " by them 
that a society meeting was called to consider his claims. The 
form of the vote will illustrate the gravity of the question be- 
fore them. With Col. Jonathan Iloyt in the Chair, it was 
" put to vote, whether the society were so well satisfied in what 
they have already experienced as to Mr. Noah Well's ministe- 
rial qualifications so as to proceed further to the settlement of 
him forthwith." " Voted in the affirmative one hundred and 
four votes, and in the negative twenty-three votes, and many 
more sent their desires in the affirmative." 

Whereupon the meeting instruct their committee to "dis- 
course " with Mr. Welles regarding his wishes on the subject, 
and report at a meeting to be held in four days. The report 
being favorable to the settlement, arrangements are made to con- 
Bumate it. 

The following vote shows the care taken for securing to the 
jninister his hill pay. 


" Whereas this society at their meeting on Sept. 22, 174C did agree to give 
Mr. Noah Welles seveuty-five pounds silver money at eight shillings per 
ounce, for his yearly salary, or the equivalent in the old or new tenor cur- 
rency; and lest there should a difficulty arise to know what should be the 
equivalent above, the society do now agree, per vote, that their committee 
for the time being shall have full power yearly lo agree with him, what the 
equivalent shall be; and if they can't agree, then the committee are hereby 
impowered to leave the matter to some indifferent men, whom they and 
Mr. Welles shall chose in the 'naibourwood,' which agreement and judg- 
ment as above shall decide the controversy." 

But by this time the process of dividing tlie territory into 
separate parishes had commenced; and already there were many 
indications that these parishes themselves could not long con- 
tinue to worship together under the old denominational stand- 

For nearly a century one parish and one creed had sufficed. 
The few who could not heartily subscribe to either condition ol 
the infant settlement, seemed to yield, with some sort of grace, 
to the manifest propriety of a quiet submission to the only 
" standing order " known, and await the coming time for an 
open assertion of their cherished theories, either in the doctrine 
or in the government of the church. The necessity for the two- 
fold division which so soon resulted in so many separate par- 
ishes aud distinct churches, could not by any expedients have 
been long postponed. 

Practically, already, the dwellers on the outskirts of the 
town had been gradually dropping out from attendance on the 
public worship of the people, held only at the center of the 
town ; and for years occasional services in the more distant 
neighborhoods had endeavored to supply their want. Practically, 
also, the germs of new ecclesiastical organizations were begin- 
ning to show themselves ; and under the liberal indulgence 
granted by the easy civil administrations of the day, nothing 
could hinder their rapid growth. 

It will be the object of the following chapter to exhibit the 
progress of this disintegration and its results. We shall first 
indicate the territorial division into three distinct parishes and 
the fragments of three others, and, in a following chajiter, exam- 


ine the denominational organizations, which, in the process of 
time arose on the ground which, from the settlement of the 
town had been held, and not unsuccessfully improved, by the 
one puritan church of the congregational order. 



At the settlement of the town, and for many years afler, the 
entire territory embraced in the grant received from the In- 
dians, about eight miles wide east and west and sixteen long 
north and south, constituted but one civil ecclesiastical juris- 
diction. This was under the control of the town. By the town 
the church of Christ was supplied with a place or places tor 
worship, and to the town every citizen was responsible for at- 
tendance upon the worship for which provision had been made, 
and for meeting his share of its expenses. In the progress of 
settlements in the vicinity where the dwellers on the outside of 
the town could be more conveniently accommodated elsewhere 
than at any place within this tract, special permission was given 
to them to embrace such opportunity, and a special vote released 
them from the legal support required hero. These special votes 
arc very numerous all along the early history of the town for 
more than a hundred years ; and this method was resorted to 
to obviate the necessity of permanently cutting off any portion 
of the jurisdiction. Of course, as the population increased, and 
the central congregation became so full that the absence of large 
numbers would scarcely be missed, it became an easier thing 
for the most distant families to get away. It would seem that 
there was no need of an apology or a v.ery earnest plea, for Potts and Noah Parketon, who must have lived about 
eleven miles north of the village, and their neighbors living still 
further north, to obtain permission to attend meeting at Pound- 


ridge, as late as 1771. And yet, such jjermiiisioii was sought 
and granted for several successive years. But no strength of 
ecclesiastical bond could hold in perpetual unity the broad tract 
with its increasing population ; and we shall find it resolving 
itself into at least six territorial jurisdictions. 


The first step towards alienating any portion of the old ec- 
clesiastical territory of Stamford, seems to have been taken on 
the southwest corner of the parish. Down to about 1678 no 
regular and permanent society had been organized at Greenwich. 
That the people of Greenwich were regarded as belonging to the 
Stamford parish is abundantly shown by our early records. As 
late as March 2, 1774-5, in town meeting, it was voted "the 
town do iudge it meet that Grinwich while they have the bene- 
fit of the ministry among us, yt thay allso should pay to ye 
ministry." Indeed, the General Court or Legislature of Con- 
necticut had decided ten years before this, that the only condi- 
tion upon which Greenwich could become a township, " intire 
of itself," was that they " procure and maintain an orthodox 
minister ; and in the meantime, and until yt be cfl:ected, they arc 
to attend ye ministry at Stamford, and to contribute propor- 
tionably with Stamford to ye maintenance of ye ministry 

There is now, probably, no record of the surrender of the 
present territory of Greenwich by this ecclesiastical society, but 
as the line of separation between the two towns was run by the 
Committee in IGSl, and confirmed by the Patent in 1685, it is 
probable that the town limits were made also the limits of the 
two thenceforward separate societies. This line has probably 
not been materially clianged since. 


The first step towards setting off any of the northern part of 
the town Avas taken in January, 1720-1. 

This portion of the town had been bought with the rest of 
the tract in 1060 and reconfirmed in 1055, and again in 1680. 


riio Indians who siirncd the last surrender, December 23, IGSO, 
were Katonah, Stockawae, Segotah, Jovis, Tohonacogyah, Yan- 
nayo and Kackennond ; and the persons recognized as the occu- 
pants or liolders of the tract, then called the Hop Grounds, 
were: Richard and Abraham Ambler, Daniel Weed, John 
Wescot, Jona. Petit, John Cross, John Miller, Nicholas Web- 
stur, Richard Ayres, Wm. Clark, James Seeley, Joseph Steph- 
ens, Dan Jones, Benj. Stephens, Thos. Tomoyou and Joseph 
Cheoles. The surrender was signed in presence of Joshua 
Knap and David Waterbury. Yet this entire tract was still 
subject to the ecclesiastical jurisdiction of Stamford. At the 
Court of Election in Hartford, May 11, 1082, the Court "grant 
the liberty of a plantation to the people of the Hop Ground, to 
be called Bedford; and appoint Joseph Theal to be for the pre- 
sent the chief military officer of the train band of Bedford, and 
Abraham Ambler is empowered to grant warrants to several 
officers and witnesses, and to join persons in marriage." 

James White, Michael Warin, John Ingei'sol and John Right, 
living townrils the northern end of Long Ridge, in January, 
1720-1, were released from paying towards the ministry in 
Stamford for the year ensuing, they observing the following 
conditions, viz: "that they shall duly attend on the public 
worship at Bedford, and shall bear their part in proportion with 
the people of Bedford in the maintenance of the minist ry there, 
tliey bringing a certificate from the town of Bedford of their so 

In 1722 the inhabitants of Chesnut Ridge, viz: Geo. Dibble, 
Timothy Concklin and Thomas Corey, were also allowed to pay 
their minister's rate in Bedford, "if they bring Rev. Mr. Ten- 
nant's certificate that they have paid to him, to next town 


This society is made up of parts of the Greenwich and Slam- 
ford societies The first local meeting whose records I have 
found was that of February 5, 1730, when forty-eight men from 



these two societies raet and voted to call for the organization of 
a new society. In May, 1V31, they petition the legislature for 
an act of incorporation, which petition was summarily dismissed. 
Immediately, twenty-seven of the petitioners from Greenwich 
and nineteen from Stamfoi'd notify the tlvo towns that they 
shall renew their petitions and persist in their organization. 
Accordingly in October of the same year, fifty-three send in 
their second petition to the Assembly, which from some infor- 
mality in the proceedings was withdrawn, when the petitioners 
gave their legal notice to the two towns of their purpose to 
prosecute their plea. 

In May, 1732, they forward their petition the third time to 
the Legislature, stating that they have already raised their 
meeting house, a suitable building forty feet long and thirty 
wide, and that the "most of the stuff" for it is provided. 

Twenty Stamford families notified the Stamford society of 
tlieir action ; and a remonstrance against it, signed by twenty- 
four members of the Stamford society, was forthwith forwarded 
by interested and influential men to defeat the project before 
the legislature. An agent from the society in Horseneck was 
also sent to the assembly to oppose the plea of the petitioner.'. 
An earnest protest was urged by both the societies on the 
ground that the division would weaken them, and endanger 
their very existence. Besides these counter appeals, another 
remonstrance was sent forward from the dwellers in the vicinity 
of Round Hill, a little to the west of the proposed society, on 
the ground that if the new society should be organized it would 
interfere with the one they were contemplating, and which was 
much more needed. 

But after listening to the petitioners and the remonstrants, 
tlie legislature in their October session, 1733, passed the act 
incorporating the Stanwich society. As a part of. the new soci- 
ety was still within the limits of Stamford, in their town meet- 
ing of Dec. 14th, among other town officers, John Newman and 
Ebenczcr Smith were appointed tything men for the new parisli 


ofStanwich. These appointments were annually marie until the 
society at Stanwich became permanently independent of" the 
parent societies. 


This i)arish was made up of parts of Norwalk and Stamford. 
The first notice of it as a distinct parish on the Stamford records 
is of date Dec. 8, I'/.SO, when " John Bouton and others ask 
liberty of movino; out of town to join with a part of Norwalk in 
order to be a society." The town voted in the negative. Yet 
the opposition could not have been very strenuous, because we 
find under date of Dec. 14, 1731, Ebenezer Seely and Nathaniel 
Bouton are, in town meeting, appointed tything men for the 
new society. The next year, John Bouton and Ebenezer Seely 
are chosen to the same office, and their field of service is called 
" Cannan Parrish." 

There could not have been as much opposition to the organi- 
zation of this parish as there had been to that of Stanwich. Our 
records have a vote passed Dec. 27, 1733, which shows good 
will towards the New Canaan enterpi-ize, which is also expres- 
sive of the town's regard for the ordinances and institutions of 

" The town agree that there shall be a committee chosen to 
agree with those men that have land lying where it may be 
thought needful for a highway for the conveniency of 'Canaan 
parish to go to meeting,' and to lay it out where they think it 
may be most convenient." 

Of the twenty-four members constituting this church when 
it was founded, eleven were from Stamford, and two of these — 
John Bouton and Thomas Talmadge — were its first deacons. The 
names of the Stamford members were : Deacon John Bouton 
and his wife Mercy, deacon Thomas Talmadge and his wife 
Susanna, John Davenport, John Finch, Eliphalet Seeley and 
Sarah his wife, John Bouton, jun., and Mary his wife, and 
Jerusha, the wife of David Stevens. 


The society was ineorporated in 1731, but the town continued 

to belong to Novwalk and Stamford until 1801. 

The first meeting of the New Canaan society was lield July 

1, 1731, when John Bouton was made moderator, and John 

Betts, sen., clerk. Tlie committee appointed were, Samuel 

Seymour, Zerubabel Hoyt, and David Stevens. 

In 1732 the list of the Stamford portion of the New Canaan 

settlers, as reported on the society records of New Canaan, is 

as follows : 
Bouton John, . . 3G.00.0 Iloj-t Job, . . 36.02.0 

Bouton Nath'l, . CI. 11. 9 Hoyt Joshua, . 26.00.0 

Bouton Daniel, . . 22.01.0 Slason Eliphalet . 41.02.0 

Bouton Eleaser, . 41.10.0 Seeley Eliphalet, . 32.09.0 

Bouton John, jr., . 27.04.0 Seeley Ebenezer, . 38.00.8 

Davenport John, . 68.08.0 Talmadge Thos., . 71.02.9 

Finch John, . . 55.08.0 Stevens David, . 54.05.0 

Green Nalh'l, . 49.12.0 Waterbm-y David, . 44.00.6 

Hoyt James, . . 39.00.0 


How early separate religious services were held in this part 
of the town no existing records show. Probably for years 
before Dr. Mather was settled here in 1744, there had been 
preaching, with more or less regularity. 

At a society meeting, held in the first society of Stamford, 
Dec. 20, 1733, by vote "the society agree that those particular 
persons that pay to the minister at Five Mile river, shall be 
discharged from paying their proportion of Mr. Wright's rate, 
during the term of three months, provided they bring sufficient 
proof to the society's committee that they pay as much to tlie 
minister there, as their proportion to Mr. Wright for the time 
above said." 

In 1734, forty-si.v planters on the west side of Xorwalk river 
petition for a new society. The next notice taken of this 
project, as far as records show, was simultaneously in Stamford 
and at the May session of the legislature, in 1736. Sixty-nine 
petitions, representing eighty families, and a list of £5,880, 


maJo a formal request to be iucorpovated as an ecclesiastical 
society by themselves. The petition was negatived, only to be 
renewed in October of the same year, by fifty-six men. Tlic 
urgency of the petitioners led to the appointment of a special 
committee to examine their claims. In May 1737 the committee 
report favorably, assigning as proper boundaries of the society 
the Five Mile river on the east, and the Noroton on the west. In 
October of this year the act of incorporation was passed. It is 
curious to note upon what frail boundaries they relied. The 
moment they leave the rivers, which they might presume to be 
permanent, they fix upon the most perishable objects, in the 
most indeterminate of localities, to answer as permanent bounds 
lor the society. On the west side of the parish, to separate it 
from the older society of Stamford, they define, as the western- 
most limits of Middlesex, " an old chimney about two and a 
lialf miles east of the Stamford meeting house," and " so to run 
a strait line midway between Stephen Bishop's house and David 
Dibble's house," and thence to where the Noroton crosses the 
Canaan line. But this separation was not to be a peaceable 
one. Though no blood seems to have been shed in the struggle, 
there were many earnest and clamorous appeals and remon- 
strances between the parishes themselves and between the par- 
ishes and the legislature ; so that the peaceful settlement of the 
Middlesex seceders was not accomplished before the summer of 
1741, about a dozen years after the need of such a society was 
felt and its incorporation demanded. 

Eleven somewhat lengthy documents, now on file in the state 
library at Hartford, testify to the great interest shown in both 
the old and the new parishes in the proposed division. 

These papers indicate the most obstinate determination on the 
part of the first society not to allow any further alienation of 
any part of their ecclesiastical jurisdiction. Assuming a sort 
of indefeasible right to the territory, the society, by a unani- 
mous vote of all excepting the seceding portion, declared that 
they would " not grant to tlie people at the east end of the 


town tlie liberty of a society apart." They also appointed 
Captain Jonathan Hoyt and Mr. Jonathan Maltby as special 
agents to the legislature to report the reasons of the town 
against forming the new society. But the seeeders at length 

The names of the petitioners to the " Five Mile river petieiou," 
dated the second Thursday of October, 1736, the original 
petition being now before me — are: Thos. Reed, Edmond 
Waring, Jona. Cristy, Jona. Bates, Robert Mills, John Reed, 
Joshua Scofield, Isaac Bishop, Jona. Bell, Josh. Morehouse, 
John B.ates, Jona. Petit, David Selleck, Nath'l Bates, Ed. 
Waring, jun., Jos. Pengban, Thos. Reed, jun., John Petit, 
Joseph Whiting, John Reed, jun., James Slason, jnn., David 
Bates, Elias Reed, John Raymond, Nath'l Selleck, David Sco- 
field, Sam. Richards, Jos. Waterbury, Jonas Weed, Deliverance 
Slason, Chas. Weed, Theop. Bishop, John Andrus, Nath'l 
How, John Dean, David Waterbury, Eb. Bishop, Zach. Dibble, 
Thomas Bishop, Sam. Bryan, Nathan Sturgis, Benj. Dibble, 
David Slason, David Dibble, Nathan Selleck, Nathan Waring, 
Sam. Briaswade, Eb. Green, John Bolt, Jacob Waring, John 
Waring, Dan. Reed, Abr. Raymond, Comfort Raymond, Isaac 
Wood, and Sam. Reed. 

Tiie first record of a society's meeting in Middlesex bears 
date June 15, 1789. Ensign Nathan Bell was its moderator 
and Joshua Morehouse was appointed society's clerk. The 
meeting was held at the house of John Bates. At an adjourned 
meeting held June 21st, Thos. Reed, Jona. Bates, Daniel Reed, 
Isaac Bishop, Jonathan Selleck, Samuel Reed and ensign 
Jonathan Bell were appointed a committee to " caryon " the 
building of the "metting hous." They were instructed to 
make the house fifty feet long, thirty feet wide and twenty feet 

They then voted a tax to meet the expenses of the building, 
and to pay Mr. Buckingham " for His preaching the time 
agreed." Jonathan Weed was appointed collector. The society 


records from this date to that of the organization of the cluireh 
show that the following ministers labored here either simply as 
supplies or as candidates : Rev. MivBirdseye, Gideon Mills, Eb- 
eiiczer Mills, David Judson, Mr. Ells and Mather. At a meet- 
ing held Dee. 11, 1741, the society voted, by a large majority, 
forty-two to four, to settle Mr. Judson. But to give every man 
in the society an ojjportunity to vote, Mr. Morehouse, the clerk, 
was ordered to carry a paper with the vote " about and read the 
same to those persons that belong to said society, which were 
not at said meeting, that they might have opportunity to sub- 
scribe to the same." 

At their meeting Sept 1, 1742, while Mr. Mather was still 
preaching as a candidate for settlement, we find this vote : " Ye 
Society by major vote granted to ye Rev. Mr. Right (Wright), 
to preach in any part of Middlesex parish on any needful occa- 
sion as often as he shall see fit." 

A record of the doings of this society in 1747 respecting the 
seating of the meeting house explains more fully the process of 
this custom than any record now existing of any other parish in 
town, and is worth preserving as a curiosity of the times. Be- 
sides, it indicates some of the principal men of that day, in this 
part of the town. 

By the first vote the society decided to seat the meeting by a 

2. pr vote ye society a lowed ye first pue to be ye biest in Dignity. 

3. pr vote tbe 2 pew to be 2 biest in Dignity. 

i. pr vote, the fore seat alowed to be the 3 biest in Dignity. 

5. pr vote, Ibe front pew, by ye great Dorr to be ye 4th hiest in Dignity. 

6. pr vote, tbe corner pew at tbe norwest to be ya 5th hiest. 

7. pr vote, to be ye 6tb biest. 

8. the west pew nex ye norwest to be ye 7th hiest. 

9th per vote 10th per vote 11 ih per vote 12th per vote 13 per vote Capt. 
John Raiment, Capt' Jona. Bates, Left. Jona. Bell, sr., Saml Bishop, 
and Daniel Reed chosen a comely and a pointed to seat ye meeting 
hous as the society shall by their vote direct. 
14. pr vote Mr. David Tuttle, Mr. Thos Reed, Cpn. John Raiiient, Mr. 
Edmun Wearing, Mr. Jonn. Bates, Mr. Nathan Selleck, Mr. Jeams 
Slason and Mr. Jona. Bell all to set in ye fore pew. 


15 nnd Dccon Bishop also by j'o vote of ye society to set in bis seat be 

fore ye pulpit. 
IG. pr vote, tlie Society Impowercd the comely to seat ye reinainder of 

ye hoiLs n cordin to their owu discretion. 

The above record is of date Aug. 9, 1747, and the ne.xt meet- 
ing of the society was held " genewary ye 28th, 1747-8." A 
record of this meeting is also so characteristic of the times as 
to justify insertion. 

" Voted yt Mr. Jona Bell or any other man a greed upon to 
sing or tune ye salm in his absence in times of publickt worship 
may tune it in ye old way or new which suits you best, vote 
yt Elijah Jones shall tiine ye salms in times of worship in Mr. 
Bell's absence. Vote yt Left. Jona. Selleclc sliall Heed the salms 
in Mr. Bell's absence." 

Wc have now cut off from wliat was the parlsli ot Stamford 
under the first three pastors here, Irom tlie west side portions 
of the First society in Greenwich and of the Stanwich society ; 
to the north wc have transferred a section to the Bedford parish 
and to the east a portion of the New Canaan and the most of 
the Daricn societies. There remains, therefore, only the central 
portion of the old parish left, extending over two miles east of 
the meeting house in the village and about a mile and a half 
west, and stretching from the waters of the Sound ten or eleven 
miles towards the north. Only one other sub-division of this 
territory into ecclesiastical societies remains to be noticed. 


For several years before the incorporation of this society, re- 
ligious meetings had been held in this part of the town. As 
early as Dec. 9, 1742. 

First Society raeetinp, grant to the people of AVoodpeclter's Eidf;e nnd 
such as formerly used to joyn with them or may still joyn with them in those 
limits, an abatemeut of their part of the ministerial rate for the year ensu- 
ing during the time of three months, if they employ a regular and orthodox 
person to preach among them, in case said people in an orderly and regular 
manner attend all the stepts of the law for the obtaining and improving a 
person to preach in such a capacity. 


Vote tbis meetiag is adjourned to 23 day instant at one of the clock at 
this place ; viz • the house of Joseph Judson. 

Met and adjourned to first Mond. Feb. next, same place. 

Dec. 27, 1743. Woodpecker Ridge shall have the liberty to introduce the 
Rev. Mr. Writ to preach unto them ; if the said Mr. Writ shall bo willing, 
for this four months next coming, viz : one Sabbath in a month. 

Dec. 22. 1762. The iuhabitauts of the Society living at AVoodpecker 
Ridge and Scotield Town and Thomas Potts, John Dean and Reuben Weed 
shall be excused from paying their society's rates this year for the time they 
.shall hire a preachei', provided it shall not exceed four mout'is. 

lu 17Q3 vote to pay to the inhabitants living as above, and 
tliosc beyond Woodpecker Ridge, their proportion of one hun- 
dred pounds, for the time they shall hire preaching, if not for 
more tlian four months. 

Similar votes were passed annually by the first society until 
1773, when it was voted that "twelve pounds, lawful money 
raised in the first society on the list of this year, be given to 
the people of Woodpecker Ridge," and Benjamin Weed and 
Hezekiah Weed were appointed to receive and disburse it. Tlie 
next five years a similar vote was passed, increasing the appro- 
priation until it reached eighteen pounds. 

In 1779, after maintaining sejsarate worship for nearly forty 
years, the people living at and near Woodpecker Ridge sent a 
formal petition to be set off as an independent society. Now 
commenced cue of the most heated contests which the town has 
ever witnessed. The petitioners were earnest and revolutionary 
in spirit, determined to regulate their own society aftairs ; and 
the remonstrants, the entire southern jiortion of the town, were 
as earnest in opposing them. Both parties besieged the legis- 
lature, and the Supreme Court of the State hesitated. Both 
were well represented, and such was the vigor of the contest- 
ants and so nearly balanced their opposing pleas, that they pre- 
vailed to postpone for another year the final action of the legis- 
lature. The next season. May 1780, a committee consisting o- 
Lcmuel Sanford, Clap Raymond and Matliew Mead, was consti- 
tuted by the legislature to run a line lor the southern boundary 
of the proposed society, if on a local examination they were satis- 
fied there was any need for the new organiza tion. The com- 



mittee decided in favor of the division and located the line of 
separation. They presented their report at the next session of 
the legislature, and the plea they make is based on this justifi- 
cation : " There is a number of considerable farmers in the 
place, where they have already built them a meeting house, and 
it will admit of considerable improvements, and many more in- 

Against so conclusive reasoning, no plea of the remonstrants 
could find weiglit. Their fears of the " utter weakening " of the 
parent society, their dislike of the committee's line, which so 
encroached upon the territory they needed, and the utmost elo- 
quence of their champion, the weighty colonel Charles Webb, 
were alike ineflectual, and the last excision from the first eccles- 
iastical society was at length sanctioned by the state legislature 
in their spring session 1781. 

Simultaneously with the above territorial division of the town 
ecclesiastically, another process of excision was going on. By 
this process, portions of the territory were cut off and assigned 
to new towns as they Avere organized. Greenwich seems first 
to have been relinquished. 

The town limits to the north extended some four miles further 
than now, and in 1731 the present line was run, leaving the ter- 
ritory north of it in Poundridgc, Bedford and Xorth Castle. In 
1860 the northeast part of the town was set oif as a part of the 
town of New Canaan. In 1830, all that part of the town lying 
east the Noroton river was incorporated as Darien. These suc- 
cessive excisions from the territory leave for the present town- 
ship a territory of about three miles in width at the southern 
end, about four and a half miles width at the northern end, and 
about ten miles in length from north to south. 

The accompanying map gives the original territory covered 
by the purchase made by Capt. Turner for the Wethersfield men, 
and indicates the portions cut off for the new towns as they were 

J s 

THE ^^TAMl'OHD OF I680 . 



In this chapter we shall give an alphabetical list of births 
marriages and deaths, found on the town records, down to the 
year 1700. It was the intention of the author to continue this 
list through the first hundred years of the town, but neither 
time nor the expense would allow it. It is believed that before 
the year 1700, no record of this class has escaped the author's 
notice. Though but a small part of the entire number which 
must have been registered, with our two chapters of the settlers 
they will probably indicate nearly all of the different family 
names found in town, down to the beginning of the eighteenth 

Akerly, Henry, died June 17, 1650. 

Ambler, Elizabeth, wife of Richard, d. March 27, 1G85. 

Ambler, ■ aud Hannah Gold, married Jan. 12, 1692. 

Ambler, Ambram and Mary Bates m. Dec. 25, 1662. Their children 

were : Mary, b. Jan. 15, 16G3— Abram, Jan. 5, '65— John Feb. 1, '67 

Joshua, Sept. 8, '70— and Sarah, Oct. G, '72. 

Ambler, John, son of John, b. Feb. 15, 1695- Stephen June, 22, '98— 
and Martha, March 17, 1700. 

Ambler, Abraham, son of Abraham, b. Sept G, 1693. 

Ambrey Robert, d. July 21, 1G5G— Moses, son of Eobett, b. Dec. IC, 

Andrus, Jeremiah and Hannah Ambler, widow, m. Sept. 8, 1997. Their 
children were : John, b. Jan. 31, 1700— Ann, Aug. 3, '02— and Jeremiah, 
Dec. 5, '05. 

iSO REGISTRY 1040—1/00. 

Astiu, John, d. G, 24 1C37— and Samuel, his sou, 21, 7, '07. 
Bauks, John and Abigail Lyon, m. April 3, 1G72. 

Bates, John and Elizabeth Lockwood m.Jan. 18, 1G93-1. Their chil- 
dren were, John, b. Nov. 6, 1G94— Nathaniel, Oct. 4, '97— Elizabeth, Dec. 
10, '99-and David, May 23, 1702. Elizabeth, wife of John Bates, d. May 
23, 1702. He m. Sarah Smith Dec. 28, 1702, and bad Nehemiah, b. March 
29, 1704— and Hannah, May 5, 1705. 

Bates, Thomas, of Eye, and Mary Butcher, m. Feb. 21, 1CC9. 

Bates, Piobert und Margaret Cross m. June 2G, . 

Bates, Kobert, d. Jan. 11, 1675, in the night. 

Bell, Francis, d. Jan. 8. 1G89— Kebecca, his wife, d. May 17, 10S4. Their 
children were: Jonathan, b. Sept. 1640— Rebecca, Aug. 1G43— and Mare, 
t'ae last of May, 1G4G. (Old family bible now in possession of Abraham Bell, 
of Hope Street.) 

Bell, Jonathan and Mercy Crane, m. 22, 8, 1662. Their children were : 
Jonathan, b. Feb. 14, 1GG3— Hannah, 29, 8, '65— and Eebecca, Dec. 6, 
'67, and died Sept. 24. 1689. Mercj', wife of Jonathan Bell, d. Oct. 26, 
1671. He then m. Susunna, daughter of Rev. Abraham Piersou of Bran- 
ford, Oct. 31, 1672, and had Abigail, b. 23, 12, '73, and d. 5, 4, '74— Abra- 
ham, June 22, '75 — Mercy, Nov. 5, '78 — John, Jan. 16 '81— a daughter, b, 
and d. Aug. 3, '83— James, Dec. 11, '84— Susannah, Dec. 25, 'SO- and Mary, 
Sept. 29, '89. 

Bell, Left. Jona. d. Mar 11, 1698. 

Bell, Left. Jonathan and Grace KitcheU m. March 22, 1C93. Their sou 
Jonathan was born Jan. 15, 1693-4. Grace died in February. 

Bertley, Henry, d. Sept. 17, 1G5G. 

Bishop, Abraham and Stephen, sous of Stephen, b. Oct 23, 1684 — The- 
ophilus, Feb, 1, '87— Is.aac, Oct. 30, '80— Rebecoa, .\pril9, '92— and Ab igail 
July 15, '96. 

Bishop, Mary, daughter of Mr., d. 25, 5, 1G5S. 

Bishop, Benjamin and Susanna Pierson m. 24, 6, 1G9G. Their chlidreu 
■were Abigail, Oct. 3, 1697— Susana, July 2, '99— Benjamin Nov. 28, 1701— 
James, April 3, '04— Ruth, June 13, '06— and David, Juno 2G, '08. 

Bishop, Joseph and Elizabeth Kuowles m. Nov, 3, 1691. Their children 
were : Joseph, b. Oct, 16, 1692— Alexander, April 15, '94— Charles, May G, 
'95— Andrew, Oct 3, '96— Hannah, July 8, '98— Nathan, Oct. 29, '99— Eliza- 
beth, Jan. 3, 1700-Sarah, Dec. 27, 1701— and Rebecca, Ang. 17, 1703. 


Blaohley, Samuel and Abigail Finch, m. April 6, 1C.90. Their chiUlreu 
were : Samuel, b. March 8, IGOO-lTnO—Sarah, Nov. 7, 1703— and Abigail, 
Sept. 23, 1705. 

Boull (Buel) John and Elizabeth Clements, m. 23, 9, 1C94. 

Brown, Joseph, had a son, b. Deo. 2i, 1G8G — a second son March 11, '89, 
Hannah, Sept. 21, '92-Nathaniel, June 16, 9G— Nathan, Oct. 29, '97— Jon- 
athan, May 14, 1701— David, March 22, 1703-4— and Mary, October 2, 

Brown, Elizabeth wife of Peter, d. 21, 7, 1G57. 

Brown, Ebenezer, child of Peter, d. 21, G, '58. 

Brown, Peter, d. 22, G, '58. 

Brown, Eleanor, wife of Peter, d. 21, G, '58. 

Brown, Peter and Unica Buxton, m. 25, 5, '58. 

Brown, Francis and Martha Chapman, m. 17, 10, '57. 

Butler, John and Mary Clements, m. 23, 9, 1C94. 

Burr, Daniel and Abigail Prigter, m. Feb. — , 1CC-. 

Buxton, Clement, died Apr. G, 1G57. 

Buxton, , died Aug. 21, 1657. 

Buxton, Clement, had Clement, b. Aug. IG, 1C83— Moses, Aug. 21, '86- 
and Mercy, Nov. 5. '92. Clement Buxton, jr., married in Daubury April 4, 
1711, to Elizabeth Ferris. 

Buxton Samuel, ye son of Clement and of Judith Buxton, was born in 
Stamford, and was 14 years old on ye 15 day of Jul}', Anno Domo. 1713. 

Buxton, Eunice, dau. of do., was 35 years old, Nov. 3, 1713. 

Buxton, Sarah and Abigail, do., were 24 years old Aug. 14, 1713. 

Buxton, Elizabeth, do., was 17 years old June 7, 1713. 

Gloyson (Clason), Stephen and Elizabeth Periment m. 11, 11, 1654. 

Their children were : Jona., b. 11. 12; 1655— Stephen, 17, 12, '57— Re- 
becca, Mar. 1, '59-60— and a son May, IS, '62. 

Cloyson, Jonathan and S.irah Roberts, m. IG, 10, IGSO— and Stephen, b. 
2, 10, 1681-Jonathau, d. 10, 4, '85, and Sarah his wife, 30, 6, '84. 

Cloyson. Marj', dau. of David, b. Aug. 17, 1689 — ^Deborah, Nov. 2, '95 — 
Ilephzibah, Nov. 4, '98. 

Clawson, ■ and Mary Homes, m. Dee. 1, 1692. 

Clason, Samuel and Hannah Dunham, m. Dee. 7, 1093. 

158 REGISTRY— 1640— 1700. 

Copp, Johu aad M;iry, widow of late Ephraim Phelps, m. March 16, 

Cressy, John and Abigail Knap, m. Dec. 1, 1692. Their children were : 
Sarah, b. April 25, 1693— Abigail, March 8, '95— John, Feb. 2, '96— Debo- 
rah, Feb. 14, '98— Nathaniel, Sept. 16, 1700— Moaes, Feb. 14, 1701-2— and 
Mary, Feb. 15, '04-5. 

Cressy, John, son to William, b. May 15, 1C9S. 

Crissy, Mary, d. 25, 5, 1658. 

Cross, Nathaniel and Abigail had Hannah, b. Feb. 23, 1087— and Abigail, 
April 8, '94, and d. Sept. 5, 1710. 

Cross, Nathaniel and Hannah Knapp, m. Nov. C, 1G9C, and had Deborah, 
Feb. 17, 1701-2— and Nathaniel, April 13, '03. 

Dann, Francis and Elizabeth Cla8on,m. Nov. 19, 1683, and had Elizabeth, 
b. August 27, '86. 

Davenport, Rev. John and Mrs. Martha Sellick, widow of John Sellick, 
m. April 18, 1695. and had Abigail, b. July 14, '96— John, Jan. 21, '98— 
Martha, Feb. 10, 1700— Sarah, July 17, '02— Theodora, Nov. 2, '03, d. Feb. 
15, '12-Deodate, Oct. 23, '06 -Elizabeth, August '08— Abraham, in '15— 
and James, in '16. 

Dean, John, son of Samuel, b. Dae. 10, 1659— and Joseph, April 6, '61. 

Dean, Samuel, d. Dec. 27, 1703. 

Dibble John, d. Sept. 1646. 

Dibble Nathaniel and Sarah Waterbury, m. 10 3,il66G. 

Dibble, Zacharia, and Sarah Waterbury, m. May 10, '66, and had Zach- 
ariah, b. Dec. 19, '67. 

Dibble, Zaohariah and Sarah Clements, m. August 13, 1698, and had 
Zachariah, b. July 16, 1699— John, Oct. 22, 1701— Daniel, Feb. 19, '03-4— 
Ebenezer, July 18, '06— and Eeuben, Oct. 2, '08. 

Disbrow, John and Sarah Knap, m. 6, 2, 1657. 

Disbrow, Peter and Sarah Knap, m. April 6, 16—. 

Elliot, Mary wife of John, d. 17, 6, 1658. 

Ferris, Joseph and Ruth Knap, m. 20, 9, 1657, and had Peter, b. 8, 9, 
Ferris, Jeffrey, d. 31, 5, 1658. 

Ferris, Susannah, wife to Jeffry, died at " Grinwich," Dec. 23, 1660. 
Ferris, Elizabeth, daughter of Peter, b. 28, 11, 1659, d. 5, 2, 'GO, 


Ferris, Joseph, son of Peter, b. 20, 6, '57— n son, 20, 6, 69— Mnry, Mny 
2, '62— and Elizabeth, Jan. 2, '64. 

Ferris, Martha, dau. of Isaac, b. June, 19, 1G72. 

Feiris, Joseph, son of Joseph, b. March 31, 1688— Mary, Dec. 12, '90— 
Nathan, Oct. 22, '94 -Samuel, Sept. 5, '96— Elizabeth, March 19, '98-9— 
Abigail, April 13. 1701 -Hannah, June 20, 1704-and Deborah, August 27, 

Finch, John. d. Sept. 5, 1G57. 

Finch, Joseph and Elizabeth Austin, m. Nov. 23, IG — 

Finch, Isaac and Elizabeth Basset, .m. — 8, 1658, and had John, b. 20, 

9, '59 , April 12, '62— Abraham, July 5, '65, before day— Elizabeth, 

Nov. 14, '69— Martha, June 19, '72— Rebecca March 17, '82-3-Sarah, 23, 
11, '86— Jacob, Oct. 9, '91, and died 15, 2, 1702— aud Benjamin, Jun e 29 

Finch, Samuel and Sarah, had Mary, b. March 2, 1692-3— Susaunah, 
March 3, '93-4— Sarah, Sept. 25, '95— Abigail, July 15, '97— Hannah, March 
23, 1700-1— and Martha, July 23, 1703. 

Finch Israel and Sarah Gold, m. Dec. 1, 1692. 

Finch, Ann, d. Nov. 9, 1703. 

Finch, Samuel, sr., d. April 23, 1G98. 

Garnsy, Joseph and Rose Waterbury, m. 11, 3, 1659, and had Joseph, b. 
June 30, 1G62. 

Garnsey, Joseph and Mary Lockwood, m. march 2, 1G92-3, and had 
Mary, b. Sept 8, 1693— Joseph, April 23, '95— John, May 23, '97— Rose, 
April 11, '99— Jonathan, Nov. 11, 1701— Hannah, Jan. 27, '02— and Debro, 
Sept. 10, '04. 
■ Graves, Sarah, d. Sept 13, lf5G. 

Graves, Benony, son of William d. April 12, 1657. 

Green, Mary, wife of John, d. 14, 9, 1657. 

Greer, John and Martha Finch, m. — , 7, 1658. 

Green, Benjamin and Susan, had a daughter, b. April 19, 1G84— a second 
daughter, July 8, '86- Lucretia, July 20, '90— and Benjamin, Nov. 5, '93— 
Susan, wife of Benjamin, d. Nov. 5, 1694. Benjamin and Hester Clemence, 
m. March 26, 1696, and had Hester, b. Deo. 19, 1696 -Debro, April 25, 
1701— and Joanna, March 14, 1702-3. 

160 EEGISTKT 1640 1670. 

Green, Joseph, had Mary, May 30, 1G81— Elizabeth, August 5, '83-=- 
Waightstill, Nov. 26, '85-Joseph, Jan. 23, '87— and John, Sept. 22, '01. 

Hardy, Mary, daughter of Eichard, b. 30, 2, 1659. 

Hardy, Samuel and RebooBa Hobby, m. Nov. 18, 1033, an.l had Kebcjoi 
b. Sept. 28, 1G87. 

Hardy, Samuel and Kobecea Furbast, m. May 12, 1603, a second wil'r, 
They had Samuel, b. Aug. 8. 1701. 

Holly, Elisha, son of John, b. G, 1, 1G50 son of John, b. llurch 

1, 1GG2-3. 

Eolly, John, Mr., d. May 25, 1C81, in C3d of his age. 

Holly, Increase and Elizabeth Newman, m. April 2, 1679, and bad John, 
I). Feb. 29, '79— Jonathan, Feb. 23, 'Si— Joseph, March 24. ^SG-7— and Na- 
than, Sept. 26, '92. 

Holly, Jonathan and. , had Jonathan, b. Ang. 16, ]CS7— Snrnh, 

Dec. 4, '90— Charles, Aug. 21, '04 -David, .Jan. IG, 'OS-G-Betbia, Feb. 4, 
'97-8, d. Jan. 20, '9S-9— -Jabez, Nov 20, 99— John and Increase, Sept 2, 
1703-JohD, dying Sept. 20-and Deborah, b. March 11, 1705-G. 

Holly, John and Hannah Newman, m. April 2, 1670, and had Daniel, 
b. 9, 3, 1G80, and died 4, C, '80— and Abigail, July C, '82. 

Holly, John and Mary Cressy, m. March 10, 1G97, and had Abigail, b. 
Dec. 15, 97— Ebenezer, March 31, '98-9— and Noah, Juu 3, 1700-1. 

Holly, Jonatbau and Sarah Finch, m. Dee. 2, 1GS6. 

Holly, -John and , had John, b. April 14, 1685— Nathaniel, Feb. 9, 

'SD-7-Josias, Feb. 27, 'S9-90- Hannah, Nov. 20, '94-Elizabctli, March 4, 
'97-S -and Sarah, Sept. 30, 1701. 

Holly, Samuel, son of Samuel, b. Jan. 31, 1C86-7. 

Holly, Elisha aud Martha Holmes, m. Deo. 2, 1G86, r.nd had Elisha, b. 
Nov. 10, 1G87-Elizftbeth, March, 2, 90-Martbfl, Dec. 28, ■91-Elizabeth, 
Jan. 28. '93-4-Elnathan, March 20, '96- Israel, Jan. 16, '97-8— Abigail, 
Juue 8, 1700— John, Nov. 20, 1702, and died Dec. 8,1702— and Mary and 
Sarah, b. May 5, 1705, Mary, dyin.i:; May 8, 1705. 

Holly, Samuel and Mary Close, m. June 25, 1G6S, and had John, b. April 20, 
1G70— Samuel, May 10, '72— Hannah, Aug. IS, '76, d. April 10, 1700-Jo- 
seph, b. April 2, 78— Mary, 26, 2. 'SO-and Denjamin, Oct. 4, '84. 

Holly, Samuel, d. in ye .68th year of Lis age, May 13, 1709. 

Homes, John and Eachel Watcrbury, m. 12, S, 1659, and had Mary, b. 

REGISTRY 1640 1790. 161 

Sept. 25, 1662,— StopUeu, Jan. 14, 'G4— Rachel, Dec. 7, '63— and John, Oct. 
18, '70. 

Home.s, John and Marcy Bell, m. Jan. 15, 1701-2, and had Jonathan, b. 
Maj' 21, '03, and because of his father's death, re-named John. 

Homes, Stephen and Mary Hubby, m. Nov. 18, 168G. 

Ilyat, Thomas, d. Sept. 9, 1656. 

Hoyt, Simon, d. 1, 7, 1637. 

Hoyt, Mary, daunhter of Joshua and Mary, b. Dec. 22, 1G64— Rebecca, 
Sept. 21, '67— Joshua, Oct. 4, '71— Sarah, Apiil 17, '74— Samuel, July 3, 
'78-Hannah, Sept. 1, '81— Moses, Oct. 7, '83— and Abigail, Aug. 20, '85. 
Joshua, the father, d. Nov. 9, '90, as recorded will attests. 

Hoyt, Benjamin and Hannah 'Wood, m. Jan. 5, 1070, and had Benjamin 
b. Dec. 9, '71— Wary, Sept. 20, '73— Hana, June 3, '7C— Simon, March 
14, 77. 

Hoyte,, Samuel and Hannah Holly, m. Nov. 16, lt7— and hud Si:mutl, 
b. July 27, '73— John, Jan. 9, '75— Hannah, Nov, 23, '79.'80— Jonathan, 
June 11, '83, and died six weeks old— Joseph, June 12, '86- Ebenezer, 
Nov. 29, '87, and " dyed"— Nathan, Mar. 24, '91— and Nathaniel, April 1, 
'94, and died July 27, 171—. 

Hoyt, Joshua and Mary Picket, m. JIarch l(i, 1098, and hid Jerusba, b. 
Deo. 8, '98— and Joshua, June 7, 1700. 

ILiit, Benjamin, jr. and Elizabeth Jagger, m. Jane 10, 1097, and had De- 
borah, b. Aug. 9, '98— Benjamin, Aug. 24, 1700-David, Jan. 23, '02-Abra- 
ham, June 16, '04— Samuel, who died Aug. 29, '00— Elizabeth, b. Sept. 20, 
'10, and died July 31, '12- Ebenezer, b. Oct. '12— Hannah, Dec. 8. '16, and 
-Tonas, May 8, '20' 

H')it, Samuel and Susanna Slasou, m. Oct. 24, 1700. 

Hoyt, Mr. Samuel, Sr. and Mrs. Mary Gold, m. Sept. 20. 1714. 

Ilait, Doa. Samuel, d. April 7, 1720. 

Ilait, Eebecca, wife of Dea. Samuel, d. Dec. 8, 1713. 

Hughs, Robert and Elizabeth Buxton, m. Jan. 0, 1655. 

Jackson, John had a daughter b. July 21, 1662. 

Jagger, Eliza'jelh, daughter of Jeremy, b. Sept. 18, and d. Dec. 17, 1657. 

Jagger, Jeven.j', d. 14, 6, 1658. 


Jagger, Jonathan and Kebecca Homes, m. Ang. •22, 1700. 
Jones, Cornelius and Elizabeth Hyat, m. C, 8, 1G57. 

The age of the children of Cornelius Jones, entered this 17th Dec. 1G57. 

eleven year old ye 20th of Aug. last ; ten year old next Feb. ; nelius 

eight year old ye beginning of Nov. last ; sis year old, May next ; and 

three year old last Jan. 

Jones, Mary, daughter of Joseph, b. Jan. 4, 11177 ; Hannah, March It!, 
'7'J-'80— Joseph, Dec. 20, '82— Samuel, March 1, '84^85— and Cornelius, 
March 1, •87-'8. 

June, Peter, had .Sarah, b. Jan. aO, 1G60— Peter, Nov. 22, '83-James, 
June 29, '87— Thomas, July 23, '90— Mercy, Sept. 11, '92— aud Mary, July 
30, '99. 

Knap, Joshua and Hannah Close, m. June 9, lGo7, and had Hannah, b. 
ilarch 26, GO— Joseph, in '64— Euth, in 'G6— Timothj-, in 'G8— Benjamin, 
in' '73— Caleb, in '77 — and Jonathan, in '79. 

Knap, Elinor, ■wife of Nicholas, d. IG, G, 1G5S. 

Knap, Nicholas and Unica Brown, widow of Peter, m. 9, 1, 1659. 

Knap, Caleb, son of Caleb, b. Nov. 24, ICGl— and John, July 25, '64. 

Knap, John and Hanuah Ferris, m. June 10, 1G92, and had Samuel, b 
Aug. 27, '95— John, Aug. 14, '97— Hanuah, March 10, '98-'9— a son, b. 
Aug. 15, '01 -Charles, March 9, 1703— and Deborah, June 28, 1705. 

Knap. Moses and Elizabeth Crissy, m. 1GS-, aud had Elizabeth, b. 

Sept. 7, '90. 

Kuapp, Caleb and Hanuah Clemcuts, m. 23, 9, 1G94— Caleb, b. Sept. 30, 
'95— William, Dec. 15, '97— Sarah, Jan. 18, '99- .\bigail, Jan. 9, 1701-2— 
Joshua, April 10, 1704— Joseph, Dec. 10, '06— Hanna, April 10, '10— Jo, 
uathan, Jan. 12, ■12-'13. The next two children of this family were born 
in Norwall;. 

Lawrence, Thomas, d. Aug. IG, '91. 

Leeds, John and Maiy, had Jonathan, b Out. 12, 1G93 — Johu, |March 8, 
'94— Sarah, Feb. 8, '96— Samuel, Feb. 21, '97— Ebeuezer, Jan. 17, 1700— 
aud Mary, Oct. 23, 1702. 

Lounsbury, Henry, son of EicharJ aud Elizabeth, b. .Vug. 15, 16S4. 

Lockwood, Eliphalet and Marj', daughter of Johu Gold, m. Oct. 11, 1699. 

Locltwood, Edmuu, d. Jan. 31, 1692. 

BEGISTEY 1640 1700. 1G3 

LockwaoJ, Joseph and Elizabeth Ay res, m. May 19, 1098, aud had Jo- 
seph, b. May 15, 1699-Haunah, March 21, '01 -John, Sept. IS, '03— and 
Nathaniel, April 1, 'OG. 

Mead, Baujamin and Sarah Waterbary, m. May 10, 1700. 

Mead, wife of William, d. Sept. 19, 1C57. 

Merwiu, Miles and Sarah Scofleld, m. Nov. 30, — . 

Merwin, Joseph, son of John, b. Maj' 2, 1G57. 

Mills, son of Richard, died Dec. 25, ICGO. 

" Jno. Mills of Stamford, and Mary Fountain daughter uulo Aron Fouu- 
tain, who was born unto him by his wife Mary whose maiden name was 
Mary Beebe, who was ye daughter of Mr. Samuel Beebe of new loudou, 
ware married in FairQeld, by major Peter Burr, Assistant, October ye 2th, 

Miller, Sarah, daughter of Juhu, b. Nov. 10, 1GG2. 

Newman, Hannah, daughter of William, b. 29, 10, 1G57— Mary, d. 18, 10, 
'59— and Jonathan, b. April 21, 'Gl . 

Oliver, born 20, G, 1G57. 

Oliver, son to William, b. 19, 9, IG.jO — a second son, April 14, 'G2. 

Penoyer, Thomas and Lidde Knap, m. May 22, 1GS5. and had Abiga'il 
b. 13, 8, '8G— Mary, Nov. 22, '88— MeUicent, April 13, 91— Mercy, Sept. 2S, 
'93 -Samuel, April 3, '9G— and John, May 2G, 98. 

Penoyer, Thomas, sou of Robert, b. March 29, IGJS— Mary, Nov. 2-'), 'GO 
—Martha, Sept. 2G, 'Gl— and Abrigail, 13. 8, 'GG. 

Pettet, Debrow, d. 7, 9, 1G57. 

Pettet, John's wife d. 27, 7, 1057. 

Pettet, and Sarah Scofleld, m. 13, G, 1GG5. 

Pettet. David, son of John, b. July 20, 1G54, and d. 2, 8, '57— Jonathan, b. 
Feb. 23— .Sarah, 27, G, lOGG-John, b. 26, 8, '08— a son, 20, G, 72— and 
Mercy, b. 5, 9, '74. 

Pettet. Jonathan, son of Jonathan, b. latter end of Oct. 1G93 — John, 
March 8, '94-5— Sarah, Feb. 8, '96-7— Samuel, Feb. 21, '98-9— and Ebenezer, 
Jan. 17, 1700-1. 

Pond, Abigail, daughter of Nathaniel and Elizabeth, b. April 18, 1G98— 
Elizabeth, Nov. 22, '99— Josiah, Jan, 13, 1701— Hannah, Feb. 13, 1702-3— 
and Naomi, March 22, 1704-5. 


Potter, John aud Sarah Sellick, m. August 30, 1098. 

Ratliffe, William ami ElizabetU Thele, m. '29, 8, 1C59' and bad Mary, b, 
Oot. 27, 1C62. 

Keynolds, Saragh, d. August 21, 1657. 

Keynolds, Jonathan, had Eebecca, b. 1656— Jonathan, '00— John, OS- 
Sarah, '65 — Elizabeth, '67— and Joseph, about 69- Thefather, Jonathan, d- 
in 1673. 

Kich, Henry, and Martha Penoir, m. 21, 10, 1080. 

Bock, Hittabel, died Sept. U, 1056. 

HockweU. child of John, died 31, 5, 1058. 

Koberts, Thomas and Sarah Elliot, m. 27, 11, 1658, and had Sarah, b. 
Sept, 4, 1501, and a child, April, 1, '83. 

Scofield, Richard, had Elizabeth, b. Nov. 27, 1053, aud Jerimy, 10, 1, '58. 

ScoSeld, Mercy, daughter of Daniel, b. the laiter end of Nov. 9, 1C57. 

Hcofield, John and Hannah Mead, m. July 10, 1677— and had Samuel, b. 
July 10, '78— John, Jan. 15, '79-80— Ebenezer, Jau. 26, '85— Nathanial, 
Dec. 10, '88— Mercy, Oct. 30, '90- Mary, Aug. 4, '94— aud Susanna, March 
2, 97-8. 

Scofield, John, died March 27, 1698-9. 

Scofield, Eichard and Euth Brundish, m. Sept. 14, 1689, and had 
Jenraiah, b. April 1, '91 — Joshua, Nov. o, '93 — James, April 1, '96 — Jona- 
than, Oct. 9, '98- Hannah, Nov. 14, 1700— Debro, Feb. 14, 1702-3. 

Scofield, Daniel and Hannah Hoyt, m. April 17, 1701, and had Nathan, 
b. April 14, 1702. 

Scelcy, Obadiah, d. August 25, 1657— Habakuk, d. 13, 0, 1058. 

Seeley, Martha, daughter of Jonas, b. Sept. 20, 1090— Jonas, July 22, '92 
Susanna, June 12, '94— Ebenezer. Jau. 18, 9G-7— Nathaniel, August 23 
'99— and Elizabeth, August 20, 1701. 

Seeley, John, son of Obadiah, b. August 25, 1093— Nathaniel, June 19, 
'95- Mercy, Jan. 30, '98- aud Obadiah, August 7. 1701. 

Seeley, Sarah, daughter of Jouas, born Feb. 1691-5. 

Se! lick, Jonathan, and Abigail Law, m. May 11, 1605. 

SiUiok, Jonathen, son of Jonathan, b. July 11, 1004 -David, Jan. 27, '65 

EEGISTEY 1C40 1,00. 1G5 

Selleck, John and Sarah Law, m. Oct. 28, 1669, and bad Sarah, b. August 
22, 1670— David, Dec. 27, '72— Nathaniel, April 7, '78-Johu, June 7, '81. 

Selleck, Mr. John, had Susanna, b. Feb. 2, 1GS3, and Johanna, b. May 
31, '86. 

Selleck, Jonathan Jr., and Abigail Gold, m. Jan. 5, 1685— and had Abi 
gail, b. April 3, 1685— Nathan, Sept. 12. '86— and Theophila, Feb. 11, 94-5. 

Selleck, Nathaniel and Sarah Lookwood, m. .Jan. 25, 1G99— and had 
Daniel b. Dec. 23, 1700. 

Selleck, Capt. Jonathan, d. Juus 11, 1710. 
Selleck, Maj. Jonathan, d. Jan. 10, 1712-13. 

Shepard, Mary, widow, d. August 15, 1633. 

Simkins, Jonathan, d. 7, 8, 1G57. 

Skelding, Thomas and Rebecca Slason, m. Juue 11, 1701. 

Slason, Sarah, daughter of John, jr., b. Jan. 20, 1693— John, Oct. 4, '95 
—Martha, Sept. 17, '99- and Elizabeth, April 18, 1703. 

Slason, Jonathan and Mary Waterbury, m. Feb. 4, 1699-1700— and had 
Abigail, b. March 8, 1700— Mary, Jan. 20, 1704. 

Slason, John, son of John, b. Sept. 9, 1664— Sarah, Jan. 20, '07— Jona- 
than, July 25, '70— Elizabeth, Jan. '30, '72— Mary, April 21, '80— Thomas, 
3, 12, '81— and Hannah, March 12, 85-G. 

Smith, Samuel, sou of Henry, died 16, 8, IGjS-Mary, 3, 10, '58— and 
a daughter, August 9, '61. Ann, wife of Henry, died second week in June, 

Smith, Elizabeth, wife to John, d. Oct. 6, 1703 — and his youngest daugh- 
ter, Oct. 10, 1703. 

Smith, Hannah, daughter to John, d. Oct. 27, 1703. 

Stevens, Thomas, died, 19, 6, 1658. 

Stevens, Obadiah and Rebecca Rose, m. Dec. 18, 1078— aud had Tho- 
mas, b. Sept. 6, 1079- Ephraim, Jan. 23, '80— Rose, Oct. 14, '83— Rebecca , 
12, 2, '83- Elisha, April 23, '88— Daniel, Nov. 30, 'OO-Nathan, Dec. 1, '94 
and Deliverance, a son, August 1, 1097. 

Stevens, Joseph and Sarah Buxton, m. June 21, 1683- aud had Joseph 
b. May 21, '81— Uaioa, Dec. 5, '83— Sarah, Jan. 27, '80— .and Mary, Jan, 30, 
'91— Stevens, Obadiah, d. Dec. 24, 1702. 

Stukey, George, and Ann Quimby, ra. 23, 9, 1057- 


Stukey, Elizabeth, d. Sep. 4, 165C. 
Stukey, George, d. Nov. 28, 1660. 
Taylor, Gregory, d. 24, 7, 1G57. 
Taylor, Goodwife, d. 18, 6, 1657. 
Tbeal, Nicholas, died 19, 6, 1658. 
Uffert, 'Elizabeth, widow, d. Deo. 27, 1660. 

Usher, Eobert and Elizabeth Jagger, m. 12,3, IOjO, aud had Elizabeth 
b. Feb. 25, 1659- CO. 
Waterbury, John, d. 31, o, 1658. 

Waterbury, Sarah, daughter of Jonathan, b. August, 15, 1677 — Uuiee, 
Oct. 7, '79— Rose, Jan. 21, '81— Rachel, Aug. 26, '81— Jonathan, Feb. 9, 
'85— Abigail, July 1, '88— and Joseph, Jan. 26, '91. 
Waterbury, Jonathan, d. Jan. 14, 1702. 

Waterbury, Mary, daughter of John, b. March 20, 1679— John, Oct. 30, 
'82— David, Jan. 24, '84— and Thomas, May 12, '87. 

Waterbury, John, sou of David, b. Jan. 25, 1681-2-Elizabeth, Jan. 19, 
'83-4— and Sarah, Jau. 10, 84-5. 

Waterbury, David and Sarah Weed, 2d. wife, m. August 11, 1698— and 
had Ruth, b. Jau. 3, 1G99— and David, Nov. 9, 1701. 

Waterbury. , son to Jonas, b. Sept. 12, 1694. 

Webb, Richard, d. Jan. 1, 1656. 

Webb, Joshua, sou of Richard, b. ■; and Nell, March 30, 


Webb, Richard, died, March 15, 1675,-G. 

Webb, child of Richard, died, Jan. 1, 1G56. 

Webb, Joseph aud Hannah Soofield, m. Jan. 8, 1672, and had Joseph, b. 
Jau. 5, 1674— Mary, April 14, •77-Hannab, March '79— Sarah, Oct. 16, 
'81— and Margery, Oct. 4, '83. 

Webb, Waitstill, child of Samuel, b. Jan. 6, 1690-1— Samuel, Nov. 6, '92 
Mercy, April 11, '93— Charles, March 12, '96-7— Mary, .Jan. 7, '98— 9— and 
Nathaniel, Nov. G, 1700. 

Webb, Joseph, and Mary Halt, m. Feb. 23, 1698— and, had Joseph, b. 
Jau. 26, 1700-1— Ebenezer, b. March 7, 1704, and died, April 16, 1704— Ben- 
j amin, August 24, 1705. 

KEGISTKY — 1640 — 1700. 167 

Weed, Jonas, child, d. July 15, 1G5G. 

Weed, Jonas, son of John, b. Feb. 5, 1667— Daniel, Feb. 11, '69— Joseph, 
d. Jan. 7, '90, aged 12 years— Isaac, April 20, '91, aged 9 years—Mary, 
April 21, '91, aged 7 years, and Hanna, March 22, '91, aged 4 years. 

Weed, Jonas and Bethia Hollj', m. Nov. 16, 167—. 

Weed, Jonas, son of Jonas, (Shoemaker), b. July 26, 1678— Benjamin 
Aprils, '81— Jonathan, April 15, '84— Abigail, Aprils, '95— John, Nov. 19, 
'98— Miles, Feb. 21, 1700-1— Sarah, March 10, '02-'03— and Nathan, Mny 
20, 1705. 

Weed, Jonas, (Shoomaker), d. Nov. 18, at eavening, 1706. 

Weed, Daniel and Mary Webb, m. Sept. 23, 1697. 

Weed, Daniel, bad Abraham, d. 18 j'ears old, Aug. 18, 1698 -Sarah, 23 
years old, Nov. 18, '98- Daniel, 13 years old, March 19, '98— Ebeuezer, 6 
years old, Oct. 22, 'gS-Nathaniel, 2 years old, Oct. 22, '98-Josepb, b. Aug. 
18, '98— David, Aug. 19, 1700— Joanna, Nov. 8, '02— and Daniel, May 14, '05 

Weed, Samuel and Abigail Scofleld, m. April 17, 1701. 

Weed, Joseph and Eebecca Higginbotbam, m. Dec. 10, 1701. 

Weed, Jonas, at Noroton Corners, and Sarah Waterbury, m. Jan. 20, 
1703- 4, and had Jonas, b. at Norotou Corners, Deo. 24, 1704. 

Weed, Jonas, Sr. d, Nov. 19, 1704. 

Wiaf, Nathaniel, sou of Nathaniel, b. July 18, 1637. 

Youngs, John and Kuth Eliut, (Elliot), m. Jan. 30, 1090, and had Eliza- 
beth, b. April 22, '94, and d. April 15, 1706— Kuth, b. May 21, '96— Mary, 
Aug. 30, 1700— John, May 5. 1703— Abigail, Ularch 13, '05-6— Thomas, 
Feb. 21, '07-8-Elizabeth, May 30, '10-Samuel, Sept. 30, '12— and Sarah, 
June 18, '15. 


;tamfokd IX 1 , 00. 

This year tiiids in Conuocticut t'nx'nty-seveu towns incorpo- 
rated, of which Stamford ranks the thirteenth on the grand 
list. Tlie population of the town is probably sonic-whcre be- 
tween five and six hundred. The tei-ritory is about seven and 
a half miles in width and not far from eleven in length. 

Si.vty years have now passed since its settlement ; and they 
have been years ■which must Iiave left many and well defined 
traces of their course. 

Already Eastfield, Southfield, Xorthlield and Xewtield, em- 
bracing a large part of the territory south of what is now the 
North Stamford Parish, had been " layed out " to the proprie- 
tors or their children, or were yet used as common grounds lor 
" winter corn " or summer pasture. Enough had been learned 
oi the several parts of this domain to have already established 
in common use names long since outworn or forgotten 

Runkiuheag and Short Rocks, Hardy's Hole and Slason's 
Wolf Pit, Elbow Plain and Rump Swamp, Great Fresh Meadow 
and Jagger's Den, Clabord Hill and Hollow Tree Ridge, are 
names of less significance in these modern times than when they 
expressed localities closely connected with the most important 
interests of the young colony. A well built fence running across 
its neck, and which twenty years ago had taxed the common 
time of the whole pcojile, had secured the whole of our beauti- 
ful headland, Sliipan, as the yearly corn ground of the proprie- 
tors; while another fence runnino- across eastward from below 

STAMFORD IX 1700. 160 

the landing place to the north of where our new cemetery now 
lies, cut oft" the early Kocky Xeck as their nearest pasture 

Across this territory ran an irregular road, near the 
course of the present principal street through the town. From 
this, cart paths radiated at diflereiit points, out to the several 
tields which had then been laid out, embracing the most of the 
southern part of the tract, while almost all the northern portion 
I if it was still aforest,with openiugs for here and there a pioneer 
home on the two northward routes leading from the present 
center of Darien and Stamford over Woodpecker Ridge into 
the new settlement at Bedford across the Dutch lines. 

Of the state of these roads at this period, even the best of 
llieni, that which formed the chief landward route between Xew 
Flaven and New York, we find a very reliable description in 
the private journal of Madam Knight. She had started on 
horseback from Boston, Oct. 2, 1704, to visit New York. Dee. 
(ith she left New Haven attended by a kinsman of hers, Thomas 
Trowbridge of that city, also on horseback. They made the 
journey together, and started on their return Dec. loth. The 
journal thus mentions the route across Stamford. As she left 
l\ye she says: "here we took leave of York government and 
descending the mountainous passage that almost broke ray 
heart in ascending, before we eame to Stamford, a well compact 
town, but miserable meeting house which we passed^ and through 
many great difficulties, as bridges which were exceeding high, 
and very tottering, and of vast length, steep and rocky hills and 
jirecipices (bugbears to a fearful female traveler). About nine 
at night we came to Norwalk, having crept over a timber of a 
broken bridge about thirty feet long and perhaps fifty to the 
water." On the journey to New York she says that between 
Xorwalk and Rye they proceeded "walking and leading their 
liorses neer a mile together, np a prodigious high hill." This is 
the hill of which she speaks on the return. Of the condition of 
the other roads traversinij; the town we have no account. 


Already were visible the germs of at least two other cen- 
ters on this tract, at Middlesex and at Woodpecker Hollow. 
But as yet no effort had been made to establish church or per- 
manent school privileges elsewhere in all this stretch of terri- 
tory, than at the very center of the town plot. Here, close by 
where the first rude church had been built, stands the third 
edifice, now in its sixth year of good service rendered the town, 
yet already undergoing such changes in its interior as the in- 
creasing population demands. This very year the order is given 
to transfer the pulpit to the north end, and turn the seats to 
face it, and to throw galleries around the hitherto unused walls 
to accommodate those for whom there are now no seats. 

The fathers of the town were nearly all gone, and the third 
generation were now coming forward to the responsibilities and 
honors of social and civil life. We will see who are still here 
and in what positions, as far as the records of that day will 

The chief man of this now somewhat organized town, Kev. 
John Davenport, has for some six years held his throne in the 
hearts of the people who had voluntarily placed him there ; and 
there seems to be no abatement of their loyalty or their love. 
They still, with great unanimity, vote his annuity of the usual 
" specia," and a most bountiful supply of wood. Early Novem- 
ber of this year gathers them together in formal town meeting, 
and the first and most important business of the day is to see 
that all the temporal wants of their faithful pastor are supplied. 
See how fully those citizens of the year of grace, 1700, provide 
for one of their pastor's wants. The whole town are assembled. 
Samuel Hoyt, the same who was to sit with Mr. Davenport, ere 
long, in the famous Saybrook Convention to aid in framing the 
famous Saybrook Platform, was doubtless their Moderator. 
The drum has ceased its summons, and the ready pastor has in- 
voked on his people the presence and blessing of God. He re- 
tires and the second man of all this people, moderator Hoyt, 


IX 1700. 


WW tlu 

' providence of Go( 

1 orders 

calls for such busine- 
them to " attend." 

The first response, introduces as of fir.^t importance the chiinis 
of the good pastor, wlio was in chara'e of the spiritual interests 
of the whole town. 

Xineteen closely written lines, in the hand writing of tlie 
the honored recorder of the town, Samuel Holly, Sen., report to 
us all that was done in that November meeting ; but fifteen of 
tliem are devoted to recording the care which the people took 
of him whose sacred office they had been trained to Iionor, and 
whose personal character they had learned to respect and love. 

They now vote Mr. Davenport, his annuity of wood. Lest 
any part of it should be lacking, the amount was provided for 
in the town rate ; yet each inhabitant dwelling between ISTor- 
walk and Greenwich was allowed " reasonable time and warn- 
ing" for carting his proportion of the wood, which, from a 
previous record we learn must be deposited in the minister's 
yard before the end of Novenxber. They, then, vote the price 
which each person must pay who fails to carry his proportion 
of the supply, — eight shillings for each load — and order that 
none of the wood carried shall be cut over " six foot" long. 
And lest these orders should fail of practical execution, the fol- 
lowing vote secures the desired result. 

" By voate ye town doe appoint Daniel Scofield and Elisha 
Holly to apportion to each man what wood he shall carry to Mr. 
Davenport, and to order ye time when it shall be carried ; and 
do Impower yc sd Scofield and Holly to hire all such men's pro- 
portion of sd wood as shall neglect or refuse doing their sd pro- 
portions, after Reasonable warning and time allowed for ye 
performing of ye sd worke, and shall pay all such as are hired, 
town Rate not exceeding eight shillings ye coard, and for their 
incouragement to ye sd persons improued In ye worke they 
shall have allowed them so much as their proportion is in ve 
town Rate ; yt is of wood." 

I have introduced this item of town business in its full pro- 


portions, as most distinctly revealing the leading aim and spirit 
of the town, a hundred and sixty-eight years ago and to indi- 
cate the manner in which they sought to realize it. Religion 
and its support was this aim, and for this the town government 
was framed and pledged. 

Let us now name tlic men wlio are heie, and their recorded 

At the iirst town meeting held this year, Marcli 5, 1700, the 
following offices are filled : 

For " viewers," that is, for those who were to inspect the 
fields and see that that they were closed so as to " turn creturs" 
by the fifteenth of March, but who were obliged to officiate the 
t wentieth day of the month, we have the names of John Slason, 
sen., and Isaac Finch, sen., for the Xorthfield ; Joseph Garnsy 
and Daniel Cloisen for the Southfield ; and John Slason, jr., and 
John Crissy for the Eastfield. 

For " pounders," that is, for those authorized to impound 
lawless cattle, there were : Thomas Slason and Samuel Finch 
for Xorthfield ; Daniel Lockwood, for the Southfield ; John 
Green and John Bishop, for Eastfield ; and Clement Buxton for 

For "suruaires," (surveyors,) were: Richard Scofield and 
Nathaniel Cross for Southfield and westward ; Benjamin Hoit, 
sen., and Dan. Scofield, for Xorthfield and"Xorward; Steven 
Bishop and Steven Homes for Eastfield and eastward and Rocky- 

Mr. Samuel Hait and Elisha Holly are added to the committee 
for laying out Runkiuheag or Short Rocks. 

Mr. Jonathan Selleck, jr.. Mr. David Waterbury and Eli- 
sha Holly, are appointed to prosecute all " found defective 
upon the account of lands." Benjamin Green and Nathaniel 
Cross are to " vewe" the land west of Joseph (iarnsy's lot and 

Zacri Dibble is allowed ten acres from the setpiestered lands, 

STAMFORD IX 1700. 173 

Elisha Holly is to have six and Jonathan Crissy ten. David 
Waterbury and Elisha Holly are to report a place on Stony- 
l)rook for Mr. Bates to set a fulling mill, as he wishes leave 
to do. 

At the town meeting held August ^3, 1700, Peter Ferris, jr„ 
and Jonathan Bates are appointc<l to make out the town list, 
and Samuel Holly, sen. " is to fit it for ye corfe." Xo other 
vote of this meeting is recorded. 

At the town meeting held November 8 of this year, in addi- 
tion to the votes respecting Mr. Davenport already reported, 
John Holly, " Increasis son," has donated to him " a corn'er of 
land within the Eastfield gate next his lot, not preyising the 
highway," and Stephen Bishoj), Jonathan Waterbnr}' ate to 
vewe ye sd land and stake it out to him. 

Daniel Scofield. sen. and Elisha Holly are chosen auditors. 
At the meeting held December '27th of this year, Benjamin 
lloyt, sen. and John Ambler arc chosen collectors to gather 
;Mr. Davenport's rate. 

John Slason, sen. and Joseph Ferris, constables. 

Daniel Scofield, sen. Jonas Weed, sen. Richard Scofield, Eli- 
sha Holly and Samuel Holly, sen., are made townsmen. 

Left. Waterbury and Daniel Scofield, sen.. " Sheep masters 
to take care of ye flock." 

Joseph Turney and Increase Holly to lay out the land granted 
by the town to " Zaery Debbie," and Jonathan Cross and Elisha 
Holly. The above are all the names which occur on the busi- 
ness records of the town for the year 1700. Others who were 
living on this tract at the time, will appear Ironi the assign- 
ment of land by lot, December 26,1699. There were sixty- 
nine lots, and they were drawn ^l)y seventy-five persons in the 
following order. 

Stephen Cliuvson Eusign Bates William Clemance 

John Aruold Nathaniel Cross Joseph Garnsy 

John George Slason John Pettil 

John Holly, sen. Lieut. Bell Daniel Scofield 

Jonas Seeley Peter June Increase Holly 


Abiaiii FiucU 

" ye prSouiigf 

Mr. Mills 

Elawzer Shis on 

Isrtuc Finch 

Mr. Bishop 

John Holmes 

JoUu Slason 

Jouathan Holly 

Joseph Turuey 

Cipt. Selleok 

Mr. Lawes 

Richard Scolield 

Joseph Thell 

Joha Smith 

Ed. and Jo. Lockwood 

Thomas Pcuoyer 

John Weed_ 

Caleb Knapp 

Samuel Hardy 


Stephei, Holmes 
Francis Dan 
Jonathan Waterbury 
Samuel Hoyt 
Thomas Lawrence 
Benjamin Green 
John Scofleld 
Jo.seph Green 
Clement Buxton 
Samuel Webb 
Peter Ferris 
John Miller 
John Wescotl 
David Waterbury 
Samuel Finch 
John Waterbury 
John Austin 
John Finch, Jan. 
Joseph Stevens 
Samuel Dean 

Abraham Ambler 
Jeremy Jagger 
Joseph lirown 

Joseph Hoyt 
Jonas Weed 
Elisha Holly 
Thomas Newman 
Moses Knapp 

Daniel Weed 
Jonathan Jaggor, 
Widow Webster 
Seely, deceased 
Samuel Holly , 
Obadiah, Stevens 
Benjamin Hoyt 
John Finch 
Cornelius Jones 
John Goold 

111 addition still to these names we have others in tlie follow- 
ing list of estates made out in January, 1701. This list will 
also be in proof of the relative pecuniary standing of the citi- 
zens at this date. The list is said to be that " belonging to 
ye proper inhabitance in Stamford." It is alphabetically arranged 
on the original record, and may be found in Book of Records 
A, page 376. 

£ s. d. X s. d. 

Ambler. John. 92 10 Holly, Samuel, sen, 52 00 

Andrews, Jeremiah, 96 18 Holly, John, ser. 71 10 

Austen, John, 34 04 Holly, John, 63 00 

Bates, John, sen. 135 00 Holly, Elixabetb, 61 16 3 

Bates, John, jiin. 90 00 HoU}', Jouathan, 58 10 

Bell, Mrs. 105 00 Holly, John, jun., 30 00 

Bell, Jonathan, 55 05 Holly, Samuel, jun., 20 00 

Bishop, Stephen, 143 10 Holly, Joseph, 25 00 

Bishop, Joseph, 55 12 Holly, John.un , 20 10 

Bishop, Ebenezer, 33 00 Jagger, Jonathan. 39 05 

Bishop, Benjamin, 38 10 Jane, Peter, 75 15 

Brown, Joseph, 78 10 Jones, Orp, (orphan?) 01 OqI 


IN 1700. 


Buxton, Clement, 

112 00 6 

Knap, Moses, 

45 05 

Blachley, Samuel, 

37 07 3 

Knap, John, 

111 05 

Crissy, John, 

40 IG 

Knap, Caleb, 

34 17 6 

Crissy Jonathan, 

18 00 

Lockwood, Joseph, 

40 07 6 

Cross, Nathaniel, 

54 00 

Lockwood, Daniel, 

38 02 6 

Closon, Daniel, 

64 05 G 

Lockwood, Edmund, 

28 10 

Closou, Samuel, 

55 12 

Mills, William, 

21 00 

Chapman Simon, 

26 00 6 

Mills, John, 

IS 00 

Clemauee, William, 

27 12 

Newman, Thomas, 

83 00 

Clark, Joseph, 

21 00 

Pettit, John, 

5G 07 9 

Dan, Francis. 

27 00 

Penoyer, Thomas, 

72 05 

Dibble, Zechary, 

2G 0.5 3 

Pond, Nathaniel, 

3G 00 

Dean, Samuel, " 

14 13 

Slason, John.Isen. 

101 05 

Dean, John, 

30 00 G 

Slason, John, juu.. 

57 15 

Dean, Mathew. 

18 00 

Slason, Jonathan, 

33 00 

Ferris, Peter, 

118 12 

Slason, James, 

43 02 

Ferris, Joseph, 

72 02 

Slason, Stephen, 

18 00 

Ferris, Peter, jun. 

39 00 

Seeley, Obadiah, 

26 00 

Finch. Isaac, sen. 

27 10 


18 00 

Finch, Abraham, sen. 

37 02 

ScoEeld, Daniel, .sen., 

115 05 

Finch, John, 

22 00 

Scofield, Daniel, juu., 

55 10 

Finch, Samuel, 

46 02 G 

Scofield, Widow, 

G6 05 

Finch, Joseph, 

42 02 G 

Scofield, John, 

27 03 n 

Finch, Abraham, juu. 

35 00 

Scofield, Kichard, 

56 02 6 

Finch, Isaac, jun. 

22 00 

Smith, John, 

107 02 G 

Garnsey, Joseph, 

46 10 

Smith, Daniel, 


Green, John, 

28 17 6 

Stevens, Obadiah, 

79 07 6 

Green, Benjamin, 

55 00 

Stevens, Thomas, 

18 00 6 

Green, Joseph, 

81 01 

Stevens, Joseph, 

46 17 

Gold, John, 

88 02 6 

Stone, John, 

22 00 

Hardy, Samuel, 

47 00 

Selleck, Major, 

91 15 

Hiftgingbothum, Mr. 

30 00 

Selleck, Widow, 

100 05 

Holmes, Stephen, 

83 05 

Selleck, Captain, 

123 10 G 

Holmes. Samuel, 

18 00 

Selleck, Nathaniel, 

57 8 

Holmes, John, 

31 00 

Seeley, Jonas, sen.. 

116 170 

Hayt, Samuel, sen. 

04 10 

Trahern, Edward, 

41 10 

Hayt, Samuel, jun. 

24 02 G 

Turney, Joseph, 

63 05 

Hayt, John, 

19 00 

Waterbury, Daniel, 

136 10 9 

Hayt, Benjamin, sen. 

112 00 

Waterbury, Jona. 

100 00 

Hayt, Benjamin, juu. 

52 05 G 

Weed, Jonas, sen.. 

154 10 

Hayt, Joshua, 

31 12 6 

Weed, Widow, 

96 10 

Hayt, Samuel, (smith) 

36 12 G 

Weed, Daniel, 

26 07 


Weed, Samuel, 22 15 Webster, Daaiel, 30 

Weed, Joseph, 55 06 3 Wood, Mr. 119 10 

Webb, Samuel, 5G 10 Youngs, John, 46 10 

Webb, Joseph, 61 08 Davenport, Mr. John, 100 00 o 

Webster, John, 41 00 

Entered this 28th of Jan. 1701-2, by Sam'l HoUj-, recorder. 
The following choice morceau, found in the Xew York colo- 
nial records of this date, -will enable us to estimate the influence 
of Stamford, in what has since become the metropolis of the 
continent. It bears date, New York, Xovember 28, 1700, and 
was written bv the " Earl of Bellomout," to the English Lords 
of Trade, his masters. It will give us a pretty clear idea of the 
Yankee enterprise of at least one of the Stamford boys of that 
day. The record will also, reveal the natural results of the 
nearness ot Stamford to the great metropolis of the country, in- 
dicating thus early in its history liow strongly our businessmen 
are tempted towards the city. 

" Theres a town called Stamford, in Conn. Colony, on the 
border of this province, where one Major Selleck lives, who has 
a ware house close to the sea, that runs between the mainland 
and Nassau, (Long Island). That man does us great mischief 
with his ware house, for he receives abundance of goods from 
our vessels, and the merchants afterwards take their opportu- 
nity of running them into this town. Major Selleck received 
at least £10,000 wortli of treasure and East India goods, 
brought by one Clarke of this town from Kid's sloop, and 
lodcred with Selleck." 



This chapter proposes to record the introduction of new fami- 
lies between 1660, to which date our fifth chapter brings down 
tl\e list, and the opening of our revolutionary war. We shall, 
as in the former chapters on the settlers, give such account of 
these new families as we have been able to secure. A few other 
names may appear in the text, but of persons probably tran- 
siently here. AVe regret a want of space which compels quite 
an abridgment from our original draft of this chapter on the 
pioneer names of these new families. 

Arxom), Joseph, 1685, by vote of the town is allowed to set 
up a shop on the town lot, towards the northwest corner. 

In 1688, with such help as he could command, he was found en- 
gaged in rigging up abrigantine under suspicious circumstances. 
They could not or would not report the object or destination of 
ihe craft. This, too, was at the time when the English govern- 
ment were continually finding fault with the Xew England colo- 
nies for allowing piratical expeditions to be fitted out in their 
harbors. The fathers of the town, against whom no suspicion 
of disloyalty or even remissness in civil duty could be raised, at 
once issued their injunction upon the proceeding. The mere 
fact that the cause for rigging up the brigantine was unknown, 
was the ground of the injunction. 

He is called mariner, on leaving home, ^lar. 20, 1688-0. The 
record states that " being designed on a voyage to sea, by 
(Tod's grace," he appoints his brother John and his loving friend 


Peter Chocke his attorneys. Several families of this name must 
have been here dui-ing the first half of tlie last century. 

Ayeks, Richard, sen. gives son Philip land, Dec. 19, 170.5; 
and his house and use of laud to son "Harence." Mary his wife 
died, Jan. 19, 1715-6. Richard, jr. said to be of Stamford, 
buys land, April 5, 1703, of Richard Scofield. He, or another 

of the same name, married, Abigail , Dec. 18. 1712, and 

had a son John born in '14. The widow of Richard Ayres, 
married John Mott ; and in '35, John and Abigail Mott quit 
claim to their sons John and Ebenezer Ayres and their daugh- 
ter Mary Ayres, all their interest in the estate of their honored 
father Richard Ayres. 

Baker, Samuel 1775, buys of Win. Budd Lucas, on Bald 
Hill. The name disappears for three quarters of a century, to 
re-ajDpear in Luke Bakei". whose family now live on South St. 

Baxks, John, 1730. This family have continued in the north 
west part of the old township until the present day. 

Beachgood, John and Hannah, had children V)orn here : 
Maiy, Xov. 18, 1721 ; Martha, ?ilar(li C, "Jj ; Peter. :March 17 
'26-7; Hannah, Sept. 8, '31. 

Bei.din, John, 1691, is a partner witli .lonathan Selleekin the 
])urchase of the Pink Blossom, built in Stamford, by John Mills. 
This family was quite numerous and evidently had both means 
and influence abcJut the middle of the last century. 

I?ELi,AMy, Matthew, teacl)er, buys land of Robert Usher in 
1088, when he is said to be of Stamford. In 1670 he was hired 
to teach school ; and the town give him a house lot, binding him 
to build on it within two years. The name soon disappeared 
from the roll of citizens. 

Bi.Aiiii.EY, Samuel, blacksmith, .Vug. 15, 1095, buys land of 
Aliraham Finch, and next year appears on the list of town offi- 
rials. In 170S he is on the school committee. In 1714, he 
was voted the libcrtv of :\Iill river, above Xorlhfield for a mill, 


if he will build on it within three years. In 1723 he had :i 
shop near the meeting house ; and by 1730, he had made such 
progress in position as to be allowed the honored prefix, Mr. to 
his name. By his first wife, Abigail Finch, he had Samuel, 
Sarah, and Abigail ; and by the second whose name was Sarah, 
a Mary, b. Aug. 24, 1710. His death occurred Oct. U, '56. 

Blackley, Joseph, 1736-7, married Abigail Hoyt. Children, 
Sarah, b. Sept. 20, '37, and Joseph, June 24, '39. The wife 
Abigail died, June 27, 1739. 

This name is spelled Blatchely, Blachly, Blaokesly, and in 
several other ways, making it difficult often to decide what 
family is indicated. The name appears often on the land re- 
cords of the town. 

Blackmaj^, Josiah, married here, Aug. 5, 1714, Sarah Brown. 
Children, one who died Feb. 25, '14-15; Josiah, born in 16; 
Sarah, b. Oct. 15, 1718; Joseijh, b. Xov. 5, 1719; Elizabeth, d 
April 11, 1730; Josiah, jr., d. Mar. 14, 1738-9. His name is 
several times on the list of town officials and his death is re- 
corded, June 17, 1747. His wife died, Aug. 16, '45. 

Blaxchaed, William and Abigail, had children ; Jacob, b. 
Feb. 28, 1744-5 ; Abigail, b. Sept. 7, 1746 ; William, b. Jan. 8, 
1749-50, and a second Jacob, b. Feb. 5, 1752. He is among 
the officials of the town as early as 1751. 

BoARDMAN, Israel, was here in 1724, when his "ear mark" 
was entered to him. An Israel Boardman, married liere Marcli 
13, 1745-6, Mary Blackman. Children, one that was b. and d. 
same day, and Mary, b. Feb. 1, 1753. 

BooLOCH, Richard, then 66 years old, owned a farm here in 
1677, which had been given by John Budd to his son-in-law, 
John Ogden. 

BosTWicK, Ephraim, purchased Dec. 3, 1745, of Peter Quin- 
tard of Xorwalk, and Hannah Quintard and Nathaniel Hubbard 
of Stamford, the land of Isaac Quintard deceased. 


From similarity of names in their families he was doubtless a 
grandson of that Arthur Bostwick whom Savage brings with 
his son John from the county of Chester, Eng. to Stratiord. 
He was probably a cousin of the Rev. Ephraim Bostwick who 
was recorded here, as married to Mrs. Abigail Allen, March 1, 
1738-9, and who was settled as pastor over the First Church in 
Greenwich, from 1730 to 1746. To this Rev. Ephraim, there 
were born and i-ecorded here, Zachariah, b. Xov. 39, 1737 ; 
Ephriam, Oct. 25, 1741; Mary, Aug. 4, 1743; Abigail, Aug. 
16, 1745; Ebenezer, March 14, 1749; William, April 19, 1751, 
and Samuel, July 29, 1753. Ephraim Bostwick seems to have 
been active and prominent in the school society. 

BoiiDEN, Nathaniel is on the list of the town officers in 1737. 

BouTON, Richard, had died here June 27, 1605, when his will 
was probated. His wife Ruth had the use of his property, and 
at her death, if there should be any left, it was to go to his son 
John's son John. 

John, 1722, is on the official list of the town, and Nathaniel 
is admitted an inhabitant the next year by vote of the town. 
John, jr., and Mary Pettit, m. Feb. 18, 1731-2. Children, 
Mary, h. Dec. 24, '32 ; Gold, b. Jan. 24, '33-4. This name has 
been quite numerous and furnished a good number of respect- 
able citizens. 

Beiggs, Daniel in 1707 had lands here. He had married, 
Nov. 24, 1704, Elizabeth Newman at Rye, and his daughter 
Sarah is recorded as seven years old, March 29, '12-13. They 
had a daughter Mary, b. Jan. 24, '16-17. The name has con- 
tinued until the present time though never very numerous. 

BROOKEn, Samuel, 1748, is on the official list of the town and 
for several years must have buon quite active and prominent. 

Beyan, Samuel and Augustin had families here during the 
tirst half of the last centurv. 


Chester, Richard, tailor, in 1708-9 bui's dwelling house here 
of Joseph Lockwood. 

Chichestek, Daniel, 1722, married Abigail Bishop and had 
(children.; Abraham, b. '25 ; Abigail, b. '27 ; Susannah, b. '33 ; 
and Daniel, b. '35. 

Clements, William, 1071, seems to have succeeded Mr. Ri- 
der as teacher. In 1677 he is given a house lot if he and his 
" do forever maintain all the town fence lying by the two North- 
field gates, and for security the above land shall be bound for- 
ever." Clements, Widow Elizabeth, died here in 1727-8. 

Cluggston, John, 1721, takes his cattle mark. He and Eli- 
zabeth had children, Elizabeth, John, Ann, Deborah, Samuel, 
Mary, Abigail. He had been twice married. 

Clock, John, was admitted an inhabitant by vote in 1725. 
He married Deborah Scofield, and had a daughter Catherine 
born, Jan. 6, 1725, and a son Albert, May 9, '29. This name 
is still in the eastern part of the old township. 

Cokey, Thomas, 1720, when the following children are re- 
corded to him and his wife Elizabeth ; Jane, six years old, Feb. 
17th; Mary, four years old, Oct. 6th, and Thomas, one year 
old, Feb. 10th. 

CoNKLiN, Cary, 1728, in north part of the town, has liberty 
to pay ministers rate in Bedford. 

Crawford, James and Abigail had children; John James, 
b. June 10, 1763, and d. April 21, '66 ; Joanna, b. Nov. 24, '65, 
and John, July 2, '67. 

Crissy, William, Jan. 16, 1666, testifies in the Stamford 
court. His son John was born in 1665 ; and probably it was 
his daughter Mary who died in 1658. In 1672, in a deed of 
land sold to Nicholas Webster, he is styled planter. This 
name has been both numerous and respectable. 

Cross, Nathaniel, 1673, was voted a home lot. In 1687, he 
buvs of Ebenezer Mead of Greenwich, land in Stamford. In 


1693, John Gross of Windsor, sells his house and liorai.' lot in 
f^tamford to his brother Nathaniel of Stamford. 

d'ETiss, Cornelius, Oct. 3, 1712, married Deborah Green. 
Timoth}-, in "47 was one of the school committee and promi- 
nent among the town officials afterward. 

Dax, Francis, the first of this name in town, bought land of 
Isaac Finch, March 17, 1684-5. By his wife, Elizabeth, he had 
children, " born in Stamford;" Abigail, b. March 30, 1699 ; Re- 
becca, Aug. 25, 1706; Jonathan, Xov. 9, '09. This family set- 
tled in the north part of the town and gave name to a part of 

JJaxiel, (Daniels) Richard, married Bethiah Hoyt, March 1, 
17o0, and had a son Abraham, b. Sept. 24, '52. 

Davis, John, 1 709, is admitted by vote an inhabitant of the 

Davenport, Rev. John, the ancestor of this family came 
here as our Chapter of Ecclesiastical history shows in 1693 ; 
and his family from that date have been prominent in the his- 
tory of the town. See Biog. Sketches ; and tor an account of 
the descendants of Mr. Davenport, the first of the family here. 
uee also the Davenport Family, by A. B. Davenport, Esq., of 
Brooklyn, X. Y. 

Delavax, Cornelius, was probably the first of this name here. 
He had property here in 1713, and his wife^ Deborah had son 
Timothy, b. July 29th, of the same year; and in '46 appears 
among the officials of the town. John Delevan must have been 
here about as early, as he had a son Cornelius born here in '15. 
The family settled in the northeast part of the town where the 
name is still respectably represented. 

DE>tiLL, Peter, of French parentage, was hero in business in 
1703. He was evidently a man of means and of business en- 
ergy. He lived on the ground now occupied by the Congrega- 
tional Church. He died here in '22, when he was styled cap- 
tain. Peter, son, probably of the above, had son Peter, b. 


May 23, 1731, and sou Abraliam, Dec. 21, 1735. He and An- 
thony Demill a brother, probably, in 1727, were granted the 
privilege of building a grist mill at the mouth of Mill river, 
twenty rods below where " Harriss's old mill" was. For several 
years the name was quite prominent in the records of the town ; 
and is still well represented among tlie business men of New 

De FoitKST, Anthony and Martlia had son Keuben, I). Dec. 

Dixox,Johii, marrieil Ruth Halt of Xorwalk, and IuuIsdu John 
born here, Nov. 25, 1701. lie married for his second wife, 
Rachel Sherwood of Stamford, and they had a son Ilugli, b. 
Oct. 29, '70. The name is still found on our roll of citizens. 

Drew, Dr. John, married here Feb. 4, 1714, Elizabeth Green. 
Mercy Drew, a daughter, probably of Dr. Drew, married here 
.Fan, 8, '35-6, Jonathan Weed. (See list of physicians.) 

Dl'frees, John and Mary, and Stephen and Sarah liad chil 
drcn here between 170<) and '75. Tliey were land owners here 
during the revolutionary war and occupied a part of "Hauld" 
Hill, Canaan parish. 

Emery, John, 1008, sells house and land to Richard Law. 

Faxcher, John, and Emice Bouton, m. Xov. 19, 173(5, '34, 

tireman, '47, buys laud of John Jacklin, and in '50 is on the 

official list of the town. Hnnna, m. Josepli Garnsey, June 0,'-'s. 

Fountain, Mary, dau. ..f Aaron and Mary, m. John :Mills. <d 

Stamford, Oct. 2, 1702. 

Fountain, Sam. and Martha Scotield, ni. Xov. 23. '74 Moses ; 
b. June 3, '76 ; Sam. b. Tune 4, '78. 
Fountain P'ueas and Elizabeth Smith, m. Julyl779 ; Joseph, li. 
Jan. 3, "80. 

Gauek, Jeremiah, 1000, in the Court Records is said to l)e- 
25 years of age; and Jolin, has lands assigned him in 1067. 

Gale, Joseph, a town officer in 1758. By wife Rebecca, lie 
hail children born lietween '32 and '44. 


Gatloe, Jeremiah, tlic first of this name on tlie town records, 
had land assigned him in 160?. The name is still well repre- 
sented in our list of town officials, and in families of other 

Gold, John, is on the list offreemen in 1734, and sells land here 
in 1G81. John, his sou, probably married here, April 3, 170 7 
Hannah Higginbothum. John sen. died in '02. This name 
is found often on the land records of the town for about fifty 

GoRUM, George, the first of tliis family in Stamford, was 
licenced to sail from New London to Barbadoes, with his sloop 
Hennah, in 1727. 

He soon after this came to Stamford and settled on the spot 
now owned by Capt. Isaac Weed, in Darien. He afterwards 
went down to the lauding, near the mouth of Goodwin's river, 
where his descendants still remain. 

In 1743, Capt. George Gorham, appears among the town offl- 
eials. He had married, in Xew Rochelle, July 20, '26, Hannah 
Banks ; the service being performed by " a Church of England 
Minister." Their children, recorded, were: Hannah, '28 : 
Puella, '30; Abigail, '31; Phebe, '35; Daniel, '37; Jonathan, 
'40; Sarah, '42 ; George, '44 ; Joseph, '45 ; and Deborah, '48. 

Gkay, Daniel and Prudence Waterbury, married here, Nov. 
15, 1765, and had daughter, Mary, b. May 18, '67. Joshua and 
Elizabeth Dibble, married. May 20, '66, and had daughter 
Abigail, b. Feb. 9, '69. The name disappears from the records 
soon after the close of the war. 

Harris, Robert and Elizabeth, were hereabout 17lii. ami had 
several children. 

RiCKOX, Benjamin, was here in l)usiness in ITi"). lie married. 
Feb. 3, '13-4, Sarah Selleck, and liad two cliildren recorded to 
them, Abigail and Bethel. 

HiGGiJTBOTTOM, Richard, 1696, buys land of Daniel Wescot. 
According to Savage, he ha<l gone from Xew Haven to Eliza- 


bethtown, whence he removed to Stamford. He was a tailor and 
had married Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas Munson, and had 
a daughter, Rebecca, b. Oct. 12, 1682. He married, Dee. 11, 
'7107, Youne Waterbury. At her death, in 1710, She is called 
Eunice. By vote of the town, Richard Higginbothom, is accept- 
ed an inhabitant Jan. 31. 1708-9. 

HoBBT, John, 1663, had land bounded by William Hubbard's 
of Greenwich, and is, probably, the ancestor of the families of 
this name in town. The names sp?lled Hnby, Hoby, Hubbe, 
Hubey. Hubbey, and Hobbey. 

How, John, 1710. married Comfort Finch; Isaac and Eliza 
beth, had a son David, b. in 1720 ; Ebinezer, in '23, and James, 
'25. In '32, Isaac How was chosen ensign of the 1st company 
or trainband of Stamford. 

HuBBAUD, William, "formerly of Greenwich," bought Ian 
here in 1697, and again in 1704-5, he buys another parcel, west 
of Mill river, on " Pepperwood Ridge." The name is spelled 
Hubert, and Hubbart. He was probably a grandson of George 
and Mary Hubburd, who came from England in 1635 or '36, and 
settled at Wethersfield. This George removed to Milford, 
and had a large family ; John, George, Daniel, William, Mary, 
Sarah, Abigail, Hannah and Elizabeth. 

Hull, Josiah and Hanna, has son Sanmel, 1). March i, 1740-1, 
tlic father being dead. 

Hi'TTOX, Samuel, 1744, buys laud of Josepli Juds(jn & Joseph 
Brown. He was a man of some prominence in the town for a 
number of years. In '48 he paid forty sliillings fine for refusing 
to serve on the grand jury. By his wife Rebecca, he had a 
daughter, Rebecca, and a son, Samuel, Feb. 20, '57. 

IxGEKSOL, John, 1721, is the first of this name on record here, 
and Simon, who appears twelve years later, when lie married 
Hannah Palmer. This family has since then cen well repre- 
sented in all the generations. 

Jarvis, Samuel, bought dwelling house, honiolot, barn and 


shop, Jan. 11, 1744-5 of Xathauiel Finch. To Samuel and Mar- 
tha Jarvis are recorde(J the following children : Monson, b. Oct. 
'42; Samuel, July 4, '45 ; Polly, Feb. 21, '46-7; Sarah, Nov. 
'28, '50 John, Oct. 11, '52 ; William, Sept. 11. '50; Hannah, 
Sept. 27, '58, and Lavina, Oct. 5. '61. This family for several 
years was quite numerous and has always been in all its branches 
highly respectable. (See list of loyalists.) 

Jeffrey, John, admitted an inhabitant in 1727. The children 
of John and Sarah recorded here, are John, Samuel, and Mary. 

Jointer, Isaac, admitted an inhabitant by vote, 1713.- 

JuDSON, John and Charity Smith, married, jNIar. 17, 1768, and 
had children ; J ames, Mary, Jolm, and Sarah. In '73 he buys 
land of Wm. Wheaton. 

KiN(;, William, 1728, is allowed a lot, four rods north and 
south, and two rods east and west, below Long Bridge, west 
side of Mill river for a tannery. 

Ketchum, John, of Huntington, and Hannah Bishop, m. June 
11, 1728; and had, Hannah, Sarah, Joseph, Jonas, Zophar, I{e" 
becca, and Ruth. This fiimily is still represented here. 

Kimball, Henry, 1690, blacksmith, late of Boston, binds 
himself to pay Moses Knap, jun. l)laeksmith, forty-three 

Lawrence, Thomas, sells land in the rear of his house lot to 
John Thompson, in 1667-8, and was made freeman in 1670. 
He was one of the wealthy men of the town^ as the list of 
1687 shows. " Lawrence's iarm" was a noted locality in that 
day. He died in 1091, as his inventory testifies. 

Leeds. How early this familj' came to Stamford or whence 
they came, no records probably show. Our catalogue of the 
births before 1700, gives us the family of John and Mary, re- 
corded here; and their cliildrt'n are: Jonathan, b. Oct. 12, 
109:J; John, b. lAlarch 8, '04; Sarah, Feb. 8, '96; Samuel, 
Feb. 21, '97; Ebcnezer, Jan. 12, 1700, and Mary, Oct. 23, 


An interesting letter from 11. H. Leeds, Esq., of Xew York 
city, to his kinsman, J. W. Leeds of Stamford, indicates the 
locality of the family in England. 

Two brothers, John and William Leeds, once owned mainly 
the territory on tvhich the present city of Leeds is built, and 
from them the city takes its name. One of the descendants 
of William, was that Doctor Leeds, of Clare Hall, Cambridge, 
who purchased the manor of Craxton, near the middle of the 
10th century. Three of his descendants came to Amei'ica 
about 1650, one of them settling in Stamford, one in New 
London, and the other in New Jersey. The first record, I 
think, in Stamford, in which that name occurs is found under 
date of Sept. 30, 1692. It states that Mr. John Leeds made 
complaint before Jonathan Bell, commissioner, against a Mr. 
Johanes Courtland, merchant of New York, " for want of the 
iron work for carrying on of the vessel which he the said 
Leades is in building, for the said Courtland". Cary Leeds buys 
land here of John Waterbury, in 1708. 

A Cary and Martha Leeds, were living here early in the last 
century, having children ; John, b. Dec. 13, 1714; Gideon, b. 
May 4, '16 ; Israel, b. Sept. 29, '19 ; and Cary, b. to his wid- 
owed mother, Sept. 4, '30, the father Cary having d. June 
7, '30. This Cary, m. Sept. 6, '57, Mary Giles, and was the 
grandfather of the present John W. Leeds, president of Stam- 
ford Bank. 

Lloyd — The first mention of Joiix Lloyd, the ancestor of 
this family in Stamford on our town records, bears date Dee. 
17, 1747. He makes a plea to the town for permission to cart 
a " parcel of small stones out of his orchard on to the " sloug- 
hey" place in the road between the town and the common 
landing place, by Peter Demills especially " in the flat land all 
along the front of my orchard" ; and that he might be credited 
with this expense on the town-tax account. The record of this 
family is so exact, on the register of births, that I will copy it. 
The familv did not remain long in town, yet he must have been 


a prominent man during our revolutionary period to liave been 
appointed to offices which he held. 

" Henky was born in Stamford, in Connecticut, unto John and Sarah 
Lloyd, on Friday ye 22nd day of July, 1743, at ten minutes after eleven a 
clock in ye day, and was christened by ye Rev. Mr. Eichard Caner of Nor- 
walk, ye 5th day of August, 1743. 

■JoHK, was born Feb. 22, 1744, nine minutes after six o'clock, evening, 
and christened by Kev. Mr. Samuel Seibury of Hamstead, Nov. 31, 1744 ; 
Rebecca, born in Stamford on Fryday, Jan. 2nd, 1746-7, at four o'clock in 
ye morning, and was baptized bv ye Rev. Mr. Ebenezer Dibble, June ve 
29th, 1746. 

Abigail, on Wednesday, Feb. ye 13, 1750, at four o'clock in the morning, 
and was baptized by Rev, Mr. Ebenezer Dibble, March ye 3, 1750. 

Sarah, born Monday July ye 2nd, 17G3, at 40 minutes after one of the 
clock in ye morning, and was baptized by the Rev. Mr. Ebenezer Dibble, 
July 29th, 1753." 

Lewis, John and Martha Fincli, married here April 23, 1729, 
and had a daughter Sarah recorded to them, Aug. 11, '39, and 
a son James, March 27, '41-2. Jonathan and Millecent Weed, 
married, March 20, '74, and had son James, born July 15, '75. 

Lines, David and Mary Cheson, married, Jan. 14, 1747-8, and 
had Mary, born April 9, '49; Polly, January 21, '52; Esther, 
Jan. 12, '55, and IS^ancy, Feb. 28, '57. 

LoxG.WELL, John and Susannali, had a David born, Feb. 3, 
1736-7, and a John in '46. 

LoDER. Several of this name were living here after, about 
1710, the name first occurring in 1685. 

LouNSBUEY, Richard, the first of this name recorded, was here 
in 1684. He and his wife Elizabeth, had son Henry born in 
that year. Michael Lounsbury in 1702, bought land on "Pep- 
per Ridge, near Taunton." He married Sarah Lockwood. This 
name has been quite numerous in the north part of the town. 

Marshall, John, has land assigned him by the town in 1667 ; 
and in 1687, he buys land of Richard Scofield. Xehemiah 
Marshall and Patience Webb, were married April 4, 1743, and 
had two children, Bethiah and Nehemiah, recorded to them. 

Maltby, Jonathan and Sarah, had son Jonathan, born June 
29, 1720. He was one of the prominent men of the town for a 


number of years. He attained colonel's rank in military life, 
and held various civil offices in the gift of his townsmen. 

Mathews, Thomas, shepherd, appears as an inhabitant on the 
land record in 1690, and on leaving town on an expedition for 
Albany and " Canadey," mortgaged his real estate as security 
for his debts. The land had been laid out to him in 1687. 

MiDDLEBEOOKS, Nathaniel and Elizabeth Hoyt, married 1749, 
and their child Mary was born March 16, '53, at which date the 
father was one of the town school committee. In '59, Nathan 
Middlebrook is named on the town committee. 

MoTT, John, 1735, had married widow Abigail Ayers, and 
with her gives quit claims to iier children for their father Rich- 
ard's estate. 

Nichols, Robert and Elizabeth liad recorded to them, Ruth, 
Mary, Robert, Sarah, Abraham, Noah, David and Reuel. 
Thonias Nichols was here on official list of the town in 1763, 
and Robert in '74. The flimily name is still well represented 

Norton, Hugh and Mercy had a son James born in 

May, 1729, and a son William who died, Aug. 16, '31. The 
death of the father is recorded, May 12, '38, and that of tlie 
mother. May 11, '34-5. 

OsBORN, Abner and Marcy Pettit, married here. May 13, 
1752, and had Samuel, Ebenezer, Benjamin, Mary and David. 

Palmer, Samuel and Hannali Cross, married Mar. 31, 1715, 
and had daughter Hannah. This flimily name is still honored 
not only on our citizens' list, but in one of our finest hills. 

Pardee, John, married Sarah Webb, and Joshua married Eli- 
zabeth Webb, and both of them had families here soon after 
the middle of the last century. 

Parketox, James and Mary, had children here ; Mary, 
James, Denne and John. In 1752, he is allowed £20, "old 
tenor money" for keeping his mother-in-law Abigail Whitehing, 


Peltox, Robert, 1744. Pekiiy, Jehu, '09. 

Pauuy, JosepI), admitted inhabitant, 1718. 

Philips, George 1688, is admitted an inhabitant "if lie comes 
here to settle with his fiimily." 

Plait, Stephen, admitted inliabitant, from Huntington, in 

Pond, Nathaniel, 1696, " blacksmith, late ot Branford," buys 
land east of Koroton river of Jonathan Selleck, and in 1698, he 
also buys and sells land on Stony Brook. He was by vote ad- 
mitted an inhabitant, Jan. 31, 1708-9. He had a large family. 

Potts, Thomas and Hannah Garnsy, were married, Jan. 1, 
1735-6, and had children here. 

Powers, Andrew, buys land in 1775, of Peter Weed in 
Canaan parish. 

PuRDY, Joseph and Elizabeth Ferris, m. Dee. 25, 1723, had 
Mary, Joseph, and Elizabeth. 

Peovoece, (Provost,) Samuel and Sarah Bishop, m. Jan. 5, 
1765, and had nine children. A brother of this Samuel came 
to Stamford about the same time and had also a family. 

QuiNTARD, Isaac. This pioneer of the Stamford family of 
this name, as his grave stone in the north east corner of the 
Episcopal burying ground testifies, was " born in Bristol, in Old 
England," and died "February ye last day 1738, aged 42 yrs." 
How early the family came to Stamford no record shows. Our 
records have the marriage of. Isaac Quintard and Hannah 
Knapp in 1716, from which, it is probable that the pioneer, 
then a young man of twenty years, had found his way out of 
New York and been ensnared by one of our Knapp maidens. 
Five children are recorded here, the first born April 1721 ; the 
second born May, 1722; Hannah, b. June 28, '24; Isaac, b. 
Dec. 29, '27; and Peter, born in '30. The first appearance of 
the name on our records which I have found, is in a record of 
sale of land from Robert Embree to " Isaac Quintard of New 
York City, merchant," dated Oct. 1, 1708. The land was 


bounded by the home lot of Bates, north ; by the home lots of 
Sam. Halt and Sam. Scofield, deceased, east ; by the common, 
west and south. 

Peter, son of Isaac, married in 1761, Elizabeth Do Mill, and 
liad five children, of whom Isaac the second child, married Han- 
nah Palmer, March 20, 1786, and had six children, of whom, 
Isaac, the third son now occupies the house which his father was 
occupying at the opening of this century. 

Reed, John, the progenitor of this family in Stamford, ac- 
cording to the family history, was born in Cornwall, Eng- 
land, and in his si.\;teenth year entered Cromwell's army, and 
on the restoration of Charles II. came to America. He is sup- 
posed to have stopped first in Providence, R. I. — thence he 
went to Rye, N. Y. — thence to N^orwalk, where we find a 
.lohn Reed in 1636 or '67 John Reed, jr. of Norwalk, son of 
the John above, in '91, buys land of Stephen Clason, of Stam- 
ford. In 1709, he buys of Cornelius Jones, and '1.3, of Jona- 
than Bates. The land was lying on the Five-mile river, near his 
father's homestead. This family has been quite numerous. 

Rich, Henry, purchases of Caleb Webb land 1681, 
and of Samuel Webb his home lot on the west side of 
Mill river, in the " Ox pasture so called." In '80, on publish- 
ing his intention of marriage with Martha Penoyer, a minor, 
her guardian objected. They, however, drew up articles of 
agreement between themselves and the parties to be maiTied, 
on signing which " with witnesses, legally, then ye overseers do 
so for consent yt ye partys may proceed in marriage ; ye 20tli 
of December, 1680." Both "Hennery" and Martha, sign the 
bond with their marks. In '85, this Henry Rich mortgages 
his land and house lot on Horseneck, to secure Thomas Penoyer 
of Stamford, having sold his real estate in Stamford in '84. 

RoBEKTS Zachariah, by special vote is admitted an inhabi- 
tant, Jan. 31, 1708-9. He was said to be of Bedford, when 
he first purchased land herein '01. 
RiciiAEDS, Samuel and Esther Hadyii, married, Nov. 24, 


1768, and had Sarah, b. '70; Esther. '71 ; Lewis, '73; Xoyse, 

Skeldixg, Thomas, 1701. married Kebecca Austin and their 
sou, Thomas, was b. in '03 

St. Johx, David, blacksmith, 1758, is allowed by vote of the 
town to settle at Woodpecker Ridge. 

James, and ITanna Ilait, m. Sept. 1 1), 1753, and had a large 

Selleck. — This family, natives of Wales, as the tradition 
is, were in Boston as early as 1043. Two of the sons of David 
and Susanna Selleek of Boston, — Jonathan, born. May 20, '41, 
the very year of our settlement, and John, b. April 21, '43; 
came to Stamford about the year '60. Jonathan had house and 
land recorded to him in '63. 

Jonathan, married Abigail, daughter of Richard liaw, and 
had his first child, Jonathan, born here, July, 11, 1664. He had 
two other sons, David, b. Jan. 21, '66, and John, who graduated 
at, in '90. These sons all died, so Savage tells, us before 
the father's death, which is recorded as taking place, Jan. 10. 
1712-13. This Jonathan was a prominent man, and at his 
death he bequeathed his Latin, Greek and Hebrew books to 
the Rev. Mr. Davenport. 

John-, the other pioneer of this name, made freeman, 1669 ; 
married Sarah Law, a sister of his brother Jonathan's wife and 
had children, Sarah, b. August 22, 1669 ; David, b. Dee. 27, 1672; 
Xathaniel, b. April 7, '78 ; John, b. June 7, '81 ; Susanna, b. 
Feb. 2, '83, and Joanna, b. May 31, '80. This John was a weal- 
thy ship-owner and captain. Under date, Feb. 25, '68-9, the 
town granted Mr. John Selleck a piece of waste land by the 
landing place to set a dwelling-hou<e, or ware-house. He was 
taken prisoner on a voyage to England, in May, '89, by the 
French, and never returned to Stamford. His estate was settled 
here in 1700, and was very large. A branch of this family went 
just after our revolutionary war to Oyster Bay, on Long Island, 


where, down to the present clay there are found worthy repre- 
Hentatives of the name. Abigail, wife of Maj. Selleck, d. Dec. 
20, 'II. 

Stone, John, in 1701, sells to Zach. Roberts, sen. of Bedford, 
the laud and house he botight of Samuel Dean. He was one of 
the townsmen for a number of years. 
SrrART, Charles, was here in 1763. 

SruDWELL, Joseph, was here in 1667. Thomas was here in 
March, '67-8, and binds himself to pay for, or return a cata- 
logue of goods, among which were hatters tools. As securit)', 
he mortgaged three acres of meadow in the East field. 

Sturges, Christopher, admitted inhabitant by rote in town 
meeting, 1718, and had a son, Jabez, b. here, '21. For several 
years after '23, he is enrolled among the town officials. His 
wife, Mary, d. Feb. 17, '46-7. 

Stuedivant, Wm. In 1682, Nicholas "Webster, receives from 
the townsmen apiece of land in the rear of his lot, which had 
been layed out to this Wm. Sturdivant. 

Talmadoe, Thomas, was here in 1709, and by vote admitted 
an inhabitant. He married Marj' Weed, and had a daughter 
Hannah. Ho had married again in '21, when his son James was 

Thompson, John, " gunsmith and resident in Stamford," sells 
house and lands to Jonathan Selleck, May 7, 1667. He was here, 
also, in '69 and in '70 — sold land to Richard Webb. 

Tkthern, (Tryon) Edward, appears on the land record as 
early as 1684. One of his daughters married John Webster. 
Sarah, his wife, died here, Sept. 2, 1702, and his death oc- 
curred May 14, '74; down to which date his name is found quite 
frequently in the records. 

T:ior.P, Charles, was living hire in 17:V-i, w'leu his son P^d- 
',vnrd was born. 
Todd, Jolin, jr. was an inhabitant in 1774. 
Tl-rney, Joseph, had lands laid out to him in 1686 ^on the 



Other, (east) side of Noroton river. He was a man of some 
means. The family has never been numerous here. 

Walsh, James and Rebecca, had children ; Hannah, b. at 
Croswise, Jan. 17, 1736; Catherine, at Stamford, Aug. 1^, '38 ; 
Mary. Feb. 8,1701-2; James, Aug. 28, '44; Jane, Oct. 17, 
'46 ; Lydia, Daniel and Abraham, Feb. 7, '49-50. The name is 
spelled both Walsh and Welsh. 

Warixg, Michael, came from Queen's Village, L. I. in 1717 
in company with James White and Thomas Brush. They pur- 
chased on Longridge. The family for two or three genera- 
tions must have been quite numerous. In the first deed the 
names is Waron. 

Waters, John, married here in 1753, Oliver Delavan, and 
had a large family in the north pai't of the town. 

Wardwell, (Wardell) William, is the first of this family on 
our records. He was a son of Usual and Grace Wardwcll of 
Ipswich, Mass. and was born in Bristol, R. I. May 13, 1693. The 
name appears here, Dec. 7, 1726, with that of Margaret his wife. 
Their daughter, Hannah is in the record of births. In '35, in 
Society's meeting, four pounds and nineteen shillings were 
granted to him for work, which by committee's order, had been 
done to Mr. Wright's house. In '43 he is recorded as sealer of 

Wescott, — Spelled first Westgatt and variously afterwai-d. 
Daniel was here pretty soon after 1660, and Avas propounded for 
freeman of the Conn. Colony, at the Hartford Court, in Oct. '69. 
He and his brother John had come probably from Fairfield, to 
which place they had come from Wethersfield. Both of them 
are reported frequently on the land records, 

Wescott, John and Rose Holmes of Bedford, married April 

Wheei.ek, Justus and Elizabeth bad a son Justus, born in 
Whitney, Eliaseph is reported en the records in 1 748. 


Whiting, Joseph, is in business liere, 1724, and same year had 
recorded the birth and death of a daughter, Sarah. His wife 
Abigail died in '33, and he married Hannali Beachgood, Jan. 
25, '33-4. 

White, James came from Huntington, L. I. in 1717. In coid- 
pauy with Michael Waring and Thomas Brush, he purchases 
of John Holly a tract of 246 acres, bounded by the New York 
State line on the north, by hills east of Great Meadow on the 
east, by Stony Brook on the north, and Miannus river on the 
west. He married Elizabeth Waring, Feb. 30, 1720, and had 
children, Timothy, Sarah, Jacob, Richard, Uriah and James. The 
family are still in possession of a part of the first purchase made 
by James, the pioneer, on Long Ridge. 

WiATT, Nathaniel and Mary, had son Henry, born in 1720. 
He was among the town officials in 1737. 

Wheaton, Benjamin and his wife Ruth had son Samuel, born 
here in 1750-1. How long the family had been here does not 
appear. The marriage of Jemima Wheaton to Reuben Holly 
is recorded in 1748-9. Samuel Wheaton and Mary Skelding 
were married in 1776, and had here, Mary, Samuel S., John S. 
and Eliza Ann. The Wheatons of New England, are said to be 
descended from an immigrant from Swansea, Wales, Avho settled 
in Rehoboth, Mass. 

WiLLSON, John, Dr. 1705, began the practice of medicine here, 
and was the fiither of a family of physicians. That his father's 
family were living here previous to his birth, our records do not 
show; though his descendants suppose that they were. 

WiLMOT, Zophar and Sarah Webb, married Dee. 29, 1760, 
and had children ; John, b. July 9, 1702 ;Enos, April 18, 1766 : 
and James, Nov. 17, 1769. 

WiLMOT, Joseph and Hannah, had a sou Isaac, b. Nov. 20, 

Williamson, John, married Mercy Hoyt, Sept. 17, 1740, and 
had children, Joanna, b. Mayo, 1748; and Mary, Sept. 8, 1750. 

196 nlSTOllY OF SlAlIi-OEtl. 

WooLSEY, Gilbert, buys laud liere of Thomas Morehouse, in 
1G72. The name reajjpears again in Ebenezer and Margaret his 
wife who had children here; Anna, in 1717; Thomas, in 21 ; 
and Mehotable, in '23. In '25„ he is said to be of Fairfield, 
when he buys land on Ox Ridge, of David Waterbury. In 
'28, he is said to be of Stamford, and sells land to Abraham 
TVooster, of Ripton Parish, Stratford. In '30, he is allowed by 
the society to pay his church rates elsewhere. He died in Jan. 
'05. There must have been quite a family of this name here 
down to about 1800. 



The SL'c'oiul quarter of the eighteenth century was marked in 
this country by the varying struggle between the English and 
French for supremacy, on the border ground of the colonial 
settlements. With a more persuasive policy, the French had 
made friends of the Indians more readily than the English, and 
as early as I'TST, attempted to use the advantage thus gained 
by erecting a fort at Crown Point— then claimed as within En- 
glish territory. From this time until 17C3, there was no settled 
peace between the two parties, and the conflict which ensued 
called for large forces from all of the English settlements. How 
many of the three thousand soldiers, called into the service 
from Connecticut were from Stamford, we have no records to 
show. That the people of the town were not indifferent wit- 
nesses to the struggle is evident from occasional records still 
preserved. Of these we shall give the fullest account which 
can now be made up from reliable authorities. 

Two men appear now on the stage here, who were to become, 
before our revolutionary period should close, the two most 
eminent representatives of the town, the one in civil and the 
other in military service. Abraham Davenport, now entering 
upon the prime of his manhood, was one of that band of large 
minded citizens of the State, who attempted the permanent oc- 
cupancy of the Susquehanna grant. This movement was origin- 
ally made in the interest of the English against the Indians — a 
colony which should be so mature and so thoroughly protect- 
ed, as to furnish a sort of bulwark against any future invasions 


from hostile ludiau tribes. And upon the success of sucli a 
colony would largely depend the future conduct of the Indians, 
as they should be tempted by Spanish or French appeals to 
them lor aid against the English. 

David Waterbury, another son of Stamford, was now brought 
forward into military life, and we find him before the close of 
these French hostilities doing acceptable service with his regi- 
ment, having already attained a major's rank. We must always 
regret the loss of the personal journals and letters, which these 
and others who were with them in the conflicts of these years 
of strife, must have written. From our town records, however, 
we shall find enough to hint, at least, the temper and mettle of 
the people, though a full catalogue, even, of those who served 
in these wars from Stamford it will be impossible now to make. 

The following records still found in our book, No. I, of births, 
marriages and deaths, show how faithful the good clerk, Joseph 
Bishop was to make honorable mention of the soldiers' sacrifice. 
His own sou is the first victim of the war whose fall he has to 

" Joseph Bishop, a Sholger, son of Joseph Bishop of Stam- 
ford, died with sickness at Lake George, Nov. 25, at night in 
the year 1755." 

" Stephen Ambler, a soldier in the expedition at Lake George 
in 1754, son to Sergeant Stephen Ambler, died on his return at 
Sharon, Oct. 19, 1756." 

" Ezra Halt, of Stamford a sholger, dyed at Albyny Dec. 28, 

" Joseph Ferris, a Shoulger from Stamford in ye expedition 
towards Crown point in ye year 1756, in his return from the 
expedition dyed with sickness at Newfilford, on December ye 
IS, 1756." 

Peter Scofield, Reuben Scofield, and Abijah Weed, were also 
active in the military service of these years : and, also, among 
the revolutionary soldiers of the war of independence. Ben- 
jamin Webb, grandfather of Benjamin S. Webb, was at the tak- 
ing of Quebec by the English under Wolfe in 1759 ; and Char- 


les Webb, who became so prominent an actor in the revolution- 
ary period began here, also, his military career. 

The following record shows that Stamford was not yet utterly 
wanting in allegiance to the government of her sovereign, and 
also indicates three of the principal, perhaps the three most pro- 
minent citizens of the town. 

At a town meeting held in 1*757, the town voted, that if the 
"Lord of London" shall send regvdars into this town, the town 
will bear the charge of accommodating them with what shall 
be necessary for them." A tax of one penny on a ponnd is 
voted and Samuel Broker is appointed collector to gather it in 
by the first day of March next and hand it over to the commit- 
tee. Col. Jona. Hoyt, Mr. Abraham Davenport and Ensign Hol- 
ly, if the regulars come, and if not, he is excused from collecting 
the rate. 

In December 1V58, we find the following record. " Col. Hoyt, 
Mr. Abraham Davenport, and Ensign Holly are appointed a 
committee, to supply his majesty's regular forces now quartered 
in this town, with fire wood for their guard room and hospital 
and what bedding they shall think proper to provide them with, 
to be paid for out of the town treasury." We find, also, that 
the Governor and company of the Colony of Connecticut, at 
their meeting in New Haven, on the second Thursday of Octo- 
ber, 1758, ordered the colony treasurer to pay the town of Stam- 
ford 369£, 13 shillings and fourpence half penny to reimburse 
the town for cost of kueping " a part of Colonel Eraser's High- 
land battalion the last winter." Tiie following certificate from 
the committee is also on record. 

These may certify your Honors, that the Highland soldiers 
ordered to be quartered in the town of Stamford, arrived at said 
town, Nov. 30, 1757, and were quartered thereuntil March, 30, 
'58. The number of soldiers, officers included was 250. There 
were also belonging to them, seventeen women and nine chil- 
dren. They were at the cost of the town provided with house- 
room, bedding, firewood, candles, &c., &c. Their officers in- 


sisted upon their beinr; kept within a small compass, whieh ex- 
posed us to much more trouble and cost than otherwise would 
have been necessary. 
Stamford, April 28, 1758. 

JoNA. IIoYT, ] Committee to 

Abr. Davenport, )■ ^Z take care 
' ] of the Hicjh- 
Jxo. Holly, J landers. 

In addition to the names already reported as prominent citi- 
zens of the town at this period, we find those of Jonathan Dib- 
ble and Charles Webb, in the Legislature. In military com- 
mission, the town had David Waterbury, a captain in the 9th re- 
giment. Conn. Militia, and in 1658, major in the 3rd regiment ; 
Col. David Wooster, who in the revolutionary war became a gen- 
eral ; and Joseph Hoyt, 1st lieutenant, who became one of the 
most gallant of our revolutionarj' colonels. 

The rolls of military papers preserved in the State Library in 
Hartford, gives us also the following names of Stamford men in 
the service during these wars. 

In 1754, Charles Knap, ensign, was discharged and Joseph 
Hasted chosen in his place. In Nov. of this year, Joseph Wood 
was chosen lieutenant of Capt. White's company. 

In 1755, CO. 5th of 4th regiment, was officered by Samuel 
Hanford, capt. ; Joseph Iloyt, lieut. and Isaiah Starr, 2d lieut. 
to go against Crown Point. 

March 10, 1757, Col. Jonathan Hait, notifies Capt. David 
Waterbury that his ensign, John Waterbury, had asked for dis- 
charge from having fallen from his horse and broken his leg. 
Samuel Hutton was chosen in his place. 

Jonathan Maltby was captain of Co. 2 ; and on his rcsignalion, 
Ebenezer Weed was chosen capt. Ezra Smith, lieut., and Char- 
les Knap, ensign. 

In the east part of the town the companj' called out in 1747, 
had for its officers, Jonathan Bates, capt. ; Jonathan Selleck, 
lieutenant, and Thomas Hanford and Nathan Keed, ensigns. 

These wars did not of course expose our township to any hos- 


tile invasion from the Frencli forces, and so Stamford, felt no 
other interest in them than that of a loyal colony of His Ma- 
jesty's royal government. But the service which the town here 
rendered, was not without its value, in fitting her sons for the 
great struggle, whose seeds were everywhere being sown. 

The Earl of Loudoun, whose forces we find quartered here, 
must have left, among our observing citiisens the feeling that it 
would not be always safest for the colonies to be at the mercy 
of so much haughtiness. His sway must have at times seemed too 
imperious to be borne ; and the inference would be, that the gov- 
ernment which would commission and sustain such ministers ot 
their authority, could not be long endured. Already the Bos- 
tonians had muttered, not indistinctly, their discontent. " If the 
English cannot protect us from the French and Indians, let us 
have the management of our affairs and we shall at least know 
what we can do"— was the under current of feeling which was 
beginning to unite the English colonies, for their own defense 
and control. That our townsmen shared largely in this feeling 
we shall soon see. 

The following are the only other names I have been able to 
recover of the citizens of the town engaged in these wars : — 

Jonathan, Sylvanus and Deliverance Slasou, sons of Deliver- 
ance and Hannah (Hoyt) Slason, of whom Jonathan was in the 
navy of the war. Neither of the sons ever returned. 

Ebenezer and Walter Weed sons of John Weed, were also in 
the service, of whom Ebenezer died while on shipboard. 

Xothing else of material interest to our history occurred dur- 
ing these years, save what will be detailed in our religious and 
ecclesiastical record in a future chapter. There was a moderate 
growth in population and wealth in the town ; and doubtless a 
smoothing off of the early roughness of the ruder period. New 
roads were opened, new and better bridges spanned our streams, 
sol)ool-houses multiplied as the population scattered over the ter- 
ritory, a better culture was increasing the agricultural produc- 
tions of the soil, and preparation was going on for still more 



marked improvements in the future history of the town. Of 
the capabilities of the town in means, and men, and patriotism, 
the following chapters will furuisli us the best proofs. 



At the commencement of the revolutionaiy war, Connecticut 
numbered but sixty-seven towns, and Stamford ranked in popu- 
lation the sixteenth. Her grand list was £34,078 8 shillings, 
which evidenced a still higher rank in means than in population. 
The year 1775 found her represented in the State Assembly by 
David Waterbnry and Charles Webb, both of whom had seen 
service in the old French war, and were therefore competent to 
advise in the present emergencies of the state ; and by an unu- 
sual stroke of good fortune, she was also honored in the senate 
of the state, by the first name among her civilians, the Hon. 
Abraham Davenport, who also had been active and influential 
during the long struggles of the French and Indian wars. The 
long expected crisis had now come. Everything indicated war. 
Yet though there were many reasons why our townsmen would 
be likely to shrink from an earnest contest with the mother 
country, they were not altogether unprepared for it. They had 
both the men and the means to begin and prosecute the strug- 

At the head of our ministers, of which the town then counted 
only five, was that patriot and scholar. Dr. Noah Welles, who, 
since his sermon preached Dee. 19, 1765, to arouse the people 
over the great outrage attempted against them by the Stamp 
Act, had missed no opportunity of encouraging his townsmen 
to a manly resistance against all such oppression ; and who, 
though called to lay down his useful life even at the beginning 
of the struggle, yet lived long enough to preach his annual 


thanksgiving sermon, Nov. 16, 1775. In tliat sermon, a manu- 
script copy of which is in my possession, he moved his people to 
a grateful commemoration of the goodness of their father's God 
as shown them in " frustrating the plans of our enemies," espe- 
cially in their attempts to secure the aid of the Canadians, and 
Indians and negroes ; in so signally preserving tlie lives of our 
exposed people ; in granting the remarkable success attending 
our military enterprizes at Lexington, Charleston, and more 
lately to the north, in which though " engaged with the best 
British troops " he assures them we were " yet never worsted ;" 
and in inspiring the remarkable union and harmony through 
the colonies in the present struggle for liberty." 

Nor behind him, in his fervent patriotism, was that faithful 
co-adjutor, Rev. Dr. Moses Mather, then the patriot minister of 
the Middlesex, (Darlen) Church, and so soon to test his patriot- 
ism, amid the insulting jeers of the ruthless soldiery who were 
to drag him from his own consecrated sanctuary, and still more 
triumphantly, amid the cruel hardships and threatened horrors 
of the execrable Provost prison to which he was doomed. 

At the head of our civilians stood the honorable Abraham 
Davenport, a man of college education, long familiar with the 
public service in civil life, well grounded in such legal learning 
as enabled him, with no misgivings, to rely upon the essential 
justice of the revolutionary cause, endowed, more than most 
men, with an instinctive reverence for what was right and an 
inflexible purpose to insist upon it, and what was ot scarcely 
less value to him for the part he was called to act, the inheritor 
of a large estate, and the father of an educated and now influ- 
ential lamily who thoroughly sympathized with him in his 
espousal of the patriot cause. 

Side by side with him, ready to the utmost of their means 
to sustain any measures which might promise to aid them in as- 
serting the rights of the colonies against the unjust demands of 
the «rown, stood the substantial citizens of the town — the 
Hoyts, ind Hollys, and Lockwoods, and Knapps, and Scofields, 


and Smiths, and Seelys, and Warings, and Waterburys, and 
Webbs, and Weeds. 

Nor were we without military men for the emergency. There 
were the Waterburys then known as senior and junior, the 
former long a colonel in the continental service who had earned 
some reputation for good judgment and military ability in the 
field, and the latter soon to earn by his personal fitness for it, 
the rank of general of brigade ; and also the two Webbs, father 
and son, the one now a colonel, to test and prove his claim still 
more fully in several well fought battles of the pending strife, 
and the other to pay the forfeit of his active and not unmerito- 
rious service with his own imprisonment and death. Then there 
was the spirited Joseph Hoyt, the leader of our minute men, 
who only needed to hear that patriot blood had been shed at 
Le.xington, to fly to our exposed metropolis for its defense, and 
who was so soon to become the fighting colonel of our fighting 
seventh ; and then our captains and lieutenants and ensigns, 
and, still more needed and helpful than they, our long list of 
resolute privates, honoring the name of all our principal Stam- 
ford families and cheerfully girding themselves for manliest de- 
fense of their homes. Thus with one brigadier, two or more 
colonels, a half dozen captains, a full dozen lieutenants, with a 
immber of commissaries and agents of the military power, sus- 
tained by a gallant band of the rank and file of the army for 
independence, Stamford, in spite of the special temptations to 
the opposite course, maintained her honor in that great struggle 
which made these British colonies forever free from the dicta- 
tion and greed of an unscrupulous foreign power. 

An incident occurred in Mai'ch, 1774, which might seem to 
forebode indecision and weakness among the patriots of the 
town. A special town meeting had been called to appoint de- 
legates to the convention to be held, March 27th in Middletown. 
After the meeting was opened by the appointment of Colonel 
Abraham Davenport, moderator ; it was voted that the town 
will appoint a committee to meet at Middletown on the last 


Wednesday in March, instant, there to consult proper measures 
to be pursued to evade the evils which the town apprehend they 
are in danger of concerning Susquehannah." 

After this vote, which for aught that appears was unanimous, 
Capt. Fyler Dibble and Dr. John Wilson were appointed the 
committee. The meeting adjourned to meet again on the 11th 
of the following month to hear the report of the committee. At 
the appointed time the adjourned meeting was held. The town 
make an appropriation to cover the expenses of the committee 
and vote, that the petition recommended by the Middletown 
Convention, should be signed by the town clerk, Samuel Jar- 
vis, in the name of the town, and forwarded to the Assembly at 
its next Session. 

This petition was a lengthy argument framed in the interests 
of the Pennsylvanians against the claims of Connecticut to the 
territory then held by her citizens and subject to her authority. 
The convention authorizing it, was made up of delegates from 
only twenty-three of the sixty-three towns belonging to the 
state ; and their action received but little sympathy from the 
mass of the people. Their petition was couched in terms indi- 
cating an excessive loyalty to the English government and a 
readiness to abide by almost any decision of the crown. !Mr. 
IngersoU of Pennsylvania, later an avowed tory. Captain 
Dibble and Mr. Jarvis of Stamford also enrolled themselves 
among those loyal still to the king ; and it would seem that the 
Stamford people, in mass, were by this action committed to the 
side of the crown against the revolution, whose beginnings 
were already felt and seen. 

But a few months will show how erroneous such a conclusion 
would be. We shall find ample record to show, that during 
that long struggle, the great majority of our townsmen were 
heartily and self-sacrifieingly for the war. Before the opening 
of hostilities on the eventful 19th of April, 1775, our citizens 
had expressed themselves unequivocally for the patriot cause. 
The insolence of the crown, exhibited in the arbitrary and ty- 


rannical acts which disgraced the records of the English parlia- 
ment from the time Grenville, in 1763, accepted Jenkinson's 
Stamp Act as the legal process for collecting revenue in America, 
down to that most odious coercion act which closed the port of 
Boston, had most effectually schooled the great mass of Ameri- 
can citizens to an earnest and impassioned resistance to any 
further demands of the English government. Henceforth, not 
even the former concessions to the crown would be allowed ; 
and the people of the several colonies, needed only a few months 
of mutual interchange of opinions and purpose to be fully pre- 
pared for their irrevocable declaration of independence. To 
prepare the way for that declaration, the voice of Stamford was 
not wanting. The Boston Port Bill had been passed and great 
suffering was the result. Our patriot citizens felt that the in- 
sult and injury done to Boston was also intended for themselves 
and all who had ventured to question the right of the British 
parliament to issue and enforce such demands ; and they would 
not meanly shrink from an open espousal of the cause which 
had already brought down the vengeance of the crown upon 
their suffering brethren. Accordingly they met on the 7th of 
October, 1774, in the town house, which proving too small for 
the patriot band, they immediately adjourned to the meeting 
house, when the following minute was promptly passed. 

"The inhabitants of this town sensibly affected with the distress to 
which the town of Boston and province of Massachusetts Bay are subjected 
by several unconstitutional acts of the British parliament ;'•••* hoping 
to convince the people of this continent that notwithstanding our long si- 
lence we are by no means unwilling to join with our sister towns to aspert 
our just rights and oppose every design of a corrupt ministry to enslave 
America, do declare that we acknowledge our subjection to the crown of 
Great Britain and all the conslitutional powers thereto belonging as esta- 
blished in the illustrious house of Hanover ; that it is our earnest desire 
that the same peaceable connexion should subsist between us and the mo- 
ther country as had subsisted for a long time before the late unconstitution- 
al measures adopted by the parliament of Great Britain ; and we hope that 
some plan will be found out by the general congress to effect the reconcilia- 
tion we wish for ; yet we are determined by every lawful way to join with 
our sister colsnies resolutely to defend our just rights : • • '• thiit we are 
pleased that a congress of deputies from the colony is now met at Philadel- 
phia, and relying upon the wisdom of that body we declare that we are 
ready to adopt such reasonable measures as shall by thenj be judged for 
the general good of the inhabitants of America." 


This action testifies to the heartiness with which our towns- 
men entered upon the great struggle against tlie encroachments 
of the mother country. Before the opening of the war the peo- 
ple had been prepared lor it. And when the news of the first 
battle at Lexington and Concord reached the town it wasfo und 
ready with a prompt response. Xew York, then rapidly ad- 
vancing in importance, was thought to be in especial danger 
from an invasion of the enemy. Joseph Hoyt of Stamford, who 
had now for about twenty years been in military life enlisted 
immediately a company of thirty men and started for the city. 
As no immediate danger was apprehended to the city the com- 
pany returned to Stamford and reported only eight days service. 

The bill of service thus rendered, would in these days be 
deemed a model for economy. I append it in full. 
Whole pay for men's time. 
Cash expended by CajDt. Hoj't on the marcli, 
Cash expended by Lieut. Webb, 
Cash expended by Lieut. Ezra Lockwood, 

A sloop with part of the company and 12 men be- 
longing to Greenwich, under Capt. Hoyt, from Xew 
York to Stamford, 
Capt. Iloyt's horse liire, 

£28 8 4 
The Ezra Lockwood here reported as lieutenant, is enrolled 
on the company list as a private. All of the names are found in 
our alphabetical list. 

But not thus easily were our toivn^^meu to meet their obliga- 
tions to the patriot cause. On returning Captain Iloyt com- 
menced raising another company, for the continental service, 
wherever needed. By the sixth of July, he had organized a 
company of seventy-five men who were reported ready for duty. 
The names would indicate that nearly all of them were Stam- 
ford men. This second company continued in the service until 
December 24, 1775, and the entire cost of the service rendered 














by them was reported an one thousantl one hundred and tliirty- 
nine and a half pounds sterling. 

A third company was raised here early in the Spring of 1770. 
Ill 0113 of the pay-rolls of this company it is called the " Com- 
pany of Col. David Waterbury, in the regiment of forces of 
the United colonies under command of Colonel David Water- 
bury." On the list David Waterbury is enrolled as colonel and 
captain, and Sylvanus Brown as captain and lieutenant. The 
number of days service is appended to the names, and this will 
indicate the company in the alphabetical list at the end of this 

In the summer of 1770, we were .also represented in the service 
by a part, at least, of another company under Captain Webb, 
who were stationed in New York city. How many other com- 
panies or parts of companies were raised in Stamford, we have 
no me.ans of knowing. Our catalogue of revolutionary men at 
the end of this chapter, will doubtless fail to report many who 
honored Stamford in the war. Every record, it is believed, 
which our town and State can now furnish has been carefully 
examined to complete it; and every local record has been sought 
for the purpose of reporting fully all engagements and skir- 
mishes and every form of military movement here, during the 
struggle. But Stamford was not destined to become the thea- 
ter of any general engagement between the opposing armies. 
A few excursions of small detachments of the British troops, 
and more frequent sallies from their loyal holds on the Island, 
or from their tolerated tory homes in the town, of the still 
trusty subjects of the crown, constituted all the warlike en- 
terprises which disturbed the quiet of the town. No British 
army, it is believed, ever crossed the entire breadth of the terri- 
tory, and probably, never more than a single brigade of the 
patriotic troops at a time, were quartered here. Once, at least, 
after the memorable repulse of the revolutionists at Horseneck, 
and that still more memorable feat of the daring Putnam, in his 
fearless fliglit to Stamford for aid, the British did probably in- 



suit the extreme borders of our soil; but the gallant general 
had so far outstripped them, as to have rallied our townsmen in 
sufficient numbers with the aid of the garrison in our fort, to 
meet them and turn their invasion into a precipitous retreat. 
Once, also, probably, was the eastern margin of our patriot 
town desecrated with the stealthy tread of British armed men ; 
but their safety demanded a hurried return to the transports 
which had landed them, and so the town was spared the rav- 
age they had designed. 

The following letter from our most distinguished townsman, is 
authentic respecting the standing of two other of our citizens, 
and shows how our people managed their foreign commerce 
during the war : 

Stamford, Dec. 8. 1773. 

Kespected Sik, — Mr. Selleck aud Mr. Bates, two of my neighbors own 
a vessel of about fifty tons, with which they are desirous to make a voyage 
to the West Indies, to carry cattle aud provisions and bring back military 
stores, if a permit can be obtained of your Honor, for the performanee. I 
suppose that is expected that Jlr. Bates will go Master, if the vessel is per- 
mitted to go. I believe he miy be depended on ; aud I do not know a man 
better calculated for the business. The vessel is said to be a prime 

We have but a few pounds of powder in our town stock, and I believe it 
will be universally agreeable to the inhabitivnts of the town, thet a permit 
should be granted. At the desire of Mr. Bate?, I write this. He iuforui- 
me that Mr. Selleck will apply to your Honor for the permit, aud will give 
bond, if required, for the faithlul conduct of the master. Mr. Selleck is a 
man of considerable interest, and his bond will be quite sufficient. 

I am with the greatest esteem and respect, your Honor's most obedient 
and humble servant, 


Hon. Gov. Trumbull. 

But the most extensive invasion of the town by the British 
and their loyal abettors here, occurred Sunday, July 22, 1781. 
The leaders in that sacriligious foray were from among the tories 
of the eastern part of the town, and their depredations and cap- 
tures were confined to their own neighbors and friends. During 
the night preceding they had crossed the Sound from Lloyd's 
neck in seven boats, and stealthily secreted themselves, about 
forty in number, in a swamp a few rods south of the meeting 
house, waiting the gathering of the congregation for their usual 
worship Providentially several of the leading patriots were 


not at chiireh in the morning, aud the attack was delayed. In 
the afternoon the unsuspecting citizens had taken their seats as 
usual. The services had commenced. Dr., then Mr. Mather, 
was in the pulpit which he had now occupied for nearly forty 
years, and it was undoubtedly his earnest patriotism which had 
led to this attack. Its object was to capture that fearless preacher 
of treason, and the leaders of his people whom he had so 
effectually seduced from their loyalty. Suddenly the house 
was surrounded and the summons to surrender was issued, in the 
well known voice of their neighbor. Captain Frost. Small 
chance had been left for the congregation to escape. Yet, a 
single old lady, thoroughly patriotic and as thoroughly plucky, 
marched through their encircling line. Four youths who had 
noticed the incipient move of the tory invaders, had also made 
proof of their agility and were out of reach of the sentinel's 
shot. One other lad, a son of the officiating minister, ventured 
also an attempt at escape. Seizing his hat he started for the 
door where he encountered a leveled gun, and the insulting ex- 
clamation, " there, I've got you now" ! " Not yet," he quietly 
said, as he struck down the gun and leaped from the door. Nor 
was the sentinel quick enough to cut short his flight, though 
the shot which was meant to do it, left its scar, life-long, on his 
heel. And now commenced in earnest the work of tory re- 
venge. With derisive jeers, the venerable pastor was called 
down from the pulpit to lead his congregation in a very differ- 
ent service. 

The men and older youths of the congregation were drawn 
up two and two in marching order, and tied arm to arm. The 
pastor was ordered to the front, alone, to lead the march. All 
was now ready for the start. The valuable articles of jewelry, 
found on both the men and women had been appropriated by 
the excellent captain. Every horse needed for the invading 
band had been taken, and the women and children consigned 
to the care of the rear-guard, until the captors with their pris- 
oners and spoil should be well under way. The orders are 
ofiven, and, driven bv their former neighbors and the venial sol- 


diery of tlie British power, some forty-eight of our townsmen 
were hurried away to the boats awaiting them at the shore. 
They were thence taken over to Lloyd's Xeck. Here they 
found, not congenial friends, but many of their life-long neigh- 
bors and kindred, whom the revolution had alienated and made 
their open and bitterest enemies. But they were soon disposed 
of. Twenty-four of the number were released to return home 
on parol. The remainder, twenty-six in number, were ordered 
on board a brig and confined below deck. They were taken to 
the Provost prison to New York city, where they endured every 
conceivable indignity. Here they were kept until the 27th of 
the following December, when those of them who survived the 
horrors of that confinement, nineteen in all, were exchanged. 

We have in Dr. Dwight's travels, the following account of 
the suiferings to which Mr. Mather was subjected during this 

" This venerable mau was marchet! with his parishioners to the shore, 
and thence conveyed to Lloyd's Neck. From that place he was soon 
marched to New York and couflned in the Provost prison. His food was 
stinted and wretched to a degree not easily imaginable. His lodgings cor- 
responded with his food. His company, to a considerable extent was made 
up of a mere rabble, and their conversation, from which he could not re- 
treat, composed of profaueness and ribaldry. Here, also, he was insulted 
daily by the Provost marshal, whose name was Cunningham, —a wretch 
remembered in this country, only with detestation. This wretch, among 
other kinds of abuse, took a particular satisfaction ia announcing from 
time to time to Dr. Mather, that on that diy, the morrow or some time, at 
a little distance, he was to be executed. But Dr. Mather was not without 
his iriends, however, who know nothing of him, except his character. A 
lady of distinction, having learned his circumstances, and having obtaine d 
the neees.sary permission, sent to him clothes and food, and comforts with 
a liberal hand." 

I hoped to be able to make out a complete list of the men wlio 
were carried away in this expedition of the British and tories. 
No contemporaneous records, within my reach, have enabled 
be to do so. 

But if there were no great engagements between large armies 
within this territory, it must not be inferred that the town was 
unafl:ected by the war. Every neighborhood in the town, and 
almost every year of the war, witnessed events of greater or 
less importance, wliich contributed according to their measure. 


towards the great result. In many ways the loyalty of our 
people was testified, and they who were never in arms, were 
called at times, to show a soldier's courage. They who seemed 
to do least in furtherance of the cause, made often the most 
costly sacrifices of aftection and treasure to its success. 

The little, every day contributions, which really constitute 
the most unequivocal testimonies to a people's spirit and power, 
are not of a character to seek or win publicity. Xo diary of 
the times reports them. Xo actor publishes them. They come 
unheralded and pass by unchronicled. Nevertheless they are 
neither unknown nor forgotten. Their influence is felt, and 
that influence determines the people's destiny. 

Let us gather some of these floating waifs of our revolution- 
ary period. They come down to us with the authority of 
chance-saved letters perhaps, preserved, no one knows how, in 
spite of our proverbial waste of all this most precious material 
for human history. They have been tossed about and along on 
mere tradition, it may be, yet so credibly preserved, as to war- 
rant our fullest confidence, or they were intrusted to the faith - 
ful guardianship of some memento of transmitted love, voiceless 
indeed, yet with a language that can never be misunderstood. 

What a story of family aftection and fiimily exposure the fol- 
lowing narrative tells. During the war the family of Capt. 
John Holly was living in the house now owned by Samuel 
Leeds, Esq., on Clark's hill. Among their most precious trea- 
sures was a quarto bible, an elegant edition for those times, 
printed in London in 1763. This bible had been given to Miss 
Holly, afterwards Mrs. David Waterbury, at the early age of 
five years for the ease and correctness with which she read one 
of the chapters in Chronicles, filled with scripture names. When 
the family, for their earliest patriotism were exposed to stealthy 
depradations both from British and tory vengeance, the bible 
was carefully buried in the back yard with other family trea- 
sures. There it remained through the war. When it was ex- 
humed, it was found in good condition excepting the heavy 


clasps Upon it, which liad been rusted off. That old bible still 
remains a precious relict in the possession of Mrs. Abigail H. 
Seely, a daughter of Mrs. Waterbury, audits story shows what 
trials belonged to the period of our revolutionary war. 

And now let us see how the war entered our families in ano- 
ther way, taking off their sons to the field, or to garrison ex- 
posed points, wherever needed. The following stray letter is 
one of thousands written during the war from the town, but 
this has survived the fate of the most of the rest. It was writ- 
ten on a half sheet ot coarse foolscap, now, of course, brown 
with age ; and directed in a large fair hand " to Silas, Thaddeus 
and Bates Hayt, in Capt. "Webb's company, in Main street, 
near the chapel, New York. Per. favor of Henry Marshall." 
The entire letter, for which I am indebted to Mr. John Holmes 
of New Hope, recently deceased, is as follows : 

Stamfoku, Aug. 20, 177(5. 
Deab Childken, 

We recived Bates' Letter of Aug. 19th, and greatly rejoice to hear of 
your welfare. We gladly improve the present opportunity of writing to in- 
form you that we are all well ; and that we send a pail of butter, two 
pounds of which belongs to Bates, one pound to Henry Wix and the re- 
mainder to Silas and Thaddeus. AVe should have been glad to send you 
potatoes if to be had. We send you some sauce, which you must distri- 
bute. Henry Wix has some by himself. After wishing you the Divine pro- 
tection, we remain your affectionate parents, 

Abr'm Hait. 
Hannah Haft. 
P. S. — "Mr. Merceir has applied to me for your horse, bridle and sad- 
dle ; and if you are willing to part with him you will inform me thereof. I 
shall be willing to make you a present of my horse, a new saddle and bri- 
dle and a watch in lieu thereof." 

What a revelation of neighborhood estrangement and its cure 
is found in this morceau of our family history. 

The Jarvis family were excellent and prominent people here, 
but their affections were with their king, rather than with his 
rebellious subjects. When therefore it seemed necessary that 
this family should be sent over the line, Capt. Samuel Lock. 


wood of Greenwich was appointed to execute the order. This 
he did with the ready zeal of a revolutionary patriot ; and of 
course his ofRciousness alienated the two families. No loyal 
Jarvis could thenceforth endure one of the notoriously rebell- 
ious Lockwood tribe. But the years roll on and work strange 
cures, as well as aggravate maladies not to be healed. A grand- 
son of the inexorable captain was won to a surrender by the 
maidenly graces of a grand-daughter of the courtly royalist, and 
so far at least the old feud was healed, as the family of our 
worthy citizen judge Ferris will attest. 

Take also this illustrationof the restoration of eontidence and 
aft'ection on the return of peace. 

Captain Slason and deacon Joseph Mather, while on guard 
one night in the eastern part of the town, recognized two of 
their former neighbors, no>v tories, landing with a boat load of 
contraband goods, with -which to drive a profitable trade with 
the knowing ones in that neighborhood. The captain and dea- 
con at once take possession of the men and their boat. Going 
eagerly to the work of landing the choice goods which in the 
process became their ])rize, they incautiously left their muskets 
on the shore. Naturally enough, Smith, one of the tories, seiz- 
ed the captain's gun and called tipon his comrade to take the 
deacon's ; and so, they could make themselves more than even 
with their captors. But the stalwart captain was not so to be 
trifled with. Springing from the boat, he dashes down with a 
single blow the exulting tory, and remains master of the field. 
The end remains to be told. After the war Was over, the tory 
Smith remaining here, by due course of nature came to his end. 
The doughty captain, who had so signally humbled him, spent 
his last years as the happy husband of the reconciled and hap- 
py widow. 

What a touching picture of tragedy, unnatural, the follow- 
ing fact exhibits. Zachariah Hoyt and several of his neighbors 
■were on guard near the mouth of Goodwives river; and as 
nothing betokened the presence of British or tory foe, they 


were enjoying a pleasant hour of merry chat and sport. Sud- 
denly a volley from loyal muskets, mortally wounded two of 
their number, when the rest hurriedly escaped. And now the 
concealed tory band came forward, to see whom of their old 
friends and neighbors they had made to bite the dust. One of 
them, as if momentarily grieved for the shot he had fired, could 
only ask, in soothing terms : " Cousin Zach, is this you ?" And 
a mournful " Yes" was the only answer of the dying man. 

Among the memorabilia of our revolutionary period should 
be recalled the athletic frame and reckless and successful daring 
of " Uncle Thad." Thaddeus Iloyt, who had lived a few rods 
south west from the place where Alfred Hoyt, Esq., now lives, 
was one of our most earnest whigs. His active patriotism had 
aroused the hatred of every tory in the neighborhood, and ex- 
posed him to incessant annoyance and hazard from their raids 
upon his property or their attacks upon his "person. So much 
exposed was he in his house by night, that he often retired in 
the evening with his gun and blanket to a neighboring clump of 
cedars which afforded him safer shelter. His cattle were all 
marked for seizure and one by one they were stealthily carried 
off. Having pretty good evidence that one of his tory neigh- 
bors, Samuel Lockwood, was a leader in these depredations, he 
determined upon confronting him, on one of his predatory incur- 
sions. The opportunity soon came. The neighbor had selected 
just such cattle as would best answer his purpose and was hur- 
rying off to the British lines with his prize. Suddenly, " uncle 
Thad " arrests his progress. The tory thus unexpectedly caught, 
quickly levels his gun and snaps. The musket, loyal to the 
king, fiiiled her duty to his subject. Xot to be thus defeated, 
" uncle Thad" strikes down the gun, grapples with the tory, 
himself, and holds him in his unrelentiug grasp. Xor does he 
release his hold before, thoroughly subdued, he begs for quarter 
and pledges a future abandonment of his tory practices. 

And the prowess of our townsmen was witnessed on the 
water, also, as well as on the land. The following will best il- 


lustrate our marine heroism during the war. I will let this 
story stand, as my predecessor in this field of research, Rev. J. 
W. Alvord, tells it. 

" A frigate and sloop-of-war, belonging to the enemy, were 
lying in Oyster Bay, opposite this village, and the whale- 
boats from this place, commanded by Captain Jones, determin- 
ed on taking the sloop. On a ioggy raorniug they rowed 
silently around her, and coming nearer and nearer, they were at 
length discovered and instantly hailed — " Who's there ?" '■ A 
friend." " A friend to whom ?" " I'll let you know," said 
Jones, "the rebels have been rowing round the bay all night 
and you've known nothing about it. I'll report you to the Ad- 
miral for neglecting your watch." By this time the men in the 
boats were climbing up the sides of the British ^ essel, while 
Jones, who was as rough as the ocean on which he had been 
brought up, kept storming away at the captain for his negli- 
gence. The British officer trembled from head to foot, thinking 
that he had run foul of some violent old tory, who would cer- 
tainly report him to his commander. He assured Jones that he 
had kept the strictest watch — begged him to look at the order 
of his vessel — the training of his guns, and the priming of his 
muskets. A number of these muskets were by this time in the 
hands ot the assailing party, when instantly Jones' foot stamp- 
ed heavily upon the deck, and in the next moment the sloop 
was theirs ! She carried fifteen or twenty guns, and was fully 
equipped for service. Another vessel was about this time cap- 
tured by these whaleboats as she lay in the narrows below. 
They attacked her in open day — one, as tliey approached, had 
its rudder carried away by a cannon shot, and swinging under 
the stern of the English vessel, the men entered her cabin win- 
dows, just as the crew were driven below, by the men in the 
other boats, who had obtained possession of her deck. After a 
short and desperate fight with broadswords and bayonets, in 
the cabin, the crew surrendered, and the vessel was brought to 



Among our enterprising townsmen -who did good service in 
harassing and weakening the enem)^ was one of our numerous 
Smiths of that day. It has come down to us, well authentica- 
ted, that a British officer who had been landing the loyalty of 
the leading tories of the town, wound up his eulogy Avith this 
comforting reflection : " and in fact we could get along well 
enough with you Stamford Yankees if it wasn't for that old red 
haired Smith." 

Take this incident, illustrative of the exposure of the revolu- 
tionists to another sort of treatment when the tories gained 
some temporary advantage. The house of deacon Joseph Ma- 
ther was visited one night by a band of these prowling loyal- 
ists. They had heard that the deacon's house was used as a 
safe depository of the valuables of his neighbors. Finding Mrs. 
Mather at home, they drove her, at the point of the bayonet to 
the place where her silver had been buried. They take the col- 
lection, and then drive her back to the house and compel her to 
cook them a warm supper. On leaving they take the deacon 
with them down to the slioi'c, to prevent him from giving an 

The following are two illustrations of the dreadful wreck 
which a period of war sometimes makes. Among those who 
were engaged, July 22, 1781, in capturing the congregation in 
Middlesex, was Rowland Slason, an incorrigible tory. He re- 
sided but a short distance from the church, and those on whom 
he then laid violent hands, were his life-long neighbors and 
friends. After the war he was allowed to remain in possession 
of his home and property, but he could never more have ration- 
al enjoyment from either. Ho had sunk under a heavy cloud, 
which no earthly sun was ever to pierce. His mental faculties 
had given way, and he at length roved aimlessly about, a piti- 
able maniac. 

Xot less painful was the effect of the Mar upon the mind and 
the life of Stephen ^Yeed. His first experience of British and 
tory treatmeiit had been a lesson he could not forget. The 


sanctuary to wlilch he liad gone with liis parents, was no de- 
fense against their ruthless violence. They had stealthily sur- 
rounded that hallowed place, and seized and carried off his 
friends and neighbors and even his venerated pastor. Nothing 
but his own agility, had saved him from the cruel doom of his 
friends. He was one of the five who escaped from the congre- 
gation. But the lesson had taught him that he had nothing- 
more to hope from the forbearance or mercy of the enemy, and 
he at once enlisted in the service of his country. He cheerfully 
offered himself to whatever peril the sacrifice might involve. In 
the march and on the field, by day and by night, in heat and in 
cold, he stood at his post and did nobly what a good soldier 
should do. To the end of the war, he lost no opportunity of 
making proof of his courage and his patriotism. But the in- 
cessancy and severity of his duties aggravated by his confine- 
ment in the execrable Provost prison of New York, were more 
than he could sustain. He gradually broke down and at length 
sunk into a state of mental derangement, from which there was to 
be no recovery. Yet in his insanity, he remained a soldier still. 
His talk was of the battalion. His walk was a soldier's march. 
His work was that of the field, in front of or near a threatning 
foe. He lived in constant expectation of the invasion of a for- 
eign enemy. He had a clear presentiment of the time and man- 
ner of the approach. He long and steadily insisted that the in- 
vading march was to be up the Noroton valley, and unless its 
progress could be resisted, the whole country to the north would 
be mercilessly laid waste. The line of march was to be just to 
the west of his own residence, and he could never leave his own 
home and country to be thus laid waste, without exhausting all 
his means for their defense. 

Nor was he long in planning his defense. Choosing a felicitous 
position commanding the intervale below, he commenced the 
work of fortifying. He built a stone fort enclosing a subter- 
ranean retreat which might answer for a magazine, and sur- 
rounded the whole with a ditcli. One only entrance admitted 


friend or foe to this work. After having thus completed the 
fort, day after daj-, for nine weary years, he stood sentinel or 
paced his appointed beat, with his watchful eye ever ready on 
his trusty lock, or scanning the opening vale to the south for 
the first glimpse of the coming foe. Here he was proud to re- 
ceive the notice of strangers as they visited his fort to witness 
his military drill. He never tired of telling over his old cam- 
paigns and seemed to have an accurate remembrance of what 
had transpired during his service in the war of his country. 
But he would allow no change to be made in the works on 
which he must rely for defense. One little addition only to his 
own arrangements was permitted. A huge black snake was 
one day found coiled up in the sun on his grand promenade in 
front of his works, and the idea seized him that this was to be 
his relief sentinel. He therefore only took note when his relief 
was posted, and would neither tempt the faithful sentry to leave 
his post nor allow any one else to disturb him. Day after day 
did the faithful and apparently sympathizing sentinel take his 
post and relieve for a while the old man, until one day he loca- 
ted himself on another part of the ground than that to which 
he had been assigned. Immediately, in the exercise of his mili- 
tary authority the uncompromising old disciplinarian summarily 
dispatched him for being thus found oif his guard. 

But the years wore away, and the old soldier was called to 
lay down his arms. Nothing but physical exhaustion could 
cheat him out of the service in which he gloried, and he died as 
he had lived, under the shadow of that great war cloud which 
death alone could shake oif from his burdened spirit. 

We have now learned from the main drift of the incidents we 
have collected, that Stamford was exposed all through the war, 
to the petty annoyance of small bands of tories. The " cow- 
boys," her own sons, or at least under their guidance, were 
everywhere on the alert to seize upon all unprotected cattle and 
grain with which to maintain their credit with the king and his 
army. They were not loyal enough to take sides openly with 


the king's soldiers, and either their fears or tlieir hopes hindered 
them from espousing heartily the cause of their neighbors. And 
tlie social position of this class was such as to render their op- 
position all the more hurtful to the patriot cause. They were 
not the poorest and least influential of the community, who 
thus held back and so efiectively opposed the struggle for our 
independence. Many of the most talented and wealthy were 
in their ranks. The arguments by which they sought to justify 
their course, were those to which the loyal and conservative of 
every age resort. At the first, the great body of the people, 
and to the last, a large minority could not think of breaking 
away from their allegiance to the crown. By every means in 
their power therefore excepting an absolute resort to the ranks 
of the king's forces, they sought to hinder and harass the king's 
rebellious subjects. 

Incidental or purposed collision between these tories and the 
avowed revolutionists were very numerous. Sometimes serious 
damage to property, and even loss of life was the result. The 
following chapter will best set forth this feature of those days 
which " tried men's souls." 



This chapter will report many facts- which could not well be 
introduced into the preceding chapter, and yet of sufficient lo- 
cal importance to justify preservation in our history. In many 
instances the day of the month is not given in the record from 
which our extracts are made. 


This year finds the town represented in the general assembly — 
David Waterbury and Thomas Young for the Spring Session, 
and Charles Webb and David Waterbury in the Fall. 

Oct. 7. — At a meeting warned to consider the claims of the 
Bostonians then suffisring from the action of the port bill, John 
Lloyd, Samuel Hutton, Capt. Samuel Youngs, Capt. David 
Hoyt and Charles Weed were appointed " a committee to re- 
ceive subscriptions for the supply of the poor in the town of 

The following is the clerks' attestation which follows the re- 

" The above is a true copy of record, it being a very full meet- 
ing — almost an unanimous vote." S. JjIRvis, Town Clerk. 

Abraham Davenport, assistant ; and Col. David Waterbury 
and Col. Charles Webb, representatives for the Spring Session, 
and Benjamin Weed and Thomas Young, for the Fall Session of 
the general assembly. 


June 6. — Col. Charles Webb reports his mission of 22 clays to 
Crown Point and Tieonderoga, and gives his note with six 
others for 500 pounds to raise funds to pay expense of the ex- 

June 15. — Col. Waterbury reports his command at Stamford 
ready for orders. 

June. — Capt. Joseph Hoyt, with Chas. Webb, jr., for his 
lieutenant, and Samuel Whiting, ensign, Sam. Hutton, Benj. 
Weed, Sam'l Wheaton and Sam'l Webb, sergts. and 24 privates, 
march to New York for the defense of the city. Hinman's 
" war of the Rev." gives him only 23 men. 

June 19. — New York calls for Wooster's and Waterbury's 
troops in Stamford, to march within five miles of the city. They 

July. — Charles Webb, appointed colonel of seventh regiment. 

Sept. 19. — Committee of safety for the town, appointed agree- 
ably to recommendation of the continental congress. Col. Da- 
venport, Esq., Benj. Weed, Esq., Amos Weed, Charles Weed, 
Israel Weed, Nathan Lonnsbury, Thaddeus Bell, Stephen Bi- 
shop, Dcodate Davenport, Charles Smith and James Young. 
Witness : Sam. Jarvis, clerk. 

Oct. — Daniel Gray is authorized to transport a sloop load of 
rye and corn to Machias and Falmouth, under 500i; bond. 

Dec. 11. — Committee of safety re-appointed; Ab. Davenport, 
Esq., David Waterbury, jr., Esq., David Webb, Jona. Waring, 
jr., Lieut. Sam'l Hutton, Benj. Weed, Esq., John Hoyt, jr., 
Charles Weed, Abraham Weed, Nathan Lounsbury, .Samuel 
Richards, Capt. Amos Weed, Chas. Smith, Isaac Lockwood, 
Jas. Young, Deodate Davenport, Jona. Bates, Hezekiah Daven- 
port, Abraham Bates, Jos. Webb, jr., and Thaddeus Bell. 

Abraham Davenport, assistant; and Benjamin Weed and Col. 
D. Waterbury, representatives at Spring Session, and Benjamin 
Weed and John Davenport at the Fall, 


Jan. 22. — Gen. Lee in Stamford with 1200 continental troops. 

Feb. — Jos. Hull and Philip Redfield who were here in Ward's 
i-egiment, were detailed as privateers in Captain Selleek's sloop 
to serve for six weeks. 

Afarch 1. — Captain Ebenezer Slason, made major ; Henry Sla- 
son, captain; Ebenezer Scofield, 1st lieutenant; Daniel Water- 
burj-, 2nd lieutenant, and David Purd}', ensign. 

April .3. — Trial of Munson Jarvis and David Picket. 

Joshua Stone, a spy, captured here, and imprisoned, and fined 

June. — David Waterbury, jr., appointed brigadier general; 
Sylvanus Brown, captain ; Joseph Webb, 1st lieutenant ; Thad- 
deus Weed, 2nd lieut, and Gideon Waterbury, ensign. 

June 22.— Gen. Lee at Stamford, with 1200 men, hoping to 
take them into New York. The committee of safety of New 
York are afraid and stop the force this side. Gen. Waterbury 
goes to the lines to see what can be done, while Lee, disabled 
with the gout, remains at Stamford. 

Oct. — Captain Niles of the famous " Spy ", to cruise betAvoen 
Nantucket and Stamford. 

Sept. 16. — Corp. Chas. Steward, from Stamford, is confined in 

Nov. 8. — Robert Parke, stationed here to recruit for the 

Nov. 14. — Disaffected citizens sent to Lebanon, Ct., as dan- 
gerous to the state. 

Nov. 20. — A party of loyalists from a Uritish tender landed, 
and shot and carried off two fat cattle. 


Abraham Davenport, assistant ; John Davenport and John 
Hoyt, jr., representatives in Spring Session, and Capt. Sylvanus 
Knapp and Capt. Isaac Lockwood in the Fall. 

Feb. H.^Benj. Betts taken from his bed and carried to Long 
Island and forced into the British service. He subsequently 


and being suspected of toryisni, was arrested, imprison- 
ed and fined, and requested to give bonds for future loyalty. 

Feb. 24. — Samuel Crissy and Nathan Muuday come home, 
and on signing a declaration of allegiance are permitted to re- 

Feb. 28. — Wm. P'itch, a tory convict, is allowed to return to 
Stamtord and back to Canterbury in 20 days. 

March. — Doolittle & Co., to forward to Stamford, GOO lbs. 
powder, 30 six-pound shot, and 30 three pound-shot. In May the 
Gov. orders the New Haven mill to send the same amoutit of pow- 
der. In June, the Salisbury furnace, to send 100 round shot to 
suit the Stamford cannon. 

Saturday before May 23. — A number of British siiips, vessels 
and flat bottomed boats appeared off the harbor. 

Gen. Wooster is here with several regiments. The stores of 
medicines then here under charge of Dr. Turner, were ordered 
to bo sent to Danbury. 

July 7. — Capt. Reuben Scofield and Capt. Edward Rogers, 
ordered to march their companies to Greenwich and Capt. 
Bradley to march to Stamford. 

Sept. 3. — A bushel of salt ordered to be sent to Stamford for 
the army. 

Oct. 11. — "To the general assembly of the State of Connec- 
ticut now sitting at Hartford, by adjournment, the memorial of 
us the subscribers, select men of the town of Stamford — show- 
eth, that the said town is overcharged in the number of soldiers 
as their quota filling up the Continental army, at least ten men, 
upon computation of the number of whites in said town accord- 
ing to the return of the number in the year 1774 — that since 
that time more than 100 men have gone off to the enemy from 
sd town besides the number killed in battle and who have died 
in laptivity and by sickness brought into the town from the 
army and otherwise which have greatly diminished their num- 
bers and rendered it extremely difficult if not impracticable to 



supply tlifir quota as now stated — and the more as they are a 
frontier town." 

Ab. Davexp. ] gp,,jjto,. 

Isaac Lockwood, J- and 
Syltaxus Knapp, J Representatives 

Nov. 14. — Gen. Ass. voted that the Committee of inspection 
of Lebanon, be and they are here by directed and, authorized 
to take care and custody of the prisoners sent here under guard 
from Stamford, as being persons dangerous to the state, and to 
dispose of and govern them in the best manner they can as their 
prudence shall direct, until further orders from the Gen. Ass. or 
the Governor and his Com. as aforesaid. 

Dec. 1 — Committee to care for families whose husbands had 
gone into the continental service; Jas. Young, Jona. Waring, 
jr., Chas. Kuapp, Chas. Weed, Amos Weed, Thaddeus Bell, 
Jona. Bates and Thos. June. 

At the same time, Jos. Ambler, Ab. Weed, Thad. Hoyt, and 
Samuel Richards, were appointed to supply the commissary 
with such clothing, etc., as the law required. 


Abraham Davenport, assistant ; Maj. John Davenport and 
Col. Chas. Webb representatives in Spring and Capt. Daniel 
Bouton and Capt. Isaac Lockwood in the Fall. 

The year opens under the defense of an encamped artillery 
company, consisting of 24 men, to hold the post until June 

Jan. 12. — Articles of Confederation read and assented to, and 
corresponding instructions forwarded to Capts. Lockwood and 
Knapp, representatives in grand assembly. 

Feb. 6. — An artillery company under Lieutenant John Bear 
stationed here. 

Twenty-four men levied on Stamford for coast defense. 

March 20. — Vote that all the fines due from delinquents v.'ho 


refused when drafted last winter to join the troops at the Saw- 
])itts under Capt Jesse Bell or any other officer commanding 
any of Stamford drafted men, to he, by said officers, equally 
distributed among those non commissioned officers and soldiers 
who joined and faithfully did their duty at the Sawpitts last 

March. — Ebonezor Holly, taken in arms against tlie U. S. is 
imprisoned in Hartford jail. 

John Morehouse, who had enlisted into the service in Siili- 
man's brigade at 16 years of age was enticed out of Stamford, 
taken to New York and put on the sloop of the notorious re. 
negade, Stephen Hoyt. He escapes into Rliodc Island and re- 
ported himself to Gen. Washington. 

Joshua Stone, who had been imprisoned in New York by the 
British, escaped to Stamford, is arrested by our committee of 
safety, imprisoned and fined 20£. He is released on enlisting for 
three years and paying 30£. 


Abraliam Davenport, assistant ; Col. Chas. Webb and Capt. 
Daniel Bouton representatives in both sessions. 

Mar. 26. — Gen. Putnam rides into the village from his peril- 
ous feat at Horseneck to rally help to drive back the British. 

May. — Samuel Webb exchanged. 

June 17. — Noah Welles taken prisoner at Horseneck and sent 
to New York. 

Aug. 3. — Rev. Dr. Mather and four sons captured at the par- 
sonage and carried otT to New York by eight tories, of whom 
five were the doctor's parishioners. 

Sept. 5. — Major Tallmadge with 130 light dragoons, crosses 
from Shipan point over to Loyd's Neck and at ten in the even- 
ing, attacked 500 tory refugees then entrenched, and before 
morning had returned, he landed again in Stamford with nearly 
the entire garrison, without losing a man. 

Oct. — Capt. Jona. Waring with 50 or 60 men and Captain 


Sam'l Lofkwood of Greemvieh, plunder the Greenwich tories of 
20,000£, as appears from an appeal for restitution from John 

Dee. — Town grant liberty for a hospital under Dr. Coggswell, 
at Capt. Reuben Seofield's and elsewhere. 

Jan. — Two Matross companies are reported at Stamford, num- 
bering 26 and 67 men. 

Of the 530 men to be raised in tlie county this year, Stamford 
was to furnish 57. 

Aj)ril 14. — Col. Chas. Webb, petitions the assembly to secure 
an exchange for his son Charles, then a captive in the Sugar 
House, New York, both of his feet having been frozen. Ho was 
exchanged for Wm. Addington, then in Hartford jail. 

June 26. — Lieut Reuben Weed, Capt. Sam'l Hoyt, Lieut. 
Sam'l Hutton, Capt. Isaac Lockwood, Mr. John Bell, captain 
Chas. Smith, Mr. Tim. Reed, Mr. Silas Davenport, Capt. Reu 
ben Scofield and Lieut. Jona. Whiting, are appointed to pro- 
cure each a recruit for three years or during the war, for the 
continental army. Voted, a tax of threepence a pound to pay 
these i-eeruits. Voted that David Bates and Enos Fountain be 
reimbursed for " two great coats and one pair of overhauls " 
which had been stolen from the goods which Thaddeus Hoyt 
was transporting for the army in 1778. 

Xov. 13. — Lieut. Seth Weed and Mr. Silas Davenport ap- 
pointed to procure the provisions needed from Stamford for the 
continental army and state troops. 

Xov. 27. — Charles Webb, Joshua Ambler, Isaac Lockwood, 
Charles Smith, Gershom Scofield, Reuben Scofield and Jesse 
Bell, appointed to hire fifteen able bodied, effective recruits, as 
soon as may be done. 

Nov. 30. — British land at " Rhoton" Islands, and march to 
Middlesex, capturing 35 cattle and five horses. This irruption 
leads to the appointment of a committee. 


For this year, Major Joliu Davenport reports in the service 
from Stamford as follows : In Capt. Chas. Smith's company, 5 ; 
in Capt. Fitch's, 7; in Isaac Lockwood's, 53; in Lieut. Jona. 
Whiting's artillery, 16 ; in captain Nathaniel Slason's, 15 ; in 
Ebenezer Jones' (naval), 30. Whole number killed 12 ; drown- 
ed, 6 ; taken prisoners, 00, seven of whom are dead and seven 

The state gives credit to Stamford for 147 men in the service. 
Jan. 8. — A tax is laid of one penny on a pound, to he be paid 
in flour, wheat at 24 shillings a bushel, rye at 16 shillings and 
Indian ineal at four shillings. 

March 1. — Smith Weed's account for provision for David 
Waterbury's command, embracing 182,623 1-2 rations, 120,173 
lbs. of wheat flour and 39,005 lbs. rye flour. 

April 1. — Samuel Webb appointed brigade major, and served 
to March 1, 1782. 

May 18. — Select men Charles Weed and David Waterbury, 
complain that great numbers of the good subjects of the state 
in Stamford, have been plundered and driven into the woods 
and disabled from paying taxes. They ask a commission with 
power to recruit or abate the tax assessed upon them. The ex- 
emption asked was granted. 

May 30. — Capt. Daniel Bouton and company march to Cam- 
po Bay, Norwalk, to repel the enemy. He is shot in the shoulder 
and lost his left arm. In the following January he petitions 
the legislature for pecuniary help and is allowed 65 pounds. 
This case is endorsed and tTie plea is urged by several citizens. 

July 3. — A tax voted of " four pence on a pound to be col- 
lected in silver or gold." 

July 22. — The church in Darien surrounded while the congre- 
gation were at worship and forty-eight of the worshipers dri- 
ven off" as prisoners. Eli Reed escapes with a slight wound in 
the leg. Mrs. Sally Dibble was wounded in her plucky defense 
of the horse on which she had rode to church. 


Aug. 24. — D. Wiiterbuiy, in camp near Stamford renders his 
commissary account. 

Aug. 30. — Lemuel Sanford, Eli Mygatt und Timothy Keek-r, 
' .1 committee appointed by the general assembly to make out a 
list of dangerous persons, report sixteen names from Stamford, 
as persons " inimical to the liberties and independence of the 
United States." 

SejJt. 26. — Gideon Lounsbury, whose name was on the list 
above, was acquitted of the charge. 

Jan. — 300 men arc stationed here to relieve those whose term 
of service would end in February, to remain in garrison until 

Number of town guards as reported by Major John D:iven- 
port, 124, and in the boat service, under Ebenezer Jones, 27. 

March. — -His certificate of this date also testifies that Capt. S. 
Knapp had transported 31 loads of public provisions from the 
landing to the town, " said to be a mile and a quarter," and 
eight loads from the town to the garrison being 3 1-2 miles. 

Feb. 25. — Vote 120 non-commissioned ofiicers aud soldiers 
for the defense of the town, to be commanded by Capt. Jesse 
Bell, Lieut. Nath'l How, Lieut. Jesse Hoyt and ensign Jos. 
Mather. They were to serve until Jan. 1, 1783. 

Feb. — Voted, that select men be desired to appoint some 
suitable person to manage tlie field pieces, and to fill all vacan- 
cies in offices, on refusal of any to serve 

Voted, a ta.x of six pence on the pound. 

June 24. — The town discharge Jesse Bell and the ofiicers and 
soldiers from keeping town guard. 

Voted to class themselves and go on duty by rotation tor 
the defense of the town. 

Oct. — Lieut. Col. Canfield in command at Stamford. 

May 3. — The Stanwich people pray for an abatement of their 


taxes, in view of their many and serious losses. Not granted. 

May 24. — Silas Davenport reports his commissary expenses 
for 1781 and '82, and draws on the state treasury for pay. The 
funds were voted. 

Dec. 8. — Sam'l Hutton, moderator. Voted, that tlic select 
men be directed, and they are hereby directed forthwith to 
warn out of this town all those persons who have heretofore 
put and screened themselves under the power and protection of 
the king of Great Britain, together with all other unwholesome 
inhabitants, and to see that they are kept out as the law directs. 


Jan. 1. — William Brown, in a document stating tliat he liad 
served the government as a soldier six years and two months, 
reports the loss of his pocket-book in July last, on the road to 
New Canaan, containing thirteen goverment notes, all his earn- 
ing for his military service. He asks to have the loss made up 
to him which was granted. 

May 4. — Capt. Dan'l Boutou, endorsed by twenty substantial 
citizens, reports to the assembly his disabled condition. The 
legislatui-e in consideration of his condition and services, abate 
bis taxes and vote him an annuity of 20 pounds. 



The following list t'lnbraccs the names of all those who have 
been found as engaged in the revolutionary war from the town 
ot Stamford. The most of the names were found in contempo- 
raneous records, manuscript or printed, and a very few have 
been added on the testimony of descendants whose account the 
author deemed trustworthy. 

Andreas, Jeremiah, was a pensioner. 

Austin, Charles S. served 141 days in 1776, as appears from 
the manuscript pay-roll of Col. David Waterbury's company of 
that year. 

Barnes, a soldier from Stamford, during one of the raids 

into the northern part of the town, was shot but a short dis- 
tance east from the store on High Ridge. 

Betts, Stephen, in 1774, at the age of 18 years, enlisted into 
Colonel Charles Webb's regiment. He went to Boston imme- 
diately after the action at Lexington where be remained until 
Howe evacuated the city. He was in the Bunker hill fight. In 
1776, he was in the battle of Trenton, and in 1777 in the bat- 
tles of Princeton and White Marsh when he was commissioned 
captain. In 177b he was in the engagement at Monmouth. In 
1779 he had command of a company of regulars at Xorwalk and 
was there when Tryon burned the village. In 1781 he was in 
Colonel Hamilton's battalion of light infantry. He was at the 
• siege of Yorktown, and was among the first of our troops to 
enter the redoubts of the British ; though he paid the penalty 


of his daring by a bayonet wound which he received in his side. 
He died in 1832. See Sentinel of Dec. 11,1832. His widow 
died here in 1838, aged 94 years. 
Baker, Seth, enlisted July 6, 1775. 
Bates, Thaddeus, served 211 days in 1770. 
Beers, Abijah, enlisted July 6, 1775. 
Beers, Daniel, enlisted July 6, '75, and was fifer. 
Bell, Francis, enlisted July 6, '75. 

Bell, Isaac, Capt. led a company to the defense of Horseneck. 
Bell, Abraham, was pensioned. 

Bell, Jesse, was in the sea battalion in 1778. He reported 
perilous service from March 25, 1779 to Jan. '80, and asks in- 
demnity against loss from depreciated currency. 

Bell, Jonathan, served 220 days in 1776, and was pensioned 
lie was born in 1755. 

Bell, John, enlisted July 6, '75. 

Bell, Stephen, served 133 days in '76, and was pensioned. He 
was 2nd lieuteuant in Captain Joseph Hoyt's company. 
Bell, Thaddeus, see Biog. sketch. 
Bennet, Benj. enlisted July 6, '75. 
Besse, John, enlisted July 6, '75. 
Besse, Peleg, enlisted July 6, '75. 
Betts, Stephen, a serg't in '75, and ensign in '76. 
Birchard, John, enlisted July, 6, '75. 

Bishop, Hezekiah, enlisted at sixteen and was pensioned. 
Died in 1839. 

Bishop, Jonathan, in company for the defense of New York, 

Bishop, Stephen, served in '75, and 197 days in '76, and then 
re-enlisted. He was a sergeant and was pensioned. 
Bishop, Jacob, served 133 da3S in '76. 

Blanchard, Jacob, a pensioner died here, March 19, 1831^ 
aged 78. 

Blatchley, Jesse, served 118 days in '76. 



Boutoii, Daniel, Capt. was in the engagement at Campo, May 
30, 1781, when he was shot in the shoulder. 
Briggs, Isaac, was pensioned. 

Brown, Bazalell, 1st lieutenant in I'TG, in Col. Waterbury'.s 
" Isaac, in company for defense of Xew York in 1775, 

served 217 days in 1776. 
" Nathan, enlisted July 6, '75. 
" Roger, served 149 days in '76. 
" Jonathan was a pensioner. 
" Stephen, served 149 days in '76 

" William, was in the service six years and two months. 
" Sylvanus, Capt. served 227 days in '76, and was capt. 
of Co. 2, 8th regiment of the line. 
Brothswell, Joseph, enlisted July 6, '75. 
Buxton, John, enlisted July 6, '75. 
Brown, John, was a prisoner. 

Bush, Samuel. This name should not be allowed to drop out 
of our revolutionary roll of honor. He was a humble man it is 
true, and of African descent. But he united with the patriots 
of that day and entered the army. It was the boast of his sub- 
sequent life, that he had served under Washington. It was the 
proudest achievement which he used to tell of himself while 
connected with the army, that on one occasion he personally as- 
sisted Gen. Washington to cross a stream in the way of the 
army. At the expiration of his service the general drew up, 
and signed for him, his discharge from the service ; and as he 
handed the paper to him said : " take this and keep it with care, 
it may some day be of use to you." And so it proved, for when 
afterwards pensions had been provided for, Samuel found this 
autograph of his geueral, all that was necessary to attest his 
service. After the war he married, here, in 1784, Hannah I\Iid- 
dlefield by whom he had five children. 
Clock, John, was a pensioner. 
Clason, Xathaniel, was a pensioner. 


Clason, Isaac, was with the garrison on Fort Hill, and was 

Clason, Sanmel, was a pensioner. 

Clason, Stephen. 

Clerk, Mathew, served 195 days in '7G. 

Clock, Jonathan, served 192 days in '7U and re-enlisted. 

Coggins, David, enlisted July 6, "75. 

Coleman, Wra. served 194 days in '70. 

Coley, Daniel, enlisted July 6, '75. 

Couch, Thomas, served 154 days as quarter-master. 

Curtiss, Timothy, junr., in company for defense of New York 
in '75 and served 220 days in '76. 

Curtiss, Jeremy, was a pensioner. 

Dan, Nathan, served 178 days in '76. 

Dan, Squire, served 194 days in '76 and re-enlisted. lie was 
pensioned. He died here, March 25, 1839. 

Daskam, Wm. Capt. served under Lafayette and received his 
discharge from Washington, himself. He was pensioned. 

Davenport, Hezekiah, Lieut, was shot at Ridgefield, April 27, 
'77, after the burning of Danbury. 

Davenport, James, appointed commissary. May 30, '77. See 
Biog. sketch. 

Davenport, John, a commissary with major's commission. 
See Biog. sketch. 

Defreere, Reuben, was pensioned. 

Davis, Abraham, served 217 days in '76. 

Davis, David, served 59 days and had "deserted" appended 
to liis name. 

Dean, Ebenezer, was pensioned. He died here Aug. 14, 1847, 
aged 32. 

Dean, Samuel, entered the army at thirteen and served until 
he was twenty. He died here July 30, 1845, aged 83. He was 

Dibble, John, was pensioned. He died in Darien, in April 
1852, ao-ed 93. 


Doglierty, Andrew, served 220 days in '70. 

Duncomb, Wm. enlisted July 6 '75. 

Eldridge, Wm. served 180 days in '70. 

Ferris, Peter, was in both the French and revolutionary war. 

Ferris, Jonathan, served and was entitled to a pension, which 
lie refused. His wife secured it after his death. 

Ferris, Ransford A. was in the battle at Bunker Hill, and 
pensioned. He died here Jan. 2, 1824, aged 72. Had a ball in 
his right arm till he died. 

Finney, Daniel, went to the defense of Xew York in '75, and 
served 210 days in '76. 

Fitch, was captain here in 1781. 

Forster, Thomas, enlisted July 6, '75. 

Fulton, Thomas, " " " " 

Finch, James, was pensioned. He brought from the field a 
belt from an English officer. 

Garnsey, Samuel, served 192 days in '76, as sergt. 

Gibbs, John, served 176 days in '70. 

Gould, Talcot, enlisted July 0, '75. 

Green, Asabel, served 217 days in '70. 

Gregory, Elias, enlisted July O, '75. 

Griffet, Wm. enlisted July 6, '75. 

Gregory, Benoni, served 212 days in '70. 

Hanford, Theophilus, served 214 days in '76. 

Hawley, Thomas, enlisted July 6, '75. 

Hay, James, served 19G days in '76. 

Heacock, Bethel, served 193 days in '70, and re-enlisted. 
" Ebenezer, served 216 days in '76. 
" Morris, served 216 days in '76. 

Hedden, Zadoc, died in Stamford, April 29, 1840, aged 82 
years, he having been a pensioner for service in the revolution- 
ary war. 

Hine, Jai-ed, enlisted July 6, '75. 

Hinman, Enoch, enlisted July 6, '75. 


HoLby, Thomas, Capt. 3d co. 5tli rcg't, April, '75, and was 
appointed major. 

Holly, Abraham, served thro' the war and was pensioned. 
" Ebenezr, junr., served 220 days in '76. 
" Isaac, enlisted July 6, '75. 
" Nathan, was in the conunissary department. 
" Stephen, was a pensioner. He was once a prisoner in 
the Sugar House. 

Holmes, John, was in the Danbury fight and brought back a 
gun now in his grandson John's possession. 

How, Nathan, served 174 days in '76. He was pensioned. 
How, Nathaniel, was lieutenant in 1782, and at the close of 
the war captain. At one time with twelve soldiei's he had 
charge of sixty tories who had been arrested. 

Hoyt, Bates, was in New York city, in Capt. Webb's com- 
pany in 1776. 

Hoyt, Ebenezer, born in 1763 was pensioned. 
" Elijah, enlisted July 6, '75. 
" Jesse, Lieut, served 176 days in '76, and continued in 

the service pensioned. 
" Jonathan. 
" John. 

" Joseph, Lieut. Col. of the 8th Conn, reg't, regular ar- 
my. He had been captain in 1775. 
" Josiah, enlisted July 6, '75. 

" Nathaniel, enlisted July 6, '75, and was sergeant. 
" Neazer, born Nov. 8, 1751, served 49 days in 1776. 

Died here Feb. 15, 1811. 
" Samuel, captain in 5 Conn, militia, thro' the war. He 

was pensioned. 
" Samuel, enlisted July 6, '75, and served 158 days in 
'76 as ensign. He was afterwards a lieutenant. He 
died in Darien, Dec. 30, 1832, aged 80 years. He 
was pensioned 


Hoyt, Sylvaiius, died ou returning home from his campaign, 
Sept. 8, '76, leaving a wife and four children. 
" Warren, was in the war in '75, and pensioned. 
" William, took the small pox while in the service and 
died ot it, Xov. 15, '78, leaving two sons, William 
and Rufus, who went to Black Rock, Fairfield. 
" Thaddeus, Capt. one of the most fearless and resolute 
of our patriots, as our history elsewhere shows. He 
was in Captain Wehb's company in Xew York city, 
in August '76, as appears from a letter from his pa- 
" Silas, brother of Bates and Thaddeus was with them 
in Xew York city in '76. 
Hubbel, Salmon, enlisted July 6, '75. 

Hurd, Williston, was in Capt. Chapman's company, 5th Conn. 
Husted, Xathaniel, served 78 days in '76, as corporal. 

" Thaddeus, went in '75, for the defense of Xew York. 

Hutton, Samuel, sergeant in Capt. Hoyt's company in '75. 
Jackson, Xathan P. enlisted July 6, '75, and was serg't. 

" William, enlisted July 6, '75. 
Jennings, Justus, enlisted July 6, '75. 
Jervis, Jonathan, enlisted July 6, '75. 

Johnson, William, served thro' the war and was pensioned. 
Jones, Ebenezer, Capt. commanded a boat, used to annoy 
the enemy's shipping in the sound — a man of great daring and 
courage. In 1781 he had under his command 30 of the Stam- 
ford men. 

Jones, Ephraim, was a pensioner. 

June, Reuben, entered the service at 16, and was pensioned. 
June, Silas, was taken prisoner by the British at White 
Plains. He was pensioned. 

June, Thomas, was shot as he was returning from hoeing in 
the field and his two sons were taken prisoners, 
June, Israel, was a pensioner. 
Ingersol, Benjamin, died in the service. 


lugersol, Samuel. 

Keeler, Isaac, enlisted July 6, '75, a corporal. 
" Lockwood, " 6, " 

" Thaddeus, " 6, " and was serg't. 

Kellogg, Asahel, served 191 days in '76, and re-enlisted. 
Kenney, John, enlisted July 6, '75. 
Knapp, Bouton, served 135 days in '76. 

" Hezekiah, born in 1750, was a pensioner. 
" John, served 223 days in '76. - 

" Sylvanus, was captain of the town guards. 
" Usual, was pensioned. He had been a prominent man 
and much in favor with Washington. He died 
at Newbury, X. Y., when special honor was done 
to his memory. 
" Timothy, enlisted July 6, '75. 

" William, born in 1756, was a pensioner. He served 
under Putnam and was with him at Greenwich at 
the time of his famous plunge on horseback down 
the steps. He died here Jan. 31, 1844. 
" Jacob, was a pensioner. 
Lee, Seth, enlisted July 6 '75. 
Lindsay, James, enlisted July 6, '75. 
Lines, Holly, served 220 days in '76. 
Little, John, was a pensioner. * 
Lloyd, Clement, served 194 days and re-enlistcd. 
Loder, Jacob, was a pensioner. 

Lockwood, David, served 220 days in '76, and was taken pri- 
soner at New York. He was a pensioner. 

Lockwood, Ezra, went to the defense of New York in '75. 
" Isaac, was captain of the town guard in '81. He 

was pensioned. He died here, July 31, 1836. 
" Reuben, enlisted July 6, '75, and was pensioned. 

" Titus, enlisted July 6, '75, and after the murder 

of his brother by the cowboys, he was the inex- 
rable avenger of every injured patriot. 

240 insTOUY OF stamfokd. 

Lock\vooil, Timothy, served 176 days in '76- His tragic end 
will be fonnd among the incidents of the war. 
" Charles, -was pensioned. 

" Samuel, 2nd Lieut, in '7.5, in Col. Waterhiiry's 

Lounsbnry, David, enlisted July 6, '7.5, account balanced in 
Vol. 5th, in the comptroller's office, wlicn he received £20 14 

Lounsbury, Jacob, enlisted Jul}' 6, '75, and was a pensioner. 
MeCnrtiss, Daniel, enlisted July 6, '75, a drummer. 
Mason, John, served 12 days in '76 and deserted. 
Mather, Samuel, was a pensioner. 

Mather, Joseph, served 216 days in '76, and was ensign in 
'82. Pie was pensioned. 

Mead, Peter, served 220 days in '70. 
Mead, Theophilus, enlisted July, 6, '75, and was fifer. 
Mead, Reuben, was a pensioner. 
Meeker, Ebenezer, enlisted July 6, '75. 
Mills, George, captain and active in the war. 
Mills, John, served 215 days in '70, quartermaster 31 days, 
and adjutant 139 days. 
Mills, John, junr., served 210 days in '70. 
Nichols, John, was jjcnsioned. 

Nichols, Daniel, was in the regular service in '76 one year, in 
the army of the north. Afterwards thro' the war he was often 
engaged as scout to find and report the tories. He was pen- 
sioned. He died here, Feb. 18, 1834. 
Nichols, Abel, enlisted July 0, '75. 
Nichols, Joseph, was pensioned. 

Northrup, Gamaliel, enlisted July 6, '75 and was a lieutenant. 
Nichols, James, was pensioned. 
Newman, Ilufiis, was pensioned. 
Odell, John, enlisted July 6, '75. 
Olmstoad, Roger, enlisted July 0, '75. 
Olmstead, David, enlisted July 6, '75, a corporal. 


Pangburn, Richard served 190 daj-s in '76, and re-enlisted. 

Parrot, David enlisted July 6, '75. 

Parsons, Ja's enlisted July 6, '75, and was marked as deserter. 

Patchin, Elijah enlisted July 6, '75. 

Patchin, Israel enlisted July 6, '75 and was c<irporal. 

Peat, James served 153 daj's in '70. 

Peck, Ephriam served 149 days in '70. 

Powers, Andrew served 212 days in 76, and was serg't. 

Provost, Thomas was pensioned. 

Provost, Daniel was in the war. lie died here Dec. 14, 183J, 

aged 79 years. 
Provost, Samuel was a pensioner. He died her' Nov. 30, 

1S43, aged 80 years. 
Purdy, David was ensign in '76. 
Quintard, Isaac was a pensioner. 
Raymond, David was a pensioner. lie was in the battle of 

White Plains. 
Reed, Elias served 193 days in '76, and re-enlisted. 
" Ketehel served 132 days in '76. 
" Silas served 220 days in '76, as lifei-. 
Richards, Wra. was shot when on duty at Ringsend. 
St. John, Abraham went in '75 for the defense of New York 
" " Justin, enlisted July 6, '75. 
Saunders, John M. served 218 days in '76. 
Scofield, Abram served 175 days in '76. 

" Benjamin wont for the defense of Xew York city in 

" Ebenezer was 1st Lieut, in the service. 

" Elisha served 153 days in '76. 

'■ Ezra enlisted July 6, '75, served fcvcn year:' and 

was pensioned. 
" Gershoni, a lieutenant, died in 1824, aged 75. He 

preserved his powder-horn, on which while in the 
service he had carved, " Liberty, property and no 
tax in America." 



Scofield, Gideon. 

Gilbert was drafted, but at his father's wish deserted. 

Hait, orderly serj't and was in many engagements. 

He was pensioned. He died here July 16, 1840^ 

aged 84 years. 

Israel, 3rd, went in '75 for the defense of Xew York 

Jacob went in '75 for the defense of New York, and 

re-enlisted July 0, '75. 
Jared was a pensioner. 
Josiah 4th, went in '75 for the defense of Xew York, 

and re-enlisted July 0, '75. He was a serg't. 
Josiah W. was a pensioner. 
Josepli in '75 went for the defense ot New York 

city, and re-enlisted July 6, '75. 
Peter enlisted into the revolutionary service July 6 , 

'75. He died here April 28, 1830, aged 91 years. 
Pettit went in '75 for the defense of New York city. 
Reuben was serg't July 6, '75, and captain July 9, 
'77, in a battalion for the defense of the sea coast. 
He succeeded Jesse Bell who resigned. He served 
as captain several years, and received a captain's 
pension. He died here in 1835, aged 93 years. 
" Thaddeus served 207 days in '76. 
" Seth went in '75 ibr the defense of New York city. 

" Enos was pensioned. He moved after the war to 

Bedford, N. Y. 
" Sylvanus, a pensioner died here, Sept. 21, 1831 ^ 

aged " about 80." 
Scott, William enlisted July 6, '75. 

Seeley, John was in the service three years. He died in 1832. 
Selleck, Darling was at the battle of White Plains. 
Selleck, David served 220 days in '76. 

" Ebenezer served 187 days in '76. He went over to 
Ovster B.TV after the war. 


St41eck, Joseph was pensioned. He was a teamster. 

" Simeon a commissary, served 32 days in '76, and suc- 
ceeded in capturing the king's stores at Horseneck. 
Share, Daniel served 193 days in '76, and re-enlisted. 
Selleck, William. 

Sherwood, Daniel enlisted July 5, '75. 
Skelding, Thomas served in the commissary department. 
Slason, Ebenezer was a major in '70. 
" Henry was captain here in '76. 

" Nathaniel was captain of the home guard in '81, and 
was pensioned. 
Shelp, William was pensioned. 
Smith, Austin, junr., reported 220 days service. 
" Azariah, reported 77 days service in '76. 
" Amos Capt. 

" Charles Capt. of state guards between the lines in '81. 
" " jimr., was a pensioner. 

" David 3d, was stationed at Greenwich. He was fam- 
ous as a scout, hunting down the torics. He was 
a pensioner. He died May 26, 1840. His children 
were Joseph, Benjamin, Sally, Mary C, and Mrs. 
Lavina White. 
" Daniel enlisted July 6, '75. 
" Ezra, 3d, went to the defense of New York in '75, and 

reported 163 days service in '76. 
" Ebenezer, captured by tories in the Farms district and 
put into the " Sugar House." He was a pensioner. 
" Isaac, reported in '76, 220 days service. 
" Isaac, served from '77, thro' the war. He was father of 

Chas. Edgar. 
" Jabez, reported 154 days service in '76. Pensioned. 
" Jabez, junr., went for defense of New York in '75, and 

reported 135 days service in '76. 
" Job. enlisted July 6, 75. 


Smith, Josepli, was eusiign in '75. 

" Joshua reported 148 days service in '70. 
" Josiah, Lieut, was active thro' the war. Had oue 
thumb struck oft" by a ball, and was badly cut in 
both arms and the face while warding oft" the 
strokes ot a British oflicer. He died Nov. 29, 
1830, aged 81 years. He was a consistent Chris- 
tian patriot, a member of the North Baptist 
church of this town. 
" Levi enlisted July 6, '75. 
" Nathaniel reported 175 days service in '76. 
" Peter reported 238 days service in '70. He was shot 
at the Noroton. 
William, Capt. 
Snirtin, Keuben was in the battle of White Plains. He died 

Stevens, Daniel. 

" David was shot at liidgeftekl. .See incidents of the 

" Ezra served 151 days in '76. After the war, was. a 
justice and town lawyer. He lived in the north- 
east part of the town. 
" Jacob was at the battle of White Plains. 
" Obidiah, junr., went for the defense of New York in 
'75. He was an older brother of Mr. Peter Ste- 
vens, still living, 1864, on Hoyt street. 
" Reuben, after the war moved into the State of New 
York. He was at the tight at Bunker Hill. 
Sylvanus served 191 days in '76, and re-enlisted. 
" Thomas. 
Stewart, Charles served 238 days in '70. He was corporal, 
and was captured and imprisoned in Halifax, N. 
S., Sept 16, '76. 
Swords, Francis D. enlisted July 6, '75. 
Thompson, William served 194 days in '70, and re-enlisted. 


Todd, John. 

Tryon, Samuel served 211 days in '70. 

Wardwell, Isaac entered service at sixteen, near the end of 
the war. 
" Jacob, b. Aug. 19, 1744, served thro' the war. 

" William, b. Feb. 1700, before the war closed was 

enrolled in the army. 
Waring, Benjamin served 196 days in '70. 
"' Joseph was pensioned. 
" James was pensioned. 
" John, Serj't served 151 days in '70. 
" Jonathan was captain in '79. 
" Simoon served 53 days in '70. 

" Thaddeus was in the town guard and in a skirmish 
east of the Noroton. 
Waters, Elisha joined Arnold to repel the British at Horse- 
" John was imprisoned in New York. 
Waterbury, Daniel was 2nd Lieut, in '70. 

" David was in pursuit of the British retreating 

from Danbury. He saw Woostor shot and Ar- 
nold as he left his fallen horse, taking his pistols 
with him. 
" David. See Biog. sketch. 

" David 3rd. 

" Enos, a commissary and pensioner. Died here 

about 1 8 years ago. 
" Gideon, an ensign. 

" John, ensign, served 178 days in '76. 

" John 5th, a private. 

" Joseph served 193 days in '76. 

" Peter. 

" Epenetus and David, both died in Canada during 

the war. 


Waterbury, William, after the war, went to Saratoga, 
-where he died July 20, 1846, aged 77. 

Waterbury, William served 217 days in '70, was in Colonel 
Chandler's regiment three years and was pensioned. He was 
taken prisoner at fort Washington on the Hudson, and was se- 
riously injured by the poisoned wine which his captors gave 
him. He served under Lafayette, and was in the batte of Mon- 
mouth. When Lafayette in 1825 passed thro' Stamford, he at 
once recognized his soldier and gave him a hearty salutation. 
He died in Stamford village June 22, 1830, in the 74th year of 
his age. 

Webb, Benjamin who had been in the French war. 
Webb, Charles Col. See Biog. sketch. 

Webb, Charles, junr., was lieutenant in '75, served as adju- 
tant 52 days in '76, and was still later in his father's regiment. 
He was a prisoner in New York. He was killed on a gun-boat 
in the Sound. 

Webb, David was commissary in '76. 

" Ebenezer died here Sept. 4, 1834, aged '70. 
" Gilbert served 158 days in '76. 
" Joseph junr., was 1st Lieut, and wounded. 
" Hezekiah enlisted July 6, '75. 

" Samuel was serj't in the company which went under 
Capt. Joseph Hoyt to defend New York city in 
'75. He served as clerk of Col. Waterbury's re- 
giment, 196 days iu '76, and re-enlisted. He was 
brigade major in '79, and was captured and ex- 
" Nathaniel Capt. 
Weed, Charles was a pensioner. 
" James was a pensioner. 
" Abishai was pensioned. He died here Jan. 31, 1840, 

aged 80 years. 
" Abijah who been iu the old French and Indian war, 
early entered the revolutionaiy service. He after- 


wards joined the British and went to Canada and 
died there. 
Weed, Asahel. 

" Benjamin went in '75 to defend New York city and 
served as serg't in that year 170 days. lie was 
wounded in the RidgefieUl skirmish by a ball 
which he carried the rest of his life. He was pen- 
" Annanias went in '75, to the defense of New York 
city and served 222 days in '76. He was serj't 
and commissary and served thro' the war. He 
died here in 1820. 

Daniel was pensioned. 

Hezekiah was a pensioner. 

Elnathau served 212 days in '70. 

Ezra was captured and imprisoned in Canada. 

Gideon enlisted July 6, '75. He was the youngest 
member of Capt. How's company and during the 
absence of the captain he was appointed to take 
his place on the sudden appearance of a gang 
of tories. He drew up the company near the 
school house in Darien and was himself shot 
down as he stood between two of his brothers, 
Hezekiah and Jonas. 

Henry was pensioned. 




John was a pensioner. He served under Lafayette. 

Jonas was wounded and carried a buckshot in his arm 
all his life. He vras a pensioner. 

Jonathan was a pensioner. He died here Jan. 31, 1840, 
aged 80 years. 

Hezekiah 4th, went in '75 for the defense of New 
York city, and was wounded with a shot he car- 
ried all his life. 


Weed, Seth Lieut, served l(il days in '76. lie died Dec. 26, 


" Silas went in '75 to defend New York city and served 

220 days as corporal and 80 days as serg't in '76. 

" Stephen was made insane by his exposnres. See Biog. 


White, Jacob was a pensioner. 

Whiting, Jonathan, 2nd Lieut, in Col. Watcrbury's regi- 
ment in '75. 

Woolsey, Gilbert was a pensioner, lie bears tlie name of tlie 
pioneer of the family who settled here. 

Weeks, Henry died in 1824. 

Wheaton, Samncl, sergeant in Capt. Hoyt's company in '75. 

Young, Samuel, was in the service, he died July 8, 1827. 



The 'Loyal clement in that trying clay was miieh more gener- 
al and troublesome to the patriot cause, than our current history 
shows. In all of our towns it existed, and in a large number of 
them it was a serious hindrance to the eftective prosecution of 
the war. In the immediate vicinity of the British lines, and 
elsewhere soon after British successes, it asserted itself with 
great distinctness ; and at all times and in all parts of the land, 
it was sufficiently demonstrative to embarrass the patriot cause. 
It showed itself in many ways, and most unexpectedly. Stam- 
ford was of course not without this element. Indeed, it would 
not be strange if it existed here more offensively than in many 
other of our Connecticut towns. The British lines for several 
years were very near, at times even within hearing of the vil- 
lage. The Episcopal Church, which had already attained here a 
prominent position both in numbers and influence, and which as 
a matter of conscience had all along been accustomed to pray 
for " Our good King George the Third," were in-their religious 
sentiments opposed to any such revolution as the war aimed to 

Accordingly we find the very opening of the great struggle 
seriously checked, and the cause of Colonial independence con- 
stantly endangered by this secret or open opposition of those 
who could not or would not espouse it. They opposed enlist- 
ments into the army for independence. They concealed their 
neighbors who had been drafted or aided their escape from the 
service after they had been sworn into it. As a good illustra- 



lion of this style of opposition to the war let the following in- 
stance answer. James Scofield's son Gilbert, a mere boy, had 
been drafted and sent with our recruits to New York. The 
fiither who was notoriously opposed to the war, mounted his 
horse and pursued. By adroit management he found his son 
and succeeded in releasing him and putting him beyond reach 
of those whose duty it was to find and arrest deserters. As this 
could not be done safely on the patriot side of the lines, the 
youtli was transferred to the other side where for about two 
years he rendered such service as his years and ability would 

Witness also another fact in the \ ery o|iening of the war for 
independence. I shall simply quote trom the record of the geue- 
ral assembly, their action in March 1775. 

"It having been represented to this aesembly that Isaac Qaintard of 
Stamford, in the County of Fairfield, Capt. of the 2nd military company, in 
the town of Stamford, in the 9th regt. in this colony, and Fyler Dibble of 
said Stamford, Capt, of the first military company of Stamford, in said re- 
giment, at said Stamford, in January last, in contempt of the authority in 
this colony, did attempt and endeavor to prevent the introduction of certain 
barrels of gun powder into this colony for the government's use, agreeably 
to the orders and directions of legal authority, which conduct is inconsist- 
ent with the duty of their said office and of dangerous tendency ; where- 
upon it is resolved by this assembly, that Gold Selleck Silliman and Jona- 
than Sturgiss, Esquires, be and they are hereby appointed Commissioners, 
and are fully authorized and empowered to notify said Quintardand Dibble 
to appear before them at such time and place as shall be bj' them appointed 
and to examine the witnesses relative to said conduct and examine into the 
truth of said representations and to report what they shall find to the gene- 
ral assembly at the session in May next " 

Xo record of tlie arrest and trial of the captains has been 
found ; but from the American Archives we learn that Fyler 
Dibble, Sept. 26, 1775, asks tlie forgiveness of the people for op- 
posing the appointment of a committee of inspection, and pro- 
mises to yield hearty obedience to tlie continental association. 
Captain Quintard, also, waived his farther opposition and made 
a humble confession. 

Yet those were l)y no means tlK' only citizens who were op- 


posed to the war, as abundant records of that day testify. The 
first Tuesday of June, 1775, must have been a day of no little 
excitement in this usually quiet town. The patriotism of tlie 
citizens had been outranked by the sale among them of th;U 
once innocent, but now proscribed article, tea. 

Stamford must purge herself from the vile treason. She had 
not, like Ridgefield, refused to represent herself in the county 
convention wliich had in the preceding February sounded so 
clearly tlie tocsin for war, rather than a base submission to the 
taxation of the British Crown ; nor had lier select men like 
those of Newtown, contemptuously set up at vendue for a pint 
of flip, a copy of the patriotic address sent out by the general 
assembly, to indicate to all good citizens their future duty. But 
the occasion now oifers for her citizens to make signal proof that 
their hearts and means are with all who will unite to sunder the 
ties which had held them as mere vassals of the English crown. 

It appears, that though mainly ready for any personal sacri- 
fice which the struggle might call for, there was one among 
them, whose greed out-weighed his patriotism. Sylvanus Whit- 
ney, more thrifty than patriotic, ventured to traflic in contra- 
band goods. He thought he knew when it would be a money 
making thing to dispose of good tea for a good price, and he 
supplies himself. His friends or his traflic betray him. He is 
summoned to answer to his townsmen for his treasonable prac- 
tice. Under the pressure of the moral or stringently physical 
force used on the occasion, Mr. Whitney submits himself and 
his, to their disposal, as follows : 

" Whereas I, the subscriber, have beeu guilty of buying and selling Bo- 
hea tea, since the first of March last past, whereby I have beeu guilty of ii 
breach of the association entered into by the continental congress ; and 
sensible of my misconduct, do in this public manner, confess my crime and 
humbly request the favor of the public to overlook this my transgression, 
promising for the future to conduct myself as a true friend to my country ; 
and in testimony of my sincerity, I do now deliver up the tea I have on hand 
unto the said committee of inspection to be by them committed to the 


Ou this confession and pledge the committee released the ar- 
rested culprit from further prosecution, but proceeded to arrange 
for the evening entertainment which had already been announ- 
ced. We will report the festivity which followed in the words 
of the contemporaneous record, now preserved in the American 

" About 8 o'clock, iu the evening, a gallows was erected in the middle of 
the street, opposite the Webb tavern ; a large concourse of people collect- 
ed, and were joined by a number of soldiers quartered in the town. A 
grand procession soon began to move. In the first place, a large guard 
under arms, headed by two captains, who lead the van, while the unfortu- 
nate tea hung across a pole, sustained by two unarmed soldiers. Secondly, 
followed the Committee of Observation. Thirdly, spectators came to see 
the great sight. And after parading through j^art of the principal street, 
with drums beating and fifes playing a most doleful sound, they come to 
the gallows where the common hangman soon performed his office to the 
general satisfaction of the spectators. As it was thought dangerous to let 
said tea hang all night, for fear of an invasion from our tea lovers, a large 
bonfire was made under it, which soon reduced it to ashes ; and after giv- 
ing three loud huzzas, the people soon dispersed to their respective homes 
without any bad consequence attending. The owner of the aforesaid tea 
attended, during the execution, and behaved himself as well as could be ex- 
pected on the occasion." 

The next year, also, witnesses a trial in Stamford. Munson 
Jarvis and David Pickett are summoned before the committee 
of inspection, April 3, 1776. They had signed a seditious pa- 
per pledging themselves " to assist the king and his vile minions 
in their wicked, oppressive schemes to enslave the American 
colonies," and to discourage any military preparation to repel 
the invasion of the British forces and to dissuade persons from 
observing the orders, of the continental congress. They ac- 
knowledged their signatures to the paper, when they were pro- 
nounced guilty of a great crime. 

Mr. Jarvis prepared a confession, professing himself sorry for 
what he had done and promised to obey every order of the 
continental congress, excepting as he was held back by a " re- 
ligious tie of conscience." 

Mr. Picket, also, makes confession and begs to have the past 


overlooked aiul he will henceforth "conduct himself agreeably 
to the good and wholesome laws and rules now in the colonies, 
which may be for the good of his country " 

They were then asked what they meant by that " tie of con- 
science" which was to control their future course, and what wei-e 
the laws "for the good of the country," which they were pre- 
pared to obey. In their reply, they protested that they could 
not join with the country in pursuing the measures adopted by 
congress in defense of the just rights and privileges of the colo- 
nies; and upon this explanation, the committee pronounced 
their confession and promises unsatisfactory The charges 
against them were sustained. The committee voted to advei-tise 
them as enemies of their country, and conclude their sentence 
thus: "and we hereby recommend it to all persons to break oft' 
all commerce and dealing with them, and to treat them agreeably 
to the resolves of congress for those wlio are deemed enemies of 
their country." The original record of the transactions is signed 
by John Haight, jr., clerk of the committee. 

The ioUowing transaction, preserved in the American Ar- 
chives, shows that the opposition to the war went still further. 
William Budd Lucas was a marked patriot, then temporarily 
living in Stamford. He was red hot against all tories, and his 
zeal maddened them beyond control. They therefore united 
with some of the same faith in Korwalk and gave him a most 
unmerciful whipping. For which offense they were arrested and 
brought to the following confession : 

"Mr. Luke Kaymond, Ebenezer Puxymoucl aud Billy Snunders of Nor- 
walk in Conn, having in a cruel and \injustifiable manner been guilty of 
attacking, beating and mauling William Budd Lucas of Stamford, for which 
crime we are heartily sorry, and in the first place earnestly beg the for- 
giveness of said Lucas, and of all other persons whom we have offended, 
aud furthermore we, William Starr, .Tame", Hoyt, jr. Prince Howes and 
Samuel Beebe of Stamford, and John Bigelow of Norwalk, having been 
guilty of being drawn into the riotous comiJany above written, for which 
misconduct we are sincerely ashamed and heartily sorry, and humbly ask 
forgiveness of all whom we have offended. Furthermore, we, Prince Howes, 
Jfts. Hoyt, jr. and Samuel Beebe aforesaid, having imprudently subscribed 


a certain paper said to be drawn up by Capt. Fyler Dibble, for wbioh niia- 
conduct we ore sorry and linmbly aslc the forgiveness of all whom wo have 
oflfeuded. And furthermore, we, 0:10 and all, solemnly promise and declare 
that we will, to tho utmost of our power and ability, exert ourselves in 
the defense of our country in opposition to the Kinf,''s troops. Signed, 
Stamford, Sept. 15, 1775." 

After these records it can scarcely bu doubted that some 
stringent measures would be justified by the patriots of that day 
in putting down this opposition to their cause. Accordingly, 
the assembly for the state, in December of this year passed their 
famous act, for restraining and punishing persons who are inim- 
ical to the liberties of this and the rest of the imited colonies. 
That act made it a treasonable offense to " libel or defame any 
of the resolves of the congress of the imited colonies or the acts 
and proceedings of this assembly, which are made for the de- 
fense and security of the rights and privileges of the same." 
Any person found guilty was to be disarmed, and rendered in- 
capable of holding or serving in any ofiice civil or military, and 
he could be further punished by fine, imprisonment or disfran- 

If such legislation seems needlessly harsh, we must remem- 
ber the necessity which called for it. The tories of that day 
were as earnest and as honest in their opposition to the inde- 
pendence of the American colonies as the British themselves. 
They not only did their utmost by tongue and pen, to oppose the 
patriot cause, but they openly furnished arms and men to the now 
declared public enemy. Whole regiments of them joined the 
British cause. In( idents often occurring in this town showed 
conclusively that citlier the tories must be restrained or the cause 
of colonial independence abandoned. 

Witness the capture of the patriotic Dr. Mather and his four 
sons, taken from their own home, and that, the parsonage, and 
hurried to Xew York, where they could no more preach treason 
against their sovereign, or aid his rebellious subjects in resist- 
ing his abjured authority. Five of the eight agents engaged 
in this capture were parishioners of the venerable man against 
whom they were executing this vengeance of the king. 


Witness, also, this well accredited fact. When the enemy 
landed at Campo Bay, May 30th, 1781, at the same time that 
ouv patriot company under their gallant captain, Daniel Bouton, 
were on their forced march to repel the invaders, two of the 
loyalist portion of the town were actually piloting the miscre- 
ants to the best farms of the neighborhood for such plunder as 
they could appropriate. That such opposition should greatly 
try and exasperate the patriots of that day and lead to severe 
punishment would be most natural. We shall find abundant 
proof of such results in many occurrences of the times, as is 
evident from the following case. 

David Newman, a man of good repute for all that appears, 
had a son, Joshua, who in a freak of youthful temper early in 
the war had gone over to the enemj% on Long Island. Here he 
soon found a gentle damsel whose attractions only served to 
weld the bonds which already held him in the British power. 
The months swept on and the fair enchantress wins a pledge of 
marriage and the nuptial day is appointed. Not being yet fully 
absolved from all ties of home, the gallant Joshua ventures to 
br.-vve the dangers of a return that he may have the blessing of 
" the old folks at home," to add to the cheer of the approaching 
wedding. He roaches Stamford and safely enters what had once 
been a safe altar of refuge for him. Eagle-eyed vigilance is arous- 
ed. The presence of the young traitor is suspected, and the swift 
footed ministers of the patriotic citizens are out on the search. 
The house is surrounded and explored, but the anxious parents, 
whose love was as keen and vigilant as the sharpest patriotism, 
had so skillfully screened or adroitly removed their " boy, still," 
that he could not be found. But what could the outraged citi- 
zens do? Tlie traitor son had escaped Tlie fixther must have 
aided him, and he was in their power. For this offense, that of 
shielding his son and so giving aid and comfort to the enemy, 
he was arrested and thrown into the county jail. No plea of 
his family and no pledge of his personal loyalty could avail. 
Weeks and months he paid in confinement the penalty of his 
oifense, that of holding the calls of parental afiection above the 


demands of the public safety. Xot until his jailor liad testified 
to his loyalty and Ills uncomplaining readiness to suffer yet long- 
er, if so his townsmen required, would the stern sense of the 
people consent to his release. 

Another instance which shows how determined was the po- 
pular indignation against the loyalists towards the close of the 
war is found in a petition, signed Jan. 2nd, 1782, by thirty-seven 
Stamford and Greenwich men, in which the petitioners remon- 
strate against allowing " tories" who had served in the British 
armies to return again as citizens of either town. Tlie remon- 
strance states that " since the capture of Cornwallis and his 
army many unprincipled wret ches from us wlio had with arms 
joined the common enemy," had returned home, and that a 
number of them belong to the most infamous banditti, called 
Delancey's corps. The names ot the petitioners are ; — Benj. 
Mead, jr., Abr. Mead, Caleb Lyons, Jesse Mead, Silas Mead, jr., 
Eb. Mead, Isaac How, Abner Mead, Wm. Weed, Richard Mead, 
Abr. "Weed, Daniel Bouton, Reuben Weed, Jared Mead, Dcodate 
Davenport, Jas. Ambler, Holly Scoiield, Jos. Seely, Timothy 
Reed, Daniel Chichester, John Mather, Sen. Webb, Samuel 
Youug, Philip Jones, Israel AVeed, Zebulon Husted, Jona. Sco- 
field, Benj. Weed 3rd, Thaddeus Husted, Jehiel Mead, Soame 
Fountain, Chas. Smith, Benj. Marvin, Andrus Powers, Eli Reed, 
Tlieodore Hanford and Jona. Weed. 

But as the struggle approached its close, and it began to be 
seen that the colonies would maintain their independence, those 
who had allowed themselves to oppose the struggle began to 
repent. They sought every oppoitunity to excuse and palliate 
the guilt of their course. How completely thej' had been sub- 
dued by the progress of the war tlie following incidents will 
fully show. 

John William Holly, in a document dated Sept. 30, 1782, 
testifies that when lie was fourteen years old his father went 
over to the British and put him under the protection of the 
British army. He had continued to live in New York and at 
Lloyd's Neck, until a month ago. He then resolved not to op- 


pose his conntry longer, as his father was now dead and his 
widowed mother was living alone at Stamford. He therefore 
begs to be allowed to return, as a loyal citizen of the new gov- 
ernment. The request was granted by the legislature. Mr. 
Holly afterwards became the proprietor of the Cove Mills, and 
a prominent and honored citizen. 

Elnathan Holly a youth of nineteen years, in 1776, joined the 
enemy, and was employed in the army. In April, 1782, he 
abandoned the British service, returned to Stamford and was 
imprisoned. He forwards to the legislature a penitent confes- 
sion, his sacred oath of future allegiance, and a fervent plea for 
his liberation. The petition was granted. 

In May, 1782, widow Mary Wooster, pleads before the legis- 
lature the case of her son then in New York. He had been 
early drawn over the lines and into the British service. He had 
never taken up arms ; and of late had lived in New York, car- 
rying on his trade as tailor. He had made money, and is now 
anxious to visit his mother and make Stamford his future home. 
He is ready to give pledges of his loyalty to the new govern- 
ment and is by vote of the legislature allowed to return. 

After the depredations committed by the British in the east- 
ern part of the town, as reported in our chronological record 
under date of Nov. 30, 1780, the legislature appointed a com- 
mittee to report all dangerous persons from Stamford. This was 
done, when the following names wei'e reported ; Gideon Leeds, 
Admer Stevens, Sam'l Hoyt 3rd, Sam'l Crissy, John Selleck, 
Anthony De Mill, Daniel Selleck, Josiah Scofield 3rd, Josiah 
Scofield, John Bates, Nathaniel Dan, James Scofield, junr., 
Jonathan Lewis, David Hoyt, Gideon Lounsbnry and Sylvanus 
Seeley. Our chronological record shows that Gideon Lounsbury 
was acquitted of the charge. In the State Archives I found 
other papers respecting these tories worth reporting. 

One contains an appeal from Samuel Crissy and Gideon 
Leeds, demanding an examination, which was granted. At the 
trial they brought forward such proofs of their substantia\ 


agreement with the patriots that their names were, also, erased 
from the black list. Thus encouraged the remainder of the list, 
April 29, 1782, urge upon the governor and his council their 
claim to be acquitted of the charge made by the assembly's com- 
mittee, and demaud an early re-examination. Accordingly the 
Governor immediately issues a warrant to the Sheriff of Fair- 
field county or a constable at Stamlord, to summon John Hoytj 
junr., town clerk, and the rest of the inhabitants to appear be- 
fore the general assembly in May and show reason why the 
prayer of the petitioners should not be granted. 

At the same time, the question of opposing the petitioners 
before the legislature was discussed by the select men of Stam- 
ford and by a majority vote they decided not to furnish John 
Hoyt with funds to prosecute the opposition. Sheriff Elijah 
Abel, executed his writ of summons in person, and the case went 
before the legislature. After examination the legislature voted 
to refer the petitioners to the county court, with the suggestion 
that if the court should see fit, they should cause the names of 
the petitioners to be erased from the town clerk's books and all 
monies expended by them in the suit to be refunded. It is pro- 
bable that the court did not adopt the advice of the legislature. 
At any rate, the names still occupy their original position, with 
no line of erasure, or word of palliation. 

In view of the strong feelings which these recurring collis- 
ions must produce it is not strange that the popular indignation 
at times broke out into acts of violence for which the law made 
no provision, and which the local authorities were impotent to 
control. Of such was that summary vengeance inflicted on 
that leader among our loyalists, Joseph Ferris, when our usual- 
ly sober-minded citizens, after dipping him to their content in 
our mill pond, substituted for his comfortable home spun, a full 
and close fitting wardrobe from head to toe, of nicest down, 
made wearable for the time being, by softest tar. Of such too 
was the spontaneous reception whiuh our neighboring Nor- 
walkers gave our loyalist townsman, Increase Holly, who had 
visited his brethren after liis British confreres had burned the 


town, to rejoice with them at the success of our good King 
George. He had gone down, as he announced on leaving home, 
to bear them the olive of peace. He sorrowfully reported on 
his return that all he knew of an olive branch, he felt from the 
twigs, with which the patriot, Norwalk wide-awakes, so merci- 
lessly tingled his exposed parts. 

At the close of the war some of the most determined tories 
left town with such of their families as could not be content to 
remain here. Of those who remained the most soon yielded to 
the demands of the new government and rendered as loyal ser- 
vice as though they had aided in its establishment. The aliena- 
tions which had sprung up in families and among neighbors 
were gradually healed, and the former mutual confidence and 
affection were restored; so that the grand-son of the most pa- 
triotic whig could find in the grand-daughter of the hottest 
tory, the most attractive and lovable maiden of his youth, and 
the most congenial and affectionate wife of his later years. 

Fifty years after the war, when there was now no longer any 
bar to free intercourse between the exiles and the friends they 
had left behind, an occurrence took place in that part of the 
town which had already been incorporated as Darien, showing 
how strong were the sentiments of country and family still, 
among those who had been forced by the strife to leave. In 
1838, Walter and Augustus Bates, who were among the ban- 
ished loyalists, returnedto the home of their cliildhood. Though 
honored and much esteemed in the home of their adoption, they 
still retained their youthful love for the one they had lost. By 
the kindness of Mrs. Seeley, of Darien, I am allowed to use the 
following extracts from a brief " Jubilee" which the former of 
those returned exiles penned, as expressive of their feelings on 
that joyful occasion. Doubtless many others of the refugees, 
retained to their death, their early love of the place and asso- 
ciations of their youth. 

" Our tsvo oldest brothers being dead, the remaining family eiglit in num- 
ber were thus singularly separated— two only remained in our native town, 
two settled in different towns within the United States, two in the province 


of New Bruajwick aad two ia Upper Caaada, where we remaiuetl twelve 
hundred miles from each other and six hundred from our uative place, un- 
til the eldest had arrived at the age of eighty and the youngest to the sixty- 
second year of his age. After the full term of fifty years, guided and pro- 
tected by a kind Providence, we are permitted to visit our native home, the 
town and place of our birth, here to celebrate our jubilee with praise and 
thanksgiving to Almighty God for his special providence, permitting us 
at this time and place, to meet together, praising God in communion with 
our remaining relations and friends, in the same church wherein we were 
in infancy, by bajitism, first dedicated to God by our parents. 

At first view of our native town, the neatness of the village appeared as 
if all things had become new. The former meeting-house, ol' ancient ar- 
chitecture, pulled down and a new one in its place ; the chnrch had under- 
gone a change for improvement; new dwelling houses, store houses, and 
public offices erected ; and sloops and steasnboats in the center of the town 
by a canal. On our further view we saw with regret the few old dwelling 
houses that remained, unrepaired, and mouldering into decay and ruin ; 
the public burying-grouud, where lay concealed the powdered remains of 
the deceased for more than a century past, totally demolished ; a new Me- 
thodist meetiug-bouse erected upon the consecrated ground and the ancient 
monuments of the tombs converted into stepping-stones. Should those 
monuments be thus converted? 

We gaze on these objects, tiius changed, with sadness and sighing ; and 
hasten away lest their present state should weaken the images which our 
memory had preserved. * * ' * Feasting on our anticipations we at 
length reach the object of our fondest wishes, the house and place of our 
nativity. We found the same house, but like every other object it had un- 
dergone a visible change, one part having been pulled down and improved 
with a chamber over it. The first appearance of the house struck our hearts 
with awe. * * • Melancholy gloom pervaded our memory in every part 
of the house ; all those kind visitors who were once the free guests and 
fond companions of our youth started fresh to our remembrance. • • » 
What unspeakable pleasure did we enjoy, whenever we had the happiness 
to behold the countenance of one of those few known companions who still 
survive ; with what eagerness did we embrace them ; with what affection 
did we address them." 

An iucideut of our revolutionary period is still preserved 
among us, well attested, which shows how even the tory women 
of that day were in no wise behind their husbands and sons in 
loyal courage. Mrs. Robert Nichols, who still has many de- 
scendants among our citissens, was then living on the western 


frontiers of the town and not far from the military lines separat- 
ing the two belligerent forces. One evening she had occasion 
to go on an errand to a neighbor's, and as it was a time of con- 
siderable military activity, she felt the need of acting the man- 
ly, and if need be, the martial part. She accordingly donned 
an immense hat and overcoat which had been wont to do her 
absent husband good service, and with a heavy cane, also ser- 
viceable on occasions of surprize, she started on her errand. 
She had not gone far, before she caught a glimpse of a man's 
form, evidently bent on a mischievous raid over the lines into 
the domains of the still faithful loyalists. 

He had come so near that retreat was now impossible ; and 
with a woman's ready instinct, she took the advantage of the 
first charge. With as heavy voice as she could summon to her 
help, she halls the unknown stranger. " Who comes there ?" 
" A friend," is the prompt reply. " A friend to whom ?" con- 
tinues the gruff voice of the would-be martial respondent. " To 
George Washington and the patriot cause." "Ground your 
arms and give the countersign," was the thundering charge, 
which instantly followed, and which was as promptly obeyed. 
A moment more, and the patriotic lieutenant, Josiah Smith, dis- 
armed, stood a prisoner, before his life-long neighbor, Madam 
Rober Nichols — a valiant man, outwitted and now in the power 
of a plucky and still loyal woman. 

But, thanks to the patient and heroic endurance of the patri- 
ots of those trying days, and the wisdom and energy and hope- 
fulness of their leader, Washington, a truce was at length 
reached to these neighborhood estrangements and hostilities. 
As in our last chapter we reported the soldiers engaged in sus- 
taining the war to its favorable end ; in our next, we shall as 
faithfully catalogue those, who in their loyal zeal, defended, to 
the last, the cause of their acknowledged king. 



The following list embraces the names of all whom I have 
found reported as loyalists. For the list as here submitted I am 
indebted to our original manuscripts in the State Library, to 
the American Archives, and to Sabine's History of the Loyal- 
ists. For some of the later facts appended to several of the 
names, I am indebted to the notes of our townsman, the late 
Wm. H. Holly, Esq., who while passing a few months in 1822, 
in Nova Scotia and New Brunswick, visited several of their de- 

Bates, John. 

Bates, Walter, sou of John and Sarah (Bostwick), and was 
born March 14, 1760, in the eastern part of Stamford, now Da- 
rien. In '83 he went in the Union to St. John, New Bruns- 
wick. He was for many years sheriiT of King's County. He 
died at Kingston in 1842, aged 82 years. A sister of his, Lavinia 
married another loyalist, Thomas Gilbert, junr., of Berkley, 
Mass., who was banished after the wai-, and died at Gagetown 
on the St. John's river, New Brunswick. 

Bates, William, brother of Walter, born May 1, 1758, was 
under Cornwallis at Yorktown ; and after the surrender, he went 
to New Brunswick and still later to Canada. 

Beebe, Samuel. 

Briggs, Stephen, a farmer living out in the Farms district. 
His farm was confiscated, and though after the war he returned 
to the neighborhood, he never recovered his title to it. Yet his 


widow by a little cunning, secured a pension for his services. 

Ci-issy, Samuel. 

Dan, Nathaniel. 

Dibble, Frederic. This name is spelled Diblee by Sabine. He 
was son of Rev. Ebenezer and Joanna Dibble of this town where 
he was born in 1753. He graduated at King's College, now Co- 
lumbia, in New York. He removed to New Brunswick after 
the war and was made rector of the Episcopal church in Wood- 
stock. He was a most estimable gentleman and much beloved 
by his parishioners. He had a large and interesting fiimily of 
seven sons and six daughters. He died at Woodstock, in 182G, 
at the age of seventy-three. His widow, Nancy, died in the 
same place in 1838, aged eighty-three years. 

Dibble, Fyler, born Jan. 18, 1741-2, was a practicing attor- 
ney here when the war opened. We have already reported him 
as captain of the first militia company of the town in 1775. It 
seems that in violation of his pledge then given, he went over 
to Long Isl.and and entered the service of the British. Here ho 
was captured with otlier loyalists in '78, and his property in 
Stamford confiscated. In '83 he was a deputy agent in trans- 
porting loyalists from New York to Nova Scotia, in April of 
this year he went with his wife, five children and two servants 
to St. Jolin's, New Brunswick, when in 1784 he was granted 
two city lots ; and where some years later he put an end to his 
own life. His wife was Polly, sister of Seymour Jarvis of this 
town. They were married here June 18, 1763, and the follow- 
ing children are recorded to them; Walter, born B\'b. 7, 1764 ; 
William, born Jan. 14, 1766; Peggy, born Nov. 28, 1767, and 
Ralph, born Oct. 22, 1769. 

Dibble, Walter, son of Fyler, b)rn as above. After the war 
he went in 1783, to St. John in New Brunswick. He died in 
Sussex Vale, in 1817, aged fifty-three. 

Dibble, William, brother of Walter, went also to New Bruns- 
wick in 1783. 

De Mill, Anthony. 


Ferris, Joseph, became one of our most active loyalists, 
throwing himself with all his heart into the service of his king. 
He raised a company, joined colonel Butler's rangers and re- 
ceived a captain's commission. Once during the war he was 
captured by his own brother-in-law but escaped. After the war 
he settled in Xew Brunswick. During the war when the Brit- 
ish held, temporarily, Eastport in Maine, he made it his home, 
but on its surrender to the United States again, he returned to 
Xew Brunswick. He died at Indian Island, Xew Brunswick, 
in 1836, aged ninety-two years. 

Freeze, Reuben, a notorious cow-boy who hung around Heth 
Stevens, and was quite officious in annoying the revolutionists. 

Hanford, Thomas was a hatter, here, before the war. At the 
close of the war lie went to St. John's, Xew Brunswick, where 
he became a prominent merchant, and where he died in 1826, 
aged seventy-three. His widow died there, also, at the age of 

Howes, James, deserted. 

Holly, Increase. 

Holly, Ebenezer. 

Holly, Elnathan, in 1776, at the age of nineteen, went over to 
the British and served in their army until 1782. 

Holly, John Win. at fourteen years of age was put under the 
protection of the British, as before recorded. 

Holly, Samuel met our men retiring from Xorwalk and wish- 
ed them success, supposing them to be British. They rode him 
on a rail, to record his pertinacious loyalty. 

Hoyt, David. 

Hoyt, James with Uriah, below, were exchanged for Peter 
Waterbury who had been captured here, Sept. 8, by the British. 

Hoyt, Samuel .Trd. 

Hoyt, Stephen. 

Hoyt, Uriah. 

Howes, Prince. 


Jarvis, Samuel was carried to Long Island and went thence 
to New York where he died Sept. 1, 1780. Martha his widow, 
died Dec. 1, 18—. Their children sympathized with them in 
their loyalty and removed to the British provinces to the north. 
Our records have their death reported in full as follows ; Mar- 
tha King, died in Halifax, N. S., in 1V84, in the 36th year of 
her age ; William, died in York, U. C, Aug. 13, 1817, in the 
61st year of his age; Munson, died in St. John, N. B., Oct. 7, 
1825, in the 83rd year of his age; Polly Dibble, died in New 
Brunswick, May, 1826, in the 80th year of her age; Hannah In- 
gersoll, died in New Yoi-k, April 23, 1829, in the 71st year of 
her age ; Levina Todd, died in Stamford, Oct. 26, 1841, in the 
81st year of her age and Seymour died in Stamford, Oct. 4, 
1S43, in the 75th year of his age. 

Jarvis, Munsou, born in Stamford in 1742. In 1783 ho went 
to St. John, New Brunswick, when he became a prominent citi- 
zen. He was was once a member of the provincial assembly. 
He died in St. John in 1825, aged 83. One of his sons, Edward 
James, became a member of the council of New Brunswick and 
Chief-Justice of the Colony of Prince Edward's Island. 

Jarvis, John went to Kingston, New Brunswick, where he 
was living in 1822. 

Leeds, Carey petitions the legislature, Jan. 4, 1779, for the 
clemency of the state. In his plea he calls himself " one of those 
unhappy persons who has been over to the enemy and been in 
their service, and by his folly is brought into a most disagree- 
able and miserable situation." He claims that he could not at 
the opening of the contest decide what his duty was, and decid- 
ed to take a neutral course, M'hich he did, to the best of his 
ability. On the 20th of December, 1775, he went over to Long 
Island, was taken up and forced into the British service, from 
which he escaped Sept. 28, 1776, and found his way home again. 
Here he was arrested and imprisoned in Fairfield County Jail — 
and he now "acknowledges the great offense " he committed 


and hopes for mercitul treatment. He also promises to be a 
" faithful member of the United States." The logislatui-e would 
not release him. 

Leeds, .Gideon, a brother of Carey. 

Lewis, Jonathan. 

Loder, Jacob, son of Daniel and Jlargarct, born in Stamford, 
Aug. 1.3, 1734, and went to New Brunswick where he died at 
Sheffield in 1817. 

Lounsbury, Gideon, arrested in 1775, on suspicion of favoring 
the British. Makes a humble apology and promises " to my 
utmost to exert myself in opposition to the ministerial troops." 

Merrit, Shubael, a " cowboy " who was shot, over in Green . 

Mills, Jesse, had rendered himself so offensive to the patriots 
of the north part of the town that, he was pursued into bis sis- 
ter's house, which stood near where Isaac L. Jones' store now 
stands, on Highridge, and was wounded by a shot. He escaped 
from bis pursuers and went to Nova Scotia. 

Newman, Joshua. 

Picket, David went with his wife and seven children to St. 
John, New Brunswick in 178.3. He was a magistrate of the 
colony and a Justice of the Court of Common Pleas of King's 
County, where he died in 1826. 

Rodgers, Fitch went with four brothers to St. John, New 
Brunswick, but retui-ned to Stamiord where he died. 

Quintard, Isaac, had command of the first company of militia 
in Stamford, in 1775. 

Scofield, James, junr. 

Scofield, Josiah 3rd. 

Scofield, Ezra, a brother of the patriot Captain Reuben, went 
to St. John, N. B., and became a prominent man. 

Selleck, Daniel. 

Selleck, John. 

Seeley, 01)adiah. 


Seely, Seth, fiither and son, of whom the latter was a successful 
privateer in the war of 1812. 

Smith, Joseph seems to have been one of the most active and 
mischievous of the " cowboys " in the vicinity of Stamforil. He 
was without mercy, whenever he found one of the king's rebel- 
lious subjects. He felt himself justified in killing rebels any- 
where and had the reputation of frequent success. He is reported • 
as wounding Sally Dibble of Darien in the church, when the 
congregation were captured, because she screened a boy under 
her seat. She carried a handkerchief filled with the holes which 
his bayonet made as it pierced through it into her breast. He 
was himself seriously wounded, near the house of Nathaniel 
Weed in Darien. He managed to escape his pursuers until he 
reached Daniel Gorman's ; and Avhen overtaken, the rage of his 
captors was such that they were determined to kill him at once. 
On the intercession of Mr. Gorman, and on his promise that as 
soon as he was sufficiently recovered from the wound he had re- 
ceived, he should be delivered over to them for trial. But he was 
next heard of in Nova Scotia. 

Slason, Jedidiah, went to St. John's in 1783, and afterwards 
to Frederictown. He was a man of considerable distinction, 
having been a member of the provincial parliament. He died 
in 1844, aged 79 years. He was quite wealthy. 

Stone, William. 

Stevens, Adnier. 

Stevens, Heth, kept a rendezvous for tories on Highridgc, 
One loyalist was shot there. 

Stephens, Henry claimed that he was over i^ersuaded to join 
the enemy, went over to Lloyd's Neck and was forced into the 
British army, and in September 1781, deserted, reached New 
London and gave himself up to the authorities and got a pass 
to go to Stamford, where he was at liberty for four weeks. 
Then the grand juror had him confined in Litchfield jail. He 
acknowledged his guilt, petitioned for release which was grant- 
ed, when the Stamford authorities permitted it. 


Tucker, Solomon, accordine: to Sabine, was from Stamford, 
and M'ent with his wife and four children to St. John, Xew 
Brunswick, in the ship Union, in tlie spring of 1783. 

Thorpe, Edward, was " with the enemies of his country," May 
15, 1781, as James Nichols, administrator on his confiscated 
estate testifies. 

Waterbury, David, brother of Nathaniel of Middlesex parish. 
He went to St. John, New Brunswick, where he became a man 
of some distinction, and where he died in 1833, aged seventy- 
five years. 

Waterbury, John, was with " the enemies of his country," 
March 15, 1781, as ajipears from the testimony of James 
Nichols the administrator on his confiscated estate. He went 
to St. John, New Brunswick, and was one of the original gran- 
tees of that town. He was a military man in the province at 
the close of the last century. He died in St. John, in 1817, at 
the age of 68 years. His widow was living at Mahogany, in 

Whitney, Sylvanus, son of Eliaseph and Mary, born Feb. 3, 
1748, was here in 1775, as our record will show. He went to 
St. John, New Brunswick, where he became an alderman and 
one of the colonial magistrates. He died in 1827, aged 79 years. 

Weed, Abijah, had served in the old French and Indian 
war, but soon after the opening of the revolution, he deserted 
and went to Canada. 



This chapter embraces sketches of those prominent citizens of 
tlie town, who were in active life, mainly, in the first centuiy of 
our history. Others, doubtless, were worthy of a place on this 
list, but the materials were wanting for sketches of them, other 
than such as has already been given in our first and second 
chapters on the settlers of the town. 

Bishop, Eev. John, was probably educated in England. 
Savage says he was in Taunton in 1G40, but does not mention 
his business. The manner of his coming to Stamford from Bos- 
ton, has been already given, in our chapter on the early ecclesias- 
tical history of the town; and both the long continued ministry 
of Mr. Bishop and the aflection sliown him in his old age by the 
people, are in evidence of his success in the office which he held. 

While here he married 1st Rebecca , and by her had four 

sons and one daughter and perhaps more. The sons mentioned 
in the will are Stephen, Joseph, Ebenezer, Benjamin and Whit- 
ing. The daughter, Mary, died here on the 25tli day of fifth 
month 1658. He married for his second wife, Joanna, (Boyse), 
who had been the widow, first of Rev. Peter Prudden of Milford, 
and second, of Capt. Thomas Willet of Swanzey, who had died, 
as Savage tells us, on the third, though the grave-stone says, on 
the fourth of Aug. 1674. 

The only specimen of the scholarship of Mr. Bishop, now ex- 
isting, is probably that epistle of the Rev. Richard Mather of 


Dorchester, written in latin, and published in the Magnalia, 
Vol. 1, page 458, edition of 1855. 

Mr. Bishop died here in 1694, and was buried in the first bury- 
ing lot, where our west park is now. The old stone which indi- 
cated the place of his grave, was removed in 1866, to a suitable 
base prepared for it in the Episcopal lot near St. Andrew's 
chapel, by the affectionate veneration of lus great, great grand- 
son Edwin Bishop, Esq. 

Davexpoet, Rev. John was born in Boston, Feb. 28, 1G69, 
and was the son of John Davenport, Esq., the only son of Rev. 
John Davenport, the ecclesiastical founder of New Haven. He 
graduated at Harvard in 1687, and commenced preaching in 

Our chapter on ecclesiastical matters will give a full account 
of his call and settlement in Stamford. The records of the 
town for the time he lived here, are full of testimonials to the 
esteem in which he was held. While here he married Martha 
Gould, the widow of John Selleck. They had seven children ; 
Abigail, who became the wife of Rev. Stephen Williams, D. D., 
of Springfield, and the mother of an illustrious family ; John 
of New Canaan ; Martha, the wife of Rev. Thomas Goodsell, of 
Branford ; Sarah, who married first Capt. William Maltbie, of 
New Haven, and second Rev. Eleazer Wheelock, D. D., the 
founder and first president of Dartmouth College, and became 
the ancestress of a talented and noble lineage ; Theodore, who 
died early ; Dea. Deodate of East Haven ; and Elizabeth the 
wife of Rev. William Gaylord, of Wilton, Conn. His wife died 
Dec. 1, 1712 ; and that her death was deemed no ordinary event 
is attested by the extraordinary record of it found in Book 1, 
page 110, town records. 

" That eminently Pious and very virtuous. Grave and worthi- 
ly much Lamented Matron, Mrs. Martha Davenport, Late wife 
to the Reverend Mr. Jno i^Davenport Pastor to ye Church of 
Christ in Stamford Laid down or exchanged Her mortal or 
temporall Life to putt on Immortality and to be Crowned with 

2 I 



Immortal Glory : on ye 1st Day of Decemb 1712." He mar- 
ried for his second wife, Mrs. Elizabeth Maltby, 'daughter of 
John Morris, by whom he had two children ; Hon. Abraham, 
and Kev. James, biographical sketches of both of whom will 

Mr. Davenjiort was a prominent man in his profession. He 
had been thoroughly educated and inherited many traits which 
would give him a special fitness for the work of the ministry. 
But few Connecticut pastors of that day had such qualifications 
for the sacred office. While especially eminent in the pulpit, he 
seems never to have lacked discretion out of it. He was equal- 
ly wise in liis public official administrations, and in his pi'ivate 
influence among his people. He died here, Feb. 5, 1731. The 
Kev. Samuel Cooke, of Bridgejjort, preached his funeral sermon, 
which was printed. The sermon, from tlie text " My father, my 
father, the chariot of Israel and the horsemen thereof," contains 
these testimonials to his eminence and worth. 

" The person whose exit now calls for our deep lamentation 
and mourning, was both our crown and our bulwark, our glory 
and our defense. Our crown is fallen from our heads, and our 
defense is departed. We have our chariot and horsemen taken 
away. Wo unto us that we have sinned. It was many years 
since looked upon by the serious and judicious as a special favor 
of divine Providence, that a person of such distinction as we 
liave now lost, was seated so near to the western limits of New 
England as a bulwark against any irruptions of corrupt doc- 
trines and manners. Wo to us, our hedgewall in that respect is 
broken down. * * He was proof against the temptations of 
tlie smiles or frowns of others, to turn him out of the way to the 
right hand or to the left." 

Dr. Bacon in that admirable liistorical discourse, delivered 
before the general association of Connecticut at their one hun- 
dred and fiftieth anniversary in Norwich, says of him, while 
characterizing the members of that memorable body of divines 
who met at Saybrook, in 170S, and drew up thcSaybrook Plat- 


form, " John Davenport pastor of the church in Stamford, was 
not inferior in ability to any other member of the Synod. In his 
own chnrcli and town, and among the ministers and churches of 
that county he had a commanding influence." 

Dentos, Rev. Richard. — His name will be found among the 
pioneers in the settlement of Stamford. His position among 
them and his eminence as a Christian preacher and minister, de- 
serves a fuller notice than was then taken of him. 

Mather, in his Magnalia, has given him a high rank among 
the great lights of that day. With some deduction for the 
highly figurative language used by the Magnalia, the portrait 
of him by Mather is doubtless very just. He introduces him 
as " our pious and learned Mr. Richard Denton, a Yorkshire 
man, who having watered Halifax in England with his fruitful 
ministry, was by a tempest then hurried into New England ; 
where, first at Wethersfield and then at Stamford, his doctrine 
dropt as the rain, his speech distilled as the dew, as the small 
rain upon the tender herb, as the showers upon the grass." He 
then gives us this quaint description of the man. We probably 
are indebted to it for all we can ever learn of his personal ap- 
pearance; and perhaps our utmost research will add nothing to 
its estimate of his piety and scholarship. 

" Though he were a little man, yet he had a great soul ; his 
well accomplished mind in his lesser body, was an Iliad in a nut 
shell. I think he was blind of one eye ; nevertheless, he was 
not the least among the seers of our Israel ; he saw a very con. 
siderable proportion of those things which 'eye hath not seen.' 

" He was far from cloudy in his conception and principles of 
divinity, whereof he wrote a system, entitled "Soliloquium Sacra" 
— so accurately considering the fourfold state of man in his 
"Created Purity;" "contracted deformity;" 'restored beau- 
ty" and "celestial glory," that judicious persons, who have 
seen it, very much lament the churches being so much deprived 
of it." 

" At length he got into heaven bci'ond the clouds, and so be- 


yond storms, waiting the return of tlie Lord Jesus Clirist, in 
the clouds of heaven when he will have his reward among the 

As was his wont in his brief biographical sketches of the 
ministers noticed in his Magnalia, Mather appends to this canon- 
ization of Mr. Denton, what he deemed an equally appropriate 
epitaph. Its original and the translation, I shall give as they 
are found in Robins's edition of the Magnalia. 


Hie jacet ct fruitur tranquilla sede ItKHARDusi, 
Dentonus, cujus fama perrennis erit. 
Incola jam coeli velut astra micantia fulget. 
Qui mnltis fidei lumina clara dedit. 


Here Denton lies, his toils and hardships past, ; 
Whose name no memory of dishonor mars, 
On earth a light of faith lie shines at last, 
Full orbed and glorious with the eternal stars." 

Of Mr. Denton's career while in Wethersfield but very little 
has ever transpired. Precisely what his official connection with 
the new church was, does not appear, from any contemporane- 
ous account I have been able to find. Mr. Chapin's excellent 
and reliable account of the beginning of that church in his 
" Glastenbury for two hundred years," leaves the matter much 
in the dark. Nor do the occasional references to Wethersfield 
matters in the old Colony Records, much add to our informa- 
tion. For reasons never fully explained, the materials gather- 
ed for that new community were so discordant and infusablc, as 
never to mingle together into a body politic or religious. Two 
pretty well defined parties sprang up and Mr. Denton took side 
with that which seems to have been the progressive and radi- 
cal. He carried with him the majority of the church, but a 
minority only of those not connected with the church. 



On reaching Stamford, an cxpfrioiice somewhat like that 
which fell to him in Wethersfield seems to have Tieen his lot. 
The restless and disaifected portion of the new colony, not liking 
the overshadowing influence of New Haven jurisdiction, found 
as before, a leader in their minister, and in 1644, we find him 
removing with them to attempt a new settlement at "Manctos, 
New Netherlands," now Hempsted on Long Island. Here he 
labored acceptably for several years, when he returned to Eng- 
land in 1659, where he died in 1G62 aged 76 years. He left four 
sons, Richard, Samuel, Nathaniel and Daniel. Richard was 
among the settlers of Hempstead, L. I., and Nathaniel in 1660, 
was living in Jamaica, where he and his squadron were author- 
ized " to mow at the Haw-trees." 

HoLLV, John, the ancestor, probably, of the numerous family 
of this name, in this vicinity, was one of the most prominent of 
our early settlers. He was from the first employed in the al- 
most constant service either of the town or of the colony. In 
1647, he was appointed marshal for the settlement, an oflice re- 
quiring a man of no inferior intelligence or business tact. He 
was later made collector of customs and excise here, which of- 
fice he discharged to the acceptance of the general court, to 
which he was responsible. He was repeatedly one of the select- 
men of the town, and one of its representatives in the general 
court. He was often appointed on responsible commissions, 
both by the town and by the legisl.ature. In 1654 he was made 
associate judge with those worthies Law and Bell, for the court 
to be held at this plantation. After the union of New Haven 
with the Connecticut colony he was made commissioner with 
Law, for Stamford, Greenwich and Rye, and to assist in the 
execution of justice at the Fairfield County Court. It seems to 
have been a singular appointment, as he is next year, 1569, pro- 
pounded for freeman in the Connecticut jurisdiction, where he 
is distinctly indicated by the title of senior. It would seem that 
he had shown liimself so competent and useful under the New 
Haven administration, that he was appointed to the most re- 

BIOdHAPHY. '275 

sponsible offices before tlie usual form of enfrancliisenient. Mr. 
Holly seems to have been as active in ecclesiastical as in civil 
and judicial matters. 

The family descended from liini have been both numerous and 
respectable. Alexander H. Holley, of Salisbury, governor of the 
state in 185 7, was one of his great, great, great grand-sons, and 
Horace Holley, D.D., late President of Transylvania Univer- 
sity, Ky.. was another. The family number among their ances- 
try in England, Dr. Luther Halley who was born Oct. 29, 1556, 
in St. Leonard's parish, Shordith, London. 

Mr. Holly died here. May 25, 1681, aged 03 years. A portion 
of the land which he received in the early allotment of lands, 
still remains in the hands of his descendant, our honored citizen 
Alexander N. Holly, Esq. 

JoxES, Rev. Elipiialet, was the son of Kev. John and Su- 
sanna Jones of Concord. His father had emigrated to this 
country in the Defence, in 1C35, and settled first in Concord, 
from which place he eame to Fairfield in 1644, where he died in 
1044, leaving six children, of whom Eliphalet, born Jan. 9, 1641, 
entered Harvard but did not graduate and was ordained about 
1677. Savage says he was a preacher at Rye. Our ecclesias- 
tical record shows that he was living in Greenwich when he 
was called, in 1672 to Stamford. Here he labored under the Rev. 
Mr. Bishop, probably until he was called in April, 1673, to 
Huntington, L. I., where he was ordained in 1676. The long 
period, during which he maintained his post, must be held as 
good proof of his faithful and acceptable service. He died June 
5, 1731, leaving no children. While living in Greenwich, in 
1670, he was made a joint trustee, with Josej^h Mead and John 
Renolds all of Greenwich, of all the lands of William Grimes, 
also of Greenwich, to be disposed of by them in such way as, 
they should judge best for " inlarging of ye town of Greenwich." 
These trustees appropriated the lands to the use of a minister 
and in case there was no minister in town, Mr. Jones, as his 
own affirlavit dated at Huntington, L. I., April 22, 1091, testi- 


lies, proposed to give the profits of the l:uul " to lielpc niaiue- 
taine such as shall bee Imployedin teaching children to Reade." 

In May, 1674, the Connecticut court desire Mr. Jones " to 
take the paynes to dispence the word of God to the people of 
Rye once a fortnight on the Lord's day till the Court, October 
next, and then this court will take further order concerning 
them and for Mr. Jones satisfaction." Mr. Jones remained in 
Huntington, preaching and laboring with general acceptance 
down to his death. He is not known to have left children. 

Law, Richard, was perhaps the first civilian among the Stam- 
ford settlers, the acknowledged legal adviser of the community 
for more than a quarter of a century. His scholarly and cleri- 
cal abilities gave him great advantage among the settlers. 
Though not one of the first twenty to inaugurate the settlement, 
he was at Wethersfield, arranging to join the colony at the 
opening of their second season in their new home. He probab- 
ly took with him from Wethersfield, as his gifted help-meet, 
Margaret, the oldest daughter of Francis Kilborn ; and their 
home, though not the most exjDensive, was to be one of the most 
honored of the colony. Their family, though not to remain 
through other generations to honor the town they were so help- 
ful in founding, was to furnish names to give a new luster to 
the state whose highest civil and judicial seats they were to fill. 
From the first he seems to have been the scribe of the colony. 
His pen was equally ready for the records of the town, the 
church, and the courts. He was the only town clerk appointed 
for about twenty-four years. He was the ready lawyer, in the 
age preceding, technically that profession among us. He was 
oftener a deputy in the general court at New Haven than any 
other of the settlers, and apparently more in demand when 
there. As constable, he was noted for a fearless and tireless 
efficiency. He seemed to have exercised a sort of personal dis 
cretion in regard to prosecutions, which was not. always most 
acceptable to parties who would dictate his ofticialduty. John 
Mead once had good proof of his fidelity, never to be bribed 


lie bad sought the lielp of tlio constable to recover damages 
irom a neigliLor for some harm done by him. The sharp-eyed 
official saw at a glance that there was no ground for the attach- 
ment, and refused the prqpess. Mead scolded and threatened, 
but to no purpose. He then goes into court with an action 
against him for neglecting his official duty. But the angry 
plaintifl" soon finds himself a sorry defendant, with but a miser- 
able advocate. Law had him put under trial for scandalizing 
the church, for slanders and dcftxmatory reports and for disturb- 
ing the peace of the church and the town. To all which nothing 
in extenuation could be said, and the court exculpating their 
officer, sentenced Mr. Mead to make full acknowledgement at 
Stamford, to the satisfaction of the church and Mr. Law, to pay 
Mr. Law ten pounds for his expense in the trial, to pay ten 
pounds more for disturbing the jurisdiction, and then that he 
and his brother or some other acceptable man, be bound over 
for his good behaviour. After the sentence Mr. Mead made the 
fullest confession and retraction, and Mr. Law was left thence- 
forward to prosecute his official business unhindered. 

Mr. Law had married in Wethersfield, Margaret Kilbourn, 
by whom he had three children ; Jonathan, b. 1636-7 ; Abigail, 
who married. May 11, 1665, Jonathan Selleck of Stamford ; and 
Sarah, who married, Oct. 28, 1669, John Selleck, also of Stam- 
ford. The son Jonathan, mai-ried June 1, 1664, Sarah Clark, 
daughter of Dea. George Clark of Milford, and removed to Mil- 
ford, where he was a man of note. His son, Jonathan, b. Aug. 
0, 1674, graduated at Harvard College, 1695; was chief-justice 
of Connecticut for sixteen years and governor of the state from 
1741 to 1750. 

Mr. Lav,' probably died in Stamford, though there is no re- 
cord to show it. His will, the last document in which his name 
appears, bears date March 12, 1686-7. His widow had pro 
bably died before this date as no mention is made of her in the 

There is a paper, entered on the town records in 1686, bearing 


date Feb. 15, 1680, which speaks of the misuinlerstanding under 
which he liad given his son, Law, his land. It seems that the 
sou removed from Stamford to Milford, and this removal was a 
source of dissatisfaction to the father. Still adhering to th^ 
former grant to his son, he now insists on dividing the lands 
which had come into his hands since that former gift, to his 
daughters, the two Mrs. Selleck, so that they may each have a 
half as much as he ; for which he says " the word of God is clear, 
and good reason for it, and why any Christian man that loveth 
righteousness and equity should be against this, I see not." 

MiTcuELL, Rev. Joxathax, was son, not of Jonathan, as 
Sprague's Annals of the American Pulpit has it, but of Matthew 
Mitchell, the wealthiest and otherwise most noted of the lay 
settlers of Stamford. He was born, so Savage supposes, at 
Halifax, Yorkshire, Eng., and in the year 1624, according to 
Mather. He came with his father, in the James, from Bristol, 
in 1635, to Cambridge, Mass., and thence to Concord and Spring- 
held, and in 1640 to Stamford. He remained here probably im- 
til he entered Harvard College, where he graduated, A. B., in 
1647. He was ordained, Aug. 21, 1650, at Cambridge, where 
he labored in the ministry for eighteen years. 

He was one of the early New England ministers whom the 
quaint Mather has immortalized in his Magnalia. He styles 
him the " Ecclesiastes ;" " a Pastor of the Church, and a glory 
of the College in Cambridge, New England." In his epistle 
dedicatory, he calls him "blessed Mr. Mitchell," and in his 
sketch of the life and labors of Mr. Mitchell, he makes him the 
" excellent," the famous pastor" and " this best ot preachers in 
our new English nation." The opening of his biographical 
sketch is worthy of a place here, as illustrating the times to 
which our subject belonged, and also, as furnishing us an in- 
teresting clue to his character and that of his family : — 

" If it were counted an honor to the town of Halifax in York- 
shire that the famous John de Sacro Bozco, author of the well 
known treatise "De Sphoera," was born there ; this town was 


no less honored by its being the place of birtli to our no less 
wovthil}' famous Jonathan Mitchell, the author of a better trea- 
tise ol heaven, who, being descended, as a printed account long 
since has told us, of pious and wealthy parents, here drew his 
first breath, in the year 1624. The precise day of his birth is 
lost, nor is it worth while for us to inquire, by an astrological 
calculation, what aspect the stars had xipon his birtli, since the 
event has proved, that God the Father was in the horoscopes, 
Christ in the mid heaven, the Spirit in the sixth house, repent- 
ance, faith and love, in the eighth ; and in the twelfth an eternal 
happiness, where no Saturn can dart any malignant rays. Here 
while the " father of his flesh " was endeavoring to make him 
learned by a proper education, the " Father of Spirits " used the 
methods of grace to make him serious ; especially by a sore fever 
which had like to have made the tenth year of his life the last, 
but then settled in his arm with such troublesome effects, that 
his arm grew and kept a little bent, and ho could never stretch 
it out right nntil his dying day. * * * The ship which 
brought over Mi'. Richard Mather, * * was further eni-iched 
by having on board our Jonathan, then a child of about eleven 
j'ears of age ; whose parents with much difficulty and resolution 
carried him unto Bristol to take shipping there, while he was 
not yet recovered of his illness." 

Mather thus speaks of his mental ability and seliolarship. 
" The facilities of mind, with which the ' God that forms the 
spirit of man' enriched him, were very notable. He had a clear 
head, a copious fancj', a solid judgment, a tenacious memory 
and a certain discretion, without any childish laschete or levity 
in his behaviour, which commanded respect from all that view- 
ed him. * * * Under these advantages, he was an hard 
student, and he so prospered in his indefatigable studies, that 
he became a scholar of illuminations, not far from the first mag- 
nitude ; recommended by which qualifications, it was not lonrr 
before he was chosen a Fellow of the College." 

He first received a call to preach in Hartford, with the most 


flattering oft'er of generous aid to hiin in supplying liimsclf witli 
a suitable library. They had sent a man and a horse to Boston 
for him and he preached to their acceptance, June 24, 1649. On 
his return to Cambridge, through the entreaties of the venerable 
Mr. Shepard, who was providentially just about vacating by 
death his field of honored usefulness, lie was induced to prcacli 
thei'c as a candidate for settlement. He commenced his labors 
there Aug. 12, 1040, to continue them with great acceptance 
and success until his death, July 9, 1608. 

His preaching talents were of a high order. His sermons 
were " admirably well studied." " He ordinarily meddled with 
no point but what he managed with such an extraordinary in 
vention, curious disposition and copious application, as if he 
would leave no material thing to be said of it by any tliat 
should come after him. And when ht came to utter what he 
had prepared, his utterance had such a becoming tunableness 
and vivacity, to set it off, as was indeed inimitable, though many 
of our eminent preachers, that were in his time students at the 
college did essay to imitate him." 

Mr. Mitchell married at Cambridge, ^Margaret, widow of his 
predecessor. Rev. Mr. Shepard. Two of his sons, Samuel and 
Jonathan, were graduates of Harvard. One of his daughters, 
Margaret, married Stephen Sewall of Salem, and was niotlicr of 
Chief Justice Stephen Sewall of Massachusetts. 

Mitchell, M.vttiiew, the second on our list of pioneers, and 
the first in point of wealth, probably, was a man of marked 
ability. His name is not so prominent among our early towns- 
men as it would have been, if he had decided to make this his 
permanent home, and that of his famil}'. In the great secession 
of 1644, he went with his minister Mr. Denton, over to Hemp, 
sted ; but probably soon i-epented of the move, and returned 
According to contemporaneous accounts, he must have been 
sorely tried, as he seems to have been much reduced in his pe- 
cuniary condition, by various adverse providences. He had left 
his home in England to secure the freedom denied his religious 


foitli tliere, aurl perhaps tliis very aim, rendered him restless, 
until he should attain it. His wanderings and trials are a very 
fair illustration of what the pioneers of our town had to endure 
and suffer. 

Born in 1590, we find him, Feb. 24, 1622-3, a witness to the 
will of widow Susan Feild, whose husband William Feild, had 
died in North Ouram, parish of Halifax, iu 1619. Here ho was 
doubtless enjoying the instructions of Richard Denton, then 
curate of Coley Chapel ; and it is not to be wondered at that 
he heartily united his fortunes with those of liis minister. May 
23, 1635, seems the probable date on which he set sail for the 
new world; and if so, he reached Boston, Aug. 17th. His first 
temporary home was among the pioneers of Charlestown, where 
he spent a winter of great discomfort. And, indeed, his trou- 
bles had preceded his landing. Two days before reaching the 
harbor, a furious storm had arisen, which almost dismantled 
their ship. The following spring he went to Concord, where a 
lire consumed much which the coast wreck had spared. Find- 
ing here no fitting home he next appears at Springfield, in May 
1036, in the company of William Pynchon, where he and two 
other of our Stamfoi'd settlers, Edmond and Jonas Wood, have 
])rominent lots assigned them. From Springfield he went to Say- 
brook where he stayed but a few months, when he cast in his 
lot with the Wethersfield planters, as before stated. Here, 
also, lie was particulai-ly unfortunate. On his visit to Saybrook, 
ho had encountered that savage irruption of the Pequots and 
had barely escaped with his life ; and in Wethersfield, his estate 
was doomed to suffer still more seriously, from frequent Indian 
raids. Other difiiculties were in his way. He could not com- 
ply with some of the requisitions of the unsettled times and 
people among which he was called to live. He was evidently a 
man of positive and independent charactei", and was wont to 
assert ami defend himself. He became obnoxious to a Mr. 
Cliupliii, and in the heat of the contest, excited the displeasure 
of the court, which at that time was the only legislature known. 
His townsmen had chosen him their recorder. The court would 


not ratify the choice. He discharged his clerical duties, and 
was fined, as elsewhere appears. 

At this point in his Wethersfield experience, he betakes him- 
self with those of his fellow colonists, who had incurred like 
censure from the general court, to a new home. Stamford was 
the chosen site. His position among the settlers here is evinced 
by that of his name. Our pioneer list reports it. As member 
of the Xew Haven Court, and one of the judges of the local 
colony court, and as townsman for two years before he tempo- 
rarily removed to Hempstead, he seems to have met the approval 
of his new townsmen. On what contemporaneous authority he 
is reported as having removed to Hempstead, I have not found. 
It is not at all unlikely that he did so ; yet he must soon have 
returned to Stamford. He died before May 19, 1646, as is evi- 
dent from the statement of the court that approved his will. 

His only children of whom I find any mention were, licv- 
Jonathan, (see preceding sketch), and David, who settled iu 
Stamford, and had four sons. A list of their descendants can be 
found in Cothren's History of Ancient Woodbury. 

Undkrhii.l, Captaix Joiix. Xo name among the Stamford 
settlers was as famous as this — equally famous for successful 
Tuilitary feats, and for a strangely erratic social and domestic 
career. History transmits his character to us variously shaded, 
now to bo envied for its self-sacrificing and brilliant achieve- 
ments, and again to be deplored for its shameful humiliations. 

Though here but a short time, his name deserves to be record- 
ed among our settlers ; and special mention is due to it, because 
it was so closely connected with the preservation of the young 

His descent was from an honorable family in Warwickshire. 
His earliest years must have exhibited more than the ordinary 
restlessness of boyhood. Though we have no account of his 
childhood, we may be assured that they were no ordinary feats 
of mischief and of daring which were his pastime. Nothing 
less than a mock broad sword, or a mimic battle, could have 


mut and satisfied the deepest longings of this ehild-hero ; and 
so, as soon as his years would let him, we find him ready for the 
deed and daring of the thickest fight. That was no nnmeaning 
pupilage through whicli he went in the English service, under 
such a leader as the gallant Essex in his wars with Spain. Tliat 
was, to the young soldier, no useless lesson which he leai'ned in 
tlie fierce and successful storming of Cadiz. And those later 
days of service in the ranks with veterans who had grown old 
and wise in war, were full of hints for his judgment and stimulants 
for his courage, preparatory to his career in the new world. 
Nor were those successful struggles of the Dutch, in which he 
shared, and from which they arose to a merited independency 
of their haughty Spanish masters, without many a lesson to him 
on the fundamental question of his personal rights and respon- 
sibility. So that by the time the way was open for him to seek 
a homo for himself and his, across the Atlantic, he had received, 
in some sort, a providential training for a special and needed 

What special reasons induced him to leave England, are not 
given by the historian. That his spirit would brook with much 
patience even slight restraint, whether upon liis conscience or 
practice, either in religion or in politics, was not to be expected ; 
and the probability is, that greater freedom than the staid po- 
licy of tlie fatherland allowed, moved him to the change. But 
without such a reason, the veiy restlessness of his excitable and 
roving disposition, would have tempted him to try the novelties, 
while the utter recklessness of his fearless soul, would have 
taken richest pleasure in braving and conquering the dangers 
of the yet savage wilderness. 

We find him in 1630 in Boston, then a new settlement, enroll- 
ing himself among the pioneer founders of New England ; and 
that he was deemed worthy of position among them, is eviden- 
ced by his appointment to responsible oflices, civil and military. 
The old " Ancient and Honorable Artillery Company " of the 
Bay state bears testimony to liis military standino- ; and the 


general court of Massachusetts honored liim as their metropoli- 
tan deputy. 

But he was soon found to be most serviceable in the lield. 
Tiie exposed colonists were perpetually harassed and endanger- 
ed by wily and hostile Indians ; and Underbill was more than a 
match tor them. He was inferior to them, neither in celerity, 
nor in cunning ; he was greatly their superior in intelligence, 
judgment and skill. So signal were the services which he ren- 
dered, that as eai-ly as 1032 he received a pension of thirty 
pounds ; and thenceforward he is one of New England's most 
reliable defenders against their most dreaded foe. 

The Pequod war soon enabled him to show his courage and 
his skill. Under the resolute and prudent Mason, he performed 
prodigies of valor at the storming of their principal strong- 
hold on the banks of the Mystic All the intrepid heroism of 
his nature found room for play ; and the boldest savage of that 
most untamable tribe quailed before him, whenever he moved 
about among the falling and tlie fallen of their race. 

And, now, we begin to find developing anotlier pliase of the 
hero's character. He had become professedly a Christian. His 
religion, as might be expected, was in earnest. Zeal, whether 
according to knowledge or not, was its most noticeable charac- 
teristic ; and he began to suspect and denounce those who 
could not sympathize and work with. him. The Boston clergy 
were too tame to suit him. Their only zeal was that of the 
scribes and pharisees or that of Paul before his conversion. 
Mrs. Hutchinson's piety, and Wheelwright's liberty, and Yane's 
polity had much more in them to suit his tastes. When, there- 
fore, these were condemned by a majority of the Boston author- 
ities, he could do no less than to utter his protest, and he 
accordingly signs the petition to have Mr. Wheelwright restor- 
ed. For this, he too, is disfranchised and given permission to 
depart. We next find him the governor of the new colony at 
Dover, but not to hold his position long. Gov. Endicott, writes 
a member of the colony, " how ill we should relish if they should 
advance Captain Underbill whom we liave thrust out for abus- 


iiig the court and feigning a retraction, both of his seditious 
practice and also his corrupt opinions, and after denying it 
again." Tliis letter put the Dover colonists on their good be- 
havior and led to the removal of Underhill. Underbill, himself, 
seems to have lost his spirits, and descended to the humblest 
apologies and earnest entreaty for forgiveness. 

Bnt his oft'enses, extending even to repeated adulteries, as was 
then believed, were not to be borne, and his sentence was ban- 

We find him next in England. AYhile here he issues from 
the press, his history ot the Pequod war, entitled "News from 
America, or a new and experimental Discovery of New Eng- 
land; containing a true relation of warlike proceedings these 
two years past, with a figure of the fort or palisado, by John 
Underhill, a commander in the wars there." 

In 1639 he again appears in Boston, occupying literally " the 
stool of repentance," with the white cap covering his head, be- 
wailing his past insolence and crimes, and promising amend- 
ment. The church accept his confessions, and the court restore 
him to their favor. 

During the summer, in which our Stamford fathers were 
taking possession of their purchase, we find him again the sub- 
ject of legal process in Boston, and this time, it would seem, 
without law or right. He was arrested by the order of the 
governor, without charge of any offense committed since he had 
been pardoned both by the church and the court. He is dis- 
missed. The same farce seems to have been repeated in the 
following year, and with a like result. 

But the suspicious and persecutions which awaited him in the 
Massachusetts colony, rendered a home there intolerable to him. 
He had already made trial of our Connecticut air and soil, and 
was not averse to them. The Dutch further to the west, despite 
his attachment to the loving damsel, who had followed him 
from his Holland campaign, hither, would have suited him well 
enough, had he not been compelletl to own allegiance to the 


States General and the Prince of Orange ; and for a sanilar 
reason he would not join the English settlers on Long Island. 
Refusing a handsome offer from the Dutch governor, who would 
gladly have secured his services in his incessant collision with 
the Indians in his colony, he decides to make Stamford his fu- 
ture home. Furnished with an outfit and a pinnace, by the 
church, this versatile man finds his way, with his family into 
the Stamford harbor; and in October of our second year ho 
takes his place among the fathers of the new settlement. 

How favorable an impression he made here, is shown in his 
appointment the ne.xt spring as deputy to the New Haven court ; 
and the opinion of his character held at New Haven appears in 
his appointment by the general court, with gentlemen Mitchell, 
Ward, and Robert Coe, as the local court, auxiliary to the 
general court, " for the more comely carrying on of public 
aiFairs." Thus, before the end of his second year in Stamford, 
he was fairly installed in citizenship and in high official posi- 

We have seen in the previous history how much the new 
colony were indebted to him for their safety in the midst of sus- 
picious and hostile savages. No one more than he held in check 
the inflamable passions of resident Indians ; and none in all the 
region had a name so full of terror to neighboring tribes. When, 
therefore, savage tribes stole down from the north and threat- 
ened the entire destruction of the Dutch settlements, to whom 
else should the endangered colonists look for help ? And when 
the scattered settlements on the Island, from Manhattan to 
Montauk were in danger of extinction, who, if not he could be 
entrusted with the management of their defense ? And both 
the English on the Island, and the Dutch, both on the Island 
and on the main land, between Stamford and New Amsterdam, 
were loud in their praise of their great captain, who so signally 
wi-ought out delivei-ance for them. 

It was while eusra^ed in chastising the Indians on the Island 

moGnArin'. 28'i 

that he seems to h.ave formed the purpose ol making it his 
future home ; and we find him as early as 1660, established in 
his new home in Oyster Bay, where he died in 1672. 



Connecticut, at tliis date, liad more than quadrupled the num- 
ber of her towns reported in 1700; — from 27, having increased 
to 118. But Stamford, meanwhile, had gone forward in popu- 
lation, from the little scattered community of 585 souls, to the 
respectable township of 4465 — a growth nearly eight-fold in the 
century, and the growth in wealth, had been even greater than 
in population ; while the advance in facilities for travel, and in 
all the arts which minister to the social well being of a com- 
munity, had been still more rapid than in wealth. 

The territory had not yet suffered excision; though the citi- 
zens of the eastern part of the town were beginning to think of 
caring for themselves. The northern end of that portion had 
already concerted a plan for speedy secession. But we find the 
town exceedingly loth to surrender a single foot of the territory, 
or a single vote of the subjects that for more than a century 
they had ruled and cared for as inalienably their own. The 
citizens entered upon the contest with those portions of the 
town which asked permission to leave the old jurisdiction, and 
set up for themselves under new auspices; and the struggle was 
long and earnest until the secession of a part of Xew Canaan 
and the whole of D.irien was finally carried. 

Xew York was not yet so accessible as to stimulate very 
notieably the Imisiiu'ss longings, and educate tlie business 
talents of our youug men. The days of the old stage-coach had 
indeed been for years wearing themselves out in the hum- 

STAMFORD IN 1800. 289 

drum style of those quiet and sober times ; and Stamford 
was simply a well-to-do town, whose honest and industrious 
people were mainly content with such gains and show, as they 
could win from the soil, or as they could coin from the sobered 
prosecution of their varied handicraft. 

In making np our estimate of the condition of the town at 
this date, let us first see who are occupying its varied offices of 
honor and trust. The list we shall report, without giving the 
offices assigned to the several names. Captain Isaac Lockwood 
leads our citizens, evidently, as appears from the uniformity 
with which, at this period he is called to preside in our jJublic 
meetings; and with Nathan Weed, jr., he also represents the 
town in the state legislature. John Hoyt, jr., is still, as for the 
last twenty-five years, the faithful clerk of the town, and his 
large, fair, hand-writing will be easily legible, as long as the 
accurate records shall be preserved. Following these names, 
stand the long list of those wlio in one way and another were 
found worthy to serve the town of their nativity or adoption. 
The list is worthy of reservation. It reports to us tlie names 
of the fathers and grandfiithers of the present citizens of the 
town, as they sought to do their duty liere, sixty-eight years 



Jasiali Smitli, 
Gary Leeds, 
Amos Weed, 
Isaac Penoyer, 
Stephen Bishop, 
Jesse Hoyt, 
Samuel Hoyt, Sid. 
Jona. Bates, 
Stephen Selleck, jr 
Samuel Whiting, 
Nath'l Clock, 
Amos Loiinsburv, 
Smith Weed, 
.>oLn Wm. HoUv, 
Kobert Scofield, 
Isaac Smith, jr., 
Ezra Lockwood, 
Charles Knapp, 

Isaac Qnintard, 
Jeremiah Palmer, 
Zadoc Newman, 
David Smith, 3rd. 
Jeremiah Knap, jr 
Josiah Dibble, , 
Ebenezer Webb, 
Nath'l Webb, 
John Nichols, 
Thos. Loiinsbury, 
Thaddeus Hoyt, 
Jas. Buxton, 
John Lounsbury, 
Bradley .\yers, 
Abishai Weed, 
Enoch Stevens, 
Epenetus Hoyt, 
Reuben Jones, 

Jacob Scofield, 
John Davenport, Zi\\. 
Wan-en Scoheld, 
Eufus Newman, 
Warren Hovt, 
William Weed, 
Gold S Pennoyer, 
Elisba Stevens, 
Joseph Smith, 
Nnth'l Wftterbury, 
Elisba Leeds, 
John Waterbuvv, 3d. 
Nathan Seelv, " 
John Bell, 
David Foster. 
Nathan Keed, 
Nathan Boutou, 
Josiah Smith, 


John Nichols. Sylvanus Knap, Nathan Seely, 

Joseph Bishop, Isaac Lockwood, Israel Weed, 

Jona. Brown, Joseph Waring, Benjamin Brush, 

Charles Weed. 3rd. Jesse Hoyt, Samuel Mather, 

Enoch Comstock, Shadrach Hoyt, jr., Enos Waterbury, 

Stephen Bishop, Hoyt Scofield, Gold Smith, 

Benj. Weed, jr., Wm. Waterbury, 4th. Abraham Davis. 

I to transact the busi- 

Let us next see what were the religious condition and privi- 
leges of the town at this date. There were standing within the 
Stamford limits, in 1800, six church edifices. In the oldest, the 
first Congregational, Rev. Daniel Smith, a young man had just 
entered upon his long ministry, and both as preacher and teacher 
was laying good foundations for his work. The Episcopal con- 
gregation were still worshiping in their first church, standing 
on the rocks, south-east from their present church on Main 
street. They were still in sorrow over the recent death of their 
first rector. Dr. Dibble, though hoping much from the opening 
ministry of Rev. Calvin White, who had come here to his aid 
in 1798. The Baptists were rejoicing in their new meeting- 
house, so upright and square, overlooking the Mill-pond on 
River street. The patriarch of their denomination, Ebenezer 
Ferris, was still with them and with the Rev. Marmaduke Earl, 
in charge over the congregation at the Bangall church, was 
providing for the spiritual training of both branches of the de- 
nomination. Two or three Methodist preachers officiated with- 
in the limits of the township, though as yet no church edifice 
had been built for their worship — the private dwelling of Mr. 
Isaac Reed, their pioneer, still accommodating all who wish to 
attend their meetings at the center of the town. In Xorth 
Stamford, which by this time had outgrown the old title of 
Woodpecker ridge, a good congregation were edified by the 
youthful ministry of their third pastor Rev. Amzi Lewis. In 
jMiddlesex, (Darien), the venerable Moses Mather, D. D., the 
same who for his revolutionary zeal was taken nineteen years 
before from his own pulpit and marched over tlie British lines 
into Xew York, was still doing o;ood service in liis ministeiial 


STAMFOKD IX 1800. 201 

Thus instead of tliL' simple church and its solitary pastor of 
1700, the opening of this century gives us six church edifices 
with six settled pastors and the gradual preparation for at least 
three other places of worship. 

Our schools were under the management of three ecclesiasti- 
cal societies ; and the whole territory had been divided into 
twenty-seven districts, and parts of three others so as to bring 
the school within convenient distance of all parts of tlie town. 
In parson Smith's house, still standing south of the Baptist 
church, and then the imiserial mansion of the town, were thus 
early the rudiments of a town and boarding school, in which, 
for many years, many of the youth of the town and not a few 
from New York, received the finish to their preparation for col- 
lege or business. Another of these institutions was soon to be 
opened under the auspices of a son of the town, Frederick Scofield , 
who graduated in 1801, and began here his career as teacher. 
The children of the center of the town in District No. one, which 
then extended from Mill river to the Noroton, were accommo- 
dated in that little square structure, with its slight cupola on 
its top, now standing across Bank street from the Congrega- 
tioual church. Thr play grounds for these children were all 
that triangle now inclosed by Main, Atlantic and Bank streets, 
the school house being then the only building on the entire 
opening. Some of our oldest citizens of 1868, remember to 
have used those grounds for their mimic navies in summer and 
their ringing skate steel in winter. But that was before they 
were needed for the various business uses to which this last half 
century has wrested them. 

Let us look now at the business of the village, that part of 
the town now in the Borough. We shall find here four little 
stores, in each of which we might have bought whatever the 
frugal habits of that day needed for use, of dry goods or gro- 
ceries, not excepting even the " good creature," which then had 
not been voted contraband. These stores were standing, the 
first just east of where the Union House now stands, next to 


Smith Weed's house ; the second, on the soutli-west corner oi' 
the lot where Mr. S. W. Smith's, new brick block stands, and 
was in the hands of that early woman's rights practicioner, Mrs. 
Munday, where some of our oldest citizens now living bought 
their first stick of candy and took their first lessons in commer- 
cial life ; the third, where our citizens Hurlbutt are now carrying 
on their tailoring business ; and the fourth, on the corner of 
south street, where Chas. Williams, Esqr., now lives. Where 
the Rippowam Woolen Mills stand, then stood the village grist 
mill, which for 158 years had been maintained as the chief and 
most important business institution of the town. On the cor- 
ner of parson Smith's lot, about where our jeweler Weed has 
his handsome front, stood what was called a hat shop, the age 
of factories not having yet dawned. The only other building 
used for business purposes, within the present borough limits, 
was the slaughter house of the town, standing then, where Dr. 
Trowbridge now lives, near the north-west corner of the old 
burying lot. Of the seventy-seven families then residing on 
this territory, only one remains in 1868, in actual occupancy of 
the same lot and residence, and that is our citizen Isaac Quin" 
tard. On all this territory, there are no signs of an " Algiers" 
or " Dublin," of canal or of railroad. Our thoroughfores were 
one street, east and west, nearly coincidhig with our present 
Main street ; and one north and south where Atlantic and Bed- 
ford streets are now. Besides these, on this territory, was only 
a lane from the gate, then standing on the corner south-east of 
St. John's Park — leading over to the cove and down to Ship- 
pan point by the Indian Cave, which itself has disappeared in 
the prcgress of blasting ; and what was then called west south 
street, now south, from the bridge on Broad street, down to the 
Landing. Broad sti-eet, was opened eastward, only to Atlantic 
street. All other parts of tlie territory from Xorwalk to Green- 
mch were as well supplied with roads :is tlic \illago itself, and 
since that date about one-half of the roa<ls iu tlu' rest of the 
town have been opened. The business oi the town was largely 
aiiricultural — the saw-mill, the urist-mill and the tannerv being 

STAMFOED IX 1800. 293 

the extent, as yet, of our other business enterprizes. Darien, 
Xorth Stamford, Long-ridge and " Bangall " constituted 
four business centers, each of which was no mean rival to the 
enterprize of tlie village itself. The old burying-ground of the 
first pioneers, still held sepulchral sway over the very ground 
where our main street now runs ; and but for the new era of 
steam, soon to dawn, the Stamford of 1868 would but little 
exceed the sketch wliich indicates its growth in 1800. 



Ill this cliaptiT we shall give sueli account, as the materials 
within reach will enable us to do, of all of the churches which 
have been organized on the territory, which down to about the 
first of the last century was under the spiritual care of the only 
church then in existence here. We shall commence this cata 
logue with our record of that First Church of Christ in Stam- 
ford, and at the point in its history where our seventh chapter 
leaves it. 


The first known records of this church, distinct from the 
town records, were those begun by Mr. Welles, at his ordination, 
Dec. 31, 1740. He prepared the folio in which the records were 
to be kept, as if for a permanent depository of all the doings of 
the church in Stamford. Its title page, in large round hand, 
reads : 

" Xotitia Parochialis Stamtordieiisis 


Stanford Church records, 

Begun Jan. 1st, A.D. 1747. 

By Noah Welles, who under the conduct of divine providence 

was called to oflice by the church and society in said Stanford, 

and by ordination fixed in the work of the gospel ministry there. 

The day of my ordination and solemn investiture according to 

divine institution, by fasting aud prayer with the imposition of 

the hands of the presbytery, the elders of the cluirches of 


Christ in the western association of Fairfield County; the Rev. 
Messrs. Noah Hobart, John Goodsel, Benjamin Strong, Jona- 
than Ingersol and Moses Mather, was Dec. 31. 1746. 

N.B. In the following records the year begins with the 1st 
day of January, being the day after my ordination." 

The first record made is tliat of all the names of those who 
were in full communion in the church at the time of his ordina- 
tion. That list, just as it appears on the third and fourth pages 
of the records is as follows : 

Jonathan Hait, Esq., Deacon, 

Zebuluu Husted, 

S:imuel Hait, Esq., Deacon, 

Nathat Seofield— Bapt. 

Jon alhan Maltbie, Esq., 

Abraham Hait, 

Benjamin Hait, 

Peter Knap, 

Samuel Blatchley, 

Benjamin Jones, 

Samuel Seofield, 

Ebeuezer Seofield, 

Bei.jamin Weed, 

Charles Bishop, 

Lieut. Daniel Weed, 

Miles Seofield, 

Stephen Ambler, Deacon, 

Lieut. John Bates, 

Joseph Bishop, 

John Weed, 

James Bishop, 

Ebeuezer Weed, jr., 

Benjamin Buunel, 

Timothy Curtis, 

.Jonathan Waterbury, 

Josiah Holly, 

Jonathan Clauson, 

Joseph Judson, 

Fbenezer Hait, 

Epenetus Webb, 

John Seofield, 

Benjamin Hait, junr., 

Thomas Waterbery, 

Ensign Charles Kuap, 

Miles Weed, 

David Hait, 

Nehemiah Bates, 

Jagger Hait, 

Abraham Davenport, Esq., Deacon. 

Hezekiah Weed, 

David Bishop, 

(17C9,) Joseph Seofield, 

Captain Bishop, 

Ensign Israel Weed, 

E. Bishop, 

Thomas Potts, 

Joseph Webb, 

Jonas Seofield, 

Lieut. Nathanael Webb, 

Jeremiah Hait, 

Nathau Hait, 

Gideon Lounsberv, Episcopal. 

Nathan Bishop, 

Capt. Amos Weed", 

Benjamin Weed, junr., Esq., 

Nathau Lounsbery, 

Daniel Weed, junr., 

Joseph Hustead, 

Daniel Weed, 3rd., 

Nathanial Cressy, 

Joshua Lounsbery, 

Keuben Weed, 

John Seofield, junr-, 

Joseph Finch, 

Nathaniel Stevens, 

Jonathan Garusey, 

Epenetus Lounsberv. 

Lieut. Hezekiah Weed, jr.. 

Josiah Seofield, 

Ezekial Roberts, Quaker. 

Charles Seofield, 

Samuel Weed, 

Reuben Seofield, 

Whole number 75 Males. 

Israel Bordman, 

Madam Davenport, 

Hannah, Dan, We of David, 


Sarah, wife of Nathiin Scofield, 

Eiith Bishop, 

Ww of Deacon Hnit, 

W«- Burnham, 

Mary, wife of Lient. Ei). Weed, 

Eliz'iib. we of Lieut. Danl. Weed, 

W'w Hait, 

Mrs. Blatchely, we of Saml. 

Elizab. We of Beoj. Hait, 

Millescent, We of Col. Hait, 

Experience, We of Sam'l Ferris, 

W'w Blatchely, We of Abr'm H*it, 

Rose, We of Jopeph Weed. 

Mary, We of Sam'l Hnit, Esq., 

Deborah. We of Stephen Ambler, 

Wife of Lieut. Waterbury, 

W'w Bishop, of Capt. Bishop. 

Ww Blackman, w'e of Josiaii, 

W'w Martha Leeds, 

Azubah, W'e of Simeon June, 

Ww Hannah Thorp 

Sarah, W'e of Jona. Maltbj-. Esq , 

Marj', We of Chs. Sturges, 

Elizabeth, We of Jona. Clauson, 

Mary Bishop, 

Sarah, W'e of Josiah ScoRe'd, 

Deborah, We of Lieut. N. Webb, 

Elizab. dan. of Lieut. D. Weed, 

Hannah Slason, 

Mary, W'e. of Lieut. Ezra Smith, 

Elizabeth Jessup, 

Mary, W'e of Josiah ScoCeld, 

Joanna, We of Miles Weed, 

Hannah, We of Jos. L:uusbury, 

Susanna, We of Nehem. Bates, 

Hannah, W'e of Abr'm Hait, 

Sarah, W'e of James Bell, 

Itebecca, W'e of Samuel Weed, 

Sarah, We of Jno. Lockwood, 

Hannah, W'e of Samuel Weed, juu. 

Ww Susanna Waterbury, 

Mary, W'e of Beni. Weed, jun. 

Marg, W'eofEbeur. Hait, 

Lydia, We of Seremiah Hait, 

Abigail, We of Reub. Scofield, 

Sarah Hait, 

Lydia, We of Reub. Weed, 

Mrs. Sirah Slayd, 

Ahi^ail, WeotDu'ilD;bblB 

Wid. Abigail Clau.sou, 


Kezia. W'e of Daniel Weed, 3d, 
Ruth, We of Nathan Erown, 
Anna, W'e of Nath'l Brown, 
Abigail, W'e of Zab. Hustead, 
Mary, We of Peter Knap, 
Susanna. W'e of Dan'l Weed, 
Mary, We of Ebenezer Scofield, 
Mary, W'e of Chris'n Sturgis, 
Hannah, W'e of Sam'l Scofield, 
Rachel Lounsbury, W'e of J. Scofield, 
Abigail Lonnsbury, 
Deborah. W'e of jonath. Garusey, 
Bethia Brown. 

Sarah, We of Dan'l Lockwood, 
Rebecca, W'e of Jos. Gales, 
Hannah, We of Lieut. Sam'l Scofield. 
Susanna. We of Timothy Curtis, 
Sarah, We of Capt. Knap, 
Mr.s. Hannah Wright, 
Martha. W'e of Jos. Smith, now of 

B. Weed, Esq., 
Mercy, W'e of Jona. Weed, 
Mercy, W'e of Quinton Patch, 
Saruli, dau. of Jonas Weed, 
Elizabeth Hunt, 
Eliz. W'e of Sam'l Scofield, 
Mary HoUv, 
Debor.ih Webb, now We of Dan'l 

Mary. AV'e of Charles Buxton, 
Abigail, Weof Wm. Blanchard, 
Abigail, We of Richard Webb, 
Rebecca, W'e of Jona. Ayres, 
Deborah, We of Jos. Husted, 
Kezia, We of Jas. Roberts, 
Thankful, dau. of Mrs. Weed, 

Martha, W'e of Waring, 

Hannah, We of Jas. Sjoflell, 
Elizab. Bishop, 
, Esther, We of'l Whiting, 
Mary Bouton, 
Bethia Scofield, 
Mary Lounsbury, 
Sar.ih, W'e of Gershom Mead, 
Mary, We of Sergt. Jno. Scofield, 
Mary, Dau. of Sergt. Sam'l Scofield, 
Mrs. Hannah Mather, 
HinuahDm, WeDivid, 
Miry, W'e Beaj. Jones, 
Whole No. 99 Females. Total 171. 

The above list comprises probably all the resident members 
of this first church of Stamford in 1746. 


Dr. Welles continued here until his death in 1776. Under 
his ministry there was a steady growth of the church, without 
any very marked season of revival ; the largest number added 
in any one year being twenty, in the year 1769. In all, during 
liis ministry, there were added to the church 173, of whom only 
61 were males. He baptized during the thirty years of his 
ministry here, 1365. That no more additions were made to the 
church may be ascribed to the increase of membership in other 
cliurches during this period. We shall see in the record of the 
several churches established on the same ground, that while 
the parent church held her own, the cause of religion was ex- 
tending through the rapid multiplication of churches, all of 
which were thoroughly evangelical. To estimate truly the 
progress which religion was making, therefore, during this pe- 
riod of the town's history, it will be necessary to examine the 
establishment and growth of the several churches of the same 
name and those of different names, whieh sprang up on the same 
ground occupied for about a century by this first church alone. 
Very few incidents occurred during Dr. Welles' ministry, the 
entire records of the church for that period being found on 
eight jjages of the church journal. These records are mainly 
tliose of cases of church discipline, about which there is nothing 
striking or instructive. They only serve to show us that the 
church of that day was not altogether remiss in her watchful- 
ness. If not yet i^erfect, she had no little regard for the purity 
of her name, and the unworthy were not allowed, unwarned 
and undisciplined, to bring reproach on this fair heritage of the 

The year alter Dr. Welles' settlement, was made memorable 
by the advent of a bell for the church, the first of which our 
records make mention. The enterprising pastor, it would 
seem, started a subscription, to f)rocnre this aid to him in his 
work, and so far succeeded as to secure a vote of the society, 
in 174?, to make up the deficiencj', and furnish all the means 
for hanging the bell and clock in the meeting-house. The 


three town notables of that day. Col. Jona. Hoyt, Capt. Jona. 
Maltby, and Mr. Abraham Davenport, were made a committee 
to "manage that aifear." A few years later, 1762, the society 
add a hundred pounds of new metal to the bell, and have it run 
anew. The clock seems to have been a bill of expense and 
trouble to them, and it was soon removed. 

Another innovation was introduced in 1747. The society, 
probably out of regard to the wishes of their new pastor, voted 
to change tlie form of their service of song in the sanctuary ; 
and this change took place, both in the first church at the Cen- 
ter and in the new church in ]\Iiddlesex parish, now Darien. 
The vote of the first society is : " Per vote, the society agree 
to sing according to regular singing, called ye new way of 
singing, in ye public worship of God." The vote in tlie Mid- 
dlesex society was: " Yt Mr. Jonathan Bell, or any other man 
agreed upon to sing or tune ye salm in his absence, in times of 
publicht worship, may tune it in ye old way or new, which 
sutes you best." 

This change from the old to the new way of singing ]iad 
been introduced in 1721. The eight or nine tunes brought 
over with the pioneers " had become barbarously perverted," 
and Rev. Thomas Walter, of Roxbury, Mass., composer in that 
year, published " Tlie Grounds and Rules of Music Explained ; 
or, au Introduction to the Art ot Singing by Note " The 
treatise "contained twenty-four tunes, harmonized in three 

In 1750 one other innovation seems to have completed the 
changes which were deemed of absolute need. After due de- 
liberation, doubtless, "the society agrees that Doctcr Watteses 
avartion of ye psalms shall be introduced into ye prisbeterian 

The following vote, passed Dec. 10, 1770, in society's meet- 
ing, is preserved, to show how lenient the society were towards 
those from whom legally they might collect taxes. That the 
allusion to names mavbe understood, it must be known that at 


a previous meeting, the persons named, in the northern part of 
the town, had been excused from paying their rates, in part, if 
they would pay them at Poundridge. The society vote Mr. 
Welles' rate, two pence a pound, " deducting therefrom only 
what is above ordered to be abated to Tliomas Potts and John 
McColhim, and the other inhabitants of this society who live 
above them, and also such rates of poor persons in this society 
as the society committee may tliink proper to abate." 

Once, only, during Mr. Welles' occupancy of the parish was 
the church called upon to record its vote upon the mere ques- 
tion of purity of doctrine. The erratic course of the Rev. 
James Davenport, a native of the town, had engaged the no- 
tice of the church, and about a year after Mr. Welles' settle- 
ment they had become divided on the question of inviting him 
to preach, on occasions of his visits to his friends. Without 
taking the responsibility upon tliemselvos, they voted that the 
reverend association of the western district of Fairfield county 
bo desired to convene and settle for them their duty in this 
matter. The reverend gentlemen met according to request, 
April C, 1748, at the house of Mr. Bostwick. The church were 
represented on the occasion by Col. Jonathan Hoyt, Capt. Jon- 
athan Maltbie, Abraham Davenport, and Stephen Ambler. 
After hearing the case stated, the clergy, finding that the ob- 
jections to Mr. Davenport's ofiiciatlng in the pulpit of his na- 
tive town not so formidable as to threaten serious disturbance 
and divisions if he should be suffered to do so, gave, probably, 
the only advice they could safely give : " that the said Mr. 
Davenport be sometimes invited, as per record of association 
may appear." 

One case brought befoi-e the church may show how anxious 
they were to maintain the sacredness of the Sabbath. Eben- 
ezer Weed, on his own confession, had traveled several miles 
on the Sabbath, and taken off the skin of a dead horse. His 
defense was that it was a work of necessity. The church de- 
liberated, and finally " concluded to take further time to con- 
sider whether the action was a breach of the fourth command- 


meut or a work of necessity." At a later meeting, Mr. Weed 
ofiered a satisfactory confession of the offense above alluded to, 
and also of having been guilty of " drunkenness," and was con- 
tinued, by the approval of the church, in Christian fellowship. 

A serious cause of offense during the administration ot Mr. 
Welles was evil and censorious speaking; and the offense was 
sharply rebuked, or, it even led to the suspension of offending 
members. But the offense which oftenest disturbed the peace 
of the church, and called for most constant watchfulness, was 
that of intemperance. Drunkenness was a crime not to be over- 
looked, and there was no offense to which it did not lead. We 
find, therefore, the church occasionally scandalized by the pres- 
ence of this evil, but mainly, efficient in checking it. In all, 
during the thirty years of Dr. Welles' administration, there 
were but eleven cases of discipline reported on the records. 
These are probably all that occurred worthy the notice or ac- 
tion of the church. When we take into account the entire 
number of church members represented by these delinquents, 
422, and also the almost universal use of intoxicating drinks, 
even to excess, we must acknowledge the rare fidelity and pu- 
rity of the church. 

Dr. Welles died in ITTG, after the struggle of our revolution 
had fairly begun ; and the church was left without a pastor un- 
til its close. A blank occurs iu the church records for this en- 
tire period, and the society and town affairs had now become 
so distinct that the town records give us no light upon the 
condition of the church. There was, doubtless, preaching here 
during those years of trial and strife, and a maintenance of all 
the ordinances of religion ; but the presumption is, that other 
and more stirring themes engaged and ruled the thoughts and 
feelings of the people 

The last record in the fair handwriting of Dr. Welles bears 
date December 8, 1775, and simply preserves tlie appointment 
of Stephen Bishop as deacon in the cliurch. 

The regard of the society for their deceased pastor is shown 


ill their vote to continue his salary to his widow so long as the 
" Rev. Elders " in the western district shall see the pulpit sup- 
plied. And in 1779 they still further vote to raise, by sub- 
scription, enough to make uj) the depreciation of the currency 
occasioned by the progress of the war, or the committee were 
to draw upon the society fund. 

Several candidates, it would seem, officiated here after Dr. 
Welles' decease. The church has no record to show that they 
invited either of them to settle. The society, in 17S0, make 
ajiplicatiou to Rev. Mr. Kettletas to supply the pulpit, if pos- 
sible ; and froni baptisms performed during this interval, he 
probably preached some months. 

The peculiar language employed iu the records of the society 
of date March 24, 1777, would suggest that they were not pre- 
pared to settle any one as pastor. By 1781 they had evident- 
ly become tired of being without a settled minister, and form- 
ally voted to endeavor to settle one. They vote, also, to apply 
to Rev. Mr. Seai-1 to accept the pastorate. 

But in August of this year they are more successful in their 
attempt. They unanimously vote to settle Rev. John Aveiy. 
Tliey vote him a hundred pounds annuall)-, for three years, in 
silver or gold, and to give him three hundred pounds also, in 
three equal payments, and after the third year to give him one 
hundred and twenty-five pounds annually. 

The society's records supply an omission in those of the 
church. They copy the doings of the church for November 28, 
1781, which show us that "Mr. John Avery being present, and 
after discoursing at large on church government, said church, 
by an unanimous voice, voted to give said Mr. Avery a call to 
a settlement in the gospel ministry, and to take the pastoral 
charge of said church, expecting to be led and governed by the 
rules laid down in the Saybrook Platform and practice of the 
consociated churches in this State." 

The Rev. John Avery was ordained January 16, 1782, and 
the record is again resumed. 


A perio<l of severe trial for the church hail just been passed. 
Without the care of a faithful pastor, and that in a time of 
war, the church had greatly suffered. Every interest of re- 
ligion had been exposed, and the exposure liad left its marks. 

Not that none were left faithful and true. The church of 
Christ remained. There were still not a few whom years of 
comparative spiritual abandonment and the evil passions which 
war engenders could not seduce from the precious faith. 

But it cannot be disguised that these years had seriously 
lowered the standard of piety in the majority of the church, 
and left too many of the less established Christians a prey to 
their spiritual enemy. The sad proof of this degeneracy is 
abundant in the records which Mr. Avery, a faithful and efiect- 
ive pastor, is obliged to make during his short pastorate. The 
most favorable result, which a careful examination of all the 
evidences in our reach has forced upon us, is, that at the end of 
our revolutionary period this ancient church exhibited about 
five-fold tlie irregularity and looseness iu morals which marked 
her previous career. Under the searching preaching of Mr. 
Avery, and the earnest and effective discipline which the 
church now maintained, these evils were gradually corrected. 

For the four years after Mr. Avery's ordination only fifteen 
new names were added to the church. But the seed which he 
so faithfully and industriously sowed during those years of pa- 
tient waiting and working, began now to spring up. The sow- 
er began at last to reap. The next j'ear, 1786, added forty- 
seven new members to the church. It may also indicate the 
increasing success of Mr. Avery's labors, and the growing fideli- 
ty of the church, that the same year also records the baptism of 
sixty-one of the children of the church. 

Mr. Avery continued to preach here until September, 1191, 
in which month his death occurred. The last records made by 
his hand are of September 4th, in this year, the one enrolling 
Abraham Smith as member of the church, and the other wit- 
nessing the marriage of John Larkin and Elizabeth Hoyt. 

Nearly two years passed before his place was permanently 


supplied. And here, too, we must learn of the movements in 
the church during the interval between Mr. Avery and his suc- 
cessor, from the society records alone. It seems the church and 
society had agreed, in hearing Mr. Jonas Coe, as yet only a li- 
centiate preacher, and, liking him, had called in the advice of the 
Association of the Western District of Fairfield County. The 
committee appointed by the association. Revs. Moses Mather, 
Isaac Lewis, Robert Morris, and John Shepperd, heard Mr. Coe 
preach, and examined him "ou the most important points of 
divinity," and expressed their " entire approbation of the so- 
ciety's improving Mr. Coe, for the purposes " of a settlement. 
This approval is dated April 4, 1'792. On the 11th of the same 
month the society unanimously vote Mr. Coe a call to settle, 
on a salary of one hundred and fifty pounds ; and the committee 
were to write to Mr. Coe and to the Presbytery ol New York, 
to inform them of the proceedings. The church, ou the 13th of 
the same month, after listening to Mr. Coe, vote, also, unani- 
mously to approve the call. The answer of Mr. Coe does not 
appear in the records of either the church or society. 

In the following spring, March 21, 1793, the church, after 
" conversing at large upon church government, with Mr. Dan- 
iel Smith," who had probably been supplying the pulpit for 
some time past, unanimously voted to give him a call to settle. 
To this course the committee of the association also gave their 
advice. On the iSth of the same month the society unani- 
mously approved the vote of the church, and voted also the 
salary of one h\indred and fifty pounds. 

In answer to this call, Mr. Smith was ordained pastor of the 
church, June 13, 1793. He had come to the field well com- 
mended, to commend himself still more fully, in a long and sue. 
cessful ministry. 

There were no violent changes in the church and society du- 
ring the ministry of Mr» Smith. His own urbanity would ex- 
empt him personally from violent opposition, and his easy 
courtesy disarmed what opposition might arise, of its most 
effective motive. During the earlier j>art of his ministry his 


salary had been raised by taxation. That the people became 
restive under that mode of ministerial support the tollowinc; 
transaction attests. 

For five years, endin;^ witli ISOG, quite a list of unpaid taxes 
had accumulated, and the next year Augustas Lockwood is 
appointed a special collector, with instructions forthwith to 
levy upon the estates of such as failed to meet the arrearages. 
In the prosecution of his duty he seized a horse of William 
"Waterbury, 4th, and sold it under the ordinary warrant. The 
defendant turns plaintiff, and institutes a suit against the col- 
lector for the recovery of his horse. The society stand by their 
agent, as appears from the following vote, of December 6, 1809: 
" Voted, unanimously, th it this society will indemnify Augus- 
tus Lockwood, in the suit that William Waterbury, 4th, has 
commenced against him, which is now pending in the Superior 
Court, on account of horse which said Augustus Lockwood 
took from said Waterbury, by virtue of warrants for societj' 
taxes, of which said Augustus was collector." In 1811 we find 
a heavier tax than usual levied — five cents on a dollar — and the 
excess over the usual rate, which had been about two and a 
half cents only, seems to have been charged to the above suit. 
The vole states that it " is granted for the purpose of defraying 
the necessary expenses of the society, and for discharging the 
demand Augustus Lockwood has against said society." The 
last tax voted by the society seems to have been in 1835, the 
expenses of the following year having been met by a subscrip- 

Another event of this period indicates a change which has 
taken place in the mode of warming our churches. In 1817, 
the society vote to purchase "an iron stove, sufficiently large 
to keep the house comfortable, and set up the same in the 
meeting-house ; and that the committee sell the brick compo- 
sing the present stove to the best advantage." The record 
states that the " brick of the stove " sold to Sturges B. Thorj), 
for five dollars. To make this record intelligible to those who 
are accustomed only to the modern furnace, we will a f tempt to 


exhibit the interior of the meeting-house as it was, no longer 
than fifty years ago. The house stood, as the most of my read- 
ers will remember it, where our cosy, little, ornamental park 
now lies, in the center of our village. You enter the sacred 
precincts through the tower, which was built in front of the 
main building, and which, at the time to which we are refer- 
ring, was surmounted by a spire. 

Opening the double doors, connecting with the audience 
room, you enter an arena of little square pews. An aisle leads 
you up to the deacon's seat, directly beneath the stiif and solemn 
pulpit, which fronts the entrance, and which stands up as a 
stately sentinel, commissioned to take note of all which trans- 
pires in tho remotest corners of the room. The front of the 
room, over the entrance, and both sides, are darkened by wide 
galleries, around which stretch two tiers of seats, and still fur- 
ther back, beyond a narrow aisle, a row of square pews, lining 
the entire wall of the house, save the two openings near the 
front corners for the stairways. On the lower floor you have 
the four walls of the room lined with jjews, excepting the en- 
trances on the front and on the middle of both sides, and the 
center of the rear, or north end, where the pulpit stood. With- 
in this row of pews was a generous aisle, sufficiently wide in 
these ante-days of crinoline for two persons to walk abreast ; 
and this aisle enclosed the two center parallelograms of pews 
fianking the center aisle. 

But when, in the progress of improvements, it became neces- 
sary to introduce some apparatus for warming the room, no 
place was found for the innovation. No chimney had been 
built in the house, since such a thing as fire for the church had 
never been contemplated. Not yet had stoves been cast which 
could promise to furnish the warmth for so large a space. But 
thanks to the meddlesome spirit of invention, a "Russian 
stove " was devised, and forthwith a place is prepared for it. 
Taking out the outer sides of two pews from the south-west 
corner of the west parallelogram of pews, and the seat and par- 
tition which separated them, a space of about six by twelve feet 



was made for the new oxpuriment, ami the coustnictiou beguis. 
Cart-loads of new brick, as if for some modern edifice, are duly 
deposited at the side door. Masons are seen, busy as never be- 
fore in the sanctuary. Tlie floor is removed from a portion of 
the cleared space, and solid stone work, tlie foundation for the 
huge, oven-like structure, is laid even with the floor. Then the 
inner walls of the vast central oven, six teet in length and three 
or four in width, arise, arching over at the hight of three feet, 
with flues coursing their skillfully arranged circuits among the 
mass of solid brick-work, fully two feet in thickness, enclosing 
them, until the huge pile stands ready for use. Friday morn- 
ing — the first Friday in December after the work is done — has 
come. Winter has fairly set in. The Sabbath is drawing on, 
and the sanctuary must be made ready for tlie comfort, now, as 
well as the worship of God's pcoijle. The fire is kindled in the 
new " stove," with solid logs of solid wood, and is to be re- 
newed and Icept aglow, day and night, until the time for Sab- 
bath service. 

All day it takes to warm up that mass of brick, and at 
night the added fuel serves to prolong the lieat, and soften 
slightly the chill in the great room, never before modified save 
by the summer air or by tlie glow of warm breathing and beat- 
ing hearts. All day Saturday, all the night which brings in 
the Sabbath, and all the morning of the holy day, the faithful 
committee — and no n.amcs arc more foithful tlian those lionor- 
ables, Davenport, and Knapp, and Lockwood — ply the liuge 
oven witli selectest fuel, and lo ! when the sharp Sabbath air 
cuts all about that meeting-house, you might liave felt, on en- 
tering it, only the pleasant and bracing chillness of an early 
autumn air. A great triumph had been won. The " Russian 
stove " became, thenceforth, until the more recent iron stove 
and furnace took its place, a necessity in God's house. 

One other incident, occurring in the time of the edifice in 
wliich this Russian stove was built, gives us a lunatic's idea of 
the j)eculiar pulpit which was built in it. The old "barrel" 


larger one, with stairs on botli sides, took its jilaee. Peter 
lloyt, known for many years as "Crazy Pete," entered tlie 
ehnrch, as usual, on the Sunday morning following this ex- 
change. He had scarcely caught sight of the two-fold ascen- 
sion to the pulpit, when a singular fancy seized him. Grasp- 
ing, with indignant vehemence, his hat, he started for home. 
As he pressed on, his indignation grew. A neighbor, who met 
him, rallied him on getting througli service so soon. Peter, 
with no room in his soul for any other feeling than that of his 
outraged orthodoxy, exclaimed: "Never go to that old Pres- 
byterian meeting-house again, as long as I live ! Only think of 
it ! Who ever heard such doctrine before ? Two ways up to 
Heaven ! Pll never stand that pulpit doctrine, anyhow." 

Before closing our record of the first society of Stamford, 
two illustrations of the legal authority of that venerable society, 
in the time now gone, to return no more, should be given. 
They illustrate not the power of the society more than the 
spirit and sharpness of the men whom it had to manage. 

Captain William Waterbury, the only son of the General 
David Waterbury, who had been eminent for his loyalty both 
to the civil and ecclesiastical authorities over him, signalized 
the opening of the present century, in this usually quiet place, 
by a persistent refusal to pay the annual society's tax. He 
c:aimed that as he did not receive anything from the society, — 
no tangible commodity, temporal or spiritual, there was no 
reason why he should be set upon for his purse. Patiently, 
the good-natured collector, Augustus Lockwood, Esq., reasoned 
the matter with him, showed his authority to collect, and in 
the name of the great State itself threatened his suit. The re- 
fractory subject still refused, and calmly awaited the execution. 
True to what was then thought to be the right, as well as the 
law of the ease, the execution was issued. A mare was at- 
tached, an old mare, which the owner told the officer would yet 
kick to the full satisfaction of the society, if they dared to take 
her. Before the process was served the mare had been spirited 


away, and could not be found. The officer, however, not to be 
foiled thus, seized upon a similar one and sold her, and thus the 
tax seemed to be paid. 

Now was the time for the Captain's offensive. He sued out 
a writ of replevin, and the society vote to back their faithful 
collector in the legal contest. The lawyers enjoyed the game, 
and both the contestants were quite willing to foot the bills. 
Nor did the plucky parties cease the play before each had in- 
flicted on the other a bill of expense of about a thousand dollars 

Nor did the resolute captain forget or forgive, even then, the 
presumptuous claim of the society. A half score years roll on, 
and a meeting is notified, for the sale, at auction, of a certain 
lot of land, which " parson " Smith greatly desired to buy. The 
neighbors who were interested in the transaction gathered at 
the appointed hour, the good parson among the first. The cool, 
imperturbable Captain Waterbury was also on hand, walking 
about, as if to pass away an unemployed hour, and get the 
news of the day. 

The auctioneer begins. The lot is offered, and a long sus- 
pense awaits a bid. The neighbors, supposing the parson would 
like the lot, were evidently not disposed to anticipate him. At 
length the ijarson bids, and another long pause ensues. No 
volubility of the man at the hammer could temjit a higher bid. 
" Going, going, — gentlemen, I can't dwell, I shall strike it off 
for the mere song named, unless you speak quick, — going — 
going — go — 

" Five dollars an acre more," slowly, but very coolly, said the 
captain, just in time to save the fall of the hammer. 

Another pause, and then another call for bids, until the anx- 
ious parson took from the captain his chance. Now the utmost 
ingenuity of the auctioneer could not induce for a long time a 
higher bid, and the " going, going, going," and the significant 
flourish of the hammer at the very last moment of grace, roused 
once more the consciousness of the still cooler captain, as he 

ONC RI C \T1 )\ \I HLK(H ( »K\1 K ()1< A IL VN Ut \\DB\NR 


Still more deliberately interposed again : " Five dollars an acre 
more, if you please, auctioneer." 

Thus gaining, the hammer rises again, and a still louder call 
for bids. Not to lose a good chance thus, the parson raises 
upon the last bid, and again it hangs. Just in season to anti- 
cipate the final " gone," the captain, consciously pleased, and 
not without a chuckle, which the discerning might have noticed, 
adds, " five dollars an acre more." 

Once more the excited parson advances, and now the auction- 
eer has no art" by which to tempt another bid. His utmost elo- 
quence is in vain. With a twinkle in his eye, not altogether 
uimsed to humor, the roguish captain quietly relieves himself: 
" I have to say, auctioneer, I don't want that lot. It's not in 
my line. It's only that old mare that wasn't mine, that's kick- 
ing yet." 

One Obed Scofield, also, a blacksmith, who din't use the 
meeting-house or the minister, thought he should not be taxed. 
He, too, defied an execution, -vrhich finally came. He pointed 
out his " Scott's Bible " as the first article which the sherifi:' 
must sell. At the appointed time for the sale the books were 
struck off to the good Mrs. Scofield, who valued the good book 
at a higlwr rate than her industrious husband. But how was 
the good woman to pay for the books ? Evidently by drawing 
upon her husband, and to him the sheriff was accordingly sent. 
Anticipating just such a result, the sharp blacksmith had pre- 
pared lor it. He coolly hands over to the sheriff a copy of the 
legal posting of his wife, and the officer finds himself tricked, at 
once, out of both the tax and the books. 

Since Mr. Smith's day no marked change has taken place in 
the condition of this church. The old church edifice becoming 
antiquated in appearance, and uncomfortable, from its exposed 
position in the very center of the rapidly increasing village, sold in 185Y, and used as a place of worship the last time, 
September 19, 1858. A new house, built on the corner of 
Atlantic and Bank streets, was dedicated September 23, 1858. 




foUowiuj^- is the list of iniuistei-s \vl 


from its organization : 

EicHAED Denton, 1641-4. (See page 272. ) 

John Bishop, 1G44-94. (See page 269.) 

John Davenpoi;t, 1694-1731. (See page 270.) 

liuENEZEE Weight, ordaiued tn 1732, and died bfiu iu iljy, 174'j. 

Noah Welles, D. D., ordaiued Dee. 31, 1740, and died here, Doc. 31, 
1776. (See later biography. ) 

Abraham, preacLicr iu 17bJ. He was lieeused by Fiiiiiiel.l Association, in 1756. 

John Aveky, ordained Jan. 16, 1782, and died liere, iu Septemiier, 1791. 

Daniel Smith, ordained June 13, 1793, and died here, 1846. (See later 
biography. ) 

John W. Alvoed, installed colleague with Mr. Suiith, XLu-cli 16, 1312, 
and dismissed Oct. 14, 1846. 

Is.iAC Jennings, installed Sept. 1, 1S47, and dismissed April 28, 18.53. 

James Hoyt, preacher from June, 1853, to January, 1855. 

Ueney 15. Elliot, installed Dec. 4, 1855, and dismissed July 6, 1858. 

.Joseph Andekson, was called Dec. 9, 1858, installed March 27, 1860, and 
dismissed Feb. 26, 1861. 

Leonaed W. Bacon, pabtor elect, from Nov. 17, 1861, until Jauuary, 1865. 

KiCHAED B. Thuesion, the present pastor, installed Oct. 3, ISIJj. 


Tiiis church was dwly organized at a meeting of tlie conso- 
eiation of Fairfield West, June 5, 1744, when the following 
persons were enrolled as its members : Rev. Moses Mather, 
David and Martha Tuttle, Thomas and Mary Reed, Edmund 
and Elizabeth Waring, John and Hannah Reed, John Ray- 
mond, Daniel and Elizabeth Reed, John and Mary Smith, John 
and Katherine Waring, Samuel and Meliitabel Briusmayd, Eli- 
akim and Anne Waring, Nathan and Mary Reed, Isaac Bishop, 
Joseph Waterbury, Nathan and Sarah Sellick, Joshua and 
Anne Morcliouse, Samuel Bishop, Charles and Susannah Weed, 
Theophilus and Sarah Bishop, Natlianiel and Sarah Bates, 
James and Elizabeth Scofield, John Reed, Jr., and wife. Desire ; 
Elias and JIary Reed, Elijah Jones, Sarah, wife of Samuel Reed ; 
Sarah, wife of Thomas Reed ; Elizabeth, wife of Samuel Rich- 
ards; willow Rachel Raymond, Rebecca Raymond, widow 


Martlw Reed, Elizabeth Reed, Joanna, wife of Jonatlmn Bates; 
Abigail, wife of David Bates ; Maiy, wife of Eliasepli Whitney ; 
Mercy, wife of Ebenezer Brown ; Mercy, wife of John Pettit ; 
Rebecca, wife of Jonathan Crissy ; Elizabeth, wife of James 
Slason ; Hannah, wife of Deliverance Slason ; Mary, wife of 
David Weed ; Abigail Andrus, widow sarah Crissy, ar.d Jona. 

Under .^Ir. JMathei- the cliurcli was oreat'.y pn.spercl. Tlie 
records kept by him, and still preserved, show, that down to 
October, 1803, he had baptized 921 persons; down to October, 
1804, he had solemnized 301 mai-riages, and admitted to the 
church 258 members. In addition to those admitted to full 
communion with the cliureh, IGl persons pul)lirly "owned the 

Dr. Mather recorded, during filty-six years of his ministry, 
TOO deaths in his parish. 

The organization of this church was a very simple process. 
After the council had examined and approved Mr. Mather as 
the pastor elect of the church to be constituted, and twenty-one 
of the brethren, whose names are on the preceding list, had ex- 
hibited their (^-edentials of church membership in the several 
churches to which they then belonged, and had, before the 
council, " entered into a solemn covenant relation with each 
other, according to the constitution of the churches in this gov- 
ernment ; the council acknowledged them as a particular 
church, and as a member of this consociation." After thus 
constituted "a particular church," they formally chose Mr. 
Mather to be their minister, and the ordination sirvice was im- 
mediately performed. 

The first meeting-house of this parish stood until 1838, when 
it was taken down, and the present substantial brick church 
was built. 

The ministers of this cliurch liave been : 

Moses M.VTnEK, D. D., orJained and iust.xlloil Jaits 0, 171i, nn 1 died 
Sept. 21, 180G. 


William Fisher, ordained .incl installed July IG, 1807, and dismissed 
March 31, 1819. 

Ebenezeh Platt, ordained and installed in September. 1825, dismissed 
in August, 1833, and died here .\pril 7, 18(53, aged C8 years and 5 months 

B. Y. Messengek supplied the pulpit one year. 

Ulric Matnaed, installed June 2i, 1835, and dismissed April 21, 1838. 

Ezra D. Kinney, installed Aug. 8, 1838, and dismissed May 3, 1859. 

Jonathan E. Barnes, ordained and installed Aug. 21, 18G0, and died 
here, May 31, 1806. 

F. Alvord was installed Dec. 2C, 1800. 


This church was organized June 4, 1782, and consisted of 
twenty-two members, as follows : 

Benjamin Weed, Ebenezer Weed, Zebulon Husted, Amos 
Weed, Israel Weed, Joseph Ambler, John McCuUum, Ebenezer 
Dean, Miles Weed, Reuben Scofield, Mercy Hoyt, Elizabeth 
Ambler, Abigail Weed, Kezia Dean, Mary McCuUum, Mercy 
Hoyt, Jr., Prudence Weed, Sarah Seelcy, Elizabeth Scofield, 
Rebecca Ayres^ Rebecca Curtis, and Rebecca Beedle. 

Previously to this date, the celebrated Dr. Samuel Hopkins, 
of Newport, R. I., who had left his parish when the Britisli 
took possession ot the town, in I'TG, and who had come to 
Stamford in 1778, to supply the pulpit of his deceased class- 
mate, Dr. Welles, had been also supplying this pulpit for about 
a year and a half. lie left iu 1780, and the church was sup- 
plied with temporary preachers until March 23, 1784, wlien 
Solomon Wolcot was ordained its first pastor. lie continued 
to labor here until his dismission, June 21, 1785. 

The other ministers of this parish have been: 

John Shepperd, ordained Juno 27, 1787, and dismissed June 1], 1791. 

Amzi Lewis, installed June 17, 1795, and died hero April 5, 1819. 

Henry Fuller, installed June 6, 1821, and dismissed Jim. 23, 1844. 

Nathaniel Pierson, preached here from April, 1814, to January, 1840. 

Wm. H. Magie, from January, 1816, to January, 1849. 

\Vm. E. Catlin, from March, 1849, to March, 1850. 

F. E. M. Bachelor, for several months in 1850 and 1851. 

Livingston Willakd, installed March, 1852, and dismissed in June, 1856. 

John White supplied the pulpit from May, 1857, to October, 1858. 


W. S. Clauk, iustiilled in April, 1859, and dismissed in 1861. 

H. T. FoED, in 1802. 

EoswELL Smith, in 1803 and 18G4. 

H. L. Tellee, ordained May 1.5, 1866, and dismissed in 1868. 

JosiiH Peabody, began preaching in the spring of 1868. 


About the year 1840, a uuioii chureli was built ou Long 
Ridge, which the Congregational portion of the conr.nunity 
secured in 1842, when they organized a church and society. 
The names of the members of the church were Isaac Ayres, Ja- 
red Holly, Charles E. Smith, William L. Holly, Alfred Ayres, 
Kaiisford A. Ferris, Polly Holly, Harriet M. Holly, Sally Sco- 
tielil, Harriet E. Ayres, Hannah R. Raymond, Mary W. Smith, 
Ann M. Hnlly, Lydia Ferris, Clarissa Smith, and Phcbe Sco- 

Rev. Frederick H. Ayres was engaged to supply the pul- 
pit, commencing his ministry Nov. 6, 1842, and preaching un- 
til 1853. 

From that time meetings have been kept up lor the most of 
the time, the church having enjoyed the labors of the following 
ministers, none of whom have been installed : Mr. Perry, Au- 
gustus B. Collins, John Smith, Ezra D. Kinney, Dennis Piatt, 
— Timloe, and — Gilbert. 


St. John's. — The first allusion which I have found to the 
presence of Episcopalians in Stamford, is in a letter from the 
Rev. Henry Cauer, of Fairfield, dated March 15, 1727-8, and 
addressed to the Secretary of the " Society for Propagating the 
Gospel in Foreign Parts." I am indebted for this letter, as for 
many of the following quotations, to that thoroughly exhaust- 
ive "Documentary History of the Protestant Episcopal Church 
in the United States of America," edited by Francis L. Hawks, 
D. D., LL. D., and Wm. S. Perry, A. M. 

In this letter, which is a report of his mission, Mr. Caner in- 
forms us that among his other labors he had jireached several 
times, during the preceding winter, in Stamford. The same 



letter sho\ys us that the field in which Mr. Caner was then la- 
boring embraced, besides Fairfield, the following towns and 
villages : Poquonnuck, Greensfarms, Greenfield, Xorwalk, 
Stamford, Greenwich, Chesnut Ridge, Xewtown, Ridgefield, 
and Danbiiry. At Newtown, only, did Mr. Caner have any 
assistance, sharing the labors of that parish with Rev. Mr. 
Johnson, of Stratford. He also tells us that in "most of the 
above-mentioned places there are seven, ten, or fifteen families 
professing the Church of England ; " and that " the taxes 
strained from members of the church for the support of dis- 
senting teachers amount to £100, which is £40 sterling, of 
which Fairfield pays about half. * * * Notwithstanding 
this discouragement, the church grows and increases very 

In another letter, found in the same work, in 1728, Mr Caner 
intercedes with the society to appoint him their missionary, to 
serve " from Fairfield to Byram river," with permission to " re- 
side sometimes at one of these places and sometimes at anoth- 
er." This proposal was made to meet the provision which had 
been made by the State government, allowing all Episcopalians 
who lived near enough an Episcopalian minister to attend con- 
stantly his preaching, the privilege of paying their ecclesiastioal 
tax to him rather than to the Congregational clergy. 

In 1738, a very earnest and lengthy plea was sent to the 
General Assembly of Connecticut, asking that the members of 
the Church of England in the State might be excused from 
paying for the support of the Congregational mode of worship. 
This plea has attached to it the signatures of 636 Episcopalians 
m nine towns. Fifty of these names are from Stamford and 
Greenwich. They are, Gershom Lockwood, Samuel Mills, Ca- 
leb Knapp, John Lockwood, Wm. King, Henry Jones, Benj. 
Knapp, James Knapp, Jos. Knapp, Jeremy Peck, Hez. Lock- 
wood, Jonathan Lockwood, Jonathan Austen, Tlios. Johnson, 
Thos. Ballis, David Reynolds, John Avery, John .Jolmson, John 
, Jas. Wilson, Benj. Young, Rob. Arnold, John Barley, 


Xath'l Hubbixi-d, Peter Deinill, John Fincli, Beiij. D:i5f, John 
Ilicks, Mills Riggs, Israol Knapp, Chas. Southerland, Richard 
Charlton, Sani'I Morine, Isaac Quintard, Jos. Barton, Nath'l 
Lockwood, John Kirkham, Nath'l Worden, Thos. Roberts, and 
Abraham Rundal, Jr. The above list is preceded by tlils mem- 
orandum : 

"Under the care of Eev. Mr. Wet i ore. The subscribeis bt-lonj;iug In 
Greenwich aod Stamford to be annexed to the general of the mem- 
bers and prole.^sors of the Church of Enghmd, in the colony of Connecticut, 
To the Honorable General Court, in May, 1738 ; which address having been 
communicated to u.s, the .subscribers, we hereunto sign our names." 

In addition to the above-named address, these Stamford pe- 
titioners drew up a plea of their own, of more than three closely 
written foolscap pages, urgently demanding at least a partial ex- 
emption from the ta.x imposed upon them, to support a ministry 
which they could not approve. They asked that, at least, they 
might be allowed to join with those of their own church, in a 
neighboring colony (Greenwich), and that they might use their 
tax for the support of the ministers of their own choice in that 
colony, " provided, always, that the said minister's settled 
abode and residence be within five miles of this colony, and 
that by officiating alternately in each colony he performs di- 
vine service at least twelve times in the year in this colony." 
In addition to the preceding names, this special petition has 
the following, — Abraham Nichols, John Matthews, and Nath'l 
Worden, Jr. 

The petition was negatived in both houses of the legislature. 
In 1740, the Rev. James Wetmore was preaching in Stamford 
once in four weeks, and this seems to have been the only Epis- 
copal service held at that time in the town. 

The following votes of the town give us our only knowledge 
of the progress made by the Episcopalians at this time. The 
first was under date of Dec. 2, 1742, and is in answer to an ap- 
peal made by the Episcopalians for a grant of land, on which 
to build : 

" The town agree to put in a committee to view the place by Mr. Elipha- 
let Holly's, wheie the professors of the Church of England have petitioned 


for settiug n cliureh house, whether it may be granted without damage to 
the town, and to make return to the adjourned town meeting ; and Ensign 
Jonathan Bell, Sergeant Nathaniel Weed, and Joseph Bishop, to be the 
court, for the purpose aforesaid. " 

The result of the examination made by the committee appears 
under date of Dec. 10, 1742 : 

"The town agree to give the professors of the Church of England a piece 
of land, to set a church house upon, on the hill between the widow Holly's 
house and Nathan Stevens' house — the piece of land to be 45 feet long, 
east and west, and to be 35 feet wide, when the committee shall lay it out ; 
the committee to be Ensign Jona. Bell, Sergeant Nathaniel Weed, and Jo- 
seph ."~ " 

The lot granted, as above, to the Episcopalians, was the 
south-east corner of the present lot held by St. John's parish, in 
front of their parsonage. It was at that time a rude ledge of 
loose rock, and bounded east and north by an almost impassa- 
ble swamp, so that, in all probability, its alienation to the new 
proprietors did not materially " damage " the town. On this 
lot the first church was built. Of the date of its corner-stone, 
or completion, we find no record. It was so far finished in 
March, 1747, that it could be used. 

Mr. Wetmore seems to have been succeeded by the Rev. 
Henry Caner, of Fairfield, who, with his brother Richard, of 
Norwalk, and a Mr. Miner, supplied the Episcopalians witli 
what preaching or service they had down to the commencement 
of Mr. Ebenezer Dibble's long and successful ministry. 

In a letter from Mr. Caner, in 1744, alluding to a petition 
from the people of Stamford, Greenwich, and Horseueck, for a 
minister to reside among them, we find this charge, for which, 
in view of the age to. which it belongs, we can believe there 
was too much necessity : " These people have been much perse- 
cuted by the dissenting government, for when they would have 
rewarded the Rev. Mr. "Wetmore for his monthly attendance in 
ofiBciating among them, by paying their proportion of the rates, 
according to an express law of the colony, they were prevented 
by a very oppressive judgment of the court." 

In 1746 we find Mr. Caner, of Fairfield, bitterly lamenting 
tlie want of ministers for both Xorwalk and Stamford. He 


reports both places as losing ground, for want of " a more 
constant service " than he can supply. 

The following letter deserves a place in our local history ; 
partly as illustrating the religious movement of the age, and 
still more as our introduction to Mr. Dibble, who bore so con- 
spicuous a part in the progress of the Episcopal church of the 

town : 

Colony or Connecticut, | 
Stamfokd, March 25th, 1747. ( 
Eevereml Sir : — We, the subscribers, churchwardens and vestrymen of St. 
John's Church, in Stamford, with the unanimous concurrence, and iu be- 
half of all the professors of the Church of England, in the towns of Stam- 
ford, and Greenwich, in Connecticut, beg leave to represent to the venera- 
ble society the state of our church, and with humble submission request 
their patronage, and that the effects of their extensive charity, which hath 
brought the means of salvation to many thousand souls, may preserve us 
and our posterity from wandering in error and darkness, and guide our 
feet in the waj's of peace, by assisting us to procure a settlement of the wor- 
ship of God among us, according to the jrare doctrines, and wholesome 
rites and usages of the Church of England, which we highly reverence and 
esteem. We have struggled with many and great difficulties in advancing 
to the state in which we now are, to have a church erected, and so far fin- 
ished as to be fit for our assembling in it, and with accessions to our num- 
ber of professors sufficient to be enabled to purchase a glebe, and to pay 
twenty pounds sterling per annum to a minister, which we have obliged 
ourselves to do, by subscription, under our hands, and hope to make some 
additions, so the whole may be worth thirty pounds sterling per annum, 
which is the most that we are able to perform at presei.t, and too little for 
a decent support for a minister. We have been much oppressed by the 
Dissenters among whom we live, who, under protection of the laws of the 
colony, have obliged us to pay taxes to their minister, and to build them 
meeting-houses, even when we had obliged ourselves to contribute, accord- 
ing to our abilities, to reward ministers of {be Church of England for com- 
ing to preach among us, and administer to us the Holy Sacraments ; and 
several have been imprisoned, and others threatened with imprisonment, 
to compel them to pay such taxes ; and we could get no relief from the 
courts of justice here. This has made us very desirous to obtain a minister 
in orders among u.=, which is the only means to obtain exemption from 
such taxes, according to the express words of the colony act. We, there- 
fore, exerted ourselves to the utmost of our abilities to assist Mr. Miner to 
go for order.s, who was taken by the French, on his passage, with the Rev. 
Mr. Lamson, and afterwards died iu England, which proved a very melan- 
choly disappointment to us ; and before, we had centributed considerably 
to assist Mr. Isaac Brown, when he went home for orders, with hopes that 
he might have been sent to us, but were disappointed by his coming back 
for Brook Haven. Since Mr. Miner's death we have applied ourselves to 
Mr. Ebenezer Dibble, by the advice of Reverend Mr. Caner and others. 
This gentleman has read prayer and sermons among us, to our very great 
satisfaction, for near a year and a half, and being willing to go home for 
holy orders, and to return to us, to be our mini.ster, we have again exerted 


our utmost power to obtain a glebe, subscribed for his support auuually 
twenty pounds sterling, and do assist him further to defray the expense of 
his voyage. We have applied to the Reverend Clerqy to represent our 
state, who all of them approve well of Mr. Dibble, and having given him 
testimonials to the Lord Bishop of Loudon, we earnestly hope he may ob- 
tain holy orders, and humbly entreat the venerable Society to compassion- 
ate our circumstances, and admit Mr. Dibble to be their missionary to us, 
with such salary as they may think fit to allow, which we hope will con- 
tribute to the glory of God, and to the salvation of many poor souls, and 
we, your poor petitioners, as in duty bound, shall ever pray for the en- 
largement of Christ's kingdom by the extensive charity of your venerable 
Society. We are, Reverend Sir, your most obedient, <S:c. 

And others. 

The Rev. Mr. Miner referred to in the above letter was prob - 
ably the Rev. Richardson Miner, a Congregational clergyman, 
settled in 1730, in Unity, late Xorth Stratford, and now Trum- 
bull, who, in 1742, declared in favor of Episcopacy; was dis- 
missed March 21, 1743-4, and went to England for orders, and 
died there. 

The result of the above appeal was the admission of Mr. Dib- 
ble to priest's orders some time in the year 1748, and his return 
to Stamford. Here he, at once, entered with all his heart, upon 
the work of his ministry, as rector of St. John's parish, where 
he spent the rest of his honored and useful life. 

It was in this year, also, that Mr. Caner, who had labored 
with marked success in Fairfield, Xorwalk and Stamford, was 
appointed to the King's Ohaj)el, Boston, and on leaving he 
gives this estimate of the progress of Episcopacy in this vicini- 
ty. He had come to this mission in 1727, when he found in 
Fairfield 12 communicants, and left 68 ; at Xorwalk, none 
when he came, and 115 when he left; and 20 at Stamford. 
The next year Mr. Dibble reports 16 communicants in Stam- 

In 1757, Mr. Dibble reports his parish, united and prosperous. 
He says : " We have sundry accessions to the church since my 
last of the 29th of September." It will illustrate the times to 
add from this letter the statements,- — "I preached, last Christ- 
mas, to a numerous assembly. Multitudes of the dissenters 


came to church, and behaved with great decency. Seven lieads 
of families have declared conformity since my last account, in 
Stamford, and some at Horse Neck and Stanwich." 

The following plea to the Connecticut Assembly explains the 
disabilities under which the Episcopalians were laboring, and 
proved one of the steps which at length led to their recognition 
as a distinct denomination, entitled, in their own way, to sup- 
port their own worship : 

" Your memorialists, beiug desirous to enjoy tbe worship of God accord- 
ing to the liturgy and discipline of the Church of England, to which we 
conscientiously thought it our duty to conform, did, several years ago, un- 
dertake to build a church for divine worship, and engaged our present wor- 
thy incumbent, then not in orders, to read prayers to us, and afterwards 
sent him home to England, for orders, who accordingly went, and soon re- 
turned in orders to us, we having laid ourselves under obligations to pay 
him a considerable sum annually, towards his support, and for his expenses 
in going home, all which undertaking laid us under a considerable burden, 
which, however, we cheerfully endorsed, but soon finding we were unable 
to advance monies requisite to carrying on these designs, we ventured to 
borrow a considerable sum of money, in New York, for the purposes afore- 
said, which, together with some benefactions procured for that end, we 
laid out in building our church, hoping we should bo able, in a few years, 
to repay the same. * * * Bat, soon after these transactions, the nation 
became involved in a dangerous and expensive war, • • « f^-^^ not 
being by law empowered to tax ourselves, our church must still remain un- 
finished, and we are scarcely able to support our incumbent, who has a 
numerous family : Wherefore, we humbly take the liberty to request the 
favor of your Honors to grant us liberty to set up and draw a small lottery, 
of about £2,000. lawfcl money, subject to a deduction of fifteen per cent. ; 
* ♦ * we are strongly encouraged and almost assured, if we obtain this 
favor of your Honors, that we shall be able to sell the most of the tickets in 
New York, Boston and Philadelphia, and consequently bring money into 
the colony, rather than carry any out ; and we conceive there is no danger 
of its being a prejudice to the public, or to any particular person." 

May 9, 1759. Ebenezek Dibble, Clerk: 

John Llotd, 1 

Peter Demili,, | r, 
Ebenezee Holly, f ' <^«"J/- 
John Bates, J 

EPHnAiM Smith, } p, , Wardens. 

Samuel Jarvis, ( 

How this petition was treated by tlie Assembly the following 
complaint of the Rev. Mr. Dibble sufficiently attests : 

" Bat, alas, no such favor could be obtained, not even to draw a lottery 
in the government, if wo should not offer a ticket for sale in it. And why? 
Not because it is repugnant to their principles, for they have given counte- 
nance to public lotteries, even to repair broken fortunes of private persons, 
and to help build up nnd establish au Independent College in the Jerseys, 


wheu they eoulil obtain no such favor in their own proviiicip. But, alas, 
this Wiis too great an act of favor to the Established Church. " 

111 September, of this year, Mr. Dibble reports to the secre 
tary of the society the peaceful and united state of his people 
in all parts of his extensive mission. The French war, however, 
was seriously interfering with accessions to the church, in 
Stamford the enlistments into the public service even diminish- 
ing the church ; and what was still more trying, was the death 
of " twelve heads of families — seven males — some of them the 
best ornaments of religion." He rejiorts this year thirty-nine 

The next fact of interest orcurriiig in connection with this 
church in Stamford, I find recorded under date of April 10, 1765. 
John Lloyd, the same, doubtless, whose name appears as one of 
the vestry of the church, in 1759, in' consideration of £343 Cs. 
lid., received from St. George Talbot, Esq., of Barn Island, 
N. Y., makes over " to the venerable Society for the propaga- 
tion of the gospel in foreign parts " two tracts of land — one of 
eighteen acres one rood and twenty-three rods, in Northfield, 
on the west side of Mill river; and the other of four acres, 
twenty-nine at "North street, bounded south by North street, 
west by Church of England parsonage, and east by highway. 
These lands, by the terms of the surrendei-, were " to be and 
inure to the use of the missionary, for the lime being, the rector 
or incumbent of St. John's Church, and his successors, as the 
glebe lands of the Church of England in said Stamford." 

The following record p.hows how far the " ruling order " of 
that day was disposed to recognize and aid the Episcopalians. 

At the meeting of the Congregational Society, held Dec. 15, 
1772, it was voted that two collectors shall be appointed, the 
one to collect the rates belonging to the " Presbyterians " 
(Congregationalists), and the other those belonging to the 
"Church of England within this society." Jonathan Waring 
is appointed for the Congregationalists, and Abijah Bishop for 
" that part of the ministerial rate that belongs to the Rev. Eb- 
enezer Dibble." The records of the Darien Confrresational 


Society still preserve the receipts which the Rev. Mr. Dibble, 
of Stamford, and Re^^ Mr. Learning, of Norwalk, gave to the 
society's collector for their part of the rates. 

The following is a specimen of one of these receipts : 

" SxAjiroED, Jan. 5, 1779. 
Mr. .John Bell, and Mr. Sumiel Richards, and Mr. Gershom Ricbards, 
Sulicitiiig Oomniittee in Middlesex parish, 1778 :— to discliarge j'onr 
collector, Mr. Jonathan Bell, Jr., on account of the rates be \va« to collect 
of the profesHors of the church. It shall be accepted in lull of ad demands 
up m society in the year 1778, .said rate made up on list, 1777. 

Test., Ebenezer Dibble. 

The foregoing is a true copy of the original. 

Test., Gekshoji Scofield, Society Clerk." 

And in 1780, we find the following witness to the temper of 
the town regarding the claims of the Episcopalians. The vote 
shows tliat the citizens were not yet ready to make e.xlrava- 
gant concessions to the new order: 

"Per vote: Whereas, Capt, Nathaniel Webb and Alexander Binhop, in 
beh.ilf of them.selves and the rest of the Episcopal Church in Stamtord, 
mafle ftpplicatioa to this town to grant them liberty to erect a decent fence 
around then- church, at the distance of one rod from said building, the Se- 
lectmen are hereby directed to view the circnmstauces thereof, and order 
and direct therein .->s they shall think proper therein." 

Under the administration of Mr. Dibble and his successors, 
the parish was greatly prospered. Their first house of worship 
answered for the use of the congregation until 184:3, when the 
present church was built, where it now stands. This, in its 
turn, was soon found too small, and was enlarged, in 1855, to 
its present dimensions. But even this enlargement was not 
found to answer the needs of the parish long ; and May 14, 
1860, they were called to lay the corner-stone of their new mis- 
sion chapel, St. Andrew's, between Washington avenue and 
Northfield street. The only rectors of this period were Revs. 
'Jonathan Judd and Ambrose S. Todd. From the summer of 
1858, the labors of Dr. Todd having become too great for his 
tailing strength, the parish employed an assistant. Rev. Walter 
Mitchell, then in deacon's orders, and who was ordained priest 
April 27, 1859. 

Dr. Todd continued in the rectorship of tlie parish until his 



death, June 22, 1861 ; and his assistant, Mr. Mitchell, was insti- 
tuted rector Nov. 13, 1861. Under his rectorship the church 
was increasingly prosperous. He was assisted by Rev. F. 
W. Braithwaite. On the resignation of Mr. Mitchell, in 1866, 
Rev. William Tatlock entered on the rectorship, Aug. 30, 1866. 
He is assisted by the Rev. Joseph W. Hyde. The continued 
prosperity of the parish is evinced by the building of Emman- 
uel Church, at Shlnoh, in 1867, to meet the wants of the north- 
east part of the parish. 

The following is the list of the clergy who have officiated in 
this parish, as far as the records of the church and contempo- 
raneous history have furnished their names : 

James Wetmoke, 1735-1741. 

Henky Canek, 1744-1747. 

Ebenezeb Dibble, D. D., 1747-1799. (See later biography.) 

Calvin White, 1798. 

J. H. Reynolds, S. Wheaton, find Ammi Eogei;s, the latter of whom 
wns degriuled from the ministry, by Bishop Jnrvis, in 1804. 

Jonathan Judd, instituted rector October 10, 1810, and resigned in 1822. 

Bennet Gloveb. 

Ambrose Todd, D. D. (See later biography.) 

Walter Mitchell, instituted rector Nov. 13, 1861, and resigned Feb. 4, 

William Tatlock, instituted rector, August 30, 186G. 

St. Luke's, Daeiex. — The Rev. W. H. C. Robertson, an 
English gentleman, commenced preaching in 1854, in the 
chapel which was more recently used by the Presbyterian 
Church. In August, 1855, the Episcopal parish was regularly 
organized. James E. Johnson was chosen senior, and Ira Sco- 
field, junior Warden. John W. Waterbury, Edward A. Weed, 
and Isaac H. Clock, were appointed Vestrymen. The corner- 
stone of the present church was laid August 11, 1855, by the 
Rev. Dr. Todd, of Stamford, to whose jurisdiction this part of 
Darien had previously belonged. It was consecrated by Bishop 
Williams, March 27, 1863. 

The rectors of St. Luke's have been : 

W. H. C. Robebtson, from the organization of the, in 1855. 


GEuRCiE D. Johnson, instituted September, 18G1. 

Louis H. Fkencb, August 2, 18G3, the present iuonmbeut. 

St. Andrew's Chapel. — The corner-stone of this (•h:ii)el, 
between Washington avenue and Northfield street, was laid 
May 14, 1860, and the house was finished and consecrated 
May 8, 1861. The persons who have officiated at this chapel 
have been Thomas W. Punnett, who, in November, 1861, 
accepted the rectorship of St. Paul's Church, Staten Island, 
and Arthur Mason, Nathaniel E. Whiting, and F. Wind- 
sor Beatuwaite, who was ordained deacon in St. Andrew's 
Chapel June 17, 1862, and ordained priest June 17, 1S65. 
About the same time, St. Andrew's was organized into an in- 
dependent parish, and Mr. Brathwaite was called to be rector. 
This is a free church. 

Emmanuel Church, Shinoh. — The corner-stone of this 
church was laid June 29, 1867. This neat, Gothic structnre, 
of stone, was built by the Missionary and Benevolent Society 
of St. John's, as a chapel of the parish church. It stands on 
the New Hope road, about three miles from the village; and 
religious services are held here by the rector of St. John's and 
his assistant. 

baptist churches. 

The records of the Baptist Church and society are preserved 
mtich more fully than those of the otlier denominations in town. 
The first item of information respecting the Baptists is a state- 
ment made in 1769, by Ebenezer Ferris. He had united with 
the Congregational Church, here, with his wife, Abigail, Feb. 
12, 1769, and by Oct. 27th, of the same year, he had become so 
far convinced of the invalidity of his baptism as to seek immer- 
sion, at the hands of Elder Gano, of New York city. His own 
statement of the change is as follows : 

" Haviug been some time exercised in mind, in disputes upon religious 
subjects, searcbing the Scriptures, for understanding, and becoming con- 
vinced tbat the Baptist, in their practice, are agreeable to the order of the 
gospel, (I) m.uie application to the Baptist Church in New York, under the 
pastoral care of Elder Gano. Desiring to unite with them in the privi- 
leges of the gospel, after being examined, they manifested their freedom 
Whs baptized Oct. '27, 1709, and received into church fellowship.' 


From tliu same roconls we learn that Elder Gaiio, in April, 
1770, preached liere, and baptized Xathan Scofield and John 
Ferris, of Stauwieh, the former having been a member ot the 
Congregational Church from the settlement of Dr. Welles, in 
1G47. In June he came again, and baptized Xebemiah Brown 
and David Wilson, of ITorseneck, and Moses Reynolds, of 

In the following March, 177U-1, the persons above-named, as 
being baptized " with Moses Fountain, a Baptist, who lately 
came to this place, having joined the church of Xew York, our 
number seven was by said church considered as a branch of the 
same, residing in Stamford ; and to have the privilege of having 
ordinances of the gospel administered here by the Elder Gano, 
and to receive into church fellowship such persons as should be 
judged meet subjects by this branch and the Elder." 

It was further provided that Mr. Gano should preach here 
once a month, for six months ; upon which the branch " agreed 
to meet statedly on Lord's-day, for public worship, at the house 
of Moses Fountain. Begun first, in April, 1771." 

The following persons were baptized during tiiis year : Oli- 
ver Sherwood, of Horseneck ; James Winchel Elizabeth Davis, 
Hannah Ferris, Rebecca Reynolds, of Stanwich ; Elizabeth 
Rowel, of Horseneck; Mindal Smith, of Bedford; William 
Brundage, and Nathan Sutton, of Horseneck — making the 
number, at the end of 1771, sixteen. 

In July of this year Ebenezer Ferris had been cjiosen deacon. 
The record states that of the above persons Mindal Smith had 
been previously baptized. 

The Congregational Churcli records of 177i.', have this vote 
in them, the first allusion to the existence of the Baptists which 
these records contain: "Samuel Youngs shall be exempted 
Irom paying society rates as long as he continues in thi society, 
a Seventh Day Baptist." 

Another vote of the Congregational Society, Dec. 27, 1778, 
is worthy of preservation. It abates the society rates for the 


year 1771 of the following Baptists: Moses Fountain, Natlian 
Seofield, Ebenezer Ferris, Nathan Scofield, Jr., Daniel Scofield 
Samuel Clason, Joshua June, and the widow Sarah Mead. At 
the same time they abate the rates of 1772, of the ioUowing ad- 
ditional names: Joseph Webb, Jr., Daniel Turney, Stephen* 
Long-well, Peter Mead, Jesse Smitli, and John Lockwood, Jr. 

The above names are probably all which constituted the pio- 
neers in the Baptist movement in this place. 

Deacon Ferris purchased a piece of land, in October, 1771, 
lor a church site, tor -which he paid £4 10s., York money ; and 
on this site the frame of the first Baptist church this side of 
Xew York was raised, June 11, 1772. The same frame stands 
on the same lot, in the Bangall district, to this day. It is the 
only surviving representative in town of the almost universal 
type of the '■ Lord's house " whicli prevailed in New England 
a hundred and fifty years ago. 

On the 6th of November, 1773, those Baptists who were liv- 
ing in this vicinity were organized into a separate church. El- 
der Gano being present, and giving them " the right hand of 
fellowship." The list of the new church numbered twenty-one 
names. They are Ebenezer Ferris, Ezariah Wiuchel, Nathan 
Scofield, John Ferris, Neheraiali Brown, Sylvenus Reynolds, 
Gabriel Higgins, Joseph Webb, Jonathan Whelpley, Moses 
Reynolds, John Higgins, Elizabeth Brown, Mindal Smith, Han- 
nah Ferris, Rebecca Reynolds, Mary Reynolds, Elizabeth Da- 
vis, Mary Miller, Sarah Higgins, Esther Smith, and Hannah 

The ministers who labored here for the next ten years were 
Elder Coles, 1773 ; Thomas Ustic, 1775 ; President Manning, of 
Providence, 1775, and Robert Morris. Mr. Morris had been 
licensed by the church to preach, in 1716, but he became loose 
in his doctrinal views, and in 1780 his license was withdrawn, 
and he was excommunicated. In October, of this year, Elka- 
nah Holmes, of Nine Partners, came here and took the charge. 
His family followed him the next spring, and he continued here 
until October, 1784. Mr. Ferris, who had well discliarged the 


office of a deacon, was also thought worthy of the ministerial 
office, and accordingly, in October, 17 S3, he was licensed to 
preach, and on the 3d of the next July he was ordained formal- 
ly to the work of the gospel ministry. 

The Baptist Church seemed from the first to prosper. It 
established branches in the lower part of the town, in Salem, 
Bedford, Yorktown, and Sing Sing, N. Y. lu December, 1784, 
they dismissed twenty-five of their members, to constitute the 
church of Salem, N. Y., and Elder Holmes was transferred to 
the charge of that new church. Elder Ferris remained in charge 
of the Stamford church for the rest of his life. 

In 1787 they dismissed seventeen, to constitute the Baptist 
Church of Bedford, N. Y. In October, 1788, they dismissed 
thirty-two, to constitute the Church of Courtland Manor, N. Y., 
and in 1790 they dismissed thirty-four, to be organized into the 
Church of Mount Pleasant (Sing Sing), N. Y. The records 
show that after these several dismissions there still remained on 
the list of the Stamford church thirty-nine communicants. 

The Baptists in the lower part of the town becoming more 
numerous, demanded a place of worship nearer than the 
one on Fort Hill, and accordingly, on the 24th of June, 1790, 
they raised the second Baptist house of the town, on the lot 
on Kiver street, a few rods south of the bridge. This house — 
similar in form to that on Fort Hill — gave way, in 1856, to a 
neat church, and this, in 1800, on the completion of the present 
elegant house on the corner of Broad and Atlantic streets, was 
converted into the block now overlooking our village pond. 

In June, 1791, the Stamford parish being so large, and the 
work in the vicinity so burdensome, Marmaduke Earl, who was 
a licensed preacher at Scott's Plains, was invited to come to 
the assistance of Mr. Ferris. He removed to Stamford the next 
month, and entered upon his labors. In February, of the next 
year, Mr. Earl made a formal proposition to the church, if 
they wished him to remain another year, to provide for him a 
liome, by fitting up the parsonage, and allowing him forty 
pounds a year, with the privilege of teaching school. This 


proposal the church and society accepted. Before the year had 
closed Mr. Earl had taken exceptions to the action of the church 
upon doctrinal points, and a long and spirited contest com- 

Mr. Ferris, who was, to the last, sustained by the church, 
commenced his labors in the new building on River street, in 
1792, and the old church on Fort Hill was for a while held by 
the opposition, and was finally, in 1806, transferred to the Long 
Ridge Baptists, and became tlie Second Baptist Church of 

There have been from this church five members licensed to 
preach, four of whom were afterwards ordained to the work of 
the ministry. They were Robert Morris, who, being licensed 
in 1776, soon proved himself unworthy of the trust, and his li- 
cense was withdrawn ; Ebenezer Ferris, S. Webb, 
Frederick Smith, and Henry Little. 

Tlie following record we preserve here, as too illustrative of 
the devotion of a member of this church, and of the wants of 
the earlier age to which it belongs, to be lost : 

"Oct. 8, 1797. Died, at Norwalk, Sybil Whitehead, aged 116, as pub- 
lished in the public priuts, a member of this church, bnptized and added, 
Oct. 5, 1780, which must have been in the 99th year of hrr age. She lived 
at Norwalk, where slie taught a school, and for years frequently attended 
public worobip with the church in this place, which was thirteen miles dis- 
tance. Came on Saturday and returned on Monday, horseback. The last 
time she came was May, 1789. She came nine miles on loot, anil reluiued 
on foot, in the 99th year of her age— said person having never been mar- 
ried. Feedeeic Smith, Clerk." 

The ministers ot this church who have officiated since Mr. 
Earl's co-pastorship with Mr. F'erris have been : 

FrEDEElCE Smith, co-pastor, from August, 1807, to February, 1817. 

Gbeenleaf S. Webb, co-pastor, from June, 1816, to April, 1821. 

John Ellis, pastor, from December, 1822, to October, 1836. 

William Biddle, from October, 1836, to .January, 1839. 

James M. Stickney, from April, 1839, to April, 18'12 

Addison Pakkek, from .ipril, 1813, to April, 1845. 

Henei H. Rouse, from November, 1815, to April, 18'18. 

James Hepbuen. 

J H. Paeks, to the union of this and the Bethesda Church. 


In 1848, the Bathosda Baptist Cliurch was orgaiiiz?cl, by 
sixty-two members from the First Church. They built ou the 
corner of Atlantic and Cottage streets, where they continued a 
separate organization until the two were happily re-united in 

On the organization of the Bethesda Church, in 1848, Mr. 
Rouse became the pastor of the new church, where he continued 
to officiate until January, 1857. 

Alansox H. Bliss. succeeded him, and remained until the re- 
union of the two churches, in October, 1858. 

At the union of these two village churches, disposing of the 
two lots and church buildings which they owned, they pur- 
chased a lot on the corner of Broad and Atlantic streets, and 
erected the elegant brick structure which now stands there. 
Its corner-stone was laid in August, 1859, and the house was 

Its two pastors have been Philip S. Evaxs, installed in Xov., 
1858, and resigned in 1865, and Edward Lathrop, D. D., who 
was installed Feb. 22, 1066. 


Maix Stref.t. — There seems to have been no record of the 
early Methodist movement in this vicinity, and it is doubtful 
whether any was made for several years after this denomination 
began its labors here. The earliest records, now existing, are 
those begun in 1830, by Rev. Daniel De Vinne, who was then 
stationed here. He introduces his records with a historical 
sketch, from which I take the following statement : 

"The first regular society of the Methodist Episcopal Church, 
in this town, was formed about the year 1788. What circum- 
stance led our ministers to this place, who was the first preach- 
er, or who formed the first class, cannot at present be ascer- 
tained. But it is most probable that it was the Rev. Samuel 
Q. Taluot or Peter Moriarty, who traveled on the New Ro- 
chellc circuit. The ne.xt year, 1789, the Rev. Jesse Lee and 
Andrew Van Xostraxd were appointed to Standlord circuit. 
On their arrival at this place they found kindred spn-its, who 



had drnnk at the same fountain with themselves. Sister Elsie 
Scofield, who is now (1830) living, had been awakened by his 
ministry in this village, at the house of Mr. Gurnsey, some years 
previous to 1791, the time at which she joined the infant socie- 
ty in this j3lace. Mrs. Martha Reed, who had been awakened 
by the ministry of the Rev. Freeborn Garretson, in Shelburne, 
Nova Scotia, settled in this village in 1790. Immediately on 
her arrival she attached herself to the class, which consisted of 
about twelve, over which one Enos Weed was placed as leader. 
The stated meetings were held at the house of a Mr. Lockwood, 
now owned by Mrs. Smith, near the present Methodist Episco- 
|5al Church; and the preachers were entertained by General 
Waterbury, near the harbor, whose wife and sister were mem- 

Mr. Isaac Ree.l, who, during the Revolutionary war, had 
b3com3 a Christian, joined the church, at the same time, with 
his wife, and invited the congregation and ministers to hold 
their public meetings in his house. In this place the ark of 
Methodism rested for nineteen years; and this excellent family 
subjected themselves, during all this time, to the inconvenience 
of accommodating, almost weekly, meetings, supporting the 
preachers and their horses, and also furnishing more than their 
quota of traveling expenses. 

After frequent petitions, the town, which was at that time 
under the influence of the Congregational order, granted to the 
" Fanatics " a place — a mud-hole — on the commons, on which 
to build a church. About 1813 the church was finished and 
dedicated, and six years after was cleared of debt." 

Such, probably, was the origin of this enterprising denomi- 
nation of Christians in this village. Our town records show 
tliat the selectmen were empowered, Feb. 17, 1814, "to give a 
lease, for ninety-nine years, to the trustees of the Methodist 
Society, of a spot of ground near the dwelling-bouse of Fred. 
Hoyt, on the west side of the old burying-ground, for the pnr- 
]iose of erecting a meeting-house." This must have been the 
" mud-hole " referred to in the preceding statement. It was a 
little to the east of tlie present site of the Methodist church on 
the park; and the frame of that first church still stands on 
River street, the second house from the corner of Park place. 
The only names on the record of this church for thirty years 



are the following : Martha Heed, Elsy Scofield, Lanney Garn- 
sey, Jonathan Brown, Ezra Garnsey, John Thompson, William 
Waterbury, Lois Waterbury, Hannah Brown, Richard Scofield, 
Hephzibah Scofield, Joseph Selleck, Phebe Selleck, Solomon 
Smith, Polly Smith, Isaac Wardwell, Jane Weeks, Mary 
Trowbridge, Joanna Augusta Devinne, Nancy H. Lockwood, 
James H. Trowbridge, Phebe Adams, Nancy Knapp, and Mar- 
garet Valentine. 

From such beginning, so recently made, to quote from the 
records of the movement, the Methodist " Clon continued to 
grow, notwithstanding the shade of public sentiment and the 
rude attempts of the bulls of Bashan to devour it." 

The second Methodist church built in the village was finished 
and dedicated Oct. 12, 1843. It stood north-west of the first 
house, where it was used by the society until 1859. It still 
occupies mainly the game ground, on the corner of River street 
and Park place, having been turned round and converted into 

The present Methodist church was dedicated Feb. 16, 1859. 
This denomination has made very rapid progress, as our notice 
of several congregations in town will indicate. Yet its growth 
was not very marked until about 1855, since which its progress 
has probably had no parallel among our congregations. 

The following list of the ministers of this denomination who 
have been located in Stamford, embraces all whose names have 
been recovered, with the dates of entering upon their labors 
hero : 

17S8. S. Q Tdlbot and P. Moriarty. 

1789. Jesse Lee and Andrew Van Nostrand. 

1790. Freborn Garretson. 1312, Samuel Luckev. 

1813. Tbo uas Drummond find Benj. Griffin. 

1814. Phineas Rice and Benj. Griffin. 

1815. Coles Carpei'ter and Theodosius Clark, 

1816. Theodosius Clark and .A..uon Hunt. 

1817. John Reynolds, two years. 

1819. John M. Smith and Samuel D. Furgusou. 

1820. Elisha P, Jacob and John JI. Smith. 


1821. John B. Matthias, two years. 

1822. Eli Denuiston, two years. 1823. Jarvis Z. Nichols. 

1824. Nathaniel Porter and Noble W. Thomas, two years. 

1825. Cyrus Foss. 

1826. Elijah Woolsey, two years, and Luman Andrews. 

1827. Samuel U. Fisher, two year.?. 

1828. Daniel De Viune, two years. 1829. Edward Oldren. 

1830. Samuel Corcoran and Daniel I. Wright, two years. 

1831. Henry Hatfield, two years. 1832. John Lovejoy. 

1833. E. Hibbard, Abraham S. Francis, and Geo. Brown, 

1834. Oliver V. Ammerman and Charles Stearns. 

1835. Richard Seaman and Zachariah Davenport. 
183G. A. S. Hill, two years, and D. B. Ostrander, Jr. 

1837. \Vm. Gothard, two years. 1838. Edward Oldren, two years. 

1839. S. J. Stebbins, two years. 1840. John Tackerbury. 

1842. George Brown. 1844. Peter C. Oaldey. 

1846. Aaron Rodgers. 1850. Friend W. Smith. 

1852. Albert Nash. 1854. Samuel Smith. 

1856. George Dunbar. 1858. Robert M. Hatfield, D. D. 

18G0. L. S. Weed, D. D. 1862. Thomas Burcfa, D. D. 

18G1. E. G. Audrew.s, D. D. 1867. Wm. C. Steele. 

HiGiiRiDGE. — From the historical sketch, drawn up by Mr. 
De Vinne, in 1830, we learn that this organization, then called 
the Duntown Cluirch, is the oldest Methodist church on the 
Stamford circuit. We learn, also, that the Stamford circuit is 
the oldest circuit in New England. It appears that one Henry 
Eames. who had been converted under Wesley's preaching, in 
Ireland, came to this country and settled in the south part of 
Poundridge. He soon gathered about him a number " of the 
sons, in the gospel, of his spiritual Father, and invited them to 
his house." These became the nucleus of a church and society. 

Some time in the year 1787, the Rev. Samuel Q. Talbot, sta- 
tioned on New Rochelle circuit, came to these neglected parts, 
preached in sever il places, and formed several in a class, some 
of whom remain to this day" (1830). 

The first house of worship built by this society stood just 
across the Stamford line, in Poundridge, where the church held 
their meetings until 1841, when the present chapel was built 
or them on Highridge. The only two names now on the rec- 


ords of the Dantown church, for the year 1787, are Samia-l ami 
Ruhamah Dann. In 1797 these two are added: Sarah Selleck 
and Hannah Deforest ; and in 1799 these four: John Slauson, 
Khoda Slauson, Enoch Stevens, and Ruhamah Bishop. 

It will appear from these records that we had organized here 
a Methodist church, enjoying the ordinances of the gospel at 
least two years before the time when, according to Dr. Bangs, 
"the first seeds of Methodism were sown in Connecticut." 
This church was earlier by two years than that society in Strat- 
ford which is called the first in Connecticut, consisting of three 
women, and which was formed Sept. 26, 1789. 

The Stamford circuit was already organized before 1790, the 
year in which the three circuits of New Haven, Hartford and 
Litchfield were establislied ; and when, according to the " Con- 
tributions to the Ecclesiastical History of Connecticut," there 
were but four Methodist ministers in New England. The min- 
isters of this church have been the same as those who have 
officiated at Hunting ridge and Poundridge. 

Daeien. — That there were meetings of this denomination in 
Darien as early as 1788 is testified by the certificates of that 
date, which Samuel Quinton Talbott gave to Joseph Waring, 
Jr., Gershom Raymond, and Edward Raymond. Cornelius 
Cook also gives similar certificates, in the same year, to Ezra 
Slason and Jesse Waring. These certificates testify that the 
five gentlemen above-named were considered as " members of 
the Methodist congregation." During the next six years the 
following ministers give similar certificates to relieve the bear- 
ers from the legal obligation to pay their ministerial rates to 
the Congregational treasurer: Jesse Lee, Daniel Smith, and 
John Clark, and the number of such certificates is nine. 

LoxGKiDGE. — My account of this church is also taken from 
the records of the Stamford circuit, as made out in 1830, by 
Mr. De Vinne: "About the year 1809, Mrs. Phebe Mead 
moved into this neighborhood, and finding no religious meet- 
ings, invited the ^lethodist ministers to come and preach at 


her house. The first who accepted the invitation and preached 
was Daniel Welpley, a local preacher. Some time after him 
the Rev. Eben Smith occasionally visited the place and 

When the Rev. John Reynolds was appointed to this circuit, 
he preached here some time statedly, although it was even to a 
single family. About the year 1810, when the Rev. John M. 
Smith traveled, the preaching was moved to the school-house, 
in which place it has continued ever since ; " that is, until 1830. 

Bangall Chapel. — This chapel was built before 1834, and is 
supplied with preaching by such ministers of this denomination 
as are living in the vicinity. 

Hunting Ridge. — This chapel, making the sixth place of 
worship for this denomination within the territory of the an- 
cient Stamford, was built in 1850, the Rev. Walter W. Brewer 
having previously labored successfully for two years in gather- 
ing a congregation on the Ridge. Mr. Brewer subsequently 
made the Ridge his home, where he died, in 1808, much es- 
teemed for his piety and usefulness. Since then, the following- 
ministers have been stationed here, the most of them for two 
years each : Miles Olmstead, Joseph Heuton, John A. Sil- 
LECK, Harvey Husted, T. D. Littlewood, William Craw- 
ford, William Ross, Moxson, and Maguire. 


LoNGRiDGH Society. — For the following facts, respecting this 
society, I am indebted to Rev. Eber Francis, formerly of this 
town : 

During the Revolutionary war, Richard Sibley, a Universal- 
ist, came Irom Long Island and settled on Longridge ; and, so 
far, as is known, he was the first resident who openly avowed 
Universalist sentiments in the town. Solomon Glover, of New- 
town, Connecticut, a few years later, came down occasionally, 
and preached in the school-house o)i the Ridge. Mr. Ferris, 
Mr. Dykeman, Mr. Babbitt, and Thos. F. King were successive- 
ly employed as preachers on the circuit to which Longridge 


beloiigcil. This Mr. King was father of the late lamented lec- 
turer and preacher, T. Starr King, of San Francisco. From the 
removal of Mr. King, in 1825, to 1832, there was no stated 
preaching here. Rev. Shaler J. Ilillyer was settled here .at this 
date, preaching a part of the time, also, at Xorth Salem, X. Y., 
in which place he finally settled, and where he still remains. 

The formal organization of the society bears date April 2T, 
1833. Fourteen persons gave in their names to constitute 
the society. 

Ot them the late Ebenezer Dean, Esq., was chosen Moder a- 
tor, and Smith R. Sibley Clerk. The first committee were Geo" 
Lounsbury, William Todd, and Aaron Dean. 

In October, 1834, the present house of worship having been 
completed, it was formally " dedicated to the worship of Al- 
mighty God," with appropriate solemnities, the Rev. Dr. Saw- 
yer, of Xew York, preaching on the occasion. For years this 
was the only house for public worship in that part of the town_ 

Srcoxd Universalist Society. — For the following facts I 
am indebted to the Rev. Eben Francis, who was pastor of this 
church about three years: 

For a number of years there had been irregular preaching 
here by ministers of the Universalist denomination, when in the 
spring of 1835 the Rev. F. Hitchcock accepted a call to settle 
here. He was succeeded by Eev. S. J. Hillyer, who also re- 
mained but a short time, and was succeeded by Rev. B. B. Hal- 
lock. The society was not organized until 1841, at which time 
thirteen persons subscribed the constitution. Its committee 
were, — Wm. H. Potts, Wm. E. Young, and James B. Scofield. 
In 1844 the society took steps towards building, having thus 
far mainly depended upon the Town House for a place to wor- 
ship. They purchased the corner lot, on which their church 
now stands. The church was dedicated Feb. 5, 1846, during 
the ministry of Mr. Hallock. The following ministers have suc- 
ceeded Mr. Hallock : 

.1. J. Twiss, J. H. MooBE, two years; C. H. Fay, two years; 


Asa Countryman, one year ; Eben Francis, about three years, 
and J. Smith Dodge, Jr., who is still the occupant. 


The first Catholic services in Stamford, of wliich we have any 
account, were held by Rev. John Smith, in September, 1842, in 
the house of P. H. Drew, in West Stamford. At that date 
there were but three Catholic families in the town. Services 
were held there, monthly, until 1846. Mr. Drew removing to 
the old "Webb Place" on South-St., services were there held, 
first, by the Right Rev. Bishop Tyler. Here the meetings of 
this denomination were continued, by several ministers, until 
the church on Meadow-St. was built in 1851. Since then, the 
Catholic population' has increased very rapidly. The church 
has been once enlarged, and the present necessities of the con- 
gregation call for still greater enlargement, for which provision 
is being made. 

The following priests have been stationed here : 

.James Bbady, 1850 — 1S54. 

Edwaed Closet, 1854—1857. 

Jajies Ketnolds, 1857, and died beie Oct. 20, 1858. 

James O'Neil, from Sopt. 1858 to tbe present ;imc. He lias been assisted 
by tho foUowiug curates, Edward O'Neil, who died while in this offiue, 
Christopher Diigget, and his present assistant, curate Eugene Gafl'uey. 

How early the movement was started which led to the 
Friends' meeting in Darien, I have been unable to learn. From 
a work published in 1844, embracing the biographies of Cath- 
erine Seely and Deborah S. Roberts, who were themselves 
Friends, we learn that their grandmother, Catherine Selleck, 
was the first member of the sect in Stamford. The opening of 
a Friends' meeting at a private residence is thus described by 
Miss Roberts. " After seriously weighing the subject, on tho 
21st of 6th month, 1828, and on the 1st day of the week, we 
convened at the house of Uncle Wyx Seely, and quietly sat 
down together in tlie capacity of a religious meeting for wor- 
ship. It was held in the sick room of my dear cousin C. Seely 


and was the same one in which oui- worthy grandmother Cath- 
erine Selleck, the first member in this place, sat down in the 
same way, herself alone. At length others joined her and finally 
a meeting was allowed." The first "minister" tliey had, was 
probably a woman by the name of Grifiin; and the only 
preacher who was located there was probably one of the resi- 
dent members, Mr. Samuel Bishop, who died in 1852, a lineal 
descendant of Rev. John Bishop, the second pastor of the first 
Congregational church of Stamford. The Friends built a small, 
square meeting house in 1811, and for a few years held in 
it their simple service. But the meetings were long since aban- 
doned, nothing being left as a witness to the fact of such an 
attempt, save the old square frame in which the meetings were 


The first records of any movement towards organizing a 
Presbyterian church in Stamford, are found among the records 
of the Congregational church. After the communion service of 
Jan. 2, 1853, in a church meeting, the following members of the 
Congregational church called for letters of dismission from the 
church, to constitute a Presbyterian church about to be formed. 

Augustus R. Moen, Alexander Milne, George Elder, James 
D. Haff, Luke Baker, Hiram Warner, James Robinson, John 
Holmes, Mrs. Sophia A. Moen, Miss Cornelia A. Moen, 
Hannah E. Elder, Mrs. Mary E. Haff, Mrs. Almira Baker, 
Mrs. Sophia Warner, Miss Elizabeth M. Warner, Mrs. Georgette 
A. Robinson, Mrs. Catherine Helmes. 

Letters of dismission were voted to these members of the 
church according to the rules of the church, Jan. 16, 1853. 
During the next few weeks similar letters were given to the fol- 
lowing members of the Congregational church : 

Wells R. Rltch, Mary Ann Sturges, Elizabeth Sturges, Mrs. 
Amzi Ayres,'Miss Matilda Moen, Mrs. Sai'ah A. Ritch, Miss 
Sarah L. Ritch. 

This church was organized Feb. 25, 1853 with twenty-six 


members. It has since then added about 250 to its membership, 
and is one of tin wealthiest of our churches. Its ministers have 
been : 

J. L. CoRN-iNG, i .stiiUed Apr. 19, 1853 nad resigaeil Oct. 15, 1856. He is 
now settled in Pousbkeepsie. 

K. R. Booth, D. D', iustalled Mar. 4, 1857, and resigned in Feb. 1861, 
to accept tlie pastorate of the Mercer St. Presbyterian church in New York. 

Jasies p. Leeds, preached very acceptably one year. 

DwiGHT R, B.iRTLETT, installed Apr. 14, 1862, resigned, in Feb. 1864. 

Samuel P. Halsey. installed, Mar. 8, 1865 and resigned Feb. 7, 1867. 

A. S. TwoMBLY, installed, Apr. 30, 1868. 

Mission Chapel. — This chapel of the First Presbyterian 
church grew out of a movement, organized in 1859, to supply a 
local want in the Wescott neighborhood. It is situated on the 
"Cove" road, and was built in 1868. 


This new organization was made Nov. 4, 18G3. The follow- 
ing list of members were from the First Congregational church 
in Stamford : 

Isaac Weed, Benjamin Weed, Rufus Weed, Mrs. Sally Weed, 
Mrs. Mary Weed, Mrs. Phebe Weed, Mrs. Hannah Weed, Miss 
Mary Weed, Miss Rebecca Weed, Mrs. Sarah W. Crissey, Mrs. 
Abigail W. Bishop. 

The following were trom the First Presbyterian church in 
Stamford : 

William A. Cummings, and his wife Louisa Cummings. 

Mrs. Anna E. Ballard and Mrs. Martha Harris, from First 
Presbyterian church. New York City. 

Lewis E. Clock and his wife Eliza, Miss Eliza Clock, an d 
Mrs. Hannah Waterbury, from the Congregational church of 
Darien ; and Miss Fanny Kennedy, from the ^Methodist Episco- 
pal church of Stamford. 

This church commenced worshiping in the chapel which 
had been built here, a quarter of a century ago, as a Union 
chapel, for all evangelical denominations. This church is under 
the care of the fourth presbytery of New York city. Their 



new church, a beautiful structure of light colored brick, was 
dedicated May 31, 1866. 

Their only pastor has been iho Rev. .James Wm. Coleman, who was or 
ilaincd and installed here Mar. 6, 1864. 


This house was built in 1858 for the use of a Sunday school, 
and for evening services for that part of the town, and was 
dedicated Thursday, Jan. 27, 1859. Services have been held 
here, somewhat irregularly, conducted by clergymen of the five 
evangelical denominations in town. There is no church organi- 
zation connected with the chapel. A Sabbath School has been 
kept up here for the most of the time since the house was built, 
as there liad been in the district school house for years before. 


This house was built for the use of this neighborhood as a 
convenient place for holding the meetings of the Sunday school 
which had been previously held in the school house. It was 
dsdicated in 1860, and has since had in it Sunday evening servi- 
ces conducted by the brethren of the vicinity, or by some one 
of the ministers ot the town. 



Among the founders of Stamford were a few men of literary 
culture. But neither the age, nor the country in which they 
had grown up, nor their family means, nor the tempestuous 
times which had otherwise engrossed their earliest attention, 
had allowed the majority of them the advantages of scholastic 
training. Gifted they were in intellect, men of strong, sound 
sense, thoughtful, accustomed to self-reliance, and fertile in 
devices for their personal improvement and prosperity, and they 
could not overlook the claims of their children. Indeed, the 
Xew England fathers, and our pioneers were among them, saw 
that the only way to establish here, and perpetuate a society 
which could satisfy either their tastes or their hopes, would 
be through a more careful and thorough, and general educa- 
tion of their children than might have been necessary in the 
mother land. A necessity seemed to be laid upon them to look 
after all the resources at their command ; and to none of them 
did they turn with a wiser forecast than to those which their 
very intuitions told them were awaiting development in the 
hearts and minds of their children. 

How soon our Stamford flithers reared their first school house, 
where it stood, what its size, and how furnished, are interesting 
facts now beyond our reach. The record of that incipient 
school enterprise here is lost. Its influence upon the genera- 
tions which have succeeded has been incalculable. 

Oi one thing we may be certain. The first school house here 
had no needless room in it, no uselessly expensive adorning, and 
no special provision in its fnrnishmonts to minister to tli^ ease 


and promote the efleminate languor of the children to be edu- 
cated in it. It was set up by the hard and self-denying labors 
of the parents for the place of the hard and protracted work of 
their children — not for five hours a day, four or five days in the 
week, but for eight and ten hours, for each of the six working 
days of the week. 

The fundamental laws of the Kew Haven jurisdiction re- 
cpiired under severe penalties every town to provide means for 
the early instruction of their children. The parent who should 
allow himself to neglect his child's education, was to be duly 
warned by the civil magistrate. If he did not at once atone for 
his neglect, he was to be fined ten shillings for the first offense. 
If the neglect should be continued, in three months the fine 
should be doubletl ; and if then the guilty parent should refuse 
to do his duty to his children, the law would take from him their 
care and find a guardian who should better educate and govern 
them, "both for public conveniency and for the particular good 
of the children." 

It seems that some towns did not provide for the education 
of their children. Accordingly, in 1057, the New Haven court 
ordered, "that in every plantation where a school is not already 
set up and maintained, forthwith endeavors shall be used that 
a schoolmaster be procured that may attend that work, one- 
third part shall be paid by the town in general as other rates, 
the good education of children being of public concernment." 

In 1660 it was added to the fundamental law of the colony 
under the same penalty before noticed, " that the sonncs of all 
the inhabitants within this jurisdiction shall be learned to write 
a leegible hand, so soone as they are capable of it." 

Nor was the theory of the Connecticut jurisdiction any less 
exacting in its demands for the general education. When 
Stamford was brought under this jurisdiction, the fundamental 
law of education still read much as that in New Haven had 
done. There could be no mistaking its terms. "The select- 
men of every town in the several quarters and precincts where 


tliey dwell, shall have a vigilant eye over their brethren and 
neighbors, to see, first, that none of them shall suffer so much 
barbarism in any of their families, as not to endeavor to teach, 
by themselves or others, their children and apprentices so much 
learning, as may enable them perfectly to read the English 
tongue, and knowledge of the capital laws, upon penalty of 
twenty shillings for each neglect therein." 

It was stilll further provided, that every town having fifty 
householders in it, should " forthwith appoint one within their 
town, to teach all such children, as shall resort to him, to write 
and read, whose wages shall be paid, either by the parents or 
masters of such children, or by the inhabitants in general." 

Under such laws, Stamford could do no less than make fall 
legal provision for the education of the young. The one central 
school house was early built, and to it, all the first generation 
of the town children were sent. And it came to be a settled 
principle that all classes, alike, must sustain, and receive their 
education from the town school. They made no provision for 
a superior education for a favored portion of the community ; 
but seem, as occasional records show, to have made the needed 
provision for educating the children of the most "worshipful" 
part of the settlers, and then by penal motives, held the poorer 
class to the necessity of using them. Our very first record 
which refers at all to the school, indicates the existence in that 
early day of a better philosophy than has since then prevailed 
in our State. 

It bears date, December 24, 1070, and is as follows: "ye 
towne hath agreede to hyr mr bellemy for a scoole Master 
for this yeare ;" and as if to show that they were in eai-nest, 
and meant to discharge their full responsibility in that impor- 
tant trust they add : " ye towne doth graunt and agree to putt 
doun all peety scools yt are or may be kept in ye toune, which 
may be preiudicial to ye general scoole." " The toune hath 
graunted Mr. Mathew Bellemy a home lot of about one acere 
& halfe & he is hereby Ingaged to bouild a habitable house 


upon it within two years, before he alienate it to any one, or els 
to throw it ujj to ye toune again." 

Whether Mr. Bellamy found the post too difficult to fill, or 
the pay too small for his support does not appear. We find 
the next spring, arrangements made for a new teacher, and the 
lot which had been assigned to Mr. Bellamy, transferred to a 
Rev. Wm. Clements. The votes passed respecting the new 
teacher, will indicate somewhat the literature of the day, and 
the propriety of a prompt and thorough trial of the master's 

On the 31st of the 11th month, (January) 16V0, it was voted 
in town meeting "that Mr. Rider be admited in to the town 
for a time of triall to keep school as a comite apointed for that 
end shall agree with him, and if after triall the town aprove 
him and he like to stay they may after acomidate him accord- 
ing to their capacity as they se good. Mr. Seleck, Fra. Brown 
and Jonathan Bell are chose to treat, and, if they can, so agree 
with Mr. Rider to teach school in the towne." 

On the 2nd of 2nd mouth, (April) 1671, the town grant to 
Mr. Rider " so much timber of the ould meeting house as may 
build him up a room to the school house of about ten or twelve 
foot square, and in case he doth remove it shall return to the 

Mr. Rider evidently did not suit the town, as the next year 
we find this record: "voted, the towne is not minded to hier 
Mr. Rider any more." At the same time the following vote 
shows how careful the town authorities were to see that the 
school master was paid for his services. " By vote, the town 
inioyne all the children that went to anny other scoole this last 
yeare, except only such that went only to larn to knitt or sowe, 
shall paye their proper filers, (fares) to the scoole master." 

The above records, a literal transcript of the original, are 
themselves a very good exponent of , the rude provisions made 
for the town school of that day. There seems to have been, as 
yet, only a single public school ; and from the urcceding record, 


the town was apparently accommodated by a room of ten or 
twelve feet square. This pioneer school room, for it could 
hardly be called a house, stood probably not far from where the 
old square school house of the first district in Stamford has so 
long stood, on the corner of Bank and Atlantic streets, a little 
to the east of the last one built there, now used as a dwelling 
house. Here were laid the foundations of whatever education 
the first two generations of the Stamford children received. 

At this day we can have no adequate conception of the ex- 
treme difficulty attending those early educational measures. So 
completely were the energies and resources of the settlers taxed 
to supply their physical wants, that we could hardly blame 
them for neglecting altogether those of their intellectual and 
social natures. And yet there was among them so clear a dis- 
cernment of the need and worth of education, that no pains were 
spared to secure it for their children. Every one of those to 
whom would soon be entrusted the entire control of the new 
community here formed, must at least be so far taught as to 
learn " to read perfectly the English tongue," and write a legi- 
ble hand. The civil magistrate was to make it his first concern 
to see that this result was reached. 

Once, at least, each year, should he personally visit every 
family suspected of neglecting this duty, to call him to account. 
If no application should be made for the teacher's post, he was 
authorized to appoint some one, in whose competency he had 
confidence, and forthwith summon him to this work. And why 
should not some officer be required to " attend this duty of the 
town?" Was not every citizen liable to be called upon to 
serve the town in other departments of the public service, and 
was not the refusal to respond a finable offijnse ? Why, then, 
should this, the most important of all the public interests be 
neglecte'd, when citizens could be found competent to attend to 
them ? Accordingly we find our highest civil dignitary making 
annual arrangements for the education of the young — teaching 
them himself at his own house, requiring some competent citi- 


zen, to arrange for the same needed service at his liome ; next 
engaging some applicant to perform this duty in the " scoole" 
house, built for tlie " better entertainment" of " scoUers" on the 
corner of the town plat; and finally, as was his duty, when it 
came to be a necessity, choosing some one from some other pur- 
suit, and requiring him, for a season, to serve the town as its 
official teacher. Such a summons, I think, must have been 
issued in 1680 to Stephen Bishop, probably a son of the pastor; 
and at the end of the year, the town, unwilling to impose exces- 
sive labors upon its officials, grant him a release from the ser- 

Thus the education of the young was managed by the town 
for about a century from its settlement. The first and second 
school rooms of course had to give way to larger, as the town 
increased, and by 1690, in September, we find on record a vote 
to build a new house. The old school house, which had been 
built of the remains of the old meeting house, and must there- 
fore have been a much nobler structure and of nicer finish than 
the old rude germ of riven logs, and plank covering, which it 
had succeeded, was " by outcry" sold to the same Steven Bish- 
op who had once, at least, been its acknowledged master. It 
may show us the times, at least thus much, to report the value 
of the sale, "twenty shillings and sixpence," but we must also 
report that the town reserved for their own use " ye dore hings 
and flores." It ought, perhaps, also to be added that the 
school house, now sold, had been quite recently improved bj' 
the addition of a stone chimney, a luxury which liad doubtless 
been denied the home-warmed children in their home-made 
clothes, down to 1685. 

The progress ol the town had now become such that the one 
school house was thought to be too small for their accommoda- 
tion ; and the people at a distance from the center were begin- 
ning to feel the need of schools nearer to their own homes. 
Little schools were held for a few weeks at a time in two or 
three localities distant from the center. Temporary schools, 
also, sprung up to minister to some local want for some pecu" 

EDUCATIOX. .14o class of pupils; and it became a question what school or 
schools should receive the sanction or support of the public, at 
the public expense. 

So, in 1702, the town were called in midsummer to settle this 
question. They vote as follows : " ye town doth say that they 
doth accept ye present scoole kept by ye person, (Samuel Holly 
then town clerk,) to teach to reade English and to write and 
arrithniitick — is a scoole according to lawe" — the simple mean- 
ing of which probably is, that reading, writing and arithmetic 
were the branches for which the law enabled them to make 
provision ; and so they could sustain Mr. Holly's private school. 
The town meeting arrange also for the following schools, in 
addition to the town school at tjie center. 

•■ Yb towiie (loth give liberty to je people of .ve fast side of uorwou'on 
Kiuer, aiirl ye people ou ye west side side ( f ye mill riuer, to hire a woiiiau 
scoole on boiith sids ye sd riuer; and that ye mony collected in ye cuutry 
Eate shall be distributed to each scoole; yt is to say, to ye three scoolesl 
on in ye middle of ye towne and ye other two above sd, according to ye 
heads in said scoole; and ye Kate to be paid by ye heads yt Goes to sd 

\Xc now have [irovisiou for tliese three schools, but tlie re- 
cords show that even this number was deemed too great, and 
that the muliplication of schools was strenuously opposed. 

As early as ITO'i, we have seen a private school was estab- 
lished, probably to teach higher branches than the town school 
admitted. By the colony law a grammar school had been 
established in Fairfield for this part of the colony, to which the 
advanced pupils of the town had access ; and it was probably 
to fit pupils for this county school or to aid those who could 
not attend it, that the private school had been opened. From 
time to time tlie town testified their approbation of the new 
school, and their confidence in "master Holly," by approjiria- 
tions from the " county fund." 

l^ut it would seem the nati^■c teachers were not specially in 
favor with tlie town. In 1V08, the committee, who were the 
select men of the town, were definitely instructed to hire " a 



Stranger who is not a inhabitant to keep schoole upon Tryall."' 
The support of the schools at this period was raised by a tax of 
40 sliillings on tlie 1000 pounds in the town list, and this was 
to be collected by the school committee when such were ap- 
pointed and at other times by the selectmen ; and if this were 
not sufficient, as in Stamford, it was increased by an assessment 
on scholars. In 1705 this additional assessment the town de- 
clare by vote " shall be paid by the scollars that goes to scoole." 

But a permanent division of the town for school purposes 
took place in 1716; when it was voted in town meeting, that 
" all east of Benj. Hickox and all east of Xoroton river, and 
all west of Mill river, shall have the privilege of their own 
county money lor the encouragement of schools among them- 

In 1722 the town granted to the inhabitants "north of Thos. 
June's and Stephen Bishop's jun." the same privilege as was 
allowed those east of the Noroton and west of the Mill river in 
1716. The next year, however, we find the money divided into 
three parts, to be " E QauU according to the lists ;" but any 
family might send their children to either of the schools by 
paying there his proportion of the money. 

In 1727 the Newfield people, as far north as Nathaniel 
Brown's, and as far south as Nathaniel Holly's, were allowed 
their school money ; and the people on the west of Mill river 
were empowered to divide their money and build a school house 
"between Clement Buxton's and Benj. Green's where they can 
do it with the least damage to the public." 

In 1734, the " Simsbui'y" people down to the Sequest, and 
over the river to "Tanton," are allowed their proportion of the 
school money. 

This year marks a new era in the administration of the 
schools. They are now provided for, not in the town meeting 
as heretofore, but in the ecclesiastical Society meeting. By 
this meeting, orderly warned, Dec. 26, 1734, three committees 
are appointed to take care of the schools ; the first consisting 
of Eliphalet Holly, Mi-. Jona. Maltby, and Ebenezer Weed ; 


the second, of Capt. Jonas Hoyt, Joseph Waterbnry, and 
Nathaniel Weed, and the third of Ensign Knapp, John Pe- 
noyer, and Nathaniel Webb. Though the record assigns 
them no restricted territory over which their respective juris- 
diction is to extend, the names would leave us to assign to the 
first committee the center of the town, between Mill and No- 
roton rivers ; to the second, all east of the Noroton, and to 
the third, all west of the Mill river. 

Two years later three committees are again appointed, when 
the members are located as follows : Thomas Skelding and 
John Holly, middle of the town ; Justice Wheeler, Jona. Cla- 
son and Moses Knapp, over Mill river; and Capt. Jona. Hoyt, 
Nath'l Weed, and Jona. Bell, over the Noroton river. 

In ITSO, the town give permission to " the inhabitants of the 
middle portion of the town to set up a school house on the west 
end of the town house, and the town's committee to stake out 
the place for them." 

In 1744 the Simsbury people were allowed to u?e their part 
of the school money if they choose to do so at home, if not, it 
must go to the people on the west side of Mill river. 

At this time, and for some years later, the school committee 
seem to have been appointed as one body, yet selected doubt- 
less with reference to their residence in the different parts of 
the town. In 174T this committee consisted of Ensign John 
Holly, Sergeant James Bell, Peter Demill, Col. Jona. Hoyt, 
Lieut. David Waterbury, Eb. Scofield, Monmouth Lounsbury, 
Miles Weed, Timothy Curtiss, Benj. Weed, jun., Sergt. Jona. 

Books were in these days a somewhat rare article — and of 
course the day for the general distribution of newspapers had 
not yet come. Bnt that the good people of the state who were 
supposed to be thoroughly instructed in divine law, might also 
have no excuse for remaining ignorant of our human code, the 
laws of the state had been printed for their use, and in the 
town meeting of 1756 we find this vote to secure their distribu- 
tion: "the town asree that the law books shall bo distributed 


into all parts of the town according to their lists of estates, to 
say £1,000 and a little more to a law book." To carry this 
vote into eifect, Col. Jona. Ilait, then, perhaps the most eminent 
man of the town, is appointed to make the distribution. The 
number of books thus furnished for distribution in the town 
was seventy. 

That this work was not very thoroughly done, and that it 
was still felt to be an important measure for the town, we iind 
proof in additional legislation passed in 1761 ; "that Col. Hait 
and Mr. Abraham Davenport shall divide the law books ; viz. : 
law books according to act of assembly, by the first of March 

And, as though the town felt themselves under still lur- 
ther obligations for the enlightenment of the people, they pass 
this additional vote : " that Col. Hait and Mr. Davenport shall 
divide the Confessions of Faith, by the first day of March next, 
on August list, 1760." 

One more vote shows how earnest the town had become in 
this matter of circulating especially legal science among the 
people ; viz. : " that every person that has got any of the law 
books and refuseth to deliver them to the committee appointed 
to divide them, shall incur the penally of twenty shillings, 
lawful money." 

This last record would suggest that this second division of 
the law books was simply a re-distribution of them, so that other 
citizens also could have access to them. And may it not be, 
that thus early we have in this town transaction, the liint of a 
town circulating library. 

In 1772 a committee of whom Abraham Davenport was chair- 
man, was appointed to report at the next annual society's 
meeting, some proper division of the societj' into school districts. 
This report was not recorded, but in 1775 it was voted that 
the school monies raised in the Society shall be delivered to 
committees of the respective districts in sd society according 
to their lists." The process of districting went so far, that the 


same territory whicli in 1710 needed but three districts, had 
been divided into not fewer than twenty-eight, leaving still, 
fragments of other districts, connected with those of the neigh- 
boring towns. 

Stamford, it must be confessed, down to a date quite recent, 
had not been noticeable for any very marked eminence in edu- 
cation. The earlier attention given to this subject by the 
fathers, was certainly creditable to their times. The list of 
professional men, who from the settlement of the town, have 
here exercised their gifts, will compare favorably with that of 
our most advanced New England towns. We have had men 
of eminent ability in every profession. But Irom our compara- 
tive distance and isolation from the educational center of the 
state ; from the somewhat urgent call on our young men to the 
exciting commercial temptations of the national metropolis ; from 
the unfortunate dependence which the last two generations 
came to put upon the generous school fund, which instead of an 
aid and stimulus to the improvement, was too generally accept- 
ed as the sufficient support of our town schools ; and from that 
unrecognized yet prevalent delusion among the wealthy, that 
the expensive education of the few would save a people from 
the reproach of neglecting the many, it followed that the town 
liad educationally fallen behind many of her sister towns, and 
private schools came to be the main dependence of the citizens 
for the education of their children. 

Dr. Dwight, in his Travels, probably did the town no in- 
justice, when near the close of the last century he writes : "both 
religion and education have always been here at a low ebb ; 
yet for many years there have been several good private schools, 
in which, however, children from Xew York are .almost the 
only pupils." 

As, however, the center of the town began to fill up, on the 
opening of the railroad through it, it was soon found that our 
public school at the center, was not doing the proper work of 
such an institution. The accommodations for pupils were nei- 
ther sufficient in extent, nor suitable in character. After con- 


tiuued deliberation over the matter a new graded scliool was 
established in 1S52, in a beautiful, and, as was supposed, ample 
structure at the east end of Broad street. This building was 
erected under the direction of J. D. Warren, Theodore Daven- 
port, and Edwin Bishop. On the burning of this building in 
1866, provision was made for a much ampler and more durable 
structure of brick on the same site. This elegant building was 
dedicated to school uses May 18, 1867. Xo more creditable 
school building has yet been erected for public school uses in 
the state. It is thoroughly finished in the best and latest style, 
and heated by the best steam heating apparatus in use. Its 
capacity is equal to the generous accommodation of eight 
schools of fifty pupils each ; and the space occupied by it ex- 
ceeds that of thirty-two just such structures as the pioneers of 
the town required for the first school house designed for the 
children dwelling on more than forty times the territory tor 
which this provides. 

It was the intention to raise the range of studies in the higher 
department of this school to embrace all those included in the 
regular course preparatory to college ; and a number of stu- 
dents already have been fitted for college. 

The present committee of the district are John D. Ferguson, 
Esq., L. H. Hurlbutt, M. D., and Thomas G. Ritch, Esq. 

The Principals of this central school, thus far, have been : E. 
A. Lawrence, Rev. E. B. Huntington, Henry Balcam, Samuel 
Coburn, "VT. C. Ginn, and Alden P. Beals. 


Among our private school enterprises, none have been more 
successful than that of James Betts, Esq. Mr. Betts is a native 
of Wilton, in this State. He opened a private school in North 
Stamford in 183 8, but soon removed to his present location on 
Strawberry Hill. Here his career, from the first, has been one 
of great success. About five hundred youth have gone from 
this institution either to college or into business. 

Mr. Betts is a deacon in the Congregational church, and ear- 

EDUCATION. ... 351 

iiestly alive to cvorj'thing wliicli promises to promote the wel- 
fare of the town. Though principal of a private school, he 
takes a deep interest in the public schools of the town ; believ- 
ing that the public school should be good enough for the richest 
families, as well as cheap enough for the poorest. 


Another successfnl school of the town is that established in 
1850 on South street, by Richard E. Rice, Esq., a graduate of 
Yale in 18.39. He was born in Saybrook, Conn., Feb. 8, 1810, 
and after his graduation, spent some three years in mercantile 
pursuits at the south, and subsequently located liimself in 
Stamford, as above. Wiiile here he was chosen deacon in the 
Congregational church. His liealth giving way, he sold liis 
school to Wallace C. Willcox, of St. Louis, Mo. Mr. Willcox 
is also a graduate of Yale college, and a native of New Haven. 
ITnder his vigorous management the school lias greatly pros- 
pered. Like his predecessor, Mr. Willcox was chosen deacon 
in the Congregational chui-ch. 

GEO. B. ulendining'.; school. 

Another school, which for several years been well patron- 
ized, both by attendance Irom the town, and by boarding 
pupils, is that of Geo. B. Glendixing, Esq., on the corner of 
Washington avenue and North street. Mr. Glendining is an 
English gentleman, educated at Oxford. He was engaged for 
yeai-s in a successful school in Troy, N. Y. ; afterwards in Sey- 
mour, Conn. : and since 1853, in Stamford. The demand for 
admission into his school, has for several years exceeded its ac- 
commodation for pupils. 

miss anna weed's scuool. 

This excellent school was commenced in 185-4 and has con- 
tinued to merit and receive the confidence of its patrons. Its 
average number of pupils is about thirty. 

MISS aiken's young ladies' seminary. 

This institution was opened in the fall of 1855, in the com-- 


modious boarding house, on Henry street. From tlie first it 
has won a good name for the thoroughness of its instrucuction 
in all the essentials to a complete school education. In 1862 it 
was removed to Clark's Hill where under the efficient adminis- 
tration of Miss AiKEX, who has now associated with her, Mrs. 
Williams in the bo.arding department, the school has assumed 
the character of a permanent and flourishing institution. In all 
the qualities of an excellent young ladies seminary, very few in 
the country can surpass it. 


This flourishing school for misses was opened in 1862 by Miss 
Kate Scofield, eldest daughter of Edwin Scofield, jr., so long 
our Town Clerk. Since then the school has greatly increased, 
and Miss Scofield has r.ssociated with her her sister Emma, 
under whose joint supervision it is becoming one of our most 
successful schools. 

Clark's hill institute. 

W. C. Gix.v, a graduate of the Wcsleyan university at Mid- 
dletown, Conn., opened this private school for boys, — both day 
and boarding pupils, in 1859. His accommodations are de- 
signed for a school of about twenty-five pupils. 
catholic school. 

In 186:' this school was opened, for the children ol Catholic 
parents, on Meadow street, near the Catholic church. The 
number of children in attendance has been about two humlred, 
under two teachers. 


WAR OF 1812 '15. 

This war began in the vicious claim of England to the service 
of -every subject born within her dominions, however long he 
might have been a resident and citizen of other countries, and 
ended in the effective denial, both on land and on the high seas, 
of any such authority over American citizens. Fought out, 
largely, on the sea, the war excited here comparatively little 
local concern or interest. Our records show no public meet- 
ings or action with reference to the war. Probably none was 
needed. Our citizens, however, were called on for such service 
as their position justified ; and they heartily responded to the 
call. The town enrolled men and kept them in readiness for 
service when the needed emergency should come ; and the most 
that our record proposes is to register their names and service. 
My first list is found on the following "muster roll of a com- 
pany of infantry under the command of David Waterbury, 
Capt. in the 37th Regt. of the U. S., commanded by Lieut-Col. 
Aaron Benjamin, from the 31st Oct. when last mustered to the 
31st Dec, 1813." The roll was furnished for use in this History 
by Charles Brown, Esq., son of John Brown, the first lieuten- 
ant on the roll. 

On the back of this muster roll, in very distinct and ambitious 
cliirography, is inscribed, in the captain's hand, " Don't give up 
the Ship." "Lawrence." "David Waterbury." 

David Wfiterbury, Capt. ; Nebemiah Rose, Sergf. ; 

Jiihu Brown, 1st Lieut. ; L<)\vis .Tones Corp. ; 

Hfinry Hoyt, Sad Lieut. ; Wm. Joues, Corp. ; 

Samuel Keeler, 3rd Lieut. ; James Sandford, Drummer ; 

Samuel Keeler, jr., Ensign ; Nathan Champlin, Drummer ; 
Alanson Holly, Sergt. ; 



Davifl Browu, 
Wm. H. Buel, 
Elisba Crab, 
Ebenezer Dennis, 
John Dean, 
John A. Dickens, 
James Forbes, 
Sbadrack Ferris, 
Lysander Fancher, 
George A. Fox, 
Charles French, 
Ch rles Gill, 
Warieu Hucbins, 
Joel Hoyt, 


Daniel Johnson, 
Reuben Knapp, 
John Larkin, 
Moses Mounlcalm, 
Benjamin Odle, 
Harry Provost, 
Isaiah Eogers, 
Charles Eowlson, 
Amos Stickland, 
William Stevens, 
J. W. Sballenburg, 
Selleck Scofield, 
Oliver J. Smith, 
David Tucker, 
Samuel K. Weeks, 
Isaac Wilmoth. 

Our second list is that found on the foUowino; muster roll, 
now in the Controller's Office in Hartford. It is the roll of 
Captain Elijah Reed's Company in the 3ith Regt., commanded 
by Nehemiah Lockwood, and bearing date Sept. 8-13, 1813 
It has on it the following minute, probably in the handwriting 
of the Captain : 

"The enemy appjariu:; bojtile in tlie Sound by tha verbal orJer of Ne- 
hemiah Lockwood, Esq., Lieut.-Col. comt, I called the Company into 
service on the 8th of Sept., 1813 a'ld oa the 13th, by his verbal ordjr dis- 
missed them." 
Elijah Keod, dipt. ; 
Jas. Clock, Lieut. ; 
Ralph Hoyt, Ens ; 
Selleck Weed, 1st Sergt. : 
John Street, 2ud Sergt. ; 
Abr. Tibbet, 3rd Sergt. ; 
David Camp, 4th Sergt. ; 
Holly Bell, 1st Corp. ; 
Roswell Reed, 2nd Corp. ; 
Jacob Warden, 3id Corp. ; 
Isaac Bishop, 4th Corp. ; 
Geo. Wfed, 
Isaac Warren, 
Seely Slason, 
Isaac Bouton, 
Chas., Rrown, 
Lewis Waterbury, 
Scudder Weed, 
Clias. Weed, 
Lyman Seely, 
Henry Smith, 
John M. Nash, 
Raymond Mather, 

Fn-d. Smith, 
David Scofield, 
Nathan Nash, 
Samuel Street, 
Leander Hoyt, 
Ezra Hoyt , 
David How, 
Jas. B. Weed, 
Waller B. Hoyt, 
Marza Scribner. 
David Weed, 
Joseph Wood, 
Jacob Little, 
Chatman Smith, 
Andrew Bixbee, 
Samuel Holden, 
Benj. Little, 
Jonas Weed, 

David Holly, drummer, not on duty ; 
Joseph Scofield, absent ; 
Tcter Stevens, appeared, but excused 

for ill health ; 
Alvab Scofield, not called on ; 

WAE OF 1812. 355 

Isaiic Weed, Samuel Waterburj-, lived remote ; 

Heury Weed Thos. Robertson, not called on ; 

John L. Webb, John A. Scofield, not called ou. 
Hervey Waterbury, 

Our third list is that of the eoinpany in command of Captain 
Peter Smith, then lieutenant. The following roll is now in the 
Controller's Office in Hartford. It is headed with this minute, 

•'Co. 3, commanded by Peter Smith, lieuteuaut, Col. Samuel Deau'a 
regiment, September 8-12, 1813." 

The company was called out on the appearance of a hostile 
fleet, and was stationed for four days on Shippan Point. They 
were allowed twenty cents a day by the government — the lieu- 
tenant, commanding, having received sixty cents a day. 

Isaac Knapp, Sergt. ; Isaac Nichols, 

Jas. Webb, Sergt. ; Wm. Waterbury, 6th, 

John Selleck, Sergt. ; John Hanchaw, 

Luther Knapp, Sergt. ; Wm. W. Scofield, 

Chas. S. Gaylor, Corp. ; Jas. Hoyt. jr., 

Andrew Webb, Corp. ;; Josiah Austen, 

Elisha Hawley, Corp. '; Alanson Provost; 

Darius Lockwood, Drummer ; Epenetus Scofield, 

Lewis Lockwood, Fifer ; Aunanias Hoyt, 

Isaac Ferris, Wm. Scofield, jr., 

Solomon Garnsey, Eber Smith, 

John Andrews, Drake Studwell, 

Moses W. Smith, Jas. Smith, jr., 

Smith Knapp, Elisha Scofield, 

Benj. Hoyt, jr., Gilbert E. Waterbury. 
Xhos. Weeks, 

The following are still other names of our townsmen who 
were in the service. Their names have been collected from 
various sources, such as seemed entitled to credit. 

John Billings, who is still liviug on Harvey Scofield at New London, in 

Longridge, was at New London. 1812. 

John Dan and Jonathan Dan, were Samuel Sherwood, at New London. 

also at New London. John Sherwood, son of Matthew, was 

Keuben Dibble, son of John, was for in Canada. 

tvpenty-three months a prisoner in John Burgess. 

the famous Dartmoor prison. Elisha Leeds. 

Stephen Haight, of North Stamford, Noah Lockwood. 

then living in New York, was in Solomon Scofield. 

regular service. Ezra Stevens. 

Alanson Holly, enlisted and served. Lewis Waterbury. 
Amasa Lounsbury was in the navy. Sylvanus Meed. 
William W. Lounsbury was taken James Sniffin. 

prisoner at New Orleans, iu 1812. James Weed. 


Tyler Mead was in service at Saratoga. Scudder Weed. 

Squire Palmer was sergeant at New Henry Sniffln. 

London. Silas Weed. 

Samuel Provost was pensioned fjr Bufus Weed. 

Among the natives of Stamford who rendered good service 
during this war was also Nathaniel Weed, Esq., now of 
Darien. At the opening of the war he had just become well 
established in business ; but at the call of the government he 
consented to accept a captaincy in the army. At the close of 
the war he had reached the rank of colonel, and won a good 
name for his uniform promptness and efficiency at every post. 
(See later biography.) Harvey Weed, brother of Nathaniel, 
was also in service in this war. He was a lieutenant and was 
appointed paymaster. Like his brother, he was living in New 
York. He is now residing in Newburg, N. Y. 

Captain William Skiddy, now an honored resident here, was 
an active participant in the naval struggles of the war. At its 
opening, he was before the mast. He was midshipman on 
board the Hornet, captain Nicholas Biddle, in the successful 
fight with the Penguin ; and the following graphic account from 
his journal will be of sufficient historical interest for insertion 
here. It has never before been printed. The squadron in which 
the Hornet sailed consisted of the President, Hornet, Peacock, 
Tom-Bowline, and a private armed merchant brig. 

"The chips were prepared for sea by the middle of December (1814) 
but were so closely watched by a much larger squadron in the ofling, 
New York harbor that no opportunity presented of sailing until the 13th 
of the following January ; when all the ships except the President, suc- 
ceeded in getting to sea with orders to rendezvous at the island of Tristan 
d'Acanha, on the coast of South America, and there await the order of the 

We will now leave the journal to tell its own story. 

" Nothing material took place until the 15th of March, when we arrived 
oflf Tristian d'Acunha, in latitude 37 south, and longitude 11 west. Our first 
lieutenant, D. Conner, had just landed, when the signal was made to re- 
turn, there being a strange sail in sight bearing down for us. We hove to, 

AVAR OF 1812. 35/ 

iiud were getting dinuer (it was duff day), while she was runuiug down. 
The " duff" was hardly swallowed, when the drum beat to quarters ; this 
required but a few minutes, and all was ready for action, every eye watch- 
ing the stranger. He soon luffed to on our weather quarter, about pistol 
shot off, hoisted the British flag, and gave us a gun ; this we did not no- 
tice, waiting for him to shoot ahead more. 

He now gave us the first broadside, and as soon as the guus flashed, ours 
were in operation, and in five minutes I perceived the blood running from 
his scuppers a stream, and as he almost stopped firing, our little captain 
ordered us to cease. The enemy thinking we were disabled, renewed his 
tire, and, of course, we soon convinced him of his mistake. He then, as a 
dast alternative, ran his bowsprit between our main and mizen masts, with 
the intention of carrying us by boarding. I was stationed with the first 
lieutenant in the third division on the quarter deck, (three after gnus each 
side), and was now commanding this division, the first lieutenant having 
been severely wounded at the commencement and carried below. The jib 
halyards being shot away, the fore-tack was hauled down to veer the ship. 
The enemy was now fast of us, and all hands called to repel boarders. We 
were then hand to hand, and the enemy soon driven back. We were now 
on the enemy's bows, and it required all the exertions of our captain and 
officers to prevent our men from boarding them ; had they gone, the enemy 
would have suffered very much. Their men were now (heaving the cry 
for us to board,) running below, and left their first lieutenant, McDonald, 
alone on the forecastle. Many muskets were levelled at him, but were 
prevented b}' our officers from firing on so brave a mau. He then asked 
our leader, the second lieutenant. Lieutenant Newton, the name of the 
ship, and was answered, 'U. S. sloop Hornet,' when he waived his sword 
and walked aft. 

Our ship in shooting ahead, carried away his bowsprit, tore away all our 
mizzen rigging, and the enemy lay across our stern. Our captain was 
standing on the arm-chest aft, speaking to them, when their foremast fell 
along the lee waist. The marines in the fore-top clung with their muskets 
to the rigging as the mast fell, and as soon as down, jumped forward, fired, 
and wounded our captain, the ball passing through his neck. They under- 
took to rakes us with their bow guns, then opposite our stern. I was stand- 
ing in one of the stern ports (being open), looking directly at them, and 
only about twelve feet off. We were then all hands aft to prevent their 
boarding, and certainly expected to see many of us fall at_that fire. Had 
those guns been well directed, many of us must have been killed, but for- 
tunately at that very moment the sea lifted our ship's stern, and the balls 
went under the counter in the water. 

Our ship now came round on the other tack, [port] and 1 played my di- 


visiou of guus iuto them, raking them fore and aft. They again cried 
quarter, and our captain ordered me to cease firing. 

She proved to be H. B. M. sloop-of-war Penguin, Captain Dickinson, 
who \va.s killed during the action, by a ball through the heart. She mounted 
nineteen guns,— sixteen thirty-two pounders, two long nines, and one 
twelve pounder on the forecastle. They reported fifteen men killed, and 
twenty-eight wounded, They had a number of men on board from the 
Med«ay, seventy-four, and was sent expressly to cruise for the young 
Wasp privateer. We made out by the rolls on board of her, twenty-five 
killed, and several of those wounded died. 

The Hornet was the same length, one foot less beam. The size and 
number of guus, except the twelve pounder on her iorecastle. We had 
one man killed, and eleven wounded, and all in the after division — my div- 
ision. The poor fellow that we killed, was a six-foot marine that was firing 
over my head, and the first I perceived was his brains on my shoes ; and 
in turning, I observed the top of his skull taken off by a ball. As he was 
much in the way, I shoved him through one of the ports overboard. 

The first lieutenant was also wounded, standing by me. I carried him 
out of the way of the guus, and had him sent below. 

The most painful was the heart-sickening sight after the fight, of all 
those poor fellows who, only a few minutes ago, were well and joyful, now 
mangled by different kinds of balls and splinters. Groans were heaid 
from all quarters. We were now employed getting the prisoners on board, 
unbedding and bending sails, repairing rigging, and replacing, soou as pos- 
sible, all dam.iges. This called us from the dying groans of the wounded. 
The surgeons were all employed amputating limbs and dressing wounds. 
The prize taken iu tow, and night visited the dismal scene. Several died 
during the night, and were committed to the deep without any ceremony, 
and the captain, Dickinson, was buried the day after with the honors of 
war ; his own officers and marines officiating. 

Penguin's number of men 158 

Hornet's " " 130 

Difference in men '...... 28 

In addition lo the above account, we have only to add that a 
number of our townsmen during this " war of the sea," laid 
the foundation of their fortunes in privateering. How many 
of them were thus favored, and to what extent their fortunes 
were increased, we are without records to show. 



MoEN or MoEXE, Jacob, is the first member of the medical 
profession whose professional title I have found on our records. 

The first record in which tiais name occurs, bears date Mar. 
4, 1701-2. In regular town meetings, "by voat ye town do 
grant to Mr. Jacob Monen, chirgaim, (chirurgeon,) that pecse 
of land in Rocky neck which ye town had of Stephen Bishop 
upon exchange, for his incouragement to build on upon con- 
ditions that he settle among us." 

Another bears date Oct. 6, 1707. In it, Jacob Moon sells 
land to David Smith, and the " Majesties' justice," Samuel Peck, 
before whom he witnessed the sale, calls him Doctor Jacob 
Moene. I find an earlier record in which Jacob Moon and Mrs. 
Abigail Selleck were recorded as married Jan. 11, 1704-5; and 
subsequently several children are recorded to them. On the 
10th of October, 1707, Dr. Jacob Moen, chirurgeon, desiring to 
remove to New York, acknowledges receipt from John Gold, 
jun., on account of his father, John Gold, sen., yeoman, one 
gray mare, one quarter of mutton, and twelve pounds of flax. 
This receipt is signed, Doctor Jacob Moenc. This name is 
spelled by the recorder Moon as well as Moen ; and it is sub- 
scribed by the Doctor himself, neither the one or the other, but 
Moene. When he came hither and how he succeeded in his 
profession, we know as little as we do concerning the orthogra- 
phy of his name. 

Dkew, John, is the second name on our records which bears 


this professioual title. He married here, Feb. 4, 1714, Eliza- 
beth, a daughter, probably, of one Joseph Green. Mrs. Drew 
is on record as having died Mar. 25, 1716 ; and of Dr. Drew, 
nothing further appears on record. 

Bishop, Ebexezer, stands third on the medical list. This 
name is found on page 58 of the records of births, marriages 
and deaths. Book Xo. I. The record informs us that Doctor 
Ebenezer Bishop dyed on October ye 4th day, 1743. The same 
, record gives us the death of Thomas, a brother of the doctor ; 
of Mrs. Sarah Jefferey, his sister ; and Sarah, his mother. 

Hubbard, N^athaniel, is our fourth recorded " Doctor ;" and 
the first mention of his name with its professional title, is in 
the year 1748, when he is reported as a member of the school 
committee. It is still remembered by some of our oldsst citi- 
zens that a physician of this name once lived in the house on 
South Street, just north of the residence of John Furguson, Esq. 
It is also remembered that he was spoken of as a man of unusual 
skill in his profession ; that he was a very active and energetic 
man ; that he was remarkably prompt and forcible both in 
speech and act ; and that his unusual force of character and ex- 
pression, together with his inexorable practical applications, 
left the impression that he was a man of unfeeling and cruel 
harshness. He probably is the Nathaniel Hubbard who mar- 
ried, May 18, 1733, Mary Quintard. They had a son, Na- 
thaniel, who was b. Apr. 29, 1745. In 1853 he sells land lying 
on the road to Stanwich. 

On our list of physicians should be found the names of sev- 
eral " ancient" dames of the town, in whose hands for the 
first hundred years probably was the most of the medical 
practice known here. It is hardly probably that they were 
ever matriculated, M. Ds., as this branch of the medical faculty 
was yet to come, nor were they, probably, professionally 
taught the healing art; yet they exercised such gifts and skill 
of healing as came to them when the necessity for such practice 


That the profession was honoi-able in these early days is plain 
from the honorable mention made of it in the records, as wit- 
ness the following : " Mrs. Sarah Bates, a useful and skillful 
midwife, departed this life in Stamford in the evening of the 
eighteenth day of February in the year 1'711-12." 

Pekez Fitch, who graduated at Yale in 1750, stands next on 
the list. He was born in Canterbury, a son of Major James F. 
Fitch and great grandson of Rev. James Fitch, the first minis- 
ter in Norwich. He married here Sept. 4, 1753, Mrs. Martha 
Coggshall ; and they liad children recorded to them ; Martha, 
b. July 20, 1754; William, b. Oct., 10, 1756; Abigail, Mar. 29 
1760; Kate, baptized in 1763; Betsey, b. Oct. 4, 1765, and 
Samuel, b. Aug. 20, 1768. 

Dr. Fitch united with the church here, by letter, Sept. 0, 1759 ; 
and Martha, his wife, July 6, 1760. In 1757, Capt. Perez Fitch 
is ordered to sit in the fore pew in the meeting house, which 
fact sufficiently indicates the social position of the family at 
that date. Dr. Fitch died before 1776; and of course we have 
no citizens now left who have any personal knowledge of him 
oi of his professional standing. We have those still living, 
Jiowever, who remenber to have heard him spoken of as a very 
affable and pleasant gentleman ; as urbane and courtly as his 
competitor. Dr. Hubbard was, forcible and rough. After his 
death his widow married, Aug. 8, 1776, the Hon. Abraham 
Davenport, of this town. 

CoGGSWELL, James, son of the Rev. Dr. James and Alice 
(Fitch) Coggswell, of Windham, Scotland Society. After 
studying medicine, he was settled for a while in Preston ; and 
on the opening of the revolutionary war he was commissioned 
a surgeon. In the practice of his official duties, he was sta- 
tioned in this vicinity, and while the war was going on, he mar- 
ried here, August 8, 1776, Elizabeth, third child of Hon. Abra- 
ham and Elizabeth (Huntington) Davenport. While here he 
seems to have been active, both in the affairs of the church and 
those of the town. On the death of Dr. Welles, in 1776, he 



was appointed on the committee of supply for the church. In 
1779, while the war was still going on, the town voted him 
liberty " to set up a smal! pox hospital at the house of Capt. 
Reuben Scofield, and at such other houses not within one mile 
of the heart of the town, after liberty first obtained of the 
neighborhood ; and all such hospitals to be under the inspection 
ot the selectmen." Dr. Coggswell remained here until after 
the war. His wife died, November 15, 1779, and be married 
the second time. May 18, 1783, Mrs. Abigail Lloyd, by whom 
he had children — James, John, Sarah, and Harriet. He re- 
moved from Stamford to New York city, where he became emi- 
nent both for professional skill and for his unobtrusive yet effec- 
tive piety. His first wife left one daughter, Alice, who became 
the wife of the Eev. Dr. Samuel W. Fisher, of Greenbush, N. 
Y., and the mother of Eev. Dr. Samuel W. Fisher, Pres. of 
Hamilton College. 

HoL'GH, Walter, was stationed here as surgeon during the 
revolutionary war, having his post at the fort on Fort Hill, on 
the lot on which John Clason, Esq., has recently built. He re- 
mained here some years after the war. He married Patty, a 
daughter of Dea. Daniel Lockwood, and lived about a mile 
south of the fort. While here, his son John was born, August 
17, 1783. After the birth of this son, the family removed to 

HuBBAED, Nathaniel, was the son of Henry Hubbard, and 
was born March 4, 1772, in Greenwich, Stanwich Society, a 
short distance west of the Stamford line. After being licensed 
to practice medicine, he located himself first in Greenwich, and 
then for a short time in Carmel, N". Y., and in 1796, he estab- 
lished himself at what has since been known as Hubbard's Cor- 
ner, in the west part of Stamford. He soon became known as 
a successful physician, and his practice rapidly extended. For 
quite a number of years liis business was very great, and his 
health was seriously impaired. His nervous system was so 
much deranged, as to recjuire him to abandon, at length, his 


practice. In the vigor of his manhood he was noted for a re- 
markable memory, and for unusual powers of observation. Our 
records give us a partial report of his marriage. "Dr. Natlian 
iel Hubbard and Mary Hubbard were married by Mr. Piatt 
Buifet, pastor of the church in Stanwich." The imjDortant 
point of such a record, the date, is omitted. The children of 
doctor and Mary, his wife, arc registered as follows : Arch, b. 
in Greenwich, October 14,1798; Henry, b. in Carmel, N. Y., 
August 17,1800; Alexander, b. in Stamford, June .'i, 1804 1 
Mary, b. October 28, 1806; John Wheaton, b. May 26, 1808 ; 
George Mackj\y, b. June 10, 1810 ; Eleanor, b. October 10, 
1812; Sarah Thomas, b. February 17, 1815, Cornelia, U May 

16, 1817; William, b. July 24, 1719; and Francis, b. August 

17, 1821. Dr. Hubbard died in Stamford, June 27, 1855. 
TowxsEXD, Platt, is reported here in 1763. The town as- 
signed land to him, and made over to him an old highway that 
went from the " landing place " to Totomok Point, provided he 
would secure to the town a good road to said landing, through 
his land. He married here, April 26, 1760, ElizabL'th, daugli 
ter, probably, of Xathaniel and Mary Quintard Hubbard, who 
was born here. May 18, 1743 ; and had a daughter, Elizabeth, b. 
April 25, 1763. In 1777, he deeds to Charles Wright, of Hart- 
ford, the Tatomoc bottom lands : three islands in Stamford har- 
bor, near Rocky Neck and Jack's and Grassy islands, near 
Shippan. In this deed he is said to be of Greenwich. 

WiLSox, John, is reported as being a native of the town. 
He commenced practice here about 1760. He was evidently 
much respected in town; and during our revolutionary war 
was one of the most influential ot our citizens. He remained 
here until 1796, when he removed to New York city, where he 
died in 1802. He had four sons. John, who became a physi- 
cian, and was settled in New York city ; Stephen, also a physi- 
cian, of New York city ; James, who was a physician of West- 
chester county ; and Henry, b. October 10, 1763, a physician, 
who settled in Bedford. He had also two daughters — Pbebe, 
b. Septeinber 9, 1765, and Mary. 


After the death of the mother of the above ehildi-eu, he mar- 
ried again, June 16, 1787, Mrs. Elizabeth Holly. Our town re- 
cords, under date December 7, 1784, thus report him tons: 

"Upon application made by Dr. John Wilson, praviug liberty to carry 
on the innoculation of the small pox under proper regulations. Voted, 
That the town grant the above request, and authorize the civil authority 
and selectmen to grant libertj' to said Wilson to carry on iunoculation 
under the direction of said authority, as the law directs." 

WiLSox, John-, je., was with his father iu business here for 
some yeai-s, and then went to New York city. While here, he 
married, August 12, 1778, Lydia Quintard. The births of two 
of his children, are recorded here— John Quintard, b. February 
3, 1781; and Isaac, b. April 22, 1783. He became somewhat 
eminent in the city. 

Smith, Isaac, was here in 1780, and as late as 1789, as phy- 
sician. He was son of Nathaniel and Abigail Smith, and mar- 
ried Abigail "Waring. 

Dakius Kxight, brother of Dr. Jonathan Knight, of Xor- 
walk, was a teacher in this town, and afterwards a practicing 
physician for a couple of years. He was located in Darien. 

James Kxight, sou of Dr. Jonathan Knight, of Norwalk, 
settled here in the practice of medicine, and died soon after 
wards, in 1818. 

Samuel Webb, was born here, March 7, 1760, and was son 
of Col. Charles Webb, who so distinguished himself in our re- 
volutionary war. He graduated at Yale, in 1779, and soon es- 
tablished himself here in the medical profession. He became 
eminent in his profession, and eminent also in civil life. He re- 
presented Stamford in the state legislature several times, and 
was one of the most active citizens in all measures which pro- 
mised the social welfare of the community. 

He had studied medicine with Dr. John Wilson, an eminent 
physician of the town. He married December 15, 1781, Mary, 
a daughter of Dr. Wilson, and by her, had Charles, b. Septem- 
ber 29, 1782, who became a seaman, and died in China; John 


Wilson, born August 3, 1784, who was also a seaman and cap- 
tain, and who died of yellow fever in New Orleans ; Henry 
Wilson, b. November 28, 1786, and became an eminent physi- 
cian in New York ; William, who died in Lima, Pern ; Mary 
and Betsey who died single in Stamford ; Cornelia, who died 
single in Indiana ; Caroline, who became the wife of William 
H. Holly, Esq., and who is still living ; Angeline, and Catherine, 
who married a Morehouse, of Indiana, On the death of his 
first wife, he married a Miss White, of Ballstown, N. Y., and 
had by lier, James A., who was in the whale fishery, hailing 
from Nantucket, and was lost ; Lucy P., who married a Mr: 
Shaw, and now lives in Nova Scotia ; Fanny, who married a 
Mr. Royce, and died in Nova Scotia ; and Elizabeth, now Mrs. 
Thomas, of Sacramento, Cal. Dr. Webb occupied the house 
still known as the " Webb house," on Atlantic street, where 
he died, December 29, 1826. 

WAREEjf Peec'ival, soh of Dr. Percival, of East Haddam, 
where he was born, April 5, 1783. Three of his uncles and 
four of his brothers were physicians. He studied with his uncle 
James, father of the poet Percival, and on being licensed to 
practice medicine, located himself in Middlesex parish, Stam- 
ford. Here he remained until his death in 1851, having prac- 
ticed his profession for forty-six years. He was always a care- 
ful but successful practitioner, and died regretted by all his old 
friends and patrons. In 1809, Dr. Percival married Sarah, a 
daughter of Major David Street, and by her had two children, 
the eldest, a daughter, who married Dr. Chauncey Ayres ; and 
the other, a son, who died in 1S54. Dr. Percival survived both 
his children; but his widow is still living on the old homestead 
in Darion, in 1868. 

Samuel Lockwood, was one of ten children of Ezra and 
Anna (Davis) Lockwood, of Stamford. His parents had moved 
to Watertown where he was born in July, 1787. In 1801, the 
family returned to Stamford. After studying medicine with 
Dr. Elton, of Watertown, he graduated at the New York Med- 


ical College, and soon opened an office here, on the north side 
of Park place, where Mr. Swartwout now lives. His practice be 
came quite extensive, and he at once rose to eminence in his 
profession. He was also much esteemed as a citizen. On re- 
tiring from active business in 1838, he removed to the home- 
stead of his father and grandfather, and built near it the resi- 
dence now occupied by Israel Minor. 

He married Helen Sheddon, a native of Scotland. His chil- 
dren were, Robert, John, William, Ann, Francis, and Helen, 
now Mrs. Phyfie, of Xew York, the only surviving member of 
the family. 

John- Augur came to Xorth Stamford as a teacher, about 
1800, and was successor of Rockwell & Foote. He was a good 
physician, and remained here imtil his death, April 16, 1827, 
aged fifty years. His widow continued to reside in the house 
he left, until her death, in 1865. 

Samuel Beach came to Stamford in 1827. He at once en- 
rolled himself as member of the Congregational Society, and in 
1830 was chosen deacon of the church. He was very active 
in the church, and was a popular man in the communit3^ He 
removed to Bridgeport in 1834, and was one of the victims of 
the Norwalk railroad disaster of May 6, 1853. 

William Turk, about 1805, a choir leader in the Congrega- 
tional church, and was thought skillful in his profession. He 
had been a surgeon in the United States navy, to which he re- 
turned when he left his practice in Stamford. 

Rockwell, was several years in Xorth Stamford, and 

went to New York city. 

Benjamin Rockwell, son of above, became a physician, and 
after practicing with his father, went to New Yoi'k. 

Uriah Turner, an intelligent man and skillful physician 
was here a few years, and went to New York. 

A few other names have appeared, for a brief time, on the list 
of practicing physicians in the town, of which I have been uii- 


able to learn any other facts. Their names have been, Foote 
Banks, Guilds, Tucker, and Close. 

Xathaniel D. Haight, a native of Peekskill, X. Y., gradua- 
ted in medicine at Pittsford, N. Y., in 1825, and came to Stam- 
ford in 1826, settling first at North Stamford, but soon removing 
to the village, where he has had an extensive practice ever 
since. He married in 1824 PhebeDauchy of Ridgefield. They 
have had three children ; Wm. B., now in the drug business in 
Stamford ; Bradford ; and Mary E., wife of Samuel IT. Holmes of 

Chauncey Ayres, bom in Xew Canaan, Aug. 14, 1 808 ; grad- 
uated in medicine at Yale in 1831. He first opened an office in 
Greenwich, and later in New York, but after a few months set- 
tled permanently here in 1834, where he has secured a good 
practice. His first wife was daughter to Dr. Percival, of 
Darien ; and their children were a son, now engineer in the U. 
S. N., and three daughters. His second wife was Mrs. Julia A. 
Simpson, of Brooklyn, N. Y., by whom he has three children. 

Harrison Teller, settled in 1843, in Stamford, and afte.i 
ten year's practice, went fo Brooklyn, N. Y. His wife and 
two daughters were members of the church in North Stamford 
in 1848. 

Samuel Sands has practiced medicine for several years in 
Darien, where he still resides. 

Robert Lockwood, son of Dr. Samuel above, was a native 
of the town. He studied medicine with his father, and took 
his diploma from the New York Medical College. He engaged 
here in tlie practice of medicine, and in the drug business, but 
died at the early age of thirty. 

Lewis Raymond Hurlbutt, is a native of Wilton. He 
graduated at Yale in 1843, was tutor from 1847 to 1850, when 
he received his medical diploma. He came to Stamford in 1852, 
and from the first took a high rank in his profession. He mar- 
ried Matilda, daughter of Augustus R. Moen, of Stamford, and 
has had seven children, 


William H. Trowbridge, son of James H., of Danbury, 
graduated in medicine at Yale in 1835, and located himself 
here in 1851. Excepting the period he was in the service of the 
government as army surgeon he has been in successful practice. 

Joseph Howe, a native of Bedford, N. Y., where he studied 
medicine. He settled in North Stamford in 1853, where he 
died of consumption, after a successful practice of eight years, 
Nov. 2, 1861. He was a worthy christian gentleman, as well as 
a good physician. 

George Huxtixgto^, a graduate of Albany Medical College 
was here a few months, and went to Portage City, Wis. He 
was surgeon in the Union army during the late war. 

George W. Birch, a native of New York city. He studied 
medicine in Brookfield, Conn., and graduated M. D. at Yale in 
1858, and settled first in Reading, and in 1861 came to North 
Stamford, as successor to Dr. Howe. He has this year, (1888) 
removed to the Borough of Stamford and opened his office on 
the corner of Atlantic and Broad Streets. 

Russell Y. Griswold, graduated at Williamstown College in 
1832 and in medicine at Pittsfielcl, Mass. He commenced 
practice in Lanesboro, Mass., and in May, 1859, settled in 

B. Keith, came to Stamford from New York city, where he 
had been for many years a medical practitioner. His specialty 
is in the treatment of chronic diseases. 

Pierre R. Holly, son of Wm. Welles Holly, of Stamford, 
graduated at Yale in 1 852. After a practice of a few years in the 
West Indies, and in Greenwich, Conn., he settled, here, in his 
profession in 1860. 

James H. Hoyt, a native of New Caanan, graduated in medi- 
cine at the College of Physicians and Surgeons, New York and 
practiced in that city one year, and afterwards in Greenwicli. 
He came to Stamford in 1867 and went into partnership with 
Dr. Haight. 



The following embraces all whom I have found accredited to 
Stamford, at any time, as lawyers. Tiie list begins in 1797, 
when the State Register reports the first two on the list. 

Joiix Daven'port, the first child of Hon. Abraham a.nd 
Elizabeth (Huntington) Davenport, was born in Stamford, Jan. 
16, 1752. He graduated at Yale in 1770. His scholarship is 
indicated in his appointment to a tutorship in 1773. Entering 
on the legal profession, he was soon called to take an important 
j)lace among the revolutionary patriots of that day. With a 
major's commission he was employed in commissary depart- 
ment, and his duties here were often onerous and difficult. 
When the patriot cause was suffering for the want of a suitable 
public interest in the welfare of the new nation just ordained by 
the declai-ation of independence, he was appointed by the As- 
sembly of the state as one of a commission to visit the principal 
towns and arouse the people to a just sense of their dangera and 
move them to corresponding exertions. 

On tlie death of his brother James, in 1799, lie was chosen to 
take his place in the national Congress, and held his seat in the 
House of Representatives until 1817, when he declined a re- 
election. He was a member of the Congregational church in 
Stamford, of which he was appointed deacon in 1795. This was 
the office in which his eminent goodness was best shown. He 
was, to his death, an example of earnest, living piety, whose 
fruits were ever manifest in the character of a benevolent, fer- 
vent and exemplary christian. His death occurred Nov. 28 

His wife was Mary Sylvester Welles, daughter of the Rev. 
Dr. Xoah Welles, of Stamford. They were married May 7, 
1780. Their children were, Elizabeth Huntington, who mar- 
ried Julge Peter W. Radcliflte, of Brooklyn, N. Y. ; John 
Alfred, who recently died in New Haven, Conn. ; Mary Welles, 
wlio married James Boorman, Esq., of New York city; Theo- 
dosia, Avho died in her twenty-second year; Theodore, still, 


370 nisTOET OF STAjrroED. 

1868, a deacon in tlie Congregational church of which liis great 
grandfather was so long a pastor; Rebecca Ann, who died 
young; and Matilda, now the wife of Rev. Peter Lockwood, of 
Binghamton, N. Y. 

Joel T. Benedict, son of Rev. Mr. Benedict of Xorth Stam- 
ford, after a short practice of his legal profession became a 

James Stevens, was the youngest child of David and 
Mary (Talmage) Stevens, and was born July 4, 1768, in that 
part of Stamford, Ponus Street, which has since been incorpo- 
rated with the town of Xew Canaan. He became a lawyer, and 
opened an office in his native town, in the village of Stamford. 
He was a man of considerable native talent, and joining heartily 
n the democratic movement, then inaugurated, he won his way 
to a seat in the house of representatives of our national con- 
gress. He was in that famous congress which passed the " Mis- 
souri Compromise," and gave his vote for that measure. He 
represented Stamford thirteen times in the state legislature, 
and was much in public life until his death, which took place 
Apr. 4, 1S35. 

A brief obituarj' of him in tlie Sentinel of that date, says ; 

" Mr. Stevens has been extensively known fis a kind neighbor and friend, 
as a politician of sterling integrity, and as an inflexible advocate of demo- 
cratic principles. He has represented this town in both branches of the 
legislature of this state ; was for some lime a judge of the county court ; 
has been a representative from this state in Ihe congress of the United 

While here he married in 1813, Mary, fourth daughter of 
Thaddeus Hoyt. They had two daughters, Mary H. and Ann 
C. Stevens, both of whom are still living. 

Minor, Simeox H., was son of , of Woodbury, 

where he was born, in 1777. He was descended from that 
Thomas Minor who was born at Chew Magna, England, April 
23, 1603. Came to N"ew England in 1630, and settled in Xew 
London in 1645, where he died in 1690. He was a prominent 
man among; the settlers in eastern Coiniecticut. His familv 


name dates back to about tlio middle ot the fourteenth century, 
when the Third Edward bestowed it upon Henry the Miner, of 
Mendippe Hills, Somersetshire, England, for his prompt effi- 
ciency in furnishing him an escort, as he embarked on that 
fixmous invasion of France, in which he won the battle of Crecy, 
against so great odds. 

John Minor, third son of John, of Xew London, was born 
in 1634, so Cothren, in his History of Woodbury, says, went to 
Stratford, and thence to Woodbury, and was a leading man for 

Simeon II., of Stamford, was probably a great, great grand- 
son of this second John. On being admitted to the bar, he set- 
tled in Stamford in 1831, and spent here the rest of his life. 

He rapidly won a high position at the Fairfield county bar^ 
of which he was a prominent member until his death, August 
2, 1840. The Stamford Advocate, of the same week, pays a 
high tribute to his professional ability. " Possessed of a strong 
mind, and sound legal judgment, no member of the bar com- 
manded a greater share of practice, until his health began to 
fail him, than he. For fourteen years he discharged the office 
of state's attorney." He represented the town in six sessions 
of the legislature, and was judge of probate several years. In 
the discharge of all official duties he was prompt and efficient. 

He married, in Stamford, May 31, 1812, Catherine Lockwood, 
of Greenwich. They liad three children: James Hinman, b. 
November 17, 1813; William Thomas, b. October 3, 1815 ; and 
George Albert, b. June 19, 1817. His wife died, Marcli 29, 

Feedekick ScoFiELD, SOU of Bcujamin, and brother of our 
venerable townsman, Selleck Scofield, was born, August 13, 
1778. He graduated at Yale, in 1801, and entered the legal 
profession, and for a few years had an office here. He subse- 
quently became a teacher in Philadelphia, where he died in 

Wood, Josepu, was a descendant in tlie sixth generation, of 

Jonas Wood, one of the pioneers of the settlement in Stamford. 
Joseph Wood, second, a great grandson of the pioneer, removed 
from Hempsted to Stanwich, where Joseph was born, March 
24, 1119. His father David, son of the above Joseph, second, 
was among the respectable farmers of Stanwich, a man of intel- 
ligence and piety. His mother, Sarah Ingersoll, was noted for 
her cheerful and amiable disposition. 

Brought up on his father's farm, he acquired habits of indus- 
try, and being of an inquisitive turn of mind, he commenced in 
his seventeenth year fitting for college. He graduated at Yale 
in 1801, and devoted himself to the legal profession. His law 
teacher was Judge Chauncy, of New Haven. He was admit- 
ted to the bar of New Haven, when he selected Stamford as the 
field for commencing his professional career. Here lie opened 
an office in 1803, where he continued to practice until 1829. 
During his stay here, he was held in esteem as a good citizen, 
and honorable in his profession. He represented the town in 
the state legislature, and was judge- of probate several years. 

While here, he married. May 10, 1809, Frances, second 
daughter of Chief-Justice Oliver Ellsworth. She was born in 
Windsor, August 31, 1786, and died March U, 1868, in New 
Haven, much revered and loved for her many excellent qualities 
both of her head and heart. Their children, six in number, 
were all born in Stamford. Their residence was the stone 
house, which has recently been transformed into the elegant 
mansion of our enterprising townsman, George A, Hoyt. 

Frances Wolcott, their oldest daughter, was born, March 25, 
1810, and is now the wife of Rev. S. Cowlcs, of Gowanda, 
N. Y. 

Oliver Ellsworth, b. April 14, 1812, resides in New York 
city, where he has for years been well known in business circles. 
George Ingersoll, b. May 20, 1814, graduated in Yale, in 
1833, and is a congregational minister. 

Delia Williams, b. September 20, 1820, is now the wife of 
Prof. C. S. Lyman, of Yale College ; and William Cowper, b. 


November 10, 1822, married Miss Lawrence, of Brooklyn, L. I., 
and is now living at Joliet, 111. 

In 1826, Mr. Wood removed to Bridgeport, thence to New 
York city in 1837, and from this city, in 1841, to New Haven, 
where he spent the remainder of his life. Here he stood among 
the first citizens of the classic city, in intelligence and social 
worth. He joined Dr. Bacon's church in 1843, by a public 
profession of the faith he had long cherished ; and the confi- 
dence he won for his Christian character is best shown by his 
selection to fill a deaconship in that ancient church in 1848. 

After his removal to New Haven, he was appointed judge of 
the county court, in which office he showed eminent qualities as 
jurist. His stern and sterling integrity never forsook him here. 
He was still later chosen to the office of the city clerk. His 
tastes were especially literary. While in New York he had 
edited an agricultural periodical. He had also gathered large- 
ly the materials for a memoir of his father-in-law, but never 
l^ubllshed it. 

He died Nov. 13, 1856, during a session of the literary club 
at the residence of Rev. Pi'es. Day, just after an interesting dis- 
cussion in which he had taken part. 

Benjamin T. Shelton is reported as a practicing lawyers 
hero in 1812. 

Chalres Hawley was born June 15, 1792, in what is now 
the town of Monroe, formerly Huntington, and still earlier 
Stratford. His ancestors were among the early settlers of that 
old town, and both on his father's and mother's side,they were 
among the most respectable and honored of the settlers. Joseph 
Hawley, the progenitor of the family in this country, came to 
Stratford, probably with the pioneers of the town, and for many 
years was a leading man in the new colony. He represented 
the town several times in the state general assembl}^ In his 
will in 1689, he gives to his son Samuel all his "buildings and 
lands in Parwidge, Derbyshire, in old England," indicating thus, 
no doubt, the early English locality of the family. 


On his mother's side, Mr. Hawley was descended from Wil- 
liam Curtiss, another of the prominent settlers of Stratford. 
He also numbered among his Stratford ancestors, Henry De 
Forest, who fled from France on the revocation of the edict of 
Nantes, in 1G5.5, and Richard Booth, the ancestor of another 
honored line. 

Thus Mr. Hawley is found to belong to the best names of 
which our country can boast. From a record of his ancestry, 
gathered by him with much pains and care, we learn the follow- 
ing facts. His great, great grandmother, Bethia Booth, was 
born in 1658, and lived until 1759. At the time of her death, 
her grandson, Milton Hawley, the grandfather of Charles, was 
twenty-four years of age; and at the date ot his death in 1819, 
Charles was twenty-six. Thus it was made possible for Mr. 
Hawley in 1865, to report from the lips, of his grandfather, the 
the story which he had learned from the lips of his grand- 
mother, of events coming under her personal observation, as far 
back as 1665. 

Possibly so rare an opportunity of learning the family story, 
may account for one of the most marked characteristics of Mr. 
Hawley's later years, his strong family aifection. 

Mr. Hawley graduated at Yale college in 1816, and entered 
on the study of law in the Litchfield law school. On being 
admitted to the bar, he established himself in Stamford in 1819. 
From the first, his diligence in business, and his zeal in working, 
won the confidence of the public. That he might fit himself 
locally, for his profession, he made himself early familiar with 
the records and traditions of the town ; and even became so 
much interested in these gleanings for f)rofessional use, as to 
form a plan of the history of the town. But he rose so rapidly 
in his profession that he found himself obliged to abandon this 
attempt ; and so the opportunity of presevering much of the 
matttrial for such a history, wliich then existed, was forever lost 
to the town. 

Giving himself wholly to his jjrofessional work, he soon 


placed himself among the first jurists of the State. From the 
very beginning of his professional career he was thorough, ex- 
act and exhaustive in whatever cause he undertook. Ilis sense 
of right and justice was as keen as his discriminations of false- 
hood and truth ; and this made him one of the most persistent 
and inexorable of advocates. A cause accepted by him became 
a bond on his conscience; and he could do no less than his best 
in its management. 

He was never a politician, yet few men of the age had more 
carefully studied the whole science of government. Witliout 
seeking or wishing office he represented his adopted town in 
seven sessions of the state legislature, and once represented his 
senatorial district .in the state senate. Once, also, he served 
the state as its Lieutenant-Governor. 

But his tastes and aims were pre-eminently professional ; and 
his success and reward, both in professional eminence and in sub- 
stantial wealth, were very great. His estate was one of the largest 
ever gathered in the town, and it was as solid as it was largo. 

Of Mr. Hawley's fine literary tastes almost every plea he 
made for the last half of his professional career; and indeed 
his most ordinary conversation on ordinary topics, gave most 
abundant proofs. His language was exceedingly terse and ex- 
act, rising often under the glow] of earnest feeling, to a high 
degree of strong and fervid eloquence. 

In his religious experience, Mr. Hawley's record is peculiarly 
one of the conscience and heart. Educated early in the faith of 
the Congregational church, to the day of his death he accepted 
and cordially endorsed that faith. Without ever making a pub- 
lic profession of religion, few men have given better evidence of 
the control of religious principles ; and both his lips and his life 
modestl}-, yet unequivocally assured those who knew him best, 
that his was the faith of Jesus. 

Mr. Hawley was married Jan. 28, 1821, by the liev. Jona- 
tiian Judd, rector of St. John's church in Stamford, to Mary S., 
daughter of David Holly, Esq., of Stamford. Their children 


were ; Charles Augustus ; Martha Coggshail, now Mrs. Brant- 
ingham ; Jane De Forest, now Mrs. Windle ; Marianna Clarke, 
now Mrs. Charles W. Brown; Emmeline Smith ; Elizabeth King ; 
Maria Adelaide and Francis Milton. (See list of graduates.) 
With the exceptions of Mrs. Windle, and Maria who is dead 
the family are all now living in Stamford. 

Alfred A. Hollt, son of John Wm. and Rebecca (Welles) 
Holly, of Stamford, graduated at Union college in 1818, was 
admitted to the bar, and began practice here. He soon 
left the profession, and since then has been connected with the 
Stamford and Savings Banks of the town. 

Joiix BissEL, was a student of law in the office of Charles 
Hawley, and after being admitted to the bar, opened an office 
here, but soon went to Xew York city. 

Joshua B. Ferris, a native of Greenwich, graduated at Yale 
in 1823. He commenced life in Stamford as a teacher, and af- 
terwards, when admitted to the bar, opened hero an office. 'He 
has been successful in his profession, taking high rank as an 
advocate among our Connecticut lawyers. He has represented 
the town in the state legislature, and his district in the senate 
He was for years judge of probate and state's attorney. 
He married in 1823, Sally H. daughter of Wra. B. Peters, 
Esq., and grand daughter of Rev. Dr. Peters, of Hebron. 
Their children have been : Harriet, who died young ; Samuel J., 
who was lost at sea ; Isadore W.; Joshua B., who was drowned ; 
Elizabeth J., now Mrs. Wm. R. Fosdick, of Stamford ; Mary, 
L., now wife of Rev. E. O. Flagg, of Xew York; Samuel P. 
now major in the U. S. A. (see Stamford soldier's memorial); 
and Henry J., now in the insurance business in New York. 

MixoR, WiLLi-VM Thomas, LL.D., the second son of Simeon 
H., of this town. See preceding sketch. He graduated at 
Yale, in 1834, and studied law with his father. After being 
admitted to the bar, he commenced practice in his native town 
where he has continued to reside. Ho has always been popular 
at home ; and his townsmen from the first have looked to him 


ruysiciAxs and lawyers. 377 

a^ a loader for them in all local movements for the prosperity of 
the town. lie has represented the town in the state legislature 
seven times; and once, his district, in the state senate. In 1855, 
he was chosen governor of Connecticut, and re-elected the next 
year. He received in 1855 the honorary LL.D. from the Wes- 
leyan University at Middletown. In 1864 he was appointed by 
President Lincoln consul-general to Havana, which office he re- 
signed in 1867. 

He married h'ere, April 16, 1849, Mary C, daugliter of John 
W. Leeds, Esq., of Stamford. They have had five children, of 
wliom only two are now living — a son, Charles W., now in the 
university of Munich, Bavaria, and a daughter. 

On returning to his native town, he was chosen to represent 
the town in the state legislature; and by the legislature he was 
appointed judge of the superior court of the state. 

Hexuy a. Mitcuell, of New Canaan, was here in 1842 and 
1843. He was judge of probate, and went to Bristol, where he 
still resides. 

Jame-; H. (Jlmsted, a native of Kidgefield, came to Stam- 
ford as a teacher and student at law. He was admitted to the 
liar, and located himself here, where he has been successful in 
Ills profession. He married here a daugliter of Col. Lorenzo 
Meeker, and has had four children. 

Francis M. Hawlet, son of the Hon. Charles, a native of 
Stamford, graduated at Trinity College, studied law with his 
fither, was admitted to the bar in 1884, and opened hero a law 

Curtis, Julius B., son of Nicholas Curtis, of Stamford. After 
piacticing in his profession for several years in Greenwich, Ct., 
removed to Stamford, in 1860. 

Child, Calvix G., son of Asa Child, Escj., a native of Nor 
wich, Ct., graduated at Yale, 1855 ; was a practicing lawyer in 
New York city until 1866, when he formed a business partner- 
sliip with J. B. Ferris, Esq., of this place. 



L A T E l: B I O G r.A P H T . 

Ambleb, David, son of Stephen and Deborah Ambler, was 
born m Stamford, April 29, 1739. He spent the first thirty-four 
years of his life in his native town, and won here a good name. 
In 1766 he united with the Congregational church. Our re- 
cords, both church and town, show him to have been an active 
and ciRcient man, and when he removed to Woodbury, he soon 
won for himself there the reputation of a tliorough, practical 
man, and was held in great esteem and honor. He was proba- 
bly a grandson of our Abraham Ambler. He married in 1761, 
Olive A., sister of Rev. Benjamin Wildman, of Suuthbiiry, and 
in 1773, removed to Bethlehem society, then in the town of 
Woodbury, but since incorporated as a separate town. He re- 
presented his adopted town in ten sessions of the state legisla- 
ture. Cothren's History of Woodbury says of him : 

"He bad for a long period the supervision of tlie town affairs in the sec- 
tion where he resided ; was an eiScient magistrate, and during the revolu- 
tion rendered important services to the country, as committee of safety 
and in procuring and forwarding supplies to the army. He died January 
8, 1808." 

His widow moved to Bridgewater, X. Y., where she lived 
many years with her daughter. They had ten children. 

Bell, Thaddeus, was the son of Thaddeus and Mary (Leeds) 
Jiell, and was born in Stamford, March 18, 1758-9. He was 
early brought forward into public lite, and for a period of a half 
contnrv, was one of the most noled men in the town. For eleven 


sessions lie i-epresentcd tlie ,to\vn in the legislature, ami was 
imieli of his life employed in public business, for his town and 
county. But ho is best known as one of the most earnest of 
our revolutionary patriots. The following tribute to his serv- 
ices in that struggle, is from the pen of G. C. Hathorn, Esq., 
late of Williamsburg, who married a daughter of Mr. Bell. 

"Ho was attached to the coast guard during the revolutionary war, and for 
a considerable portion of the time was orderly sergeant in the company to 
which he belonged. He was present on several noted occiis'ons in the war, 
such as the burning of Danbury, he being one of the small number who com- 
pelled the British forces to retreat precipitate ly through Saugaluck, now 
Westport, to Compo, the place of their embarkation. He also participated 
in an attempted defense, on the firing ot Norwalk by the British, and was 
among the number who reinforced the brave Gen. Putmau after his famous 
desceut on horseback of the precipice now known as " Put's Hill." He re- 
membered having seen the holes in the General's hat produeed by a ball 
fired at him in his dariug desceut, and often reiterated the exclamation of 
brave "Old Put" when he in turn became the pursuer, and waving his 
sword shouted, "come on brave boys." He was also, with a number of his 
fellow parishoners, and their venerable pastor. Doctor Mather, taken un- 
armed from the house iu which he was worshiping on the Sabbath by a band 
of tories and British, and conveyed to New York, where he suffered impris- 
onment for upwards of four mouths, among felons of the lowest grade. His 
owQ brother died on his way home, and he himself was so low and emaci- 
ated that he was to walk and had to be carriel to his home and 
family upon a liiter." 

Mr. Bell married hare, May 4, 1780, Elizabeth How. Their 
children were: Hannah, b. September 14, 1781 ; James, b. Oc- 
tober 7, 1783 ; and Sarah, b. May 6, 1787. He died, after a use- 
ful life, in great peace, and with a firm hope, October 31, 1851. 

Bishop, Alfekd, descended from our second minister, Eev. 
John Bishop, was son of William and Susanna (Scofield) Bish. 
op, and was born liere, December 21, 1798. His boyhood was 
noted for nothing more than its quiet and respectful deportment. 
At an early age, he commenced his self-reliant career as a 
teacher in one of our public schools. He taught but a short 
time, when he went into New Jersey with the intention of 
spending his days in farming. While thus employed, he made 
presonal experiments with his pick ax, shovel, and wheelbarrow, 


from which lie accurately estimate^ the (^ost of ivmovintj vai-i- 
ous masses of earth to different distances. la this way he pre- 
pared himself for the great work of his life, as canal and rail- 
road contractor. Among the public works on which he was 
engaged, and which constitute the best monument to his name, 
are the Morris canal, in Xew Jersey; the great bridge over the 
Raritan, at Xew Brunswick ; the Housatonic, Berkshire, Wash- 
ington and Saratoga, Xuugatuck, and the Xew York and Xew 
Haven railroads. 

He removed i'rom Xew Jersey to Bridgeport, Ct., where he 
spent the rest of his life. It is not claiming too much for him 
to say, that this flourishing city owes much to his enterprise 
and public spirit. Mr. Bishop readily inspired confidence in 
his plans for public improvements, and at- his call the largest 
sums were cheerfully supplied. 

But in the very midst of his extensive operations, and while 
forming plans for still greater works, he was suddenly arrested 
by his last sickness. From the first he felt that it would prove 
tatal ; and now, still more than while in health, he displayed 
his remarkable talents in arranging and planning all the details 
of a complicated operation. In the midst of great physical 
suifering, he detailed Avith minuteness the necessary steps for 
closing up all his extensive business engagements, laying out 
the work for his executors, as he would plan the details of an 
ordinary contract for a railroad. lie then, in the same business 
manner, distributed his large estate. One cpiarter of it he dis- 
posed of in gratuities, outside of his own family, partly to his 
more distant relatives, partly to his personal friends who had 
been unfortunate, and partly to strictly benevolent uses. His 
pastor was remembered with a hundred dollars annuity. The 
American Bible Society received $10,000, and the Female Ben- 
evolent Society, of Bridgeport, -S5,000. After thus distributing 
one-fourth of the estate, he entailed the balance upon his wife 
and children. 

Mr. Bishop married Mary, daughter of Ethan Ferris, of Green- 
wich, and had three sons, all born in Xew Jersev. 


Ethan Fcri-is, wlio was educated at Yale, and took his mas- 
er's deo'i'e e at Trinity, took orders in the Episcopal church, 
and has had charge of a parish in Bridgeport, Ct., where he es- 
tablished St. Luke's college for the education of orphans and 
destitute boys. 

William Darius graduated at Yale, 1849, and has once re- 
presented his district in the national congress, and is now pre- 
sident of the New York and New Haven raili-oad ; and Henry, 
who was educated at Trinity college, Hartford, and now lives 
in Bridgeport. The widow, who is now traveling in Europe, 
still occupies the elegant residence built by her husband, on 
Golden Hill, in Bridgeport. 

Davenport, Hex. Abkahah, was born in Stamford, in 1715, 
the eighth child of the Rev. John Davenport, by his second 
wife, Mrs. Elizabeth (Morris) Maltby. He graduated at Yale 
in 1732, and we soon find him at home filling such offices in the 
gift of his townsmen, as the most promising young man of the 
times were allowed to hold. Our town records, from that date 
to the end of his eminent and honored life, arc full of witnesses 
to the esteem with which the people regarded him, and the uni- 
versal trust reposed in him. In the most trying period of our 
history, that of our revolution, he seems to have been the one to 
whom the town looked for counsel and defense. No man has ever 
served the town as one of its selectmen as long as he. He also 
represented the town in the state legislature for twenty-five ses- 
sions, and at several of them Avas clerk of the house. He was 
state senator from 1766 to 1784. He was judge of probate for 
several years, and at his death was judge of the county court. 
He was, also, very active in religion, being a deacon in the Con- 
gregational church from 1759 to 1789. 

In 1776 he and his son John and Thaddeus Burr, were sent 
to the army under Washington,* to assist in '■ arranging it into 
companies and regiments," and to commission the officers ap- 
l)ointed by the assembly for the battalions raised by the state. 
He was likewise empowered to arrest and bring to trial persons 
suspected of irresolution or disloyalty. 


Ill 1777 liL' was one of the committee of safety for tlie state; 
and he was always consultetl by Govenioi- TnimljuU and Gen- 
eral Washington as one of the wisest eounseh^rs in onr most 
trying days. 

He married his first wife, Xovember 16, 1750, Elizabetli 
daughter of Colonel Jabez Huntington, of Windham. Their 
children were : John, whose biographical sketch will appear in 
its place; Abraham, who died in infancy; Elizabeth, wife of 
Dr. Cogswell, whose record is among onr physicians ; James, 
whose sketch will follow in its place ; and Huntington, who 
died in childhood. After the death of his first wife, December 
17, 1773, he married August S, 1776, Mrs. :\Iiirtlia, widow of 
Dr. Perez Fitch, of this town. 

The following is the estimate in which he was held by a man 
as competent to judge as the eminent Dr. Dwight. The testi- 
monial deserves a place in our local history. 

" Col. Davenport was possessed of a vigorous understanding and invinci- 
ble firmness of mind, of integrity and justice unqutstioned, even by bis 
enemies ; of veracity exact in a degree nearly singular ; and of a weight of 
character which for many years decided in this county almost every ques- 
tion to which it was lent. He was early a professor of the christian reli 
pion, and adorned its doctrines by an exemplary conformity to its precepts. 
He was often styled a rough diamond, and the appellation was, perhaps, 
never given with more propriety. His virtues were all of tbe masculine 
kind ; less soft, graceful and alluring tlian his friends wished, but more ex- 
tensively productive of real good to mankind than ihose of almost any 
man who has been distinguished lor gentleness ot character. It would be 
buppy for this or any other country, if the magisiracy should execute its 
laws with the exactness for which be was distinguished. Col. Davenport 
acquired property with diligence, and preserved it with frugality ; and 
heucfi was by many persons supposed to regard it with an improper attach- 
ment. This, however, was a very erroneous opinion. Of what was merely 
ornamental, he was, I think, too regardless ; but the poor found nowhere 
a more liberal benefactor, nor the stranger a more hospitable host. I say 
this from a personal knowledge, acquired liy along-continued and intimate 
acquaintance with him and his family. While ihe war had its principal 
Beat in the state of New York, he took the entire superintendence of the 
sick soldiers, who were returning home ; filled his own bouse with them, 
and devoted to their relief his own time and that of his fiimily, while he 


provuied elsewhere tbe best iiccommoantions for such as he could not re- 
ceive. Iq a season when an expectation of approaohiug scarcity had raised 
the price of breiid corn to an enormous height, he not only sold the produce 
oflf hi.'( own farms to the ponr, at the former customary price, but bought 
corn extensively* and sold this also, as he had sold bis own. His alms wwe 
at the same time rarely rivaled in their extent. 

"Two instances of Col. Davenport's firmness deserved to be mentions d. 
The 19th of May, 1780, was a remarkably dark day. Caudles were ligiited 
in many houses ; tlie birds were .silent, and disappeared ; the fowls retii'ed 
to roost. Tlie legislature was thea in session at Hartford. A very geueral 
opiuiou prevailed that the Day of Judgment was at hand. The house of 
representatives being unable to transact their business, adjourned. A pro- 
posal to adjourn the council was under consideration, when the opinion of 
Col. Davenport was asked. He answered : 

"'lam against an adjournment. The Day of Judgment is either ap- 
proaching, or it is not. If it is not. there is no cause for an adjournment ; 
if it is, I choose to be found doing my duty. I wish, therefore, that can 
dies may be brought.' 

"The other instance took place at Danbury, at the court of common 
pleas, of which he was chief-justice. This venerable man, after he was 
struck with death, heard a considerable part of a trial, gave the charge to 
the jury, and took notice of an article in the testimony which had escaped 
the attention of the counsel on both sides. He then retired from the bench, 
and was soon after found dead in his bed. 

" To his private friends Col. Davenport extended his acts of kindness, 
as if they had been his children. I say this from experience. Of his coun- 
try, and of all its great interests, he was a pillar of granite. Nothing im- 
paired, nothing moved his resolution and firmness, while destined to sup- 
port in his own station this valuable edifice. He died, as he had long 
wished to die, in the immediate performance of his dutj', November 20, 
1789, in the seventy-fourth year of his age." 

Rev. James Davexpokt, was the j-oungei- son of Rev. Jolin 
D.ivonport and his second wife, Mrs. Elizabeth (Morris) 
Maltliy. He was born in Stamford in 1716 and graduated ;it 
Yale in 1732. In 1738 he became pastor of the church in 
Southold, L. I. Here he labored with great acceptance, about 
two years. He was regarded as a man of much promise, warm 
hearted, zealous, sound in doctrine, and faithful to the sacred 
responsibilities of his office. Earnest and impressive, he was 
eniinently fitted to move the masses in anv communitv, and liis 


opening ministry gave promise of great influenee and usefulness. 
Soon after his settlement tlie gifted and earnest Whitfield 
came to this country, and by his impassioned eloquence stirred 
the hearts of all christian believers with new and strong im- 
pulses. Even cold hearted christians were warmed to the earn- 
est fervor of religious zeal. Mr. Davenport could not resist 
those moving appeals. He yielded to the spell of the great pul- 
pit orator, and his enthusiasm know no bounds. He became 
restless under ecclesiastical restraint. He could no lo nger eon- 
tent himself to work on the narrow field of his limited parish. 
He felt himself called to go forth and stir up unfaithlul churches, 
and arouse from their slumbers the masses of the impenitent, 
wlio seemed to him to be on the very verge of ruin. Calling 
his people together, he gave them notica of the new call he had 
received, and after a lengthy and impassioned expostulation 
with them for their worldliness, he turned away, burning with 
a zeal which would brook no hindracce to achieve elsewhere 
readier triumphs in his master's cause. He soon joined the 
Tennents and Whitfield and even incited them to greater fervor 
in their holy work. In Pennsylvania, Xcw Jersey, Xew York, 
Connecticut and Rhode Island, wherever listeners could be 
gathered, and where could they not be found flocking around 
any banner sustained with such gifts and such zeal, this earnest 
apostle labored, in season and out of season, rashly at times, no 
doubt, yet with constant witnesses to his power. Wherever 
he went he was tlironged. Even ministers, who deprecated his 
irregularities, were moved often to admiration of his spirit and 
success. Warm-heai'ted and impulsive men called him "the 
angel of the Lord." Sober-minded and careful men acknowl- 
edged the power they were unable to resist. Abundant testi- 
monies are on record to the triumphs of his eloquent zeal. 
Whitfield, himself, felt rebuked by his heavenly spirit, and the 
ardent Tennent was stimulated by him to inteuser earnestness 
in his self consuming work. His brethren in the ministry every 
where yielded to him the palm for an ardor and efficiency in 
winnins men to Christ, wliich was bcvond their rcacli. Towns 


which had never before been visited with what could have been 
called a revival of religion, were swayed by his impassioned 
plea, as the forest by the winds. Strong men and children 
bowed themselves down together, trembling with terror, or 
melting in tenderness and love. But it was not long before 
Mr. Davenport found that not even his eloquence could plead 
his cause acjainst the fears of his brethren, who were set to 
guard the orthodoxy and the ecclesiastical proprieties of these 
churches. It was rumored that he was becoming intemperate 
in his zeal ; that he was undermining the confidence of the church- 
es in their ordinary means of grace ; that he was sowing broad- 
east, seed moht fruitful of divisions in the chnrches, and apostacies 
from the laith, and of the wildest and most lawless fanaticism. 
Gradually his ministerial brethren began to distrust and de- 
nounce him. In his turn he became censoriaus. If he could 
not preach to the people, he could find occasion to pour his in- 
vective upon their ministers. He could cast contempt upon the 
jirofession of piety which did not approve and aid his plans. 
He could forge his hottest anathema for those who sought to 
moderate his zeal or to limit his influence. 

And the opposition which his erratic career aroused against 
him, went still further. A petition to the governor and assem- 
bly, at Hartford, was sent from the parish of Ripton, in Strat- 
ford, by Joseph Blackleach and Samuel Adams, charging that 
Mr. Davenport had come into their parish between the twenty- 
first and twenty-fifth of May, 1742, and with " one Pomeroy," 
and several " Elet.arate " men, had acted in a strange and inr 
accountable manner, with many expressions unwarranted from 
the word of God; did affright and terrify the people, and put 
tliem into the utmost confusion, contention, hate, and anger 
among themselves. This charge and plea tlie general assembly 
ileemed worthy their notice. They issued a warrant to Samuel 
Talcott, sheriff of Hartford county, to arrest both Davenport 
and Pomeroy, afterwards Dr. Pomeroy, who lor half a century 
was the minister of Hebron, where he had been ordained in 
lV35. A law had just been framed by the assembly, in view of 



the great excitement attending the great revival of 1740, 
against all fanatical excesses and gross irregularities. The as- 
sembly found that Mr. Davenport had been guilty of " great 
disorders." Yet in consequence of some indications of partial 
insanity, by reason of his " enthusiastic impressions " and im- 
pulses," he was dismissed with no further punisliment. They 
also decided that Mr. Pomeroy had done nothing "worthy of 
stripes or death ;" and he, too, was dismissed. 5Ir. Davenport 
continued to labor " in season, out of season," through the rest 
of this and the following year. His feelings, which had been 
his master, gradually yielded to the dictates of his taste and 
judgment, which were constitutionally riglit. In 1746 he was 
regularly dismissed from his charge in Southold, L. I., and soon 
settled in Hopewell, N. J. Here he labored with general satis^ 
faction, until 1755, when death put an end to his somewhat 
checkered but by no means useless life. He had three chil- 
dren : John, who graduated at Princeton in 1769, and became 
a Presbyterian clergyman ; James, and Elizabeth, who married 
a 5Ir. Kelsey, of Princeton. 

Davexport, Hon. James, the fourth child of Hon. Abraham 
and Elizabeth (Huntington) Davenport, was born in Stamford, 
October 12, 1758, and graduated in Yale in 1779. Like his 
father and his elder brother John, he was an earnest patriot, 
and during the revolution was employed in the commissary de- 
partment. His tastes were especiallj' literary ; and though 
much in public life, having been a lawyer by profession, with 
the office of the judge of the court of common pleas, a member 
of the state legislature in both houses, and a member of the 
national congress, he still found time to make himself one of the 
most intelligent men of his times, upon all subjects that received 
the attention of scholars and tliinkers. He was a fellow of Yale 
college from 1793 until his death. The following testimony of 
Dr. Dwight, himself one of the most learned men of the day, is 
worthy a place in tliis tribute to one of the most gifted men of 
the town. 

"_Few persous in tbis country have heea more, or more deservedly' 


esteemed than tUo Hon. James Drvveaport. His miud was of a structure 
almost siflgular. An inferior constitution precluJed him to a considera- 
ble extent, from laborious study, during bis early years ; and, indeed, 
throughout most of his life. Yet au unweraied attention to useful objects, 
a critical observation of everything important which fell under his eye, and 
a strong attachment to intelligent conversation, enabled him by the aid of 
a discernment almost intuitive, to acoumulatrf a rich fund of valuable 
knowledge. With respect to conversation, he was peculiar. The company 
of intelligent pprsons he sought, with the same eagerness and coustaucy, as 
the student his books. Here he always started topics of investigation, titled 
to improve the mind, as well as to please, and in tliis way gathered knowl- 
edge with the industry and success with which the Ijee makers every flijwer 
increase Ih- treasure of its hive. I never knew the value of iiilelligant eon- 
versatiim and the extent of the coutributious, wliich it is capable of furn- 
ishiug to the stock ol public knowledge possessed by an individual, exhibited 
more clearly and decisively, than in lis example. At ihe same time liis 
own couversiition was so ngreeiible. and intelligent, and his manners so en- 
gaging, tbiit his company whs coveted by all his numerous acqu .intaiice. 
His lite, also, was without a stain ; and on his intt-grity, cnrdi.r, nnd jus- 
tice, his couutrymeu placed an absolnte reliance. With these qualific.i- 
tions, it will not be a miitter of wonder, that at an eiirly p- riod of I is life, 
he was employed by the public in an almost continual snccessiion of 
public business : or that he executed every commission of this nature. He 
died in the thirty-ninth year of his age of a paralytic sirok^-, l>rnu«ht 
on by a long continue 1, au I very sev u'e oin-ouic rhi'.a n.itisui. Fa-v persons 
have been more universaily or deeply lameute 1." 

He had raavried May V, 17S0, Abigail Fitch, v.'lio died in 
November, 1782. He married his second wife, November 6, 
1790, Mehitabel Coggshall. The only child of his first wife, 
Betsey Coggshall, became the wife of Charles W. Aphthorp, of 
Boston. By his second wife he bad three children : Abigail 
Fitch, born November 18, 1791, wlio was the wife of that gifted 
pulpit orator, Rev. Philip Melancthon Whelpley, the pastor of 
the first Presbyterian church in New York city ; Mary Anne, 
born November 16, 179-3, the wife ot the accomplished scholar 
and Cliristian minister, Rev. Matthias Bruen, of the Bleecker 
street church. New York city ; and Frances Louisa, born Nov- 
ember 10, 1795, the wife of that eminent preacher and theolo- 
gian, the Rev. Dr. Thomas H. Skinner, of New York. 

He died AugiTst 3, 1799. 


Ebesezer Dibble, who became tliQ principal pioneer in the 
Episcopal movement here, I have supposed to be the son of 
Zachariah and Sarah (Clements) Dibble. If so, he was born 
July 18, 1706. He graduated at Yale in 1734, and the same 
year was licensed to preach by the Fairfield East Association. 

We hear nothing further of him,— except that the First Soci- 
ety, of Stamford, passed a special, and apparently an exception- 
al vote, in 1741, giving him a vote in Society meeting — until 
we find him seeking orders in the Episcopal church. This ap- 
jjears in 1740, in a letter of Dr. Johnson, of Stratford, who 
writes, " I have heretofore desired leave for Messrs. Dibble and 
Learning to go for orders." But the next year, in a letter to 
the Bishop of London, after stating that he is alone in the min- 
istry on the seacoast, for a distance of a hundred miles, and that 
his burden is insupportable, he complains that no leave has yet 
been granted to any to go home for orders, " though there are 
five or six valuable candidates." 

Ljider date of December 27, 1747, the secretar\- of the Soci- 
ety grants liberty for Mr. Dibble to go home for holy orders, 
and to take charge of our (Stamford) church, with that of Xor- 
walk;" the conditions being " that Stamford should pay ten 
pounds sterling annually for his support ; and Xorwalk should 
give security for twenty pounds more, with the actual posses- 
sion of their glebe." 

In the letter which gives us these items of intelligence, dated 
April 26, 1748, the churchwardens of Stamford urge their plea 
for the entire services of Mr. Dibble, on the ground that they 
appreciate his labors more highly than the Norwalk people, be- 
cause he had already read service " among us steadily for two 
years and a half," and because " we have great esteem and re- 
gard " for him. They add, using their own italics, " we shall 
be very much gratified if we can obtain from the venerable so- 
ciety's great charity, his being appointed their missionary for 
otcr church." Again in this letter they say, " our people, from 
a heartv affection to Mr. Dibble, resolved cheorfiillv to under- 


take the expense of his voyage, and we have etfectually secured 
the payment of twenty pounds sterling per annum to the soci- 
ety's missionary, accoi-ding to our bond in Mr. Dibble's hand, 
and promise hereby to put him in possession of our glebe, which 
is better than that of Norwalk." If, however, the society 
should still think it better to keep the two parishes united 
under Mr. Dibble's care, they gracefully add, " we humbly sub- 
mit, and shall be heartily thankful for any share in Mr. Dibble's 

Mr. Dibble reached Stamford , October 25, 1748, after having 
taken orders in England. In his first report to the secretary of 
the society, November It, 1748, he mentions the cordial recep- 
tion he met with on his return home. He speaks also of the 
offense which his course had given the Xorwalk people, allu- 
ding probably to his unwillingness to accept the united charge 
of the two parishes. 

Of Mr. Dibble's laborious service in his profession, we have 
abundant proof in his reports to the society. His zeal and labors 
must have been quite apostolic, extending to Norwalk, Ridge- 
field, and on the " oblong" between New York and Connecticut 
twenty or thirty miles," at the same time, faithfully ministering 
to the spiritual wants of his own parish. 

In 1752 he received a call to the parishes in Newtown and 
Reading, with a larger salary than he was getting here. This 
call he i-efused. A similar call came, also, in 1760, from Rye, 
but could not tempt him to leave the Stamford parish. 

On the opening of the revolution Mr. Dibble, as a matter of 
course, opposed the revolutionary move. As early as October 
18, 1768, we find him in one of his reports to the society using 
this language : 

" With pleasure I can inform the venerable board, of the peaceable, 
flourishing, increasing state of my parish, and of their firm attachment to 
our happy constitution, both in church and state, nothwithstanding party 
rage never ran higher ; and under the specious pretence of civil and reli- 
gious liberty, every art is used to throw us into all imaginable confusion, 
and to prejudice his majesty's subjects against the conduct of the govern- 


ment in being, and our religious constitution in particular. We hope in 
God for better times." 

His position in 1775, on the opening of actual hostilities, is 
thus shown in another letter, of the 5th of April, of that year. 

"We view with the deepest anxiety, affliction and concern, the great dan- 
gers we are in by reason of our unhappy divisions, aud the amazing height 
to which the unfortunate dispute b'jtween Great Britain and these remote 
provinces bath arisen, the baneful influence it hath upon the interest of 
true religion, and the well-being of the church. Our duty as miuisters is 
nosv attended with peculiar difficulty — faithfully to discharge tbe duties of 
our office, and yet carefully to avoid taking p irt in theje political disputes, 
as I trust my breihreu in this colony have done, as much as possible, not- 
withstanding any representation to our prejudice, to the contrary." 

While thus opposing the revolution with conscientious earn- 
estness, i find no evidence that lie was ever seriously endangered 
in his person and family, by what, he still spoke of as an unjus- 
tifiable rebellion. His personal popularity was probably his 
defense. Mr. Seabury, who afterwards b3cani2 bishop, in 
speaking of the Episcopal clergy of Connecticut says : " 1 be- 
lieve they are all, either carried away from their cures, or con- 
fined to their houses, except Mr. Dibble, who is gone to Sharon 
to be inoculated for the small po.\-, — possibly hoping thereby to 
enjoy a few weeks respite from persecution." However it may 
have been during the war, at its close he came forward and care- 
fully acknowledged his allegiance to the new government and re- 
mained until his death a faithful churchman, and a successful 
and popular minister. 

Testimonials to the gentlemanly bearing and christian 
character of Mr. Dibble are abundant. He was held in very 
high esteem by Christian people of every denomination. One 
of the lay patrons of the Episcopal Church who spent large 
sums of money and devoted much time to the welfare of the 
church he loved, who had made a tour of the churches with him 
in 1762, bears witness to the unwearied and unceasing labors 
in which he endeavored "to serve the interest of true religion 
and our holy church: — whose services I find universally accept- 
able, and his life agreeable to his public character." 


The following record, on the monument in St. John's Church, 
is a just tribute to the worth of this successful minister of 
Christ : 

" As a missionary of the ' Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in 
Foreign Parts,' he tiitered upon the duties of his sacred office October 16, 
17i8, and continued to discliarge them in this capacity, with great fidelity 
and zeal until the close of the revolutionary war. Subsequently to this 
period he fulfilled his duties uneonneoted with the society in England until 
1799 when he died full of years, in peace with God and charity with mau- 
reotor of St. John's parish 51 years. 

He became endeared to all by his uu-wavering devotion to their best in- 
terests, his holy life, unremitted zeal in the name of Christ and his 

Of the family of Dr. Dibble I have found on record only the 
following: A gift of land to Dr. Dibble in 1752, for his wife, 
Joanna Irom Jonathan Bates, calls her " my loving daughter," 
thus preserving for us her parentage. The only children re- 
corded to them, which I have been able to find, are : Ebenezer, 
born December 19, ITSY; Joannah, born June 15, 1739; Fyler, 
born January 18, 1741; and Frederick, born in 1753., Kev. Hexey, was born August 11, 1789, in Ver- 
shire, Vt. He graduated at Middlebury college in 1812, and 
studied theology with Dr. Asa Burton, a somewhat famous 
theological teacher of Thetford, Vt. He was ordained to the 
work of the ministry, as pastor of the united churches of Smith- 
town and Freshpond, L. I., October 23, 1816. He was next in- 
stalled pastor of the Congregational church in North Stamford, 
June 6, 1821, where he continued until January 23, 1844. He 
was a very acceptable preacher and pastor while here. After 
his dismission, he removed to Huntington, L. I., in 1845, where 
he resided until his death, September 2, 1867. 

Of his children the oldest, Amanda, born in Smithtown, 
died in North Stamford, at the age of twenty-three years. The 
other children were born in North Stamford. They were : Wil- 
liam Henry, Hannah Maria, Edward Thurston, who died in in- 
fancy, and Edward Thurston. The latter graduated at Yale 
coUeije in 1857, and died while a member of the Princeton the- 


ological seminary, Xovcmljcr 7, 1859, at t'n-cnt3--four years of 

Gay, Royal Leavexs, was a native of Staiford, Conn., where 
lie was born, Xovember 4,1780. He came to Stamford in 1811, 
and settled on Shippan. His intelligence and practical tact 
and strong good sense soon won the confidence of the citi- 
zens, and almost from the first he was entrusted with their 
most important offices. Few men have ever served the 
town v.'ith more marked ability, or more to the credit and ap- 
]iroval of the town ; and when, in the winter of 1856-7, he was 
obliged from increasing years and infirmities, to ask relief from 
the cares of office, he was not permitted to vacate the places of 
trust he had so well filled, without most gratifying witnesses to 
the esteem he had won. An elegant service of silver, consist- 
ing of four pieces, suitably inscribed, constituted the tribute of 
his fellow townsmen who had known him longest and best. 
Both the pitcher and salver testify to his " long and faithful 
service," and the "personal esteem and appreciation of his pub- 
lic service," by his fellow citizens. One of the goblets has the 
simple inscription, " Selectman twenty years " ; and the other, 
" Treasurer fourteen years." One passage from the presenta- 
tion address, made by liis excellency Governor Minor, so clearly 
expresses the sentiment of the community regarding Mr. Gay's 
official career, that its insertion is due to the memory of the man 
whom it honors. 

" Your friends have witnessed with high gratification your career in pub- 
lic office for the last quarter of a century, being assured that the honesty, 
integrity, and impartiality which have ever characterized your discbarge of 
public duty, have proceeded from a good heart and an honest desire for the 
best interests of the public." 

Besides these offices, Mr. Gay represented the town in the 
state legislature. He was, also, an efficient officer in the eccle- 
siastical society (congregational) of which he was a faithful 
member. Indeed, there was nothing which could promote the 
civil or social welliire of the community in which he was not in- 
terested and whicli he did not most cordially support. 


But the death of this useful !ind honored citizen soon came ; 
and deep and hearty was the mourning of the afflicted town. 
At a meeting of the Warden and Burgesses of the borough, June 
23, 1857, two days after his decease, resohitions were passed, 
expressive of the universal sorrow felt at his death. They testifj' 
to the great loss which the borough and the town ; the poor 
and the afflicted had experienced. They honor his public 
career as one of unswevering fidelity ; and his private life 
as " courteous, full of brotherly kindness and charity which 
never failed." 

Mr. Gay married in Tolland in 1811, Sally Shepherd. They 
had five children ; — Ann Elizabetli, who married Edmund 
Lockwood ; William S., who died in infimcy; William who 
has been successful in business as one of the Stamford Manufac- 
tury Company at the Cove; Edward, who died young, and 
Theodore, who died at nineteen years of age. The first Mrs. 
Gay, who was a most excellent woman and a devoted christian, 
died January 16, 1822. Mr. Gay married for his second 
wife her sister, Ann Shepherd, by whom he had one son, Ed- 
ward, who is still living in Stamford, where he is held in honor. 
The second Mrs. Gay, an estimable lady, died in Stamford, 
December 18, 1851, aged 66 years., William Hkxry, son of Isaac and Levinia (Bisho)i) 
Holly, was born here. May 5, ITOS. His life was mainly spent 
in his native town, and the most of it in such services as gave 
bin) prominence in public affairs, and made him more familiar 
witli the history of the town than any other man of his time. 
Descended in the seventh generation from John Holly, the pio- 
neer of this name, he seems to have inherited his ancestor's 
business character, and to have reproduced the same style of 
liuhlic life. lie was tor se\eral years judge of probate for his 
district, which offlrc he lield to the last year of his life. He 
was also assistant assessor under the national revenue law. He 
died very .suddenly, June 29, 1867. He married here, Caroline, 
daughter of Dr. Samuel Webb. He left at his death three 
daughters: Gertrude, Caroline, and Angle. 


•lOt IllSTOUY OF STAMFORD. Iticv. .luiiN, D. D., was the sou of Dr. Walter and 
Martha (Lockwood) Hough, and was boni In Staiut'urd, in the 
house occupied by Malthy Smith, Esq., 1783. He graduated at 
Yale ill 1802, and commenced the study of theology with Dr. 
Moses C. Welch, of Mansfield, Conn., and subsequently studied 
with Rev. Joel Benedict, of Plainfield, and Dr. Hart, of Prcs- 
t in. He was also in the first class of theological students under 
the teaching of Dr. Dwight. He was licensed to preach by the 
Windham Association-in 1805, and was aj^jjointed missionary to 
Vermont the next year. He was ordained in Vergennes, Vt., 
March 12, 180(', where he preached until 1812. In Xovember 
of this year he was appointed professor of Greek and Latin in 
Middlebury college, and for twenty-seven years he here mad,' 
proof of liis fitness for teaching the classics and theology. 
His biographer in the Congregational Quarterly, of October, 
1861, says of him: "He was eminently successful as an instruc- 
tor." In 18-39 lie resigned his professorship, and went West, 
where he spent the next ten years in preaching. Losing liis 
sight in 1850, he spent the remainder of his life with liis sous. 
He died at Fort Wayne, Ind., July 17, 1861. 

He married November 19,1812, Lucy, daughter of David 
Leavitt, of Bethlehem, Conn., by whom he had two sons: John, 
who graduated at Middlebury college in ISliS ; and David Lea- 
vitt, who graduated in 1839. ^Frs. Hough died at Fort Wayne, 
February 11, 1859. 

HoYT, AuKAHAJi, son of Beujaniiii, wiio was the son of Ben- 
jamin, who was the son of Simon the ]iioiieer, was born in 
Stamford, in 1704. He was a man of solid and substantial 
worth, and was much in public life. He was also an active 
member of the Congregational church for a good many years. 
He married here, Xovember 27, 1729, Hannah Bates, by whom 
he had tlie following children : Abraham, born October 13, 
1732, and died young ; Isaac, born September 15,1734; Ezra, 
born April 23, 1737 ; Silas, born 2, 173S-9 ; Sarah, born 
February 3, 1740; Tliaddeus, born January 26, 1742; Rachel, 
born AuLjust 7, 1745, and dicil saiiii' vcar. He iiinrried for his 


second wife, June 3, 1748, widow Hannah Blachley, by wliom 
lie bud two children: Mary, born August 22, 1750, and died 
Xdveinber 17, 1754; and Bates, born July 7, 1754. His des- 
<'endants are very numerous, and they have been as cnterprisino- 
as they are nvunerous. 

HoYT, Amos, was the son of Peter and Sarah Hoyt, and was 
born in 1762, and died September 10, 1793. He was a youno- 
man of great promise. His mind was of a high order, and his 
opportunities for improving it had been seduously improved. 
He entered Yale college in 1788, and graduated with honor in 
1792. He was among the most promising and ]jf)pular mem- 
bers of his class. 

Many years after iiis death, the late Tliomas S. Williams, of 
Hartford, was pleased to recall liis many excellent traits, and 
to acknowledge his own personal obligations to his good will 
and iiindness. To be praised by such a man is no slight lionor ; 
to be counted among the benefactors of such a man, is to have 
earned fame. This young man, so gifted and so honored, did 
not live to fulfill the high expectations of liis friends. His 
gravestone shows that he had just completed his academic and 
professional studies when he died, away from his friends, in 
Glastonbury. His remains were buried in tlie Hoyt burying 
lot, on Hope street road, where his simple memorial stone testi- 
fies to the pirental affection which could not leave liis previous 
remains to lie in a stranger's grave. 

The Stamford ancestors of this member of the Hoyt family, 
according to their historian, were: Peter, David, Benjamin, 
Benjamin, Benjamin, and Simon, the jiioncer. 

Hoyt, Edwix, the son of Abraham and Sarah (Knap) Hoyt, 
was born in Stamford in 1804. His grandfather was that cap- 
tain Thaddeus who was so prominent among the patriotic civil- 
ians of tlie town during our Revolutionary period ; and who at 
liis death had gathered one of the largest estates of the town. 
Among his descendants have been several who have followed 
the venerable patriot in wordly success : yet among them all, 

■ion iiisTour iiF .s■rA^rFORl). 

and they are quite numerous, none has attained greater onii- 
neiice in all tliose special qualities which constitute the successful 
business man than the subject of this sketch. And I think, too, 
none of the sons of the town has better illustrated the leading 
spirit of the town, or is more exactly its business representa- 
tive than he. Receiving, here, the substantial rudiinents of such 
an education as the boys of an industrious agricultural people 
acquire, he found his way, still a youth, into New York ; an<l 
there, beginning at the foundation, built for himself tirndy, tiie 
basis of what has since been one of the most solid business 
characters in the metropolis. As clerk, diligent, active, studi- 
ous, faithful, he soon won esteem and confidence. As partner 
in the successive firms of Hoyt & Fearing ; Hoy t & Bogart ; 
Hoyt, Tdlinghast & Co. ; and Hoyt, Spragues & Co,, he has in 
each successive advance steadily increased his reputation. Tlio 
great crisis in commercial and mercantile life, in which soinanv 
splendid fortunes have been wrecked, have only tlie more tri. 
umphantly shown his great energy and tact. At tliese 
his resources never fail. In the fearful crisi-; of 18;?7, wlnji 
every movement around him foreboded disaster to his bouse, he 
calmly examined his ground and resolved, even under circum- 
stances which would have appalled almost any other man in the 
business circle to which lie l)elonged, to go on. With wonder- 
ful courage and an activity as astonisliing as it was success 
ful, he provided for large amounts of tlie maturing paper ot a 
long list of heavy debtors, and, though suffering heavily, caniL- 
all the strongerput of the trial. Since then, his house has stood 
second to none in the metropolis. 

With all his proiuptness and energy in business, and \\ itli a 
self-reliance which never fails him in an emergency, ilr. Hoyt 
is still one ot t!u' most quiet an<l modest of men. lie lives in and 
for his business, and his success lias fully justitied this habitual 
and life long devotion. .Mr. lloyt married Susan, daughter of 
Governor William SpragUf, of Hliode They iiave had 
four chil.lren. all now liviiio- ; Surali. Susan Spragi"ie, William 
S. and Edwin. The familv occupv duriim- tli. suninur their 


Cap*lC* Connyols. 

^2!?e-^-^_ ^ /'^ 



beautiful residence on the East River in Astoria; and for the 
winter, their elegant mansion on Fifth avenue. With all his de- 
votion to business, Mr. Hoyt has maintained a deep interest in 
the family name in the town of his nativity, which his career 
has so honored. 

Isaac Lockwood Hoyt, tlie son of Thaddeus and Rebecca 
Hoyt was born in that part of the town which has since been 
incorporated as Darien. (^u the breaking out of the late war 
he cheerfully entered the I'nlon service, thougli at great per- 
sonal sacrifice. 

In his first term of service, three months, he won for himself 
the love and confidence of the entire company. Though not 
in command, it is not too much to say that he was the man in the 
company to whom tliey liail cause to look for advice and help ; 
and under whom they would gladly trust themselves, if the 
country should again call them to the field. 

Accordingly, after a few weeks of rest from the severe service 
they had seen, when the question was raised, who shall take 
another company of our sons into the field, he seemed to be the 
one to whom all our people turned. With unaffected modesty 
he urged his sense of incompetency. He Iiad received no special 
military training and he felt no military ambition. He had al- 
ready sacrificed much, but with every interest of his country still 
at stake, he could not long hesitate. He accepted the command 
to give himself tlienceforth to his country. He was in the 
Tenth Connecticut, a regiment destined to win no mean honors 
ibr the state, whose name and fiime they were proud to bear. 
In the famous Burnside expedition into North Carolina, they 
were not a whit behind the bravest regiment under their gallant 
commander, and Captain Hoyt's company was never wanting 
where daring was needed. The zealous patriotism, and the 
calm and deliberate devotion of their captain were, also, shared 
by the men. But he was not long to command his company. 
The local fever seized upon his healthy frame and he was forced 
to yield. Though warned again and again of his danger, he 
would not ask f.u- a furlou-li while his comiiaiiy needed his care. 


He risked ]iis own life that he might care for tiietii; and clieer- 
fully paid the price of liis whole-souled devotion. His death 
occurred on board the Xew Brunswick, at Newberu, X. C, 
.March 20, 1862. His remains were taken to Darien, where they 
were interred iu the pleasant cemetery on the western slope of 
the Ridge on which he had spent his days. This patriot son of 
Stamford went to his grave amid the sincerest tokens of sorrow 
wliicli a grateful people could pay to his honored and cherished 
memory. Our history elsewhere will show, that before the war 
he had been honored by his native town, having served his 
townsmen both as their selectman and as their representative 
in the state legislatnre. 

HoYT, James Hexry, fourth son of Billy and Sarah (Wood) 
Hoyt, was born in Stamford April 14, isoo. See sketches of 
Abraham and Thaddeus Hoyt. 

His father was a ftirmer, and his early educational advanta- 
ges were those of the sons of our ordinary 'New England far- 
mers. At the age of seventeen he was apprenticed to the 
cabinet-making business, and at the close of his minority he took 
the business of his former master into his hands. He soon con- 
nected with this business the lumber trade. It will illustrate 
liis enterprise thus early in his business life, that while engaged 
in this trade he imported the first cargo of hard coal ever 
brought to Stamford. 

In 1831, the canal extending from the harbor up into the cen- 
ter of the village was opened. Mr. Hoyt united his business 
with the drygoods and grocery trade of his two brothers, Wil- 
liam and Roswell. Leasing the canal for five years, they 
jiurchased shipping and did their own carrying trade, and im- 
ported their own West India goods. In this business he 
lontinued with varied success until the expiration of their lease, 
when he resumed the lumber trade, in which he continued until 
the New York and Xew Haven Railway was projected. In 
the building of this great thoroughfare he entered into con- 
tracts for grading portions of it, building bridges, and furnish- 
ing ties. All of these contracts were promptly and acceptably 



executeil. On the completion of the road, at lirst built with a 
single track, he contracted to supply it with fuel, and when the 
second track was laid, lie was a heavy contractor for the work. 
From this statement it will be seen that Mr. Hoyt, from the 
very beginning of this great public work until it had fairly 
established itself as an efficiently-managed enterprise, liad been 
connected with it in such ways as to make him familiar with its 
character and wants. He had enjoyed a good opportunity of 
watching the management of the road under its chief engineer 
and first superintendent, Mr. R. B. Mason, subsequently con- 
nected with the Illinois Central Railway ; and also under its 
second superintendent, Geo. W. Whistler, jr. That he had not 
neglected the o])portunity thus furnished him is evidenced in 
the unanimity of the choice which called him to the superin- 
teudencv of the road on the resignation of Mr. Whistler in 1854. 
Still better evidence has been furnished in the increasing suc- 
cess which has attended his administration during the fifteen 
years he has held this onerous and responsible post. 

His entrance upon the office was signalized by a sudden blow, 
which, under a less efficient administration, would have doomed 
the road to a partial or total suspension. But, despite the ex- 
tensive Schuyler frauds, aud the preceding catastrophe at the 
the Norwalk bridge, the stock ot the road has steadily risen 
from about 90, its market price when Mr. Hoyt entered upon its 
supcrintendency, to over 150. Nor is it more than the truth 
Avill warrant, to affirm, that no one who has been connected 
with the road from its opening to the present time, is its 
advance more certainly dwi than to Mr. Hoyt. His unwearied 
care and painstaking devotion to the interests of the road from 
the time of his first contract; his minute attention to the least 
defect, either in the road-bed, or bridges, or rolling-stock, or in 
the habits or manners of the employees on the road, with his 
prompt remedy for it, or as faithful and jirompt a reference of 
it, if not within reach of his authority, to the board of directors, 
have made him first among our eminent railway snjierintendents ; 
and lie has not been without abundant testimonials, both from 


his own boiinl of directors and from the cmployei's of the roail, 
to the esteem and aftection in which he is held. 

Ill his private life Mr. Hoyt is eminently a domestic man. 
His home, when not in his business, is emphatically in the 
bosom of his family. He married January 31, 1838, Sarah J. 
Grey, of Darioii, and they had five children, three of whom are 
now living. It was a very severe stroke which bereaved him 
of Iiis wife. lie had entrnsted to her the entire administration 
of his domestic matters, because his official duties required all 
of his strength. He only asked, what iu the stress of his care 
and responsibility he so much needed, a quiet and restful home, 
in which he could find the repose that should refit him for his 
work. And it was just such a home that lie foiind, under her 
administration, always ready to welcome him. 

In politics Mr. Hoyt has always been willi the tleniocratic 
liarty. Though not an aspirant for office, he has represented 
his native town and his senatorial district in the state legisla- 
ture. He was a principal mover iu the organization of the 
Stamford Savings Bank, of wliich lie has been for several years 
the president. 

As a practical l)usiiics> inaii, Mr. Iloyl stands among the first 
of his townsmen. He lias reaped the rewards of his earnest 
and honorable onterjirise, botli in a must excellent business 
reputation, and iu tlie still more tangible token of a handsome 
worldly estate. 

HoTT, Jonathan, Ibr several years, about the middle ot the 
last century, stood at the head of our jmblic- im-u, and was 
especially prominent during the period of llie French and Indian 
war. He was equally eminent in civil and religious and mili- 
tary affairs. As early as 17-17 he was a deacon in the Congre- 
gational church. As one of his majesty's justices, he officiateil 
at many of the marriages of the town, and is recorded as the 
" worshipful" Mr. Hoyt. He attained in military service the 
rank of colonel ; and from the positions assigned him in trying- 
days he must have >)een held in confidence and esteem. As 
evidence of his reimtatiou we find tliis characteristic vote of the 


societj', December 23, 1731 ; " per vote ye Society do agree and 
Desire Capt. Jonathan Hait to set in ye foremost pew in y e 
meeting house." 

HoYT, THADDEUs,son of Abraham and Hannah (Bates) Hoyt, 
was born in Stamford, Jan. 26, 1742-3. His entire life was 
spent in his native town, whore he became a man of influence, 
and, for the age in which he lived, of quite considerable wealth. 
During the revolutionary war he was one of the most earnest 
and eflicient advocates of independence. He married April 28, 
1766, Hannah Holmes. Their children were Frederick, born 
Jan. 24, 1767; Hannah, born Oct. 16, 1768, who became the 
wife of Joshua Scofield; Abraham, born Oct. 16, 1770; Thad- 
deus, born Oct. 21, 1772; Billy, born July 30, 1774; Dariijs, 
born Jan. 30, 1776; Rebecca, the wife of Capt. John Brown; 
Mary, the wife of Hon. James Stevens ; Betsey and Bates. 

Leeds, Francis Raxdolpii, was the son of Sylvester and Susan- 
nah (Watson) Leeds, and was born in Stamford, June 18, 1835. 
He was early employed in the Stamford bank, where he won for 
himself a good reputation for accuracy, faithfulness and skill. 
He was eminently gifted with those traits of character which 
make the business man popular ; and few young men were ever 
more universally esteemed than he. 

In 1862 he was authorized to raise a company ot volunteers 
for the sorvice of the government in suppressing the great Re- 
bellion. His ranks were rapidly filled up, when he received a 
captain's commission and left with his men for the seat of the 
war. Having already in his southern travels been attacked by 
the fever, he became again an easy prey to the insidious foe. He 
came north to recruit his impaired strength ; but, impatient to 
join his command, he again left for that purpose, Jan. 2, 1863. 
He rejoined his company at Pensacola, Fla., only to be struck 
down, this time fatally, by the relentless disease. He died at 
Pensacola, Feb. 17, 1803, deeply lamented by his command, 
who seemed to love him with an afiection truly fraternal. His 
remains were brought home and interred in the new cemetery. 


4U'J lllSTUKV HF SlAMl-'Oim. 

Lkeds, Juhx, was tlic son of Gary ami Maiy ((lik's) Leeilsi 
and was Uorn in Stamford, July 31, 1764. He was a merchant 
and farmer, living in New Hope district. He was long an earn- 
est and active member of the Episcopal church, and a most 
estimable citizen. His death, which took place Sep. 15, 1831, 
was felt to be a " public as well as private loss." He was one 
of those meek and quiet men whose lives are filled with unno- 
ticed, because unobtrusive deeds of kindly good will. He was 
esteemed as a model in those graceful excellences which most 
endear to us our most trusted and prized companions. His in- 
tegrity could not be questioned, and his personal friendship was 
courted as an honor and cherished as a blessing. He married, 
Dec. 6, 1790, Honor Williams, daughter of Moses and Martha 
(Robins) Williams, of Rocky Hill, Conn. Her paternal grand 
parents were Jacob and Eunice (Standish) Williams. This 
Eunice Standish was daughter of Thomas Standish of Hart- 
ford, the son of Alexander of Roxbury, Mass., the oldest 
son of the famous colonial captain Miles Standish. Their chil- 
dren were John Williams, (see following sketch), Jacob W. 
and Harry, the last two of whom are dead. Mrs. Leeds died, 
August 22, 1849, aged 83 years. 

Leeds, Johx Williams, son of John and Honor (Williams) 
Leeds, was born in Stamford, August 18, 1797. He has 
always resided in his native town, where he has been held in 
deserved esteem. His business has been mainly mercantile and 
financial : and his success has placed him among the first men 
of the town. On the opening of the Stamford bank in 1834, he 
was chosen president of it, and has held the office until now. 
As a business man he ranks i-ather with the cautious and pru- 
dent than with the venturesome and daring, and his success has 
justified his business career. 

He married Eliza, daughter of Elisha Lce<ls, and has had nine 
children, of whom six are living; Charles Henry, well known 
as one of the proprietors of the extensive Cove Mills ; Sarah 
Elizabetli, wife of Gov. Wm. T. Minor of Stamford : Marv Cath- 


'/;> /^^^ 



orine, wife of Dr. Samuel Lockwood, dentist, of New York city ; 
Josephine Eliza ; Edward Francis, and Emily Irene. 

LocKwooD, Isaac, son of Isaac and Rebecca (Seely) Lock- 
wood was born in Stamford, Nov. 4, 1762. Like many otlicrN 
of the sons of the town during the last half century, lie com- 
menced his life as a seaman. He soon abandoned his sea-life, 
returned to Stamford and settled down, on what was then the 
old turnpike, in the old Lockwood homestead, now occupied liy 
George Hubbard, Esq. Here he spent the rest of his days. He 
was soon found ready and efficient in aiding forward every 
needed enterprise of the town, and rose rapidly to his place 
among the first citizens. At the beginning of this century, no 
man stood higher than he in the public esteem. For nineteen 
years he did good service as one of the select men of the town, 
and represented the town in eight sessions of the state legisla- 
ture. He was characterized for his promptness and punctuality. 
It was a proverb that Capt. Lockwood's rambling pony was tho 
best time piece in the town, never failing to appear with her 
rider at the post office at the appointed time. 

Mather, Joseph was the second son of Rev. Moses Mather, 
D. D., of Middlesex Society, Stamford, (Darien,) where he was 
born, July 21, 1753. He united with his father's church, Aug. 
9, 1778. He was a young man of much promise, and soon at- 
tained a position of influence among the citizens of the town. 
He distinguished himself early as a warm advocate of the inde- 
pendence of the American colonies; and of course, like his 
patriotic flither, he was a constant mark for the shafts of British 
and tory vengeance. He lived about two miles to the north of 
the village, and his house was used as a depository for the more 
costly treasures of the citizens who were more exposed to the 
raids of the enemy from Long Island. But, removed as he was 
from the center of the parish, he was easily found and greatly 
harassed by his former neighbors, who had now gone over to the 
enemy. No less than forty-four of his father's parishioners 
were at one time durino; tlie war, iust across the Sound on 


Lloyd's Neck, more bitter against patriots thiiii the king's 
troops themselves. 

He married, May 29, 1777, Sarah Scot, of Ridgetield. Their 
children, eight of whom are still living, (1862,) were Hannah, 
horn June 2, 1777; Sarah, born March 28, 1780; Moses, born 
May 21, 1782; Raiua, born May 4, 1784; Clare, born July 31, 
1787; Joseph, born Sept. 30, 1789; Nancy, born Jan. 27, 1792 ; 
Betsey, born March 23, 1794 ; David Scott, born Dec. 14, 1795 ; 
and Phebe, born Nov. 27, 1798. At his death he left these ten 
children, forty-five grandchildren, forty-eight great-grandchild- 
ren, and one great-great-grandchild. 

Mather, Moses, D. D., was the son of Timothy Matlier of 
Lyme, Conn., where he was born March G, 1719. 

He graduated in Yale in 1739, and was settled over the 
church in Middlesex Society of Stamford, now Darien, June 
14, 1744, having begun to preach there April 19, 1742. Here 
lie remained a faithful and successful preacher and pastor until 
his death, Sept. 21, 1806 — more than sixty-four years — which 
fact of itself is ample testimony to his usefulness. His ability 
is also testified in the works which he left, which though not 
numerous, evince his solid learning and his deep piety. He won 
his doctorate from the College of New Jersey in 1791. From 
1777 to 1790 he was a Fellow of Yale College. 

But the doctor will be best known for his earnest and active 
patriotism during the struggle which won our colonial indepen- 
dence, of which our account of that struggle will furnish ample 

The following testimony from Dr. Dwight's " Travels" is 
abundantly corroborated by all that we hear of his character 
from those who remember him, or from those who heard their 
parents dwell upon his precious memory. 

"Dr. Mather was a man distinguished for learning and piety, a strong 
understanding and a most exemphiry life. His natural temper was grave 
and unbending. His candor was that of the Gospel, — the wisdom which is 
from above— which, while it is ' pure and peaceable' is also ' without par- 

^f^ wl 



Dr. Sprague's " Annals of the American Pulpit" contains an 
interesting letter from Rev. Mark Mead of Greenwich, which 
gives us the following delineation of hie personal appearance 
and social character. 

" He was a mau of about the middle stature, rather slender than other- 
wise, of a pleasant expression of countenance, and free and easy in conver- 
sation. Dr. Mather, though generally a poor man, had a rich vein of hu- 
mor, of which there still remain many traditions. A man in his parish 
who pretended to be a sort of half Quaker, half infidel, and who was a mem- 
ber of the vigilance committee in the revolution, as he was riding in com- 
pany with him on horseback, said to him, 'Your Master used to ride an ass^ 
and how is it that you ride a horse?' 'Because," said the doctor, 'the 
asses are all taken up for committee men.' 

"Dr. Mather used to wear a long, rounded, Quaker coat, with very large 
brass buttons from top to bottom. The Quakers, at that time, used to wear 
buttons made of apple tree, and just enough to fasten their coats. The 
same man mentioned above, on meeting Dr. Mather one day, said to him, 
' Moses, why does thee wear so many buttons on thy coat.' ' To show you, • 
said the Doctor, 'that my religion does not consist in a button.'" 

Nor is the Dr. scarcely less to be remembered for the family 
which he left. Soon after his settlement, Sept. 10, 1740, he 
married one of his jjarishioners, Hannah Bell, by whom he had 
three children — John, born Sept. 20, 1747, Hannah, born May 
20, 1751, and Joseph, born July 21, 175?;. His wife died April 
23, 1755, and he married again, Jan. 1, 1750, Mrs. Elizabeth 
Whiting, also a parishioner, by whom he had only one son, 
Noyes, born September 1, 1756. His second wife died Dec. 18, 
1757. He married for his third wife, Rebecca Raymond, of 
Norwalk, Aug. 23, 1758, by whom, there were recorded to him 
four children ; Moses, born Nov. 13, 1700. Raymond, born Jan. 
31, 1763, Isaac, born Dec. 6, 1764, and Samuel, Lorn Dec. 19, 
1765. Of the above children, Hannah married Philo Betts and 
had eleven children ; Joseph married Sarah Scott, of Ridgefield, 
and had ten children, six of whom, now venerable both for 
years and personal worth, it was the author's good fortune to 
meet at the homestead of their father in the summer of 1862 ; 
Noyes married and had nine children, and Samuel had five. 


Of the ten chiklren of Joseph, eight liad families, aiul their 
children to the number of fifty-five are enrolled in the " Gene- 
alogy of the Matlier Family." 

In 1855, Iter. Mr. Kinney, then pastor of the cliureh in Darien, 
makes this interesting record for Dr. Sprague's " Annals of the 
American Pulpit :" 

"I think tbat more tbau balf of chose who compose my congregatiou on 
the Sabbath, and nenrlj' our whole choir of singers are his (Dr Mather's) 
ilesceudauts. Two of his great-grandsons have recently been ordained 
deacons of this churcL." 

Provost, Stephen Bishop, sou of Daniel and Elizabeth 
(Bishop,) was born in Stamford, April 23, 1792. His mother 
was daughter of deacon Stephen Bishop of the Xorth Stamford 
Congregational church, who was grandson of Rev. John Bishop, 
the second pastor of the first church of Stamford. Mr. Provost 
has spent the most of his life in his native town, where he has 
been successful in business, and much respected and honored, 
as our official record will show. He married, April 5, 1821, 
Catherine, daughter of Christopher and Elizabeth Tillman, ot 
New York. Their children have been ; Stephen Henry, now a 
merchant in New York city; Christopher Tillman ; David 11., 
now in California ; Mary Catherine, the late Mrs. Edward Sco- 
field ; Elizabeth Jane^ now Mrs. Hiram Taylor, of Stamford ; and 
Jidia Francis, who died young. 

QuiNTARD, Geo. W., eldest son of Isaac Quintard and his 
wife, Mrs. Clarissa (Hoyt) Shay, was born in Stamford, April 
22, 1822. He went, still young, into New York city, where he 
was engaged a few years in the grocery business. He married, 
Feb._ 15, 1844, Frances, daughter of Charles Morgan, Esq., 
later proprietor of the Morgan Iron and Ship Works, corner of 
Ninth-st. and East River. Disposing of his grocery business, 
he entered the firm of his father-in-law, then T. F. Secor & Co., 
Mr. Secor being the foundry-man of the firm, and Mr. Morgan 
the financier. Afterwards, under the title of the Morgan 
Iron Works, in company with his father-in-law, and later 
with his brother-in-law, Hon. F. ^f. Merrit, of Stamford, and 



Still later as the sole proprietor of those extensive works, Mr. 
Quiutard laid the foundation of the great business prosperity 
which has placed him among the leading men of the city. 
During the recent war he was largely employed in furnishing 
engines for the war ships needed in the United States Navy, 
and rendered timely and important aid to the Union cause. 
Since the war he has retired from the iron business, and is now 
president of one of the southern lines of steamship transporta- 
tion. He is also connected with various other business boards 
in the city. His summer residence is in Kye. He has two 

QuiXTARD, Chaules Todd, brother to the above, was born in 
Stamford, Dec. 22, 1824. He graduated M. D. at the University 
of New York in 1846, having been a student of Dr. Valentine 
Mott. After spending a few months in the Bellevue Hospital, 
and as physician to the New York City Dispensary, he removed 
to Georgia. Here he soon won reputation in his profession and 
as a medical writer, and in 1851, he was called to the chair of 
physiology and anatomy in the Memphis Medical College. 

Devoting liimself, meanwhile, also, to theological studies, under 
the direction of Bishop Otey of Tennessee, in 1855 he was ad- 
mitted to orders. At once, he entered on the rectorship of Cal- 
vary church, Memphis, from which he went, in 1858, to the 
church of the Advent, Nashville. Under his successful ministry 
of four years, this church advanced from thirty-six to about 
three hundred communicants. His progress in his new profes- 
sion of theology was rapid, as in that of medicine, and in 1866 
he received his doctorate in Divinity, and was chosen Bishop of 
Tennessee, to which office he was consecrated by the General 
Convention of the Protestant Episcopal Church in the United 
States, in Philadelphia. 

QuiNTAED, Edward A., brother to Geo. W. and Charles T., 
above, is also a native of Stamford, where he was born in 1826. 
He went to New York as clerk to the Scranton Coal Com- 
pany. Since then ho has been largely engaged in the coal busi- 


ness, making for himself a good name and an eminent place, 
among the leading firms in his branch of business. He is ex- 
tensively engaged also in mining coal. For a number of years 
he has spent his summers in Stamford, and in 1867, he built 
on Clark's Hill, a fine family residence of stone, one of 
the most imposing as well as costly of our many elegant 
Stamford homes. He married for his first wife, Matilda Gil- 
lespie, of New York city, who died leaving two children. 
He married for his second wife, Mary, daughter of cap- 
tain William Skiddy, of Stamford, by whom he has two 

RsKi), Eli.i.^h, sou oF .Jesse and Mercy (Weed) Reed, was 
born in Stamford, Middlesex parish, in 1778. In his thirtj-sixth 
year he became a christian, and demoted himself with singular 
earnestness, to the duties of the christian life. He was chosen 
deacon of the church in Darien ; and from that time he felt 
himself to be a servant of the Lord. There was no call which 
the church could make upon him to which he did not respond. 
In season and out of season, he embraced opportunities, or cre- 
ated them, for doing good. The Bible was his daily compan- 
ion ; and from its treasury, he never failed to draw timely 
instructions for all classes whom he met. No man practiced a 
more rigid self denial than he, that he might do good. None 
cultivated .ill the graces of the spirit more than lie. None 
evinced a deeper interest in the welfare of Zion, or in the spirit- 
ual condition of impenitent men than he. And no one had more 
faith in the divinely appointed ni?an'; for the recovery and 
salvation of men. 

This good man died Nov. 16, IPol, when, and as he would 
have wished to die, on the morning of the Lord's Day, with all 
the peace and joyful hope which that day had been wont to bring 
him. Mr. Reed was only the fifth generation removed from tho 
John Reed whom we have enrolled as the pioneer of the family 
in the town. The line of the ascent will be John, Thoma.*, 
and Thomas, the second son of John, as above. 




liiiiiAKUj, James, D. D., was born Oct. 29, 17G7, in New 
Canaan parish, a short distance east of the old line between 
8tan\tbrd and Xorwalk. While still a boy, he came to Stam- 
ford village and engaged himself as an appren tice to the cabi- 
net making trade. He proved a faithful apprentice, yet found 
time in his leisure moments for reading and study ; and at length 
formed and executed the purpose of fitting himself for college. 
While in Stamford he became a teacher in one of our village 
schools. He was also the subject of a re vival of religion, and 
united with the Congregational church here, Sept. 17, 178G. 
In 1739 ho entered Yale college, and received, in 1794, the 
honorary degree of A. M. He studied theology with Dr. 
Dwight, and was licensed to preach by the Fairfield West As- 
sociation in 1793. The same year he was settled inMorristown, 
N. J., as pastor of the First Presbyterian Chnrch there. He 
soon gave proofs of that strong good sense and efficiency in all 
that he attempted, which at length gave him the enviable repu- 
tation which he won and retained. From Morristown he was 
called to Newark in June 1809, to succeed that prince among 
our pnlpit orators, Dr. E. D. Griffin, who had then accepted his 
professorship at An dover. Here Mr. Richards became very 
eminent in his profession, both as preacher and pastor. In 
1 823 he was called to the chair of Christian Theoh^ujy in the 
Auburn Theological Seminary. He died in Auburn, X. Y., 
Aug. 2, 1S48. 

Skeluing, Dea. Tii05IA!S, was son of James an<l ^lary 
Skelding, and was born in Stamford, Feb. C, 1773. Tl;e ytar 
after his marriage he removed to Troy, N. Y., where he 
soon attained eminence among the enterprising men of that 
flourishing city. He was equally eminent in business and re- 
ligion. Brought up a Congregationalist, after his conversion, 
lie unitid with the Baptist church in Troy in 1806, and proved 
liimself one of the most faithful and devoted of christians. He 
was chosen deacon of this church in 1812; and when, in 1822, 
lie i-emoved to New York, he was at once called to the same of- 
fice in the South Baiitist Clinrcli of that citv, tlien iust or^an- 


i/.L'il. IKtc 111' labored with a growing zeal until his wurk on 
earth was iloiu'. On the second Sabhatli of December, 1830, 
wliile enjoying the usual services of the sanctuary, he was 
struelc with a sudden paralysis which almost deprived him of 
motion and speech. He was taken home, where he languished 
many weeks, but jiiU'ti'^Hy recovering the use of his limbs and 
of his voice. In July of the next year he visited his friends and 
kindred in his native town ; and while here, surrounded with 
the grateful reminiscences of his early days, in the family of his 
brother James, he peacefully and in joyous hope closed his 
earthly career Aug. 1, 1831. His obituary in the Baptixt Re- 
pository, gives us a very pleasant impression of the cheerful 
and beneficent piety of this good man : '• In wealth he wa? an 
example to the rich," and when deprived of his earthly pos- 
sessions, his cheerful trust in God still " taught the poor to be 
humble, submissive and thankful." 

Smith, Rev. Daxiel, was tlie son of IVter and Mury Smith 
of New Canaan, where he was born Aug. 3, 1T64. 

He graduated at Yale in 1791, and the same year united with 
the Congregational church in Sharon. After studying theology 
with the Ivcv. Cotton Mather Smith of Sharon, whose youngest 
daughter ho married, he was licensed to preach, Oct. 2, 1792, 
by the Litchfield North Association, and ordained pastor of the 
First Congregational church in Stamford, June 13, 1793. Here 
he labored in word and doctrine with very great acceptance 
down to a very advanced age. He was a man, who is remem- 
bered still by many of the citizens of Stamford, both in the 
denomination to wliich he belonged, and in others, as one of 
luiusual good sense and wisdom. Few pastors ever endeared 
themselves more to their people than he. His hold on his peo- 
])le was fully and most promptly shown, when in 1839, after a 
ministry of forty-seven years, lie recounted his labors, acknowl- 
edge.! his growing intirniilies, and asked to be relieved from a 
portion of his cares. Their ve|)ly is found in the following rcso- 

•■Tba't we ircesi.ize in nur piistor a dilioout seivunt of CInist, one who, 


for the loug time he hivs ministered to us iu holy things, has ever exhibited 
,1 happy union of j^ruclence with zeal; anil one who, in all his intercourse 
with ns and his ministrations to us has cultivated those feelings which 
most endear a pastor to his flock. And we earnestly entreat our God that 
he may long be spared to watch over us, to instruct us and to pray for us." 

In addition to the Inliors of preacher and pastor, Mr. Smith 
oondiicted a private school in his own house for many years : 
and many of tlie youtli of the town recall with affectionate in- 
terest tlie days of their pleasant pupilage under his kindly care. 

lie married for liis first wife Mary Smith, as above, July 0, 
1793, by whom ho had two children, Julia Ann, born April ■'•. 
17!)4,aud Thomas Mather, born March 7, 17'.)0.. 

He married again June 14, 1801, Catherine, daughter of David 
W^ebb, of Stamford. Their children were David Webb, born 
April 11, 1802, lived single and died in Stamford; Mary Eliza- 
beth, born Oct. 28, 1804, and married Fitch Rodgers, of Stam- 
ford, and still survives to occupy the house which her father 
left; James Augustus, born Aug. 1, 1807; Edward William, 
born Sept. 2, 1813, wiio graduated at Yale in 183.3, and studied 
law; and John Cotton, born April 0, 1811, graduated at Vale 
iu 1835, and was studying medicine when he died. 

Sjimi, Tno.MAs ]Matiiee, oldest son of Kev. Daniel, (see pre- 
ceding sketch,) was born in Stamford, March 7, 179G. He 
graduated at Yale College in 1816 ; and after spending a year 
with his uncle, Hon. John Cotton Smith, he entered the theo- 
logical seminary, where he graduated in theology in 1820. In 
1822 be was ordained to the work of the ministry, and settled 
over the Third Congregation church, in Portland, Maine. He, 
also, was settled as Congregational pastor at Fall River, Mass.; 
at Catskill, N. Y. ; and at Xew Bedford, Mass. While here, 
his views of church polity changing, he embraced the Episco- 
pal theory, and was ordained deacon, by Bishop Smith, of 
Kentucky ; and the next year, priest, by Bishop Eastman, of 
Massachusetts. In 1845, he was appointed Milnor Professor of 
Systematic Divinity at Kenyon College, Gambler, Ohio. Iu 
1850 he was hmiored with tlu' degree ofDoctor of Divinity, by 

412 lil.STOltY OF STAMFORD. 

Bowdoiii Collcgi'. Ho reniaitiefl at his post in Keiiyoii t'ollege 
until 18G3, — discliargingits duties, which were often verj' exact- 
ing, — having embraced at times tliose of president of the institu- 
tion, with great acceptance and success. On his resignation, 
in 1863, lie was honored as Emeritus Professor. 

The following testimony is borne to his character by his 
classmate. Rev. Dr. W. C. Fowler, of Durham, Conn. He says, 
'Whiit struck me was his line social nature. Perhaps the reason ol 
this was, that his mother ami my mother were first cousins, through their 
grandfather. Rev. William Worthingtou. He alwaj-s met me as a cousin, 
frank, confiding, affectionate. The movements of his mind were easy and 
natural, not requiring any special excitement to bring them into play. His 
emotional nature was healthy and easily stirred, but also controlled, so far 
as I saw, by the proprieties of time and place. He was always a good schol- 
'ar, with the power of being a better one. In short, I think he showed, 
while in college, in perceptible embryo, the same mental characteristics, 
which in subsequent life were so finely developed and matured." 

Mr. Smith married, Sept. 26, 1822, Mary G. eldest daughter 
of Rev. Dr. Leonard Woods, of Andover, Mass. They had six 
children, three of whom died in infancy. His son, John Cotton 
Smith, graduated at Bowdoin College in 1847; studied theol- 
ogy at the seminary of which his father was a professor, and is 
now a popular preacher of the Episcopal denomination in Xcw 
York city. He, also, has been honored with a doctorate of 

Smith, Jamks W., oldest son of Pliilander and Clarissa 
(Holly) Smith, was born on Longridgc, July 8, 1810. He fitted 
for college under the late Hawley Olmstead, Esq., of Wilton, 
having the work of the ministry in view. His physician think- 
ing his health would never allow him to be a preacher, dissuad- 
ed him from the attempt, and he devoted himself to the studj- 
of medicine, graduating at the New York Medical College; and 
was commissioned by the American Board as physician to their 
Sandwich Island mission in 1842. While engaged in the work 
of his profession as missionary physician, he was also called to 
the office of lay preacher ; and such was the urgency of the calls 
upon him, that he, in 1S.54, ordained as pastor of the church 


ill Kolon, oil till' Island of Kauai. Here wo soon find liini in 
full charge of tlie missionary work at his station, and gathering- 
around him and training faithful native helpers. 

We next find him so strongly endeared to his people, that 
they are ready to propose supporting him, themselves. Accord- 
ingly we find him, in 1851, asking a release from the service of 
the Board, and since that date he has been supported by the 
people whom he was appointed to lift up out of the degradation 
of heathenism. During his residence on the island he has filled 
several important oftices, and in them all has comniemled him- 
self to the people. 

He married Millicent Knapp, of North Greenwich, a sister of 
the two excellent christian ministers, ^Revs. Horton, and Jared 
D. Knapp. They have had nine children, of whom seven are 
still living; William Owen, Jared Knapp, Alfred Holly, Emma, 
Lottie, Melina and Juliett. 

Smith, Trumax, a native of Roxbury, Conn. He graduated 
at Yale in 1815, and entered the legal profession, in which he 
became one of our most eminent jurists and advocates. Entering 
upon public civil life, he became as representative and senator 
from Connecticut in the United States Congress, — one of our 
ablest statesmen. In 1853 he removed to Stamford, where he 
has since then resided. Ilis first wife was Maria Cook, of Litch- 
field, who died April 20, 1849, leaving one daughter, Jenny P. 
now Mrs. George A. Hoyt, of Stamford. His second wife was 
]\Iary A. Dickenson, by whom he has had six children. 

On the organization of the Court of Claims, to decide cases 
arising under the various acts growing out the rebellion, Mr. 
Smith was appointed one of the judges, holding the office 
until the court terminated. No generation of Connecticut jur- 
ists or statesmen has furnished us an example of more diligent 
and successful working, or of more uncompromising loyalty to 
the welfare of the people. 

Steven's, Edwix, was the son of deacon David and 

Stevens, of Ponus street, in what is now New Canaan. He was 


Ijiii'ii July 4, ISO-.', uiul graduated at Yale with honor in lS-28. 
He was also tutor hi Yale in 1831 and '2. In 1S31, ho was 
licensed as preaclier by the New Haven East Association, and 
"Decame a christian missionary, lie commenced this service as 
I'iiaplain to our seamen in the East, and for three years liad his 
home in Canton, laboring in season and out of season for the 
temporal good of this long neglected class. In 1838, he was 
transferred from the support of the Seaman's Friend Society, to 
that of the American Board of Foreign Missions. He started 
in March of tliis year, with those apostolic missionaries, Rev. 
Messrs. Ckitzlaff and Medhurst, on a tour up the coast from 
Canton. They ascended the Min, four days journey, witliout 
opposition, but on the fifth day their course was arrested by 
hostile demonstrations from the natives. They were fired upon, 
and two of their company, which numbered eighteen souls, 
were wounded, and the attempt to proceed further was post- 
poned. The time had not yet come for that populous territory 
to be opened to the intercourse of foreigners, and they, the 
teachers of a new religion. They succeeded in retreating down 
the Min, and coasting along the shore; and, stopping where 
allowed, they distributed books and held such conferences with 
the natives as might promote their work. In Shantung, alone, 
in two days, they succeeded in distributing 1,000 volumes of 
religious works, and wherever they could come in contact with 
the people, not over-persuaded by the presence of suspicious 
officials, they found a readiness to entertain their message and 
receive their books. 

But the government were soon on the guard, and the move- 
ments of the missionary party Avere effectually arrested. Their 
voyage was the first ever made by missionaries along that coast 
for the purpose of evangelizing those teeming millions, without 
first conciliating them by the gift or sale of opium. On the 
temporary interruption of their labors, 3Ir. Stevens applied 
himself with very great success to the mastery idthe 31andai-in. 
the national language of China. 

In December, 1R:^(), he started on board the Ilimmaleh, lo 


visit several ot'tlie islands in the Indian archipelago, to examine 
the spiritual condition of the people and distribute among them 
such books as he might be able to induce them to take. In the 
j)rosecution of this pioneer missionary work, he touched at Sin- 
gapore on the 15th of the month. The fever of that climate 
suddenly seized him, and terminated his life, Jan. 5, 1837. 

His co-laborers in the field where he so prematurely fell, agree 
in testifjdng to his great worth. His loss was deeply felt by 
them. They had proved his great excellence. His scholarship 
and his deep-toned piety were alike needed, and they felt that 
the loss of them was irrepar.ablo. Their testimony of him is : 

'• He possessed a mature judgment and remarkable decision of clmi-actpr, 
« holy intrepidity in facing dangers that came in the path of duty. From 
his conversion, the Bible was his constant companion. 'Chiist, our rock, 
was pre-eminently his theme. Accuracy characterized him as a Chinese 
student. His knowledge of the Bible and critical study of it, marked him 
out as an invaluable assistant in the future revisions of the Scriptures into 
Chinese; and to this his own attention seemed to be turned." 

Todd, Ambeose Seymoue, D. D., son of Rev. Ambrose .tml 
Lavinia Todd, was born in Huntington, Conn., Dec. 6, 1798. 

He was ordained deacon iu the Episcopal church, July 15, 
1820, and priest, June 30, 1823, by Bishop Brownell, and insti- 
tuted rector of St. John's church, Stamford. For nearly forty 
years he remained in charge of the St. John's parish. With 
more than ordinary ability in the pulpit, he showed great tact 
and wisdom in his pastoral oversight of his charge. Few men 
have secured more universal esteem. Few pastors have won so 
much regard and confidence, at the same time, from both their 
own and other denominations. His death occurred here June 22, 

The following extract from the funeral adilress, delivered by 
Bishop Williams, is a fitting testimonial to his ministerial fidel- 
ity and success : 

"This ministry, with its trials and its cheer, our brotlier exercised f.iith- 
fuUy through more than twice a score of years, and— what is specially 
remarkable in these days of change— for almost the entire period in a .si.ngla 
cure. And he was permitted to live (o see great fruits spiiug from th 8' 

416 niSTOllY OF STAMFOliD. 

long-continued and faithful labors. What was the one cure, thirtj'-eigbt 
years ago, forms to-day five parishes, with seven churches and chapels 
duly consecrated, served— till he himself was removed — by seven clergy" 

"In this immediate parish, the humble edifice that iu the beRinning 
more than served its needs, has given place to this in which we meet to- 
da}'; and this has been once enlarged itself, and there is added to it now 
another house of God. Thirty-six years ago, the number of those who gath. 
ered to the Lord's table, iu all the cure, was ninety; to-day, the roll com- 
prises the names of near five hundred. 

These are some tangible and visible results, whose testimony comes be. 
fore us to-day, and whose witness is laid up on high. But, brethren, how- 
much more is there which is not written, which cannot be written here — 
which man's eye can never see, of which man's lip can never spealc, and 
which, after all, is the true aud liviug history of this, as of every other faith- 
ful pastorship ! The unwritten story of the spiritual lives of the genera- 
tion of this people that has passed away; the sermons preached; the 
baptisms and eucharists administered; the young trained and led on to 
confirmation; the sick visited and prepared for death; sinners pointed and 
brought to the blood of Jesus; the paston'l counsels, the priestly labors, 
the ministrations to the poor and the affiicted, the public service, and the 
work from house to house— what a history do all these make up -what a 
testimony do they bear 1" 

Nor is the following testimony, from the excellent tlisoourse 
preached on the Sunday following his death, by his assistant and 
successor, Rev. Walter Mitchell, less beautiful or illustrative 
of the character aud influence of the man : 

" Thirty-eight years are this day completed since he kuelt before tUa 
same altar where, thirty-six years before that, hts father had kuelt, to re- 
ceive, at the hands of Bishop Seabury, the commission to preach and to 
baptize. Thirty-eight years are this day fulfilled, during which his life has 
been all yonrown. Its story is better known to you than to me ; for what 
I have but heard, you — at least many of you — have seen and felt. Yet I 
may allude to facts, long since occurred, which may have passed from yonr 
m'-mories. .\t the time of his coming, the town of New Caanan was within 
the same charge, aud for one or two years it was his constant custom to 
mount his horse, at the close of the second service here, aud to ride over 
roads far less easy of travel than at present, to repeat his ministrations at 
that distant station. Iu addition to this, his cure extended over what is 
now Darien on the east and Greenwich on the west. And that was then no 
nominal labor. As I have gone with him unon his more distant visitings, 


there woulJ scarcely ba a house at which had he not at some time held ser- 
vices. For every funeral, almost every occasion at which believers were 
called together, was then held to be a fit time and place for the pastoral 
voice to be heard. Through the whole extent of this and the neighboring 
townships— a territory as wide as the Seeof many a primitive bishop — there 
is hardly a place not associated with his labors. 

During the period of his ministry, he preached more than four thousand 
five hundred times, exclusive of extempore addresses and funeral discour- 
ses ; ijerforraed over four hundred funeral services ; baptized over five hun- 
dred infant.s and more than one hundred adults, and presented for con- 
firmation three hundred and twenty-six persons. He also fulfilled the 
duties of Trustee of the General Theological Seminary and of the Berk- 
ley Divinity Seliool, at Middlotown, of this diocese, and represented the 
diocese as a delegate to the eventful Gr AiS^mbly of 1811. The de- 
gree of Doctor of Divinity was the same year conferred on him by Colum- 
bia College. He was the first to propose nnd to organize the county 
meetings of the clergy of Fairfield county, and to his efficient aid and 
coun.sel, they owed, for many years their success. 

Watekkuky, David, Jr., son of John and Susanna Water- 
bni-y was born in Stamford, Feb. 12, 1722. His prominence as 
o;u! of thy military actors in our revolutionary struggle will 
justify the space which our sketch of him must occnjiy in our 
town history. We probtxbly had several citizens engaged witli 
tiie patriots in that memorable contest, who in many respects 
were his superiors ; but he attained, and, as we are increasingly 
convinced, not without merit, a rank in the servii'c higher than 
an}'^' of them. 

That ho had already seen service in the Krench and Indian 
War has been elsewhere shown. That h;- was ready at tin," 
opening of the revolutionary struggle to enter heartily into the 
service of the patriot cause, is most abundantly evinced by the 
responsible military offices he accepted and honored. Our first 
introduction to him as a military officer in the revolutionary 
war. we lia\c through flic following letter from Gen. Lee : 

New Haven, Jan'ry ye IGth, 1773. 
SiK :— It is with the concern that I am informed you have re- 
ceived order.s to disband the men whom you had engaged. The important 
news from Canada renders it necessary that they should without loss of 
time be re-assembled. I must request therefore that you will imm3diately 


call 'em together. I will myself answer for the measure to the Coutineutal 
Congress. I entreat and conjure you therefore that they may bo re-enlisted 
and equipped for service with all po.ssible expedition. As to the arrange- 
ment of your officers you shall receive instructions before the men can bo 
assembled. lor God's sake lose no time. Every thing, perhaps the fate 
of America depends upon your expedition. 

I am sir, your most obedient servant, 

CHiiiLEs Lle, 
To Colonel Waterbury, Slam lord. Major General. 

Early in March we find Col. Wiitfrlmrv wiili his regiment 
recruited, and ready to march from Stamford. He preceded 
them l)imself to New York, to prepare for the coming action. 
The colonel finds at Kingsbridge a deputation of citizens, 
earnestly pleading with him not to enter the city, as the enemy 
had sworn to fire it, if revolutionary troops should be found in 
it. But the Connecticut men had enlisted for the fight, and 
under their leader they were not inclined to cede any part of 
the domain to the rule of King George's troops : and we ac- 
accordingly find him quartered in the upper of the city. 

On the sixth of March he is still in the city and is ordered to 
send down from the upper barracks, "Wni. Lounsbury and 
others confined there for spiking our guns beyond King's 
Bridge. Tliey were sent down, according to orders and on be- 
ing tried and found guilty were renuuiilcd to the same confine- 

We next lind liim at the head of his regiment, a thousand 
strong, leaving Ilarlaem the third Tuesday of Jul}', 17V5, for 
Albanj'. Augnst 28th, he embarks from Ticonderago for Isle 
aux Noi.x, fourteen miles below St. John, toward which the 
army were now moving. The object of the campaign was the 
permanent occnpancy of Crown Point and Ticonderoga, they 
having just been taken from the British, who had held posses- 
sion of both forts since the memorable campaign of 1759. 

On his return from his nortiiern expedition in January, 1776, 
Col. Waterbury was ordered by I'resident Hancock to raise 
five or six hundred men and go over to Long Island to capture 
tories who had refused to \ote for deimties to the convention 


to bu held in Xew York. It appears that whtni he haJ gutlierod 
his quota of men his orders were countermanded. A letter of 
the colonel is preserved in the American Archives to President 
Hancock, dated New York, Sept. 15, 1V75, asking for indem- 
nity for his expenses for the preparations then made. Though 
he seems not to have pursued the tories on the Island, he had 
done very efficient service among their sympathizers in West- 
chester county. Great complaint was made of his severity 
towards that class of traitors. He seems to have shown them 
no mercy. One of the reasons given by citizens in this vicinity 
for going over to the enemy was the excessive rigor of Colonel 
Waterbury. So Elisha Davis, of Greenwich, testifies for him- 
self, when he made a plea for the restoration of his estate. In 
February, 1770, Colonel Samuel Drake, of Westchester, made, 
an appeal for thirty guns, two pair of holsters, nine cutlasses, 
and three jjistols, which the officious colonel had taken from 
suspected citizens within his jurisdiction, by orders from Genera) 
Lee. The following testimony regarding the colonel bears date 
March 2, 1776, and shows us how jealous he was of every Iiin. 
di'ance to the progress of the Revolution: "Jos. Cheeseman, 
of Xew York, testifies tliat this day being on board a boat in 
Peck's Slip, he heard Col. Waterbury say that he had for some 
time thought that things would not go well unless the city of 
Xew Y'ork was crushed down, and that it must be done by their 
people before tilings would go well." (Am. Archives, vol. v.) 

That this sensitiveness to the toryism of the day did not dis- 
qualify the colonel for his military position, the following order 
shows : 

Cambkidoe, March 15, 177C. 

SiK : — You [lie to proceed with the regiment under your command to Nor- 
wich, in Connecticut. His excellency expects yo.t will preserve good order 
and discipline upon your march. , , , The general, depending upon 
your zeal, experience and good conduct, is satisfied that on your part no 
vigilance will be wanting. 
Col. D. Waterbury, jiiu. Hok.vtio Gates, Adjutant General. 

The following correspondence exhibits still further the esti- 
mate in wliich Colonel Watcrbnrv's services at this ))Priod were 
held : 


Lebanon- April 29, 1776. 

Siu :— D.vvid Wiiteiburv. jau., of Stauifuril, Esquire, Col. of ii regiment 
from Ibis colony iu tl;e northern department tLe last year, and nt the taking 
of St. Johns and Montreal, .ind lately iu the service at New York with 
major general Lee ; at all times behaved with bravery and honor. When 
you have a vacancy in the army answerable to his rank, I do heartily com- 
mend bim to your kind notice and regard. 

I am with great esteem and regard, sir, your obd. humble servant. 
To hii Excelleney Gen. Washington. Jona. Tkuitbull. 

New Yoek, May 13, 1776. 

S^lR :— Gov. Trumbull has been jileased to mention you to me as a proper 
person to succeed to the command of a regiment lately General Arnold's. 
If you incline to engage iu the service again, I shall be obliged to you for 
signifying as much, in order that I may lay the matter before congress for 
their approval. 

I am, sir, with great respect, your most obd. servant. 
To Colonel David Waterbury, of Stamford. Geo. Washixgtox . 

In bis reply to this proposal of Gen. Washington, the colonel 
eomplaius that he had not hitherto received the promotion which 
was his duo, and while he asked no farther commission, he 
pledges his readiness to vciluntcer his services ;ii any nionunt 
when they may be needed. 

The general assembly in their session of June, 17TG, appcjiiited 
Col. Waterbury a brigadier general " iu the battalions of mil- 
itia now to be raised to reinforce the continental army in 

On the 5th of July, at the head of the first division of the 
continental forces, he reached Xew York, sharing tlie command 
of that division with General Wadsworth. With all possible 
dispatch the men are hurried to the scene of the opening 
campaign on Lake George. 

The general himself reports from SkeensborouLjh, July tlie 
15th, where he is forwarding troops to Ticonderonra. as fast as 
they can come up. 

tfuder date of July isth. lis.' again writes to Wa-hiugtoa as 
follows : 

'•Deak Sin : I received your favor of the IGth, and your honor may rest 
assured that I shall execute the orders as f.iras liesiu my powor I would 


inform your honor there are no troops arrived j-et. I huve had intelligence 
of their being ou the march to this place, and I hope they will soon arrive. 
I have a small party now clearing out Wood Creek and a small party build- 
ing a place proper to keep a guard ou the hill east of the mill ; and the rest 
are employed in getting timber for the carpenters and mills, and on guard. 
I have not men sufficient to begin the fortifications ou the west side of the 
mill. Your honor will see by the returns that there are but few men here ; 
but what there are I shall eude.ivor to keap wall employed ; and as soon as 
others come in, I shall do the same by them. I have picked up all the 
axes, and the blacksmiths have overhauled them. I s'.iall stvnd in great 
need of tools on the arrival of troops. 

Sir, I shall with pleasure receive your orders as you sea cause to send 
them, and hope I shall be ahlo to put them iato execution agreeably to your 
honor's expectation. David Watekeury, jr." 

Fi'om this time, until earlj' in September, he remained here 
ill command, exorcising the utmost disj^atch in drilling and 
transmitting recruits. Plis labors must have been very great, 
us his letters and special dispatches of that period evince. A 
large number of these letters are preserved in the American 
Archives ; and it is not saying too much of them to claim that 
they show the general to have been an earnest patriot and a 
faithful servant of the people in that day of their great strug- 
gle. The only one of these letters which our space will allow 
us to itse is that of August 31st. It discloses both the humani- 
ty and the fidelity of the general. It was addrcs^L'd to his 
superior officer, General Gates. 

SiK : —Col. Woodbridge and his major have been dolaiued in this neigh- 
borhood fourteen days, in consequence' of having been iiiooulated_ and not 
bringing certificates that they were properly cleansed ; and they grow un- 
easy that they are kept back. I shall be glad to know if your honor intends 
I shall let them go forn-atd to Ticonderoga. If not I shall be f;lad to have 
some instructions how to act concerning them. 

I am, dear gnnnral, your honor's most obd. humble servant, 

Divin \VATERi3UK-i, Jr. 

Thattiie general was held in high tsieeui among the highest 
officers in the army is abundantly attested, by the army cor- 
respondence of that day. Under date of Aug. 7, 1770, General 
Sdiuyler thus writes to him from German Flats : 


"I thauk you lor your atteutiou, and the iuforiuutiou you fi,i\.\e. My 
long stay liere very much distresses me. It is however a great alleviatiou 
of my aaxiety you are at SkeausbDrough, aad I a Ji couti Jent you will 
expedite the work as much as possible. I am, dear general, sincerely your 
most obedient bumble servant, Phelip Schutlhb.'' 

I'ihUt date of Aui;-. IH, 17 TO, G.-itcs, tlieii in com- 
laaiid ut'tlu; northern army, thus commends and endorses Gen- 
ri;d Wateiliury : " As he is an able seaman and a brave officer, 
I inleiid that ho shall join General Arnold, with the rest of the 
st^uadron, the instant they can be armed and equipped. As 
General Arnold and he are upon the best terms, I am satisfied 
no dispute about command or want of confidence iu eacli other 
will retard the public service." 

And, again, Aug. 20th, General Schuyler thus writes to Gen- 
eral Gates : " I am extremely happy that General Waterbury 
is to join General Arnold. T know him to be a good man as 
well as a good officer."' 

General Waterbury was appointed, Sept. 2nd, second officer 
in the fleet under General Arnold, then in Lake Champlain ; 
and on the eighth, he started for Ticonderoga to take this new 
command. On the second of the following month he sailed 
from Ticonderoga with two galleys to join the fleet. 
I' On the fourteenth, a letter from Sir Guy Carleton to Lord 
Germain introduces General Waterbury to us as a prisoner. 
He ends his account of their victory with this exultation : " We 
have taken Mr. Waterbury, the second in command, one of their 
Ijrigadier generals." 

The following dispatches also show him to be a prisoner of 
war, yet show iu what esteem he is held by his superior in 

SAEATOci, Oct. 18, 1776. 

Sir :— General Waterbury, who is prisoner on his parole, is on his way 
irom Albany to Connecticut. I have advisad him to go directly from Al- 
bany to you. He is capable of |giving you that information you requested 
in your last favour to me. He is not only a brave and good officer, but a 
candid and honest man, uninfluenced by any unbecoming prejudices. He 
will also acquaint yon with our affairs at Tioonderogn. 

I.ATElt UIOGKArilY. 423 

lam, most respectfully, sir, your obedieut and very humble sermut, 
To the Hon. Jona. Trumbull. Ph. Schuyler. 

Oct. 23, 1776. 

General Waterbury has entreated me to recommend him to eongresa to 
ba exchanged for GBaeralMjDoaaU, or any othar o!B !er. I wUU it to be 
accomplished. Ph. Schuyler. 

To John Hancock. 

A lengthy letter from General Waterbury, dated Stamford, 
Oct. 24, 17V9, and addressed to President Hancock, giving his 
account of his capture, is preserved in the American Archives. 
The general was soon exchanged. I do not find that lie was 
afterwards in any special engagement, though he was contin- 
ued in command. 

He returned to his native town, where he was held in honor 
by his townsmen. He served the town as selectman, and as 
representative in the state legislature. His residence was on 
the west side of our harbor, where his business was that of a 

He died Juno 29, 1801, and was buried in the old burying 
lot, on the west side of Mill River. His widow, Mary, died 
iSov. 7, 1810, aged 77 years. They left one son, William, who 
was a man considerably in public business of the town, known 
as William Waterbury 4th. He left, also, one daughter, Mary, 
who died single, at twenty-si.x; years of age. 

Waterbury, Charles, son of Jonathan B. and Betsey (Weed) 
Waterbury, was born here, in November 1819. He learned the 
saddler's trade in Bridgeport, but on the opening of the Xew 
York and New Haven Railroad, he engaged in the service of 
the railroad as baggage master. He afterwai-ds served as bag- 
gage master, conductor and assistant superintendent on tlm 
Naugatuck road, until he was appointed, in 1843, its superin- 
tendent, which office he held until his death in 1868. Few men 
in these offices, have commended themselves more fully to the 
traveling public than he has always done. Modest and retiring 
in disposition, he was nevertheless a prompt and most efficient 
business man. Tlie Waterbury dust-excluding ventilator, which 

424 uisroKY of stamkoud. 

a few years ago added so much to the comfort of passengers 
over his road, during the sumnier months, vras his invention, 
and from the sale of the patent he realized a handsome sum. 
Mr. Waterbury was also an earnest christian man, and has been 
for years connected with the second Congregational church in 
Bridgeport. His funeral, which was attended in Bridgeport, 
on Sunday Sept. 6, iS08, M'as a marked tribute to his private 
and public worth. He married Cordelia Lockwood, of Green- 
wich, who survives him. They had no children. 

Charles Webb was the son of Charles and Mary Smith 
\Yebb, and was born here, Feb. 13, 1724. He became early 
prominent in civil .and military affairs, as tlie town records 
abundantly show. In 1757 he was chosen selectman for the 
first time, and was afterwards re-elected nineteen times. In 
1758 he was chosen for the first time to represent the town in 
the state legislature, and was re-elected to the same oflico 
twenty-three times. At this date he had become so promi- 
nent as to be entitled by vote to the third pew in the meeting 
house. He was also a military man, having attained, in 1760, 
the rank of captain. On the opening of the revolutionary war, 
he was at once looked to as one of the leaders of the town in 
opposition to the demands of the crown. We find him in the 
state legislature, and at home, speaking for the war; and when 
at length the war had been declared, we find him entrusted 
with posts of weighty responsibility, both in civil and militarv 

In May, 1775, he was sent by the Coutiuental Congress on a 
tour of military investigation to Ticonderoga, of which he made 
a satisfactory report on the 8th of June following. In July of 
tliis the legislature commissioned him colonel, and he is 
put in command of a regiment of the state militia, and is 
stationed at Greenwich. In September he is ordered to New 
Haven, and in Oct. 23, he writes from his camp. Winter Hill, 
that he has now prepared his command for any service to wliioh 
General Washington may call them. 


He was iu the battle of White Plains, Oct. 2S, where he won 
for himself the reputation of an excellent and bold officer. The 
following certificate from the colonel is preserved in the 
American Archives. 

HAKTFoiiD, Juue IG, 1777. 
" I hereby certify that in llie action at thu Wliite Plains, on rho 23th of 
October, 1776, the regiment then under my commimil, in obedience to my 
orders unslung and laid down their packs to engage the enemy ; and the 
enemy overposveriug and gaining the ground, said packs and the baggage 
of the regiment fell intc tUe haadd of thp enemy without the default of the 
ln,4ses and by the merit of t'.ie chance of wa". Webb, Col. 19 Regt. 
Considerable loss of clothing and ar.ns was sustained by the regiment 
under my command in the action and retreat on Long Island iu August 
1 ist, none of which, so far as came to my knowledge, appeared to happen 
thro any neglect or disobedience of orders of the loosers ; also on York Is- 
land Sept. 15, 1776, said regiment were ordered by Gen. Scott to unsling 
their packs to engage the enemy, which we did accordingly, and the enemy 
advanced ; and precipitate retreat being ordered, .said packs fell into their 
hands and without any neglect or cowardice of the owners, so far as I couM 

Hartford, .Jiiue^2, 1777." 

lie was also at the battle of White Marsh, December 1777, 
where his regiment received the attack of the Hessian force. 
The struggle was very spirited, and his regiment lost eighty- 
four killed on the field and a large number wounded. 

As an officer. Colonel Webb was marked for his promptness 
and efficiency. He was a strict disciplinarian. Thoroughly in 
sympathy with the revolutionary movement himself, he could 
accept nothing less than a whole-hearted earnestness in all who 
were engaged in its support. He tolerated uo patriotism which 
suspicion could touch. 

He married here, July 10, 1747, Mary Holly. Their children 
weri', Charles, born Dec. 30, 1750; Sarah, born May 2, 
1753; Hannah, born May 28, 1750; Samuel, born March 7, 
1760; and Isaac, born July 28, 1766. 

Th3 son Charles was with his father in the revolutionary 
army, and was killed on a gun boat in the Sound but a short 



distance from Stamford harbor. He had married here, Feb. 15, 
1772, Elizabeth Smith, and had a daughter, Betsey, born Oct. 
16, 1772. 

Weed, Cuaules A., son of Smith, and Mary (Youngs) 
Weed, was born in Stamford, May 13, 1826. He had been liv- 
ing in Richmond about nine years, when the southern rebellion 
opened, and had about fifteen thousand dollars invested in his 
business. As he would not renounce his allegiance to the govern- 
ment of the United States, the local authorities took possession 
of his property and gave him a few hour.« to leave the city with 
his family. He accepted the terms and removed his tamily 
again to Stamford, preferring even poverty, if it must be ?o, to 

When at length in the progress of our Union armies, Gen. 
Butler had taken possession of New Orleans and the surround- 
ing country, Mr. Weed was at liberty to avail himself of the 
advantages oifered to loyal citizens. He had been despoiled 
by the rebellion of his entire property, and the chance was now 
offered to him to wrest from the rebellion many times liis loss. 

He found on reaching New Orleans, in July, 1862, the large 
plantations of the neighborhood covered witli crops, which the 
fugitive planters had sown, now neglected and in danger of 
being utterly lost. Under governmental protection he went to 
the work of gathering in the crops. He hired the negroes who 
had been abandoned by their masters, giving to the govern- 
ment one half of tlie products secured, and abundantly indem- 
nifying himself for the loses he had sustained in Richmond. 

Since then he has been engaged in business in New Orleans, 
where he has had an extensive commission house under the 
firm of C. A. Weed & Co. His enterprise is also shown in 
other ways. He found the old New Orleans Crescent in a 
bankrupt condition, purcliased it, and substituting for it the 
New Orleans Times, lias built up the largest and one of tlie 
most successful newspaper enterprises of the South. He was 
also the original mover of the First National Bank of the citv. 



iiud the lai-gL'st stookholder in it. He was offered the presi- 
dency of it, but refused. He, also, projected the New Orleans 
Fire Insurance Company, which has also grown to 1)? an iri-iti- 
tntiou of great local value. 

Mr. Weed is now erecting a family residence on Xorotou iiill, 
one of the most commanding sites in his native town, which is 
to be for the pi-esent, the summer, and which he intends to make 
the permanent residence of his family. He married in 1826, 
Abigail S. Lounsbury, daughter of Samuel Lonnsbury, and has 
four children, three sons and one daughter. 

Weed, Edward, son of Philo and Abigail Weed, was 

born in the north part of the town, July 17, 1807. In 1817 his 
parents removed to the town of Denmark, New York, where 
from the frontier condition of that neighborhood, but few priv- 
ilges could be enjoyed. 

At the usual age he commenced learning a trade ; but on his 
conversion, in his eighteenth year, longing to do all in his 
power to win others to the Saviour, he left his trade and began 
studying in the hope of becoming a preacher. In two years 
he had fitted himself to teach, and engaged for the winter of 
1826-7 in a school in Boonville, N. Y. During this time he 
was very actively engaged in christian labors, and showed a 
zeal and skill which promised much future usefulness. The 
next summer he [^entered the Oneida Institute, then just estab- 
lished on the manual labor plan, where he remained four years. 
He spent also three years in Lane Seminary from its opening 
in 1832, when he showed himself an honest christian scholar. 

Among the questions discussed at the literary society of the 
students, that of anti-slavery forced itself upon their attention. 
It elicited the intensest interest, and became so engrossing as 
to excite the fears of the trustees of the seminary ; and they 
soon prohibited its further discussion. Several of the students, 
of whom Mr. Weed was one, left the seminary, and spent some 
time in the careful study ot the interdicted subject, and became 
henceforth zealous and effective champions of the slave. 


He was licensed to preach by tlje Chilicothe Presbytery in 
November, 18:35, and entered uijon tins work with a zeal al- 
most apostolic. He soon engaged in lecturing upon anti-slavery, 
and was employed by the Ohio State Anti-Slavery Society. In 
this field of Labor he was unwearied, through evil report as well 
as good, counting not his own life dear unto him, if by its sac- 
rifice he might help the oppressed. He labored on, amid op- 
position and ridicule and persecution, until the spring of 1838, 
when he was invited to the pastorate of the free Presbyterian 
Church of Mount Vernon, Ohio. Here he labored with great 
acceptance until the year 1842, when he accepted a call to Pat- 
erson, N. J. While connected with this church he labored ex- 
tensively as a revivalist in many other churches, and Avas 
greatly blessed. In January, 1842, he was, greatly to the sor- 
row of his church and people in Paterson, dismissed, that he 
might take charge of the free Presbyterian Church in Brooklyn, 
N. Y. He returned to his former charge in Paterson, after an 
absence of fifteen months, w\as installed and continued to labor 
among them until his health failed in the spring of 1849, and 
he was obliged to ask for a dismission. Hoping to recover his 
strength, he accepted a kind invitation from captain Knight, 
of the ship New World to take the ocean trip with him on his 
next voyage to Liverpool. While in England he made many 
warm friends who ministered to his comfort and supplied all his 
earthly wants. But no care from them and no solicitude of the 
dearer ones he had left behind, could arrest the progress of his 
disease. It was decided by his physicians that he could not 
long live, and he resolved to return and die among his friends 
at home. He reached home Dec. 22, 1850, and lived until Jan. 
20, 1851. On the 23rd he Avas buried in Paterson amid the 
tears of an affectionate family and an endeared people. He 
had been greatly beloved for his great excellence of character, 
and the mourning was now most heartfelt, because his great 
usefulness had so soon ended. 

Mr. Weed married for his first wife, Nov. 5. 1836, Phebe 
Mathews of Mexicoville, N. Y. She died Dee. 12, 1843. He 


married for his second wife, Sept. 9, 1844, a Miss Porter, of 
Wliitestown, who survived him. He had four children, to whom 
allusion is made in his memoir ; Benjamin, Josephine, Edward 
and Albert. 

Weed, En-os, was one ot the most erratic characters that 
Stamford has produced. He was the son of Enos. He was a 
man of considerable originality, thinking independently of 
books, and practicing, in everything, with no special regard to 
the rules or usages of customary practice. He went into med- 
.icine, and became somewhat noted as a medical adviser and 
practitioner, but, in his own way. He went into letters, and 
constructed a spelling book witli many novelties, botb in the 
alphabet employed and in the orthography. 

He went also into religion and theology. Following no school 
or sect, he struck out for himself, and became a preacher, whom, 
though the orthodo.x could not wholly endorse, they could 
not utterly condemn. It may be due his memory to note the 
fact that with all his eccentricity, he was counted worthy, in 
1790, of being appointed leader of the first ]\[ethodist class 
established in Stamford ; and tliat lie was an authorized local 
preacher in that denomination. 

A single specimen of his genius and spirit is here inserted, 
taken from an old paper to which he sometimes contributed, 
and probably nothing which the historian could write, would 
so effectually set this unique son of the town so exactly before 
the reader as this autobiographic waif: 

My nivme is Eoos Weed, and junior too, 

Which is something more. 
It shows that Weeds have grown before. 
Long ns you see this in the paper. 
From place to place I mean to caper. 
And pick up all the cash I can, 
Conforming to my present plan, 
How large the " pile" was, which his capers gathered, history 
does not show. 

Weed, Nathaniel, son of Ilezckiah and Rebecca (Knapp) 
Weed, was born in Stamford, Oct. 1, 1*785. He is a descend- 


ant probably iu the sixth generation from Jonas Weed, whose 
name occurs among the pioneers of the town. At the early age 
of fifteen years he went into Xew York city, where he engaged 
as clerk until he should become of age. Before this period 
arrived he had won such confidence in his business integrity 
and skill, as to secure flattering offers to engage in new business 
enterprises ; but he characteristically decided to fulfill his 
engagements with his employer to the end of his minority. 
When his time was out and he had enjoyed a visit to his 
parents for a lew davs, his former employer proposed engaging 
him still longer, a^ a clerk. His prompt answer was, " I shall 
be no man's clerk hereafter. I can manage for myself, and if it 
must be, with a buck and saw, 1 can still do better than to clerk 
it longer." With this spirit he entered the dry goods business, 
and success was with him. 

In 1827 he was chosen president of tlie North River Bank^ 
and soon organized the Ocean Bank, of which he was for years 
president, and which he left in 1850, greatly to the regret of the 
directors. He still has among the cherished memorials of his 
business life the elegant vase which they gave him on his re- 
tirement from that office. 

Retaining his interest in the town which gave him birth, he 
built the elegant mansion which he still occupies in Darien, only 
a few rods east of the place on which he was born. Here, since 
1850, he has lived, respected and honored in a graceful old age. 

He married, first, Hannah Smith, of New York city, in 1810, 
by whom he had a son, Harvey A., who graduated with first 
honors of his class in Columbia College, New York, and became 
a lawyer ; and a dauglite.i, Caroline, who died at the age of 

Mr. Weed married for his second wife, in 1840, Mrs. Mary 
(Smith) Weed, a younger sister of his first wife, and the widow 
of his younger brother. 

Weed, Samuel, son of Ananias and Sally (Brown) Weed, was 
born it Stamford in 1794. He fitted for college at the North 




Salem Academy, and entered Yale College in 1809. He grad- 
uated with his class in 1813, taking a good stand in a class con- 
laiuing such names as Geo. E. Badgor, L. L. D. ; Elias Cornelius, 
D. D., of whom he was the room mate while in college ; Norris 
Bull, D. D. ; David B. Douglass, L. L. D. ; William T. Dwight, 
D. D. ; Profl Alexander, Wm. Fisher, Cliarles Hawley, Esq. ; 
Augustus B. Longstreet, L. L. D. ; Elislia Mitchell, D. D. ; Prof. 
Denison Olmsted, L. L. D., and Dr. George Sumner. 

He commenced the study of theology with Rev. Ebenezer 
Philips, of East Hampton, L. I., and after being licensed to 
preach, supplied the church in Babylon, L. I., for a year. While 
here he received a call to settle in North Stamford, his native 
parish, and had decided to accept it. Being already under ap- 
pointment to the general assembly of the Presbyterian Church 
at their first session in Philadelphia, he started to attend tlie 
meeting and was taken with the sickness from which lie never 
recovered. He died in Philadelphia in June, 1820. 

Weeks, Jonathan Dibble, was the son of Lewis and Sarah 
(Guire) Weeks, and was born in Stamford, Feb. 2, 1811. His 
youth was spent in comparative poverty. His advantages 
were only those of the poorer boys of our poorer rural school 
districts. But he had in him that which gives the poorest boy 
a certain passport to most substantial prosperity and wealth. 
Industrious, honest and persevering, he was equally faithful to 
himself and his employer. 

The talent entrusted to him, thus faithfully used, was soon 
more than doubled. Beginning as an apprentice in the rolling 
mills at Rippowam foundry, he went, at about the age of 
twenty, into the employ of Davenport & Layton, at Roxbury 
mills, where he soon became an equal partner with John A. 

During his apprenticeship, by unwearied application, he had 
made such progress in his studies that he had read the neces- 
sary Latin and Greek for admission to college at his twentieth 
vear; and had, also, bv his industrv and econorav, besides con- 


tributiug to the support of his father's family, laid by what ho 
supposed would euable him to take a collegiate course, prepara- 
tory to the study of law, in which profession he hoped to spend 
his life. But unexpected sickness thwarted this cherished plan, 
and regretfully, yet with earnest purpose, ho still gave himself 
to the business which Providence seemed to appoint him. After 
a successful career at the Koxbury mills he became joint part- 
ner with the Davenport Brothers, in the extensive rolling mills 
at Stillwater. Here he spent the rest of his life. In the duties 
of his extensive business, whose business was mainly entrusted 
to his care, and in quiet and private acts of his noble generosity, 
he accomplished great good. 

He was universally beloved by the many laborers who were 
in his employ. They were all mourners when he died. Multi- 
tudes of the poor of his native town were the objects of his gen- 
erous benefactions. He seemed most pleased in giving, and, to 
those who most needed it. 

He never married, but he found or made for himself a home 
in the family of his younger brother, James William, where he 
found all that he wanted in a home. Here he enjoyed himself, 
and here he was the joy of those whom he spoke of as liis own 
family. Nothing could fempt him to leave it. For the last 
eleven years of his life he had not spent a night away from the 
home ho so much loved. 

Here he gave himself to his business aud reading. In both 
he was diligent and thorough. Every hour was employed, and 
well employed. His reading was carefully selected. He could 
not be entertained by the fashionable light literature of the day ; 
he needed something more substantial. Historj', biography, 
philosophy and science, were the works which engrossed liis 
time, and in them his reading was quite extensive 

Two characteristics prominent in his whole life, made him one 
of the most beloved and trustworthy men of the town. He was 
conscientious and benevolent. After he had reached manhood, 
learning that a school bill of his boyhood had never been paid, 


lie carefully enquired after every possible arrearage of those 
early years, and cashed them with full interest. His beuevo- 
leuco was unbounded, and much of it was unknown. Though 
he gathered a handsom9 estate, he had, while living, the ti-uer 
joy of distributing in benefactions, wliere he knew they would 
do good, probably a still larger amount. 

His sudden death occurred Jan. 21, 1864, and the multitudes 
wlio gathered at his funeral were the best witnesses a good man 
could have, to the esteem in wliich he was held. TJuaffeeted 
and universal mourning attested the public bereavement. 

Welles, Noah, D. D, was born in Colchester, Jan. 23, 1718, 
and graduated at Yale College in 1741. His scholarship is in- 
dicated in his appointment as tutor in his Alma Mater in 1745. 
After receiving his license to preach he was settled as pastor of 
the Stamford Churcli, as our chapter on ecclesiastical matter.^, 
shows, Dec 31, 1746. We liave already in our history been 
obliged to report his success in the work of the ministry here. 
He attained a high rank among tlie ministers of Connecticut, 
He was chosen a Fellow of Yale Coliege in 1774, and received 
the degree of D. D., the same year from the College of New 

Dr. Dwight thus testifies to his ability and standing. 

" Dr. Welies was early distiuguisbed for his talents. His imagiuatiou 
was vivid aud poetical, his intellect vigorous, and his learning extensive. 
His miiuuers at the. same time were an unusually happy compound of 
politeness and dignity. la his conversation, he v\m3 alternately sprightly 
and grave, as occasion dictated and entertaining and instructive. At the 
same time he was an excellent minister of the Gospel ; exemplary in all the 
virtues of christian life ; an able preacher ; a wise ruler of the church ; and 
an eminently discreet manager of its important concerns. Ha was one of 
the three chosen friends of the late Governor Livingston of New Jersey, to 
whom he addressed, when young, a haunsomely written poem, prefixed to 
his rhilosophic Solitude." 

Dr. Welles was somewhat fond of theological controversy. 
And as his ministry was in that period in which Episcopacy 
was working its way into the colonies, and particularly into 
Fairfield County, lie felt himself called upon, in virtue of his 


office here, to delend the church organization to wliich he was 
attached. His discourse on Presbyterian ordination, printed 
in 1763, at the new printing office, near the Royal Exchange, 
by John Hoyt, was an able justification of his authority as 
a minister of the church of Christ. It had been pi-eached on 
two successive Sabbaths to bis own ])cople. Subsequently, lie 
published a still more lengthy, and perhaps still more spirited 
defense of the authority of the Congregational clergy, and of 
the polity of the Congregational Church. Though earnestly 
entering into their discussions, he was never diverted by them 
from the great work of his profession ; nor was his spirit ever 
soured by them towards the Episcopal clergy or the denomina- 
tion. The work just named stirred up considerable denonina- 
tional feeling among the Episcopal clergy, and called forth from 
the earliest clergyman of that denomination here, the Rev. James 
Wetmore, a work of some spirit entitled ; " A Vindication of the 
Professors of tlie Church of England in Connecticut, against 
Invectives contained in a sermon by Xoah Hobart, of Stamford, 
Dec. 31, 1746." Tlie name Hobart in the title of the work is of 
course a mistake of the printer, for Welles. (See Wctmoro 

Dr. Welles, married in 1751, Abigail Woolsey, daugliter ot 
Rev. Benjamin Woolsey, of Oyster Bay, by whom he had the 
following children : Sarali, born Xov. 9, 1752 ; Mary Sylvester, 
born Oct. 20, 1754; Theodosia, born Oct. 22, 1758; Abigail, 
born Oct. 1\ 1760; Noah, born Oct. 3, 1762; Betsey, born 
Feb. 23, 176^ ; Rebecca, born July 5, 1767; William, born 
Jan. 22, 1769- Melancthon Woolsey, born Dec. 9, 1770; 
.\pollos, born Oct. 10, 1773; John and James, twins, born 
April 7, 1776. )r. Welles died Doc. 31, 1776, and his wife 
Oct. 28. lSll,an;e' Rl. 


Tins is one of tlit- oldest institutions ot the town, iiud de- 
serves its place in our history. Its charter bears date, Nov. 
18, i7C3 ; and was issued liy "Geo. Harrison, Esq., Provincial 
Grand Master of the most Ancient and Honorable Society of 
Free and Accepted Masons in the province of New York." It 
authorizes Sylvanus Waterbury, " our worshipful and well be- 
loved brother," " to form a lodge, to choose his wardens, and 
appoint other officers, with the consent of the brethren assem- 
bled in due form, to make masons, as also to do all and every 
such acts and things appertaining to said office, as usually have 
and ought to be done by other masters." He is to pay over 
to the Provincial Grand Lodge at New York, out of the first 
monies he shall receive, three pounds and thi-ee shillings ster- 
ling, to be applied to the use of the Grand Charity. This lodge 
was designed for Stamford and Horseneck, (Greenwich.) and 
parts adjacent. 

The records of the lodge from 176:! to 1780 are lost, the only 
name of the members for that period, preserved, being that in 
the charter, Sylvanus Waterbury. Since then there have been 
four hundred and sixty names added to the membership. 

The worshipful masters of the lodge, according to the records 
preserved have been, Sylvanus Waterburj', John Anderson, 
Israel Knapp, Jabez Fitch, Wm. Bush, Isaac Reed, Sturges 
Perry, Samuel Bush, Noyes Mather, Alexander Mills, James 
Stevens, Isaac Lockwood, Samuel Keeler, Simeon H. Minor, 
Benj. Iluested, Isaac Bishop, Charles Hawley, Erastus Weed. 
John "W. Lcods, fourteen yc.nrs: Peter Brown. Sands jVdams. 


A. A. Holly, ninetcon \u>:irs ; W. 11. Holly, Koswcll Hoyt, H- 
Bulkley, Philip L. Hoyt, T. J. Daskam , John A. Scofickl, JameS 
H. Olm^toad. and Dwight Waugh. 


This chapter of royal arch masons was chartered at a giand 
eliaptcr of royal arch masons held in New Haven, Oct. 18, 
1810, on a memorial presented to them by Jawes Steveks niid 
sundry other brethren, now residing in, and adjacent to, Stam- 
ford. The officers installed by the chapter are the most wor- 
shipful brother James Stevens, H. P. ; the right worshipful 
brother, Isaac Lockwood, K-g. ; and the right worshipful 
brother Ezekiel Lockwood, S-e. 

The high priests of this order have been: James Stevens, 
Isaac Lockwood, Simeon H. Minor, Joseph Keeler, Wm. J. 
Street, Charles Hawley, John W. Leeds, Nathan Cnmp, Wm, 
Holly, Smith Scott, Geo. B. Glendining, Luke A. Lcckwcod, 
and James H. Olmstcad. 

At this day we have no conception of the difficulties connect- 
ed with travel in the early period of our history. 

For many years the travel was on foot or on horseback; and 
the roads were only meandering paths, such as afforded easiest 
progress for the weary feet. For many years they were marked 
hardly more than to clear ofi' the trees and bushes, and this 
was done by each landowner before his own lot. How rapidly 
these paths or roads were laid out we have no means of know- 
ing. One peculiarity of the highw ay of that early day was the 
fact of a gate across the road, wherever a side road entered 
the main one of the settlement — so that for several years, one 
could not probably have traveled a half mile in any direction 
from the center of the town, without meeting one of tlieso 
gates. After a few years, by special action in town meeting, 
these gates were removed, generally on petition of some of the 
outsiders who found them a serious annovanee. 


The following vote of 28th, 2d month, 1682, is it sample of 
the votes providing for the support of these highway gates : 

"Joseph Stevens is to have on acre and half of land joyuinp; to yenoi-tU 
of his lot in consideration whereof ho is to keep and maintain ye lower 
south field gate; and ye sJ land is bound for ye maintaining thereof, Also 
the sd Stevens is to keep & maintaine ye rocky neck gate for ye same 
quantity of land yt before wa-i laid to it & ye land to stand bound for ye 
gate as aforesaid: goorlin.xu Dean & Joshna Hoit arc apoiutcd to lay It 

The following vote is cuvioiH, as showing how even the 
great coast-ronte thoroughfare must have been subject to a 
similar obstruction. It bears date, Jan. 1764. " By vote yc 
town doth own the prosecution yt hath bine made upon ye 
state of John Pettit or ye fins for the deffects in a pece of fence 
by Grinwich bars, markt I P, and neglected by him, viz. John 

These gates, bars and fences across the roads were found 
e.YCcedingly troublesome ; and when other reasons could not 
induce their removal, resort was sometimes had to the strong 
arm. Thus, in 1720, we find this record : "the town by vote 
agree that they will stand by and justify those men that have 
been employed by the proprietors to pull down the fence that 
was set up across the highway near Thomas Stevens." 

Without prosecuting the research farther, it is due at least 
to the entertainment of future readers of our town history, that 
we attempt to sketch the final touches to the great thorough- 
fare of the town. From the first, the route between New 
Haven and New York ran through Stamford, mainly where 
the main road now lies. Yet, from local impediments, it was 
much more crooked, than now. Our engineering skill had not 
yet come to test its ability, in the encounter with very formi- 
dable granite bluffs, nor with what seemed the bottomless 
mai-shes and impenetrable swamps of our impracticable sur- 
face. And so it happened, that as business grew, and demand- 
ed greater expedition, — as wheeled carriages succeeded eques- 
t rian or pedestrian locomotion, and felt more than they, thcBo 


<leviatioiis ti-o'.u a right-liued course, our enterpiisLng towiis- 
uifn gave themselves no rest until they had done what 
seemed to them possible, townnls leveling; and straitening; 
their roads. 

Especially on those roads built for the daily passing of tlie 
heavy stage coach, did this improvement seem indispensable. 
Such was our main road through Stamford. The entire popu- 
lation in Eastern Connecticut, and so on all the way to Provi- 
dence and Boston, were interested then as now, in shortening 
the distance and the time over the route. They had succeeded 
in satisfying themselves with the old roads until about 1795, 
when the call for thorough improvement began to be heard. 
The state legislature appointed commissioners, with almost ab- 
solute authority, to go over the road and lay out a new turn- 
pike for greater expedition ia travel. All along on the road 
between New Haven and Greenwich, there arose dissatisfaC' 
tion and opposition. In Stamford there seems to have been no 
very earnest objection to the route adopted by the committee 
until, in their zeal for reform, they decided that the interest of 
the traveling public demanded a strait road through the vil- 
lage. But here they found themselves arrested by the old 
burying lot which, from the earliest remembrances of the towns 
people, had been held sacred for the rest of their dead. This 
lot covered the ground between the old " Washington House,'" 
or Webb Tavern, and the corner occupied by the Methodist 
Church ; and the old turnpike had followed the present route of 
Park Place till it enters River street. The enterprising com- 
mittee insist on laying out the new turnpike right across that 
hallowed spot. The town opposed, and for years kept the com- 
mittee and the legislature at baj-. But the world moves on 
and by 1805, enough of our townsmen had been drawn into 
the current to approve and second the measure. John Daven- 
port even took stock in the sacrilegious enterprise, and we find 
his name at the head of a petition for the summary and au- 
thorative opening of the desired road. The town oppose and 
the corporation persevere. The legal authority is granted, and 


the iuvasio ii begins. Entering the burying lot, just south of the 
east end of our present Park Place, they plowed strait across, 
as the present Main street runs, to the Methodist Church, 
where they again entered the old turnpike. Removing care- 
fully the grave stones and e.\huniing the remains beneath, they 
commence the thorough grading of the new road. In spite 
of the mutterings, which betokened serious hostility to the 
daring act, the corporation go on in their work. Night over- 
takes them, and they are obliged to rest. But now is the time 
for the opposition. Team after team of Stamford oxen, sturdy 
and true to the sturdy and true men who drove them, filed on 
towards the newly opened road. Immense rocks were hauled 
right across both ends of the opening ; and when " Uncle 
Thad," the same who thirty years before bad so delight ed his 
townsmen by shaking his tory neighbor, was satisfied that the 
turnpike corporation would have a job sufllciently discouraging 
to remove the obstructions, the men and teams were withdrawn 
to rest for another night's work, if it should be necessary. 

Twice more this game was played, but the influence of the 
age and the strong arm of the law were alike against it, and 
the opposition of the town had to yield. The road was fin- 
ished ; but the feeling of some of the opposition, at the head of 
whom were such leaders of the people as Captain Isaac Lock- 
wood and Captain Thaddeus Hoyt, was so deep, that no pres- 
sure of business could ever prevail on them to drive over tliose 
few rods of what, to the day of their death, they looked upon as 
desecrated ground. 


In April, 181^9, Stamford took a new step forward in her 
progress. A printing office was opened here and the Stamford 
Intelligencer was issued. The editor not succeeding to his sat- 
isfaction, "VVm. II. Holly, Esq., at the solicitation of some of the 
citizens of the town, and under a pledge of pecuniary support , 
started a new paper, Feb. 16, 1830, under the title of the Stamford 
Sentiml From that dnte to the ])resent, the town has no^ 


been without its weekly paper. Mr. Holly continued in charge 
of the paper under the title of " Sentinel," •' Democratic Senti- 
nel" and " Farmer's Advocate," until June 27, 1841. It is not 
too much to say for the paper that its management was marked 
by great ability. As a pioneer paper, few of its day equaled it. 

Alfred "W. Pearce succeeded Mi-. Holly, under whose editor- 
ial care it continued until Sept. 29, 1841, when Henry Nichols 
succeeded him. The last paper issued by Mr. Nichols, which 
I have found, bears date March 26, 1842, and in June of the 
same year the " Farmers and Merchant's Advocate" was issued 
under the editorial management of the former editor, Wm. 
Henry Holly. 

In Ma3', 1848, Edgar Hoyt and Andrew J. Smith took charge 
of the paper, and enlarged with the simple title of the "Stamford 
Advocate," which it has since retained. On the dissolution of 
the copartnership between Mr, Hoyt and Smith in June, 1849, 
Mr. Hoyt assumed full control of the Advocate until 1860, 
when Wm. S. Campbell, who proved an efficient editoi-, became 
proprietor. There were few papers in the state more ably man- 
aged, than the Advocate, while in his hands. He soon took 
into partnership with himself, Wm. W. Gillespie, the foreman 
in his printing department. On his death, Mr. Gillespie formed 
a new partnership with Rev. James J. Woolsey, which was dis- 
solved in the spring of 1868. Mr. Gillespie immediately organ- 
ized a new firm, W. W. Gillespie & Co., introduced steam as 
motive power, and greatly enlarged his facilities for carrying on 
alldepartments of his business. How satisfactorily the paper is 
managed,'and how necessary it is found to be to the town are 
seen in the iucreasing subscription list, this liaving more than 
trebled during^the last three years. 


As early as 1825, the Oliver Wolcott was put on the Stam 
ford line, and for years made trips every other day to New 
York. But the town has been mainly supplied by boats which 
touched here on the route from ports further east. In the 


spring of 1819, the Steamboat Norwalk, runiiiiig between Xor- 
walk and New York stopped at Stamford. And since then, 
successively, the Ella, and Stamford, and Shippan, have done a 
large part of the freighting between Xcw York and Stamford. 
At first, at low tides, the boats landed on the west side of the 
harbor, but a short distance above the present residence of our 
venerable deacon Theodore Davenport; but in 1856, the 
brothers Knapp — James E., of New York, and John B. of 
Richmond Hill, opened the channel to their new dock at the foot 
of South street, to which point the boats have continued to run 
until now. For several summers, the only steamboat which 
accommodated Stamford stopped at PortchestCr. 


This work was due mainly to the energy of Alfred l>isho}>. 
(See Later Biography.) It was deemed the beginning of bet- 
ter days for the town, when in 1833, this feat was accomplished. 

The first sloop which cleaved its waters was our " May- 
flower," and we may be sure its young captain, not yet among 
our oldest citizens, Rufus Wardwell, Esq., felt no little pride as 
he pioneered our local commerce. Those warehouses which 
lined the terminus of the canal, were doubtless looked upon as 
the beginning of no slight commercial prosperity. But a 
readier avenue to the great commercial center was destined at 
no distant day to be opened; and our commercial warehouses 
were doomed to decline into the work shops and low tenements, 
wliich we shall have to await the coming of a better time to 

Two years after it was opened, our local paper, the Sciituief, 
thus speaks of its possibilities: 

" Tbrongh the perseverance of a siugle iiidiviJual, a sliip obaanel has 
bten opened, and the enterprising Messrs. Wm. and E. Hoyt & Co., have 
despatched the schooner James Star with a fall freight for the West Indies, 
The value of this canal to this vicinity, is not yet fully realized, but every 
day unfolds to the slieptio new evidences of its utility. 

The schooner in due time, about si.>: weeks, returned, " nine 
days from Eleuthall, well laden with fruit, copper, dye woods, 



ifcc, in-ijviiig a protitabk uxporimeiit fur tla' atlvc'iit,uri'rs." Tlio 
editor acknowledges his obligations to the captain fur a hand- 
some present of pine apples. 


Joseph B. Hoy t and Joseph D. Warren in the winter of 18(37-8, 
conceived the plan ot opening a permanent ship canal, from the 
harbor up, so as to connect easily with the railroad. They ac- 
cordingly purchased the needed land, controlling both sides of 
the proposed canal, and entered, in the spring of 1868, upon the 
work. Beginning in the bed of the old canal, about sixty rods 
below the Depot of the New York and New Haven Railroad, 
they are digging some nine feet below the present bed of the 
yanal and opening a channel, down to the harbor, eighty feet 
wide ; making as they go, solid land as far as the material thus 
removed will extend, on each side of the channel, for building 
and business uses. When successfully completed, this enter- 
prise promises a large addition to the facilities which the town 
will offer, for mechanical and manufacturing purposes. 


'I'liat was a new and exciting day for uur (piiet villagers, 
when in 184-t, a special town meeting was called to consider 
the petition of the Housatonic Railroad Company for a road from 
Bridgeport to Byram river along the Long Island shore. The 
town came together May 7th, and after considering, variously, 
the strange proposal, agree, with a singular unanimity, in favor 
of the road, aud instruct their representatives in the assembly 
to favor it. But, as is the fate with most novel enterprises, this 
was doomed to delay ; and the restive and ambitious citizens 
of the town had to wait four years more for the fulfillment of 
their desire. But the fulfillment came, and when, in 1848, the 
great thoroughfare between Boston and New York was oi)ened, 
under date of Dec. 19th of that year, we find in the Stamford 
.Ulvocnte, then edited by Edgar Huyt, Esq., the following 
graphic note on the wonderful event ut tlie first appearance of 
the iron liorsc amonu' us ; 


"The citizens of the village, as well as the horses, cattle, &a., were 
nearly frightened out of their propriety ou Wednesday afternoon last, at 
about five o'clock, by such a horrible scream as was never heard to 
from any other than a metallic throat. Animals of every description went 
careering round the fields, snuffing the air in their terror, and bipeds of 
every size, condition and color, set ofl.' at a full run for the railroad depot. 
In a few moments the cause of t he commotion appeared in the shape of a 
locomotive, pufl'ing ofl' its steam and screaming with its so-called whistle at 
a terrible rate. Attached to the locomotive were a lumber and a passenger 
car, and the latter, wo believe, is one of the most splendid description now 
in use on any road in this country. » * • They have not yet com- 
menced running regularly to this place, and it is not probable that they 
will do so until the road is finished to New York, which will probably be 
about the latter part of the present week or the first of next." 

iiy January 1st the road liail been completed, and the year 
1849 was inaugurated by what was deemed a great marvel, the 
ai:tual transit of three trains, daily, the whole distance from 
Xcw Haven to New York and back again. Tlic trial trip had 
been made on Monday, Dec. 25, and a single passage, in the 
account of that trip, from the pen of William IT. Holly, Esq., 
who was one of the honored passengers of the occasion, is worth 
preserving in our history of the times : 

" The train had to remain at Coscob Bridge some three hours for the 
last rails to be laid over it, and the delay gave ample opportunity to the 
surrounding people to come in and witness the wonderful feat. The gen- 
eral impression among them seemed to be, that the first train that attempt- 
ed to cross this elevated pass would also be the last. All sorts of old 
women's stories to frighten tlie children had been puc in circulation re- 
garding the safety of this bridge, and many a spectator expected to see our 
splendid locomotive, elegant car, and confiding attendants and passengers 
plunged into the deep below. 

Ten minutes before two o'clock, P, M., Mr. JLison, chief engineer of the 
company, gave the word, 'all ready.' Our prancer was let loose. Every 
skeptic's heart rose to his mouth. Breathless anxiety pervaded the multi- 
tude on each shore. The train moved majestically along and the next min- 
ute the western shore received its ponderous weight, and the welkin rang 
with the shouts of the congregated people." 

Probably no event in the history of Stamford has liad more 
to do in shaping the future of the town than the oi^ening of thi.s 
great tlinmughfare. Very soon after the road was built, all 


fears of an unfavorable result upon the prosperity of tlie town 
were dissipated. We were soon seen to have been made a sub- 
urb of the great oitj\ Our talent could find a much readier 
field for its use in the city, and the wealth and talent of the city 
a much more attractive home here. The sons of Stamford who 
had previously been wont to go to the city to make their for- 
tunes, could now return to invest and enjoy them here. Xow, 
and hereafter, without changing their residence for a week, our 
sons can avail themselves of all the aid which the city can give. 

The following postscript in the Stainford Sentinel of June G, 
1836, may indicate how much we may liave gained, in time at 
least, from this iron track : 

" Just arrived, sloop Mary Flower, Bell, nine, days from New York, via. 
Cow Bay, where she was detained by the inspector of the weather. Hands 
all well, but rather meager in countenance for want of fresh provisions and 
ordinary exercise. Left New York, where it formerly stood. Business 
brisk. Spoke two hundred vessels or moie bound up, awaiting favorable 

And what gain the railroad has made upon its own beginning, 
we shall easily see in comparing the time table of 1849, with its 
three daily trips, with that of 1868, furnishing lis with thirteen. 
Xor is it foreign to oui- record to add, that much of this marked 
progress has been due to the long and successful superinten- 
deney of our townsman, the lion. James H. Hoy t. 


This jiew enterprise was chartered in 1867, with a capital of 
|!100,000, with the privilege of increasing it to $200,000. 
Its track was so far completed that an excursion train 
was run over it, July 4, 1868. Already we have evidence 
of the stimulus which this road has given to the north east part 
of Stamford, as well as to the business of Xew Canaan, by 
wliOFC capital and for whose special interest it was mainly built. 


In the meeting of the society, held Dec. 24, 1747, a commit- 
tee consisting of Col. Jona. Hoyt, Capt. Jona. Maltby and Mr. 
Abraham Davenport was appointed " to seek a proper place for a 
burying ground and purchase it at the society's cliargc. 


This is the first record of any action taken by tlie town re- 
yarding places of burial. For more than a century the main 
question in choosing a place for the graves of a family had been, 
where is the most convenient place. Much was made of the 
funeral service, but little lieed was given to the place of sepul- 
ture. Accordingly, all over town, we find the scattered graves 
of the departed generations — the number of society and neigh- 
borliood and family burying grounds on the old territory hav- 
ing increased to nearly one hundred ; and during tlie first cen- 
tury, the number of single graves, opened in places now 
unmarked and unknown must have been very much greater. 
With literal truth we live and tread among the graves 
of the former generations. Our principal street opened 
its way through thick graves. Our middle aged citizens re- 
member the little hill just east of the Methodist church, where 
slept the remains of several generations of our departed. This 
was undoubtedly the spot chosen iu 1747, as above, for the 
town burying ground. At that time the town street at the 
center of the plot where the Congregational meeting house 
stood, turned to the north west, making what is now Park 
Place, and then turning to the nortli, up to what is now Broad 
street, crossing Theal's Bridge and so over Palmer Hill to- 
wards Greenwich. When Main street was straitened, by order 
of the committee of the assembly, it entered the burying lot at 
the east end of where our west Park is, and crossed it to the 
corner where the Metliodist Church is, leaving two small bury- 
ing lots on each side of a street four rods in width. As late as 
1807, the town grant permission to the citizens of Stamford 
old Society to fence in the burying ground between the house 
of Enoch Hoyt and Andrew Newman, reserving two rods each 
side of the old cart path through the burying ground, as laid 
out by the assembly's committee. If, however, they should 
find tlio road running through Enoch Hoyt's garden, thence 
west over the burying ground, they were to proceed no further. 
.\fter tlie road was opened, and it was done by the strong 
han<l, we find a vote authorizing Isaac ami Enocli Lockwood 

4+0 riisTonv of sTA^rroRD. 

Isaac Wanlu-ell ;\n(l Isaac Iloyt ami assoc-iatos, to ll'iicc in tin- 
Imrying gi-oiiml north and south ot the; turnjiikf, and the 
ground to bu used for nothing but burying lots. Some twenty 
years later, the remaining grave stones were removed to the 
burying lot on Xorthfield street, and tlie old hill leveled, tlic 
clinrch being removed across Park Place to the corner. 

But a new order, we trust, lias inaugurated in the open- 

This beautiful rural cemetery occupies a portion of what, in 
tlie earlier records of our town, was denominated Rocky Neck 5 
and still later, the " Uplands." To the east and south, it lies 
on the cast cove of our harbor, and under the skillful engineer- 
ing of Mr. Hathaway, it is fast becoming one of the points o^ 
attraction in the town. The tract of about forty acres had been 
purchased for this use by an association of gentlemen, who 
organized themselves for the purpose, in August, 1850. The 
entire stock of the association, $20,000, was subscribed by si.\.ty- 
three citizens of the town, and they chos for tiieir first official 
board tlie following gentlemen: President, Charles Williams : 
Treasurer, William Skiddy ; Secretary, H. M. Humphrey, 
Directors, George L. Brown, Wells R. Ritch, William Pitt, 
Henry Taff, J. B. Hoyt, Theodore Davenport, .Tames L. Lock- 
wood, Oliver Hoyt, and George A. Hoyt. 

Tnder tlieir direction the grounds, substantially enclosed, 
were skillfully laid out by their engineer, B. F. Hathaway, and 
so far worked as to authorize a formal dedication of the ceme- 
tery, July 29, 1861. The following gentlemen participated in the 
exercises of the dedication : Prayer by Rev. P. S. Evans, and 
reading of the Scriptures by Rev. Win. C. Hoyt. Rev. J. S. 
Dodge furnished an original hymn — which was sung. Rev. 
;Mr. Weed, of the Methodist Church, and Rev. Mr. Francis, of 
the Universalist Church, made appropriate addresses. Rev. 
Mr. Mitchell, of the Episcopal Church, read a poom, and the 
lion. Wm. T. Minor made the presentation ad<]ress. The ser- 


vicL's wui-f closed by ;i jiraycr and bciR'dK'tiou t'roni Kfv. .Mi-. 
Iiootli, of the Presbyterian Church. 


This bank was incorporated in 1834, with a capital of ^Kii),- 
000, on condition that the bank should pay a bonus of $5,000 
to the Wesleyan University of Middletown, in two install- 
ments. There were 363 subscribers to the stock of the bank, of 
Avhom 84 were Stamford residents. 

John W. Leeds was chosen President, and he has retained 
and honored the post down to the present time. The Hank has 
had the following cashiers : J. F. Henry, Edward Hill, Sam- 
uel K. Sattcrlee, Charles K. Roekwood, Douglass K. Satterlee, 
H. M. Plumphrey, Francis R. Leeds, and Joseph L. Leeds, its 
cashier since 1863. The character of the bank is pretty well 
shown in the fact that when, in 1881, permission was given to 
increase the cajjital stock $90,000, in one week from the opening 
of the subscription, $144,000 was pledged. In 1865, the bank 
became the Stamford National Bank. 


This bank was established in 1863, with a capital ot -'00,000. 
L'nder the presidency of H. M. Humphrey, M. D., formerly of 
the Stamford Bank, with its cashier, Charles W. Brown, it has 
established itself in the confidence of the public. During the 
temporary absence of Mr. Humphrey, Joseph B. Hoyt, Es<|., and 
Welles R. Ritch, Esq., have been acting presidents. 


This institution was organized July 21, 1851. Its presidents 
have been Theodore Davenport, Charles Hawley and James H. 
Hoyt. Its vice-presidents, Joseph D. Warren, James II. Hoyt, 
and John W. L^eds. Its treasurers, Chas. Li. Roekwood, Sam- 
uel K. Satterlee, Francis R, Li^li and Alfred A. Holly. That 
the institution has b33n siiccjssful is evidenced in its rapidly 
increasing deposits. 


This was incorporated in the spring of 1830. An enum wii- 


tiun of tho population bad been made tlic preceding summer, 
when, within the limits of the proposed borough, the following 
results had been reached : families, 92 ; inhabitants, 663 ; 
white males, 354 ; white females, 283 ; free colored males, 10 ; 
free colored females, 14; and two slaves. 

The petition for incorporation was headed by David Holly, 
Esq. The persons named in the act to call the first meeting of 
the borough were, Charles Hawley, Simeon H. Minor, Theodore 
Davenport, and Seymour Jarvis. 

The officers chosen for the borough for the first year were, for 
warden, Simeon H. Minor; clerk and treasurer, Seymour Jarvis,, 
burgesses, John W. Leeds, Wm. H. Holly, Charles Hawley 
Esq., John S. Winthrop, and David Hoyt ; street commission- 
ers, Isaac Quintard, sen., Sands Adams, Fitch Rodgers, Smith 
Scott, and Peter Smith, jun. ; agent, J. B. Ferris. 

In 1850, so great had been the irregularity and confusion in 
the names of streets in the borough, that a formal meeting was 
held and a committee appointed, with authority to make a se- 
lection of names, and submit them to a subseqnent meeting. 
That committee consisted of J. W. Leeds, James H. Hoyt, 
Wm. H. Babbitt, Edwin S. Bishop, Andrew Perry, and H. J. 
Sanford. Tlieir report recommended, mainly, the names which 
the streets then opened, now bear. The growth of the borough 
has been very rapid in population and wealth. From 1840 to 
1850, the population of the borough gained about 133 per cent., 
and that of the entire town about 42 percent. 

The following is the entire list of wardens, to the present 
time : Simeon H. Minor, two years ; Charles Hawlej- ; J. W. 
Leeds, four years; Wm. H. Holly; Sands Adams, two years ; 
Theodore Davenport, five years; Ezra Seofield ; Henry II. 
Waring; H.J. Sanford, six years; Geo. E. Waring; James II. 
Hoyt ; Chauncy Ay res, three years ; Jona. M. Hall ; Wm. T. Mi- 
nor ; Albert Seely ; Charles Williams, two years ; Geo Elder ; 
H. K. Skelding, three yrs. ; Wm. P. Jones and E. Gay, two yrs. 
fitch's home for soldiers. 

This institution, situated about a half a mile cast of tlie prcs 


ent Stamford line, in the town of Davieu, was chartered in 
1864, to provide for the disabled soldiers of the twelfth senato- 
rial district of the state. It^takes its name from its founder, 
Renjainin Fitch, Esq., of Darieu, who has contributed towards 
its endowment and support, something over $100,000. It was 
found that it was not needed for disabled soldiers, and in 
February, 1865, the trustees, lion. Morgan Morgans, Joseph B. 
Iloyt, and Charles Starr, of Stamford ; Wni. A. Cummings and 
Charles Brown, of Davien ; E. C. Bissel, of Norwalk ; Stephen 
Iloyt, of New Canaan ; M. B. Pardee, M. D., of South Xorwalk ; 
Charles Marvin, of Wilton, and P. Button, of Greenwich, deci- 
ded to open here a home and school for the orphan and desti- 
tute children of our fallen or disabled soldiers. Rev. E. B. 
Huntington, their agent, gathered into the Home by the end of 
May, twenty-seven of these children, where the most of them 
have since been supported. Others have been added to their 
numbers, making the entire number thus far supported about 
sixt}-. 3[r. Fitch, in addition to the buildings used for the or- 
dinary uses of such an institution, has given to the Home a fine 
brick building for a library, and a galleiy of paintings and 
statuary. At his own expense, mainlj^, he has gathered here 
over two hundred pauitings, making a very showy gallery, cost- 
ing not far from $30,000. 

When no longer needed for tlie soldiers or soldiers' children 
of the twelfth senatorial district of the state, the funds of the 
Home are devoted, by the charter, " to the support of aged 
and infirm jsersons of said district, and to the support and edu- 
cation of orphan children of said district." 


In 1315, ou petition of Sands Seeley, Lorenzo Meeker and 
James II. Minor, they, and such other citizens of Stamford, not 
to exceed thirty, as might unite with tliem, were chartered un- 
der the title of the Eippowam Fire Company. By special 
act of the legislature of 1855, the Rippowam Company was au- 
thorized to increase its number to sixtv members. 


Ill lHoi, Andrew Perry, Edwin Bishop, G. K. liikur, T. J. 
Daskam, Geo. E. Scofield", Jesse A. Reed, J. X. Webb, Theo- 
dore Lockwood, Wm. Lavender, Francis Dauchy, Tlieodore 
Hoyt, Wm. W. Smith, C. F. Peck, Theodore Davenport, jr., 
and Charles B. Finch, and such other citizens as miglit unite 
with them, not to exceed forty, were incorporated as tlio 
" Stamford Fii-e Engine, Xo. 2." 

Of tlie efficient character of this company, and their machine, 
we have ample testimony in the results of the national trial of 
fire engines in Albany, Sept. 80, 1859. Tliirty-six engines 
were entered for the trial ; and Stamford, Xo, 2, stood second on 
the list, being excelled only by Xo. 3, of Brooklyn. 


Tiiis company was organized in 1858, on a capital of 820,- 
000, which has now reached §52,500. Their works are located 
on Mechanic street, near the depot. The first board of direc- 
tors were, 11. K. Skeldiug, president, Geo. A. Hoyt, Geo. L. 
Brown, Geo. Scofield, Wm. Gaj^ Jolin W. Leeds, trea- 
surer. Charles Pitts is now president, and Edward Gay, 
treasurer and superintendent. 


In 1855, Jolm B. Kuapp, Esq., fonnud an artificial lake, in 
what was called the Ladden brook, crossing the " turnpike" a 
few rods east of the Greenwich line, for the purpose of securing 
ice for the town. Commencing in the winter of 1855, with a 
stock of about 400 tons, the demand has increased steadily, 
until now, when its buildings will hold about 5,000 tons, andtlie 
one horse wagon of 1855, has been succeeded by tlie heavy 
teams now traversing every part of the village. 

Charles E. Smith, Esq., and sons, in the fall of 18GG, convert- 
ed what had been an old i)ottcry, standing on the west bank 

illSCELLAXEOU.S. 4.j1 

of thu " mill pouJ," into an ice liouso, wlioro iio now storos 
about 1,S00 tons, yearly. 


In 1791, William Fitch secm-ed permission to build a dam 
across the Xoroton Creek, at a pLace called Noroton Gut. The 
terms were : that he should build a mill within seven years, 
and thereafter grind and bolt as other mills do ; that after three 
years, he should, every summer, draw oflT the water, giving no- 
tice to the inhabitants that they may take shell fish therein ; 
that he should keej) a good scow in the mill pond, sufficient for 
carrying 2,000 bushels of grain, which should always be free for 
the use of the town; that he should build -a good wharf below 
the dam ; and that he should make good any damage to indi- 
viduals who have projjerty above said Gut — the damage to be 
assessed by three indifferent, judicious men. 

The next year John W. Holly moved over to the Cove, then 
called the *Ponnd, and, in company with Mr. Fitch, commenced 
building the dam and mills. It will indicate the great change 
which has taken place since that date to state that there was 
no house between the one now occupied by Robert Walsh, Esq., 
at the south east corner of St. John's Park, and the one which 
Mr. Holly built at the Cove. Xor was there any road, excepting 
the path leading from the east -field gate, where Elm] now 
crosses Meadow street, through open fields or the old forest, 
over to the Pound. 

Under Mr. Holly, in his two mills, was carried on, for years, 
a heavy flouring business. He also added to this the grinding 
of dye woods. After the death of Mr. Holly, his son, Wm. W., 
rented, and afterwards sold the mills to John and Henry San- 
ford, who had already commenced the preparation of dye 
woods in Greenwich. 

In 1844, they organized the Stamford Manufacturing Com- 

'This name ia still attached to the rocky headland now so much resorted to by our sum- 
mer pleasure seekers, and was given to the locality from the fact, that in the autumn of 
the year, the town herds which had been roaming over these common grounds during 
the warm months, were taken, by being driven down to this point, asinto a pound, ovei' 
the narrow neck of land which has since been cut by the mill canal, 

i.'!-2 llISTOr.Y OF STAllFOim. 

jKiiiy, wIi'k-Il Cnmi lii;U date liavc done lieu-, llir licavlc^vt iui^i- 
iiess ill the town. They purchased, also, the tloiu-ing niill o!' 
David Holly, at the iiioiith of 3Iill river, and, also, o-\vu mills in 
olbor towns. The business carried on Ly this companj- has 
been that of grinding dye woods, spices and barytes, and also 
tlie making of extract of licorice. The present company con- 
sists of Charles H. Leeds, president; H. J. Sauford, J. C. San- 
ford, Sanford Brown, John W. Leeds, Wm. Oay, E. F. Leeds, 
A. W. Bissel, and S. K Satterloe, directors. 

Li v^ugust, 1G55, these works at the Cove were dtstn.ytd by 
tire. Thev ^^'ere ininiediatelv built of bri(>k, and are now lire 


In 1S25, Mr. Vi'm. Lacon, an Englishman, started tlie Hox- 
bur\^ rolling mills, and soon associated with liimself Dea. Theo- 
dore Davenport. Subsequently, these works were owned and 
improved by J. A. Davenport and J. D. Weeks, as a rolling and 
wire mill. On the organization of the Stillwater Company, in 
IS.^,0, consisting of Dea. Theodore Davenport, J. D. Weeks and 
J. A. [Davenport, they jjurehased the farm which had been 
owned by Joseph Watson, of Stillwater, and built the heavy 
rolling mills still in operation there; carrying on, also the works 
at the Roxbury mills. Since that date, both of these localities 
have been used by the Stillwater Company — the one at Still- 
water as a rolling mill for the manufacture of iron and steel, 
and that at Roxbuiy, for making wire. The present owners 
are Dea. Theodore Davenport and his sons, and Jeremiah X. 


Near the beglunlug of this centuiy, Samuel Wheaton im- 
proved the water power on the Mianus, just above Bangall, as 
a site for a woolen mill ; using it for carding wool and dressing- 
cloth. In 182G, Benjamin Mathews purchased the property, 
and, for years, added to the former business, that of weaving- 
woolen goods. The property is now owned by J. V. Mathevrs, 

jriscKiXANKors. 4 on 

sou of the former owner, ami E. Jmio, and is ii-fd Tni- the iiian- 
ulhrtiii-c of woolon yarns. 


This enterprise liad its origin iu the iron lliumlry established 
by Geo. E. '^Varing■, having it.s first location on the west side 
of Bedford street, just south of where Spring street now 
enters it. On building the elegant cottage on the corner 
of Bedford and Broad streets, Mr. Waring removed his works 
down to tlic rolling mills of David Holly, jnirchasing the entire 
mill privilege and property. The Holly lioUing Mill had suc- 
ceeded the carding and grist mills of the brothers Thorp, and 
these Avorks occupied the site of the earliest mill privilege 
■granted to the Webbs. In 1S48, Mr. Waring formed a part- 
nership with J. B. Scofield, J. M. Hall, and Isaac.Wardell. The 
next year, Joseph D. Wai-ren took Mr. Hall's place in the firm, 
and after the withdrawal of Mr. Waring, the other three gen- 
tlemen, under tlie firm of J. D. Warren &. Co., removed the 
works over to the head of the canal, wlierc it is now situated. In 
1867 they greatly enlarged their business facilities, and are now 
employing between fifty and sixty men. 


Tliis company was organized in 1860. John B. Keed, \\ho 
had been in the business a nu mber of years before, united with 
Grant Judd, E. P. Whitney, Isaac G. Traphagen and Benjamin 
U. Lyon, and located their works on the east side of Gay street, 
where their iron work is still done. Soon finding their room too 
small for their works, they commenced building, also, on the 
west side of the street. In 1858 thej^ purchased the old Con- 
gregational Church, then standing wherethe triangular park 
now is, in the center of tlio village, and removed it to the rear of 
their ware room on the west side of Gay street. By introducing 
two floors, they divided the building into three stories, giving 
them a great amount of room for their business. Since then, 
tiiey have been engaged successfully in the manufacture of all 
descriptions of the better styles of carriages, employing from 


thirty to forty men. There has been but a single change in tlie 
firm since its organization, resulting from the removal by death 
of Mr. Traphagen in 1S55. Mr. "Reed has, fioni the beginning, 
been the financial agent of the firm. 


These extensive works occupy the grounds formerly occupied 
by the earliest grist mill of the town; and more recently by the 
Ivippowam Iron Foundry. They are now owned by Harding, 
Smith it Co., who commenced, in 1867, the manufacture of 
woolen goods. John A. Smith, one of the proprietors of 
tlie firm resides here, and has the management of the works. 
They are now employing about one hundred and fifty persons 
in the establishment. 


The shoe business has been carried on at the llidge for nearly 
half a century. Under George W. Todd, Scofield & Todd, 
and Scofield, Cook & Co., it had grown to be quite an interest 
of the locality. Some ten years ago, our enterprising young 
townsmen. Cook & Lounsbury took hold of it, and liave done 
liere an excellent business. They employ about fifty hands, and 
with the aid of machinery are able to turn off about 20,000 
])airs of shoes a year. The time needed for sowing on the sole 
of a shoe witli their stitcher, is somewhat less than a half 


In IS-to Charles Anness, Esq., began these works on the west 
l)ank of Mill river, opposite Harding & Smith's woolen mills. 
His brother Samuel succeeds him in the business, having 
removed the works in 18C2 to Water Side, where he now cm 
ploys in the business about fifteen hands. 


C D. Jones has been for years engaged, quite extensively, in 
the manufacture of shirts and draws on High liidge. The 
work, here, is done mainly for the New York market, and lias 
employed a large number of ojioratives. 



This joint stock company was organized in 186S, with a cap- 
ital of $60,000, for manufacturing machinists' tools. They are 
now operating by steam on Main street, near South, but have 
found it necessary to enlarge their works ; and have purchased 
and are building at the foot of South street, near Knapp's Dock. 
Robert Fairchild is president ; G. W. Bishop, the patentee of 
the articles now manufectured, is superintendent, and J. E. 
Law, treasurer. 


This enterprise was started in 1864 by Richmond Fox and 
John St. John. Since the death of Mr. Fox, in 1807, Harvey 
Iloyt has been one of the partners of the firm. There has been 
done, here, in connexion with their lumber yard, a few rods 
north on Bedford street, a heavy lumber business. 


Tliese works were opened here in 1865, by B. Keith tt Co., 
for tlie preparation of organic medicines. They are located 
at Water Side, and require about five hands to carry them on_ 


This work was begun here in the spring of 1868, by Edgar 
Studwell and B. Franklin Hobby. It is designed as a saw, plan- 
ing and grist mill, and is now worked by Hobby, Stivers & Co. 


This Fark has just been opened by its proprietors, the broth- 
ers T. I. and S. H. Ferris, jnn. It lies on the west side of Mill 
river, about a half mile north of the village, and has an excel- 
lent, circular track, a half mile in length. 


1848 added the Telegram to the former facilities to Stamford 
business ; and we are sure no little curiosity was excited here, 
by the arrival of this noiseless messenger. At _ first, the tele- 
graph office was opened in the building next east of the 


Union llousu, but was i-cmovcil to the Depot, where it has li?en 
ever since. Tlie business has inereased until it has come to be 
:i necessity to business itself, twelve wires supplying us witli 
instantaneous reports of important cliangcs, from every point 
oil telegraph routes. Its present manager is J. K. Butler, with 
two assistants. 

These Murks were established here in 1856,' by Cliarlcs If. 
ri'.illi])s, Esq.,of Xew York, for refining camphor and bleaching 
wax. Tliey arc located about a mile and a half north cast from 
the \ilhige, at our "Xew Hope," and are among the most ex- 
tensive refineries in the country, employing not far from 
twenty-five hands. To the rear of these works, on the banks of 
the Noroton, Mr. Phillips has laid out and worked to a charm- 
ing perfection, one of our completest gems in landscape culture. 
Everything about it — its summer house, fish ponds, fountains, 
statues, lawns, shrubbery and walks, — is as near perfection as 
human skill can make it ; and altogether constitutes one of the 
most attractive localities in the town. 


"Jack, Sju to Iiosi, a servant of Samuel Bash of Grorfiiwicb, said Jack, 
being the propeiiy of Isaac Qaintard, deceased, was born on Ji4i3 20. 

Stamford, April 6, 17S7. 

Tliis is to certify, that, I, widow Mary SoUeck of Stamford, do freely give 
Nathaniel and Africa Chloe his wife, a certain negro boy, by the name of 
Harry, their son, formerly belonged to me. 

Charles A, Belding, | JIaey Selliics. 

Anna Belding, ( 

The records above are specimens ot those which remind 
us of an institution never again to be revived in Stamford. 
They are here preserved as a part of the history of the earlier 

times in this old iiuritan town. 


the propr 
meadow ; 
ou tlie li 1 

IS the gouei-i 

moutli .li 
(he couni 
conutry t 

^illTwulvo ii: 


I court of Coiinecticutt bath formerly Granted uiito 
ants of the towa of Standford all those lands both 
! Iiiu these abutments upon the Ren at the south, east 
lietvveen Standford aforesaid & NnrwalUe from the 
;. ill! it meet with the cross pass that now is where 
.. til the savd path, &. from thence to run up into the 
cs be run'out upon the same lyno that is between 
Stratford and fayreheld; and upon the west Tatomak Brooke, where the 
lowermost path or road that now is to Greenwich cutts the sayd brooke & 
from thence to run on a straight lyne to the west en. I of a lynodrawne, from 
the falls of Standford Mill river which sayd iv., <.■.•:..<: .i .lue west poyut 
towards Greenwich bounds a meat mile "A i: . ' ' end of sayd line 

to run due north to the present county roade i . ' e < :'ud from thence 
to run up into the couuiry the samo'line tb;il it i I' i n ii Norwalk and 
Standford to the ead of the bownds, the sayd lnuds haviuf; been by purchas 
or otherwiiis lawfully obtayned of the Indian native proprietors, and where- 
as the proprietors, the aforesayd Inhabitants of Standford in the colony of 
Conuecticutt have made application to the Gouerii'ir :iiid (M.n.paiiy of the 
sayd colony of Connecticut assembled In court V! , : . ie ., iint they 
have a patent for coutirmatiou of the aforesayd l;i ;eil and 

granted to th-m as aforesayd & which they have se^ . i: i quietly 

possessed of for manv yeais last past without IuteinMni..ii i.ov In a more 
full confirmation of the aforesayd tract of land as it is bulled .-.ud l)ounded 
aforesayd unto the present proprietors of the s.iyd township of Stanford, 
in their possession and enjoyment of the premises; know ye that the said 
Goueraol- (!t company assemble I in geneb.vl cour.T aceordiiiR to the com- 
mission granted to ther.i tiy his lla'tie in his charier have given & granted 
& by these presents do give, grant, ratify and confirm unto Mr. John Bish- 
op, Mr. Richard law, Capt. Jonathan Silleidc, Capt. John Silleck, Lieut. 
Francis Bell, Lieut. Jonathan Bell. -e,-i m iee T-' , M; . \lii.;h .mi A-i 
bier, Mr. peter ferds, Mr. Joshua II ,i , e . ^^ 

proprietors of the township of Stan i. , i i ,, ' ;i 

forever, the aforesayd parcell of 1 in>l u . i, m : '.n.l 1 :e; I i; er; e 1 ei ,. 1 1: v 
with all the meadows, pastures, ponds, waters, rivers, islands, lisliings, 
Huulings, fowlings, mines, minerals. Quarries and precious stoucs upon 
or within the sayd tract of land and all other profifitts comoUities thereun- 
to belonging or in any wayes appertaining and do grant unto the aforesayd 
Mr. -John Bishop, Mr. Bichavd lawe, C.ipt. Jonath m SiUeck, Capt. John 


45S iiisTui:v OF stamfokd. 

Silleck, Lut. frauds Bell, Lnt. Jonathan Bell, ens. Jdhu Bates, Mr. Abra- 
ham Ambler, Mr. peter ferris &, Mr. Joshua Hoyt &, the rest of the propri- 
etors Inhabitants of Standford their heirs successors and assigns forever 
that the aforesayd tract of land shall be forever after deemed, reputed &■ 
be an lutire Township of it selfe, to have and to hold the sayd Tract of 
land and premises with all and singular their appurtenances together, with 
the i^riviledges and Immunities and franchies herein given and granted 
unto the sayd John Bishop, Eichard law, Capt. Jonathan Silleck, Capt. 
John Silleck, Lnt. francis Bell, Lnt. Jonathan Bell, Ens. John Bates, Mr. 
Abraham Ambler; Mr. peter ferris & Mr. Joshua Hoyte and other the pres- 
ent proprietors Inhabitants of Standford their heirs successors and assigns 
forever and to the only proper use & behoofe of the sayd Mr. John Bishop, 
Richard law, Capt. Jonathan Silleck, Capt. John Silleck, Lnt. Francis Bell, 
Lut. Jonathan Bell, Ens. John Bates, Mr. Abraham Ambler, Mr. peter fer- 
ris & Mr. Joshua Hoyte 

And other proprietors Inhabitants of Standford their heirs, successors and 
assigns forever, according to the tenor of East Greenwich in Kent in fres 
& comon soccage & not in capitee nor by knight service— 

They to make improvent of the same as they are capable according to 
the customs of the country, yielding, rendering and paying therefore to 
our sovereign lord the king his heirs and successors his dues according to 
charter: In witness whereof we have cause the seale of the colony to be 
Jiere unto nf&xed this Twenty sixth of May One Thousand Six Hundred 
eighty-five in the first year of the reign of our souereigu lord king James 
the second of England, Scotland france & Ireland, defender of the fayth. 

per order of tha General Court, signed per me, John Allyn Sec'y. 


V list of graduates and professionally educated men, natives of Stamford, 

or belonging to Stamford families. This list embraces only those who have 

not been already indicated in the preceding pages. 

Adams, Benjamin, son of Sands, a Methodist preacher. 

Bishop, James W., son of Kitchel, of Darien, now city raissionarv in Brook- 
lyn, N. T. 

Bakton, Rev. J. G., a student of St. Paul's, N. Y., and received his diploma 
at St. .James", Md., in iSiS. He was chosen Professor of Belles lettres 
and English literature in the Free Academy, since named the " College 
of the City of New York," in 1852, and since 1853, has lived in Stam- 
ford. He still hulds his chair in the college. 

Betts, Silvester M., son of .James, in Y'ale, class of 18ti4, was obliged to 
leave from failure of sight. He is now a publisher in Hartford. 

Betts, William J., second sou of James, member of Yale, class of 1870. 

Betts, Alsop L., third son of James, member of Y'ale, class of 1872. 

Clason, Solomon, a native of Stamford, who became a physician, having 
studied with Dr. Close. Taught school and went west, where he has 
been a successful physician. 

CowsTOCK, David C, a native of New Canaan. Graduated at Yale iu 1830, 
where he was tutor. Studied theology and was settled in the minis- 
try, (Congregational), in Redding, 1840- '15. Came to Stamford in 1851, 
and taught a school for young ladie."!. He still lives hero. He mar. 


lied Elizabeth Aim Tompkins of New York city, ami has had six 
CoMSTOcE, Wm. S., a native ol Eeddiug, and sou of the above. Graduated 
at Yale, 1865, with honor. He is now engaged revising and correcting 
Burvej's for local maps in the vicinitj' of New Y'ork city. 
CoMSTOCK, David, son of Eev. David C. , and born in Redding. Was ir the 
Union service during the war, mainly in the Hospital department. Is 
now, 181)8, a medical student at Ann Arbor, Mich. 
CocKKOFT, William, graduated at Columbia College, N. Y., in 1834, and at 
the Medical College in 1837. He purchased, in 1863, the beautiful 
place on Elm Hill, which he has made one of the most attractive resi- 
dences in town. 
Da\i;npokt, John, sou of Eev. James, graduated at Princeton, N. J.. 1769, 
became a minister and settled iu Southold, L. I., und at Bedford, 
N. Y. and Deerfield, N. J. He died at Lysander, N. Y., July 13, 182,'5, 
at 73 years of age, leaving no children. 
Davenpokt, John Alfeed. son of John, graduated at Yale, 1802, and soon 
went into business m New York. After a successful business career 
of some fifty years, he moved to New Haven in 1853, where he died, 
Oct. 14, 1864, iu the 82d year of his age. 
Davespoet, Geoege F., son of Eufus, graduated at University of New 

York, 1830, and was a lawyer in New York city. 
Davenport, John Sidney, son of John A. , above, born in Stamford, Sept. 
26, 1808, became an Episcopal minister and was settled at Oswego, 
N. Y., and after going abroad, returned and accepted n charge in Bos- 
Davenport, James Eadcliefe, brother of John S., graduated at Yale,^ 1830; 
became an Episcopal minister, and was settled in Albanj', N. Y. He 
now resides in New York City. 
Davenport, James, son of deacon Theodore, entered Yale in 1861, but left 

his class at the end ot the junior year to go into business. 
Dean, Heney, son of Samuel, began teaching early, and became a Congre- 
gational minister. He removed to Brooklyn, where he taught, ani 
where for years he has been clerk of the board of education. 
Dean, George AV., son of Col. John, of North Stamford, graduated at Co- 
lumbia College and became an Episcopal minister. He was settled at 
Ballstoii, N. Y., and is now professor ot Latin and Greek at Eacine 
Ferris, Samuel P., sou of Joshua B., graduatsd at West Point in 18C1; and 

is now a captain in the U. S. A. 
Ferguson, John Day, son of John and Helen G. [Morewood] Ferguson— 
the family having moved to Stamford in 1842— graduated at Trinity 
College, Hartford, in 1851. He studied law, and has had an ofBce in 
New York city. 
Fekquson, Samuel, brother of the above, graduated at Trinity in 1857. He 
and his brother Heury were on board the Hornet, a clipper which left 
New York for San Francisco iu Jan. 1866, and which was burned on 
the Pacific, May 3d. For forty- three days they were in a little open 
boat with fourteen others. They were reduced to the verge of 
starvation, when they drifted into a port of Hawaii, just in time to 
avoid a horrible death. The journal which he managed to write is 
one of intensest interest. He died in San Francisco, Oct. 1, 1866. 


FsEOUsoN Edjidsd M., third brother of this familj' was in Trinity College, 
class of 1857. but left froui sickness. 

Ferguson, Walton, fourth member of this fumily was also in Triuity Col- 
legB, class of 18G3, but was obliged to le;ipe from sickness. 

Feeguson, Henky, filth and youngest son of J.)hu, graduated .at Triuity 
College thu preseut year, 18GS, one of the prize students. 

Fessexden, Sambel C, graduated at Bowdoin College in 1831, and at the Theological Seminary in 1837. He was also admitted to the 
bar lu 185G. He is now in the government service in Washington. He 
has resided, since 1866, in Stamford. 

Finch, Sherman, a native of the town; graduated at Yale, 1828, studied 
law and settled in Ohio. 

FuEETES, E. A., a native of Porto Kico; graduated B. Ph. and M. D. in 
Porto Kico, and civil engineer in Troy, N. Y. He has lived here since 

Holly, \Vm. Welles, son of Alfred A., was three ye.ars at Trinity; studied 
law at Yale; admitted to orders in the Episcopal Church; was first as- 
sistant to the re'jtor of St Johns church, New Haven, and now rector 
oi church at Elton, Long Island. 

Holly, Charles F., sou of Isaac, educated at Kenj-on, Ohio; became a law- 
yer and settled in Nebraska. He was appointed assistant Judge of the 
Territory of Colorado. During the recent war he raised and com- 
manded a company of volunteers. 

Holly, FE.iNcis Manton, .sou of Wm. Welles, graduated in medicine at 
Yale, 1853, and is now in Texas, a surgeon in the United States Army. 

HoYT, S;iER.\iAN, son of Dea. John, a Congregational minister, now settled 
at Pleasant Plains, Fishkdl, N. Y. 

HoYT, John Benedict, graduated at Y'ale, 1814. 

HoYT, Philip, sou of Enoch and Hannah [Lockwood] Hoyt, is a Methodist 

Hoyt. Williui C, brother of Philip, received the degree of A. M. at the 
Wesleyan University; became a Methodist minister, and, in 18G0 was 
appointed presiding el lerof the Bridgeport district. He resides iu Stam- 
ford, and is engaged in the Methodist Book House in New York city. 

lIo.MPHREY, H. M., graduated at the Jefferson Medical College, in Phila- 
delphia, in 1812, and practiced medicine in Philadelphia and New 
Yorif city. He removed to Stamford iu 1855, where he has been con- 
nected with our banks, as cashier of the Stamford Bank, and as presi- 
dent of the First National Bank of Stamford. 

Lockwood, Rurns A., son of Daniel, gr.iduated at Yale, 1831, became a 
minister, and settled in Tennessee, where he died in 1835. 

Lockwood, John D., son of Eiv. Peter and Matilda [D.iveuport], born 
in Stamford, Oct. 9. 1825, died while a member of Yale Colle,:,e in 
1841. [Memoirs of J. D. Lockwood]. 

LoBD, John, L. L. D , graduated at Dartmouth College, 1833, and studied 
theology. He has devoted his life, mainly to lecturing on historical 
topics, in whieh he has been very successful. He has resided iu Stam- 
ford since 1853, 

APl'EXDIX. 40 i 

IjYMAN, Joseph B., graduated at Yale, 1850. He came to Stamford, iu 1865, 
exiled from the Soiitli, and is now the agricultural editor of the New 
York World. 

MiNOK, CH1ELE3 \Vm. , SOU of Gov. Wm. T., nowastudent ia Germany. 

MiNjE, ls;ivEG. jr., gr.idiiated at Yale, 1863, studied law at the Columbia 
LawSjhool, was admitted to the bar in 1861, aud is now prautioing 
law iu New York city. 

\IiMOP., JoH.-i Ck.vxn-el. sou of Israel lliuor, graduated at the College of 
Pay.siciaus and Surgeous in New York city, iu 1865. Was appointed 
professor of chemistry aud natural science iu East Tennessee Univers- 
ity iu 1866, aud also stiite assayer of Teune.ssee. Eesigued these 
posts, aud iu 1863, resumed the practice of medicine iu New York city. 
He was, during the war, also in the service of the government as Act. 
Ass, Surgeon, U. S. A. 

Mead, J. D., a successful physician, for years in New York city. Has 
lived, retired, for several years oo Long Kidge. 

Pbiok, IsB.iEL, jr., sou of Capt. Prior, graduated in medicine. New York 
Beilevue Hospital Medical College, 1865 ; married Mary F., daughter 
of Pailip H. Brown, Esq., and is now in the practice of his profes- 
siou iu Catliii, III. 

RiTCH, Thoiiis G.1.KDINER, SOU of Wellcs R., graduated at Yale, 1851, be- 
came a lawyer, and has his office iu New York city. 

Rockwell, Henri, graduated iu New York, 1862. He is a surgeon in the 
U. .S. A., now stationed west of St. Paul, Miun. 

SooFiELD, AzAEiAH, son of Uiiah, born in Feb., 1776, graduated at Yale 
IfsOl, aud became a teacher and merchant. 

SooFiELD, James, a physician, went to Daubury. 

ScoFiELD, Jaked, son of Reuben, graduated at Yale, 1801, and was a 
teacher in Philadelphia. 

SoopiELD, John 0,, sou of Dea. Alfred, born Sept. 18, 1816, graduated M.D. 
18j6. at the B^llevue Hospital Med. Coil. He is now practicing med- 
icine iu Bedford, N . Y. 

ScoFiELD, Walter, son of Dea. Alfred, born in Stamtord, April 28, 1839 
and grad. M. D. at the New York College of Physicians aud Surgeons, 
1861. Com uissioned Ass. Surgeon, U. S. Navy, June 20, 1861, promo- 
ted Sar^eon, June, 186S. He accompanied the XJ. S. Squadron to Rus- 
sia, in 1866, aud now has his headquarters in Boston. 

Selleok, Charles G.. sou of Charles, of Darieu, grad. at Yale, 1827, 
licensed to preach by Fairfield West association, aud settled in Ridge- 
fleld from 1831 to 1837. He went to Illinois aud preached at Alton. 
He theu opeued a school for young ladies in Jacksonville, which was 
quite successful. He afterwards weni; to Plaquemiue, La., where he 
also established a flourishing school lor young ladies, in which he was 
engaged, when, in 1861, the local authoriiies, fiudinghim too thorough- 
ly a"Uuiou man," gave h,m five hours to leave the place. He is now 
in Hopedale, near Do Soto, 111. 

Seelet, Ebenezer, graduated at Yale, 1811, became a physician, aud set- 
tled iu Oyster Bay, L. I. 

Selleck, John, graduated at Harvard in 1690. 

SsKLBiN-a, Thom.\s, son of Henry K., graduated M. D., in New York, ISCo ; 


and was physician to the New York City Hospital. He is uow at the 
General Hospital in Vienna, Austria. 
SiiiTH, Arthur, son of Charles E.and Mary [Waring] Smith, born in Stam- 
ford in 1843 ; graduated M. D. at tlie Bellevue Hospital Medical Col- 
lege, New York city, in 1866 ; and has since been in the office of Dr. 
Wood in the citj'. 
Smith, Est. John', a native of Wether.slield, graduated at Yale, 1821, and 
was licensed to i^reach by the Fairfield East Association, in 1824;. 
From 1839 to 1818 he was settled as jmstor over the Congregational 
Church in Wilton. Since 1850, he has resided in Stamford. His wife 
died here. He has three sons, James I)., Charles S., and Walter M., 
all in successful business in New York, and all residing with their 
families in Stamford. He has, also, three daughters, Susan W., Esther 
M., and Maria L. 
SVebb, Henry W., son of Dr. Samuel, was a physician in New York city. 
Webb, Benjamin, graduated at Yale, 1856 ; studied theologj-, and became 
an Episcopal minister. He is now in the service of the Pacific Coast 
Associate Mission, and is located at San Jose, Cal. 
Weed, Benjamin, was a preacher, and during the revolutionary war, he 

had his Bible taken from him by a party of the British. 
Weed, TH0M.iS A., son of Philo, studied in Oberliu and at Lane Seminary, 

and was settled in the ministry at Mexico, N, Y. 

Weed, C. Milton, son of Charles A., a member of Harvard, class of 1772. 

Weed, Harvey, son of Nathaniel, graduated at Columbia College, 18—, 

with the honors of his class. He practiced law in New York city until, 

his health failing, he retired to the family home iuDarien. 

Welch, Mioh.ael, a missionary of the American and Foreign Christian 

Union. Has lived here several years . 
Wheelock, Kalph, son of Eev. Eleazer D. and Sarah Davenport, gradua- 
ted at Yale, 1765. 
Whelplet, James Dave.vport, son of Eev. Philip M. and Abigail F. [Dav- 
enport], graduated at Yale, 1837, and in medicine in 1842. 
Williams, Stephen, son of Eev. Stephen, D. D. and Abigail [Davenport], 
graduated, 1742, and was settled in Woodstock, Conn., in 1747. He 
preached nearly fifty years. 
Williams, Waeham, brother of Stephen above, graduated at Y'ale 1745, 
and was settled in Northford, Conn. He preached about forty years. 
Williams Nathan, brother of the two above, graduated at Yale, 17oG, 
and settled iu the ministry at Tolland, Conn. He preached about 
sixty-six years. 
Wood, George Ingersoll, a native of the town, sou of Joseph, graduated 
atYale in 1S32, and has been a successful rainister. He is uow preach- 
ing in St. Cloud, Mich. 
Wood, Oliver E., son of the above, is now at the West Point ililitary 

Woodbury, W. H., author of works in modern languages, ou the Ollen- 
dorff system. Located at Springdale iu Stamford in 1867. 




The following list contains all the names which can now be recovered of 
the representatives and senators of Stamford in the state legislature. Down 
to 1665 they represented the town in the general court of New Haven ; af- 
terwards in the general court or legislature of the colony and state of Coa- 
niicticut. The omission of names batweea 16il and 1653 was occasioned 
by the loss of the New Haven colony records of that period, a loss probably 
not to be supplied. There will also be found occasional omissions of the 
regular meeting of the legislature, occasioned by the fact that no represent- 
ativas appeared from the town at those meetings. The omission for 
October 16S7, the two sessions of 1688 and for April 1889, is due to the as- 
sumption of the government by Sir Edmund Androos for that period. Our 
list contains also the representatives for Darien from the incorporation of 
that town in 1820. The thanks of the author are due to the kindness of J. 
Hammond Trumbull, for his cheerful aid in completing the catalogue. 

1611 — Andrew Ward and Francis Bell. 

16-12— Matthew Mitchell and John Whitmore. 

1643~John Uuderhill, Richard Gildersloeve and John CUapuian. 

164:4:— Andrew Ward and Robert Coe. 

1653— Richard Law and Francis Bell. 

1654— " " and John Holly, 



1657— " John Waterbury and George SUwsou. 

1658— '• and Francis Bell. 


1663— " John Holly and George Slawsou. 

1664— '■ and Francis Bell. 

1665— " Peter Disbrow and Francis Brown. 

1667— Robert Usher and Francis Brown. 

1668— Francis Brown and John Green. • 

1669— Eusign Francis Brown, John Green and Richard Law. 

1G70— Lieut. Jonathan Selleck and John Green. 

" — Oct. John Holly and Jonathan Bell. 
1671 — May, Lieut. Jonathan Selleck and John Green. 

" — Oct., John Green and Joseph Theale. . 
1G72— Richard Law and Jonathan Selleck. 
1673— John Green and Joseph Theale. 
1674— May, Lieut. Jonathan Bell and Abram Ambler. 

" — Oct., Joseph Theale and John Green. 
1675 — May, Jonathan Selleck and Joseph Theale. 

" — Oct., Lieut. Jonathan Bell and " 

1776— May, Capt. Jonathan Selleck and Lieut. Jonathan Bell. 

" — Oct., Lieut. Jonathan Bell and Joseph Theale. 
1677— Mav, " •■ Abram Ambler. 


1G77 — Oct.. Joseph Theiile, Abram Ambler ixud Jon. Kcyuolds. 
1678— May. 

" —Oct., 
1679- May, 

" -Oct., 
1680— Mil}', Jouathau Bell and Joseiih Theale. 

" — Oct., — Joseph Theale. 
1681— May, " and Abram Bell. 

" — Oct., Lieut Jonathan Bell and Joshua Hoyl. 
1C82— May, Abram Ambler and Joseph Theale. 

" — Oct., Lieut. Jonathan Bell and Joshua Hovte. 
1GS3— May, Lieut. Jonathan Bell and Capt. Jonathan Selleck. 

" —Oct., " Joshua Hoyte. 

1634— M.iy, 

" —Oct., 
1685— May, Capt. Jonathan Selleck and Lieut. Jonathan Bell. 

" — Oct., Jonathan Bell and Joshua Hoyt. 
IGSG— May, Capt. Jonathan Selleck and Lieut. Jonathan Bell. 

" — Oct., Jonathan Bell and Joshua Hoyt. 
1G87— -May, Capt. Jonathan Selleck and Lieut. Jonathan Bell. 
1689— Aug., Ens. John Bates, abs. 

" —Oct., Samuel Hovt. 

" — Oct., Abram Ambler. 
1691— May. Jouathau Bell and Abr.uu Ambler. 

" —Oct., Abram Ambler and Daniel M'cscott. 
1C92— May, Samuel Ployt 

" — Oct., Abram Ambler '• 

1G93-May, Samuel Hovt and David 'Wakrburv. 

" —Oct., David Waterburv. 
lG9i-May, " and DaniplWestcott. 

'• —Oct., Daniel "Wescott and Daniel Wcer'. 
1695— Oct., David Waterbuvy. 
1696-May, Lieut. Joiiatlian Beil. 

" —Oct., Sergt. David Waterliu v. 
1697-Oct., " Samuel Ilojt. 

1698— Oct., Lieut. David Waterbury. 
1699— May, " ■ and £».<;. Samuel Hovt. 

" —Oct., Samuel Hoyt and Jm.uthan Bell. 
1700— May, Elisha Holly.» 

" —Oct., Lieut. David AVateil.u v and Stephen Bi.-l...]'. 
1701— May, " Elisha Hollv. 

'• -Oct., •■ " ■ 

1702-Mav, Samuel Webb. 

" — Ort.. Lieut. Dijvid Wate'l.iiiv and Sanjuel Webb. 
1703-May, " Capt. Jolin Clod;. 

" —Oct.. Samuel Hovt. 
170i-May, " ■ Elisha Hoi. V. 

" —Oct., 
1705— May, Capt. Jonathan Stlleel; and Lieut. David Waterbiir; 

" — L'eut. David Waterburv. 
1706— May, Capt. Jonathan Selleck and Lieut. David Waterbun 

" —Oct., Lieut. David AVaterbiirv and .Jonathan Selleck. 

1707 — May, (Jupt, Jonathan Selleck and Elislia Hullv. 

" — Oct., Stephen Bishop 
1708— May, Capt. Jonathan Selleck 

" —Oct., Stephen Bishnj) 
1709— May, 

" —Oct., 
1710— May, Jonathan Bates. 

" —Oct., Elisha Holly. 
1711— May, " John Ambler. 

" —Oct., 
1712— May, Jonathan Bates and John Stent. 

" — Oct., Jonathan Bell. 
1713-May, Elisha Hawlev and Jonathan Bell. 

" —Oct., 
1714_May, Jonathan licll and Jonathan Bales, 

" _Oct, " Johnstone. 

1715— May, 

" — Oct., Jonathan Bates and John Hoyt. 
1716— Maj-, John Hoyt and John Stone. 

" —Oct., John Stone and Samuel Hoyt. 
1717— May, John Hoyt and Jonathan Bell. 

" —Oct., John Stone and John Hoyt. 
1718—May, Samuel Weed and Jonas Weed. 

" — Oct., John Stone " 

171!)— May, John Hovt and John Stone. 

.. -Oct.. " ' and .Tohn Bell. 

1720— May, ■' John Stone. 

1721— May, " Samuel Weed, 

" —Oct", " John Stone, 

1722 -May, 

•' —Oct., 
1723— May, 
1724- May, 

" —Oct., C.ipt, Jonathan Hoyl and Jonathan Bales, 
1725— May, 

" —Oct., 
1720— May. 

•' —Oct., 

" —Oct., Capt. Samuel Hoyt and S.imuel Weed. 
1728— May, Capt. Jonathan Hoyt and Capt. Samuel Hoyt 

" — Oct., Capt. Jonathan Bates and Capt. Jonathan Hoyt 
1729— May, Capt. .Jonathan Hoyt and Capt. Samuel Hoyt. 

" — Oct., Capt. Jonathan Bates and Capt. Jonathan Hoyt. 
1730— Oct., Capt. John Bell 
1731— May, Capt. Jonathan Hoyt and John Bell. 

" —Oct., John Hoyt and Jonathan Bates. 
1732— May, 

" — Oct., Capt. Jonathan Hoyt and John Bell. 
1733— May, " Jonathan Bates. 

" —Oct., " Samuel Hoyt. 

1734— May, 

" —Oct., '• Samuel Hoyt, 

1735— Mttv, " Jonathan Malthy, 

insTORY 01' STAMFOltli. 

1735— Ocl,., Capt. Jonathan Hoyt and Jonatlinn Bates 
1736— Mav, " Jonathan Malllv 

" —Oct., 
1737- May, 

" —Oct., 
1738— Mav, 

" —Oct., 
1739— May, 

" —Oct., 
1740-May, Col. 

'■ —Oct., 
1741— Mav, 

" —Oct., 
1742— May, 

" —Oct., 
1743— May, Col. " Jonathan Bates. 

" —Oct., 
1714— May, Col. " Jonathan Mallln 

" —Oct., 
1745— May, 

" —Oct., Col. 
174G— May, 

" —Oct., •' Cnpt. 

1747— May, 

•' — Oct., Capt. Nathaniel WeeJ autl ALirabam Davenport. 
1748— May, Jonathan Hovt 

" —Oct., Col. 
1749— Mav, 

" —Oct., Col. 
1750— May, 

" —Oct., 
1751— May, 

" -Oct., 
1752— Mav., 

•' —Oct", 
1753, May, 

" —Oct., 
1754 — May, '• Jocallian Maltly 

" —Oct., 
1755— May, 

" —Oct., 
1756— May, John Holly. 

" —Oct., Col. Jonathan Hoyt 
1757— May, " " Jonathan Selleck. 

" — Oct., " Abraham Davenpoi!. 

1758— May, Ch.ales Webb and Jonathan Dibble. 

" — Oct,, Jonathan Dibble and Charles Webb. 
1759— May, Charles Webb and Abraham Davenport. 

" —Oct., Abraham Davenport and Charles Webb. 
17G0 — May, Col. Jonathan Hoyt and Abraham Davenport. 

" — Oct., Abraham Davenport and Capt. Charles Webb. 
17G1— May, Capt. Charles Webb and Abraham Davenport. 

" —Oct., Abraham Davenport and Col. Jonathan Hoyt. 
1762- May, Col. Jonathan Hoyt and Abrahnu: Davenport. 


17G2— Oct., Abraham Davenport and Col. .JooatUau Hoyt. 
1763— May, Col. Jonathan Hoyt and Abraham Davenport. 

•' —Oct., Abraham Davenport and Col. Jonathan Hoyt. 
17G4— May, Col. Jonathan Hoyt and Abraham Davenport. 

" —Oct., Abraham Davenport and Col. Jonathan Hoyt. 
1765— May, Col. Jonathan Hoyt and Abraham Davenport. 

" — Oct., Abraham Davenport and Col. Jonathan Hoyt. 
17G6— May, Capt. Charles Webb a' d Abraham Davenport. 

•' —Oct., Charles Webb and Col. Jonathan Hoyt. 
1767— Mav, Capt. Charles Webb and Col. Jonathan Ilciyt. 

•• — Ocl", Charles Webb. 
1768— May, Capt. Charles "^Vebb and Beiij. Weed. 

'• —Oct., Charles Webb 
17C9— .May, Capt. Charles AVeOb and Maj. David Waterbnry. 

■' —Oct., David Waterbury and Benj. Weed. 
1770— May, Capt. Chas. Webb and Maj. David W.iterbary. 

■' -Oct'., Benjamin Weed. 
1771— Mav, Chns. \\>-bb ,nid Benj. Weed. 

" —Oct.. 

" —Oct., 

•• —Oct., 
177i_May, David Waterbury and Thos. Young. 

" —Oct., Chas. Webb and David Waterbury. 
1775— May, Col. Charles Webb and Col. David Waterbury. 

• • —Oct., Benjamin Weed and Thos. Young. 
177G— May, " Col. David Waterbury. 

" —Oct., " John Davenport. 

1777— May, John Davenport and John Hoyt, Jr. 

" —Oct., Capt. Sylvester Knapp and Oapt. Isaac Lockwood. 
1778— May, Maj. John Davenport and Col. Charles Webb. 

" —Oct., Capt. Daniel Bouton and Capt. Isaac Iiockwood. 
1779_May, Col. Charles Webb and Capt. Daniel Boxiton. 

" —Oct., Capt. Daniel Bouton and Charles Webb. 
1780— May, Col. Charles Webb. , 

' ' —Oct. , Charles Weed and Charles Webb. 
1781 — May, Only record, in private journal of Gov. Trumbull. 
" — Oct., Charles Weed. 

1782 — May, Maj. John Davenport and Charles Weed. 
•' —Oct", Charles Weed and Maj. John Davenport. 

1783— May, Gen. D. Waterbury and Charles Weed. 

" —Oct., Charles Weed and Gen. D. Waterbury. 

1781;- May, Maj. John Davenport and Charles Weed. 

" —Oct., Charles Weed and Maj. John Davenport. 
1785— May, Maj. John Davenport and Charles Weed. 

" — Oct., Charles Weed and James Davenport. 
178G— May, James Davenport and Charles Weed. 
" -Oct., 

1787 — May, James Davenport and Charles Weed. 
•' —Oct., 

1788— May, " John Davenport. 

" —Oct., John Davenport and James Davenport. 

1789— May, James Davenport and Col. Joseph Hoyt. 

40.'^ UlSTOnv OF STAMFOr.D. 

17S9— Oct., .lolm Davenport aiul James DaveDi)oit. 
1790— May, Mai. 

" —Oct., " Beuj. Scofield. 

1791— May, Maj. " William Fitcli . 

" —Oct., 
1792— May, Maj " Tbaddeu.'S \Ve«d. 

" -Oct., 
1793— May, Maj. " lleujamin Scollelil. 

" -Oct., 
179i— May, David Waterbuiy ai.d Thnddeus Weed. 

■ ' — Oct. , .Tohn Davenport " 

1795— May, David Waterbury " 

" —Oct., Johu Davenport and George Mills. 
170G— May, •Joshua King and William Forrester. 

" — Oct., John Davenport and George Mills. 
1797 — May, George Mills and Noyes Mather. 

" —Oct., Noyes Mather and George Mills. 
1798— May, George Mills and Noyes Mather. 

" — Oct., Noyes Mather and Isaiah Tiffany. 
1799— May, Isaiah Tiffany and Isaac Lookwood. 

" — Oct., Isaac Lockwood and Nathan Weed. Jr. 
1800— May, 

•' -Oct., 
1801— Mav, " Edward McLaughlin. 

" —Oct, " Wm. Waterbnrv itli. 

1802 -May, 

" —Oct., Nathan Weed and Noyes Mather. 
1803— May, Isaac Lockwood and John Wm. Holly, 

" — Oct., Nathan Weed and Isaac Lockwood. 
1804— May, " and Jas. Stephens. 

" —Oct., Jas. Stephens and Thaddeus Bell, Jr. 
1805— May, 

" —Oct., " Nathan Weed. 

180C— May, Isaac Lockwood and Thaddeus Bell, Jr. 

" -Oct., Josiah Smith and Nathan Weed. 
1807— Oct., Thaddeup Bell and Ezra Lockwood. 
1803— May, Wm. Waterbury 4th and Isaac Lockwood Jr. 

" — Oct., Isaac Lockwood and Jas. Stephens. 
1809 — May, Jas. Stephens and Isaac Lockwood, Jr. 

" —Oct., Smith Weed and Jas. Stevens. 
1810— May, Jas. Stevens and Nathan Weed. 

" —Oct., Thaddeus Bell and Jas. Stevens. 
1811 — May, " Isaac Lockwood, Jr. 

" —Oct., Henry Hoyt , Jr. and John Weed, Jr. 
1812— May, JohnWeed, Jr. and Henry Hoyt, Jr. 

" — Oct., Nathan Weed and Simeon H. Minor. 
1813- May, John Weed, Jr. 

" —Oct., Isaac Lockwood and John Augur. 
1S14— May, Jas. Stephens 

•' —Oct., Isaac Lockwood and Henry Close. 
1815— Jlay, Jas. Stevens and Thaddeus Bell. 

»sai<l, in peiioil. to be frnm Rulgefldil. l!ot!j names are probably by 
ted to Stamford. 



Isaau L'jukwood imd John WeeJ, rfr. 
John Brown, Jr. and Solomon Clasou. 
Isiwic Lockwood and Joliu Brown, Jr. 
Jas. Stevens and Simeon H. Minor. 



I Lsaae Lockwood. 
John Augur. 
J,woi)li Wood and Chas. Hawley. 

Daniel Lockwood. 
Clias. Hawley " 

Isaac Lockwood and T. Davenport. 
Chas. Hawley and Jotham Hoyt. 
" Abel Reynolds. 

• '■ Simeon H. Minor. 

S. H. Minor and Wm. Waterbury, J 
Wni. Waterbury and Sol. Clason. 
Sellfvk Scofield. 
Selleck Scolield avid Royal L. Gay. 

Royal L. Gay and Jo.=hua B. Ferris. 
Selleck Scofleld 

Joshua B. Fiirris and Seth Clason. 
Selleck Scofield and S. Lockwood. 
Andrew Perry. 

Wm. T. Minor and Josephus Brush. 
Selleck Scofield and Wm. T. Minor. 
Wm. T, Minor and Josephus Brush. 
Selleck Scofield and Wm. T. Minor. 
Royal L. Gay. 
Wm. T. Minor. 
.Vmzi Scofield 
Heth Stevens and S. Lockwood, Jr. 

Henry J. Sanford. 
Steph'n. B. Provost and Josiah Smith 
Seth Miller and John Clason. 
Wm. T. Minor and S. B. Provost. 
James H. Hoyt and Chas. Brown. 
Wells R. Ritch and John Clason. 
' J. D. Warren and Hiokford Marshall. 
Chas. A. Weed and E. P. Whitney. 
Wm. W. Holly and Geo. Lounsbury. 
Chas. H. Leeds and Wm. W. Scofield. 

" George Scofield. 

H. M. Humphrey and L S.Jones. 
W. R. Ritch aad I. S. Jones. 
Morgan Morgans, and I. S. Jones. 
Selleck Scofield and J. D. Warren. 
J. B. Hoyt and Alfred Hoyt. 

Tuaddeus Bell. 
Henry Bates. 
John Weed, Jr. 
John Bell. 
Abraham Clock. 
Thaddeus Bell. 
John Bell. 

Jonathan B ite;:. 
.John Bell. 
Holly Bell. 

Edward Scofiuld 
John Weed, Jr. 
Edward Scofield. 
Holly Bell. 
NatlJl. H. ■-Vildmaii 
Edward Scofield. 
Wm. An.lre,.s. 

Isaac L. Hoyt. 

Benj. S. Reed. 
Ira Scofield. 
Benj. S. Reed. 
Lester St. John 
Benj. S. Reed. 
G. G. Wateibm 

Thomas Reed. 
Holly Bell. 
Nathan Robert 

Chas. Brown. 
Holly Bell. 
Benjamin Weed. 
W. A. Cummiu^- 

Henry Morehoiw 


1866-lIay, J. D. Ferguson anrl Ssth S. Cook. tieury Morshon 

1B67_ " " H. G. Scofield. 

1868— " W. T. Minor aud H. G. SooSeld. Ir.i S -n^fM. 


1643 & 4— Thurston Kiynor. 
1646 -Andrew Wiird. 
1647-Kicharcl Law. 
1695-1701— M.ij. Jonathiin Selleck. 
1766-1784— .■Vbrali.iiQ Davenport. 
179U-17a7— James Davenport. 

1830-Chnrles Hawley. 
1850— Jo.shua B. Ferris 
James H. H i>t. 
1859— Matthew F. Merrit. 
1863— Morgan Morgans. 
1865 -Charles AV. Ballard. 


The following catalogue of " townsmen," or Selectmen, is as complete as 
the town records enabled the author to make it From 16l2 to 1606 there 
are no records to show who were appointed ; and in 1673 the records which 
are otherwise lull, make no mention of the choice of townsme i. The other 
years for which there is no record of a choice, are, 1681, 2 & 3, 1085, and 
1699. Instead of copyins the list, as choaen, I have simply indicated the 
year when each ope was first chosen, and the number of years he served. 
1640— Eev. Richard Denton. 1 1677— Joseph Theal, 3 

Matthew Mitchel, 2 16S0— Samuel Dean, 1 

'• Andrew Ward, 2 " James Weed, 1 

Thurston Kaynor, 2 " Jonas Weed, 11 

" Kit-hard Crabb, 2 1G84— Steven Bishop, 5 

1641— John Whitmore, 1 •• John Waterbury, 6 

" KichardLaw, 6 lGS6-Josepn Hoyt, 2 

The most of the above served 1687— David Waterbury, 11 
probably through the next twenty 1689 — Daniel Seotield, 20 
vears, of which there is no record. " John Seotield, 2 
ieoe-Lieut. Francis Bell, sen., 5 " John Bates, jr., 9 

" John Holly, 4 1G90— Eleazer blason, 1 

" William Newman, 2 
" KiLh..rd Hardy, 3 
Jo.seph Garnsey, 1 
" Eichard Ambler, 2 

1667— Peter Ferris, 7 
" Kichard Webb, 2 
" Abraham Ambler, 13 

1668-Kobert U.sher, 1 
Jonathan Bell, 14 

lG69-John Green, 3 

Francis Brown, 1 

1670-Jonathan Selleck, 1 

1671 — George Shiwson, sen., 
" John Petlit, 1 
" John Holmes, 2 
" Joshua Halt, 6 
" John Slawson, 2 

1674— John Bates, 3 

1676— S.imuel Hoyt, 8 
" Daniel Weed, 5 
" Daniel Westcott, 5 

Benjamin Hoyt, 1 
1694— Increase Holly, 1 
1695- Elisha Holly, G 
1696 -Jonathan Selleck, 1 
John Holly, sen., 1 
1700-Kichard Seotield, 1 

'• Samuel Holly, 1 
1701 -Benjamin Green, 2 

'• Jonathan Bell, 19 

" Joseph Ferris, 7 
1703— Deacon Sam'l Hoyt, 6 
1704-Capt. Joseph Bishop, 10 
1709-J bn Ambler, 2 

" Lieut. Sam'l Weed, 14 
1713-Jonn Bell, 1 
1714 — John Slason, sen., 4 

" Deac. John Hoyt, 13 

" Sam'l Blachley, 4 
1716-Capt. John Knapp, 1 

Capt. Sam'l Hoyi;, jun., 17 
1717 — Deac. Jonathan Hoyt, 1 

1719-Lieut. Joseph Webb, 

•' Serg't John Soofielcl, 1 

" Jonas Weed, 9 
Benj. Hoyt, jr., i 
1725— Siimuel Scofield. 3 
1728— Capt. Joaatliau Hoyt, 29 

Miij. Jonathan Miiltby, 20 
1734— Lieut. John Watei-bur.v, 4 
1735— Lieut. Samuel Weed, 3 
1738— Joseph Bishop, 8 
1740— Serg't Jonathan Clason, 7 
1741_Serg"t Samuel Scofield, 5 
1742 Nathaniel Weed, 8 
1746— Col. Abraham Davenport, 31 
1747— Lieut. Jonathan Bell, 9 
1750— Ensign John Holly, 21 
1754— Serg't Stephen Ambler, 2 
Capt. David Waterbury, 1 

" Lieut. Elipbalet Seeley, 22 
I75G— Lieut. Jonathan Selleek, 4 

" Capt. Stephen White, 1 
1757— Col. Charles Webb, 20 
17G0— Samuel Broker, 1 
1761— Serg't Samuel Bishop, 4 
1763— Joseph Hosted, 2 

" Abraham Hoyt, 10 
1769— Thomas Youiigs, 2 

" Benjamin Weed, 2 
1771— Gen. David Waterbury, 7 
1775— Lieut. Samuel Hutton, 2 

" David Webb, 2 
1776— John Bell, 3 

" Capt. Isaac Loekwood, 19 
Thomas Jane, 1 
1777— Deac. Joshua Ambler, 10 
1777— DaHiel Boutou, 2 

" Ebenezer Ferris, 2 

" Capt. Svlvanus Kuapp, 23 
1778— Capt. Charles Smith, 12 
1779— Capt. Gershom Scofield, 6 

" Capr. Keuben Scofield, 1 
1780— Charles Weed, 5 

" Capt. Amos Smith, 2 
1781— Isaac W'eed, 2 

" Samuel Richards, 2 

" Serg't Jonathan Waring, 2 

" Jesse Bell, 2 
1786— Lieut. Seth Weed, jr., 10 
1789— Hon. James Davenport, 6 
1790 -Thaddeus Hoyt, 1 
1791— Capt. Nathaniel Webb, 5 

" Capt. Thaddeus Weed, 2 
1792— Nathan Weed, jr., 8 
1794— David Maltbv, 1 

1794- Stephen Eockwell, 1 

" Frederick Hoyt, 1 
1795 -Hon. John Davenport, 1 
1796— Josiah Smith, 12 

" Beiijiimin Weed, 1 
1799— Amos Weed, 11 

" Alexander Mills, 1 
1800— Carey Leeds, 1 

Isaac Penoyer, 2 
1801— Ezra Loekwood, 3 

Wm. Waterbury, 4th, 9 
1802— Thaddeus Bell, jr., 8 

George Mills, 4 
1807— Isaac Wardweil, 6 

" David Smith, 3d, 1 
1809-Smith Weed, 1 

Simeon H. Minor, E'iq., 1 

" Carey Bell. 4 
Seth Smith, 
1810— John Weed, jr., 8 
Henry Hoyt, jr., 1 
Jeremiah Andreas, 1 
Abishai Weed, 5 
1811— Timothy Reynolds, 4 

" John Brovvuing, 2 
1812— Jonathan Brown, 3 
1813— Daniel Loekwood, jr., 8 
1814 — Isaac Loekwood, jr., 3 
1815 -James Stevens, Esq., 3 

" Pliilo Weed, 3 
1817-Joba Bell, 2 

" Solomon Clason, 3 
1818-Epenetus Hoyt, 5 
1819-Nathaniel Weob, 1 

" Luther Weed, 1 

" Isaac Holly, 1 

From this date there have bee 
but three Selectmen. 
1810— Dr. Loekwood, 1 
1821— Joseph Wood, Esq., 3 

" Abishai Scofield, 3 
1824-Jotham Hoyt, 6 

'' Abel Reynolds, 6 
1825 — Theodore Davenport, 3 
1828- David Hoyt, 1 
1829-EzraKiiapp, 1 
1830— Wm. Waterbury, 2 

" Selieck Scofield, 20 

" John Brown, 1 
1831-RoyalL. Gay, 20 
1832-Beuj, M. Weed, 8 
1839— Het'h Stevens, 6 
1841— Edwin S. Holly, 1 

" Amzi Scofield, 1 




1842— Ebenezei- Lockwood, i 

1847— Abishai Weed, 1 
Neheniiah Hoyt, 1 
-Charles Brusli, 1 
" Nathaniel Lockwood, 

1852-Philip H. Brown, 2 
" Isaac Jones, 1 
•■ Nelson W. Smith, 1 

1853— Edwin Scofield, jr., 1 
" Walter Searls, 1 

1854-Seth Miller, 1 
" Lorenzo Meeker, 1 
" Hickford Marshall, 3 

1855— Wells K. Eitoh, 12 

" Edward Gay, 1 
1850- Geo. Lounsbui'y, 1 

" Charles Brown, 1 
1857— Stephen B. Provost, 1 
1858— Floyd T. Palmer, 2 

Josiah Smith, 1 
1859— Wm. Wallace Scofield, 
1861— Cephas Stevens, 4 
1866— Charles Gaylor, 1 

" Wm. K. Lockwood, 3 

' ' Lewis Raymond, 2 
1868— Erastus E. Scofield, 1 

" JohQ Weed, 2 
" Henry Bates, 12 
1821— John'Bell, jr., 2 
1822-Johu Weed, jr., 8 
1826— Eoos Wilmot, 8 
1830-Wm. H. Bates, 3 
1831— Jeremiah Andreas, 2 
1832— Abraham Clock, 4 
" Holly Bell, 5 
-Wm. Andreas, 13 
Jacob Lockwood, 4 
John Holmes, 10 
-Daniel Beers, 1 
" Elisha Seeley, 1 
1840— Edward Scofield, 3 
1844— Joseph Mather, 4 
1849— Benj. S. Reed. 6 
1850— Nathaniel A. Bouton, 



1851— G. G. Waterbury, 1 

Isaac Weed, 1 
1852— Henry Gorham. 4 

" Richard Bates, 1 
Henry Morehouse, 3 
1854— George Mather, 1 
1855— George R. Stevens, 5 

Chas. A. Bates, 1 
185G-Chas. HoyI, 1 
1757— Nathan Roberts, 1 

" John N. Scofield, 4 
1838— Walter H. B..tes, 2 
1860— Isaac L. Hciyt, 1 
1861— John D. Farrington, 
1862— Legrand Winters, 1 
1863 -Ira Scofield, 6 
1864-Edward O. Page, 1 
1867— Holly Bell, 4 
1868-Sam'l Sands, M. D., 


Richard Law, 1G41-1GG4. 
Jona. Selleck, 1664-1668. 
John Holly, sen., 1668-1G70. 
Abram Ambler. 1670-1686. 
Jona. Bell, 1687-1690. 
Samuel Holly, sen., 1699-1708. 
Elisha Holly, 1708-1709. 
Stephen Bishop, sen., 1709-1722. 
Lieut. Sam'l Weed, 1722-1738. 

p, 1738-1760. 
Samuel Jarvis, 1760-1775. 
John Hoyt, jr., 1775-1806. 
Samuel Hovt, jr., 1806-1819. 
Seymour Jarvis, 1819-1843. 
Wm. H. Holly, 1843. 
Roswell Hovt, 1843-1844. 
Edwin Soofi'eld, jr., 1844-1868. 

1820— Jo.^hua Morehouse. 
1822— Darius K. Scofield. 
1828-Joshua Scofield. 
1831— Edward Scofield. 
1838— Abram Clock. 
1839-Geo. H. Wallace. 

1840— Chas. H. Waterbury. 
1842— Jas. N. Gorham. 
1844-Ira Scofield. 
1856— Henry Gorham. 
1857— John S. Waterbury. 



Johp Stone, 1713. Samuel Hoyt, 1807-1810. 

Samuel Weed, 1733. Seymour Jiirvis, 1819-1843. 

Abraham Davenport, 1779. Koyal L. Gay, 1844-1857. 

Ebenezer Weed, 1779-1790. Welles E. Eitcb, 1857-18S1. 

John Hovt, jr.. 1790-1802. Stephen B. Provost, 18G1 -ISCi 

Alex. Mills, 1802-1807. Welles K. Eitch, 1862-1868. 


Abraham Davenport, down to 1820. Sands Seeley, twice. 

Hon. Jame.s Stevens. Roswell Hoyt, twice. 

John Brown. Theodore J. Daskara, since 18( 

William Hoyt, jr. 


This list will show how early any of the parties indicated were in busi- 
ness in the town, and is as full and accurate, as the time allowed the author 
to make it. 

Adams, Nathaniel E., architect and builder, 1827 

Arnold, A. C, do do 1860 

Alphonse, John W., fruit and confectionery, police, 1863 

Alphonse, Charles, police, " 1865 
Avery, Horace, blacksmith, three hands. 

Browu, Philip H., mason, eighteen men, 1840 

Biliard & Nichols, sash and blinds, liinj hands, 1861 

Barker & Avery, blacksmith at Ring's End, 1860 

Barber, Mrs., boarding house, 1867 

Buxton & Webb, builders, eight hands, 1844 

Brown, Samuel C, livery, 1862 
Benjamin, Ealph, billiards. 

Bales, Mrs. Fred., fancy goods, 1863 

Bircbard, James, cabinet, at Darieu depot, 1865 

Brooks. Wm. H., barber, 1860 

Itouton, Samuel M., carman, 1865 

Buuten, Cornelian, blacksmith and carriage maker, eight men, 1844 

lUmten, Aureliau, do. do. do., four men, 1847 
Bostwick, John, jr., carpeuter. 

Bates, Chas. E., coal and fuel, at Ring's End, 1864 

Bernhard, T. & Bro., fancy dry goods and millinery, 1868 

Benas, Maurice, cigars and tobacco, 1865 

Boettger, Mrs, Clara, millinery, 1868 
Barret, Isaac, carman. 

Briggs, S., Uuion House, (built 1844,) successor to Theodore Searls, 1864 

Beers, Miss S. A., faucv goods, at Darien depot, 1868 

Broadway. W. H., grocer, Quiutard's Block, 1868 

Brown, l-'rancis H., music conservatory, 1867 

Bostwick & Waterbury, grocers, four hands, 1865 

* Excepting such aa ia already recorded in the preceding pages. 


Butler, J. K., telegraph at depot, two assistauts, ISij' 

Buxton, Edwin, shoes, at Turn of Kiver, 1833 

Buxton, Nelson, do. do. do., 1830 

Buxton, John H., do. do. do., 1838 

Clark, David H., insurance and real estate agent and auL^tioueer, IMOO 

Orabe, Allen L., cooper in North Stamford. 

Cook, M. L, fancy good.'!, 186.5 

Cook, Mrs. C, hairdresser, 1866 

Christie i Clancy, Misses, milliQer-i, 1867 

Card & Hill, painters, 1856 

Crawford, James S., photographer, ' 1861 

Crombie, Richard, tailor, 1854 

Cohen, W., tailor, three hands, J862 

Curtis, Hiram, baskets, 1850 

Combs it Provost, carriage makers, eight hands, 184C 

Da.skam, B. J., grocer, 1835 

Daskam, T. J., insurance agent and deputy assessor, 18G1 

Dibble, Wm. H., boarding-house. Strawberry Hdl, 1847 

Daytoii, George, cooper in North Sti mford. 

Dann, Seth, do. 

Dixon, G. H., grocer at New Hope. 1865 

Dean, Geo. AV., marble yard, 1856 

Daniel, James, painter, seven hands, 18.31 

Dammyer, John C, painter, four hands, 1864 

Davis, Theodore, sash and blind, 1855 

Dix & Cousin, shoes, at Darien depot, thiitysix hauda, iSotJ 

Dean, Isaac, shoes, at Deanville. 

Dean, Seth, cooper, at North Stamford. 

Ells &, Gogau, painters, 1845 

Fairchild, Robert, builder, 1861 

Finney, Henry & Bros., blacksmiths, West Stamford. 

Fox, Jacob, clothing merchant and tailor, 1659 

Ficket, John B., carpenter, in Darien. 

Ferris, De Forest, carman. 

Gifford, carriages, at Long Ridge, four handis, 1556 

Goldy, Henry, builder, ten men. 

Guernsey, William. 

Gardner, jr., Thomas. 

Gorham & Garland, grocers, in Darien, 185U 

Goff & EUwood, soda and sarsaparilla, 1868 

Hicks, John H., billiard saloon, 1867 

Holly, Alexander N., hardware and lumbi»r, 1842 

Hoyt, jr., Wm., dry goods, 182G 

Hoyt & Leeds, grocers, 182« 

Hoyt, Lyman, cabinet, seven hand-;, 1837 

Hoyt, James H., carpenter. 

Hoyt, George, ticket agent at depot, 1855 

Hoyt & Ayres, grocers, 1862 

Hoyt, John W., restaurant. Cornucopia. 1860 

Hoyt, J. A., shoes, two men. 1800 

Hobbie, Chas. A., carriage and blaeksmithing, live men, Darien, 1850 

Harper, Robert, music. 

Hay, AVilliam, carman. 

Hathaway, B. F., civil engiuet-i, 18jff 


Hubbard & Holly, dry goods and tailoring, 1855 

Harlbutt, W. P. & L. H., merchant tailors, lifteeu bauds, 1861 

Hallock, Wm. H. H., mason. 

Hendricks, Wm., photography, 1867 

Johnson, Lewis, boating. 1840 

Johnson, Ram'l H., boating. 1861 

Jerman, W. H., shoes, six men, 1851 

Jessup it Lockwood, builders. 

Jones, Thaddeus, carman, 1810 

Jennings, W. H., dyeing. 

Jennings, Mrs. L. A., dressmaking. Madam Demorest's agent. 

Jones, Charles & Co., dry gocds, live hatid.-i, 1858 

June, Hanford, carpenter. 

Jones, Lewis, flour and feed at mill. High Hidge. 

Jacobs, P. S.. grocer, 1865 

Jones, N. D. & Co., fish market, 1863 

Jones, Daniel H., carman. 

Keeler, J. H., carman, successor to his father, who was here in 1841 

Knapp, Charles H., mason. 

Knappe & Crossner, barbers, succeed Andrew Schmidt. 18C3 

Knapp, Sylvester L., grocery and dry goods, at Eoxbury. 

Knapp, David H., shoes, at North Stamford. 

Knapp, John B., harnesses, 1865 

Ketcham, Oliver <t John, oyster trade. 

Kirk & Scofield, builders, four hands, 1857 

Kennedy & Burke, restaurant, ' 1867 

Lehigh, John, stair builder, 1862 

Leeds, E. A., livery, successor to his father. 1845 

Lounsbury, H. L, shoes, four men, 1857 

Lownds, Geo. L. & Son, builders, ten men, 1847 

Lockwood, James L., stoves and tinware, nine hands, 1847 

Lockwood & Haight, druggists, successors of the Drs. Lockwood, 1848 

Lockwood, Wm. W., news office, books and stationery. 

Lockwood, Wm. A., blacksmith, four men, 1852 

Lockwood, Sylvester, blacksmith, at Long Eidge, 1814 

Lockwood, Edward B., cooper, at Long Ridge. 

Lockwood, Samuel, dentist, 1810 

Leeds, R. A., gate fixtures, inventor and manufacturer, 1867 

Lockwood, V. 15., grocer, 1863 

Lounsbury, C. W., stoves and tinware, at Darien depot, 1867 

Lum, H. B.., stoves and tinware, seven hands, 1851 

Mather, M. S. & J. C, successors of George, Darien depot, 1830 

Merritt, Mrs. H. V., dressmaker, eighteen hands, 185G 

McCoun, Samuel, billiards, Quintard's Block, 1864 

SIcQuhae, George, blacksmith, three hands, 1862 

Miller, C. O. & Co., dry goods, four hands, 1868 

Matthews, Jas. L., flour and feed, mill at River Bank. 

Miller, E. S., grocer, 1855 

Morgan, O. A., shoes, 1860 

Morgan, 0. B., grocer, 1867 

Moore, Hampton, plastic s'ate, 1864 

Moore, John, harness, 1868 

Morris, Mrs. E. F., millinery, succeeds Mrs. N. A. Weed, four hands, 1859 

Monroe & Thompson, painters. 


Morgan, Alonzo B., carman. 

Newman, John, carriage and blacksmith, at Hgh Eidge, 18i9 

Nichols, Charles H., carpenter. 

Nichols, Wm. B.. livery, 185G 

Nichols, Emma C, millinery, 1863 

Payne, E. T.. dentist, 1863 

Provost, William, blacksmith. West Stamford. 1818 

Price, William, groctr, three hands, 1852 

Peck, .J. A. & Co., grocers, at River Side. 

Provost it Drew, grocers, 1868 

Palmer, W. & Son, grocers, at Long Kidge. 

Powelson, C. G., watch work and sewing machines, 1840 

Palmer, Hannah, milliner, 1860 

Prior, A. M., oyster trade. 

Playford, Thomas, fresco work. 

Eeed, J. W., hats and furs, 1835 

Renoude, Jarvis, cabinet, 1846 

Richards, Ambrose, carpenter, in Darien. 

Read, Jane R., dressmaker, nine hands, 1858 

Rockwell, James R., grocer, at Long Kidge, 1866 

Reardon, Mrs., harness, 1864 

Scofield, Erastus E., flour and feed, 1857 

Scofield, John A., painter, seven hands, 1854 

Scofield, Charles H. , dry goods, five cierks, 1851 

Scofield, Henry, carpenter. 

Scofield, M. S., carpenter. 

Scofield, Oliver it Son, coal, fuel and building materiala, 1818 

Scofield, S. N., cooper. North Stamford. 

Scofield, D. L. , civil engineer and railroad contractor, 1848 

Scofield, H. G., civil engineer, 1866 

Scofield, Chas. W., mason. 

Scofield, Edward, miller, North Stamford. 

Scofield, S. W., house furnishing goods, 1861 

Scofield, H. L., meat market, 1660 

Schlocker, Geo. P. , landscape gardening and rustic work, 1850 

Silliman & Morrison, drnggist.s, succeed S. C Silliman, 1857 

Saunders, Wm. H., blacksmith and cirriage mak'ng, N. Stamford, 1849 

Shaw, W.F., grocer, 1857 

Shaw, James, carpenter, in Darien. 

Shaw, Fred., do. do. 

Slater, Charles, cooper, North Stamford. 

Smith, Wm. L., grocer, 1859 

Seeley, Albert, Stamford House, (built 1810,) 1837 

Smith, A. T. & Son, millers, Long Ridge, 1857 

Smith, Wm. H., carpenter. 

Smith, Wm. D., coal, fuel and building materials, 1867 

Smith, James, grocery, at River Bank. 

Smith, Frank., grocer, at Darien depot, 1864 

Smith & Dayton, house furnishing goods, 1863 

Smith, S. H., watchmaker and jeweler, 1859 

Sherwood, Samuel, cooper, Hunting Ridge, 1840 

Smith, J. H., shoes, 1825 

Smith, Geo. W., blacksmith, at Cove. 

Smith, T. F., blacksmith, at Cove. 

AA'CKSiylX. 4 i I 

Stndwell, Etlgar, buMer. 

SpauldiLg, Gilbert, real estate. 

Stoltlar, John, fish market, 1868 

Stevens, Sarnnel, shoes, at High Rirlge. 

Stevens, Cephas, baskets. 

SteveasoD, K. J., toardiDf; house, Henry street. 

Ta\lor Brothers, grocers, 18G8, successors to A. G. Clark & Co., 1830 

Taylor, , shoes, at Eiver Bank. 

Turkiuton, John, shoes, twelve men, 1852 

Todd, C. J., grocer, 1855 

Toucey, Wm. B., clothing, 1850 
Triaca & Co., soap manufactiirera. West Stamford. 

Triuka, M., cigar manufacturer, five hands, 1868 

Uncles, John, shoes, seven men, 1863 

Valentine, Chas. W., meat market, 1855 

Voorhies, A. W., baker. 1867 

AVaterbury, David & Wm. T., steamboat, 1839 

Wardwell. Ruins, coal aud fuei, 1848 

"Waterbury, J. S , grocer, successor to Ira Scofield, Darien, 1856 

Waterbury, S. C. & Co., meat market, 1803 

Waterbury, Geo. H. & Son, florist and gardener. 1844 
Waterbury, C. H., cooper, North Stamford. 

Wicks, H. W., bakery, I860 

White, Elbert, manufactures, insurance and real estate, 1840 

Weed, Augustus, watchmaker and jeweler, 1848 

Whitney, C. S. & W. S., grocers, at Darien depot, 1867 
Webb, W'm., carpenter. 

Webb, Mary, millinery, 1830 
Whitney, Wm. M., carpenter, in Darien. 

Whitney, James, shoes, three hands, 1866 
Williams, Mrs. , boarding, Clark's Hill. 

Weed, A. G. & Bro., grocers, 1862 

Weed, Alvau, groceries and dry good.<. North Stamfordi 1841 

Weed, C. L., groceries and dry goods. High Kidgo, 1865 

Weed, Wm. A. & Co., meat market, 1853 
Wood, John, cooper. Hunting Eidge, 

Woodman, I. & H., builders, 1819 

Weed ifcEnsley, stoves and tinware, four hands, 1867 

Webb, J. N., harnesses, three hands, 1847 

Williams, A. W., restaurant, near depot, 1853 
Williams. Andrew T., auctioneer. 

White, Wheeler & Bulkely, restaurant, at depot, 1867 

Woeltge, Albert, music, 1855 


Adams, John, Frank & James J. Canfield, D. W. 

Betts, Wm. G. & Charles E. Crane, Thomas & Albert. 

Bliss, Ira D.iskam, James W. & Eugene B. 

Brantiugham, Charles Davenport, Amzi E., .James J., Jolwi 
Brown, Capt. Chas. H., George L.. & James B. 

Samuel & Belden B. Dewing, Hi am 

Brooks, Horace De Forest, C. T. 

Burgess, C. A. Dodge, J. Smith 

Oandee, Julias A * G. W. Dowe, John J. 



Dunn, J. 

Elder. Geo.. Geo., jr., i Rob't, jr. 

Faulkner, James C. 

Fair. Robert 

Fosdick. Wm. R. 

Flint. J. T. 

Frost, JI. S. 

GeuuDg. E. W. 

Garduer, Thomas, jr. 

Gillespie, Fred. R. 

Gorhiim, Edwin 

Gwyune, Jobn A. 

Halilemiin, Jolia 

Hawley, Francis M. 

Hale, J, 

Hall, Thomas S. 

Hobby, Moses M., Louis tV: George 

Holly, Edward 

Holmes, Samnel, Samuel H.. Luke 

it Frederick 
Hoyt, Joseph 1:.. Oliver, William, 

George A , Frank L. , Edgar & 

Hook, Guliau 

Hubbard, Alexander & John W. 
Hvde, Samuel N. 
Haight, Jas. P. 
Ingraham, Chailes W. 
Inslee, Gage 
Jacquelin, Charles 
Jones, Wm. P. & Wm. P., jr. 
Jeukius, G. W. A. 
Ketcham, J seph, 
Lockwood, Jobn R. & Munson 
MeKenzie, Alexander 
Mil-ae, Alexander 
Merritt, M. F. 
Moffat t, E M. 
Marsdtu, F. A. 
Mowbray, Oliver 
Munn, jjenj. 
Nesbitt, George F. 
Par.idise, Andrew W. 

Pitt, Charles & Charles, jr. 

Porter, Eleazer 

Quintard, Charles K. 

Redding. George 

Rhodes, Fnok 

Rickard, R. H. 

Riker, Thaddens 

Robins, David 

Sackelt, J. L. & J. W., 

Seotield, C. E. 

Seely, S«uds 

Skiddy. Wm. W. 

Sloan, John & Wm. J. 

Smith, Truman, James D., Chas. L., 

Wa'terM.. Charles Edgar, W. H., 

Charles Edwin, &Theophihis 
Snelling, J. G. 

Skelding, William F. & Fr.mcis E. 
Stebbins, Jared N. 
Stiekney, C. L. & Charles 
Swartwout, Robert Satterlee A Rohtrt 

Starr, Ch.irles J. 
Sirowbridge, Wm. C. 
Taylor. Frank 
Talmadge, Wm. H. 
Trowbridge, Dudley L. 
Van Name, C. 
Vinton, Gen. D. H. 
Voorhies, Abraham 
Warden, Charles W. 
Waruer, B. 
Warren, James. James R., Joseph C. 

it George E. 
Weed. Addison 
Weston, C. W. & C. W., jr. 
Wilcox, James i; Charles H. 
Wheeler, Frederick G. 
White, John M. 
Whiting, Lieat. Wm. B. 
Wright, John 
Young, T. S. & P. H. 



This meeting was the result of a circular issued in May, 1865, over the 
names of the following Hoyt's : Rev. Wm. C, of Stamford; James A., of 
Norwalk; Henry, ot Boston; Wm. H., of Burlington, Vt. ; Rev. Ralph 
New York city; Rev. James, Orange, N. Y. ; F. A., Philadelphia; David W., 

lace in Chapter XXIV., but is of toe 


Providence, R. I.; Rev. C. A., Oberlin, O; and Alfred Hoift, of Durham, 
N. H. The time and place of the meeting were fixed at a meeting held at 
the residence of Seymour Hoyt, Atlantic street, Stamford, Miirch 19, 1S6G; 
and the meeting itse.f was held iu the Congregational Church of Stamford, 
June 20 and ^1. 1866. lis organization was as follows: 

President— Oliver Hoyt, of Stamford. 

Vice Presidents — Henry, of Boston; Wm. H., of Vermont; Hon. Joseph 
G., of Maine; James H., of Connecticut; Wm. C, of Michigan; Di-. John P., 
ofPenn.; Edwin, ot New York; Rev. J. Chester, of New York; Rev. Coi- 
neliu« A., of Ohio; and Jas. L., of Illinois. 

Secretaries— Rev. Jas., of N. J. ; Henry E., of Michigan, and David W., 
of R. I. 

David W. Hoyt, of Providence, the author of the Hoyt Family, and who 
has since then been arranging the descendants of the Connecticut Hoyts 
for an addition to the former work, was the orator of the meeting, and the 
speecJies made were many and interesting. 'Ihe entire meeting was a very 
deligb.ful one. 

A permanent organization of the Hoyts was made, under the name of 
The Hott Family Union, whose oiBcers are: 

President— Joseph B. Hoyt, of Stamford, Conn. 

Secretary — David W. Hoyt, Providence, R. I. 

Permanent Committee — Hon. Joseph G. Hoyt, Farmingtou, Me. ; Aaron 
B. Hoyt, Sandwich, N. H. ; Wm. Henry Hoyt, Burlington, Vt.; Dr. EnoB 
Hoyt, Framingham, Mass.; David W. Hoyt, Providence, R. I.; Joseph B. 
Hoyt, Stamlord, Conn.; Dr. Wm. Henry Hoyt, Syracuse, N. Y^ ; Rev. Jas. 
Hoyt, Orange, N. J. ; Gen. Henry M. Hoyt, Wilkesbane, Pa. ; Rev. Prof. 
Cornelius A. Hoyt, Oberlin, Ohio; Prof. Benj. T. Hoyt, Greencastle, Ind. ; 
James L. Hoyt, Woodstock, 111.; Wm. C. Hoyt, Esq., Detroit, Mich.; John 
W. Hoyt, Madison, Wis.; Gould E. Hoyt, Lake City, Minn.; Cbas. Hoyt, 
South Fnglish, Iowa; Rev. Prof. James W. Hoyt, Nashville, Tenn, ; Ira G. 
Hoitt, San Francisco, Cal. ; Leopold A. Hoyt, Hillsborough, New Bruns- 
wick; Jesse Hoyt, New Glasgow, Nova Scotia. 

A full report of the meeting was issued in pamphlet form by the Historian 
of the family, D. W. Hoyt, of Providence, in 1866, and the complete 
genealogy of this numerous family will s oon be ready for publication. 



















. . . .410 





1700. . . . 












In 1868, including Daricn and the part of New Canaan once in the town, 
the population would not be less than 11000. 

The following facts will show the relative growth of Stamford, and leave 
us with a promise of what we may hope for, when the History of the town 
shall be revised and enlarged at some future day. 

* The first official census, 
t A part of New Canaan had been 
i Darlen had just been cut off. 
1l N. Y. & N. H. R. E. Just built 

• 480 nrexoRT or sTAMTor.D. 

In IGGj, of 20 tow:-S iu Connecticut, Stamford ranked tbo tenth in 

Ill 1C7S. of 23. it was (he eleventh in wealth and twelfth in population. 

In 1G87, of 24. it was tlie fourtet-nih in wealtli and twelflh hi population. 

lu 1829, of 130, it stood the twentieth iu wealth and twenty-sixth in 

Iq 18.51). of IGO. it was the eighth in wealth and ninth in population. 

In 1857, it ranked the third town in the Stato, iu increase of wealth 
during the ten preceding years. The entire State had increased CO per 
cent.; fourteen towns only had increased 100 percent.; while Stamford 
had gou« forward 200 per cent. The ouly two towns whose increase hod 
been greater than tbat of Siamford, were Waterbury and Merideu. 

This note on the population and growth of Stamford, accidentally final, 
will yet furnish a pleasant and hopeful introduction to the history of the 
Stamford yet to be. We leive these studies of this ancient town with the 
strongest conviction, that iu no New England town can he found the olo- 
ments of a surer growth or of a more stable prosperity. 


For the beautiful cuts of Stamford resideiicea with whicU our History is 
so well illustrated, the author is happy to acknowledge his great iudebted- 
ness to James Wilcox, Esq., whose own residence is a perpetual witness to 
his interest in the locality which he chose, and which his taste has done so 
much to adorn. 

The following brief description of these residences will be of sufadciit 
historical interest to justify ins rtion in our record of the town. 


This place, now owned by James Wilcox, Esq., of the firm of Wilcox A 
Gibbs, New York, embraces about filty acres of land on the western slope 
of the Noroton Hill. It furnishes a delightful view of the village to tho 
south-west; of Clark and Richmond and the more distant Greenwich hills, 
to the west; and of Strtiwberry Hill to the north-west; with pleasant 
glimpses of the Sound and Island to the south. From one of our roughest 
hill-sides, falling off abruptly into one of our rockiest and most imprac- 
ticable marshes. Echo Lawn now presents to the visitor a picture which 
even our beantifni cut does not flatter. It shows what good tii.ste ami 
liberal expenditures can do in the hands of adequate enterprise. 


in 1858, Mr. Hoyt, alter a successful business career as the oldest of the. 
Hoyt Brothers, built this elegant and substantial Home, a li'tle west of thi- 
summit of the hill where Main street crosses it. A little east of north, 
across Main street, lie the beautiful grounds of his brother Oliver, crowned 
with their showy residence, and to the north-east, about a hundred rods, 
stands the massive brick residence of his brother William, on the old home 
lot of the family. 

A. B. DAVESPOr.r's liESIDliXCe. 

This showy structure occupies a most commanding view from the west 
slope of Davenport Ridge. It is about five miles noith by east from 
the Stamford depot. The panorama stretching around it is, at any season 
of the year, well worth a study, and in summer is very beautiful. 

This locaUty was voted to the Rev. John Davenport, of Stamford, by the 
proprietors of the town, in January, 1705-G, in consideration of his hun- 
dred pounds interest in tho "Long Lots," as agreed upon at the time uf 
his settlement in the ministry here in 1693. By his will, January 20, 17;iS, 
he gave it to his eldest son, John, who built his home upon it, ami di.:J 

482 unisa'i of hTAiipoKD. 

there in 1742. lis pxoperty passed n:xt luto.tLs haiJs of the third John, 
■who died in 175G, leaving it to the" fourth John, a deacon in the North 
Stomford Church, who died in 1820. A portion of this land wng bnnght of 
the heir3, by Amzi B. Davenpoit, a grandson of this deacon John, iu IS-")?, 
and on it he built the residence represented iu our cut. It oeeupie.s the 
site of an old residence removed about eighty years ago. 
"BPEiNO n:LL." 
This is one of the most expensive, as it is one of the most attractive and 
showy residences of the town. It is built ot granite, and shows to admir- 
able advantage from the summit of the gently rounded elevation on which 
it stands. The lawn iu front, to the west, and the undulating surface to- 
wards the south and east, are very beautiful. Iu 18G4, Mr. E. A. Quin- 
tard purehivsed this tract of Mr. Z. B. Nichols, and removed the building 
in which Mr. Nichols had carried on his boarding school for year^, and 
substituted for it the fine structure, with which we are happy to illustrate 
one feature of our towB prosperity. 


This elegant retreat, owned since 1851 by Benjamin L. Waite, Esq., is 
at the present terminus of our Westcott road, about a mile and a half east 
of the village. It overlooks a stretch of beautiful fields, sloping gracefully 
towards the south, until they meet the waters of the Sound. These, and 
the added beauty of the Island beyond, constitute a very charming view. 


We ar^ sure we need no apology for introducing into their appropriate 
places the two elegant cuts of our Congregational and Baptist churches. 
Our only regret is that we could not get as good ones of the other churches 
of the town. 

Note.— While theso lost ehef ts have been printing, the old " Waahlngton House." 
referred to as " Webb's Tavern," page 232. has been removed. The ground has been 
thoroughly explored by Charles Alphonae, Esq., and the many coins, both silver and cop- 
per, together with various other relics found there, indicate it to have been as noted a 
place as our